The examiner has considered the reply filed by applicants on October 27, 2025. Applicant’s arguments were not found to be persuasive; as such the following rejections have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller-Lierheim et al. (WO 2018/069763).
The claims are drawn to an ophthalmic drug-delivery system comprising high molecular weight hyaluronic acid (HMWHA) fluid and a bioactive agent, wherein the hyaluronic acid has an intrinsic viscosity of at least 2.5 m3/kg, and wherein the fluid is capable of transporting the bioactive agent into the eye. The claims are also drawn to a method for delivering a bioactive agent into the eye, by topically co-administering HMWHA fluid and a bioactive agent to the ocular surface of a human or animal subject.
Muller-Lierheim et al. teach a method for reducing or delaying the onset of irritation, discomfort, inflammation, and/or immune response at the ocular surface by topically administering a fluid comprising HMWHA to the ocular surface of the eye of a human or non-human animal subject, wherein the HMWHA has an intrinsic viscosity of greater than 2.5 m3/kg and a concentration of less than 0.2% w/v (abstract).
The reference further teaches that the condition affecting the eye may be caused by a wound, including from ocular surgery, including glaucoma surgery; from an allergy of the eye, e.g. non-infectious, or infectious keratoconjunctivitis; or autoimmune disease (pages 6-7).
The reference does not specifically require a bioactive agent, as required in the instant claims; however, it does teach that the HMWHA-containing fluid may optionally, further include one or more bioactive agents, including, inter alia, a drug molecule or biologic, such as steroids, antibiotics, beta blockers, prostaglandin analogs, etc. (page 7-8).
The instant claims are rendered obvious by Muller-Lierheim et al., since the reference specifically teaches a method for reducing or delaying the onset of irritation, discomfort, inflammation, and/or immune response at the ocular surface by topically administering a fluid comprising HMWHA to the ocular surface of the eye of a human or non-human animal subject, wherein the HMWHA has an intrinsic viscosity of greater than 2.5 m3/kg; and, the reference teaches that a bioactive agent may be included in the HMWHA-containing fluid.
Double Patenting
Claims 27-46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 34, 44, 45, and 51-53 of copending Application No. 18/002,682 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application are drawn to an ophthalmic composition comprising hyaluronic acid and at least one active ingredient comprising a prostaglandin analog (bioactive agent), wherein the hyaluronic acid acts as a transporter of the prostaglandin analog into the eye. The reference application also teaches the hyaluronic acid having an intrinsic viscosity that encompasses the viscosity recited in the instant claims, and having a molecular weight of at least 3 million Daltons, making HMWHA.
The claims of the reference application encompass the scope of the instant claims, thereby rendering the instant claims obvious over the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 27-46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7, 19, 20, 22, and 26 of copending Application No. 17/309,463 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application are drawn to a method for relieving idiopathic ocular pain by topically administering a fluid containing hyaluronic acid having an intrinsic viscosity of greater than 2.5 m3/kg and a concentration of less than 0.2% w/v to the eye of a human or non-human animal subject. According to claims of the reference application, the fluid may further comprise a bioactive agent, and comprises hyaluronic acid having a molecular weight of at least 3 million Daltons, making HMWHA.
The claims of the reference application encompass the scope of the instant claims, thereby rendering the instant claims obvious over the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Claims 27-46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 79-89 of copending Application No. 17/048,436 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application are drawn to a method for restoring or replenishing hyaluronic acid within the epithelium by topically administering HMWHA having an intrinsic viscosity of greater than 2.9 m3/ kg to the epithelial surface of the subject. The composition may further comprise a bioactive agent.
The claims of the reference application encompass the scope of the instant claims, thereby rendering the instant claims obvious over the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 27, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that the reference is silent in regard to the capability of the HMWHA fluid being able to transport a bioactive agent to the eye, and that “speculative and tentative disclosure of what might or may lead to” a specific result does not sufficiently direct or instruct one of skill in this art.
The ability of the HMWHA fluid to transport a bioactive agent to the eye is an inherent characteristic of the HMWHA fluid itself, and the fluid possesses such an ability whether or not expressly mentioned by the reference. The reference actually teaches the advantage of HMWHA fluid when including a bioactive agent, as the latter can alleviate and/or protect the eye from irritative and/or damaging effects of the bioactive agent (p 8, lines 12-16). Therefore, the examiner contends that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper.
Applicants have not provided any material arguments to the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejections of record, and no amendments have been made to the claim in the present invention; as such, these rejections are also maintained.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692