DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 104-106) in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged.
The restriction requirement is made Final.
Claims 84-110 are currently pending.
Claims 84-103 and 107-110 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/30/2025.
Claims 104-106 have been examined on their merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 104 and 105 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 104 recites the abbreviation HUVEC and claim 105 recites the abbreviation DMSO.
An abbreviation should be preceded in its first occurrence by the specific identity of the entity which said abbreviation is intended to represent. Thereafter, the use of the abbreviation in the claims will be understood.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 104-106 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginsberg et al (US 2017/0360988) in view of Shao, Yi (WO 2015/062267 A1, using a machine translation).
Regarding claims 104-106, Ginsberg disclose a therapeutic composition comprising E4ORF1+ HUVEC cells together with a carrier solution such as a physiological saline solution, cell suspension medium, cell culture medium, or the like, including those suitable for therapeutic administration (page 1 para 4, page 7 para 54, para 56). These cells may be cryopreserved as well (page 8 para 63). Kits comprising the therapeutic composition are also suggested (page 9 para 69).
Ginsberg do not specifically disclose wherein the carrier solution contains dextran 40, human serum albumin, and DMSO or the concentration of the cells to be combined with the carrier solution.
Shao disclose a stock solution for cryopreserving human cells (abstract). In some embodiments the solution contains dextran 40, human serum albumin, physiological saline and DMSO (page 2 of the machine translation). The cells listed for use with the solution are indicated as not being limited to a specific cell type, and can include human cell lines (page 2). The cells are added to the solution at a concentration of 0.5 x 107 cells/ml to 2.5 x 107 cells/ml (page 2) which overlaps with Applicant’s claimed range.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the stock solution for cryopreservation of Shao with the cells of Ginsberg because Shao indicate that their stock solution is suitable and beneficial to use with human cell lines intended for therapeutic use. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Ginsberg teach that their cells can be combined with carrier solutions known in the art, such as those containing physiological saline, as long as they are suitable for use in a therapeutic composition and Shao indicate that the cell type used with their solution is not limited and can be used with human cell lines.
The cell concentration range disclosed by Shao overlaps and includes the claimed cell concentration range and thus renders it obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05)
The inclusion of the kit with the therapeutic cell and stock solution would have been obvious because Ginsberg teach and suggest that this is a suitable option. Sterile packaging would be obvious to avoid contamination of the cell product which is intended for therapeutic use. The instructions for administering the therapeutic composition to a subject are not given patentable weight as nonfunctional printed matter does not distinguish a claimed product (see MPEP 2112.01 (III)).
Therefore, the combined teachings of Ginsberg et al and Shao render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 104-106 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 70-88 of copending Application No. 18/041080 in view of Ginsberg et al (US 2017/0360988) and Shao, Yi (WO 2015/062267 A1, using a machine translation).
The claims of the copending application include compositions containing E4ORF1+ endothelial cells, such as HUVECs, and further include human serum albumin and DMSO. The copending claims do not all include a density of about 5 million cells/ml, physiological saline, dextran 40, and sterile packaging in a kit.
Ginsberg disclose a therapeutic composition comprising E4ORF1+ HUVEC cells together with a carrier solution such as a physiological saline solution, cell suspension medium, cell culture medium, or the like, including those suitable for therapeutic administration (page 1 para 4, page 7 para 54, para 56). These cells may be cryopreserved as well (page 8 para 63). Kits comprising the therapeutic composition are also suggested (page 9 para 69).
Shao disclose a stock solution for cryopreserving human cells (abstract). In some embodiments the solution contains dextran 40, human serum albumin, physiological saline and DMSO (page 2 of the machine translation). The cells listed for use with the solution are indicated as not being limited to a specific cell type, and can include human cell lines (page 2). The cells are added to the solution at a concentration of 0.5 x 107 cells/ml to 2.5 x 107 cells/ml (page 2) which overlaps with Applicant’s claimed range.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the stock solution for cryopreservation of Shao with the cells of the copending claims because Shao indicate that their stock solution is suitable and beneficial to use with human cell lines intended for therapeutic use. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Ginsberg teach that endothelial cells, such as HUVEC, can be combined with carrier solutions known in the art, such as those containing physiological saline, as long as they are suitable for use in a therapeutic composition and Shao indicate that the cell type used with their solution is not limited and can be used with human cell lines.
The cell concentration range disclosed by Shao overlaps and includes the claimed cell concentration range and thus renders it obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05)
With regard to the concentrations of HUVECs in the composition, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
The selection of specific concentrations clearly would have been a routine matter of optimization and experimentation on the part of the artisan of ordinary skill, said artisan recognizing that the amount and viability of the cells would have been affected by these concentrations.
The inclusion of the kit with the HUVEC cell and stock solution would have been obvious because Ginsberg teach and suggest that this is a suitable option. Sterile packaging would be obvious to avoid contamination of the cell product which is intended for therapeutic use. The instructions for administering the therapeutic composition to a subject are not given patentable weight as nonfunctional printed matter does not distinguish a claimed product (see MPEP 2112.01 (III)).
Therefore, the combined teachings of the copending claims, Ginsberg et al and Shao render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Slepushkin et al., “Autologous T cell Manufacturing Processes”, US 2008/0274091
LAURA J. SCHUBERG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631