DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 3/7/2025 and 9/17/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a device for changing alcohol breath analyzer in claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-22, 25-27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 4,407,152 issued to Guth et al. (“Guth”) in view of US. Patent Application Publication 2014/331737 by Kaneblei et al. (“Kaneblei”) and U.S. Patent 4,278,636 issued to Voight et al. (“Voight”).
As for claim 19, Guth discloses a system (Fig. 1) for testing at least one alcohol breath analyzer comprising:
an alcohol breath gas generation device (Fig. 1) comprising at least one liquid column (10), wherein the gas generation device comprises a gas inlet (44, 48) arranged at a lower part of the gas generation device (see Fig. 1) and a gas outlet (50, 52) arranged at an upper part of the gas generation device (see Fig. 1), wherein gas enters the at least one liquid column (10) at the gas inlet (44, 48) and exits the at least one column (10) at the gas outlet (50, 52), and wherein a liquid (26) in the liquid column comprises water (Abstract).
Although Guth discloses that the alcohol breath gas generation device is connected to an analyzer (Guth: 82) to be tested, Guth does not disclose a test chamber, a reference measuring device, a control and registration unit, or a distribution unit as recited.
However, Kaneblei discloses (Fig. 2) a test chamber (58.1; paragraph [0063]) in fluid communication with a gas generation device (11), wherein the test chamber is arranged to receive at least one alcohol breath analyzer (5.1);
a reference measuring device (5.2) in fluid communication with the gas generation device (11);
a control and registration unit arranged to control an alcohol breath analyzer system (paragraph [0031]); and
a distribution unit in fluid communication with the gas generation device, the distribution unit arranged to distribute gas from the gas generation device to at least one of: a first gas flow path (204.1) arranged to distribute gas from the gas generation device (11) to the test chamber (58.1), a second gas flow path (204.2) arranged to distribute gas from the gas generation device (11) to the reference measuring device (5.2), and a third gas flow path (204.10) arranged to distribute gas from the gas generation device (11) to an opening to the ambient air (at 333; paragraphs [0063] and [0064]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the system of Guth by including the test chamber, reference measuring device, control and registration unit, and distribution unit as disclosed by Kaneblei in order to allow multiple analyzers to be tested together.
Guth as modified by Kaneblei does not disclose that the control and registration unit is arranged to register testing results.
However, Voight discloses a control and registration unit (25) that is arranged to register testing results (col. 4, lines 4-6).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the control and registration unit of Guth and Kaneblei to register testing results as disclosed by Voight in order to automate the testing of the analyzer.
As for claim 20, Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight discloses that the system further comprises valve means (Kaneblei: 55.1, 55.2, 55.10) arranged to shift the gas flow between the first gas flow path, the second gas flow path, and the third gas flow path.
As for claim 21, Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight discloses that the third gas flow path (Kaneblei: 204.10) is arranged to distribute gas from the gas generation device (Guth: Fig. 1 and Kaneblei: 11) to an outlet (Kaneblei: 333).
As for claim 22, Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight discloses that the test system comprises a first valve (Guth: 92) arranged at the inlet at the gas generation device, arranged to regulate the gas flow into the gas generation device, a second valve (Guth: 104 and Kaneblei: 40.1) arranged in between the gas generation device, and the distribution unit, the second valve is arranged to regulate the gas flow from the gas generation device to the distribution unit, a third valve (Kaneblei: 55.1), a fourth valve (Kaneblei: 55.10), and a fifth valve (Kaneblei: 55.2) arranged at the distribution unit, the third valve (Kaneblei: 55.1) is arranged to regulate the gas flow into a first gas tube (Kaneblei: 204.1), the fourth valve (Kaneblei: 55.10) arranged to regulate the gas flow into a third gas tube (Kaneblei: 204.10), and the fifth valve (Kaneblei: 55.2) arranged to regulate the gas flow into a second gas tube (Kaneblei: 204.2), wherein the first valve, the second valve, and the third valve are arranged to control the gas flow in the first gas flow path, the first valve, the second valve, and the fifth valve are arranged to control the gas flow in the second gas flow path, and the first valve, the second valve, and the fourth valve are arranged to regulate the gas flow in the third gas flow path (Kaneblei: see Fig. 2).
As for claim 25, Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight discloses test system according to claim 19 (see the rejection of claim 19 above).
Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight does not disclose that the gas generation device has a volume of 3000-7000 cm3.
However, at the time the application was filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to design the gas generation device to have a volume of 3000-7000 cm3 because Applicant has not disclosed that providing a specific volume provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the gas generation devices of the Guth- Kaneblei-Voight combination and applicant’s invention to perform equally well with either the volume implied by the Guth- Kaneblei-Voight combination or the claimed volume because both volume dimensions would perform the same function of holding an alcohol-water solution and an air-alcohol-vapor mixture.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Nash to obtain the invention as specified in claim 25 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Guth, Slemeyer, Kaneblei and Voight.
As for claim 26, Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight discloses that the liquid column has a volume of 2000-3000 ml (Guth: col. 3, lines 59-61 and Fig. 2).
As for claim 27, Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight discloses that the gas generation device further comprises a dead space (Guth: space above 122 in Fig. 2), and wherein the volume of the dead space is 0.1-3.5 L (Guth: col. 3, lines 59-61 and Fig. 2).
As for claim 30, Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight discloses test system according to claim 19 (see the rejection of claim 19 above).
Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight does not disclose that the test system comprises more than one gas generation devices, such as two gas generation devices or three.
However, Kaneblei discloses that multiple gas sources can be attached to the system (Kaneblei: see Fig. 2). Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the system of Guth, Kaneblei and Voight to duplicate the gas generation devices in order to achieve the predictable result of providing redundant sources of calibration gases that can be used to calibrate the gas analyzers.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 4,407,152 issued to Guth et al. (“Guth”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/331737 by Kaneblei et al. (“Kaneblei”) and U.S. Patent 4,278,636 issued to Voight et al. (“Voight”) as applied to claim 22, further in view of EP 0070738 by Duggin et al. (“Duggins”).
As for claim 23, Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight discloses test system according to claim 22 (see the rejection of claim 22 above).
Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight does not disclose that the inner diameter of the valves is 0.5-2 cm. Instead, Guth and Kaneblei teach valves of undisclosed sizes that open and close to control the flow of fluid (Guth: see Fig. 1 and Kaneblei: see Fig. 2).
However, Duggins discloses a valve having an inner diameter of 0.5-2 cm (page 37, lines 12-15). Duggins discloses that the valve opens and closes to control the flow of fluid (page 37, lines 12-15).
Because Duggins and Guth and Kaneblei disclose valves that open and close to control the flow of fluid, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the valve of Duggins for each of the valves of Guth and Kaneblei to achieve the predictable result of providing valves that open and close to control the flow of fluid.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 4,407,152 issued to Guth et al. (“Guth”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/331737 by Kaneblei et al. (“Kaneblei”) and U.S. Patent 4,278,636 issued to Voight et al. (“Voight”) as applied to claim 19, further in view of U.S. Patent 10,925,515 issued to Purves (“Purves”).
As for claim 24, Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight discloses test system according to claim 19 (see the rejection of claim 19 above) and that the test system comprises at least a first heater (Guth: 64) arranged to heat the system.
Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight does not disclose that the test system comprises at least a second heater arranged to heat the system.
However, Purves discloses a second heater (col. 14, lines 25-32) arranged to heat a system (6, 8).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the system of Guth, Slemeyer, Kaneblei and Voight to include the second heater as disclosed by Purves in order to reduce condensation (Purves: col. 14, lines 25-32).
Guth as modified by Kaneblei, Voight and Purves discloses that the test system comprises a first (Guth: 64) and second (Purves: col. 14, lines 25-32) heater arranged to heat the system so that the temperature is higher at the distribution unit (Purves: 40º C; col. 14, lines 25-32) than at the gas generation device (Guth: 34º C).
Claims 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 4,407,152 issued to Guth et al. (“Guth”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/331737 by Kaneblei et al. (“Kaneblei”) and U.S. Patent 4,278,636 issued to Voight et al. (“Voight”) as applied to claim 19, further in view of U.S. Patent 7,104,115 issued to Kahn et al. (“Kahn”).
As for claim 28, Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight discloses test system according to claim 19 (see the rejection of claim 19 above) and that the test system comprises at least a first heater (Guth: 64) arranged to heat the system.
Guth as modified by Kaneblei and Voight does not disclose that the test system further comprises a device for changing alcohol breath analyzer arranged in the test chamber.
However, Kahn discloses a test system (Figs. 1L and 1M) that further comprises a device (116, 119D) for changing an analyzer (111) arranged in a test chamber (119’’).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the test system of Guth, Kaneblei and Voight to include the device for changing an analyzer as disclosed by Kahn in order to allow analyzers to be calibrated with respect to each other (Kahn: col. 3, lines 41-50).
As for claim 29, Guth as modified by Kaneblei, Voight and Kahn discloses that the device for changing alcohol breath analyzer (Kahn: 116) comprises a revolver mechanism (Kahn: 116, 119D; col. 17, lines 21-26).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The examiner notes that the inlet and outlet of Guth have been reinterpreted in view of the amended scope of the independent claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853