DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3,5-6,9-11,14,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN215578675, translation found in IDS 2/7/24).
As to claim 1, Liu et al. discloses a top cap assembly (figure 5), applied to a battery comprising a housing (5) having a mounting hole, the top cap assembly passing through the mounting hole of the housing (figure 5), wherein the top cap assembly comprises (figure 2): a pole (1), wherein the pole is provided with an annular groove (11) recessed in a radial direction; a sealing element (22), wherein the sealing element (22) is sleeved on the pole (1) and positioned in the annular groove (11), the sealing element (22) is sandwiched between the housing (5) and a groove wall of the annular groove (11), and the sealing element (22) is partially positioned outside the housing (5); and a plastic element (21), wherein the plastic element is sleeved on the sealing element (22) and positioned outside the housing (5), and the plastic element (21) is partially sandwiched between the housing (5) and the groove wall of the annular groove (11).
As to claim 3, Liu et al. discloses, wherein the plastic element (figure 2 number 21) comprises an inner ring (212) and an outer ring (21) connected to each other, and wherein the inner ring (212) is sandwiched between the groove wall of the annular groove (11) and the housing (5) and lap-jointed with the sealing element (22), the outer ring (212) is positioned outside the annular groove (11) and positioned around an outer side of the pole (1), and a gap is defined between the outer ring (21) and an outer peripheral surface of the pole (1).
As to claim 5, Liu et al. discloses wherein the sealing element (figure 2 number 22) comprises a first sealing element (22) and a second sealing element (23), and wherein the first sealing element (22) is lap-jointed with the inner ring (212), at least one of the first sealing element (22) and the second sealing element (23) comprises a bending portion (23), the first sealing element (22) and the second sealing element (23) are abutted by the bending portion (23), and the bending portion is sandwiched between a groove bottom of the annular groove (11) and the housing (5).
As to claim 6, Liu et al. discloses wherein a limiting groove (figure 2 number 11) is defined on the groove wall of the annular groove (11), a limiting protrusion (14) is disposed on the inner ring (212), the inner ring is sandwiched between the housing (5) and the groove wall of the annular groove (11), and the limiting protrusion (14) is positioned in the limiting groove (11).
As to claim 9, Liu et al. discloses further comprising a positive current collector (figure 2 number 3) and an inner insulating sheet (23), wherein the positive current collector (3) is disposed on a cell of the battery, the pole (1) passes through the mounting hole and presses the positive current collector (3), and the inner insulating sheet (23) is sandwiched between the positive current collector (3) and an inner wall of the housing (5).
As to claim 10, Liu et al. discloses a battery structure, comprising a cell (figure 5), a housing (5), a bottom cap assembly, and a top cap assembly wherein the cell is positioned in the housing (5), and the top cap assembly and the bottom cap assembly are disposed at both ends of the housing, respectively, and the top cap assembly comprises (figure 2): a pole (1), wherein the pole is provided with an annular groove (11) recessed in a radial direction; a sealing element (22), wherein the sealing element is sleeved on the pole and positioned in the annular groove (11), the sealing element (22) is sandwiched between the housing and a groove wall of the annular groove (11), and the sealing element (22) is partially positioned outside the housing; and a plastic element (21), wherein the plastic element is sleeved on the sealing element (22) and positioned outside the housing, and the plastic element (21) is partially sandwiched between the housing and the groove wall of the annular groove (11).
As to claim 11, Liu et al. discloses wherein the bottom cap assembly comprises a bottom cap plate and a negative current collector disposed in a stacked manner, the bottom cap assembly abuts against the cell by the negative current collector, and the bottom cap assembly is connected with the housing by the bottom cap plate (paragraph 0002 and fig 4).
As to claim 14, Liu et al. discloses, wherein the plastic element (figure 2 number 21) comprises an inner ring (212) and an outer ring (21) connected to each other, and wherein the inner ring (212) is sandwiched between the groove wall of the annular groove (11) and the housing (5) and lap-jointed with the sealing element (22), the outer ring (212) is positioned outside the annular groove (11) and positioned around an outer side of the pole (1), and a gap is defined between the outer ring (21) and an outer peripheral surface of the pole (1) wherein a positive current collector (figure 2 number 3) and an inner insulating sheet (23), wherein the positive current collector (3) is disposed on a cell of the battery, the pole (1) passes through the mounting hole and presses the positive current collector (3), and the inner insulating sheet (23) is sandwiched between the positive current collector (3) and an inner wall of the housing (5).
As to claim 16, Liu et al. discloses, wherein the plastic element (figure 2 number 21) comprises an inner ring (212) and an outer ring (21) connected to each other, and wherein the inner ring (212) is sandwiched between the groove wall of the annular groove (11) and the housing (5) and lap-jointed with the sealing element (22), the outer ring (212) is positioned outside the annular groove (11) and positioned around an outer side of the pole (1), and a gap is defined between the outer ring (21) and an outer peripheral surface of the pole (1), wherein the sealing element (figure 2 number 22) comprises a first sealing element (22) and a second sealing element (23), and wherein the first sealing element (22) is lap-jointed with the inner ring (212), at least one of the first sealing element (22) and the second sealing element (23) comprises a bending portion (23), the first sealing element (22) and the second sealing element (23) are abutted by the bending portion (23), and the bending portion is sandwiched between a groove bottom of the annular groove (11) and the housing (5) wherein a positive current collector (figure 2 number 3) and an inner insulating sheet (23), wherein the positive current collector (3) is disposed on a cell of the battery, the pole (1) passes through the mounting hole and presses the positive current collector (3), and the inner insulating sheet (23) is sandwiched between the positive current collector (3) and an inner wall of the housing (5).
As to claim 17, Liu et al. discloses wherein the plastic element (figure 2 number 21) comprises an inner ring (212) and an outer ring (21) connected to each other, and wherein the inner ring (212) is sandwiched between the groove wall of the annular groove (11) and the housing (5) and lap-jointed with the sealing element (22), the outer ring (212) is positioned outside the annular groove (11) and positioned around an outer side of the pole (1), and a gap is defined between the outer ring (21) and an outer peripheral surface of the pole (1), wherein a limiting groove (figure 2 number 11) is defined on the groove wall of the annular groove (11), a limiting protrusion (14) is disposed on the inner ring (212), the inner ring is sandwiched between the housing (5) and the groove wall of the annular groove (11), and the limiting protrusion (14) is positioned in the limiting groove (11), wherein a positive current collector (figure 2 number 3) and an inner insulating sheet (23), wherein the positive current collector (3) is disposed on a cell of the battery, the pole (1) passes through the mounting hole and presses the positive current collector (3), and the inner insulating sheet (23) is sandwiched between the positive current collector (3) and an inner wall of the housing (5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,4,7-8,12-13,15,,18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Ning (CN113991186, translation from IDS 2/7/24).
Liu et al. discloses a top cap assembly described above. As to claim 2, Liu et al. fail to disclose wherein a hardness of the plastic element is greater than a hardness of the sealing element. Ning teaches the plastic element as an insulating plate and an insulating pad as a sealing element is made of fluororubber for the purpose of providing sealing function and (paragraph 0095).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Liu et al. with wherein a hardness of the plastic element is greater than a hardness of the sealing element for the purpose of providing optimal materials for optimal value in absence of unexpected results.
As to claim 4, Liu et al. fail to disclose wherein, in the radial direction of the pole, the gap has a size of a in the range of 0.1mm to 0.5mm, the outer ring has a width of b in the range of 0.4mm to 1mm, and a lap length of the inner ring and the sealing element is c in the range of 0.8mm to 3mm.
Liu et al. discloses a similar shaped pole in figure 2 but does not specify ranges of the gap, outer ring or lap length of the inner ring and sealing element. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Liu et al. with wherein, in the radial direction of the pole, the gap has a size of a in the range of 0.1mm to 0.5mm, the outer ring has a width of b in the range of 0.4mm to 1mm, and a lap length of the inner ring and the sealing element is c in the range of 0.8mm to 3mm in order to provide optimal results in absence of unexpected results.
As to claim 7-8, Liu et al. fail to disclose, further comprising a metal pressing ring wherein the metal pressing ring is sleeved on the pole and positioned in the annular groove, the metal pressing ring abuts against the sealing element and is positioned at a side of the sealing element away from the plastic element, and the housing presses the sealing element and the metal pressing ring against the groove wall of the annular groove, wherein the metal pressing ring and the pole are welded.
Ning teaches a metal pressing ring wherein the metal pressing ring is sleeved on the pole and positioned in the annular groove, the metal pressing ring abuts against the sealing element and is positioned at a side of the sealing element away from the plastic element, and the housing presses the sealing element and the metal pressing ring against the groove wall of the annular groove, wherein the metal pressing ring and the pole are welded for the purpose of achieving the connection between the positive electrode post and the housing and ensures the positive electrode and housing are insulated from each other (paragraph 0097,0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Liu et al. with a metal pressing ring wherein the metal pressing ring is sleeved on the pole and positioned in the annular groove, the metal pressing ring abuts against the sealing element and is positioned at a side of the sealing element away from the plastic element, and the housing presses the sealing element and the metal pressing ring against the groove wall of the annular groove, wherein the metal pressing ring and the pole are welded for the purpose of achieving the connection between the positive electrode post and the housing and ensures the positive electrode and housing are insulated from each other (paragraph 0097,0079).
As to claim 12, Liu et al. fail to disclose, wherein a surface of the bottom cap plate facing the negative current collector is convexly provided with a first convex portion a surface of the negative current collector facing the bottom cap plate is convexly provided with a second convex portion the first convex portion abuts against the second convex portion and the second convex portion is configured to adjust a distance between the negative current collector and the bottom cap plate.
Ning teaches , wherein a surface of the bottom cap plate facing the negative current collector is convexly provided with a first convex portion a surface of the negative current collector facing the bottom cap plate is convexly provided with a second convex portion the first convex portion abuts against the second convex portion and the second convex portion is configured to adjust a distance between the negative current collector and the bottom cap plate for the purpose of casing to serve as the negative terminal of the battery (paragraph 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Liu et al. with wherein a surface of the bottom cap plate facing the negative current collector is convexly provided with a first convex portion a surface of the negative current collector facing the bottom cap plate is convexly provided with a second convex portion the first convex portion abuts against the second convex portion and the second convex portion is configured to adjust a distance between the negative current collector and the bottom cap plate for the purpose of casing to serve as the negative terminal of the battery (paragraph 0034).
As to claim 13, Liu et al. discloses further comprising a positive current collector (figure 2 number 3) and an inner insulating sheet (23), wherein the positive current collector (3) is disposed on a cell of the battery, the pole (1) passes through the mounting hole and presses the positive current collector (3), and the inner insulating sheet (23) is sandwiched between the positive current collector (3) and an inner wall of the housing (5). , Liu et al. fail to disclose wherein a hardness of the plastic element is greater than a hardness of the sealing element. Ning teaches the plastic element as an insulating plate and an insulating pad as a sealing element is made of fluororubber for the purpose of providing sealing function and (paragraph 0095).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Liu et al. with wherein a hardness of the plastic element is greater than a hardness of the sealing element for the purpose of providing optimal materials for optimal value in absence of unexpected results.
As to claim 15, Liu et al. discloses wherein the plastic element (figure 2 number 21) comprises an inner ring (212) and an outer ring (21) connected to each other, and wherein the inner ring (212) is sandwiched between the groove wall of the annular groove (11) and the housing (5) and lap-jointed with the sealing element (22), the outer ring (212) is positioned outside the annular groove (11) and positioned around an outer side of the pole (1), and a gap is defined between the outer ring (21) and an outer peripheral surface of the pole (1), and further comprising a positive current collector (figure 2 number 3) and an inner insulating sheet (23), wherein the positive current collector (3) is disposed on a cell of the battery, the pole (1) passes through the mounting hole and presses the positive current collector (3), and the inner insulating sheet (23) is sandwiched between the positive current collector (3) and an inner wall of the housing (5). Liu et al. fail to disclose wherein, in the radial direction of the pole, the gap has a size of a in the range of 0.1mm to 0.5mm, the outer ring has a width of b in the range of 0.4mm to 1mm, and a lap length of the inner ring and the sealing element is c in the range of 0.8mm to 3mm.
Liu et al. discloses a similar shaped pole in figure 2 but does not specify ranges of the gap, outer ring or lap length of the inner ring and sealing element. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Liu et al. with wherein, in the radial direction of the pole, the gap has a size of a in the range of 0.1mm to 0.5mm, the outer ring has a width of b in the range of 0.4mm to 1mm, and a lap length of the inner ring and the sealing element is c in the range of 0.8mm to 3mm in order to provide optimal results in absence of unexpected results.
As to claim 18-19, Liu et al. discloses further comprising a positive current collector (figure 2 number 3) and an inner insulating sheet (23), wherein the positive current collector (3) is disposed on a cell of the battery, the pole (1) passes through the mounting hole and presses the positive current collector (3), and the inner insulating sheet (23) is sandwiched between the positive current collector (3) and an inner wall of the housing (5). Liu et al. fail to disclose, further comprising a metal pressing ring wherein the metal pressing ring is sleeved on the pole and positioned in the annular groove, the metal pressing ring abuts against the sealing element and is positioned at a side of the sealing element away from the plastic element, and the housing presses the sealing element and the metal pressing ring against the groove wall of the annular groove, wherein the metal pressing ring and the pole are welded.
Ning teaches a metal pressing ring wherein the metal pressing ring is sleeved on the pole and positioned in the annular groove, the metal pressing ring abuts against the sealing element and is positioned at a side of the sealing element away from the plastic element, and the housing presses the sealing element and the metal pressing ring against the groove wall of the annular groove, wherein the metal pressing ring and the pole are welded for the purpose of achieving the connection between the positive electrode post and the housing and ensures the positive electrode and housing are insulated from each other (paragraph 0097,0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Liu et al. with a metal pressing ring wherein the metal pressing ring is sleeved on the pole and positioned in the annular groove, the metal pressing ring abuts against the sealing element and is positioned at a side of the sealing element away from the plastic element, and the housing presses the sealing element and the metal pressing ring against the groove wall of the annular groove, wherein the metal pressing ring and the pole are welded for the purpose of achieving the connection between the positive electrode post and the housing and ensures the positive electrode and housing are insulated from each other (paragraph 0097,0079).
As to claim 20, Liu et al. fail to disclose wherein a hardness of the plastic element is greater than a hardness of the sealing element. Ning teaches the plastic element as an insulating plate and an insulating pad as a sealing element is made of fluororubber for the purpose of providing sealing function and (paragraph 0095).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Liu et al. with wherein a hardness of the plastic element is greater than a hardness of the sealing element for the purpose of providing optimal materials for optimal value in absence of unexpected results.
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724