DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chikami (DE3149208A) in view of Verdier (US20100230083A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chikami teaches a vapor chamber (see annotated Fig. 2 below, hereinafter Fig. A) having a working fluid in an internal space formed between a first plate and a second plate, wherein the first plate comprises a plate part, and a first circumferential edge wall part which extends from a circumferential edge of the plate part toward the second plate, wherein the second plate comprises a plate part, and a second circumferential edge wall part which extends from a circumferential edge of the plate part toward the first plate, wherein the vapor chamber comprises a joining part and at least one extending part without any through hole, wherein the first circumferential edge wall part of the first plate and the second circumferential edge wall part of the second plate are joined by the joining part.
Fig. A – Annotated Fig. 2
Chikami does not teach the material is metal, the first circumferential edge wall part of the first metal plate and the second circumferential edge wall part of the second metal plate are joined by the joining part, and wherein a base end of the extending part is joined with the joining part, and wherein a length of the extending part from the base end to a leading end thereof is 10 mm or less.
Chikami does, however, further teach wherein a length of the extending part from the base end to a leading end thereof is chosen based on the amount of working fluid and diameter of the vapor chamber (Page 2), therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chikami to include the claimed dimensions, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II).
Verdier teaches wherein the material is metal, a first edge wall part and a second edge wall part are joined by the joining part, and wherein the base end of the extending part is joined with the joining part (bar 4 is laser welded to both edges of 1 along the length, see Fig. 8-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chikami to include the joining
part and material of Verdier, in order to provide a material and connection between the elements capable of resisting operating stresses at high temperatures (¶[0123]).
Regarding claim 2, Chikami teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Chikami further teaches the at least one of the extending parts extends from the joining part toward the internal space of the vapor chamber (Fig. A).
Regarding claim 6, Chikami as modified teaches the manufacturing method of the
vapor chamber according to claim 1, and Verdier further teaches the manufacturing method
comprising: a laser processing step of forming the joining part and the extending part by laser
(¶[0128]).
Regarding claim 15, Chikami teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Chikami further teaches the extending part supports, from an inner side in a thickness direction of the vapor chamber, the first circumferential edge wall part of the first metal plate and the second circumferential edge wall part of the second metal plate which are abutting each other (as modified above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763