CTNF 18/002,771 CTNF 92052 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 2/18/2026 has been entered. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims This Office Action is in response to claims filed on 1/20/2026. Claims 2 and 17 has been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-16 and 18-30 remain pending in the application. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 11- 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the method of claim 0” should be read as “the method of claim 10” . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 18-24 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the UE of claim 0” should be read as “the UE of claim 16” . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 26-30 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the base station of claim 0” should be read as “the base station of claim 25” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3-4, 6, 13, 16, 18-19, 21, 25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Olsson et al. (US 2023/0231605 A1) . Regarding claims 1 and 16 ; Olsson discloses receiving, from a base station, one or more semi-persistent communications (a UE receives downlink signal, such as CSI-RS; CSI-RS is configured as semi-persistent CSI-RS; see paragraphs [0105], [0155] and Fig. 1) ; and transmitting, to the base station, a channel statistics report indicating one or more channel statistics associated with a channel measurement parameter based at least in part on the one or more semi-persistent communications (the UE transmits the CSI report to the network node; the CSI report includes a CQI statistical metric generated based on one or more of the CQI values; see paragraphs [0036], [0105], [0155] and Fig. 1); wherein the one or more channel statistics include at least one of a minimum value of the channel measurement parameter over a period of time (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language or) , a standard deviation of values of the channel measurement parameter over the period of time (when a statistical CSI indication is detected, the UE performs multiple channel measurements for a time interval; the CSI report includes the CQI statistical metric comprising a standard deviation of the CQI value; see paragraphs [0025], [0036], [0155] and [0196]) , or a percentile of values of the channel measurement parameter over the period of time (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language or). . Specifically for claim 16 ; Olsson discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (UE; see paragraph [0093] and Fig. 15) , comprising: a memory (memory 1505; see Fig. 15) ; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (processor 1503; see Fig. 15). Regarding claims 3 and 18 ; Olsson discloses wherein the channel measurement parameter is at least one of: a reference signal received power associated with the one or more semi-persistent communications (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language at least one of) , an interference level associated with the one or more semi-persistent communications (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language at least one of) , a signal to interference plus noise ratio associated with the one or more semi-persistent communications (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language at least one of) , a reference signal received quality associated with the one or more semi-persistent communications (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language at least one of) , a received signal strength indicator associated with the one or more semi-persistent communications (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language at least one of) , or a channel quality indicator associated with the one or more semi-persistent communications (the enhanced CQI reporting is applied when the CSI-RS is configured as semi-persistent CSI-RS; see paragraphs [0036] and [0155]). Regarding claims 4 and 19 ; Olsson discloses measuring the one or more semi-persistent communications to determine one or more values of the channel measurement parameter, wherein the one or more channel statistics are based at least in part on the one or more values of the channel measurement parameter (the enhanced CQI report is applied when the CSI-RS is configured as semi-persistent CSI-RS; the CSI report includes a CQI statistical metric generated based on one or more of the CQI values; see paragraphs [0036] and [0155]). Regarding claims 6 and 21 ; Olsson discloses receiving, from the base station, a configuration associated with reporting channel statistics (CSI reporting is configured via CSI-ReportConfig and can be one of three types: aperiodic, semi-persistent and periodic; the gNB indicates to the UE that statistical CSI shall be reported; see paragraphs [0013] and [0196]). Regarding claims 10 and 25 ; Olsson discloses transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), one or more semi-persistent communications (a base station transmits downlink signal, such as CSI-RS; CSI-RS is configured as semi-persistent CSI-RS; see paragraphs [0105], [0155] and Fig. 1) ; and receiving, from the UE, a channel statistics report indicating one or more channel statistics that are based at least in part on a channel measurement parameter associated with the one or more semi-persistent communications (the base station receives the CSI report from the UE; for semi-persistent CSI-RS, the UE transmits channel statistics report including standard deviation of CQI to the base station; see paragraphs [0036], [0105], [0155] and Fig. 1); wherein the one or more channel statistics include at least one of a minimum value of the channel measurement parameter over a period of time (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language or) , a standard deviation of values of the channel measurement parameter over the period of time (when a statistical CSI indication is detected, the UE performs multiple channel measurements for a time interval; the CSI report includes the CQI statistical metric comprising a standard deviation of the CQI value; see paragraphs [0025], [0036], [0155] and [0196]) , or a percentile of values of the channel measurement parameter over the period of time (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language or). Specifically for claim 25 ; Olsson discloses a base station for wireless communication (network node; see Fig. 14) , comprising: a memory (memory 1405; see Fig. 14) ; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (processor 1403; see Fig. 14). Regarding claims 13 and 28 ; Olsson discloses transmitting, to the UE, a configuration associated with reporting channel statistics (CSI reporting is configured via CSI-ReportConfig and can be one of three types: aperiodic, semi-persistent and periodic; the gNB indicates to the UE that statistical CSI shall be reported; see paragraphs [0013] and [0196]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson; in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0209507 A1) . Regarding claims 5 and 20 ; Olsson discloses a UE transmits a channel statistics report to a base station. Olsson does not explicitly disclose transmitting the channel statistics report using a semi-persistent uplink resource. Liu discloses wherein transmitting the channel statistics report indicating the one or more channel statistics comprises at least one of: transmitting, using a periodic uplink resource, the channel statistics report, transmitting, using a semi-persistent uplink resource (for SP CSI reporting, periodic uplink transmission resources refers to CSI-ReportConfig with reportConfigType set to semiPersistentOnPUCCH; see paragraph [0129] ) , the channel statistics report, or transmitting, using an aperiodic uplink resource, the channel statistics report (no patentable weight is given to other limitations due to claim language at least one of). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Olsson and Liu to transmit the channel statistics report using a semi-persistent uplink resource to support NR system (see paragraph [0003] of Liu) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson; and in further view of Guan et al. (US 2020/0067674 A1) . Regarding claims 7 and 22 ; Olsson discloses a UE receives a configuration associated with reporting channel statistics. Olsson does not explicitly disclose the configuration indicates a time window for performing measurements. Guan discloses wherein the configuration indicates a time window for performing measurements of the one or more semi-persistent communications (the reference signal includes semi-persistent reference signal; a configuration of time window of the base station may be notified to the UE; the UE may perform an operation such as averaging or filtering on a measurement result within the time window; see paragraphs [00113], [0194] and [0197]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Olsson and Guan to configure a time window for performing measurements in order to get channel measurement statistics (see paragraph [0197] of Guan) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8-9, 14-15, 23-24 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson; in view of Kwak et al. (US 2019/0364546 A1) . Regarding claims 8 and 23 ; Olsson discloses a UE transmits a channel statistics report to a base station. Olsson does not explicitly disclose the UE receives an activation message associated with the channel statistics report. Kwak discloses receiving, from the base station via medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signaling or downlink control information signaling, an activation message or a deactivation message associated with the channel statistics report (a base station actives a semi-persistent CSI report by DCI; see paragraph [0159] and Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Olsson and Kwak to receive an activation message associated with the channel statistics report to support dynamic semi-persistent CSI reporting (see paragraph [0013] of Kwak). Regarding claims 9 and 24 ; Olsson discloses a UE transmits a channel statistics report to a base station. Olsson does not explicitly disclose receiving DCI triggering the channel statistics report. Kwak discloses wherein the channel statistics report is an aperiodic channel statistics report, the method further comprising: receiving downlink control information (DCI) triggering the channel statistics report (a base station configures an aperiodic feedback indicator, included in downlink control information to perform specific aperiodic feedback; see paragraphs [0108] – [0109]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Olsson and Kwak to receive DCI triggering the channel statistics report in order to efficiently use the resources in a new radio system (see paragraph [0007] of Kwak). Regarding claims 14 and 29 ; Olsson discloses a UE transmits a channel statistics report to a base station. Olsson does not explicitly disclose the UE receives an activation message associated with the channel statistics report. Kwak discloses transmitting, to the UE via medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signaling or downlink control information signaling, an activation message or deactivation message associated with the channel statistics report (a base station actives a semi-persistent CSI report by DCI; see paragraph [0159] and Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Olsson and Kwak to receive an activation message associated with the channel statistics report to support dynamic semi-persistent CSI reporting (see paragraph [0013] of Kwak). Regarding claims 15 and 30 ; Olsson discloses a UE transmits a channel statistics report to a base station. Olsson does not explicitly disclose receiving DCI triggering the channel statistics report. Kwak discloses wherein the channel statistics report is an aperiodic channel statistics report, the method further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) triggering the channel statistics report (a base station configures an aperiodic feedback indicator, included in downlink control information to perform specific aperiodic feedback; see paragraphs [0108] – [0109]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Olsson and Kwak to receive DCI triggering the channel statistics report in order to efficiently use the resources in a new radio system (see paragraph [0007] of Kwak) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11-12 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson; in view of Li et al. (WO 2021/093144 A1) . Regarding claims 11 and 26 ; Olsson discloses a base station transmits one or more semi-persistent communications. Olsson does not explicitly disclose transmitting a plurality of repetitions of a semi-persistent communication. Li discloses wherein transmitting the one or more semi-persistent communications comprises: transmitting, during a semi-persistent scheduling occasion, a plurality of repetitions of a semi-persistent communication of the one or more semi-persistent communications (during semi-persistent scheduling, the reference signal is transmitted using the configured transmission parameters after an activation instruction is communicated; the configured parameters include an a number of repeated transmissions of the reference signal; see paragraph 5 of page 4 and paragraph 1 of page 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Olsson and Li to transmit a plurality of repetitions of a semi-persistent communication to ensure communications are robust and accurate (see paragraph 1, page 8 of Li) Regarding claims 12 and 27 ; Olsson discloses a base station receives a channel statistics report from a UE. Olsson does not explicitly disclose receiving channel statistics reports per repetition of the one or more semi-persistent communications. Li discloses wherein receiving the channel statistics report indicating the one or more channel statistics comprises: receiving channel statistics reports per repetition of the one or more semi-persistent communications (the UE performs, based on the reference signal, a channel estimation operation and transmits to the base station; see last paragraph of page 3, paragraph 2 of page 12 and Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Olsson and Li to receive channel statistics report per repetitions of the one or more semi-persistent communications to ensure communications are robust and accurate (see paragraph 1, page 8 of Li). Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of a new reference Olsson et al. (US 2023/0231605 A1) being used in the current rejection. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NING LI whose telephone number is (571)270-0624. The examiner can normally be reached Monday, Tuesday, Thursday 8:30am - 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Rutkowski can be reached at (571) 270-1215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /N.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2415 /MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/002,771 Page 2 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/002,771 Page 3 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 18/002,771 Page 4 Art Unit: 2415