DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office action is responsive to Applicant’s submission, filed 28 Aug 2026, in which claim 1 is amended to change the scope and breadth of the claim, claims 5, 7-11, 15-17, and 25 are amended to correct informalities, new claims 26-27 are added, and claims 2-4, 6, 12-14, and 18-22 are canceled.
This application is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2021/067732, filed 28 June 2021; and claims benefit of foreign priority document EP 20183323.3, filed 30 June 2020. This foreign priority document is in English.
Claims 1, 5, 7-11, 15-17, and 23-27 are pending in the current application. Claims 23-24, drawn to non-elected inventions, are withdrawn. Claims 1, 5, 7-11, 15-17, and 25-27 are examined on the merits herein.
Rejections Withdrawn
Applicant’s amendment, filed 28 Aug 2026, with respect that claims 2, 6, 12-13, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form has been fully considered and is persuasive, as claims 2, 6, 12-13, and 19-21 are canceled.
This rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, filed 28 Aug 2026, with respect that claims 1-2, 5-14, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alevizopoulos (WO 2015/082356 A1, published 11 June 2015, provided by Applicant in IDS filed 21 Dec 2022) has been fully considered and is persuasive, as claims 2, 12-13, and 19-21 are canceled, and amended claim 1 further recites the fucoidan is an extract of Undaria pinnafitida and has a sulfate content of 20% to 40% (w/w). Upon reconsideration, Alevizopoulos does not disclose the composition meeting the combination of each and every limitation arranged as claimed.
This rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, filed 28 Aug 2026, with respect that claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-10, 12-13, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grassauer et al. (WO 2009/027057 A1, published 05 March 2009, provided by Applicant in IDS filed 21 Dec 2022) has been fully considered and is persuasive, as claims 2, 6, 12-13, and 19-21 are canceled, and amended claim 1 further recites the fucoidan is an extract of Undaria pinnafitida and has a sulfate content of 20% to 40% (w/w). Upon reconsideration, Grassauer et al. does not disclose the composition meeting the combination of each and every limitation arranged as claimed.
This rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, filed 28 Aug 2026, with respect that claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alevizopoulos (WO 2015/082356 A1, published 11 June 2015, provided by Applicant in IDS filed 21 Dec 2022) has been fully considered and is persuasive, as amended claim 1 further recites the fucoidan is an extract of Undaria pinnafitida and has a sulfate content of 20% to 40% (w/w). Upon reconsideration, Alevizopoulos does not teach or fairly suggest the composition having the combination of each and every limitation arranged as claimed.
This rejection has been withdrawn.
The following are new grounds of rejection responsive to Applicant’s amendments, filed 28 Aug 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Amended Claims 1, 5, 7-11, 15-17, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alevizopoulos (WO 2015/082356 A1, published 11 June 2015, provided by Applicant in IDS filed 21 Dec 2022) a in view of Koh et al. (Carbohydrate Polymers, 2019, 212, p178-185, cited in PTO-892) and Pujol et al. (Topics in Heterocyclic Chemistry, Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg, 2007, volume 11, p259-281, cited in PTO-892).
Alevizopoulos discloses ionic aqueous compositions useful as nasal passage washes for the treatment of respiratory tract and/or respiratory mucosal-related conditions. The composition includes an ionic aqueous solution and algae-derived constituents, such as branched, sulfated polysaccharides having an average molecular weight greater than 4kDa and comprising L-fucose and sulfate ester groups or extracts from brown algae (abstract). In one embodiment, the sulfated polysaccharide is derived from an extract isolated from brown algae. In another embodiment, the brown algae is Undaria pinnafitida. In another embodiment, the sulfated polysaccharide is fucoidan. In yet another embodiment, the sulfated polysaccharide is in a range of about 0.1 to about 10% weight content of the composition (page 2, lines 10-15), addressing limitations of claims 1, 9, 14, and 22. In one embodiment, the compositions include about 0.1 % to about 10% sulfated polysaccharide or fucoidan weight content of the composition, or from about 0.1 % to about 1 % weight content of the composition (page 16, lines 5-10), addressing limitations of claim 7. In other embodiments, the composition includes at least about 0.2%, 0.3%, 0.4%, 0.5%, 0.6%, 0.7%, 0.8%, 0.9%, 1 %, 1.5%, or 2% fucoidan weight content (page 16, lines 5-10), or fucoidan in a concentration of approximately 2,000 μg/ml, 3,000 μg/ml, up to 20,000 μg/ml, based on the density of an aqueous composition of approximately 1g/ml, addressing limitations of claim 8. In one embodiment, the ionic aqueous solution includes saline (page 3, lines 5-10), addressing limitations of claim 10. In another embodiment, the composition has an osmolarity value ranging from about 250-350 mOsm/L for isotonic (page 3, lines 10), addressing limitations of claim 11. In one embodiment, the composition is formulated for nasal administration (page 3, line 15), addressing limitations of claim 1 and 22. The composition can be applied in the form of a nasal spray (page 9, lines 5-10), addressing limitations of claim 5. By "respiratory tract and/or respiratory mucosal-related conditions," are meant any conditions or disorders with abnormal mucus production, secretion or clearance or inflammation (bacterial, viral, allergic or autoimmune) of the nasal, bronchial and pulmonary mucosa (page 5, lines 20-25). The composition can be administered as per physician's instructions, such as 1-5 sprays per nostril, 1-5 times daily (page 26, lines 20-25). Alevizopoulos further teaches the sulfated polysaccharides are generally from about 4 kDa to about 5 MDa, including 50, 70, 90, 100, 300 kDa or an average molecular weight in between these particular sizes (page 15, line 25). In one embodiment, the extracts are filtered to separate fractions of different sizes. The filtration can be performed using ultra filtration filters having different molecular weight cutoffs (page 18, line 30 to page 19, line 5).
Alevizopoulos does not specifically disclose the fucoidan has a sulfate content of 20% to 40% (w/w) (claim 18 and 25). Alevizopoulos does not specifically disclose the fucoidan has an average molecular weight of 150 kDa and a lower molecular weight cut-off of 10 kDa. (claim 25)
Koh et al. teaches the state of the art regarding fucoidan isolated from Undaria pinnafitida. Koh et al. teaches the comparison of crude fucoidan and fucoidan fractions isolated from brown seaweed species U. pinnatifida obtained from Auckland, New Zealand against a fucoidan standard extracted from U. pinnatifida purchased from Sigma-Aldrich (page 178, abstract; page 179, left column, paragraph 6). The sulfate content of fucoidan is a key determinant of the potency of its various bioactive properties such as antioxidant capacity and anticancer properties. The sulfate contents of the fucoidan samples in Table 1 show the fucoidan standard had a sulfate content of about 30% w/w and the crude fucoidan extract had a sulfate content of about 23% w/w. The significant difference in sulfate content might be attributed to the different extraction methods used to isolate fucoidan (page 181, right column, paragraph 3 to page 182, left column, paragraph 1; Table 1 at page 182).
Pujol et al. teaches the inhibitory action of polyanionic substances on virus replication was reported more than 50 years ago. Seaweeds, marine invertebrates, and higher plants represent abundant sources of novel compounds of proved antiviral activity. Natural sulfated polysaccharides (SPs) are potent in vitro inhibitors of a wide variety of enveloped viruses including respiratory syncytial virus (RSV) (page 259, paragraph 1). The broad class of sulfated polysaccharides (SPs) include sulfated homopolysaccharides, sulfated heteropolysaccharides, sulfoglycolipids, carrageenans, and fucoidans. SPs are believed to be of potential therapeutic importance because they can mimic sugar-rich molecules known as glycosaminoglycans (GAGs) present in cell membranes (paragraph spanning pages 260-261). Brown seaweeds are known to produce different polysaccharides, namely alginates, laminarans, and fucoidans. Fucoidans always contain essentially L-fucose and sulfate, together with minor amounts of D-xylose, D-galactose, D-mannose, and D-glucuronic acid (page 266, paragraph 1). The structural requirements for antiviral activity include the molecular weight and the anion groups. It is known that the antiviral activity of SPs increases with the molecular weight, tending to level off after ∼100 kDa, and that the highest activity is in the range of 10–100 kDa. Sulfated seaweed polysaccharides with degrees of sulfation lower than 20–22% usually do not show activity (page 276, section 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Alevizopoulos in view of Koh et al. and Pujol et al. in order to select the sulfated polysaccharides in the composition of Alevizopoulos to be fucoidan extracted from U. pinnatifida having a sulfate content of about 30% w/w and to select the molecular wight of the polysaccharide. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Alevizopoulos in view of Koh et al. and Pujol et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because Alevizopoulos teaches ionic aqueous compositions useful as nasal passage washes for the treatment of respiratory tract and/or respiratory mucosal-related conditions comprising algae-derived constituents, such as branched, sulfated polysaccharides having an average molecular weight greater than 4kDa and comprising L-fucose and sulfate ester groups or extracts from brown algae, and provides guidance for selecting the sulfated polysaccharides to be fucoidan extracted from U. pinnatifida; Koh et al. teaches standard commercially available fucoidan extracted from U. pinnatifida has a sulfate content of about 30% w/w; and both Koh et al. and Pujol et al. teach the sulfate content of fucoidan is a key determinant of the potency of its various bioactive properties such as antiviral activity; suggesting it would have been obvious to select the fucoidan extracted from U. pinnatifida having a sulfate content of about 30% w/w which is a standard value for the commercially available fucoidan extracted from U. pinnatifida. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select the molecular weight of the fucoidan with a reasonable expectation of success because Alevizopoulos teaches the sulfated polysaccharides are generally from about 4 kDa to about 5 MDa such as 50, 70, 90, 100, 300 kDa, or in between these values, and teaches it was known to separate fractions of different sizes or different molecular weight cutoffs. Regarding the determination by size exclusion chromatography having a particular mobile phase, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the molecular weight of a compound would have been expected to be the same or to have the same properties.
Regarding claims 17 and 25 reciting the molecular weight of the fucoidan, Pujol et al. it is known that the antiviral activity of SPs increases with the molecular weight, tending to level off after ∼100 kDa, and Alevizopoulos teaches selection of the average molecular weight as detailed above. Further, MPEP 2123 II. provides “Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).” In this case, Pujol et al. teaching that antiviral activity of SPs tend to level off after ∼100 kDa does not teach away from the broader disclosure of Alevizopoulos because “level off” suggests that selecting a molecular weight greater than the optimal range of 10–100 kDa would not reduce the desired antiviral activity.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s remarks, filed 28 Aug 2026, have been fully considered and not found to be persuasive.
Applicant remarks that the teachings of Pujol as a whole as applied to the teachings of Alevizopoulos do not teach or suggest a composition as currently claimed. Applicant notes that Pujol teaches that different polysaccharides have different activities which vary by compound and virus, suggesting that there is a high degree of unpredictability regarding the antiviral activity for the broad class of sulfated polysaccharides. However, Applicant’s remarks regarding the breadth of the teachings of Pujol are not persuasive because Alevizopoulos itself teaches the composition wherein in one embodiment, the sulfated polysaccharide is derived from an extract isolated from brown algae; in another embodiment, the brown algae is Undaria pinnafitida; and in another embodiment, the sulfated polysaccharide is fucoidan. In this case Alevizopoulos itself provides guidance for selecting the sulfated polysaccharide to be fucoidan extracted from U. pinnatifida for use in the composition of Alevizopoulos useful as nasal passage washes for the treatment of respiratory tract and/or respiratory mucosal-related conditions according to the invention of Alevizopoulos. Therefore, combination of teachings detailed in the rejection does not rely on impermissible hindsight reconstructions because the rejection relies on only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, and such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). For similar reasoning regarding the molecular weight of the fucoidan, Alevizopoulos itself further teaches selection of the average molecular weight of polysaccharide, suggesting this selection of the average molecular weight of the polysaccharide taught within Alevizopoulos would have been reasonably predictable within the specific context of the invention of Alevizopoulos.
Finally, regarding the sulfate content of the fucoidan as claimed, newly cited Koh et al. teaches the sulfate content of fucoidan extracted from U. pinnatifida was known to be a key determinant of the potency of its various bioactive properties, consistent with the broader teaching of Pujol, teaches the use of fucoidan extracted from U. pinnatifida purchased from Sigma-Aldrich as a standard, and that the fucoidan standard had a sulfate content of about 30% w/w. Alevizopoulos is silent as to the particular sulfate content of the fucoidan, however newly cited Koh et al. teaches commercially available fucoidan extracted from U. pinnatifida used as a standard or reference value has a sulfate content of about 30% w/w, suggesting it would have been obvious to select the fucoidan to have the standard or reference value sulfate content of about 30% w/w as would be expected for a commercially available fucoidan extracted from U. pinnatifida. Further, this standard or reference value for the sulfate content would also have reasonably been expected to be results-effective on the bioactive properties of fucoidan extracted from U. pinnatifida based on the teachings of Koh et al. and Pujol et al.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/JONATHAN S LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693