DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 32 have been amended. Claims 9, 10, 35, and 36 have been canceled. Claims 1-8, 11-34, and 37-43 are pending and are provided to be examined upon their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8, 11-34, and 37-43 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
A response is provided below in bold where appropriate.
Applicant notes Claim Objection, pg. 14 of Remarks:
Claim Objections
Claim 32 is objected to for a minor informality. Appropriate correction has been made. Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §101
Withdrawn based on the claim amendment.
Applicant argues 35 USC §101 Rejection, pg. 14 of Remarks:
Claims 1-8,11-34, and 37-43 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 for allegedly being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Applicant traverses this rejection.
The Examiner has argued that “using an interface has been shown to be part of a mental process” and “using an interface to reduce complexity or options can be done with a pen and paper, such as providing a busy executive with an executive summary”. Accordingly, the Examiner has considered using a generic device to modify complexity or number of options of a user interface to mitigate stress is analogous to modifying a presentation to a boss by providing an executive summary.
As noted above, however, independent claims 1 and 32 have each been amended to clarify that the user interface complexity is modified by flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options. Applicant submits that the recitation of the specific examples (i.e. flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chose options) distinguishes the currently claimed system from an executive summary, and therefore addresses the “abstract ideas” objection. That is, independent claims 1 and 32 are not directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As such, Applicant requests withdrawal of this rejection.
Respectfully, if a person is stressed, presenting the person with a long list of items or an unordered list could be marked up with pen and paper to eliminate (flatten) parts of a list (menu tree) or reorder items based on what is commonly looked at (important items).
Even if this were not abstract as a mental process, managing someone’s stress by obtaining their state information and feedback actions, and modifying an interface based on their stress is managing personal behavior, which is abstract under certain methods of organizing human behavior.
The rejection is respectfully maintained but modified for the claim amendments.
Applicant argues 35 USC §112 Rejection, pg. 15 of Remarks:
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §112
Claims 1-8, 11-34, and 37-43 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) as allegedly being indefinite due to the phrase of “modifying a user interface complexity”. Applicant traverses this rejection.
A decision on whether a claim is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) requires a determination of whether those skilled in the art would understand what is claimed when the claim is read in light of the specification. Power-One, Inc. v. Artesyn Techs., Inc., 599 F.3d 1343, 1350, 94 USPQ2d 1241, 1245 (Fed. Cir. 2010); Orthokinetics, Inc. v. Safety Travel Chairs, Inc., 806 F.2d 1565, 1 USPQ2d 1081 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In Orthokinetics, a claim directed to a wheel chair included the phrase “so dimensioned as to be insertable through the space between the doorframe of an automobile and one of the seats thereof.” 806 F.2d at 1568, 1 USPQ2d at 1082. The court found the phrase to be as accurate as the subject matter permits, since automobiles are of various sizes. /d. at 1576, 1 USPQ2d at 1088. “As long as those of ordinary skill in the art realized the dimensions could be easily obtained, § 112, 2d para. requires nothing more.” /d. Claim terms are typically given their ordinary and customary meaning as understood by one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art, and the generally understood meaning of particular terms may vary from art to art. See MPEP § 2111.01. Therefore, it is important to analyze claim terms in view of the application’s specification from the perspective of those skilled in the relevant art since a particular term used in one patent or application may not have the same meaning when used in a different application. Medrad, Inc. v. MRI Devices Corp., 401 F.3d 1313, 1318, 74 USPQ2d 1184, 1188 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
Independent claim 1 and 32 have each been amended to recite “modifying a user interface complexity by flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options”. In this regard, the “complexity” and modification thereof has been defined by “flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options”.
Withdrawn as to section (7) regarding complexity based on the claim amendment.
In this regard, those skilled in the art would understand what is claimed in view of the present amendments, particularly when read in light of the specification. For at least this reason, Applicant submits that this rejection has been overcome and requests withdrawal thereof.
Section (8) rejection is maintained but has been changed to a 112(d) issue as the claims depend on canceled claims. A dependent claim cannot depend from a canceled claim.
Applicant argues 35 USC §103 Rejection, starting pg. 16 of Remarks:
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103
Claims 1-8, 11-13, 18-20, 23-34, 37, 38, 40, and 43 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as allegedly being obvious over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0387796 to Cohen (Cohen). Claims 10, 11, 12, 13, 36, and 37 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as allegedly being obvious over Cohen in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0319869 to Dorfmann (Dorfmann). Claims 21, 22, and 41 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as allegedly being obvious over Cohen and Dorfmann, and in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0156308 to Ohnemus (Ohnemus). Claims 14-17 and 39 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as allegedly being obvious over Cohen and Dorfmann, in view of WO 2015/051376 to Alarcon (Alarcon). Applicant traverses all prior art rejections.
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, according to a test predominately used by the courts, three basic criteria must be met. First, there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings. Second, there must be a reasonable expectation of success. Finally, the prior art reference (or references when combined) must teach or suggest all the claim elements. The teaching or suggestion to make the claimed combination and the reasonable expectation of success must both be found in the prior art and not based on applicant's disclosure. Jn re Vaeck, 947 F.2d 488, 20 USPQ2d 1438 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
With regard to the Supreme Court’s decision in KSR Jnt’/. Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 US. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), it is noted that the Court did not dismiss the usefulness of the well-established “teaching, suggestion, or motivation” test set forth above, but merely cautioned against its rigid application. The Supreme Court in KSR commented that the Federal Circuit ‘‘no doubt has applied the test in accord with these principles [set forth in KSR] in many cases. ”’ /d. 82 USPQ2d at 1396. However, the Supreme Court also opined that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. . .” /d. 82 USPQ2d at 1395-96. Regardless of the precise test used, the Court, quoting /n re Kahn, cautioned that *‘‘[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’’ /d. 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Applicant submits that the currently cited art, whether considered individually or in any combination, fails to teach or suggest modifying a user interface complexity by flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options as currently claimed. Additionally, there is no teaching or motivation towards modifying a user interface complexity by flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options in any of the cited prior art documents.
From Cohen…
Produce a user interface…
“A vaporizer consistent with implementations of the current subject matter may be configured to connect (e.g., wirelessly or via a wired connection) to a communication device (or optionally two or more devices) in communication with the vaporizer. Such a device can be a component of a vaporizer system as discussed above, and can include first communication hardware, which can establish a wireless communication channel with second communication hardware of the vaporizer. For example, a device used as part of a vaporizer system may include a general purpose computing device (e.g., a smartphone, a tablet, a personal computer, some other portable device such as a smartwatch, or the like) that executes software to produce a user interface for enabling a user of the device to interact with a vaporizer. In other implementations of the current subject matter, such a device used as part of a vaporizer system can be a dedicated piece of hardware such as a remote control or other wireless or wired device having one or more physical or soft (e.g., configurable on a screen or other display device and selectable via user interaction with a touch-sensitive screen or some other input device like a mouse, pointer, trackball, cursor buttons, or the like) interface controls.” [0032]
Examples of various user interfaces can be generated (therefore, modify user interface)…
“Examples of application software with many of the features described herein for use with one or more vaporizers are described with reference to FIG. 9. Each of the user interface (UI) screens described herein in FIG. 9 can be generated by user interface 650 of a user device 305, and/or the computing apparatus 600. For example, the user device 305 can comprise the memory 620 storing instructions for executing the vaporizer application running on the user device 305. The processor 610 can execute those instructions and can generate the exemplary UIs using the display 630 and/or the user interface 650. The exemplary UIs can also be generated based on user input received via the display 630 and/or the user interface 650. The exemplary UIs can also be generated based on communications with the vaporizer 100, 200, remote server 307, other user devices 305, and/or other devices. The communications can be received using the network interface 640 and/or antenna 690 of the user device 305, the vaporizer 100, 200, and/or any other device.” [0165]
Cohen therefore has the ability to modify a user interface.
As such, the skilled person would not be prompted to modify the teachings in any of the cited prior art documents to arrive at the claimed invention.
Accordingly, Applicants submit that all prior art rejections have been overcome and request withdrawal thereof.
The rejection is respectfully maintained but modified for the claim amendments.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 42 recites a computer program comprising computer executable instructions adapted to cause a computer to perform the method of claim 32. For examination purposes this is interpreted as a system claim comprising a computer, where the computer executes instructions. Claim 43 is interpreted as a product claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8, 11-34, and 37-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-8, 11-34, and 37-43 are directed to a system, method, or product which are statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The Examiner has identified method Claim 32 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to system Claim 1.
Claim 32 recites the limitations of:
A user feedback method for a user of a first device, comprising
an obtaining step of obtaining one or more user factors indicative of a state of the user;
an estimating step of identifying at least a first feedback action based upon one or more of at least a subset of the obtained user factors;
a feedback step of select at least a first identified feedback action, and
a modifying step of causing a modification of one or more operations of at least the first device, according to the or each selected feedback action,
wherein the first device is not an aerosol delivery device,
wherein the first device provides a user interface for the purposes of interaction with the user, and
wherein modification of one or more operations of the first device relates to modifying a user interface complexity by flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options.
These above limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. The claim recites elements, in non-bold above, which covers performance of the limitation as managing personal behavior. Obtaining user factors indicative of a state of a user, identifying a first feedback action based on user actions, select a first identified feedback action, causing modification of operations of a first device according to selected feedback action, where modification of the first device relates to flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options is abstract as managing personal behavior by following rules or instructions (obtaining a state of a user, identifying feedback action of a user) and teaching (modifying operations according to selected feedback action, modifying user interface complexity by flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options). Therefore, the claim as a whole is directed to “treating a patient,” which is an abstract idea because it is a method of organizing human activity. “Treating a patient” is considered to be a method of organizing human activity because it is an example of managing personal behavior (including teaching and following rules or instructions). Obtaining information of a user (user state and feedback actions) to modify operations of a device (flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options) is treating a user’s stress, giving the claim it’s broadest reasonable interpretation (see pg.125, lines 1-9 of the instant specification). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a managing personal behavior, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. Claim 1 is also abstract for similar reasons. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims are abstract)
In as much as the claims are obtaining factors, identifying and selecting a feedback action (analyzing the data), and modifying operations (providing a result), the claims are also abstract under mental processes grouping of abstract ideas. How are the claims any different from a person detecting (mental observation) a boss is in a hurry and agitated (obtaining a state), determining (mental observation) the boss needs information fast (identifying a first feedback action), and provide relevant information (use pen and paper to select a feedback action). Applicant recites flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options, but this can be done with pen and paper by crossing out long lists or renumbering lists using a pen Therefore, modify complexity to mitigate stress is analogous to modifying a presentation to an boss by providing an executive summary or crossing out unimportant information.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite: first device, obtaining processor, estimation processor, feedback processor, aerosol delivery device (Claim 1); first device, aerosol delivery device (Claim 32). The computer hardware is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The “not an aerosol device” could include just a processor. The user interface is computer software for providing information and recited at a high level of generality (e.g., modifying user interface complexity is not improving a technology and could be just about anything). Flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options on an interface, even if not abstract, are recited at a high level of generality. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore claims 1 and 32 are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Steps such as obtaining (receiving) are steps that are considered insignificant extra solution activity and mere instructions to apply the exception using general computer components (see MPEP 2106.05(d), II). Thus claims 1 and 32 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Dependent claims 2-8, 11-31, 33, 34, and 37-43 further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims 1 and 32 and thus correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and Mental Processes and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Claims 4 and 5 recite sensors at a high level of generality. Claims 7 and 38 recite terminal at a high level of generality. Claims 7 and 40 recite aerosol delivery device at a high level of generality. Claims 14-17 and 39 recite a point-of-sale device, which is recited at a high level of generality. Further, claims 16 and 17 engage in a commercial interaction of delivering a product, which is abstract for this reason also under Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Claims 21, 22, and 41 recite fitness equipment at a high level of generality. Therefore, the claims 2-8, 11-31, 33, 34, and 37-43 are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1-8, 11-34, and 37-43 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-8, 11-34, and 37-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “modifying a user interface… or reordering commonly chosen options” where “commonly” is a relative term rendering the claim indefinite. Commonly could be anything as there is no basis or limit as to what this encompasses. Claim 32 has the same problem.
Dependent claims 2-8, 11-31, 33, 34, and 37-43
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 11 and 12 depend from canceled claims 9 and 10. Claim 13 depends from Claim 12, therefore rejected on that basis.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims complies with the statutory requirements.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should Applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 U.S.C. §112(a) or §112 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 18-20, 23-34, 38, 40, 42, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No. US 2019/0387796 to Cohen in view of Pub. No. US 2014/0108900 to Olson et al. and in view of Pub. No. US 2013/0332475 to Michelstein et al.
Regarding claim 1
A user feedback system for a user of a first device, comprising
an obtaining processor adapted to obtain one or more user factors indicative of a state of the user;
{
From Applicant’s specification on obtaining, estimation, and feedback processors…
“In this embodiment, the obtaining processor 1010, estimation processor 1020, and feedback processor 1030 are located within the server 1000. However, it will be appreciated that any one or more of these processors may be located elsewhere within the ecosystem 1, or its role may be shared between two or more processors in server and/or the ecosystem. For example the obtaining processor may be located in an e-cigarette or mobile phone, or the feedback processor may be located in a vending machine or e-cigarette, or the functionality of these processes may be shared between the server and such devices. In other examples, these processors may be local to the delivery device ( e.g. an e-cigarette ), or to a delivery system comprising the delivery device and a mobile phone.” (pg. 22, lines 13-21)
Therefore, the processors could be in a server (e.g., multicore processor, etc. or in various devices.).
From Applicant’s specification on state of a user…
“It will be appreciated that references to 'the user's state' encompass one of many states of the user, or equivalently one aspect of the overall state of the user. Hence for example the user's level of stress, which as a non-limiting example may be a combination of social circumstance and cortisol levels, is an example of 'the state of the user', but does not completely define the user. In other words, the state of the user is a state relevant to the potential intervention of one or more feedback actions as described elsewhere herein.” (pg. 21, lines 17-20 to pg. 22, lines 1-2)
“Hence the principles of modifying the operation of a device responsive to a model of a user's state based upon user factors indicative of such states can be applied not just to aerosol delivery systems and their deliver ecosystem ( or user-associated non-delivery ecosystem), but to any device or system where the modification of its operation may advantageously benefit the user, for example by mitigating a negative user state, helping to transit to a more positive user state, or maintain a positive user state, whether that state relates wholly or in part to physiological, neurological, psychological, circumstantial, environmental or historical influences.” (pg. 136, lines 4-10)
Therefore, a user’s state could be they are stressed.
}
Cohen teaches:
Example of application (therefore, computer) with driving under the influence (factor indicative of state of the user)…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
Another example of estimate based on (obtaining processor) weight and gender…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
Various digital devices part of a system, but not an aerosol device…
“For example, applications (“apps”) may be executed on a processor of a portable and/or wearable device, including smartphones, smartwatches, and the like, which may be referred to as a personal digital device or optionally just a device (e.g., user device 305 in FIG. 3) that is part of a vaporizer system. These digital devices may provide an interface for the user to engage and interact with functions related to the vaporizer, including communication of data to and from the vaporizer to the digital device or the like and/or additional third party processor (e.g., servers such as the remote server 307 in FIG. 3). For example, a user may control some aspects of the vaporizer (temperature, dosage, etc.) and/or data transmission and data receiving to and from vaporizer, optionally over a wireless communication channel between first communication hardware of the device and second communication hardware of the vaporizer. Data may be communicated in response to one or more actions of the user (e.g., including interactions with a user interface displayed on the device), and/or as a background operation such that the user does not have to initiate or authorize the data communication process.” [0070]
Analyzing data at a server…
“At 805, the app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600, for example, may provide an optimized delivery of nicotine to a user. The optimized delivery may include the determined first cartridge and/or first program described herein. For example, the processor 610 may determine the first cartridge and/or first program based on a user selected input received via the user interface 650. In response to providing the optimized delivery of nicotine, the user behavior may be monitored and/or inputted. The monitored and/or inputted data may be transmitted at 806 to a server for analysis or may be analyzed locally at the user access device 305, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600. At 810, the app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600, for example, may receive user feedback (e.g., monitored and/or inputted data 806) regarding the optimized delivery of nicotine at 805…” [0123]
See Processors below.
an estimation processor adapted to identify at least a first feedback action based upon one or more of at least a subset of the obtained user factors; and
App estimate THC concentration (estimation to identify THC amount) and inform (identify) under the influence…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
a feedback processor adapted to select at least a first identified feedback action, and to cause a modification of one or more operations of at least the first device, according to the or each selected feedback action,
Device such as a computing device…
“A vaporizer consistent with implementations of the current subject matter may be configured to connect (e.g., wirelessly or via a wired connection) to a communication device (or optionally two or more devices) in communication with the vaporizer. Such a device can be a component of a vaporizer system as discussed above, and can include first communication hardware, which can establish a wireless communication channel with second communication hardware of the vaporizer. For example, a device used as part of a vaporizer system may include a general purpose computing device (e.g., a smartphone, a tablet, a personal computer, some other portable device such as a smartwatch, or the like) that executes software to produce a user interface for enabling a user of the device to interact with a vaporizer. In other implementations of the current subject matter, such a device used as part of a vaporizer system can be a dedicated piece of hardware such as a remote control or other wireless or wired device having one or more physical or soft (e.g., configurable on a screen or other display device and selectable via user interaction with a touch-sensitive screen or some other input device like a mouse, pointer, trackball, cursor buttons, or the like) interface controls.” [0032]
Computing apparatus (first device) analyze feedback nicotine and determine (identify and select feedback action) should be modified, computing apparatus modify the optimized delivery (modification of operations of computing device)…
“At 815, the app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600, for example, may pool or aggregate the user feedback and/or modifications with crowdsourced information regarding nicotine cessation. In some aspects, the user feedback and/or modifications 812 may improve the pooled data source by providing additional data points associated with previous optimized deliveries. The app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600, for example, may analyze the user feedback and/or the crowdsourced information to determine that the optimized delivery of nicotine at 805 should be modified. At 816, the app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600 may modify the optimized delivery of nicotine at 805 and may improve model reliability by adjusting for these additional inputs. For example, the processor 610 may determine that the first cartridge and/or first program should be modified based on the analysis. The processor 610 may then generate or recommend the second cartridge and/or the second program as described herein. The app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600 may deliver an updated optimized delivery of nicotine at 805.” [124]
wherein the first device is not an aerosol delivery device,
Example of components such as a device in communication or components that may be configured for user control and operation (not an aerosol device)…
“Implementations of the current subject matter include methods, devices, apparatuses, articles of manufacture, and systems relating to vaporizing and/or aerosolizing one or more materials for inhalation by a user. Example implementations include vaporizer devices and systems including vaporizer devices. The term “vaporizer” is used generically in the following description and claims to refer to any of a self-contained apparatus, an apparatus that includes two or more separable parts (e.g., a vaporizer body that includes a battery and/or other hardware, and a cartridge that includes and/or is configured to hold a vaporizable material), and/or the like. A “vaporizer system” as used herein may include one or more components, such as a device in communication (e.g., wirelessly or over a wired connection) with a vaporizer and optionally also the vaporizer itself. A vaporizer or one or more components of a vaporizer system consistent with implementations of the current subject matter may be configured for user control and operation. As used herein, an “aerosol” may refer to a “vapor.” Although the term “device” is used herein, the term “apparatus” is intended to be equivalent and should be construed as such.” [0025]
Computer to implement features and/or components and in addition to or alternatively from the vaporizer apparatuses…
“FIG. 6 illustrates an example computing apparatus 600 which may be used to implement one or more of the described features and/or components, in accordance with some example implementations. For example, at least a portion of the computing apparatus 600 may be used to implement at least a portion of the vaporizer 100, the vaporizer 200, the user device 305, the remote server 307, and/or like. The components of the computing apparatus 600 can be implemented in addition to or alternatively from any of the components of the vaporizer apparatuses 100, 200 illustrated and/or described.” [0100]
Where first device is a computing device (not an aerosol delivery device) and user to engage and interact with an interface…
“The computing apparatus 600 may perform one or more of the processes described herein. For example, the computing apparatus 600 may be used to execute an application providing for user control of a vaporizer in communication with the computing apparatus 600 and/or to provide an interface for the user to engage and interact with functions related to the vaporizer, in accordance with some example implementations.” [0101]
Another example of games unrelated to vaporization material (not an aerosol device) and permit game interaction (feedback and modification of device)…
“In general, any of these apparatuses may permit users to engage in games either by gamification of usage or by including games that may be played by users (including multiple users) unrelated to vaporization of material. For example, gamification of usage (including purchasing of new components such as cartridges) may include awarding points, prizes, etc. and the creation of teams for switching or the like. Games may include the use of the accelerometer or other sensors in the apparatus that may be transmitted wirelessly to an app and/or to another user's vaporizer or app (e.g., directly or via a remote server) to permit game interaction.” [0159]
Interaction with a user on a computer with feedback provided by various forms including visual, etc…
“To provide for interaction with a user, one or more aspects or features of the subject matter described herein can be implemented on a computer having a display device, such as for example a cathode ray tube (CRT) or a liquid crystal display (LCD) or a light emitting diode (LED) monitor for displaying information to the user and a keyboard and a pointing device, such as for example a mouse or a trackball, by which the user may provide input to the computer. Other kinds of devices can be used to provide for interaction with a user as well. For example, feedback provided to the user can be any form of sensory feedback, such as for example visual feedback, auditory feedback, or tactile feedback; and input from the user may be received in any form, including, but not limited to, acoustic, speech, or tactile input. Other possible input devices include, but are not limited to, touch screens or other touch-sensitive devices such as single or multi-point resistive or capacitive trackpads, voice recognition hardware and software, optical scanners, optical pointers, digital image capture devices and associated interpretation software, and the like” [0185]
wherein the first device provides a user interface for the purposes of interaction with the user, and
Fig. 6, ref. 650 and computing apparatus with user interface…
wherein modification of one or more operations of the first device relates to modifying a user interface complexity by flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options.
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive claim language of “modifying a user interface complexity by flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options” where the user interface (display) complexity itself is non-functional descriptive claim language (that is a display of information in a particular format is not given patentable weight). For examination purposes this is interpreted as modifying a user interface.]
{
From Applicant’s specification on user interface…
“Examples of first devices may include any device that provides a user interface for the purposes of interaction with the user. A non-limiting list of examples includes electronic menus ( e.g. in fast food restaurants, libraries, hotels, department stores and other places offering disparate options to users), automated teller machines, gym equipment, point-of-sale devices (e.g. self-service kiosks, vending machines and the like), medical equipment, or other devices that may provide access to products and/or services.” (pg. 124, lines 15-20}
Therefore, just about any device with a user interface.
From Applicant’s specification on complexity…
“In these cases, and identified feedback action may comprise modifying one or more operations of the first device relating to user interface complexity, and/or the number of user interface options. Hence for example if the obtained user factors correlate with stress, then the modification may be to reduce user interface complexity, for example by flattening parts of a menu tree or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options, thereby modifying a tradeoff between ease-of-use and degree of control, in favor of ease-of-use. In a similar and related manner, if the obtained user factors correlate with stress, then the modification may be to reduce a number of user interface options, for example by pruning parts of a menu tree or bundling options together in common combinations.” (pg. 125, lines 1-9)
Therefore, if a user is stressed, reduce screen complexity by flattening a menu tree or reordering commonly chosen options.
}
Dashboard so users can log on and tabulate progress (user interface complexity)…
“In some implementations, the vaporizer and/or an affiliated app may have a dashboard style user-interface (e.g., user interface 650), in which users can log on and tabulate their progress over time. Data may be based on individual and/or group data. For example, the group data can show as a population of what the mean smoking-vaping switch rate is at any given time since starting to use a vaporizer. The apparatus may provide a view in which the user can select other users to define a group (cohort) based on their starting conditions: e.g., packs per day, age, gender, etc.” [0127]
Display with functions of a vaporizer and prompts (options)…
“The computing apparatus 600 may include one or more user interfaces, such as user interface 650. The user interface 650 can include hardware or software interfaces, such as a keyboard, mouse, or other interface, some of which may include a touchscreen integrated with a display 630. The display 630 may be used to display information, such as information related to the functions of a vaporizer, provide prompts to a user, receive user input, and/or the like. In various implementations, the user interface 650 can include one or more peripheral devices and/or the user interface 650 may be configured to communicate with these peripheral devices.” [0103]
See Flat below.
See Highlight and Reorder below.
Processors
Cohen teaches server and processors. They do not explicitly teach obtaining processor, estimation processor, or feedback processor. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that these are functions performed by generic processors and could be performed in a single server with multicore or multi-processor capability or distributed to various devices with processors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filing to modify the combined references with the knowledge available to such an artisan that the processors are generic processors performing functions indicated by their label and servers with multicore processors or multiple processors could also perform the functions. This would have been known work in the field of endeavor prompting variations of it in the same field based on use of generic processors performing functions and would provide predictable results.
Aerosol
Cohen teaches vaporizer. They do not explicitly teach not an aerosol delivery device. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a computer is not a vaporize device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filing to modify the combined references with the knowledge available to such an artisan that computers are not aerosol devices. This would have been known work in the field of endeavor prompting variations of it in the same field based on use of providing feedback and would provide predictable results.
Flat
Cohen teaches using an interactive display. They do not teach flattening a menu.
Olson et al. also in the business of interactive display teaches:
Menu can be flat or hierarchical…
“The link menu can also be displayed in different formats. For instance, it can be displayed as a single, flat level display, or the elements in the link menu can be displayed according to an indent/out-dent format that corresponds to the hierarchical arrangement of the report. That is, links to subsections can be indented relative to the links to their corresponding parent sections. This is indicated by block 198 in FIG. 2. Other menu displays can be generated as well, and this is indicated by block 200.” [0037]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the Cohen the ability to format a flat display as taught by Olson et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Olson et al. who teaches menus can be displayed in different formats and Cohen benefits as they provide an interactive display interface to users.
Highlight and Reorder
The combined references teach interactive display. They do not teach highlight or reorder.
Michelstein et al. also in the business of interactive display teaches:
Content with better design…
“Because almost any technology user today creates, generates, shares, and/or publishes content, some users or other entities creating, generating, sharing, or publishing the content may not be trained in design principles. As a result, some of these entities may not be capable of producing visual content in a consumable, useful, or visually appealing format. Thus, the utility of some content created, generated, shared, or published by these or other entities may be enhanced by applying better designs.” [0002]
“Thus, the rules 206 can be applied to adjust how the data 110 is presented by application of a particular world. For example, the rules 206 can be applied to the data 110 to adjust the readability of text. These adjustments can be based, for example, upon a relative ease with which a typeface can be read when characters are laid out in words, sentences, and paragraphs, upon an assumption that long blocks of text need to be readable to hold the reader and/or to boost comprehension, upon an assumption that setting text in columns can provide short line length, which can improve readability, upon rules that assume that text set with `ragged right` alignment is more readable than text that is `force justified` or manipulated to line up on the left and right margins, upon rules for introducing white space, subheads, and/or other elements to divide text to give eyes of a reader resting places to help prevent fatigue, by adjusting leading based on number of lines of text, by adjusting line length based on amount of content and layout, by adjusting the content based upon capabilities of a device used to view the content (e.g., screen size, resolution, input devices, or the like), by adjusting font size based on an amount of content, and/or by applying other adjustments or modifications to the data. It should be understood that this embodiment is illustrative, and should not be construed as being limiting in any way.” [0054]
Rules for highlighting text or fields…
“The rules 206 also can be used to select, size, and/or otherwise format typefaces and/or other settings associated with text. For example, the rules 206 can be used to select a highlight color and/or complimentary colors for text or fields nearby. The rules 206 also can be used to define a color palette based upon on a source of the content. For example, a color scheme can be selected based upon a color scheme associated with a particular brand, color schemes included in the data 110, or the like. Motion also can be varied and/or selected based upon the rules 206. It should be understood that these embodiments are illustrative, and should not be construed as being limiting in any way.” [0061]
Modifying output based on feedback and reordering…
“Thus, although not shown in FIGS. 1-2, it should be understood that user preferences can be developed by the transformation engine 108 and can be stored and applied by the transformation engine 108, if desired. As explained above with regard to modifying output 112 based upon feedback 214, the authoring module 208 can be configured to prompt for the feedback 214 or can be configured to receive the feedback 214 from a user or other entity. The feedback 214 can be provided in terms of likes or dislikes, as yes/no or true/false answers to questions, as rating information such as numbers of stars, numbers within ranges, letter grades, through extrapolation of simple actions such as selection or reordering, or the like. The feedback 214 can be interpreted by the authoring module 208.” [0063]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to highlight text or reorder as taught by Michelstein et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Michelstein et al. who teaches the advantages of better design for interfaces.
Regarding claim 2
A user feedback system according to claim 1, in which a processor of the first device provides at least in part the function of one or more selected from the list consisting of:
Cohen teaches:
An app that is included in a device (e.g., computing device)…
“As described above, a vaporizer and/or a device that is part of a vaporizer system as defined above may include a user interface (e.g., including an app or application software) that may be executed on a device in communication, which may be configured to determine, display, enforce and/or meter dosing. For example, a vaporizer may have a “unit dose” mode/indicator that is displayed on the vaporizer and/or an application. The unit dose could be changed by the connected application and/or by directly controlling the vaporizer. For example, a user may want to go from 1 mg nicotine per dose to 2 mg of nicotine per dose.” [0089]
i. the obtaining processor;
Example of estimate based on (obtaining processor) weight and gender (state)…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
ii. the estimation processor; and
Example of app (computing device) with estimation (estimation processor)…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
iii. the feedback processor.
Example of app (computing device) with feedback (feedback processor)…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
Regarding claim 3
A user feedback system according to claim 1, in which the obtaining processor obtains one or more user factors from the first device.
{
From Applicant’s specification on “factor”…
“Hence in principle the feedback system (for example in a pre-processor or subsystem of the obtaining processor) may estimate the concentration of nicotine in the user based on monitoring the nicotine consumed, the time at which it is consumed, and having stored the value for the half-life of nicotine in the body (around 2 hours, although this value can be refined based on information regarding the individual, such as height, weight etc.). Such monitoring can be performed based on usage data from the delivery device. Hence for example based on the original active ingredient concentration, and a predetermined relationship between heating/aerosol generator power and aerosol mass output, an mass of active ingredient per unit volume inhaled may be estimated; from that, using predetermined absorption relationships ( optionally based on analysis of depth/duration of inhalation, using airflow data), the amount of active absorbed may be determined; finally the body mass of the user, and potentially other factors such as a age, gender and the like may be used to determine the concentration of active ingredient and/or breakdown products in the user over IO time. Again, here nicotine is a non-limiting example of an active ingredient.” (pg. 29 lines 19-21 to pg. 30, lines 1-10)
Therefore, factors may be weight, age, gender, etc.
}
Cohen teaches:
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
Regarding claim 4
A user feedback system according to claim 1, in which the first device comprises one or more selected from the list consisting of:
Cohen teaches:
Computing device with sensors…
“In some aspects, the user interface 650 may include one or more sensors and/or may include an interface to one or more sensors, such as those described herein. The operation of these sensors may be controlled, at least in part, by a sensor module 660. The computing apparatus 600 may comprise an input and output filter 670, which can filter information received from the sensors or other user interfaces, received and/or transmitted via the network interface 640, and/or the like. For example, signals detected through the sensors can be passed through the filter 670 for proper signal conditioning, and the filtered data may then be passed to the sensor module 660 and/or processor 610 for validation and processing (e.g., before transmitting results or an indication via the network interface 640). The computing apparatus 600 may be powered through the use of one or more power sources, such as power source 680. As illustrated, one or more of the components of the computing apparatus 600 may communicate and/or receive power through a system bus 699.” [0104]
i. a motion sensor;
Example of motion sensor and user interface (computing device)…
“The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the user feedback comprises receiving the user feedback from at least one of: an application executing on the one or more processors, a sensor detecting a gesture of the aerosolizer, a sensor detecting a gesture of a user, a touch sensor, a motion sensor, a selection of an input on the aerosolizer and/or a user interface, and a processor determining learned behavior from past user interaction with the aerosolizer.” (claim 11)
ii. a camera;
Cohen teaches:
Example of camera…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the identifier 138 is passive and may include codes or markings (e.g., bar codes, quick response (QR) codes, etc.). In some examples, the identifier 138 may be structural (e.g., one or more pins, projections, etc.) on the cartridge 114 that may be detected by the vaporizer body 101. Visual or mechanical identifiers may be identified directly by the vaporizer body 101 using an imaging device (e.g., camera, etc.) or reading device (e.g., optical reading) integrated into the vaporizer body (not shown in FIG. 1), or via communication through a separate device, such as a smartphone. For example, a user may take an image of the identifier 138 (e.g., code, marking, etc.) and transmit the code or information derived from the code (such as the information about the vaporizable material and/or the cartridge) to the vaporizer body 101 via wireless circuitry 107, or optionally over a wired connection. A wireless connection (e.g., a wireless communication channel) can be established between first communication hardware of the device and second communication hardware of the vaporizer. The first and second communication hardware can respectively include transceivers for use with one or more wireless communication protocols, non-limiting examples of which are described below.” [0045]
iii. a microphone; and
iv. a pressure or force sensor.
App for blood pressure…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the app may also allow a user to log other health related activities, such as from a fitness app, and/or may suggest correlations between nicotine or THC usage and alcohol consumption, heart rate, blood pressure, workout time or weight changes, etc. For example, a user may enter a preferred unit dose (e.g., using presets, or estimated/recorded/programmable data as described above), and a dosage interval or total daily target. The vaporizer and/or app may then lock out after each dosage, and an alert may pop up on a user computing device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, tablet, etc.) when it's time for a next dosage, with the vaporizer automatically unlocking to allow delivery of this next dosage. Such an approach may be applied as a user-elected reduction approach (step-down or cessation), or to maintain a prescribed therapeutic regimen (e.g., X mg of agent every Y hours, not to exceed Z mg/day).” [0126]
Regarding claim 5
A user feedback system according to claim 1, in which the first device comprises one or more selected from the list consisting of:
i. a galvanic skin response sensor;
ii. a heart rate sensor;
Cohen teaches:
App for heart rate…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the app may also allow a user to log other health related activities, such as from a fitness app, and/or may suggest correlations between nicotine or THC usage and alcohol consumption, heart rate, blood pressure, workout time or weight changes, etc. For example, a user may enter a preferred unit dose (e.g., using presets, or estimated/recorded/programmable data as described above), and a dosage interval or total daily target. The vaporizer and/or app may then lock out after each dosage, and an alert may pop up on a user computing device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, tablet, etc.) when it's time for a next dosage, with the vaporizer automatically unlocking to allow delivery of this next dosage. Such an approach may be applied as a user-elected reduction approach (step-down or cessation), or to maintain a prescribed therapeutic regimen (e.g., X mg of agent every Y hours, not to exceed Z mg/day).” [0126]
iii. a muscle tension sensor; and
iv. a touch sensor.
Example of touch screen (sensor)…
“To provide for interaction with a user, one or more aspects or features of the subject matter described herein can be implemented on a computer having a display device, such as for example a cathode ray tube (CRT) or a liquid crystal display (LCD) or a light emitting diode (LED) monitor for displaying information to the user and a keyboard and a pointing device, such as for example a mouse or a trackball, by which the user may provide input to the computer. Other kinds of devices can be used to provide for interaction with a user as well. For example, feedback provided to the user can be any form of sensory feedback, such as for example visual feedback, auditory feedback, or tactile feedback; and input from the user may be received in any form, including, but not limited to, acoustic, speech, or tactile input. Other possible input devices include, but are not limited to, touch screens or other touch-sensitive devices such as single or multi-point resistive or capacitive trackpads, voice recognition hardware and software, optical scanners, optical pointers, digital image capture devices and associated interpretation software, and the like” [0185]
Regarding claim 6
A user feedback system according to claim 1 in which the first device is operable to obtain an identity of the user, for the purposes of enabling the obtaining processor to obtain user factors relating to that identified user.
Cohen teaches:
Example of app may authenticate to a mobile device, and verify user and/or age and biometric authentication (identity of user)…
“For example, the app (e.g., running on the user device 305) and/or the vaporizer 100, 200 may authenticate to a mobile device (e.g., user device 305) using encryption, as an anti-counterfeit mechanism. A similar scheme may be used to tie the vaporizer 100, 200 to the owner's mobile communications device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, pad, user device 305 etc.), such that if stolen the device is disabled to prevent others from using it. In some implementations, the vaporizer 100, 200 may connect periodically using the network interface 640 to the user device 305 to verify and/or authorize use and/or age of the user. In some implementations, a user may connect to the application on the user device 305 or computer and provide authentication to enable operation of the vaporizer 100, 200. In some aspects, the authentication includes password or PIN entry, a defined gesture (e.g., tap three times), selection of a confirmation button, a voice authentication, or a biometric authentication (e.g., facial recognition) inputted into the application using the user interface 650.” [0151]
Regarding claim 7
A user feedback system according to claim 6 in which the identity of the user is obtained by one or more selected from the list consisting of:
i. facial recognition;
Cohen teaches:
Example of facial recognition…
“For example, the app (e.g., running on the user device 305) and/or the vaporizer 100, 200 may authenticate to a mobile device (e.g., user device 305) using encryption, as an anti-counterfeit mechanism. A similar scheme may be used to tie the vaporizer 100, 200 to the owner's mobile communications device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, pad, user device 305 etc.), such that if stolen the device is disabled to prevent others from using it. In some implementations, the vaporizer 100, 200 may connect periodically using the network interface 640 to the user device 305 to verify and/or authorize use and/or age of the user. In some implementations, a user may connect to the application on the user device 305 or computer and provide authentication to enable operation of the vaporizer 100, 200. In some aspects, the authentication includes password or PIN entry, a defined gesture (e.g., tap three times), selection of a confirmation button, a voice authentication, or a biometric authentication (e.g., facial recognition) inputted into the application using the user interface 650.” [0151]
ii. voice recognition;
Example of voice authentication…
“For example, the app (e.g., running on the user device 305) and/or the vaporizer 100, 200 may authenticate to a mobile device (e.g., user device 305) using encryption, as an anti-counterfeit mechanism. A similar scheme may be used to tie the vaporizer 100, 200 to the owner's mobile communications device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, pad, user device 305 etc.), such that if stolen the device is disabled to prevent others from using it. In some implementations, the vaporizer 100, 200 may connect periodically using the network interface 640 to the user device 305 to verify and/or authorize use and/or age of the user. In some implementations, a user may connect to the application on the user device 305 or computer and provide authentication to enable operation of the vaporizer 100, 200. In some aspects, the authentication includes password or PIN entry, a defined gesture (e.g., tap three times), selection of a confirmation button, a voice authentication, or a biometric authentication (e.g., facial recognition) inputted into the application using the user interface 650.” [0151]
iii. communication with a registered terminal of the user; and
iv. communication with a registered aerosol delivery device of the user.
Example of communication between device and vaporizer (aerosol delivery device) to verify and authorize (therefore, registered) age of the user…
“For example, the app (e.g., running on the user device 305) and/or the vaporizer 100, 200 may authenticate to a mobile device (e.g., user device 305) using encryption, as an anti-counterfeit mechanism. A similar scheme may be used to tie the vaporizer 100, 200 to the owner's mobile communications device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, pad, user device 305 etc.), such that if stolen the device is disabled to prevent others from using it. In some implementations, the vaporizer 100, 200 may connect periodically using the network interface 640 to the user device 305 to verify and/or authorize use and/or age of the user. In some implementations, a user may connect to the application on the user device 305 or computer and provide authentication to enable operation of the vaporizer 100, 200. In some aspects, the authentication includes password or PIN entry, a defined gesture (e.g., tap three times), selection of a confirmation button, a voice authentication, or a biometric authentication (e.g., facial recognition) inputted into the application using the user interface 650.” [0151]
Regarding claim 8
A user feedback system according to claim 6 in which the identity of the user is obtained by the first device prior to one or more selected from the list consisting of:
i. providing options to the user via an user interface;
Cohen teaches:
Authentication required (identity of the user) before enable operation of the vaporizer (providing options to the user)…
“For example, the app (e.g., running on the user device 305) and/or the vaporizer 100, 200 may authenticate to a mobile device (e.g., user device 305) using encryption, as an anti-counterfeit mechanism. A similar scheme may be used to tie the vaporizer 100, 200 to the owner's mobile communications device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, pad, user device 305 etc.), such that if stolen the device is disabled to prevent others from using it. In some implementations, the vaporizer 100, 200 may connect periodically using the network interface 640 to the user device 305 to verify and/or authorize use and/or age of the user. In some implementations, a user may connect to the application on the user device 305 or computer and provide authentication to enable operation of the vaporizer 100, 200. In some aspects, the authentication includes password or PIN entry, a defined gesture (e.g., tap three times), selection of a confirmation button, a voice authentication, or a biometric authentication (e.g., facial recognition) inputted into the application using the user interface 650.” [0151]
ii. requesting payment from the user; and
iii. receiving payment from the user.
Example of pay the cost (receiving payment) by a user…
“The vaporizers and/or apps described herein may also facilitate sponsorships, for example, allowing a user to sign a friend or family member up, pay the cost for a vaporizer, and have it sent to them or even delivered immediately (e.g., by bike messenger). This may be used to provide incentives with sponsors for switching from traditional cigarettes to vaporizers and/or reward use (presumably in place of use of traditional cigarettes), e.g., if you stick with it you get prizes (e.g., gift cards, etc.).” [0160]
Regarding claim 18
A user feedback system according to claim 1 in which the first device is a dock for an aerosol delivery device.
{
From Applicant’s specification on dock…
“In Figure 5, as an example delivery device an e-cigarette 10 may communicate directly with one or more other classes of device (for example using Bluetooth ® or Wifi Direct ®), including but not limited to a smartphone 100, a dock 200 (e.g. a home refill and/or charging station), a vending machine 300, or a wearable 400. As noted above, these devices may cooperate in any suitable configuration to form a delivery system.” (pg. 19, lines 1-5)
Therefore, a charging station is a dock.
}
Cohen teaches:
Example of charger as charging station…
“Further with reference to FIG. 1, a vaporizer 100 may include a charger 133 (and charging circuitry which may be controlled by the controller 105), optionally including an inductive charger and/or a plug-in charger. For example, a universal serial bus (USB) connection may be used to charge the vaporizer 100 and/or to allow communication over a wired connection between a computing device and the controller 105. The charger 133 may charge the onboard power source 103. A vaporizer 100 consistent with implementations of the current subject matter may also include one or more inputs 117, such as buttons, dials, or the like, and/or sensors 137, including accelerometers or other motion sensors, capacitive sensors, flow sensors, or the like…” [0040]
Regarding claim 19
A user feedback system according to claim 18, in which
if the estimation processor identifies a feedback action based upon one or more of at least a subset of the obtained user factors indicative that a user is stressed, the corresponding modification of one or more operations of the first device relates to one or more selected from the list consisting of:
i. supplying the aerosol delivery device with a payload whose active ingredient composition or concentration is selected as suitable for consumption when stressed; and
Cohen teaches:
Example of supplying various material…
“As mentioned above, any of the vaporizer apparatuses described herein that include a cartridge may be configured to recognize and/or identify the cartridge. One or more recognition/identification approaches may be used. The vaporizer may determine information about the cartridge and/or the vaporizable material held in the cartridge, such as one or more of: the type of vaporizable material (e.g., nicotine, cannabis, etc.), the concentration of vaporizable material, the amount of vaporizable material, the configuration of the cartridge (e.g., heater, electrical properties, etc.), the lot number of the cartridge, the date of manufacture of the cartridge, expiration date, etc. This information may be directly encoded on the cartridge or a reference indicator may be provided that the vaporizer (or a processor in communication with the vaporizer) may use as an index to look up some or all of this information, or a combination of reference number and directly encoded material may be provided.” [0052]
ii. modifying one or more settings of the docked aerosol delivery device to deliver a modified aerosol suitable for consumption when stressed.
Regarding claim 20
A user feedback system according to claim 18 in which different user profiles and respective user factor data are associated with different aerosol delivery devices.
Cohen teaches:
Electronic vaporizers and electronic cigarette and heated by different methods (different aerosol delivery devices)…
“Examples of vaporizers consistent with implementations of the current subject matter include electronic vaporizers, electronic cigarettes, e-cigarettes, or the like. In general, such vaporizers are hand-held devices that heat (by convection, conduction, radiation, or some combination thereof) a vaporizable material to provide an inhalable dose of the material.” [0026]
Regarding claim 23
A user feedback system according to claim 1, in which the estimation processor is adapted to identify a one-step or two-step correlation between the obtained one or more user factors indicative of user state and an at least first feedback action.
Cohen teaches:
Correlate dose with symptom (user factor)…
“In an example of THC dose regulation, the dose control may allow a user to treat symptoms without having too much psychoactive effect. For example, usage data can be shared with a doctor to allow for better prescription/administration. In general, for medical use, the vaporizer or app can correlate dose with logged symptoms. Alternatively or additionally, for recreational use, the vaporizer or app may allow a user to more easily figure out the right amount for them and then repeatedly deliver that dose.” [0096]
Regarding claim 24
A user feedback system according to claim 23, in which the single-step correlation comprises:
a first correlation between the obtained one or more user factors indicative of user state, and at least a first feedback action.
Cohen teaches:
Correlate dose with symptom (user factor indicative of user state) based on too much effect (feedback action)…
“In an example of THC dose regulation, the dose control may allow a user to treat symptoms without having too much psychoactive effect. For example, usage data can be shared with a doctor to allow for better prescription/administration. In general, for medical use, the vaporizer or app can correlate dose with logged symptoms. Alternatively or additionally, for recreational use, the vaporizer or app may allow a user to more easily figure out the right amount for them and then repeatedly deliver that dose.” [0096]
Regarding claim 25
A user feedback system according to claim 23, in which the estimation processor is operable to identify at least a first feedback action based upon the obtained one or more user factors, using a model comprising correlation data between one or more feedback actions and the obtained one or more user factors.
Cohen teaches:
Example of identify driving under the influence and alert (feedback action) based on driving under the influence (user factors)…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097] Inherent with feedback action based on user driving under the influence is correlating the data.
Regarding claim 26
A user feedback system according to claim 23, in which the two-step correlation comprises:
a first correlation between the obtained one or more user factors indicative of user state and at least a first state of the user; and
Cohen teaches:
Correlate dose with symptom (user factor indicative of user state) based on too much effect (feedback action)…
“In an example of THC dose regulation, the dose control may allow a user to treat symptoms without having too much psychoactive effect. For example, usage data can be shared with a doctor to allow for better prescription/administration. In general, for medical use, the vaporizer or app can correlate dose with logged symptoms. Alternatively or additionally, for recreational use, the vaporizer or app may allow a user to more easily figure out the right amount for them and then repeatedly deliver that dose.” [0096]
a second correlation between at least a first state of the user, and at least a first feedback action.
Additionally, app allow user to figure out right amount for them (feedback) for recreational use (state), therefore, correlated to each other…
“In an example of THC dose regulation, the dose control may allow a user to treat symptoms without having too much psychoactive effect. For example, usage data can be shared with a doctor to allow for better prescription/administration. In general, for medical use, the vaporizer or app can correlate dose with logged symptoms. Alternatively or additionally, for recreational use, the vaporizer or app may allow a user to more easily figure out the right amount for them and then repeatedly deliver that dose.” [0096]
Regarding claim 27
A user feedback system according to claim 26, in which the estimation processor is operable to calculate an estimate of at least a first state of the user based upon the obtained one or more user factors, using a model comprising correlation data between one or more user factors and one or more user states.
Cohen teaches:
Pleasurable experience and stimulus (states) associated with addictive substance (user factors)…
“Nicotine found in cigarettes may become addictive, making it difficult for smokers to quit. Nicotine may provide a level of satisfaction to a user in a number of ways. For example, the user's body may absorb the nicotine and the nicotine may be delivered to the user's brain and the brain's nicotine receptors. The brain may then release one or more of a variety of neurotransmitters, such as dopamine to signal a pleasurable experience. Further, nicotine may create associations with actions or sensations occurring at or around the same time as nicotine intake. Another stimulus occurring temporarily at the same time may become associated with nicotine and the user may become addicted to that stimulus as well as the addictive substance (e.g., nicotine). For example, the sensation of vapor or smoke hitting the back of the throat may itself become addictive and may influence an ability of the user to quit smoking. Additionally, during attempts to quit smoking, nicotine withdrawal may cause anxiety and stress to the user, both of which may be powerful incentives to take up smoking again.” [0027]
Regarding claim 28
A user feedback system according to claim 26 in which the estimation processor is operable to identify at least a first feedback action based upon the calculated estimation of user state, using a model comprising correlation data between one or more user states and one or more feedback actions.
Cohen teaches:
Additionally, app allow user to figure out right amount for them (feedback) for recreational use (state), therefore, correlated to each other…
“In an example of THC dose regulation, the dose control may allow a user to treat symptoms without having too much psychoactive effect. For example, usage data can be shared with a doctor to allow for better prescription/administration. In general, for medical use, the vaporizer or app can correlate dose with logged symptoms. Alternatively or additionally, for recreational use, the vaporizer or app may allow a user to more easily figure out the right amount for them and then repeatedly deliver that dose.” [0096]
Regarding claim 29
A user feedback system according to claim 1 in which the estimation processor is operable to identify one or more further proposed feedback actions relating to one or more selected from the list consisting of:
i. a behavioral feedback action for affecting at least a first behavior of the use; and
Cohen teaches:
Adjust delivery of nicotine or material based on learned behavior (feedback)…
“Example implementations described herein may beneficially provide a nicotine stimulant and similar non-nicotine sensory stimulants to a user in a blind manner in order to aid in the user gradually reducing/eliminating nicotine intake and/or addiction. Additionally, an application and/or a controller may apply machine learning to adjust delivery of nicotine and/or non-nicotine vaporizable material to the user based on received inputs from the user. The inputs may be received directly from the user or they may be learned through monitoring the vaporizer use and behavior of the user.” [0030]
ii. a pharmaceutical feedback action for affecting the consumption of an active ingredient by the user.
Regarding claim 30
A user feedback system according to claim 1 in which the feedback processor is adapted to cause implementation of the at least first identified feedback action automatically.
Cohen teaches:
Adjust delivery of nicotine or material based on learned behavior (feedback), using machine learning (automatically)…
“Example implementations described herein may beneficially provide a nicotine stimulant and similar non-nicotine sensory stimulants to a user in a blind manner in order to aid in the user gradually reducing/eliminating nicotine intake and/or addiction. Additionally, an application and/or a controller may apply machine learning to adjust delivery of nicotine and/or non-nicotine vaporizable material to the user based on received inputs from the user. The inputs may be received directly from the user or they may be learned through monitoring the vaporizer use and behavior of the user.” [0030]
Regarding claim 31
A user feedback system according to claim 1 in which the feedback processor is adapted to prompt the user for consent to cause implementation of at least part of the at least first identified feedback action, and to only cause implementation of the at least part of the at least first identified feedback action, if consent is determined.
Cohen teaches:
Example of passcode (consent)…
“In other aspects, the user may want to adjust other configurations of a vaporizer session. For example, in addition to setting a minimum wait time between sessions, the user may also configure blackout periods where the user is unable to start a session (e.g., during the morning or before a regular meeting). Additionally, the user may also set overall nicotine thresholds for a certain time period (e.g., hour, day, week, month, year, etc.) where the vaporizer will not function if the user satisfies the threshold. Additionally, the user may also set certain override procedures to override previously defined rules/thresholds. For example, the user may want to share their device or simply consume more vaporizer material than allowed based on previous settings. The user may enter in a passcode, answer a series of questions, provide other authentication, or otherwise confirm that they wish to override the previous settings.” [0135]
Regarding claims 32, 42, and 43
(claim 32) A user feedback method for a user of a first device, comprising
an obtaining step of obtaining one or more user factors indicative of a state of the user;
Cohen teaches:
Example of application (therefore, computer) with driving under the influence (factor indicative of state of the user)…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
Example of estimate based on (obtaining processor) weight and gender (state)…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
an estimating step of identifying at least a first feedback action based upon one or more of at least a subset of the obtained user factors;
App estimate THC concentration (estimation to identify THC amount) and inform (identify) under the influence…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
a feedback step of select at least a first identified feedback action, and
Device such as a computing device…
“A vaporizer consistent with implementations of the current subject matter may be configured to connect (e.g., wirelessly or via a wired connection) to a communication device (or optionally two or more devices) in communication with the vaporizer. Such a device can be a component of a vaporizer system as discussed above, and can include first communication hardware, which can establish a wireless communication channel with second communication hardware of the vaporizer. For example, a device used as part of a vaporizer system may include a general purpose computing device (e.g., a smartphone, a tablet, a personal computer, some other portable device such as a smartwatch, or the like) that executes software to produce a user interface for enabling a user of the device to interact with a vaporizer. In other implementations of the current subject matter, such a device used as part of a vaporizer system can be a dedicated piece of hardware such as a remote control or other wireless or wired device having one or more physical or soft (e.g., configurable on a screen or other display device and selectable via user interaction with a touch-sensitive screen or some other input device like a mouse, pointer, trackball, cursor buttons, or the like) interface controls.” [0032]
Computing apparatus (first device) analyze feedback nicotine should be modified (identified feedback action), computing apparatus modify the optimized delivery (modification of operations of computing device)…
“At 815, the app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600, for example, may pool or aggregate the user feedback and/or modifications with crowdsourced information regarding nicotine cessation. In some aspects, the user feedback and/or modifications 812 may improve the pooled data source by providing additional data points associated with previous optimized deliveries. The app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600, for example, may analyze the user feedback and/or the crowdsourced information to determine that the optimized delivery of nicotine at 805 should be modified. At 816, the app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600 may modify the optimized delivery of nicotine at 805 and may improve model reliability by adjusting for these additional inputs. For example, the processor 610 may determine that the first cartridge and/or first program should be modified based on the analysis. The processor 610 may then generate or recommend the second cartridge and/or the second program as described herein. The app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600 may deliver an updated optimized delivery of nicotine at 805.” [124]
a modifying step of causing a modification of one or more operations of at least the first device, according to the or each selected feedback action,
Computing apparatus (first device) analyze feedback nicotine should be modified (identified feedback action), computing apparatus modify the optimized delivery (modification of operations of computing device)…
“At 815, the app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600, for example, may pool or aggregate the user feedback and/or modifications with crowdsourced information regarding nicotine cessation. In some aspects, the user feedback and/or modifications 812 may improve the pooled data source by providing additional data points associated with previous optimized deliveries. The app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600, for example, may analyze the user feedback and/or the crowdsourced information to determine that the optimized delivery of nicotine at 805 should be modified. At 816, the app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600 may modify the optimized delivery of nicotine at 805 and may improve model reliability by adjusting for these additional inputs. For example, the processor 610 may determine that the first cartridge and/or first program should be modified based on the analysis. The processor 610 may then generate or recommend the second cartridge and/or the second program as described herein. The app, vaporizer 100, 200, and/or the computing apparatus 600 may deliver an updated optimized delivery of nicotine at 805.” [124]
wherein the first device is not an aerosol delivery device,
Where first device is a computing device (not an aerosol delivery device)…
“The computing apparatus 600 may perform one or more of the processes described herein. For example, the computing apparatus 600 may be used to execute an application providing for user control of a vaporizer in communication with the computing apparatus 600 and/or to provide an interface for the user to engage and interact with functions related to the vaporizer, in accordance with some example implementations.” [0101]
wherein the first device provides a user interface for the purpose of interaction with the user, and
Fig. 6, ref. 650 and computing apparatus with user interface…
wherein modification of one or more of the first operations of the first device relates to modifying a user interface complexity by flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options.
[Use of alternative claim language only requires one of the alternatives to be taught in the prior art.]
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive claim language of “modifying a user interface complexity by flattening parts of a menu tree and/or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options” where the user interface (display) complexity itself is non-functional descriptive claim language (that is a display of information in a particular format is not given patentable weight). For examination purposes this is interpreted as modifying a user interface.]
{
From Applicant’s specification on interface…
“Examples of first devices may include any device that provides a user interface for the purposes of interaction with the user. A non-limiting list of examples includes electronic menus ( e.g. in fast food restaurants, libraries, hotels, department stores and other places offering disparate options to users), automated teller machines, gym equipment, point-of-sale devices (e.g. self-service kiosks, vending machines and the like), medical equipment, or other devices that may provide access to products and/or services.” (pg. 124, lines 15-20}
Therefore, just about any device with a user interface.
“In these cases, and identified feedback action may comprise modifying one or more operations of the first device relating to user interface complexity, and/or the number of user interface options. Hence for example if the obtained user factors correlate with stress, then the modification may be to reduce user interface complexity, for example by flattening parts of a menu tree or highlighting or reordering commonly chosen options, thereby modifying a tradeoff between ease-of-use and degree of control, in favor of ease-of-use. In a similar and related manner, if the obtained user factors correlate with stress, then the modification may be to reduce a number of user interface options, for example by pruning parts of a menu tree or bundling options together in common combinations.” (pg. 125, lines 1-9)
Therefore, if a user is stressed, reduce screen complexity or number of options.
}
Dashboard so users can log on and tabulate progress (user interface complexity)…
“In some implementations, the vaporizer and/or an affiliated app may have a dashboard style user-interface (e.g., user interface 650), in which users can log on and tabulate their progress over time. Data may be based on individual and/or group data. For example, the group data can show as a population of what the mean smoking-vaping switch rate is at any given time since starting to use a vaporizer. The apparatus may provide a view in which the user can select other users to define a group (cohort) based on their starting conditions: e.g., packs per day, age, gender, etc.” [0127]
Display with functions of a vaporizer and prompts (options)…
“The computing apparatus 600 may include one or more user interfaces, such as user interface 650. The user interface 650 can include hardware or software interfaces, such as a keyboard, mouse, or other interface, some of which may include a touchscreen integrated with a display 630. The display 630 may be used to display information, such as information related to the functions of a vaporizer, provide prompts to a user, receive user input, and/or the like. In various implementations, the user interface 650 can include one or more peripheral devices and/or the user interface 650 may be configured to communicate with these peripheral devices.” [0103]
See Flat below.
See Highlight and Reorder below.
Aerosol
Cohen teaches vaporizer. They do not explicitly teach not an aerosol delivery device. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a computer is not a vaporize device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filing to modify the combined references with the knowledge available to such an artisan that computers are not aerosol devices. This would have been known work in the field of endeavor prompting variations of it in the same field based on use of providing feedback and would provide predictable results.
Flat
Cohen teaches using an interactive display. They do not teach flattening a menu.
Olson et al. also in the business of interactive display teaches:
Menu can be flat or hierarchical…
“The link menu can also be displayed in different formats. For instance, it can be displayed as a single, flat level display, or the elements in the link menu can be displayed according to an indent/out-dent format that corresponds to the hierarchical arrangement of the report. That is, links to subsections can be indented relative to the links to their corresponding parent sections. This is indicated by block 198 in FIG. 2. Other menu displays can be generated as well, and this is indicated by block 200.” [0037]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the Cohen the ability to format a flat display as taught by Olson et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Olson et al. who teaches menus can be displayed in different formats and Cohen benefits as they provide an interactive display interface to users.
Highlight and Reorder
The combined references teach interactive display. They do not teach highlight or reorder.
Michelstein et al. also in the business of interactive display teaches:
Content with better design…
“Because almost any technology user today creates, generates, shares, and/or publishes content, some users or other entities creating, generating, sharing, or publishing the content may not be trained in design principles. As a result, some of these entities may not be capable of producing visual content in a consumable, useful, or visually appealing format. Thus, the utility of some content created, generated, shared, or published by these or other entities may be enhanced by applying better designs.” [0002]
“Thus, the rules 206 can be applied to adjust how the data 110 is presented by application of a particular world. For example, the rules 206 can be applied to the data 110 to adjust the readability of text. These adjustments can be based, for example, upon a relative ease with which a typeface can be read when characters are laid out in words, sentences, and paragraphs, upon an assumption that long blocks of text need to be readable to hold the reader and/or to boost comprehension, upon an assumption that setting text in columns can provide short line length, which can improve readability, upon rules that assume that text set with `ragged right` alignment is more readable than text that is `force justified` or manipulated to line up on the left and right margins, upon rules for introducing white space, subheads, and/or other elements to divide text to give eyes of a reader resting places to help prevent fatigue, by adjusting leading based on number of lines of text, by adjusting line length based on amount of content and layout, by adjusting the content based upon capabilities of a device used to view the content (e.g., screen size, resolution, input devices, or the like), by adjusting font size based on an amount of content, and/or by applying other adjustments or modifications to the data. It should be understood that this embodiment is illustrative, and should not be construed as being limiting in any way.” [0054]
Rules for highlighting text or fields…
“The rules 206 also can be used to select, size, and/or otherwise format typefaces and/or other settings associated with text. For example, the rules 206 can be used to select a highlight color and/or complimentary colors for text or fields nearby. The rules 206 also can be used to define a color palette based upon on a source of the content. For example, a color scheme can be selected based upon a color scheme associated with a particular brand, color schemes included in the data 110, or the like. Motion also can be varied and/or selected based upon the rules 206. It should be understood that these embodiments are illustrative, and should not be construed as being limiting in any way.” [0061]
Modifying output based on feedback and reordering…
“Thus, although not shown in FIGS. 1-2, it should be understood that user preferences can be developed by the transformation engine 108 and can be stored and applied by the transformation engine 108, if desired. As explained above with regard to modifying output 112 based upon feedback 214, the authoring module 208 can be configured to prompt for the feedback 214 or can be configured to receive the feedback 214 from a user or other entity. The feedback 214 can be provided in terms of likes or dislikes, as yes/no or true/false answers to questions, as rating information such as numbers of stars, numbers within ranges, letter grades, through extrapolation of simple actions such as selection or reordering, or the like. The feedback 214 can be interpreted by the authoring module 208.” [0063]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to highlight text or reorder as taught by Michelstein et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Michelstein et al. who teaches the advantages of better design for interfaces.
Regarding claim 33
A user feedback method according to claim 32, in which a processor of the first device implements at least in part one or more selected from the list consisting of:
Cohen teaches:
An app that is included in a device (e.g., computing device)…
“As described above, a vaporizer and/or a device that is part of a vaporizer system as defined above may include a user interface (e.g., including an app or application software) that may be executed on a device in communication, which may be configured to determine, display, enforce and/or meter dosing. For example, a vaporizer may have a “unit dose” mode/indicator that is displayed on the vaporizer and/or an application. The unit dose could be changed by the connected application and/or by directly controlling the vaporizer. For example, a user may want to go from 1 mg nicotine per dose to 2 mg of nicotine per dose.” [0089]
i. the obtaining step;
Example of estimate based on (obtaining processor) weight and gender (state)…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
ii. the estimation step;
Example of app (computing device) with estimation (estimation processor)…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
iii. the feedback step; and
Example of app (computing device) with feedback (feedback processor)…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
iv. the modifying step.
Processors
Cohen teaches server and processors. They do not explicitly teach obtaining processor, estimation processor, or feedback processor. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that these are functions performed by generic processors and could be performed in a single server with multicore or multi-processor capability or distributed to various devices with processors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filing to modify the combined references with the knowledge available to such an artisan that the processors are generic processors performing functions indicated by their label and servers with multicore processors or multiple processors could perform the functions. This would have been known work in the field of endeavor prompting variations of it in the same field based on use of generic processors performing functions and would provide predictable results.
Regarding claim 34
A user feedback method according to claim 32 in which the obtaining step comprises obtaining one or more user factors from the first device.
{
From Applicant’s specification on “factor”…
“Hence in principle the feedback system (for example in a pre-processor or subsystem of the obtaining processor) may estimate the concentration of nicotine in the user based on monitoring the nicotine consumed, the time at which it is consumed, and having stored the value for the half-life of nicotine in the body (around 2 hours, although this value can be refined based on information regarding the individual, such as height, weight etc.). Such monitoring can be performed based on usage data from the delivery device. Hence for example based on the original active ingredient concentration, and a predetermined relationship between heating/aerosol generator power and aerosol mass output, an mass of active ingredient per unit volume inhaled may be estimated; from that, using predetermined absorption relationships ( optionally based on analysis of depth/duration of inhalation, using airflow data), the amount of active absorbed may be determined; finally the body mass of the user, and potentially other factors such as a age, gender and the like may be used to determine the concentration of active ingredient and/or breakdown products in the user over IO time. Again, here nicotine is a non-limiting example of an active ingredient.” (pg. 29 lines 19-21 to pg. 30, lines 1-10)
Therefore, factors may be weight, age, gender, etc.
}
Cohen teaches:
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the application or vaporizer may inform the users of the driving under the influence (DUI) limit of THC in their state and set warning/alert when one time usage exceeds the limit based on estimated blood level (e.g., 5 ng/mL blood level in Colorado or 3.5-5 ng/mL blood level according to this report http://www.canorml.org/healthfacts/DUICreport.2005.pdf). The vaporizer or app may also include a table similar to the number of drinks vs. blood alcohol content (BAC) table included in department of motor vehicles (DMV) letters. The vaporizer and/or app may alternatively or additionally estimate blood THC concentration based on the user's body weight and gender info.” [0097]
Regarding claim 38
A user feedback method according to claim 32 in which the first device is operable to obtain an identity of the user, for the purposes of enabling the obtaining processor to obtain user factors relating to that identified user, wherein the identity of the user is obtained by one or more selected from the list consisting of:
i. facial recognition;
Cohen teaches:
Example of facial recognition…
“For example, the app (e.g., running on the user device 305) and/or the vaporizer 100, 200 may authenticate to a mobile device (e.g., user device 305) using encryption, as an anti-counterfeit mechanism. A similar scheme may be used to tie the vaporizer 100, 200 to the owner's mobile communications device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, pad, user device 305 etc.), such that if stolen the device is disabled to prevent others from using it. In some implementations, the vaporizer 100, 200 may connect periodically using the network interface 640 to the user device 305 to verify and/or authorize use and/or age of the user. In some implementations, a user may connect to the application on the user device 305 or computer and provide authentication to enable operation of the vaporizer 100, 200. In some aspects, the authentication includes password or PIN entry, a defined gesture (e.g., tap three times), selection of a confirmation button, a voice authentication, or a biometric authentication (e.g., facial recognition) inputted into the application using the user interface 650.” [0151]
ii. voice recognition;
Example of voice authentication…
“For example, the app (e.g., running on the user device 305) and/or the vaporizer 100, 200 may authenticate to a mobile device (e.g., user device 305) using encryption, as an anti-counterfeit mechanism. A similar scheme may be used to tie the vaporizer 100, 200 to the owner's mobile communications device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, pad, user device 305 etc.), such that if stolen the device is disabled to prevent others from using it. In some implementations, the vaporizer 100, 200 may connect periodically using the network interface 640 to the user device 305 to verify and/or authorize use and/or age of the user. In some implementations, a user may connect to the application on the user device 305 or computer and provide authentication to enable operation of the vaporizer 100, 200. In some aspects, the authentication includes password or PIN entry, a defined gesture (e.g., tap three times), selection of a confirmation button, a voice authentication, or a biometric authentication (e.g., facial recognition) inputted into the application using the user interface 650.” [0151]
iii. communication with a registered terminal of the user; and
iv. communication with a registered aerosol delivery device of the user.
Example of communication between device and vaporizer (aerosol delivery device) to verify and authorize (therefore, registered) age of the user…
“For example, the app (e.g., running on the user device 305) and/or the vaporizer 100, 200 may authenticate to a mobile device (e.g., user device 305) using encryption, as an anti-counterfeit mechanism. A similar scheme may be used to tie the vaporizer 100, 200 to the owner's mobile communications device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, pad, user device 305 etc.), such that if stolen the device is disabled to prevent others from using it. In some implementations, the vaporizer 100, 200 may connect periodically using the network interface 640 to the user device 305 to verify and/or authorize use and/or age of the user. In some implementations, a user may connect to the application on the user device 305 or computer and provide authentication to enable operation of the vaporizer 100, 200. In some aspects, the authentication includes password or PIN entry, a defined gesture (e.g., tap three times), selection of a confirmation button, a voice authentication, or a biometric authentication (e.g., facial recognition) inputted into the application using the user interface 650.” [0151]
Regarding claim 40
A user feedback method according to claim 32 in which the first device is a dock for an aerosol delivery device.
{
From Applicant’s specification on dock…
“In Figure 5, as an example delivery device an e-cigarette 10 may communicate directly with one or more other classes of device (for example using Bluetooth ® or Wifi Direct ®), including but not limited to a smartphone 100, a dock 200 (e.g. a home refill and/or charging station), a vending machine 300, or a wearable 400. As noted above, these devices may cooperate in any suitable configuration to form a delivery system.” (pg. 19, lines 1-5)
Therefore, a charging station is a dock.
}
Cohen teaches:
Example of charger as charging station…
“Further with reference to FIG. 1, a vaporizer 100 may include a charger 133 (and charging circuitry which may be controlled by the controller 105), optionally including an inductive charger and/or a plug-in charger. For example, a universal serial bus (USB) connection may be used to charge the vaporizer 100 and/or to allow communication over a wired connection between a computing device and the controller 105. The charger 133 may charge the onboard power source 103. A vaporizer 100 consistent with implementations of the current subject matter may also include one or more inputs 117, such as buttons, dials, or the like, and/or sensors 137, including accelerometers or other motion sensors, capacitive sensors, flow sensors, or the like…” [0040]
Claims 11-13 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references in section (10) above in further view of Pub. No. US 2012/0319869 to Dorfmann et al.
Regarding claim 11
A user feedback system according to claim 10, in which
if the estimation processor identifies a feedback action based upon one or more of at least a subset of the obtained user factors indicative that a user is stressed, the corresponding modification of one or more operations of the first device relates to one or more selected from the list consisting of:
Cohen teaches:
“…For example, the sensation of vapor or smoke hitting the back of the throat may itself become addictive and may influence an ability of the user to quit smoking. Additionally, during attempts to quit smoking, nicotine withdrawal may cause anxiety and stress to the user, both of which may be powerful incentives to take up smoking again.” [0027]
i. reducing a user interface complexity; and
See Reducing Complexity below.
ii. reducing a number of user interface options.
Complexity
The combined references teach stress. They do not teach reducing complexity.
Dorfmann et al. also in the business of stress teaches :
Declutter (reducing complexity) display (interface)…
“The operational display control 22 in the FCS 24 is computer controlled and incorporates software modules providing different modes responsive to signaling from the biomonitor system 20. One mode is "biosignal threshold reached". If this mode is activated, the operational display control 22 will automatically declutter the screen displays dramatically and focus only on the information the operator needs right now to fly the aircraft (e.g. turn off NOTAM depiction on the EFB 30). Levels of display decluttering are shown in FIGS. 2B and 2C which will be described in greater detail subsequently. In a combined cockpit computer system, some displays are switched off automatically to control the operator's attention and draw it to the system(s) that need his intention most at that particular moment. The biomonitoring system 20 will continue reading the biosignals of the operator. The operational display control 22 would then revert into "normal" mode when biosignals return to "normal" within the threshold limits. Alternatively, an override or reset switch associated with the operational display control 22 may be employed to restore complete normal functionality to the displays.” [0017]
Detect stress…
“The monitoring devices including the sensors of the biomonitoring sensor package 10 and the associated biomonitor system 20 is a personal device and therefore is configured to the person wearing it. Calibration of the combined biomonitoring sensor package and biomonitor system may be undertaken for specifically "tuning" defined threshold levels for individuals. The `biomonitoring sensor package 10 and associated biomonitor system 20 would also be able to detect any emotional stress (e.g. problems the operator has at home or other personal issues) and may automatically change the depiction,/ arrangement of displays and application presented by the operational display control 24 as soon as it is switched on. There could be a color adjustment of the EFB application, of course the color adjustment would not affect any critical elements but, for example, the main background color or the frame of the application or buttons could change color to bring the operator into a less emotional mood (e.g. blue color or grey color could have a calming/neutralizing effect). It would therefore be independent of "emergency-only" situations” [0018]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to reduce stress by decluttering displays as taught by Dorfmann et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Dorfmann et al. who teaches displays can be decluttered to reduce stress and the combined references benefit as they also deal with feedback and stress.
Regarding claim 12
A user feedback system according to claim 9 in which the modification of one or more operations of the first device relates to one or more selected from the list consisting of:
i. shortlisting or selecting options for the user; and
Cohen teaches:
Vaporizer system (first device) select optimized pattern of puffs (selecting options for user)…
“The vaporizer and/or vaporizer system may be configured to toggle, on a puff by puff basis, between nicotine and non-nicotine puffs. In some aspects, the vaporizer and/or vaporizer system may also be configured to dynamically mix of non-nicotine vaporizable material (e.g., citric acid) with the nicotine-containing vaporizable material to adjust a nicotine ratio/concentration in the inhalable vapor. In some implementations, the controller 105, 205, a connected application (e.g., an app on the user device 305 and/or in the cloud), and/or the processor 610 may be configured to toggle between reservoirs and/or chambers and/or mix the different nicotine concentration vaporizable material. This toggling and/or mixing may beneficially allow the vaporizer and/or vaporizer system to control a concentration of nicotine in each puff of the user. The vaporizer and/or vaporizer system may utilize adaptive behavioral approaches, such as machine learning, to select an optimized pattern of nicotine vs. non-nicotine puffs.”
ii. shortlisting or selecting products for the user.
Example of mix (select) material (products)…
“The vaporizer and/or vaporizer system may be configured to toggle, on a puff by puff basis, between nicotine and non-nicotine puffs. In some aspects, the vaporizer and/or vaporizer system may also be configured to dynamically mix of non-nicotine vaporizable material (e.g., citric acid) with the nicotine-containing vaporizable material to adjust a nicotine ratio/concentration in the inhalable vapor. In some implementations, the controller 105, 205, a connected application (e.g., an app on the user device 305 and/or in the cloud), and/or the processor 610 may be configured to toggle between reservoirs and/or chambers and/or mix the different nicotine concentration vaporizable material. This toggling and/or mixing may beneficially allow the vaporizer and/or vaporizer system to control a concentration of nicotine in each puff of the user. The vaporizer and/or vaporizer system may utilize adaptive behavioral approaches, such as machine learning, to select an optimized pattern of nicotine vs. non-nicotine puffs.”
Shortlisting Options
The combined references teach stress. They do not teach reducing the number of options.
Dorfman et al. also in the business of stress teaches:
Example of reducing the number of functions (options) for the user…
“FIG. 2B shows an example of a first level of "decluttering" in response to exceeding the initial upper threshold for stress. In the EFB 30 the operational display control enlarges the most important elements (like text information that can be easily missed such as Minimum Operating Altitude (MOA) display 60) and positions them more prominent in the primary field of view. The number of displayed map elements is reduced, for example only displaying route 62 and associated waypoints 64, no additional text, with only main functions like "zoom in" 66, "zoom out" 68, "center on A/C" 70 available for selection.” [0027]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to reduce stress by reducing the number of options as taught by Dorfmann et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Dorfmann et al. who teaches the benefits of reducing options to reduce stress and the combined references benefit as they also deal with feedback and stress.
Regarding claim 13
A user feedback system according to claim 12, in which
if the estimation processor identifies a feedback action based upon one or more of at least a subset of the obtained user factors indicative that a user is stressed, the corresponding modification of one or more operations of the first device relates to one or more selected from the list consisting of:
Cohen teaches:
“…For example, the sensation of vapor or smoke hitting the back of the throat may itself become addictive and may influence an ability of the user to quit smoking. Additionally, during attempts to quit smoking, nicotine withdrawal may cause anxiety and stress to the user, both of which may be powerful incentives to take up smoking again.” [0027]
i. reducing the number of shortlisted options for the user; and
See Reducing Options below.
ii. reducing the number of shortlisted products for the user.
Reducing Options
The combined references teach stress. They do not teach reducing the number of options.
Dorfman et al. also in the business of stress teaches:
Example of reducing the number of functions (options) for the user…
“FIG. 2B shows an example of a first level of "decluttering" in response to exceeding the initial upper threshold for stress. In the EFB 30 the operational display control enlarges the most important elements (like text information that can be easily missed such as Minimum Operating Altitude (MOA) display 60) and positions them more prominent in the primary field of view. The number of displayed map elements is reduced, for example only displaying route 62 and associated waypoints 64, no additional text, with only main functions like "zoom in" 66, "zoom out" 68, "center on A/C" 70 available for selection.” [0027]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to reduce stress by reducing the number of options as taught by Dorfmann et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Dorfmann et al. who teaches the benefits of reducing options to reduce stress and the combined references benefit as they also deal with feedback and stress.
Regarding claim 37
A user feedback method according to claim 32 in which the modification of one or more operations of the first device relates to one or more selected from the list consisting of:
Cohen teaches:
“…For example, the sensation of vapor or smoke hitting the back of the throat may itself become addictive and may influence an ability of the user to quit smoking. Additionally, during attempts to quit smoking, nicotine withdrawal may cause anxiety and stress to the user, both of which may be powerful incentives to take up smoking again.” [0027]
i. shortlisting or selecting options for the user; and
See Shortlisting Options below.
ii. shortlisting or selecting consumables for the user.
Shortlisting Options
The combined references teach stress. They do not teach reducing the number of options.
Dorfman et al. also in the business of stress teaches:
Example of reducing the number of functions (options) for the user…
“FIG. 2B shows an example of a first level of "decluttering" in response to exceeding the initial upper threshold for stress. In the EFB 30 the operational display control enlarges the most important elements (like text information that can be easily missed such as Minimum Operating Altitude (MOA) display 60) and positions them more prominent in the primary field of view. The number of displayed map elements is reduced, for example only displaying route 62 and associated waypoints 64, no additional text, with only main functions like "zoom in" 66, "zoom out" 68, "center on A/C" 70 available for selection.” [0027]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to reduce stress by reducing the number of options as taught by Dorfmann et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Dorfmann et al. who teaches the benefits of reducing options to reduce stress and the combined references benefit as they also deal with feedback and stress.
Claims 14-17 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references in section (10) above in view of Pub. No. WO 2015051376 to Alarcon et al.
Regarding claim 14
A user feedback system according to claim 1 in which the first device is a point of sale device.
Cohen teaches:
Receive and transmit sales lead data for product information…
“A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, anonymous and/or user specific usage and/or reliability data such as device errors or malfunctions. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific usage and/or reliability data such as requests for warranty services, repairs, and or replacements, etc. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific customer satisfaction data such as requests for technical support. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific sales lead data such as requests for product information. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific usability data such as requests for usage instructions. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific information such as requests for information on product features or functions. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific marketing data such as requests for information on purchasing a vaporizer and/or acquiring a vaporizer by way of a prescription from a physician or healthcare provider.” 0079]
Example of apps (first device) and direct sales (point of sale device)…
“The vaporizers and apps described herein may also facilitate communication between the manufacturer and/or retailer and the consumer (user). For example, by interacting with consumers while they are using the product, there may be opportunities to encourage direct sales. Thus, for example an app may say: “If my calculations are correct, it looks like you only have one cartridge left in your pack. Would you like to buy another?”” [0162]
The combined references teach point of sale. They do not teach point of sale device.
Alarcon et al. also in the business of point of sale teaches:
Point of sale device…
“In one embodiment, & retail system for an electronic smoking device comprises a charging pack configured to hold or charge the electronic smoking device; and a point-of-sale device configured to facilitate sales of at least one f the charging pack or the electronic smoking device; wherein one of the charging pack or the point-of-sale device is configured to broadcast a radiofrequency communication: and wherein the other of the charging pack or the point-of-sale device is configured to receive the radiofrequency communication.” [0005]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use a point of sale device as taught by Alarcon et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by the combined references that teach a point of sale and they would benefit by using a point of sale device.
Regarding claim 15
A user feedback system according to claim 14 in which the first device is a point of sale device.
Cohen teaches:
Receive and transmit sales lead data for product information…
“A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, anonymous and/or user specific usage and/or reliability data such as device errors or malfunctions. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific usage and/or reliability data such as requests for warranty services, repairs, and or replacements, etc. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific customer satisfaction data such as requests for technical support. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific sales lead data such as requests for product information. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific usability data such as requests for usage instructions. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific information such as requests for information on product features or functions. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific marketing data such as requests for information on purchasing a vaporizer and/or acquiring a vaporizer by way of a prescription from a physician or healthcare provider.” 0079]
Example of apps (first device) and retailer and direct sales (point of sale device)…
“The vaporizers and apps described herein may also facilitate communication between the manufacturer and/or retailer and the consumer (user). For example, by interacting with consumers while they are using the product, there may be opportunities to encourage direct sales. Thus, for example an app may say: “If my calculations are correct, it looks like you only have one cartridge left in your pack. Would you like to buy another?”” [0162]
The combined references teach point of sale. They do not teach point of sale device.
Alarcon et al. also in the business of point of sale teaches:
Point of sale device…
“In one embodiment, & retail system for an electronic smoking device comprises a charging pack configured to hold or charge the electronic smoking device; and a point-of-sale device configured to facilitate sales of at least one f the charging pack or the electronic smoking device; wherein one of the charging pack or the point-of-sale device is configured to broadcast a radiofrequency communication: and wherein the other of the charging pack or the point-of-sale device is configured to receive the radiofrequency communication.” [0005]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use a point of sale device as taught by Alarcon et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by the combined references that teach a point of sale and they would benefit by using a point of sale device.
Regarding claim 16
A user feedback system according to claim 15 in which
the point of sale device is operable to be included in a delivery ecosystem of an aerosol delivery device of a user; and
Cohen teaches:
Example of application (point of sale device) with delivery (delivery ecosystem)…
“A vaporizer and/or an associated application can provide for the notification of the user via the vaporizer and/or the associated application of the availability of a prescription issued or written for the end user being ready for pick-up, delivery, shipment to the user or similar of a prescription component intended for delivery to the patient by a vaporizer. For example, a pharmacy may send a notification to the user, via the vaporizer and/or an associated application, such as to notify the user that their prescription for a vaporizer or vaporizable material (e.g., cartridges or liquids) is available for the user to pick up from the pharmacy (other commercial venues, not limited to pharmacies, may also do this, including shops, dispensaries, etc.). A vaporizer and/or an associated application can allow for healthcare providers, networks, agents, authorized third parties or similar entities to send alerts, messages, surveys, or similar to the user via the vaporizer and/or the associated application. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can allow for healthcare providers, networks, agents, authorized third parties or similar entities to access data that is generated as a result of surveys, or similar through the vaporizer and/or the associated application.” [0082]
if the estimation processor identifies a feedback action based upon one or more of at least a subset of the obtained user factors indicative that a user is stressed, the corresponding modification of one or more operations of the first device relates to one or more selected from the list consisting of:
i. supplying a payload whose active ingredient composition or concentration is selected as suitable for consumption when stressed; and
Example of THC (active ingredient) and prescription…
“In an example of THC dose regulation, the dose control may allow a user to treat symptoms without having too much psychoactive effect. For example, usage data can be shared with a doctor to allow for better prescription/administration. In general, for medical use, the vaporizer or app can correlate dose with logged symptoms. Alternatively or additionally, for recreational use, the vaporizer or app may allow a user to more easily figure out the right amount for them and then repeatedly deliver that dose.” [0096]
Example of dose (concentration) for sleep (therefore, reduced stress)…
“The dose unit may be programmable. For example, a user may program a dose based on previous (recorded) use; e.g., the user may press a “start” button on the app, take enough puffs until satisfied, and then press “stop” on the app. In addition, the user may input user-specific data that may be helpful in determining and/or metering dosing. For example, the user may input body weight, gender, and any other relevant data. Such info can be used for adjusting dose of therapeutic drugs such as pain killer, sleep aid, etc. accordingly.” [0090]
ii. modifying one or more settings of an aerosol delivery device in wireless communication with the point of sale device to deliver a modified aerosol suitable for consumption when stressed.
Example of modifying aerosol device settings…
“The dose unit may be programmable. For example, a user may program a dose based on previous (recorded) use; e.g., the user may press a “start” button on the app, take enough puffs until satisfied, and then press “stop” on the app. In addition, the user may input user-specific data that may be helpful in determining and/or metering dosing. For example, the user may input body weight, gender, and any other relevant data. Such info can be used for adjusting dose of therapeutic drugs such as pain killer, sleep aid, etc. accordingly.” [0090]
The combined references teach point of sale. They do not teach point of sale device.
Alarcon et al. also in the business of point of sale teaches:
Point of sale device…
“In one embodiment, & retail system for an electronic smoking device comprises a charging pack configured to hold or charge the electronic smoking device; and a point-of-sale device configured to facilitate sales of at least one f the charging pack or the electronic smoking device; wherein one of the charging pack or the point-of-sale device is configured to broadcast a radiofrequency communication: and wherein the other of the charging pack or the point-of-sale device is configured to receive the radiofrequency communication.” [0005]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use a point of sale device as taught by Alarcon et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by the combined references that teach a point of sale and they would benefit by using a point of sale device.
Regarding claim 17
A user feedback system according to claim 15 in which
if the estimation processor identifies a feedback action based upon one or more of at least a subset of the obtained user factors indicative that a user is stressed, the corresponding modification of one or more operations of the first device relates to one or more selected from the list consisting of:
i. dispensing an oral product whose active ingredient composition or concentration is selected as suitable for consumption when stressed; and
Cohen teaches:
Example of allow delivery (dispensing) of next dosage…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the app may also allow a user to log other health related activities, such as from a fitness app, and/or may suggest correlations between nicotine or THC usage and alcohol consumption, heart rate, blood pressure, workout time or weight changes, etc. For example, a user may enter a preferred unit dose (e.g., using presets, or estimated/recorded/programmable data as described above), and a dosage interval or total daily target. The vaporizer and/or app may then lock out after each dosage, and an alert may pop up on a user computing device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, tablet, etc.) when it's time for a next dosage, with the vaporizer automatically unlocking to allow delivery of this next dosage. Such an approach may be applied as a user-elected reduction approach (step-down or cessation), or to maintain a prescribed therapeutic regimen (e.g., X mg of agent every Y hours, not to exceed Z mg/day).” [0126]
Example of strength (concentration) and bedtime, etc. (therefore, suitable when stresses)…
“In some implementations, the vaporizer and/or an affiliated app may be customized based on user preferences, and may provide reminders (including for recreational users, including THC users). For example, in some implementations, the apparatus may save preferences for cartridges (e.g., “pods”) of different strains and strength that may be preferred by the user. The app and/or vaporizer may save preferences for different use cases (e.g., ‘going for a hike’, ‘bedtime’, ‘party time’, etc.). In some implementations, in which cartridges come with different THC/CBD ratios, the apparatus (e.g., vaporizer and/or app) may set a reminder of using high or low THC cartridges based on user usage pattern and preferences.” [0129]
Vaporizable material is tobacco or cannabis…
“For example, in certain implementations, the vaporizable material is an organic material. In certain examples, vaporizable material includes a liquid, a viscous liquid, a wax, a loose-leaf plant material, etc. In certain examples, the vaporizable material is a tobacco-based material. In certain examples, the vaporizable material is a Cannabis-based material. In certain examples, the vaporizable material is a botanical. In certain examples, the vaporizable material is nicotine, a nicotine derivative or a nicotine salt. In certain examples, the vaporizable material is a nutraceutical. In certain examples, the vaporizable material contains a cannabinoid. In certain examples, the vaporizable material is a medicinal compound. In certain examples, the vaporizable material is a non-nicotine material. In certain examples, the vaporizable material is a citric acid compound.” [0170]
ii. modifying one or more settings of an oral product dispenser device in communication with the point of sale device to deliver a modified oral product suitable for consumption when stressed.
The combined references teach point of sale. They do not teach point of sale device.
Alarcon et al. also in the business of point of sale teaches:
Point of sale device…
“In one embodiment, & retail system for an electronic smoking device comprises a charging pack configured to hold or charge the electronic smoking device; and a point-of-sale device configured to facilitate sales of at least one f the charging pack or the electronic smoking device; wherein one of the charging pack or the point-of-sale device is configured to broadcast a radiofrequency communication: and wherein the other of the charging pack or the point-of-sale device is configured to receive the radiofrequency communication.” [0005]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use a point of sale device as taught by Alarcon et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by the combined references that teach a point of sale and they would benefit by using a point of sale device.
Regarding claim 39
A user feedback method according to claim 32 in which the first device is a point of sale device.
Cohen teaches:
Receive and transmit sales lead data for product information…
“A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, anonymous and/or user specific usage and/or reliability data such as device errors or malfunctions. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific usage and/or reliability data such as requests for warranty services, repairs, and or replacements, etc. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific customer satisfaction data such as requests for technical support. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific sales lead data such as requests for product information. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific usability data such as requests for usage instructions. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific information such as requests for information on product features or functions. A vaporizer and/or an associated application can gather, receive, log, store, transmit, extrapolate, and/or the like, user specific marketing data such as requests for information on purchasing a vaporizer and/or acquiring a vaporizer by way of a prescription from a physician or healthcare provider.” 0079]
Example of apps (first device) and retailer and direct sales (point of sale device)…
“The vaporizers and apps described herein may also facilitate communication between the manufacturer and/or retailer and the consumer (user). For example, by interacting with consumers while they are using the product, there may be opportunities to encourage direct sales. Thus, for example an app may say: “If my calculations are correct, it looks like you only have one cartridge left in your pack. Would you like to buy another?”” [0162]
The combined references teach point of sale. They do not teach point of sale device.
Alarcon et al. also in the business of point of sale teaches:
Point of sale device…
“In one embodiment, & retail system for an electronic smoking device comprises a charging pack configured to hold or charge the electronic smoking device; and a point-of-sale device configured to facilitate sales of at least one f the charging pack or the electronic smoking device; wherein one of the charging pack or the point-of-sale device is configured to broadcast a radiofrequency communication: and wherein the other of the charging pack or the point-of-sale device is configured to receive the radiofrequency communication.” [0005]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use a point of sale device as taught by Alarcon et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by the combined references that teach a point of sale and they would benefit by using a point of sale device.
Claims 21, 22, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references in section (10) above in view of Pub. No. US 2014/0156308 to Ohnemus et al.
Regarding claim 21
A user feedback system according to claim 1 in which the first device is a piece of fitness equipment.
Cohen teaches:
A fitness app (equipment) and workout time…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the app may also allow a user to log other health related activities, such as from a fitness app, and/or may suggest correlations between nicotine or THC usage and alcohol consumption, heart rate, blood pressure, workout time or weight changes, etc. For example, a user may enter a preferred unit dose (e.g., using presets, or estimated/recorded/programmable data as described above), and a dosage interval or total daily target. The vaporizer and/or app may then lock out after each dosage, and an alert may pop up on a user computing device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, tablet, etc.) when it's time for a next dosage, with the vaporizer automatically unlocking to allow delivery of this next dosage. Such an approach may be applied as a user-elected reduction approach (step-down or cessation), or to maintain a prescribed therapeutic regimen (e.g., X mg of agent every Y hours, not to exceed Z mg/day).” [0126]
App on devices as equipment…
“For example, applications (“apps”) may be executed on a processor of a portable and/or wearable device, including smartphones, smartwatches, and the like, which may be referred to as a personal digital device or optionally just a device (e.g., user device 305 in FIG. 3) that is part of a vaporizer system. These digital devices may provide an interface for the user to engage and interact with functions related to the vaporizer, including communication of data to and from the vaporizer to the digital device or the like and/or additional third party processor (e.g., servers such as the remote server 307 in FIG. 3). For example, a user may control some aspects of the vaporizer (temperature, dosage, etc.) and/or data transmission and data receiving to and from vaporizer, optionally over a wireless communication channel between first communication hardware of the device and second communication hardware of the vaporizer. Data may be communicated in response to one or more actions of the user (e.g., including interactions with a user interface displayed on the device), and/or as a background operation such that the user does not have to initiate or authorize the data communication process.” [0070]
The combined references teach feedback. They do not directly teach exercise equipment.
Ohnemus et al. also in the business of feedback teaches:
Adjust (modify) exercise program at the exercise machine…
“In addition to intrinsic medical parameters, physical activity of a user is also taken into account when calculating his or her health score. As noted herein, physical activity can be monitored by the health band 101 via an appropriate sensor dependent on the activity. Sensors can include a GPS unit, an altimeter, a depth meter, a pedometer, a cadence sensor, a velocity sensor, a heart rate monitor or the like. In the case of gym-based activities, computerized exercise equipment can be configured to provide data directly on the program completed by the user (for example, a so-called elliptical/cross-trainer can provide far better data on the workout than a user's pedometer etc). Although automated capture of parameters concerning a user's physical activity is preferred, a user interface for manual activity entry can be also provided. In this regard, an exercise machine such as a treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike or weight lifting machine with a rack of weights or bands can be provided with a communications interface to communicate with the system described herein to provide extrinsic physical activity parameters to the system and to receive and further include a processor configured to process data from the system so as to automatically adjust an exercise program at the exercise machine to meet a goal, challenge, or other objective for that user.” [0156]
Feedback and working out on exercise equipment…
“The health score can be based on a weighted combination of health factor(s) and the exercise record of the person over time. The health factors can be updated regularly by the user. For example, the user can provide health related information after every event that is tracked and processed by the system. The user can update after a meal, after exercising, after weighing himself, etc. In the case of recordal of an activity/event by a sensor, portable device or the like, the captured/calculated parameters can be automatically uploaded and used to produce a revised health score. For example, feedback could be provided showing the effect of exercise while a user is running, working out on exercise equipment etc. In selected embodiments, feedback can be provided to an administrator such as a gym staff member where it is determined that a user is exceeding a predetermined threshold (which due to knowledge of their health can be varied respective to their health score or other recorded data). Accordingly, the health related data can be updated in a near real-time manner.” [0169]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use exercise equipment as taught by Ohnemus et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Ohnemus et al. who teaches the benefits of exercise and the combined references benefit as they also teach exercise.
Regarding claim 22
A user feedback system according to claim 21, in which at least a first identified feedback action comprises modifying a fitness program of the piece of fitness equipment.
The combined references teach feedback. They do not teach modifying a fitness program.
Ohnemus et al. also in the business of feedback teaches:
Adjust (modify) exercise program at the exercise machine…
“In addition to intrinsic medical parameters, physical activity of a user is also taken into account when calculating his or her health score. As noted herein, physical activity can be monitored by the health band 101 via an appropriate sensor dependent on the activity. Sensors can include a GPS unit, an altimeter, a depth meter, a pedometer, a cadence sensor, a velocity sensor, a heart rate monitor or the like. In the case of gym-based activities, computerized exercise equipment can be configured to provide data directly on the program completed by the user (for example, a so-called elliptical/cross-trainer can provide far better data on the workout than a user's pedometer etc). Although automated capture of parameters concerning a user's physical activity is preferred, a user interface for manual activity entry can be also provided. In this regard, an exercise machine such as a treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike or weight lifting machine with a rack of weights or bands can be provided with a communications interface to communicate with the system described herein to provide extrinsic physical activity parameters to the system and to receive and further include a processor configured to process data from the system so as to automatically adjust an exercise program at the exercise machine to meet a goal, challenge, or other objective for that user.” [0156]
Feedback and working out on exercise equipment…
“The health score can be based on a weighted combination of health factor(s) and the exercise record of the person over time. The health factors can be updated regularly by the user. For example, the user can provide health related information after every event that is tracked and processed by the system. The user can update after a meal, after exercising, after weighing himself, etc. In the case of recordal of an activity/event by a sensor, portable device or the like, the captured/calculated parameters can be automatically uploaded and used to produce a revised health score. For example, feedback could be provided showing the effect of exercise while a user is running, working out on exercise equipment etc. In selected embodiments, feedback can be provided to an administrator such as a gym staff member where it is determined that a user is exceeding a predetermined threshold (which due to knowledge of their health can be varied respective to their health score or other recorded data). Accordingly, the health related data can be updated in a near real-time manner.” [0169]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to modify an exercise program and exercise equipment as taught by Ohnemus et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Ohnemus et al. who teaches the benefits of exercise and the combined references benefit as they also teach exercise.
Regarding claim 41
A user feedback method according to claim 32 in which the first device is a piece of fitness equipment.
Cohen teaches:
A fitness app (equipment) and workout time…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the app may also allow a user to log other health related activities, such as from a fitness app, and/or may suggest correlations between nicotine or THC usage and alcohol consumption, heart rate, blood pressure, workout time or weight changes, etc. For example, a user may enter a preferred unit dose (e.g., using presets, or estimated/recorded/programmable data as described above), and a dosage interval or total daily target. The vaporizer and/or app may then lock out after each dosage, and an alert may pop up on a user computing device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, tablet, etc.) when it's time for a next dosage, with the vaporizer automatically unlocking to allow delivery of this next dosage. Such an approach may be applied as a user-elected reduction approach (step-down or cessation), or to maintain a prescribed therapeutic regimen (e.g., X mg of agent every Y hours, not to exceed Z mg/day).” [0126]
App on devices as equipment…
“For example, applications (“apps”) may be executed on a processor of a portable and/or wearable device, including smartphones, smartwatches, and the like, which may be referred to as a personal digital device or optionally just a device (e.g., user device 305 in FIG. 3) that is part of a vaporizer system. These digital devices may provide an interface for the user to engage and interact with functions related to the vaporizer, including communication of data to and from the vaporizer to the digital device or the like and/or additional third party processor (e.g., servers such as the remote server 307 in FIG. 3). For example, a user may control some aspects of the vaporizer (temperature, dosage, etc.) and/or data transmission and data receiving to and from vaporizer, optionally over a wireless communication channel between first communication hardware of the device and second communication hardware of the vaporizer. Data may be communicated in response to one or more actions of the user (e.g., including interactions with a user interface displayed on the device), and/or as a background operation such that the user does not have to initiate or authorize the data communication process.” [0070]
Cohen teaches:
A fitness app (equipment) and workout time…
“In some implementations of the current subject matter, the app may also allow a user to log other health related activities, such as from a fitness app, and/or may suggest correlations between nicotine or THC usage and alcohol consumption, heart rate, blood pressure, workout time or weight changes, etc. For example, a user may enter a preferred unit dose (e.g., using presets, or estimated/recorded/programmable data as described above), and a dosage interval or total daily target. The vaporizer and/or app may then lock out after each dosage, and an alert may pop up on a user computing device (e.g., phone, smartwatch, tablet, etc.) when it's time for a next dosage, with the vaporizer automatically unlocking to allow delivery of this next dosage. Such an approach may be applied as a user-elected reduction approach (step-down or cessation), or to maintain a prescribed therapeutic regimen (e.g., X mg of agent every Y hours, not to exceed Z mg/day).” [0126]
App on devices as equipment…
“For example, applications (“apps”) may be executed on a processor of a portable and/or wearable device, including smartphones, smartwatches, and the like, which may be referred to as a personal digital device or optionally just a device (e.g., user device 305 in FIG. 3) that is part of a vaporizer system. These digital devices may provide an interface for the user to engage and interact with functions related to the vaporizer, including communication of data to and from the vaporizer to the digital device or the like and/or additional third party processor (e.g., servers such as the remote server 307 in FIG. 3). For example, a user may control some aspects of the vaporizer (temperature, dosage, etc.) and/or data transmission and data receiving to and from vaporizer, optionally over a wireless communication channel between first communication hardware of the device and second communication hardware of the vaporizer. Data may be communicated in response to one or more actions of the user (e.g., including interactions with a user interface displayed on the device), and/or as a background operation such that the user does not have to initiate or authorize the data communication process.” [0070]
The combined references teach feedback. They do not directly teach exercise equipment.
Ohnemus et al. also in the business of feedback teaches:
Adjust (modify) exercise program at the exercise machine…
“In addition to intrinsic medical parameters, physical activity of a user is also taken into account when calculating his or her health score. As noted herein, physical activity can be monitored by the health band 101 via an appropriate sensor dependent on the activity. Sensors can include a GPS unit, an altimeter, a depth meter, a pedometer, a cadence sensor, a velocity sensor, a heart rate monitor or the like. In the case of gym-based activities, computerized exercise equipment can be configured to provide data directly on the program completed by the user (for example, a so-called elliptical/cross-trainer can provide far better data on the workout than a user's pedometer etc). Although automated capture of parameters concerning a user's physical activity is preferred, a user interface for manual activity entry can be also provided. In this regard, an exercise machine such as a treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike or weight lifting machine with a rack of weights or bands can be provided with a communications interface to communicate with the system described herein to provide extrinsic physical activity parameters to the system and to receive and further include a processor configured to process data from the system so as to automatically adjust an exercise program at the exercise machine to meet a goal, challenge, or other objective for that user.” [0156]
Feedback and working out on exercise equipment…
“The health score can be based on a weighted combination of health factor(s) and the exercise record of the person over time. The health factors can be updated regularly by the user. For example, the user can provide health related information after every event that is tracked and processed by the system. The user can update after a meal, after exercising, after weighing himself, etc. In the case of recordal of an activity/event by a sensor, portable device or the like, the captured/calculated parameters can be automatically uploaded and used to produce a revised health score. For example, feedback could be provided showing the effect of exercise while a user is running, working out on exercise equipment etc. In selected embodiments, feedback can be provided to an administrator such as a gym staff member where it is determined that a user is exceeding a predetermined threshold (which due to knowledge of their health can be varied respective to their health score or other recorded data). Accordingly, the health related data can be updated in a near real-time manner.” [0169]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use exercise equipment as taught by Ohnemus et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Ohnemus et al. who teaches the benefits of exercise and the combined references benefit as they also teach exercise.
Conclusion
/KENNETH BARTLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684