DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on April 2, 2021.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on December 22, 2022.
Claims 1 – 18 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on December 22, 2022 have been considered. A signed copy of the corresponding 1449 form has been included with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6, 7, and 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3, 6, 7, and 15, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For examination purposes, the claims are interpreted as not being limited to the options after the “preferably” phrase.
Claims 16 – 18 are rejected as being dependent on claim 15.
Claims 13 and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1 defines Ar1 as being selected from the group consisting of formula I, formula II and formula III
, where
. It is clear that the chemical bond of Ar1 to L1 in formula 1 is via one of the atoms of the condensed ring system. Claim 13 defines Ar1 as being selected from
in which the bonding of Ar1 to L1 in formula 1 is via an R group. This is seen as outside the scope of formula I, formula II and formula III in claim 1 and therefore claim 13 is interpreted as failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Several of the compounds in claim 14, including at least compounds 409 – 411 contain these groups and are seen as being outside the scope of claim 1 for the same reasons.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US20230111469A1).
As per claims 1 – 12 and 14, Park teaches:
An organic compound with a structure shown in formula 1
(Park teaches compound P20-33
, which reads on the claimed formula wherein Ar1 is selected from a group of formula III
, wherein X is selected from C(R1R2) where R1 and R2 are each an alkyl with 1 carbon atoms, namely a methyl group as required by claim 10 so that the whole Ar1 group is represented by
in claim 12; n10 and n11 are 0 so that R10 and R11 do not exist; Ar2 is selected from the group consisting of a substituted aryl with 6 carbon atoms, namely a substituted phenyl as required by claim 7 and a substituted W group of
in claim 8, wherein the substituent is an aryl with 6 carbon atoms, so that the whole Ar2 group is represented by
in claim 9; L1 and L2 are a single bond. Compound P20-33 is the same as claimed compound 4
in claim 14.)
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sakamoto (US20230012692A1).
As per claims 1 – 12, Sakamoto teaches:
An organic compound with a structure shown in formula 1
(Sakamoto teaches compound 135
, which reads on the claimed formula wherein Ar1 is selected from a group of formula I
wherein X is O, namely a group of
in claim 12; n6 and n7 are both 0 so that R6 and R7 do not exist; Ar2 is an unsubstituted aryl with 10 carbons atoms, namely a naphthyl group as required by claim 7,
in claim 8, and
in claim 9; L1 is a direct bond and L2 is an unsubstituted arylene with 10 carbon atoms, namely a naphthylene group as required by claim 3,
in claim 4, and
in claim 5.)
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US20230111469A1) as applied to claims 1 – 12 and 14 above.
As per claims 15 – 18, Park does not specifically teach the use of compound P22-33 in a device. Park teaches:
An electronic component comprising an anode, a cathode, and a functional layer arranged between the anode and the cathode, wherein the functional layer arranged between the anode and the cathode, wherein the functional layer comprises the organic compound and the electronic component is an organic light-emitting device ([0047]: “Herein, the organic electronic device may refer to one or more compounds between an anode and a cathode, or an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) including the anode, the cathode, and the one or more compounds positioned between the anode and the cathode.” As an organic light-emitting diode is an electronic device, Park teaches the limitations of claims 17 and 18.)
Park teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Park as Park demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto (US20230012692A1) as applied to claims 1 – 12 above.
As per claims 15 – 18, Sakamoto does not specifically teach the use of compound 135 in a device. Sakamoto teaches:
An electronic component comprising an anode, a cathode, and a functional layer arranged between the anode and the cathode, wherein the functional layer arranged between the anode and the cathode, wherein the functional layer comprises the organic compound and the electronic component is an organic light-emitting device (Abstract: “A light emitting device includes a first electrode, a second electrode disposed on the first electrode, and at least one functional layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode. The at least one functional layer includes an amine compound represented by Formula 1.” As an organic light-emitting device is an electronic device, Sakamoto teaches the limitations of claims 17 and 18.)
Sakamoto teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Sakamoto as Sakamoto demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 – 12, and 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uno (US20220416174A1).
As per claims 1 – 12, Uno teaches:
An organic compound with a structure shown in formula 1
(Uno teaches compounds of Formula 1
, where one of A1 to A10 is represented by Formula 2-1
, wherein Ar1-1 is represented by Formula 3-1
([0006 – 0010]). A specific compound taught by Uno is compound A83
, which does not contain the phenyl substituent on the naphthyl group as required by the claim. However, the definitions for R2 allows for phenyl substituents and compound C151
teaches a phenyl substituent in the claimed 8-position. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly substitute compound A83 in the 8 position with a phenyl group and arrive at a compound of the claimed invention. When modified in this way, the modified compound A83 reads on the claimed Formula wherein Ar1 is selected from a group of formula I
wherein X is O, namely a group of
in claim 12; n6 and n7 are both 0 so that R6 and R7 do not exist; Ar2 is an unsubstituted aryl with 10 carbons atoms, namely a naphthyl group as required by claim 7,
in claim 8, and
in claim 9; L1 and L2 are both a direct bond.)
Uno includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Uno being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of high emission efficiency, absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 15 – 18, Uno teaches:
An electronic component comprising an anode, a cathode, and a functional layer arranged between the anode and the cathode, wherein the functional layer arranged between the anode and the cathode, wherein the functional layer comprises the organic compound and the electronic component is an organic light-emitting device (Abstract: “An organic electroluminescence device includes a first electrode, a hole transport region disposed on the first electrode, an emission layer disposed on the hole transport region, an electron transport region disposed on the emission layer, and a second electrode disposed on the electron transport region, wherein the hole transport region includes a polycyclic compound represented by Formula 1, and the device shows high emission efficiency” As an organic light-emitting device is an electronic device, Uno teaches the limitations of claims 17 and 18.)
Uno teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Uno as Uno demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 – 11, 13, and 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park 2 (US20240018104A1).
As per claims 1 – 11, and 13, Park 2 teaches:
An organic compound with a structure shown in formula 1
(Park 2 teaches compounds represented by Formula 1
([0021]). A specific compound taught by Park 2 is compound P-11
, which does not contain the benzonaphthocarbazole group claimed. However, the definitions in Formula 1 allow for extended condensed ring systems off of the carbazole group and Park 2 teaches compounds including P-52
which contains the condensed benzonaphthyl carbazole group. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound P-11 to extended the ring system of the carbazole group to make a naphtho group and arrive at the claimed invention. When modified in this way, the compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein Ar1 is selected from the group of formula III
, wherein X is selected from N(R3) and R3 is an aryl with 6 carbon atoms, namely a phenyl group as required by claim 10 so that the group is represented by
in claim 13; n10 and n11 are 0 so that R10 and R11 do not exist; Ar2 is a substituted aryl with 10 carbon atoms, wherein the substituent is an aryl with 6 carbon atoms, namely a substituted naphthyl group as required by claim 7, represented by
in claim 8 and
in claim 9; L1 and L2 are an unsubstituted arylene with 6 carbon atoms, namely a phenylene as required by claim 3, represented by
in claim 4 and
in claim 5.
Park 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Park 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of a compound capable of improving the light-emitting efficiency, stability and lifespan of an element (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 15 – 18, Park 2 teaches:
An electronic component comprising an anode, a cathode, and a functional layer arranged between the anode and the cathode, wherein the functional layer arranged between the anode and the cathode, wherein the functional layer comprises the organic compound and the electronic component is an organic light-emitting device ([0088]: “Also, the present invention provides an organic electronic element comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic material layer formed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic material layer comprises a hole transport layer; an emitting layer; and an emitting auxiliary layer formed between the hole transport layer and the emitting layer; wherein the emitting auxiliary layer comprises the compound represented by Formula 1.” As an organic light-emitting diode is an electronic device, Park 2 teaches the limitations of claims 17 and 18.)
Park 2 teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Park 2 as Park 2 demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US20230172066A1 and US20230013038A1 teach amine-based compounds that could be used in a rejection against the claims as currently presented. The ‘006 and ‘038 references are eligible as prior art under 102(a)(2) and Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789