DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,4-8,11-12,14,16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by the machine translation of Satou (JP2002203604A) with evidence by Matsui (US 6677084 B1).
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 6, Satou discloses an electrolyte comprising: a polymer obtained by polymerizing a monomer represented by the following Formula (1) [Chem. 1]
(In Formula (1), R1 and R2 each independently represent H or a linear, branched, or cyclic alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms. X1 and X2 each independently represent O or NH. When X2 is 0, n represents an integer of 0 to 30 on average, and when X2 is NH, n represents an integer of 1 to 30 on average.); (para. 0059, [component C = polyethylene glycol dimethacrylate] X1 and X2 = O) (para. 0276, n = 9)
a glyme represented by the following Formula (2) [Chem. 2]
(In Formula (2), R3 and R4 each independently represent an alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, and m represents an integer of 1 to 4.; (para. 0056, [methyl tetraglyme] m=4)
a glyme represented by Formula 2 (as explained above), which serves as a plasticizer for a polymer (Matsui discloses a solid polymer electrolyte [Matsui, abstract] and a plasticizer [Matsui, abstract] [Matsui, column 5, lines 60-67 and column 6, line 9, the plasticizer is an aprotic organic solvent … the aprotic organic solvent is preferably… methyl tetraglyme]. Matusi provides various methods in which the methyl tetraglyme can serve to plasticize a polymer (column 7, lines …, one can use a method of immersing the polyether copolymer [polymer] in an organic solvent containing the electrolyte salt compound and the plasticizer for a long time for impregnation …]).
and at least one salt selected from the group consisting of a lithium salt, a sodium salt, a magnesium salt, a potassium salt, and a calcium salt. (para. 0054, [the ionic conductive salt of component A] includes a list of lithium salts)
wherein the monomer functions as a solvent (para. 0023, a solvent (C) molecule capable of dissolving the ion conductive salt) (Examiner notes that the monomer is represented by component (C) of Satou, which is the monomer represented by Formula (1) as described above), and
therefore the electrolyte does not contain an organic solvent (Satou, para. 0056, [examples of the solvent … include … and water, which is a solvent generally used for electrochemical devices … one of these solvents may be used alone …) (Examiner notes that the use of water as a solvent removes the need for an organic solvent.)
Regarding claims 2, 4, and 12 , Satou discloses the electrolyte according to claim 1,
wherein an anion of the salt is at least one selected from the group consisting of PF6-, BF4-, and Cl04-. (para. 0054. [lithium salts selected from PF6-, BF4-, and Cl04-)
Regarding claim 7, Satou discloses a secondary cell at least comprising: a positive electrode (para. 0023); a negative electrode (para. 0023); and an electrolyte layer between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (para. 0023, [a separator … interposed between the positive and negative electrodes]), wherein the electrolyte layer is the electrolyte according to claim 1 (para 0023, the electrolyte layer comprises a three-dimensional network structure formed by impregnating an electrolyte composition containing the electrolyte components that are claimed in claim 1).
Regarding claims 8 and 11, Satou discloses a composite material comprising: the electrolyte according to claim 1; and further discloses a porous carrier (para. 0047).
Regarding claim 14, Satou discloses the electrolyte according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein in Formula (1), when X2 is O, n is 3 to 14 on average (para. 0059, [component C = polyethylene glycol dimethacrylate] X1 and X2 = O) (para. 0276, n = 9).
Regarding claim 16, Satou discloses the electrolyte according to claim 4, and further discloses wherein in Formula (1), when X2 is O, n is 3 to 14 on average (para. 0059, [component C = polyethylene glycol dimethacrylate] X1 and X2 = O) (para. 0276, n = 9).
Regarding claim 17, Satou discloses the electrolyte according to claim 12, and further discloses wherein in Formula (1), when X2 is O, n is 3 to 14 on average (para. 0059, [component C = polyethylene glycol dimethacrylate] X1 and X2 = O) (para. 0276, n = 9).
Regarding claim 19, Satou discloses the electrolyte according to claim 2, wherein in Formula (2), m is 4 (para. 0056, [methyl tetraglyme] m=4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 13,15,18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satou (JP2002203604A) and further in view of McEwen (US 20020110739 A).
Regarding claim 3, Satou teaches the electrolyte according to claim 2, and further teaches wherein the anion of the salt can be the anion of LiN(CF2), LiCF3SO3, and the like.
Satou does not teach wherein the anion of the salt is N (FSO2)2 - or N (CF3SO2)2 -.
McEwen, in the same field of endeavor, solid electrolytes, teaches representative examples of salts that can be used for battery applications and further teaches that these salts can be selected from anions of N(CF3SO2)2-. (para. 0049).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized an ionic salt of N(CF3SO2)2- within the electrolyte, as taught by McEwen. The simple substitution of a known element (the anion of LiCF3SO3) for another (N(CF3SO2)2-) would achieve the predictable result of providing a suitable ionic salt for battery applications, as disclosed by McEwen. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 13, modified Satou teaches the electrolyte according to claim 3, and further teaches wherein the salt is a lithium salt (para. 0049).
Regarding claim 15, modified Satou teaches the electrolyte according to claim 3, and Satou further teaches wherein in Formula (1), when X2 is 0, n is 3 to 14 on average (para. 0059, [component C = polyethylene glycol dimethacrylate] X1 and X2= O) (para. 0276, n = 9).
Regarding claim 18, modified Satou teaches the electrolyte according to claim 13, and Satou further teaches wherein in Formula (1), when X2 is 0, n is 3 to 14 on average (para. 0059, [component C = polyethylene glycol dimethacrylate] X1 and X2= O) (para. 0276, n = 9).
Regarding claim 20, Satou teaches the electrolyte according to claim 3, wherein in Formula (2), m is 4 (para. 0056, [methyl tetraglyme] m=4).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satou (JP2002203604A).
Regarding claim 9, Satou teaches the composite material according to claim 1.
Satou does not teach wherein the porous carrier has a through hole penetrating in a thickness direction.
Satou teaches that a filler may be added to the polymer separator, and further teaches that the filler forms a matrix and micropores within the separator (para. 0048).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the matrix of Satou to include a through hole at the two interfaces of the separator, via the micropores formed, in a thickness direction, in order to impregnate the pores with an electrolytic solution, as taught by Satou (para. 0048). Satou teaches a method for producing the separator which forms microspores at the interface of the polymer (para. 0048).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satou (JP2002203604A) and further in view of Coors (US 20130244085 A1)
Regarding claim 10, Satou teaches the porous composite material according to claim 8.
Satou does not teach wherein the carrier is a honeycomb film (para. 0011).
Coors, in the same field of endeavor, separators, teaches a carrier of a honeycomb structure (para. 0009).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have structured Satou’s separator in a honeycomb type structure/pattern, as taught by Coors, in order to provide a strong, thin-membraned separator that can handle various stresses (para. 0030).
Response to Arguments
In the advisory action mailed on 4/13/26, the examiner stated that further search and consideration would be needed for the proposed amendment. After reconsideration, the examiner notes that the primary reference of Satou does teach
wherein the monomer functions as a solvent (see claim 1 above), and
therefore the electrolyte does not contain an organic solvent (see claim 1 above).
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that Satou fails to disclose that “the electrolyte does not contain an organic solvent”. Applicant further states that “Satou, as described in paragraph [0056] and as evidenced by Matsui (col. 7, line 17), exemplify and require addition of organic solvents for the electrolyte”.
Examiner responds by stating that Satou is not limited to the use of an organic solvent. Satou teaches that the solvent for the electrolyte can be limited to water; and therefore an organic solvent is not needed in Satou’s electrochemical device (Satou, para. 0056, [examples of the solvent … include … and water, which is a solvent generally used for electrochemical devices … one of these solvents may be used alone …)(see claim 1 above).
Furthermore, Matsui is referenced to support that a glyme can serve as a plasticizer. Satou includes a glyme within his electrolyte, (para. 0056, [methyl tetraglyme] m=4) (see claim 1 above), and as evidenced by Matsui, the glyme within Satou’s electrolyte can function as a plasticizer.
Conclusion
/V.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721