DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim amendments filed 20 November 2025 are acknowledged. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Amendments to the claims, specification, and drawings are sufficient to overcome each and every objection previously presented in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 22 August 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The additional limitations specifying the angle of the UV radiation is sufficient to overcome the previously presented 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection. However, Perry anticipates the invention of claim 1.
Following the above logic, claims 2-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Perry. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Perry in view of Bettles. It should be noted that Bettles is not relied upon for any teachings argued in the applicant’s reply filed 20 November 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perry (US 8431910 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Perry teaches a touch detection device comprising: a screen having a touch detection surface with the ability to recognize presence of one or more contact points (touch screen monitors, column 3 line 52); a covering body surrounding a perimeter of the touch detection surface (Figure 2 edge of touch screen “6”), and having a rim extending from the perimeter of the touch detection ahead of a plane of the touch detection surface, the rim having at least one opening facing inward (Figure 3 plastic housing extending over touch screen); at least one transmitter of UV radiation with a wavelength between 100nm and 380nm (UVC source of about 100 nm to 280 nm, column 2 lines 2-3) located inside the at least one opening of the rim and capable to decontaminate the touch detection surface of the screen (Figure 3 UV radiator “4” attached to plastic housing to radiate UV on the touch screen); wherein a wall of the at least one opening is inclined at a non-zero angle toward the touch detection surface, to direct the UV radiation of the at least one emitter toward the touch detection surface (radiators are oriented to radiate UVC parallel with the surface of the touch screen, column 3 lines 63-65).
Regarding claim 2, Perry teaches a reflector to reflect radiation emitted by one or more radiation emitters and configured to concentrate the radiation to a determined area (allow UV to be broadcast via reflectors, column 2 lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 3, Perry teaches an electrical circuit that can be programmed with a time when the radiation emitter will be turned on and off (software provided to pre-program a desired sanitization schedule, abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Perry teaches at least one transmitter of UV radiation located on the outside of the device and may be located inside one or more accommodations (Figure 3 UV radiator “4” in plastic housing outside of touch screen).
Regarding claim 5, Perry teaches fiber optics configured to direct the UV radiation to a region to be decontaminated (one or more fiber-optic filaments, abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Perry teaches a film on the touch detection surface configured to protect components of the screen from UV radiation (UV protective cover is provided to protect UV-sensitive portions of the hand-held electronic device, abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Perry teaches wherein the screen includes a touch-sensitive screens or a multi-touch screen (touch screen monitors, column 3 line 52).
Regarding claim 9, Perry teaches wherein the screen comprises one of a touch screens, a multi-touch screen, a resistive touch screen, a projected capacitive touch screen, an integrated touch screen (touch screen monitors, column 3 line 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perry in view of Bettles (US 20160000953 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Perry teaches all aspects of the current invention as discussed above except at least one LED lighting configured to indicate that the touch detection surface is decontaminated. However, Bettles teaches at least one LED lighting configured to indicate that the touch detection surface is decontaminated (system can include an LED indicator to emit a visual light for the user, paragraph [0047]).
Perry and Bettles are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of touch screen disinfection devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the touch screen disinfection device taught by Perry with the indicator device taught by Bettles because Bettles teaches the visual light can advantageously show when the ultraviolet radiation is being generated, paragraph [0047]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799