Status of Claims
Claims 1-30 pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed June 12, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-30 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is made over US 20140062762 A1 to Kurono (‘762) in view of US 20050179579 A1 to Pinder (‘579).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140062762 A1 to Kurono (‘762) in view of US 20050179579 A1 to Pinder (‘579).
Regarding claim 1,
Kurono (‘762) teaches:
A method of obtaining super resolution in a radar system, ([0046] – “azimuth operation using ESPRIT”) the method comprising:
performing a scan with the radar system, wherein the scan comprises:
transmitting, with the radar system, radar signals using a plurality of beams, wherein the plurality of beams is created using analog beamforming; ([0037-38] – “Thus, with the arrangement in which the transmission antennas 11a to 11d are shifted in the vertical direction, the vertical azimuth of the target can be calculated using a suitable angle estimation method; and with the arrangement in which the receiving antennas 12a to 12d are shifted in the horizontal direction, the horizontal azimuth of the target can be calculated using a suitable angle estimation method.” [0057] – “sequentially changing over the transmission antennas 11a to 11d”) and
receiving, with the radar system, reflected radar signal data, from reflections of the radar signals off of one or more objects; ([0037] – “The receiving antennas 12a to 12d are arranged to be shifted in a horizontal direction, and receive a reflected wave, individually”)
(lined through limitations correspond to limitations not taught by reference)
obtaining the super resolution by processing the offset reflected radar signal data using techniques from a beamspace super resolution estimation. ([0046] – “the horizontal azimuth operation unit 18c performs the azimuth operation using ESPRIT” [0058] – “The vertical azimuth calculation unit 181 can calculate the vertical azimuth which is an azimuth of the target in the direction perpendicular to the ground surface by using the known ESPRIT etc. like the horizontal azimuth operation unit 18c”)
Pinder (‘579) teaches:
determining a speed of the radar system while the scan was performed; (Fig. 5; [0070] – “position and velocity information provided by the Motion Information module 18… Motion Information module 18 can be an Inertial Navigation System (INS) which may preferably use GPS data” [0082] – “motion of the conveyance translates to motion of the antenna elements… conveyance onto which the antenna (and radar) is mounted.” [0085] – “INS 118 provides a set of motion information coordinates (block 220) that are associated with the motion of the conveyance”)
offsetting the reflected radar signal data by the determined speed of the radar system; (Fig. 5[0113] – “a motion information module for providing motion information related to motion of the radar system; a motion compensation beamformer module connected to the match filter module and the motion information module for utilizing the motion information to provide motion-compensated range-pulse-azimuth data; and, a Doppler processing module connected to the motion compensation beamformer module to provide motion-compensated range-Doppler-azimuth data.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Pinder’s known technique to Kurono’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Kurono teaches a base radar method for horizontal and vertical azimuth detections for use when the radar is in motion, e.g., approaching the target (see Figs. 8, 9) and teaches compensation for relative movement between target and radar, e.g. Fig. 8 and [0072]; (2) Pinder teaches a specific method determining radar receiver motion and compensating for the motion; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a more accurate system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 2,
Kurono (‘762) in view of Pinder (‘579) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Kurono (‘762) further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of beams comprises a plurality of elevation beams, a plurality of azimuth beams, or both. (Figs. 2; [0037-38] – “Thus, with the arrangement in which the transmission antennas 11a to 11d are shifted in the vertical direction, the vertical azimuth of the target can be calculated using a suitable angle estimation method; and with the arrangement in which the receiving antennas 12a to 12d are shifted in the horizontal direction, the horizontal azimuth of the target can be calculated using a suitable angle estimation method.” [0057] – “sequentially changing over the transmission antennas 11a to 11d”)
Regarding claim 3,
Kurono (‘762) in view of Pinder (‘579) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Kurono (‘762) further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the beamspace super resolution estimation comprises beamspace MUSIC or beamspace ESPRIT. ([0058] – “The vertical azimuth calculation unit 181 can calculate the vertical azimuth which is an azimuth of the target in the direction perpendicular to the ground surface by using the known ESPRIT etc. like the horizontal azimuth operation unit 18c”)
Regarding claim 4,
Kurono (‘762) in view of Pinder (‘579) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Kurono (‘762) further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the radar system is located in or on a vehicle, ([abstract] – “in-vehicle radar device”)
Pinder (‘579) teaches:
and wherein the speed of the radar system is determined using one or more speed sensors of the vehicle. (Fig. 5; [0070] – “position and velocity information provided by the Motion Information module 18… Any device that can provide relatively accurate position and velocity information can be used.” [0082] – “motion of the conveyance translates to motion of the antenna elements… conveyance onto which the antenna (and radar) is mounted.” [0085] – “INS 118 provides a set of motion information coordinates (block 220) that are associated with the motion of the conveyance”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Pinder’s known technique to Kurono’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Kurono teaches a base radar method for horizontal and vertical azimuth detections for use when the radar is in motion, e.g., approaching the target (see Figs. 8, 9) and teaches compensation for relative movement between target and radar, e.g. Fig. 8 and [0072]; (2) Pinder teaches a specific method determining radar receiver motion and compensating for the motion; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a more accurate system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 5,
Kurono (‘762) in view of Pinder (‘579) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Kurono (‘762) further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein:
processing the offset reflected radar signal data using the beamspace super resolution estimation is performed by an edge computing device of the radar system; (Fig. 1 – signal processor 18; Examiner notes that their broadest reasonable interpretation of an edge computing device includes a signal processor. See instant application specification [0025].) and
data indicative of the super resolution is provided by the radar system to a computer communicatively coupled with the radar system. (Fig. 1; [0065] – “height calculation unit 184 outputs information about the target height to the ECU (not illustrated) for vehicle control which is connected when the distance, relative velocity, the horizontal angle, and the height of the target are calculated.” [0035] – “in-vehicle radar device 10 is connected to an ECU (Electronic Control Unit) for vehicle control and performs transmission and reception of information with the ECUs for vehicle control”)
Regarding claim 6,
Kurono (‘762) in view of Pinder (‘579) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Kurono (‘762) further teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein the computer comprises a vehicle computer. ([0035] – “in-vehicle radar device 10 is connected to an ECU (Electronic Control Unit) for vehicle control and performs transmission and reception of information with the ECUs for vehicle control”)
Regarding claim 7,
Kurono (‘762) in view of Pinder (‘579) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Kurono (‘762) does not teach the additional elements of the claim.
Pinder (‘579) teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein determining the speed of the radar system comprises obtaining, with the edge computing device, data indicative of the speed of the radar system from the computer or a sensor. (Fig. 5; [0070] – “position and velocity information provided by the Motion Information module 18… Any device that can provide relatively accurate position and velocity information can be used.” [0082] – “motion of the conveyance translates to motion of the antenna elements… conveyance onto which the antenna (and radar) is mounted.” [0085] – “INS 118 provides a set of motion information coordinates (block 220) that are associated with the motion of the conveyance”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Pinder’s known technique to Kurono’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Kurono teaches a base radar method for horizontal and vertical azimuth detections for use when the radar is in motion, e.g., approaching the target (see Figs. 8, 9) and teaches compensation for relative movement between target and radar, e.g. Fig. 8 and [0072]; (2) Pinder teaches a specific method determining radar receiver motion and compensating for the motion; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a more accurate system; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8,
Kurono (‘762) in view of Pinder (‘579) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Kurono (‘762) further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising outputting a position of each of the one or more objects based on the super resolution. (Fig. 1; [0065] – “height calculation unit 184 outputs information about the target height to the ECU (not illustrated) for vehicle control which is connected when the distance, relative velocity, the horizontal angle, and the height of the target are calculated.”)
Regarding claim 9,
Kurono (‘762) in view of Pinder (‘579) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Kurono (‘762) further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein each beam is transmitted in a respective direction that is predetermined and fixed. (Figs. 2, 5; [0037-38] – “transmission antennas 11a to 11d are arranged to be shifted from each other in a vertical direction”)
Regarding claim 10,
Kurono (‘762) in view of Pinder (‘579) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Kurono (‘762) further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of beams comprises fewer than five beams. (Figs. 2, 5 – four beams)
Regarding claim(s) 11-20,
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are system claims corresponding to method claim(s) 1-10, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 11-20 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 1-10.
Regarding claim(s) 21-27,
Claim(s) 21-27 is/are apparatus claims corresponding to method claim(s) 1-4 and 8-10, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 21-27 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 8-10, respectively.
Regarding claim(s) 28-30,
Claim(s) 21-27 is/are non-transitory computer readable medium claims corresponding to method claim(s) 1, 3, and 7, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 21-27 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, and 7, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20200249341-A1, US-20220065657-A1, US-20220050176-A1, US-12130356-B2, US-11175382-B2, WO-2017032977-A1.
Contact Information
/JULIANA CROSS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648