This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendments/remarks received July 6, 2026.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn.
Claims 8-22, 28-32 are withdrawn. Claims 1-7, 23-27, 33-36 are under consideration.
Priority: This application is a 371 of PCT/US21/38606, filed June 23, 2021, which claims benefit of provisional application 63/042668, filed June 23, 2020.
Objections and Rejections
Claims 1-7, 23-27, 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abuchowski et al. (US 20100311657; IDS 01.12.23, previously cited). Abuchowski et al. disclose compositions or solutions comprising PEG-Hb (Pegylated hemoglobin) (at least paragraphs 0040, 0045). Abuchowski et al. disclose the PEG-Hb based resuscitation fluid has at least 75%-100% efficacy to fresh frozen plasma, where exemplary formulations include coagulation factors, platelets, or other substances known to aid in coagulopathy (at least paragraph 0103). Abuchowski et al. disclose formulations comprising the PEG-Hb and a blood composition enriched in platelets and/or additional stabilizing agents (at least paragraph 0182). Abuchowski et al. disclose that the PEG-Hb are formulated in solutions, including hypotonic salt solutions (at least paragraphs 0037, 0045, 0085, 0216) and acceptable carriers including standard pharmaceutical carriers such as saline solutions, water, etc. (at least paragraph 0062), where water includes deionized water, water-for-injection (WFI) (at least paragraph 0119).
It is known that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at a hypotonic solution comprising a PEG-Hb, a blood composition enriched in platelets, and a carrier such as deionized water in view of the teachings of Abuchowski et al., thereby arriving at the claimed low ionic solute solution comprising a HBOC and blood plasma, wherein the low ionic solute solution comprises no more than the recited concentrations of sodium, potassium, calcium, magnesium, chloride, bicarbonate, and phosphate (instant claim 1). The motivation to do so is given by Abuchowski et al., which disclose a PEG-Hb preparation is formulated in a hypotonic solution and further disclose solutions of low salt such as deionized water and WFI. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because preparing low salt solutions comprising a HBOC was known at the time of the invention.
Regarding instant claims 2-5, Abuchowski et al. disclose the invention provides a PEG-Hb-based resuscitation fluid having at least 75%, at least 80%, at least 85%, at least 90% at least 95% or about 100% of the efficacy equal to fresh frozen plasma in correcting coagulopathy; exemplary formulations according to this embodiment further include coagulation factors, platelets or other substances known to aid in the mitigation of coagulopathy (paragraph 0103). Abuchowski et al. disclose providing PEG-Hb resuscitation fluids having coagulation factors present; in various embodiments, the coagulation factors are present in an amount not less than 60%, not less than 70%, not less than 80% or not less than 90% of fresh frozen plasma (paragraph 0106). Abuchowski et al. disclose in an exemplary embodiment, the resuscitation fluid includes platelets; it is generally preferred that the resuscitation fluids of the invention including platelets have a cell count and activity that is not less than 60%, not less than 70% (paragraph 0107). Abuchowski et al. disclose that the platelets are a blood composition (paragraph 0182) and also disclose compositions of the PEG-Hb include about 6% of the PEG-Hb (paragraph 0241). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the quantities of HBOC from about 5% to about 95%, a blood composition comprising from about 5% to about 95%, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or diluent at the noted quantities, by routine optimization. The motivation to do so is given by Abuchowski et al., which disclose preparing a PEG-Hb in a resuscitation fluid comprising the same components recited in the instant claims and at similar quantities. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because the elements and amounts for preparing resuscitation fluids comprising a HBOC were known at the time of the invention.
Regarding instant claim 6, Abuchowski et al. disclose the hemoglobin is conjugated with polymers having various molecular weights (at least paragraphs 0053-0057). Therefore, Abuchowski et al. can be deemed to disclose hemoglobin that is hyperpolymerized.
Regarding instant claims 23-25, Abuchowski et al. disclose providing a kit in which two or more components are present and stored separately prior to their combination; the kit can include two or more ampoules, each containing an element of the combination formulation of the invention in liquid or dry form (at least paragraph 0215). Abuchowski et al. also disclose the composition includes a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, such as a diluent fraction comprising a salt (at least paragraph 0085). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at a kit or package comprising a container comprising a HBOC, a container containing a blood composition enriched in platelets, and a container comprising an acceptable carrier or solution such as deionized water or WFI, where the blood composition enriched in platelets is in dried form (instant claims 23-25). The motivation to do so is given by Abuchowski et al., which disclose HBOCs can be provided in combination with blood compositions in kits. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because formulations of HBOCs and blood compositions were known and available in the prior art.
Regarding instant claim 26, Abuchowski et al. disclose that the PEG-Hb itself or the entire formulation can be formulated to be hypotonic, isotonic or hypertonic with respect to the tonicity of the subject’s blood (at least paragraph 0216). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the blood composition enriched in platelets in dried form and to prepare the HBOC preparation in a low ionic solute solution in the kit of Abuchowski et al. noted above (instant claim 26). The motivation to do so is given by Abuchowski et al., which disclose that the components of the kits can be prepared in liquid or dry form and that the HBOC can be formulated in a hypotonic solution. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because formulating and preparing HBOCs and blood compositions were known and available in the prior art.
Regarding instant claims 27, 33-35, Abuchowski et al. disclose preparing the PEG-Hb in a buffer solution containing 5.0 mM sodium bicarbonate, 1.0 mM sodium phosphate, 150 mM sodium chloride, 4.7 mM potassium chloride, 2.5 mM magnesium sulfate, 0.5 mM calcium chloride (at least paragraph 0251). Abuchowski et al. disclose that the PEG-Hb are formulated in solutions, including hypotonic salt solutions (at least paragraphs 0037, 0045, 0085, 0216) and acceptable carriers including standard pharmaceutical carriers such as saline solutions, water, etc. (at least paragraph 0062), where water includes deionized water, water-for-injection (WFI) (at least paragraph 0119). It is known that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the recited low ionic solute solution for a HBOC, where the low ionic solute solution comprises lowering the concentrations of the sodium, potassium, calcium, magnesium, chloride, bicarbonate, and phosphate disclosed in Abuchowski et al. to arrive at the recited low salt concentrations in the instant claims by routine optimization. The motivation to do so is given by Abuchowski et al., which disclose a PEG-Hb preparation in a buffer solution comprising the same solutes recited and further disclose that the solutions comprising PEG-Hb can be formulated to be a low salt solution. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because preparing low salt solutions comprising a HBOC was known at the time of the invention.
Regarding instant claim 36, as noted above, Abuchowski et al. also disclose compositions of the PEG-Hb includes about 6% of the PEG-Hb (paragraph 0241) and Abuchowski et al. also disclose the composition includes a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, such as a diluent fraction comprising a salt (at least paragraph 0085). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a PEG-Hb quantity of about 6% and an amount of a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier of the noted quantities in an optimized low salt solution of Abuchowski et al. noted above, by routine optimization. The motivation to do so is given by Abuchowski et al., which disclose preparing a PEG-Hb in a low salt solution comprising the same components recited in the instant claims. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because the elements and amounts for preparing low salt solutions comprising a HBOC was known at the time of the invention.
Reply: In view of Applicant’s amendments/remarks, the previous 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) rejections have been withdrawn. However, the claims remain unpatentable under 103 for the reasons noted above and herein.
Applicant asserts that Abuchowski et al. do not teach or suggest the low ionic ranges of the present claims. Applicant asserts that the office relies on Abuchowski et al. for teaching a dialysis buffer that contains: 5.0 mM sodium bicarbonate, 1.0 mM sodium phosphate, 150 mM sodium chloride, 4.7 mM potassium chloride, 2.5 mM magnesium sulfate, 0.5 mM calcium chloride. Applicant asserts that contrary to the office’s contention, Abuchowski et al.’s buffer is not a low ionic buffer since Abuchowski et al. use physiological ranges in their buffer. Applicant asserts that furthermore, Abuchowski et al. do not motivate a skilled artisan toward the claimed low ion ranges. Applicant asserts that although Abuchowski et al. disclose hypotonic, isotonic, or hypertonic formulations, Abuchowski et al.’s working examples are limited to isotonic formulations.
Applicant’s remarks are not persuasive. MPEP 2123 notes that a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
Furthermore, “[t]he prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In this instance, while Abuchowski et al. do disclose preparing the PEG-Hb in a buffer solution containing 5.0 mM sodium bicarbonate, 1.0 mM sodium phosphate, 150 mM sodium chloride, 4.7 mM potassium chloride, 2.5 mM magnesium sulfate, 0.5 mM calcium chloride (at least paragraph 0251), it is expressly disclosed in Abuchowski et al. that the PEG-Hb is formulated in hypotonic, isotonic, or hypertonic salt solutions (at least paragraphs 0026, 0037, 0045, 0085, 0216, 0243). Abuchowski et al. further disclose suitable pharmaceutical carriers for the PEG-Hb includes any standard pharmaceutical carriers such as saline solutions, water, etc. (at least paragraph 0062), where water includes deionized water, water-for-injection (WFI) (at least paragraph 0119). Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill to arrive at hypotonic carriers such as the deionized water and WFI disclosed in Abuchowski et al. for formulating hypotonic solutions comprising the PEG-Hb in Abuchowski et al. because Abuchowski et al. disclose formulating PEG-Hb in hypotonic solutions for the same purpose as the claimed HBOC, and thereby arrive at a low ionic solution comprising no more than about 27 mEq/L sodium ions, no more than about 0.7 mEq/L potassium ions, no more than about 0.92 mEq/L calcium ions, no more than about 0.3 mEq/L magnesium ions, no more than about 19.2 mEq/L chloride ions, no more than about 0.5 mEq/L bicarbonate ions, as recited in the instant claim(s).
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marsha Tsay/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1656