Response to Amendment
This is a final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 12/26/2022. Claims 1 – 11 are amended. Claims 12 – 20 remain withdrawn. Claims 1 – 11 are pending in the current Office action.
The 35 US.C.S 103 rejections set forth in the previous Office action are withdrawn. A new grounds of rejection, necessitated by applicant amendment {i.e. the limitations regarding the tray flange and are new limitations that were not previously considered}, are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of prior art being used in the current rejection. Specifically, in the new grounds of rejection below, the previously cited prior art is further modified by a newly cited reference: Ma (CN111430608A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2 and 4 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN210123787U, cited in previous O.A. mailed 12/22/2025) in view of Ren (US PG Pub. 2022/0123427 A1, cited in previous O.A. mailed 12/22/2025), You (US PG Pub. 2021/0249731 A1, cited in previous O.A. mailed 12/22/2025) and Ma (CN111430608A, machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhao discloses a battery module (battery pack; Fig. 1; [0047]), comprising a case (Fig. 1, 10; [0047]), wherein at least one exhaust port is defined in the case body (vent valves; Fig. 1, 30; [0047 – 0049]).
Zhao teaches the housing including multiple mounting grooves/slots 112 ([Figs. 2 – 3; [0048 – 0049]). Each mounting grove in Zhao is taught to include at least one vent valve 30 and serves to hold the battery cell assemblies 20 (Figs. 2 – 3; [0048 – 0049];[0068 – 0069]). Zhao further teaches forming in a heat dissipation channel in the hollow side beams and lower portion of the housing so that gas can be discharged by an explosion proof valve 40 (Figs. 6 – 8; [0056 – 0057]).
Zhao does not explicitly disclose the battery module comprising at least one tray.
Ren teaches a power battery pack including several inlet vents 31 and at least one exhaust port 40 (Figs. 2 or Figs. 5 – 7; [0047 – 0050]). Ren further teaches including a gasket in between the battery cells and the bottom surface of the power battery pack tray body for the purpose of forming a seal around the inlet vents so that flame, smoke, or gas leaking from the battery cells is prevented from leaking into the battery accommodating space ([0049]). In one embodiment, Ren teaches providing the inlet vents 31 and exhaust ports 40 the on base plate 10 of the tray and configuring the battery cells such that the battery cell anti-explosion valves align with the inlet vents ([0071 – 0072]). Ren further teaches that having the gas discharge downward is safer and the configuration of the inlet vents and exhaust port on the base plate of the tray allows for a shorter gas discharge path and thus improved safety performance of the battery pack ([0073 – 0074]). In the embodiment of Figs. 5 – 7, the air passage for discharging gas is formed in the base plate (Fig. 10; [0071]).
Since Zhao is also directed toward a battery pack comprising a means to discharging gas for the purpose of improving the battery pack safety ([0019]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Zhao to include the battery cell and ventilation structure taught by Ren, specifically the embodiment in which the vents and gasket allow for downward discharge, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a battery pack with improved safety and faster discharge capabilities.
Annotated Fig. 3 showing tray mounting cavities in modified Zhao.
By including gasket 300 of Ren in each sub-mounting groove/slot 119 of the battery pack, modified Zhao includes the claimed structure of at least one tray, each of the at least one tray provided with through holes facing the battery cells (Refer to through holes 301 in Figs. 6 – 7 of Ren and Ren; [0072]) and wherein at least one tray mounting cavity is defined in the case body (Refer to indicated cavities annotated Fig. 3 from Zhao above and Refer to how gaskets 300 is housed in separate accommodation cavities in Figs. 6 – 7 of Ren).
In modified Zhao the trays {i.e. gaskets 300} and battery cells are included in the grooves/slots formed by the cross beams (Zhao: Fig. 2; [0047];[0051 – 0052] and Ren: Figs. 6- 10; [0071 – 0072]); the battery cells are included on the tray {i.e. gasket 300} (Refer to Ren: Figs. 6- 10; [0071 – 0072]); and the heat dissipation channel is included under the bottom surface of the grooves/slots holding the battery cells and gaskets (Zhao Fig. 8; [0048 – 0049] and Ren: Fig. 10; [0071]); therefore, modified Zhao further includes the claimed structure of wherein each one of the at least one the tray is disposed in one of the as least one tray mounting cavity and divides the one of the at least one tray mounting cavity into a cell accommodating cavity, configured to accommodate battery cells, located above the tray and a pressure relief cavity located below the tray.
Annotated Figs. 3 and 8 showing location of pressure relief cavity, through holes and vent holes in modified Zhao.
Furthermore, because modified Zhao includes the ventilation structure/configuration taught by Ren, the pressure relief cavity of modified Zhao is communicated with the through holes (Refer to through holes 301 of gasket 300 in Ren Figs. 6 – 7) and the at least one exhaust port {i.e. vent valves 30}, respectively, that is in modified Zhao the through holes of the gasket correspond to vent holes included on the bottom surface of the sub-mounting grooves/slots 119, and gas discharged from the cells travels downward into the cavity formed in base plate 113 for discharging the gas through explosion proof valves 40 (Refer to annotated Figs. 3 and 8 from Zhao above; Zhao: [0048 – 0050]; Ren: [0071 – 0073]).
Zhao teaches the housing including sub-mounting grooves/slots 119([Figs. 2 – 3; [0048 – 0049]). In modified Zhao, the tray {i.e. See gasket 300 in Figs. 6 – 7 of Ren} is included on the bottom on the surface the sub-mounting grooves/slots and thus is surrounded by the side plates and beams that form the walls of the sub-mounting grooves/slots 119.
Modified Zhao does not explicitly disclose a first mounting surface surrounding a periphery of one of the at least one tray; and one of the at least one tray comprising a tray body and a tray flange surrounding the tray body, the flange disposed on a side of the tray body away from the pressure relief cavity and a lower surface of the tray flange forming a second mounting surface abutted against the first amounting surface.
You, directed toward battery pack structures, teaches including a restraint assembly 3 in the box of the battery pack and the assembly includes a bottom portion, first restraint member 31, with a flange that secures the restraint assembly onto a top surface of the fixed beams 12 included in the box of the battery pack (Figs. 1 and 5 – 6; [0054 – 0055];[0086 – 0088]). The first restraint member includes a plurality of communication holes 33 for discharging fluids released during thermal runaway ([0064];[0073 – 0074]), as such, the first restraint member in You functions like the claimed tray and the gasket of modified Zhao. The restraint assembly is further taught by You to improve operational safety of the battery pack by isolating the battery modules in the battery pack and ensuring that fluid discharged from one battery module is prevented from entering other restraint assemblies and affecting normal battery modules within the battery pack ([0055];[0057]).
Ma, also directed to battery pack structures, teaches a battery pack including a main case {i.e. frame 1} and a tray that is disposed in the main case and hold the battery cells (Refer to Figs. 1, 13 – 14; [0048 – 0049]). The frame of Mao includes inner side beams that have an upper surface which serve as a mounting surface for the tray, and specifically as the supporting mounting surface for the circumferential flange 26 of the tray ([0053 – 0055]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the tray of modified Zhao be a recessed tray structure including a circumferential flange for mounting, as taught/suggested by You and Ma, because such a modification would be a change in shape with respect to the tray of modified Zhao, that as shown by You and Ma, is known in the art for tray-like battery pack structures, and further as taught by You, would allow for improved operational safety by further isolating the battery cell stacks from one another within the case [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)].
By having a tray structure as taught by You and Ma, the at least one tray of modified Zhou {i.e. See gasket 300 in Figs. 6 – 7 of Ren} comprises a tray body, that is the modified tray would have a recessed main body where the bottom of the body includes the through holes 301 (Refer to 311 in Fig. 6 of You and the recessed main body of tray 2 in Fig. 4 of You), and a tray flange surrounding the tray body (Refer to flange 312 in Fig. 6 of You and 26 in Fig. 4 of Ma) , the tray flange disposed on a side of the tray body away from the pressure relief cavity, that is the flange would be included on an upper side of the tray which is farthest from the bottom of the battery pack which includes the pressure relied cavity in modified Zhao (Also refer to position of flange 312 in Fig. 6 of You and 26 in Fig. 4 of Ma).
Furthermore, in order to mount the modified trays, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form inner/secondary beam structures that protrude from the walls of each sub-mounting grooves/slots 119, as suggested by Ma (Refer to beam structure shown in Fig. 3 and Ma: [0053 – 0055]), because such a modification would be a change in shape with respect the beam structure taught by Zhao that as shown by Ma is a configuration of side beam known in the art to be used as a means for sufficiently attaching the trays in battery pack frames/cases, and as one with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate/recognize, would be a necessary modification in order to mount the modified trays in the case without interfering with the mounting surface available for the upper housing 12 of the battery pack [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)].
Therefore, as established above, modified Zhao would further include the claimed structure of a first mounting surface surrounding a periphery of one of the at least one tray {i.e. the upper surface of the inner/secondary protruding beams structures included on the cross beams/longitudinal beams of modified Zhao} (Refer to beam configuration shown in Ma: Figs. 1 – 3 and [0053 – 0054]) and a lower surface {i.e. underside} of the flange forming a second mounting surface abutted against the first mounting surface (Refer to how tray 2 is mounted on frame 1 in Figs. 1 and 9 of Ma and Ma: [0053 – 0055]).
Annotated Fig. 8 showing corresponding bottom guard plate and side plates in Zhao.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Zhao discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zhao further discloses wherein the case body comprises a bottom guard plate (base plate 113, Fig. 8; [0056]) and a plurality of side plates (side beams 114, Fig. 8; [0056]).
Modified Zhao does not explicitly disclose the bottom guard plate {i.e. base plate 113} having a plurality of side surface; however, as the corresponding bottom guard plate of Zhao is of a square, plate structure having a thicknesses (Refer to Fig. 8), one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the bottom guard plate of modified Zhao to necessarily and inherently have a plurality {i.e. 4} of side surfaces. Further, because Zhao teaches forming the lower housing by arranging the side beams around the base plate, appears to show the base plate and side plates being connected in Fig. 8, and shows 4 side plates, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect, each one of the side surfaces in modified Zhao being connected to one of the side plates.
Zhao’s battery pack further includes a plurality of cross beams (Refer to cross beams 13 in Fig. 3) and a plurality of longitudinal beams (Refer to the two longitudinal beams 14 included in center of the battery pack in Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of cross beams and the plurality of longitudinal beams are crossed to define tray mounting cavities, that is the as shown in Fig. 3, the beams cross to form the sub-mounting grooves/slots 119, which, in modified Zhao include the tray.
Furthermore, in modified Zhao, as established above (Refer to rejection of claim 1), the cross beams, longitudinal beams and side plates, which form the walls of each sub-mounting grooves/slots 119 include protruding inner/secondary beam structures that form the corresponding first mounting surface {i.e. upper surface of the inner/secondary beam portions} of the trays (Refer to beam configuration shown in Ma: Figs. 1 – 3 and Ma: [0053 – 0055]); therefore, top surfaces of ones of the cross beams and top surfaces of ones of the longitudinal beams constitute the first mounting surface.
Regarding Claims 4 – 5, modified Zhao discloses all limitations as set forth above. As established above, the cross beams, longitudinal beams and side plates, which form the walls of each sub-mounting grooves/slots 119 include protruding inner/secondary beam structures that form the corresponding first mounting surface {i.e. upper surface of the inner/secondary beam portions} of the trays (Refer to beam configuration shown in Ma: Figs.1 – 3).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Zhao and Ma showing first cross beam and first longitudinal beam structure of modified Zhao.
As such, in modified Zhao, the longitudinal beams comprise a first longitudinal beam (Refer to annotated Fig. 3 above), the cross beams comprise a first cross beam (Refer to annotated Fig. Fig. 3 above), and the first cross beam is connected to one of the side plates adjacent to the first cross beam (Refer to how the corresponding first cross beam is formed integrally with the side plate as described in annotated Fig. 3 above), and the first longitudinal beam is connected to one of the side plates adjacent to the first longitudinal beam (Refer to how the corresponding first longitudinal beam is formed integrally with the side plate as described in annotated Fig. 3 above) (Claim 4).
Furthermore, by being a protruding inner/secondary beam structures formed on the side plates, the corresponding first cross beams and first longitudinal beam of modified Zhao provides the claimed structure of wherein the first cross beam is formed by a first boss on one of the side plates connected with the first cross beam, the first boss is extended in a first direction parallel to the bottom guard plate from one of two opposite ends of the one of the side plates connected with the first cross beam to another one of the two opposite ends, and the first longitudinal beam is formed by a second boss on one of the side plates connected with the first longitudinal beam (Refer to annotated Fig. 3 above and Ma: Fig. 3, [0052]) (Claim 5).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN210123787U), Ren (US PG Pub. 2022/0123427 A1), You (US PG Pub. 2021/0249731 A) and Ma (CN111430608A), as applied to claims 1 – 2 above, and further in view of Matecki (US 2019/0081298 A1, cited in previous O.A. mailed 12/22/2025).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Zhao discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhao further discloses wherein the at least one tray mounting cavity comprises a plurality of tray mounting cavities (Refer to the plurality of sub-mounting grooves/slots 119 in Fig. 8 of Zhao).
Zhao further teaches including a heat dissipation channel in the battery pack, the channel is connected to the mounting slots/grooves of the battery pack through the vent valves 30 and the explosion proof valves 40 connect the heat dissipation channel to the outside ([0048]). Furthermore, as established above, modified Zhao discharges gas downward into a lower cavity included in the base plate of the housing (Refer to annotated Figs. 3 and 8 below and Ren: Fig. 10).
Annotated Figs. 3 and 8 showing location of pressure relief cavity, through holes and vent holes in modified Zhao.
Based on Fig. 8 of Zhao, the cross beams and longitudinal beams appear spaced apart from the bottom guard plate of the battery pack housing {i.e. refer to bottom-most plate of the lower housing shown in Fig. 8). Furthermore, the cross beams and longitudinal beams are particularly taught to divide the installation space 111, which appears to be spaced apart from the bottom-most plate of the lower housing, into multiple installation slots/grooves 112 (Figs. 5 and 8; [0052]). Therefore, in modified Zhao, in the vertical/height direction, at least a part of the cross beams and at least a part of the longitudinal beams appear spaced apart from the bottom guard plate (Refer to bottom-most plate of the lower housing in Fig. 8).
Modified Zhao does not explicitly disclose; however, having the cross beams and longitudinal beams spaced apart so that the pressure relief cavity in one of the plurality of tray mounting cavities communicate with the pressure relief cavity of another one of the plurality of tray mounting cavities.
Matecki, also directed toward battery modules including cross beams, teaches cross members 48 that are spaced from the floor plate 18 of the case by the depth of depressed features 45 which extend below the cross members for the purpose of communicating, specifically air flow, of adjacent containment areas 22 on neighboring sides of cross members (Figs. 2 and 4 – 5; [0031];[0041];[0043]). Matecki further teaches that the benefit of depressed features 45 (i.e., the depressions in the floor which ensure height-direction spacing of the cross beams from the bottom of the case) is to provide both structural strengthening and air flow improvements ([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pack housing of Zhao, to include, underneath the cross beams and longitudinal beams, depressed features in the bottom-most base plate, as taught by Matecki, and thus spatially separate at least a part of the beams for the purpose of allowing adjacent pressure relief cavities to communicate with each other, with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving structural strengthening and air flow improvements within modified Zhao’s battery pack housing.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN210123787U), Ren (US PG Pub. 2022/0123427 A1), You (US PG Pub. 2021/0249731 A) and Ma (CN111430608A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chu (CN209401662U, cited in previous O.A. mailed 12/22/2025).
Annotated Fig. 8 indicating tray location and bottom guard plate of modified Zhao.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Zhao discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Zhao, the surface of the sub-mounting grooves/slots are included between the tray and bottom guard plate {i.e. bottom-most plate of lower housing} (Refer to annotated Fig. 8 above and rejection of claim 1). The exhaust ports in modified Zhao are also included on the surface of the sub-mounting grooves/slots (Refer to rejection of claim 1 and, as an example of the configuration of exhaust ports in modified Zhao, the position of inlet vents 31 in Fig. 5 of Ren).
Modified Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein a sealing plate mounting cavity and a sealing plate are disposed in the case body and the sealing plate and bottom guard plate are spaced apart from each other to define an exhaust channel that communicates with the at least one exhaust port and the pressure relief cavity of each one of the at least one tray mounting cavity, respectively.
Chu, directed toward a battery module having a casing with an explosion-proof valve and a cavity for collecting discharge from battery cells in the event of thermal runaway, ([72];[77]), teaches including a seal member between the explosion proof-valve of the cells and the bottom of the casing (Fig. 7, [84]). The seal member covers the vent holes of the weakened zone 200 and is configured to open in response to an increase in pressure within the vent ([85 – 86]). Seal members are taught by Chu to prevented unwanted/external materials from entering the vents holes and cavity of the battery pack ([85];[95]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a seal member over the exhaust ports of modified Zhao, and thus obtain a structure corresponding to the claimed sealing plate, with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving exhaust ports {i.e. inlet vents} that prevent unwanted/external materials from entering the pressure relief cavity of modified Zhao.
By including the sealing portion over the exhaust ports, modified Zhao necessarily further includes the claimed structure of a sealing plate mounting cavity, that is the space between the tray and surface of the sub-mounting grooves/slots of modified Zhao, by housing the seal member, corresponds to the claimed sealing plate cavity. Furthermore, because the surface of the sub-mounting groove is the surface in which the seal member is attached to, the surface of the sub-mounting grooves/slots in modified Zhao corresponds to the claimed third mounting surface configured to support the sealing plate; and, because the seal member possesses a surface that is attached to the surface of the sub-mounting grooves by bonding/snapping (Chu: [86]), the surface of the seal member that is attached to the surface of the sub-mounting grooves/slots corresponds to the claimed fourth mounting portion. Additionally, since the third and fourth mounting surface contact one another and are attached, the third mounting surface and fourth mounting surface in modified Zhao necessarily abut.
As established above, the seal member, which corresponds to the claimed sealing plate, is included on the surface of the sub-mounting grooves/slots of modified Zhao which, as shown in Fig. 8 of Zhao, is spaced apart from the bottom-most plate of lower housing; therefore, in modified Zhao the sealing plate and bottom guard plate are spaced apart.
Modified Zhao does particularly disclose the sealing plate {i.e. seal member} and bottom guard spaced apart to define an exhaust channel; however, the seal member in modified Zhao is included over the inlet vents on the surface of the sub-mounting grooves/slots and further are configured to open under pressure (Chu: ([85 – 86]); therefore, because the seal member is configured to open under pressure, the seal member, by being included over the inlet vents and further apart from the pressure relief cavity {i.e. space included under the sub-mounting grooves/slots}, forms a path for cell discharge to flow into the inlet vents and further down into the pressure relief cavity and thus necessarily forms the claimed exhaust channel that communicates with the exhaust port and pressure relief cavity, respectively.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN210123787U), Ren (US PG Pub. 2022/0123427 A1), You (US PG Pub. 2021/0249731 A) and Ma (CN111430608A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bai (US PG Pub. 2021/0305641 A1, cited in previous O.A. mailed 12/22/2025).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Zhao discloses all limitations as set forth above. The battery pack of Zhao includes both longitudinal beams 14 and cross beams 13 (Fig.3).
Modified Zhao does not explicitly disclose a plurality of first protruding parts provided on the bottom guard plate , and each one of the cross beams and longitudinal beams fixed on at least one of the first protruding parts by spot welding.
Bai, directed toward battery packs including partition beams, teaches fixing the partition beams to a bottom plate of the battery pack using bosses 212 that are spaced apart and arranged in a line along an extension direction of the partition beam (Figs. 4 – 6; [0026];[0028]). The bosses, as shown in Fig. 5, are protruding portions formed on the bottom plate, and further are taught to ensure the strength of the bottom plate of the battery pack ([0028]). In Fig. 5, Bai particularly shows fixing the partition beam and boss using a fastener; however, Bai additionally teaches that, alternatively, bonding or welding can also be used ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bottom guard plate of modified Zhai to include bosses as taught by Bai, and thus obtain structure corresponding to the claimed first protruding portions, to secure the cross beams and longitudinal beams of modified Zhao’s battery pack, with a reasonable expectation of success in securing the beams in the battery pack while also further ensuring the strength of bottom guard plate in modified Zhai.
Furthermore, since Bai presents welding as an obvious alterative means to fastening the plates and beams with the boss, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed Invention, to fix the beams and boss of modified Zhao, by spot welding, with a reasonable expectation of success that such a fastening method would provide the desired connection between the bosses and bottom guard plate [See MPEP 2144.06].
Claim(s) 8 – 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN210123787U), Ren (US PG Pub. 2022/0123427 A1), You (US PG Pub. 2021/0249731 A) and Ma (CN111430608A), as applied to claims 1 – 2 above, and further in view of Muhr (US PG Pub. 2024/0239175 A1, cited in previous O.A. mailed 12/22/2025).
Regarding Claims 8 – 9, modified Zhao discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zhao further discloses wherein a plurality of second protruding parts are provided at intervals on the bottom guard plate (Claim 8), that is, as indicated in annotated Fig. 8 below, the bottom portions of the mounting slots 112, provided in the lower housing at intervals, appear protrude from the bottom-most plate of the lower housing and thus read on the claimed second protruding parts.
Annotated Fig. 8 showing corresponding second protruding parts in Zhao.
In modified Zhao, the tray is included, in part, on the bottom surface of the mounting slot (Refer to rejection of claim 1 above and Ren: Fig. 6).
Modified Zhao does not explicitly disclose however, as least one of the second protruding parts connected to a bottom surface of the tray (Claim 8 cont.) and further wherein each of the at least one of the second protruding parts are fixed with the one of the least one tray by a tray fixing bolt (Claim 9).
Muhr, directed toward battery pack housing assemblies, teaches a housing assembly including a tray-like structure {i.e. refer to structural frame 4} that is accommodated in a larger main case structure {i.e. refer to base tray 3} (See Figs. 1A and 1B). Muhr further teaches fixing the tray, structural frame 4, to base plate 7 by a through-bolt assembly 35; [0045 – 0046];[0059 – 0060]). The though-bolt assembly particularly connects one of the ridges of the base plate and the tray (Refer to Figs. 1B and 3B; [0059 – 0060]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to secure the corresponding second protruding portion and tray of modified Zhao using a bolt, as taught by Muhr, and thus obtain the claimed fixing bolt structure, with a reasonable expectation of success further achieving a secure connection between the second protruding parts and tray of modified Zhao.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN210123787U), Ren (US PG Pub. 2022/0123427 A1), You (US PG Pub. 2021/0249731 A) and Ma (CN111430608A), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Backhaus (US PG Pub. 2021/0091438 A1, cited in previous O.A. mailed 12/22/2025).
Regarding Claims 10, modified Zhao discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Zhao, the tray has a second mounting surface, that is a flange (Refer to flange 312 in Fig. 6 of You and 26 in Fig. 4 of Ma), for mounting the tray in the sub-mounting grooves/slots of the battery pack (Refer to rejection of claim 1). Furthermore, the flange of the modified tray is included on the upper surface of the protruding inner/secondary cross beams and longitudinal beams that surround the tray {i.e. Refer to Fig. 5 of You and Fig. 1 of Ma for example of tray placement in modified Zhao}, and the upper surfaces of the inner/secondary beams corresponds to the claimed first mounting surface (Refer to rejection of claim 1).
Modified Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein each one of a flatness of the second mounting surface and a flatness of the first mounting surface is not greater than 0.5 mm.
Backhaus, also directed toward a battery pack structure including apertures for pressure relief, teaches, with respect to the problem of mounting adjoining surfaces, abutting surfaces of a battery housing and lid facing one another having a surface roughness average value of 6.3 μm to ensure that the connection therebetween is air-tight to prevent oxygen intrusion and fire propagation. {Examiner Note: For the purpose of this office action, the examiner is interpreting “flatness” to correspond to “surface roughness” as there does not appear to be a special definition for “flatness” in the instant specification. This interpretation appears to be supported by instant specification which teaches that by controlling a flatness of the mounting surfaces, there is no need to include seals in the battery module which corresponds to the reason Backhaus teaches controlling “surface roughness”.}
Since Zhao is also concerned with mitigating thermal runaway of battery cells ([0050]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to ensure a small surface flatness {i.e. roughness} of the first and second mounting structure, as taught by Backhaus, which is within the claimed range of not greater than 0.5 mm, to ensure that the abutting first and second mounting surfaces were sufficiently smooth to achieve close-contact and oxygen-tightness therebetween.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN210123787U), Ren (US PG Pub. 2022/0123427 A1), You (US PG Pub. 2021/0249731 A), Ma (CN111430608A) and Chu (CN209401662U), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Backhaus (US PG Pub. 2021/0091438 A1).
Regarding Claims 11, modified Zhao discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Zhao, the claimed third and fourth mounting surfaces correspond the contacting surfaces of the seal member, which corresponds to the claimed sealing plate, and the bottom wall of the sub-mounting grooves/slots (Refer to rejection of claim 6 above).
Modified Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein each one of a flatness of the third mounting surface and a flatness of the fourth mounting surface is not greater than 0.5 mm.
Backhaus, also directed toward a battery pack structure including apertures for pressure relief, teaches, with respect to the problem of mounting adjoining surfaces, abutting surfaces of a battery housing and lid facing one another having a surface roughness average value of 6.3 μm to ensure that the connection therebetween is air-tight to prevent oxygen intrusion and fire propagation [0001];([0030];[0073]). {Examiner Note: For the purpose of this office action, the examiner is interpreting “flatness” to correspond to “surface roughness” as there does not appear to be a special definition for “flatness” in the instant specification. This interpretation appears to be supported by instant specification which teaches that by controlling a flatness of the mounting surfaces, there is no need to include seals in the battery module which corresponds to the reason Backhaus teaches controlling “surface roughness”.}
Since Zhao is also concerned with mitigating thermal runaway of battery cells ([0050]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to ensure a small surface flatness {i.e. roughness} of the third and fourth mounting surfaces, as taught by Backhaus, which is within the claimed range of not greater than 0.5 mm, to ensure that the abutting third and fourth mounting surfaces were sufficiently smooth to achieve close-contact and oxygen-tightness therebetween.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 6/23/2026