DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 7/28/2026, with respect to the rejection of amended claims 1-2 and 12-13 in view of Cheon and the rejection of amended claims 1-2 in view of Ou have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejection of claims 1-2 and 12-13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments are presented on page 12 that the claimed structure would display unexpectedly better results. These arguments are not found persuasive due to the fact that Min teaches optimizing dimensions to ensure sealing properties and mechanical rigidity [0123, 0132-0134]. Therefore the results of improved reliability and sealing would not be unexpected in view of the teachings of Min.
The arguments are presented on pages 12-13 that Min, Kim, and Fang would not teach the amened claim limitation regarding the plug-in protrusion. These arguments are not found persuasive due to the fact that the gasket of Min would read on the claimed structure when separated into upper and lower components as detailed in the claim rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 15-16, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou (CN-207134386-U, hereafter Ou) in view of Min et al. (US 2022/0271405 A1, hereafter Min).
With regard to claims 1 and 24, Ou teaches a battery comprising:
a battery cell (electric core 400) [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1]; and
an electric connection element (second connecting part 330) placed above the battery cell and electrically connected to the battery cell, wherein the electric connection element is provided with an annular protrusion portion (second connecting part 330 protruding above first collector body 320) so that a release space (cavity 130) is defined between the annular protrusion portion and the battery cell [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4].
Ou does not explicitly teach the details of the terminal pole post. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches the use of an electrode terminal (50) with a pole post and lower plastic element (inner surface 54b of gasket) made of plastic (polymers including polyethylene) sleeved on and supported by an outer periphery of the terminal pole post (central post of terminal 50) and supported by [0117-0121, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123].
Ou teaches the electric connection element (second connecting part 330) is recessed towards a direction away from the battery cell (radially outward) to form the annular protrusion portion so that the release space (cavity 130) is defined between the annular protrusion portion and the battery cell [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou further teaches a housing (housing 100) wherein the battery cell (electric core 400) and electric connection element are disposed inside the housing and a top cover (cover body 220) and sealing ring (sealing device 500) are disposed on the housing [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou does not teach the details of the terminal pole post or lower plastic element. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches the use of an electrode terminal (50) that passes through a through hole in a cover (opening in bottom 52) with a pole post and lower plastic element (inner surface 54b of gasket) made of plastic (polymers including polyethylene) sleeved on and supported by an outer periphery of the terminal pole post (central post of terminal 50) [0117-0121, fig. 5-6a]. Min further teaches a sealing ring (central area of gasket 54 between inner surface 54b and outer surface 54a) sleeved on the terminal pole post and which would be sandwiched among the terminal pole post, peripheral wall of the though hole, lower plastic element (inner surface 54b) and an inner wall of the top cover [0149, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123].
Ou teaches the electric connection element (second connecting part 330) is recessed towards a direction away from the battery cell (radially outward) to form the annular protrusion portion so that the release space (cavity 130) is defined between the annular protrusion portion and the battery cell [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou further teaches a housing (housing 100) wherein the battery cell (electric core 400) and electric connection element are disposed inside the housing and a top cover (cover body 220) and sealing ring (sealing device 500) are disposed on the housing [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou does not teach the details of the terminal pole post or upper plastic element. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches the use of an electrode terminal (50) that passes through a through hole in a cover (opening in bottom 52) with a pole post and upper plastic element (outer surface 54a of gasket) made of plastic (polymers including polyethylene) disposed outside of the top cover (which would be above when combined with Ou) wherein the terminal pole post is capable of passing through the upper plastic element (as seen in fig. 5-6a) and being bent and flanged (outer flange portion 50b) outward to abut against the upper plastic element [0117-0121, 0140, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123]. The upper plastic element of Min would not have an element corresponding to the claimed annular plug-in protrusion or an accommodating slot and second through hole. However, this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would only require making the upper and lower portions of the upper and lower portions of the gasket of Min separable. See MPEP 2144.04 V. When separated the lower central portion of the upper surface 54a would be sandwiched between the terminal pole post and inner peripheral wall and in contact with the sealing ring and first and second through holes would be formed that are in contact with the terminal pole post (claim 24) as detailed in the annotated figure below [0117- 0121, 0140, fig. 5-6a].
With regard to claim 2, Ou teaches the electric connection element (second connecting part 330) is recessed towards a direction away from the battery cell (radially outward) to form the annular protrusion portion so that the release space (cavity 130) is defined between the annular protrusion portion and the battery cell [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4].
With regard to claim 3, Ou teaches a cover (cover 220 including raised central portion) in contact with and supported by the annular protrusion portion of the electric connection element (second connecting part 330 protruding above first collector body 320) [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4] but does not explicitly teach the details of the terminal pole post or lower plastic element. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches the use of an electrode terminal (50) with a pole post and lower plastic element (inner surface 54b of gasket) made of plastic (polymers including polyethylene) sleeved on and supported by an outer periphery of the terminal pole post (central post of terminal 50) and supported by [0117-0121, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123].
With regard to claims 5-6, Ou teaches a cover (cover 220 including raised central portion) in contact with and supported by the annular protrusion portion of the electric connection element (second connecting part 330 protruding above first collector body 320) [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4] but does not explicitly teach the details of the terminal pole post or lower plastic element. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches the use of an electrode terminal (50) with a pole post comprising a pole post portion (body portion 50a) and pole plate portion (outer flange 50b, claim 6) and lower plastic element (inner surface 54b of gasket) sleeved on and supported by an outer periphery of the terminal pole post (central post of terminal 50) [0117-0121, fig. 5-6a]. Min further teaches an annular avoidance groove (central groove around terminal 50) lap-jointed (overlapping grooves in the vertical direction) on the pole plate portion (claim 6) and teaches the lower plastic element is horizontally placed on the terminal pole post (overlaps in a vertical direction) [0117-0121, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123]. When combined with Ou the lower plastic element (surface 52b of gasket) of Min would be horizontally placed on the annular protrusion portion (second connecting part 330 protruding above first collector body 320) [Ou pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4] since the structure supports the cover/terminal of Ou.
With regard to claim 7, Ou teaches the electric connection element (second connecting part 330) is recessed towards a direction away from the battery cell (radially outward) to form the annular protrusion portion so that the release space (cavity 130) is defined between the annular protrusion portion and the battery cell [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou further teaches a housing (housing 100) wherein the battery cell (electric core 400) and electric connection element are disposed inside the housing and a top cover (cover body 220) and sealing ring (sealing device 500) are disposed on the housing [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou does not teach the details of the terminal pole post or lower plastic element. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches the use of an electrode terminal (50) that passes through a through hole in a cover (opening in bottom 52) with a pole post and lower plastic element (inner surface 54b of gasket) made of plastic (polymers including polyethylene) sleeved on and supported by an outer periphery of the terminal pole post (central post of terminal 50) [0117-0121, fig. 5-6a]. Min further teaches a sealing ring (central area of gasket 54 between inner surface 54b and outer surface 54a) sleeved on the terminal pole post and which would be sandwiched among the terminal pole post, peripheral wall of the though hole, lower plastic element (inner surface 54b) and an inner wall of the top cover [0149, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123].
With regards to claims 8-9, Ou teaches a cover (cover 220 including raised central portion) in contact with and supported by the annular protrusion portion of the electric connection element (second connecting part 330 protruding above first collector body 320) [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4] but does not explicitly teach the details of the terminal pole post or lower plastic element. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches a terminal pole post with a first positioning protrusion (inner flange portion 50c) and a sealing ring provided with a first positioning groove recessed toward an inner wall of a top cover (part of gasket 54 with recess corresponding to inner flange portion 50c) [0117-0121, 0140, 0149, fig. 5-6a]. Min further teaches the inner wall of the top cover is provided with a second positioning protrusion (inner end of bottom 52) formed at a side of the sealing ring toward the inner wall (outside central portion of gasket 54) and a second positioning groove (central groove of gasket 544 corresponding to inner end of 52) [0117-0121, 0140, 0149, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123].
With regard to claim 10, Ou teaches the electric connection element (second connecting part 330) is recessed towards a direction away from the battery cell (radially outward) to form the annular protrusion portion so that the release space (cavity 130) is defined between the annular protrusion portion and the battery cell [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou further teaches a housing (housing 100) wherein the battery cell (electric core 400) and electric connection element are disposed inside the housing and a top cover (cover body 220) and sealing ring (sealing device 500) are disposed on the housing [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou does not teach the details of the terminal pole post or upper plastic element. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches the use of an electrode terminal (50) that passes through a through hole in a cover (opening in bottom 52) with a pole post and upper plastic element (outer surface 54a of gasket) made of plastic (polymers including polyethylene) disposed outside of the top cover (which would be above when combined with Ou) wherein the terminal pole post is capable of passing through the upper plastic element (as seen in fig. 5-6a) and being bent and flanged (outer flange portion 50b) outward to abut against the upper plastic element [0117-0121, 0140, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123].
With regard to claim 15, Ou teaches the electric connection element (second connecting part 330) is recessed towards a direction away from the battery cell (radially outward) to form the annular protrusion portion so that the release space (cavity 130) is defined between the annular protrusion portion and the battery cell [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou further teaches a housing (housing 100) wherein the battery cell (electric core 400) and electric connection element are disposed inside the housing and a top cover (cover body 220) and sealing ring (sealing device 500) are disposed on the housing [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou does not teach the details of the terminal pole post or lower plastic element. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches the use of an electrode terminal (50) that passes through a through hole in a cover (opening in bottom 52) with a pole post and lower plastic element (inner surface 54b of gasket) made of plastic (polymers including polyethylene) sleeved on and supported by an outer periphery of the terminal pole post (central post of terminal 50) [0117-0121, fig. 5-6a]. Min further teaches a sealing ring (central area of gasket 54 between inner surface 54b and outer surface 54a) sleeved on the terminal pole post and which would be sandwiched among the terminal pole post, peripheral wall of the though hole, lower plastic element (inner surface 54b) and an inner wall of the top cover [0149, fig. 5-6a]. Min further teaches a sealing ring (central area of gasket 54 between inner surface 54b and outer surface 54a) sleeved on the terminal pole post and which would be sandwiched among the terminal pole post, peripheral wall of the though hole, lower plastic element (inner surface 54b) and an inner wall of the top cover [0149, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123].
With regard to claim 16, Ou teaches the electric connection element (second connecting part 330) is recessed towards a direction away from the battery cell (radially outward) to form the annular protrusion portion so that the release space (cavity 130) is defined between the annular protrusion portion and the battery cell [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou further teaches a housing (housing 100) wherein the battery cell (electric core 400) and electric connection element are disposed inside the housing and a top cover (cover body 220) and sealing ring (sealing device 500) are disposed on the housing [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou does not teach the details of the terminal pole post or lower plastic element. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches the use of an electrode terminal (50) with a pole post comprising a pole post portion (body portion 50a) and pole plate portion (outer flange 50b) that passes through a through hole in a cover (opening in bottom 52) with a pole post and lower plastic element (inner surface 54b of gasket) made of plastic (polymers including polyethylene) sleeved on and supported by an outer periphery of the terminal pole post (central post of terminal 50) [0117-0121, fig. 5-6a]. Min further teaches a sealing ring (central area of gasket 54 between inner surface 54b and outer surface 54a) sleeved on the terminal pole post and which would be sandwiched among the terminal pole post, peripheral wall of the though hole, lower plastic element (inner surface 54b) and an inner wall of the top cover [0149, fig. 5-6a]. Min further teaches a sealing ring (central area of gasket 54 between inner surface 54b and outer surface 54a) sleeved on the terminal pole post and which would be sandwiched among the terminal pole post, peripheral wall of the though hole, lower plastic element (inner surface 54b) and an inner wall of the top cover [0149, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123].
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou and Min as applied to claims 1-3, 5-10 and 15-16 above and further in view of Fang (US 2022/0149421 A1, hereafter Fang).
With regard to claim 4, modified Ou does not teach a connection slot or plug-in protrusion. However, in the same field of endeavor, Fang teaches the use of a terminal with a connection slot (groove 182) and an electric connection element (collector 140) with a corresponding plug in protrusion (protrusion 181) that is inserted into the connection slot [0089]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the protrusion and slot of Fang with the terminal and electric connection element of modified Ou for the benefit of facilitating the welding of the components [Fang 0089].
With regard to claim 14, Ou teaches the electric connection element (second connecting part 330) is recessed towards a direction away from the battery cell (radially outward) to form the annular protrusion portion so that the release space (cavity 130) is defined between the annular protrusion portion and the battery cell [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou further teaches a housing (housing 100) wherein the battery cell (electric core 400) and electric connection element are disposed inside the housing and a top cover (cover body 220) and sealing ring (sealing device 500) are disposed on the housing [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou does not teach the details of the terminal pole post or lower plastic element. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches the use of an electrode terminal (50) that passes through a through hole in a cover (opening in bottom 52) with a pole post and lower plastic element (inner surface 54b of gasket) made of plastic (polymers including polyethylene) sleeved on and supported by an outer periphery of the terminal pole post (central post of terminal 50) [0117-0121, fig. 5-6a]. Min further teaches a sealing ring (central area of gasket 54 between inner surface 54b and outer surface 54a) sleeved on the terminal pole post and which would be sandwiched among the terminal pole post, peripheral wall of the though hole, lower plastic element (inner surface 54b) and an inner wall of the top cover [0149, fig. 5-6a]. Min further teaches a sealing ring (central area of gasket 54 between inner surface 54b and outer surface 54a) sleeved on the terminal pole post and which would be sandwiched among the terminal pole post, peripheral wall of the though hole, lower plastic element (inner surface 54b) and an inner wall of the top cover [0149, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123].
Modified Ou does not teach a connection slot or plug-in protrusion. However, in the same field of endeavor, Fang teaches the use of a terminal with a connection slot (groove 182) and an electric connection element (collector 140) with a corresponding plug in protrusion (protrusion 181) that is inserted into the connection slot [0089]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the protrusion and slot of Fang with the terminal and electric connection element of modified Ou for the benefit of facilitating the welding of the components [Fang 0089].
Claim(s) 11-13, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou and Min as applied to claims 1-3, 5-10 and 15-16 above and further in view of Kim (US 2010/0227212 A1, hereafter Kim).
With regard to claim 11, modified Ou does not explicitly teach an additional protrusion and corresponding groove on the lower surface of the plastic element and top cover. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches the use of a protrusion on a top cover (cap plate) and corresponding groove on a lower surface of an insulator [0009]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the groove and protrusion of Kim with the plastic element and top cover of modified Ou for the benefit of preventing misalignment during assembly [Kim 0009].
With regard to claims 12-13, Ou teaches a battery cell (electric core 400) [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1]; and
an electric connection element (second connecting part 330) placed above the battery cell and electrically connected to the battery cell, wherein the electric connection element is provided with an annular protrusion portion (second connecting part 330 protruding above first collector body 320) so that a release space (cavity 130) is defined between the annular protrusion portion and the battery cell [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4].
Ou does not explicitly teach the details of the terminal pole post. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches the use of an electrode terminal (50) with a pole post and lower plastic element (inner surface 54b of gasket) made of plastic (polymers including polyethylene) sleeved on and supported by an outer periphery of the terminal pole post (central post of terminal 50) and supported by [0117-0121, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123].
Ou teaches the electric connection element (second connecting part 330) is recessed towards a direction away from the battery cell (radially outward) to form the annular protrusion portion so that the release space (cavity 130) is defined between the annular protrusion portion and the battery cell [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou further teaches a housing (housing 100) wherein the battery cell (electric core 400) and electric connection element are disposed inside the housing and a top cover (cover body 220) and sealing ring (sealing device 500) are disposed on the housing [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou does not teach the details of the terminal pole post or lower plastic element. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches the use of an electrode terminal (50) that passes through a through hole in a cover (opening in bottom 52) with a pole post and lower plastic element (inner surface 54b of gasket) made of plastic (polymers including polyethylene) sleeved on and supported by an outer periphery of the terminal pole post (central post of terminal 50) [0117-0121, fig. 5-6a]. Min further teaches a sealing ring (central area of gasket 54 between inner surface 54b and outer surface 54a) sleeved on the terminal pole post and which would be sandwiched among the terminal pole post, peripheral wall of the though hole, lower plastic element (inner surface 54b) and an inner wall of the top cover [0149, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123].
Ou teaches the electric connection element (second connecting part 330) is recessed towards a direction away from the battery cell (radially outward) to form the annular protrusion portion so that the release space (cavity 130) is defined between the annular protrusion portion and the battery cell [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou further teaches a housing (housing 100) wherein the battery cell (electric core 400) and electric connection element are disposed inside the housing and a top cover (cover body 220) and sealing ring (sealing device 500) are disposed on the housing [pg. 3 paragraph 7, fig. 1-4]. Ou does not teach the details of the terminal pole post or upper plastic element. However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches the use of an electrode terminal (50) that passes through a through hole in a cover (opening in bottom 52) with a pole post and upper plastic element (outer surface 54a of gasket) made of plastic (polymers including polyethylene) disposed outside of the top cover (which would be above when combined with Ou) wherein the terminal pole post is capable of passing through the upper plastic element (as seen in fig. 5-6a) and being bent and flanged (outer flange portion 50b) outward to abut against the upper plastic element [0117-0121, 0140, fig. 5-6a]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal and plastic element arrangement of Min with the battery of Ou for the benefit of a terminal that is easy to rivet and has low resistance and a sealing material with insulation and elasticity [0119-0120, 0123]. The upper plastic element of Min would not have an element corresponding to the claimed annular plug-in protrusion. However, this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would only require making the upper and lower portions of the upper and lower portions of the gasket of Min separable. See MPEP 2144.04 V. When separated the lower central portion of the upper surface 54a would be sandwiched between the terminal pole post and inner peripheral wall and in contact with the sealing ring as detailed in the annotated figure above [0117- 0121, 0140, fig. 5-6a].
Modified Ou does not teach a battery module or group of battery modules, however in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches the use of battery modules that may be used in groups to form power supplies [0004]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the group module arrangement of Kim with the battery of Ou for the benefit of being able to supply high voltage power to components including motors [Kim 0004].
With regard to claim 22, modified Ou does not explicitly teach an additional protrusion and corresponding groove on the lower surface of the plastic element and top cover. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches the use of a protrusion on a top cover (cap plate) and corresponding groove on a lower surface of an insulator [0009]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the groove and protrusion of Kim with the plastic element and top cover of modified Ou for the benefit of preventing misalignment during assembly [Kim 0009]. When combined with modified Ou, there would be a groove (corner of outer surface 54a of gasket located above plug-in protrusion as seen in annotated figure 6b above) [Min 0149, fig. 5-6a] located between the third positioning protrusion and the annular plug in protrusion and a portion of the top cover of the housing is inserted into the groove.
With regard to claim 23, modified Ou does not explicitly teach an additional protrusion and corresponding groove on the lower surface of the plastic element and top cover. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches the use of a protrusion on a top cover (cap plate) and corresponding groove on a lower surface of an insulator [0009]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the groove and protrusion of Kim with the plastic element and top cover of modified Ou for the benefit of preventing misalignment during assembly [Kim 0009]. Kim does not explicitly teach a plurality of third positioning protrusions, however this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would only require a duplication of parts. See MPEP 2144.04 VI.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724