DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9-11, 13, 15-17, and 20-26 are currently pending and are subject to this office action. Claims 9-11, 13, 15-17, and 20-26 are withdrawn. Claims 2-4, 6, 8, 12, 14, 18-19, and 27-31 are canceled. This office action is in response to Applicant’s request for continued examination filed on 02/24/2026.
Response to Amendments
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed on 02/24/2026 containing remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, on pages 6-9, filed 02/24/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant argues that Lee’s disclosure is limited and does not teach all the limitations of claim 1.
The Examiner agrees. The description of Lee does not fully disclose each and every element of the limitations of claim 1 for anticipation. Although the figures of Lee were also used to support the rejection, the figures do not clearly depict the limitations of the claims and can be seen as ambiguous. Thus, the previous rejection over Lee is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fursa (WO 2019030361 A1).
The following are modified rejections based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fursa (WO 2019030361 A1, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20210145061 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Fursa, directed to an aerosol-generation device teaches (i) a device (Fig. 4: #12) used for heating an aerosol forming substrate (Fig. 4: #34) of an aerosol generating article (Fig. 2: #14) to generate aerosol [0097]. (ii) The device comprises an inductor coil (Fig. 4: #26) formed from a wire comprising an electrically conductive core [0031] and is configured to receive at least a portion of an aerosol-generating article (Fig. 4: #14) within the inductor coil (Fig. 4: #26, [0018]).
(iii) An outer surface of the inductor coil (Fig. 6: #26) may be overmoulded with a portion of the housing [0027]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that overmoulding would involve forming a material around the inductor coil such that it surrounds the exterior surface of the coil. Figure 6 illustrates where an inner portion of the housing (Fig. 6: #217) is overmoulded with respect to an outer surface of the inductor coil (Fig. 6: #26, [0101]). Thus, the overmoulded configuration inherently encapsulates at least an outer edge of the inductive coil. (iv) An inner surface of the inductor coil (Fig. 4: #26) may contact the aerosol-generating article (Fig. 4: #14) received within the inductor coil [0034].
With regard to Claim 7, Fursa teaches wherein the housing may comprise materials made from plastics or polyether ether ketone (PEEK) [0048].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fursa (WO 2019030361 A1, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20210145061 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Naito (US 20130305504 A1).
With regard to Claim 5, Fursa teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Fursa is silent to:
Wherein the conductive wire has a substantially rectangular cross-section having a width in a range of 2.75 mm +- 30% to 5.95 mm +- 30% and a thickness in the range 0.05 mm +- 30% to 0.1 mm +- 30%; or the conductive wire has a substantially circular cross-section having a diameter of 0.2 to 0.65 mm
Naito, directed to a gang socket and jig for manufacturing a capacitor element, teaches wherein a conductive lead wire has a transverse cross-sectional shape of a circle with an outer diameter of 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm [0080]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the conductive wire of Fursa to fit the claimed measurements because the diameter range of Naito helps to prevent corrosion [0082]. There is a significant amount of overlap in the diameter range of 0.2 to 0.65 mm of the claimed invention and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to modify the conductive wire of Fursa to have a substantially circular cross- section having a diameter of 0.2 to 0.65 mm because both Fursa and Naito are directed to using conductive wires while preventing heat damage from the wire. Naito teaches a lead wire with a diameter of 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm to help prevent corrosion and this merely involves applying a known wire size to a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/O.O.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755