Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hu et al. (US 2023/0231260 A1) in view of Han et al. (US 2023/0101256 A1).
As to claim 1, Hu et al. discloses a battery box body (housing 11), comprising
a base plate assembly (separation component-13) and sidewalls surrounding the separation component, see figure 7 disposed surrounding the base plate assembly (figure 7),
wherein the base plate assembly is divided into a first region (first cavity 111) and a second region (112 second cavity), battery cells are disposed in the first region (figure 16), and a support plate is disposed in the second region (see annotated figure below);
the base plate assembly comprises an outer plate and an inner plate, a first pressure relief cavity is defined by the outer plate and the inner plate, and the battery cells are occluded on a portion of a cavity wall of the first pressure relief cavity (see annotated below);
a second pressure relief cavity is defined by the support plate and the inner plate, and other portion of the cavity wall of the first pressure relief cavity is communicated with the second pressure relief cavity (see annotated figure below, [0104]); and
Hu et al. does not disclose a side beam assembly or a third pressure relief cavity is defined by an inner cavity of the side beam assembly, the second pressure relief cavity is communicated with the third pressure relief cavity, and the side beam assembly is installed with a pressure relief valve communicated with the third pressure relief cavity.
Han et al. discloses a battery pack and includes a lower plate and partition wall member 1200 (side beam assembly) coupling to the lower plate and forming the housing (figure 1) [0056]. The partition wall member 1200 also includes a pressure relief cavity (P1) that connects to an adjacent relief cavity (P2) [0091]). The partition walls/sidewalls provide rigidity and may provide a high heat dissipation effect [0054]. The venting path allow for guiding a movement path of a flame or a high temperature gas that has evolved from the system [0063].
Therefore it would have been obvious to replace the side walls of Hu with the partition wall members of Han because this would allow a venting path to the outside thus effectively discharging heat or flame generated from battery cells to the outside of the battery pack to prevent a chain ignition or explosion [0008] and provide rigidity to the battery housing.
Thus by providing the beam of Han to the system of Hu a third pressure relief cavity is defined by an inner cavity of the side beam assembly (P1, figure 6 of Han), the second pressure relief cavity is communicated with the third pressure relief cavity (figure 6), and the side beam assembly is installed with a pressure relief valve (outlet-not shown) communicated with the third pressure relief cavity
As to claim 2, Hu et al. discloses the inner plate (13-separation component) comprises a carrier plate (plate portion having holes 213) and a spacing plate (plate 13 located in section 112a -see figure 6), wherein each of the battery cells is occluded at a side of a corresponding one of first through holes (213a) defined in the carrier plate (figure 16), the second pressure relief cavity is defined by the spacing plate and the support plate,
and the first pressure relief cavity is communicated with the second pressure relief cavity through second through holes (132a) defined in the spacing plate (see figure 13).
As to claim 3, Hu et al. discloses wherein a strainer plate (1312) is disposed on the second through holes defined in the spacing plate (figure 13).
As to claim 4, Hu further discloses a phase change material layer [0128] is affixed on the strainer plate (oxidant coating [0126-0129, 0120- 0121] (oxidant can be on the flow channel baffle and/or in the collection cavity 11b or guard member 133).
As to claim 5, Hu does not disclose the material as steel. Han discloses the battery box wherein the outer plate is a steel plate [0012 or claim 4 of Han]. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
As to claim 6, Han et al further discloses the partition walls (1200) including isolation walls (1210) are disposed in the third pressure relief cavity (figure 6 of Han), and configured to divide the third pressure relief cavity into a plurality of cavities communicated with each other.
As to claim 7, Modified Hu discloses a rectangular second region as shown in figure 7 and the second pressure relief cavity is communicated with the third pressure relief cavity ((figure 6) [0091] of Han), but does not disclose an isosceles trapezoid as is instantly claimed.
Han discloses the battery box with a cross section of the second region is an isosceles trapezoid, the side beam assembly comprises a first side beam and second side beams symmetrically communicated with both ends of the first side beam (figure 2), pressure relief holes (H1) are defined beams, and the second pressure relief cavity is communicated with the third pressure relief cavity through the pressure relief holes. Han does not explicitly disclose the holes in the second side beam. However It has been held that if a claimed invention reads on the prior art except with regard to the position of a component of a device, the invention is unpatentable if switching the position of the component would have not modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In this case, switching the positions of the holes would not modify the operation of the device as it would still allow for gas to escape. Furthermore, it has been held that the configuration or shape of a claimed device is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed device is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). In this case, having a trapezoid instead of a rectangular would be a choice depending on the location of the battery.
As to claim 8, Han discloses each of the second side beams has an L-shaped cross section and comprises a horizontal side beam and a vertical side beam (figure 3) communicated with each other, wherein the horizontal side beam is located in the second region, and but does not disclose the second pressure relief cavity is communicated with the horizontal side beam.
However it has been held that if a claimed invention reads on the prior art except with regard to the position of a component of a device, the invention is unpatentable if switching the position of the component would have not modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In this case, switching the positions of the holes from the vertical portion to the horizontal would not modify the operation of the device, which is to allow for the gas to escape.
As to claim 9, Modified Hu discloses the battery box body according to claim 8, wherein two second side beams are symmetrical along a symmetrical plane (figure 2 of Han), but does not explicitly disclose two pressure relief valves are provided, and installed on the side beam assembly and located at a side of the first region away from the second region, and the two pressure relief valves are symmetrical along the symmetrical plane.
However Han does disclose outlet provided in the pack housing.
The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). In this case multiplying the outlets would allow for the gas to be expelled to the outside quickly. Furthermore, the location of the valves can be placed on the side beam as this is a design choice. And It has been held that if a claimed invention reads on the prior art except with regard to the position of a component of a device, the invention is unpatentable if switching the position of the component would have not modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
As to claim 10, Modified Hu discloses further comprising a connection plate and a fastener (1240-coupling member), wherein the fastener passes through the connection plate, the base plate assembly, and the side beam assembly in sequence, and the fastener is configured to enable the connecting plate, the base plate assembly, and the side beam assembly to be connected with each other (figure 7) [0076] discloses that a portion of the coupling members 1240 may connect the reinforcement members 1220 and 1230 and the support frame 1210 in the width direction (e.g., in the Z-axis direction) of the battery pack (e.g., 1000 in FIGS. 1 and 2).
As to claim 11, Hu discloses the battery box but does not disclose a crossbeam. Han discloses a first crossbeam (1300 second partition wall), wherein the first crossbeam (1300) is configured to divide the first region into a plurality of installation regions (figure 2), and each of the installation regions is configured to install a group of the battery cells (figure 2) [0054]. The cross beams are provided for forming partitions and providing rigidity to the housing [0054].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the cross beam because this would provide additional rigidity.
As to claim 12. Modified Hu discloses the first crossbeam is a cross beam (see figure 2).
As to claim 13, Modified Hu discloses the battery box body according to claim 1, further comprising a second crossbeam , wherein the second crossbeam is configured to separate the first region from the second region, but does not explicitly state the second region is configured to install an electrical component.
However it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to place additional electrical component in the second region because this would allow for a compact battery box on the vehicle.
As to claim 14, Hu et al. discloses a battery module, comprising battery cells (20) and a battery box body (figure 16), wherein the battery cells are disposed in a first region (figure 16, location of 13 in figure 7);
the battery box body comprises a base plate assembly (13-separation component) and walls surrounding the base plate assembly, wherein the base plate assembly is divided into the first region and a second region, and a support plate is disposed on the second region;
the base plate assembly comprises an outer plate and an inner plate, wherein a first pressure relief cavity is defined by the outer plate and the inner plate, and the battery cells are occluded on a portion of a cavity wall of the first pressure relief cavity (see figure 16 for location of cells);
a second pressure relief cavity is defined by the support plate and the inner plate, and other portion of the cavity wall of the first pressure relief cavity is communicated with the second pressure relief cavity (132a allows for the gas to go from the first to the second relief cavity, figure 13);
Hu et al. does not disclose a side beam assembly or a third pressure relief cavity.
Han et al. discloses a battery pack and includes a lower plate and partition wall member 1200 (side beam assembly) coupling to the lower plate and forming the housing (figure 1) [0056]. The partition wall member 1200 also includes a pressure relief cavity (P1) that connects to an adjacent relief cavity (P2) [0091]). The partition walls/sidewalls provide rigidity and may provide a high heat dissipation effect [0054]. The venting path allow for guiding a movement path of a flame or a high temperature gas that has evolved from the system [0063].
Therefore it would have been obvious to replace the side walls of Hu with the partition wall members of Han because this would allow a venting path to the outside thus effectively discharging heat or flame generated from battery cells to the outside of the battery pack to prevent a chain ignition or explosion [0008] and provide rigidity to the battery housing.
Thus by providing the beam of Han to the system of Hu a third pressure relief cavity is defined by an inner cavity of the side beam assembly (P1, figure 6 of Han), the second pressure relief cavity is communicated with the third pressure relief cavity (figure 6), and the side beam assembly is installed with a pressure relief valve (outlet-not shown) communicated with the third pressure relief cavity
As to claim 15, Hu et al. discloses the inner plate (13-separation component) comprises a carrier plate (plate portion having holes 213) and a spacing plate (plate 13 located in section 112a -see figure 6), wherein each of the battery cells is occluded at a side of a corresponding one of first through holes (213a) defined in the carrier plate (figure 16), the second pressure relief cavity is defined by the spacing plate and the support plate,
and the first pressure relief cavity is communicated with the second pressure relief cavity through second through holes (132a) defined in the spacing plate (see figure 13).
As to claim 16, Hu et al. discloses wherein a strainer plate (1312) is disposed on the second through holes defined in the spacing plate (figure 13).
As to claim 17, Hu further discloses a phase change material layer [0128] is affixed on the strainer plate (oxidant coating [0126-0129, 0120- 0121] (oxidant can be on the flow channel baffle and/or in the collection cavity 11b or guard member 133).
As to claim 18, Hu does not disclose the material as steel. Han discloses the battery box wherein the outer plate is a steel plate [0012 or claim 4 of Han]. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
As to claim 19, Han et al further discloses the partition walls (1200) including isolation walls (1210) are disposed in the third pressure relief cavity (figure 6 of Han), and configured to divide the third pressure relief cavity into a plurality of cavities communicated with each other.
As to claim 20, Modified Hu discloses the battery box but does not explicitly state further comprising an electrical component, wherein the electrical component is disposed on the support plate.
However it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to place additional electrical component on the support plate because this would allow for a compact battery box on the vehicle.
Conclusion
/Maria Laios/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727