DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments are presented that Hwangbo would not teach all the limitations of amended claim 1 and dependent claim 6. These arguments are not found persuasive due to the fact that Hwangbo would still teach the limitations of amended claim 1 as detailed in the updated rejection below that relies on the second current collector (80) of Hwangbo as the claimed first current collector.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 6/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13 under Makino and Hwangbo have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Makino, Hwangbo, and the new prior art of McKinney et al. (US 2011/0059343 A1, hereafter McKinney) as necessitated by the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hwangbo et al. (US 2022/0231345 A1, hereafter Hwangbo).
With regard to claim 1, Hwangbo teaches a secondary battery comprising:
a can (can 20) [0161, fig. 5];
an electrode assembly (electrode assembly 10) accommodated in the can and including a first uncoated portion (uncoated region 12) extending in a first direction (downward) and a second uncoated portion extending (uncoated region 11) in a second direction (upward) [0031, 0099, 0161-0166, 0182, 0194, fig. 5-7, fig. 13];
a first current collector plate (second current collector 80) electrically connected to the first uncoated portion of the electrode assembly [0031, 0099, 0161-0166, 0182, 0194, 0231 fig. 5-7, fig. 13];
a first terminal portion (terminal 20a) coupled to the can and electrically connected to the first current collector plate (via can 20 in contact with second current collector 80) [0099, 0161-0166, 0182, 0194, 0213-0214, 0231, 0253, fig. 5-7, fig. 13]; and,
a second terminal portion (terminal 40) coupled to the can and electrically connected to the second uncoated portion of the electrode assembly [0031, 0099, 0161-0166, 0182, 0194, 0231 fig. 5-7, fig. 13],
wherein a portion of the first current collector plate (second current collector 80) and a portion of the can contact one another (as seen in fig. 13) [0099, 0161-0166, 0182, 0194, 0213-0214, 0231, 0253, fig. 5-7, fig. 13].
With regard to claim 6, Hwangbo teaches a positive or negative electrode [0162].
With regard to claim 11, Hwangbo teaches an electrode with an uncoated region (uncoated regions 11) electrically connected to a terminal (terminal 40) including a pillar portion (terminal insert portion 42) extending from a current collector (60) with an area corresponding to the uncoated region (as seen in fig. 7) and penetrating the can, and a terminal surface (terminal exposing portion 41) extending from the pillar portion and located outside the can [0031, 0099, 0161-0166, 0182, 0194-0195, fig. 5-7, fig. 13].
With regard to claim 12, Hwangbo further teaches an insulating portion (gasket 50) between the terminal portion and can [0161, fig. 7].
With regard to claim 13, Hwangbo teaches a positive or negative electrode [0162].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makino et al (US 2024/0162474 A1, hereafter Makino) in view of Hwangbo et al. (US 2022/0231345 A1, hereafter Hwangbo), and further in view of McKinney et al. (US 2011/0059343 A1, hereafter McKinney).
With regard to claim 1, Makino teaches a secondary battery comprising:
a can (can 2) [0069, fig. 1];
an electrode assembly (jelly roll) accommodated in the can and including a first uncoated portion (exposed first conductive sheet) extending in a first direction (upward) [0069-0070, fig. 1];
a first current collector plate (electrode lead plate 6) electrically connected to the first uncoated portion of the electrode assembly [0071, fig. 6];
a first terminal portion (terminal 3) coupled to the can and electrically connected to the first current collector plate [0069, fig. 1].
Makino does not explicitly teach the details of the second terminal portion. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hwangbo teaches an electrode with two uncoated regions (uncoated regions 11 and 12) electrically connected to terminals (cap 30/can 20 and terminal 40) through current collectors [0031, 0099, 0161-0166, 0182, 0194, fig. 5-7, fig. 13]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the second uncoated portion and second terminal portion of Hwangbo with the battery of Makino for the benefit of a second terminal portion that allows for increased space efficiency and energy density [Hwangbo 0126].
Makino does not teach a portion of the first current collector plate and a portion of the can contact one another. However, in the same field of endeavor, McKinney teaches a current collector with extensions with folds in contact with a can [0118]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the current collector extensions in contact with a can with the battery of Makino for the benefit of maximizing electrical contact [McKinney 0118].
With regard to claim 2, Makino teaches the terminal portion includes a cap-up (raised area of terminal 3), the can further includes a can curling portion (curved edge of can 2) provided in an inward direction, and the first current collector plate further includes a current collector curling portion (protrusion 6a wrapping around terminal 3) provided in an inward direction between the can curling portion and the cap up [0069-0072, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 3, Makino teaches the curling portion (protrusion 6a wrapping around terminal 3) covers a bottom, side, and upper surface of the cap up (covers 3 sides of terminal 3 as seen in fig. 1) [0069-0072, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 4, Makino teaches the curling portion (protrusion 6a wrapping around terminal 3) is exposed to the outside of the can and the cap-up (as seen in fig. 1) [0069-0072, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 5, Makino teaches the cap-up (raised area of terminal 3) may include a vent notch [0004, 0022, 0077] but does not explicitly teach it is located on the bottom surface. However, this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would perform the same function of rupturing to release pressure and only require a rearrangement of parts. See MPEP 2144.04 VI.
With regard to claim 6, Makino teaches positive and negative terminals [0002] therefore the first terminal would necessarily be positive or negative.
With regard to claim 7, Makino teaches the terminal portion includes a cap-up (raised area of terminal 3), the cap up further includes a cap up seaming portion provided in an outward direction (inner surfaces in contact with protrusion 6a), the can further includes a can seaming portion (end side 2a) provided in an outward direction of an end portion (upper end of can 2), and the first current collector plate further includes a current collector plate seaming portion (protrusion 6a wrapping around terminal 3) provided in an outward direction between the cap up seaming portion and the can seaming portion [0069-0072, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 8, Makino teaches the current collector plate seaming portion (protrusion 6a wrapping around terminal 3) covers an inner (lower), side (inner sidewall), and outer (upper) surface of the can seaming portion (end side 2a) [0069-0072, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 9, Makino teaches the cap up seaming portion (inner surfaces of terminal 3 in contact with protrusion 6a) covers an inner (lower interior wall), side (sidewall), and outer (upper interior wall) of the current collector plate seaming portion (protrusion 6a wrapping around terminal 3) [0069-0072, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 10, Makino teaches the cap-up (raised area of terminal 3) may include a vent notch [0004, 0022, 0077] but does not explicitly teach it is located on the bottom surface. However, this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would perform the same function of rupturing to release pressure and only require a rearrangement of parts. See MPEP 2144.04 VI.
With regard to claims 11-12, Makino does not explicitly teach the details of the second terminal portion. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hwangbo teaches an electrode with an uncoated region (uncoated regions 11) electrically connected to a terminal (terminal 40) including a pillar portion (terminal insert portion 42) extending from a current collector (60) with an area corresponding to the uncoated region (as seen in fig. 7) and penetrating the can, and a terminal surface (terminal exposing portion 41) extending from the pillar portion and located outside the can [0031, 0099, 0161-0166, 0182, 0194-0195, fig. 5-7, fig. 13]. Hwangbo further teaches an insulating portion (gasket 50) between the terminal portion and can (claim 12) [0161, fig. 7]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the second uncoated portion and second terminal portion of Hwangbo with the battery of Makino for the benefit of a second terminal portion that allows for increased space efficiency and energy density [Hwangbo 0126].
With regard to claim 13, Makino teaches positive and negative terminals [0002] therefore the second terminal would necessarily be positive or negative.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724