DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 8-21, 23-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomeba et al. (EP 3484065).in view of Rune et al. (Patent No. 11211983).
- With respect to claim 1, Tomeba teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving downlink control information (DCI) that indicates a first uplink resource for an acknowledgement or negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback report and a second uplink resource for a channel state information (CSI) report (paragraph 17: "The Uplink Control Information includes a positive ACKnowledgement (ACK) or a Negative ACKnowledgement (NACK) (ACK/NACK) for downlink data (a downlink transport block or a Downlink- Shared CHannel (DL-SCH)). ACK/NACK for the downlink data is also referred to as HARQ-ACK or HARQ feedback.": paragraph 18: "The Uplink Control Information includes a Scheduling Request (SR) used to request an Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH) resource."; paragraph 43: "The DCI format for the uplink can be used for a configuration indicating an uplink resource to which a CSI feedback report is mapped, the CSI feedback report being fed back to the base station apparatus by the terminal apparatus. For example, the CSI feedback report can be used for a configuration indicating an uplink resource for periodically reporting Channel State Information (periodic CSl)."); and fails to teaches a receiving, via the DCI, an indication of a first beam sweep pattern associated with the first uplink resource and a second beam sweep pattern associated with the second uplink resource. Rune teaches of receiving dual beam sweeping including PDCCH and PDSCH (see abstract and Fig. 9, 10) which associates with uplink resourses, therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the receiving of dual beam sweep to perform and modify the resource allocation in communication.
- With respect to claims 2, 17, Tomeba teaches wherein the first beam sweep pattern is the same as the second beam sweep pattern (see par. 17-18, 205-206 discloses “Further, the antenna 206 of the terminal apparatus 2 according to the present embodiment can perform a part of the operation of the antenna 105 included in the base station apparatus 1. Namely, the antenna 206 according to the present embodiment can have the same device configuration as the antenna 105. In this case, of course, the antenna 206 can perform analog beam forming, digital beam forming and hybrid beam forming similarly to the antenna 105. The terminal apparatus 2 according to the present embodiment can include a beam sweeping unit 2061 similarly to the beam sweeping unit 1061 of the base station apparatus 1. Like the beam sweeping unit 1061, the beam sweeping unit 2061 can control the antenna directivity pattern of the antenna 206. The number of antenna directivity patterns that can be scanned by the beam sweeping unit 2061 is not necessarily the same as the number of antenna directivity patterns that the beam sweeping unit 1061 can scan. Similarly, the base station apparatus 1 can perform beam detection operation related to beam sweeping performed by the beam sweeping unit 2061 of the terminal apparatus 2. The beam detection operation performed by the base station apparatus 1 is the same as the beam detection operation performed by the terminal apparatus 2 on the antenna directivity pattern of the antenna 105 of the base station apparatus 1, but similarly to the relationship between the beam sweeping unit 2061 and the beam sweeping unit 1061, for example, it is included in the method of this embodiment where the number of antenna directivity patterns that can be beam swept when the base station apparatus 1 performs the beam sweeping and is different from the number of antenna directivity patterns that can be beam swept when the terminal apparatus 1 performs the beam sweeping. In a case that the information indicating the frame configuration notified from the base station apparatus 1 indicates a predetermined frame configuration, the beam sweeping unit 2061 can perform beam sweeping on a plurality of antenna directivity patterns configurable by the antenna 206. The terminal apparatus 2 can acquire the information indicating the predetermined frame configuration from the base station apparatus 1”).
- With respect to claims 3, 18, Tomeba teaches wherein the first beam sweep pattern is different than the second beam sweep pattern (e.g. the different digital beam pattern in par. 91, 151 “the frame configuration unit 1033 can also aggregate the control signal resource 4000, the common RS resource 4002, and the unique RS resource 4003. Since the frame configuration unit 1033 aggregates the common RS resource 4002, the transmitter 103 can apply different beam forming to each common RS transmitted with the respective common RS resources. Therefore, for example, the terminal apparatus 2A is enabled to notify the reception quality associated with the plurality of common RSs to the base station apparatus 1A that is connected.”).
- With respect to claims 4, 13,19, 28, Tomeba teaches wherein the first beam sweep pattern indicates a first set of beams associated with transmitting the ACK/NACK feedback report on the first uplink resource; and wherein the second beam sweep pattern indicates a second set of beams associated with transmitting the CSI report on the second uplink resource (see par. 193, 205-206 discloses “The predetermined frame configuration for the beam sweeping unit 1061 to perform beam sweeping is not limited by anything. For example, in a case that the subcarrier interval of the frame configuration configured by the frame configuration unit 1033 is equal to or longer than a predetermined interval or the maximum interval, the beam sweeping unit 1061 can perform the beam sweeping on the antenna directivity pattern of the antenna 105. For example, in a case that a predetermined resource allocation is made to the frame configuration configured by the frame configuration unit 1033 (for example, in a case that a common RS resource is allocated, if a unique RS resource is allocated, if a plurality of common or unique RS resources are allocated), the beam sweeping unit 1061 is possible to perform beam sweeping on the antenna directivity pattern of the antenna 105. It should be noted that the predetermined frame configuration may be a single frame structure or a plurality of frame structures.”).
- With respect to claims 5, 15, 20, 27,30, Tomeba teaches further comprising: transmitting the ACK/NACK feedback report on the first uplink resource in accordance with the first beam sweep pattern; and transmitting the CSI report on the second uplink resource in accordance with the second beam sweep pattern (see par. 17-18, 43, 88-89 discloses “The DCI format for the uplink can be used for a configuration indicating an uplink resource to which a CSI feedback report is mapped, the CSI feedback report being fed back to the base station apparatus by the terminal apparatus. For example, the CSI feedback report can be used for a configuration indicating an uplink resource for periodically reporting Channel State Information (periodic CSI). The CSI feedback report can be used for a mode configuration (CSI report mode) to periodically report the Channel State Information.”).
- With respect to claim 6, 21, Tomeba teaches further comprising: receiving an indication to retransmit the CSI report using a third beam sweep pattern (it is inherently to know the retransmission should be used different beam as par. 205-206 and par. 120 discloses “The signal detection unit 2043 according to the present embodiment is capable of performing a demodulation processing based on the information on the multiplex state of the transmission signal addressed to the apparatus itself and the information on the retransmission state of the transmission signal addressed to the apparatus itself.”).
- With respect to claim 8, 23, Tomeba teaches wherein the first beam sweep pattern or the second beam sweep pattern is at least one of: a time division multiplexing beam sweep pattern, a frequency division multiplexing beam sweep pattern, or a spatial division multiplexing beam sweep pattern (see the background par. 2-6; par. 54 “The synchronization signal is used for the terminal apparatus to take synchronization in the frequency domain and the time domain in the downlink. The Downlink Reference Signal is used for the terminal apparatus to perform channel compensation on a downlink physical channel. For example, the Downlink Reference Signal is used for the terminal apparatus to calculate the downlink Channel State Information.”; par. 164 discloses “The base station apparatus 1A can selectively use a plurality of frame formats/wireless parameters selectively or simultaneously based on a wireless medium in which the base station apparatus 1A transmits a downlink signal. Here, the wireless medium can include radio resources such as time resources and frequency resources. Further, the wireless medium may include a wireless resource distinguished by a duplex scheme applied to a frequency band in which the base station apparatus 1A transmits a downlink signal.”).
- With respect to claims 9, 24, Tomeba teaches wherein at least one of the first beam sweep pattern or the second beam sweep pattern indicates that one or more beams are to be repeated in at least one of different time domain resources or different frequency domain resources (see par. 88 discloses different radio resource “The base station apparatus 1 according to the present embodiment can transmit a signal (for example, a reference signal) with different antenna directivity patterns in different radio resources. The base station apparatus 1 is capable of controlling the antenna directivity pattern of the antenna 105 based on information, which is the information obtained from the terminal apparatus 2 and indicating the reception quality of each of the different radio resources (for example, information indicating a radio resource with the best reception quality, information indicating a radio resource with the lowest reception quality, information indicating the reception quality of each radio resource itself, and the like).”).
- With respect to claims 10, 25, Tomeba teaches wherein receiving, via the DCI, the indication of the first beam sweep pattern associated with the first uplink resource and the second beam sweep pattern associated with the second uplink resource comprises: receiving a first set of parameters associated with the first beam sweep pattern; and receiving a second set of parameters associated with the second beam sweep pattern (see par. 193, 198, 202, discloses “The predetermined frame configuration for the beam sweeping unit 1061 to perform beam sweeping is not limited by anything. For example, in a case that the subcarrier interval of the frame configuration configured by the frame configuration unit 1033 is equal to or longer than a predetermined interval or the maximum interval, the beam sweeping unit 1061 can perform the beam sweeping on the antenna directivity pattern of the antenna 105. For example, in a case that a predetermined resource allocation is made to the frame configuration configured by the frame configuration unit 1033 (for example, in a case that a common RS resource is allocated, if a unique RS resource is allocated, if a plurality of common or unique RS resources are allocated), the beam sweeping unit 1061 is possible to perform beam sweeping on the antenna directivity pattern of the antenna 105. It should be noted that the predetermined frame configuration may be a single frame structure or a plurality of frame structures.”; “In addition, the terminal apparatus 2 can measure the reception quality of the signals transmitted by the base station apparatus 1 with different antenna directivity patterns in different radio resources within a predetermined time period. The number of radio resources for which the terminal apparatus 2 measures the reception quality within the predetermined time period may be determined based on the frame configuration of the signal transmitted by the base station apparatus 1 interpreted by the frame interpretation unit 2044.”).
- With respect to claim 11, Tomeba teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a base station, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) that indicates a first uplink resource for an acknowledgement or negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback report and a second uplink resource for a channel state information (CSI) report (paragraph 17: "The Uplink Control Information includes a positive ACKnowledgement (ACK) or a Negative ACKnowledgement (NACK) (ACK/NACK) for downlink data (a downlink transport block or a Downlink- Shared CHannel (DL-SCH)). ACK/NACK for the downlink data is also referred to as HARQ-ACK or HARQ feedback.": paragraph 18: "The Uplink Control Information includes a Scheduling Request (SR) used to request an Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH) resource."; paragraph 43: "The DCI format for the uplink can be used for a configuration indicating an uplink resource to which a CSI feedback report is mapped, the CSI feedback report being fed back to the base station apparatus by the terminal apparatus. For example, the CSI feedback report can be used for a configuration indicating an uplink resource for periodically reporting Channel State Information (periodic CSl)."); and transmitting, to the UE via the DCI, an indication of a first beam sweep pattern associated with the first uplink resource and a second beam sweep pattern associated with the second uplink resource (paragraph 195: "The base station apparatus 1 can notify the terminal apparatus 2 of information indicating a predetermined frame configuration in which the beam sweeping unit 1061 performs beam sweeping. [...] The base station apparatus 1 can notify the terminal apparatus 2 of the information indicating the predetermined frame configuration by signaling of an upper layer such as RRC signaling."; paragraph 196; also paragraphs 205 and 206).
- With respect to claim 12, Tomeba teaches receiving the ACK/NACK feedback report on the first uplink resource in accordance with the first beam sweep pattern; and receiving the CSI report on the second uplink resource in accordance with the second beam sweep pattern (see par. 17-18, 43, 88-89 discloses “The DCI format for the uplink can be used for a configuration indicating an uplink resource to which a CSI feedback report is mapped, the CSI feedback report being fed back to the base station apparatus by the terminal apparatus. For example, the CSI feedback report can be used for a configuration indicating an uplink resource for periodically reporting Channel State Information (periodic CSI). The CSI feedback report can be used for a mode configuration (CSI report mode) to periodically report the Channel State Information.”).
- With respect to claim 14,29, Tomeba teaches transmitting an indication of a plurality of beam sweep patterns via a radio resource control (RRC) configuration, wherein the RRC configuration indicates an index value associated with each beam sweep pattern of the plurality of beam sweep patterns (see par. 22 discloses “PUSCH is used to transmit an RRC message. The RRC message is a signal/information that is processed in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer. Further, PUSCH is used to transmit an MAC Control Element (CE). Here, MAC CE is a signal/information that is processed (transmitted) in a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer.”).
- With respect to claim 16, Tomeba teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: receive downlink control information (DCI) that indicates a first uplink resource for an acknowledgement or negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback report and a second uplink resource for a channel state information (CSI) report (paragraph 17: "The Uplink Control Information includes a positive ACKnowledgement (ACK) or a Negative ACKnowledgement (NACK) (ACK/NACK) for downlink data (a downlink transport block or a Downlink- Shared CHannel (DL-SCH)). ACK/NACK for the downlink data is also referred to as HARQ-ACK or HARQ feedback.": paragraph 18: "The Uplink Control Information includes a Scheduling Request (SR) used to request an Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH) resource."; paragraph 43: "The DCI format for the uplink can be used for a configuration indicating an uplink resource to which a CSI feedback report is mapped, the CSI feedback report being fed back to the base station apparatus by the terminal apparatus. For example, the CSI feedback report can be used for a configuration indicating an uplink resource for periodically reporting Channel State Information (periodic CSl)."); and receive, via the DCI, an indication of a first beam sweep pattern associated with the first uplink resource and a second beam sweep pattern associated with the second uplink resource (paragraph 195: "The base station apparatus 1 can notify the terminal apparatus 2 of information indicating a predetermined frame configuration in which the beam sweeping unit 1061 performs beam sweeping. [...] The base station apparatus 1 can notify the terminal apparatus 2 of the information indicating the predetermined frame configuration by signaling of an upper layer such as RRC signaling."; paragraph 196; also paragraphs 205 and 206).
- With respect to claim 26, Tomeba teaches a base station for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) that indicates a first uplink resource for an acknowledgement or negative acknowledgment (ACK/NACK) feedback report and a second uplink resource for a channel state information (CSI) report (paragraph 17: "The Uplink Control Information includes a positive ACKnowledgement (ACK) or a Negative ACKnowledgement (NACK) (ACK/NACK) for downlink data (a downlink transport block or a Downlink- Shared CHannel (DL-SCH)). ACK/NACK for the downlink data is also referred to as HARQ-ACK or HARQ feedback.": paragraph 18: "The Uplink Control Information includes a Scheduling Request (SR) used to request an Uplink-Shared Channel (UL-SCH) resource."; paragraph 43: "The DCI format for the uplink can be used for a configuration indicating an uplink resource to which a CSI feedback report is mapped, the CSI feedback report being fed back to the base station apparatus by the terminal apparatus. For example, the CSI feedback report can be used for a configuration indicating an uplink resource for periodically reporting Channel State Information (periodic CSl)."); and transmit, to the UE via the DCI, an indication of a first beam sweep pattern associated with the first uplink resource and a second beam sweep pattern associated with the second uplink resource (paragraph 195: "The base station apparatus 1 can notify the terminal apparatus 2 of information indicating a predetermined frame configuration in which the beam sweeping unit 1061 performs beam sweeping. [...] The base station apparatus 1 can notify the terminal apparatus 2 of the information indicating the predetermined frame configuration by signaling of an upper layer such as RRC signaling."; paragraph 196; also paragraphs 205 and 206).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471