DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo (US 2021/0123490) in view of Troy (US 3,095,065).
Regarding independent claim 1, Jo discloses an electric actuator (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-5) comprising: an input member (5) that is rotationally driven by an electric motor (2) and includes a first rotation stop part on an inner periphery (see ¶ 0058); an output member (30), on an outer periphery, including a second rotation stop part (33) engageable with the first rotation stop part (see ¶ 0058) and a first screw part (37) (see FIG. 2); and a linear motion member (50) including a second screw part engageable with the first screw part (see ¶ 0037).
Jo does not disclose that at a portion of the second rotation stop part and the first screw part are formed to overlap with each other in an axial direction of the output member.
Troy teaches a drum brake actuator (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 6) comprising an output member (45) a first rotation stop part (47) and a first screw part (46), wherein a portion of the second rotation stop part and the first screw part are formed to overlap with each other in an axial direction of the output member (see FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to configure the output member of Jo to have a rotation stop part and a first screw part to overlap with each other, as taught by Troy, to increase the amount of adjustment that can be achieved for a given length of the output member (see e.g. Troy, col. 4, lines 34-40).
Regarding claim 2, Jo discloses that the first screw part is a male screw (see FIG. 1) and the second screw part is a female screw (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Jo discloses that the first and second rotation stop parts are spline mechanisms (see ¶ 0058).
Regarding independent claim 4, Jo discloses an electric braking device for a vehicle (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-5) that converts rotation power of an electric motor (2) into linear power and presses a brake lining provided on a brake shoe (6) against a brake drum by the linear power to generate braking force on a wheel (see ¶¶ 0057, 0058, 0067), the electric braking device comprising: a power conversion mechanism (5, 30, 50) that converts the rotation power into the linear power (see ¶ 0067), the power conversion mechanism being configured by, an input member (5) including a first rotation stop part on an inner periphery (see ¶ 0058), an output member (30) including, on an outer periphery, a second rotation stop part (33) engageable with the first rotation stop part (see ¶ 0058) and a first screw part (37) (see FIG. 2), and a linear motion member (50) including a second screw part engageable with the first screw part (see ¶ 0037).
Jo does not disclose that at a portion of the second rotation stop part and the first screw part are formed to overlap with each other in an axial direction of the output member.
Troy teaches a drum brake actuator (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 6) comprising an output member (45) a first rotation stop part (47) and a first screw part (46), wherein a portion of the second rotation stop part and the first screw part are formed to overlap with each other in an axial direction of the output member (see FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to configure the output member of Jo to have a rotation stop part and a first screw part to overlap with each other, as taught by Troy, to increase the amount of adjustment that can be achieved for a given length of the output member (see e.g. Troy, col. 4, lines 34-40).
Regarding claim 5, Jo discloses that the first and second rotation stop parts are spline mechanisms (see ¶ 0058).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, noted above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
November 1, 2025