DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the International Searching Authority concluded that there is unity of invention. This is not found persuasive because an examiner may make a lack of unity requirement even if no such requirement was made by the ISA. See MPEP 1893.03(d). The reasons for lack of unity are outlined in the Office Action dated 09/11/2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 23-29 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/12/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15, line 3, and Claim 16, lines 4 and 5 states “first and second buffer channels”. Examiner believe this is a typographical error and should read “first and second buffer channel”.
Claim 18, line 1-2, states “one sensor is positioned, on each fiber, between the flow..”. Examiner believes this is a typographical error and should read “one sensor is positioned on each fiber between the flow..”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: pumping unit in claim 15.
Applicant’s specification, page 12, states the pumping unit may be of the syringe type pump or a servo type pump.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 15, lines 8-12 states “a pumping unit and a control unit configured to: move the multicomponent fluid… through the collector.” It is unclear whether the pumping unit, control unit or both are configured to move the multicomponent fluid as described. Further clarification is requested.
Claims 16-22 are further rejected as they depend from Claim 15.
Regarding Claim 16, lines 1-6 states “the pumping unit and the control unit are configured to: distribute the multicomponent fluid… through the collector.” Again, it is unclear whether the pumping unit, control unit or both are configured to distribute the multicomponent fluid as described. Further clarification is requested.
Regarding Claim 17, it is unclear how the pumping unit contains a sensor that is located inside one of the channels, the main conduct, the fibers, or collector. For examination purposes, it is interpreted as the device contains the sensor.
Claim 22 is further rejected as it depends from Claim 17.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "each sensor" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, it is interpreted as being dependent from Claim 18.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "each sensor" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, it is interpreted as being dependent from Claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Floeser (DE20209547U1) in view of Dadgar et al. (WO2019126212A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Floeser teaches the following:
A device for cell homogenization (para 3) with a main channel, first and second buffer channel, a collector connected to the main channel by means of a main conduct, and connected to the first buffer channel by means of a first fiber and to the second buffer channel by means of a second fiber, and a flow separation point (Fig. 1, below)
Two syringe connections (pumping unit) provided so a cell suspension can be moved back and forth by alternating actuation of connected syringes (para 3)(a pumping unit to move the multicomponent fluid)
Floeser does not explicitly teach a control unit. Dadgar teaches a system which delivers a payload to a cell and which can homogenize a cell suspension (para 209). Dadgar further teaches one or more computing devices (control module)(para 59). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Floeser with a control module as taught by Dadgar. One would have been motivated to make this addition as it would allow full or partial automated control of one or more components of the system (para 59).
The pumping unit and control unit configured to move the multicomponent fluid from the main channel to the first channel or the second channel through the collector and move the multicomponent fluid from the first or second buffer channel to the main channel through the collector is an intended use of the device. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (see MPEP 2114). The pumping unit would be capable of moving the liquid through the system in that manner and therefore meets the claim.
Regarding Claim 16, Floeser in view of Dadgar teaches all of the limitations of Claim 15 (see above). The pumping unit and control unit configured to distribute the multicomponent fluid from the main channel successively to the first then to then to the second buffer channel through the collector and move the multicomponent fluid from the first and the second buffer channels simultaneously to the main channel through the collector is an intended use of the device. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (see MPEP 2114). The pumping unit would be capable of moving the multicomponent fluid in that manner and therefore meets the claim.
Regarding Claim 17, Floeser in view of Dadgar teaches all of the limitations of Claim 15 (see above). Floeser does not teach a sensor allowing the detection of fluid inside one of the channels, the main conduct, the fibers or the collector.
Dadgar teaches sensors which sense properties of cells or of cell suspension (the detection of fluid) and which may be connected to components of the system such as inside the flow path of the system (channels)(para 65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Floeser with the sensors as taught by Dadgar. One would have been motivated to make this modification as it would allow detection of when fluid flow has been stopped (para 330).
Regarding Claim 18, Floeser in view of Dadgar teaches all of the limitations of 15 (see above). Floeser does not teach one sensor positioned on each fiber between the flow separation point and each buffer channel.
Dadgar teaches the system to comprise multiple flow sensors located within the system (para 330). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Floeser with the sensors as taught by Dadgar. One would have been motivated to make this modification as it would allow detection of when fluid flow has been stopped (para 330).
While Dadgar does not explicitly teach the flow sensors to be located on each fiber, a mere rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding Claim 19, Floeser in view of Dadgar teaches all of the limitations of 15 (see above). Dadgar further teaches the sensors of the system may be configured to come into direct contact with fluid flowing through the system (para 65). This means they also are configured to not come into direct contact with the fluid flowing through the system (sensor able to detect the presence of a fluid without direct contact to the fluid).
Regarding Claim 20, Floeser in view of Dadgar teach all of the limitations of Claim 15 (see above). While Dadgar does not explicitly teach the sensors to be on each fiber situated at a distance inferior to 20 cm from the flow separation point, it would have been obvious to place sensors where needed to determine the flow characteristic’s and a mere rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding Claim 21, Floeser in view of Dadgar teach all of the limitations of Claim 15 (see above). Floeser further teaches the pumping unit to be two syringe connections so cell suspension is moved back and forth (pumping unit comprises at least one volumetric pump).
The limitation of moving the multicomponent fluid volume from the first or second buffer channels to the main channel or from the main channel to the first or second buffer channel is an intended use of the device. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (see MPEP 2114). The pumping unit would be capable of moving the fluid in the claimed manner and therefore meets the claim.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Floeser (DE20209547U1) in view of Dadgar et al. (WO2019126212A1) and further in view of Gilboa-Geffen et al. (CN110325841A).
Floeser in view of Dadgar teaches all of the limitations of Claim 17. Floeser in view of Dadgar further teaches a control module to be components of the system, such as sensors and pumps, that work together to control one or more characteristics of the system or fluid controlled by the system (feedback loop activated by at least one sensor). Floeser in view of Dadgar does not teach the pumping unit to be a servo pump.
Gilboa-Geffen teaches a means for driving liquid flow and controlling flow rate (para 19). Gilboa-Geffen further teaches the means may be a gas pump or air pump (servo pump). Note: Applicant’s specification, page 12, states the servo pumps may be gas pumps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Floeser in view of Dadgar with the gas pump as taught by Gilboa-Geffen. One would have been motivated to make this modification as it would have provided an effective pump for the movement of fluid and it would have been obvious to select it base on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
/J.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/ELIZABETH A ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1796