DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 01/21/2026. Claims 1-2, 11, and 13-20 are currently amended. Claims 1-20 are pending review in this action. The previous 35 U.S.C.112 (b) rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to the claims. The previous 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claim 1, however the previously cited prior art has been upheld as reading on select claim limitations. New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are detailed below.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “a part of the bottom wall of the output terminal…is circumferentially provided with a second counterbore that is recessed inward” in lines 16-17. The standard definition of the term “circumferentially” is “denoting or relating to the circumference of a curved geometric figure”. No special definition is provided by the instant application. It appears from instant Figures 1 and 5 that the term “circumferentially” is referring to a shape having a circumference, and does not require that the second counterbore is present at an outer circumference of the output terminal, as it appears the second counterbore of the instant application is formed in a central position on the bottom surface of the output terminal. For purposes of examination, the standard definition of the term “circumferentially” will be used when considering the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2024/0128590 A1) further in view of Shimozono et al. (JP 2004014173 A) (citations made in reference to the English machine translation attached to the Non-Final Rejection dated 10/21/2025) and Yoshida et al. (US 2016/0372722 A1).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Min discloses a battery (1), comprising: a housing (20), wherein a top wall (first electrode terminal, 20a) of the housing (20) is provided with a through hole (see annotated Figure 7b below), and a bottom (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20) is provided with an open end (open portion) (Figures 2 and 7b, [0069, 0089, 0123-0124]). Min further discloses a jellyroll (electrode assembly, 10), wherein a first tab (second uncoated region, 12) and a second tab (first uncoated region, 11) are provided on ends of the jellyroll (electrode assembly, 10) respectively in an axial direction (up and down page in Figure 7b) of the jellyroll (electrode assembly, 10) (Figure 7b, [0069, 0073]). Min further discloses a first current collector plate (second current collector, 70) and a second current collector plate (first current collector, 30), wherein the first tab (second uncoated region, 12) is connected to the first current collector plate (second current collector, 70), and the second tab (first uncoated region, 11) is connected to the housing (20) via the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) (Figure 7b, [0077, 0101]). Min further discloses an output terminal (terminal, 60), wherein the output terminal (terminal, 60) is sealed and insulated in the through hole (see annotated Figure 7b below) via a terminal insulation part (gasket, G), and the output terminal (terminal, 60) is connected to the first current collector plate (second current collector, 70) (Figure 7b, [0126-0127, 0134]). Min further discloses a cover board (cap, 40), sealed at the open end (open portion) of the bottom (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20) (Figure 7b, [0107-0108]). Min further discloses that the terminal insulation part (gasket, G) is disposed between the output terminal (terminal, 60) and the through hole (see annotated Figure 7b below), and that a part of the bottom wall of the output terminal (terminal, 60) extends beyond the terminal insulation part (gasket, G) in the z-direction (see Figure 7a) (Figures 7a and 7b, [0127]).
The examiner notes that the terms “a part” and “a uniform diameter” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of the prior art. Therefore, while Min does not explicitly disclose that a part of the output terminal (terminal, 60) that passes through the through hole (see annotated Figure 7b below) has a uniform diameter, the skilled artisan would appreciate that such a limitation is necessarily met by the disclosure of Min. For example, the skilled artisan could consider a small area of the output terminal (terminal, 60) which passes through the through hole (see annotated Figure 7b below) as a part, and select for a uniform diameter, the diameter of the output terminal (terminal, 60) in a singular cross-sectional plane of that small area, which would indeed be uniform.
Min is deficient in disclosing 1) that a top of the output terminal is provided with a first counterbore in a taper shape, and a part of the bottom wall of the output terminal that extends beyond the terminal insulation part is circumferentially provided with a second counterbore that is recessed inward; and 2) that a distance between a bottom wall of the first counterbore and a bottom wall of the output terminal ranges from 0.15mm to 1.5mm, and that a depth of the second counterbore is 0.3 mm to 1 mm.
Regarding 1), Shimozono discloses a battery (nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery) comprising an output terminal (rivet terminal, 7) (Figures 2 and 3, [0020], p.9, line 21- p.10, line 8). Shimozono further discloses that a top of the output terminal (rivet terminal, 7) is provided with a first counterbore (cylindrical inner hole, see annotated Figure 2 below) in a taper shape, and part of a bottom wall (see annotated Figure 2 below) of the output terminal (rivet terminal, 7) is circumferentially provided with a second counterbore (cylindrical inner hole, see annotated Figure 2 below) in a ring shape which is recessed inward (Figure 2, p.2, line 16- p.3, line 2). Shimozono further disclose that such a configuration of an output terminal (rivet terminal, 7) allows the output terminal (rivet terminal, 7) to be connected to and reliably fixed to the surrounding components (terminal block, 9, sealing materials, 4, etc.) of the battery (nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery) (Figure 2, p.4, lines 9-11).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the output terminal of Min to have a first counterbore in a taper shape provided in a top of the output terminal and a second counterbore circumferentially provided and recessed inward at a bottom wall of the output terminal, as such a configuration is known in the art as suitable for use as an output terminal for a battery, as taught by Shimozono. By making the above modification the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing an output terminal which is able to be reliably connected and fixed to the battery components surrounding the output terminal, as taught by Shimozono, and thus improving overall reliability of the battery. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, the limitations of Claim 1 requiring that a top of the output terminal is provided with a first counterbore in a taper shape, and a part of the bottom wall of the output terminal that extends beyond the terminal insulation part is circumferentially provided with a second counterbore that is recessed inward, are met.
Regarding 2), Yoshida discloses a battery (prismatic secondary battery, 20) comprising: a housing (battery case), a jellyroll (flattened rolled electrode assembly, 1), and an output terminal (negative electrode collector, 8, and negative electrode terminal, 9) (Figure 1A, [0032-0033]). Yoshida further discloses that the output terminal (negative electrode collector, 8, and negative electrode terminal, 9) includes a counterbore (countersunk hole, 8e) on a first surface (top surface as shown in Figure 5) (Figure 5, [0041]). Yoshida further discloses that the counterbore (countersunk hole, 8e) has a depth between 0.2 mm and 1 mm (Figure 7, [0051]). Yoshida further discloses that the output terminal (negative electrode collector, 8, and negative electrode terminal, 9) has a total thickness between 0.5 mm and 2 mm (Figure 5, [0053]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05 I). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the total depth of each of the first counterbore and second counterbore of modified Min, a depth between 0.2 mm and 1 mm, as such a depth is known in the art as suitable for a counterbore in an output terminal of a battery, as taught by Yoshida. Furthermore, it has been held that mere changes in size of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV). Upon the above modification, the limitation of Claim 1 requiring that a depth of the second counterbore is 0.3 mm to 1 mm, is met.
It would be further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the overall thickness of the output terminal of modified Min, a thickness between 0.5 mm and 2 mm, as such a thickness is known in the art as suitable for an output terminal of a battery, as taught by Yoshida. Furthermore, it has been held that mere changes in size of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05 I). Upon the above modifications, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a distance between a bottom wall of the first counterbore and the bottom wall of the output terminal would equal the total depth of the first counterbore subtracted from the overall thickness of the output terminal. Thus, the skilled artisan would appreciate there are several possible embodiments of modified Min wherein the distance between the bottom wall of the first counterbore and the bottom wall of the output terminal would fall within the claimed range (0.15 mm and 1.5 mm). For example, if the total depth of the first counterbore is 0.5 mm and the overall thickness of the output terminal is 2 mm, the distance between the bottom wall of the first counterbore and the bottom wall of the output terminal would be 1.5 mm. Thus, upon all of the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 7b (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
Annotated Figure 2 (Shimozono JP 2004014173 A)
In Regards to Claim 2 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that a portion of a side wall (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20) that is disposed between the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) and the cover board (cap, 40) is contracted inwardly to define a necking (beading portion, 21) (Figure 7b, [0091]). Min further discloses that an installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) is formed in the housing (20), and the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) includes a housing contact portion (33) which is disposed on the installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) and connected to an inner wall of the housing (20) (Figure 7b, [0091, 0094, 0101]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
Annotated Figure 7b (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
In Regards to Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 2 as set forth above. Min further discloses that a bottom edge (see annotated Figure 7b above) of the side wall (see annotated Figure 7b above) of the housing (20) is crimped inwardly and coupled with the necking (beading portion, 21) to define a U-shaped groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 7b, [0091-0092]). Min further discloses that an outer edge (circumferential surface) of the cover board (cap, 40) is clamped in the U-shaped groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 7b, [0092]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
In Regards to Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that the battery (1) may have an overall height between 60 mm and 130 mm (Figure 2, [0142]). From Figure 7b of Min, it can be seen that the height of the housing (20) is necessarily similar to the overall height of the battery (1), as the only component of the battery (1) not enclosed by the housing (20) is a small portion of the output terminal (terminal, 60) and the gasket (G) (Figure 7b).
The examiner notes that the term “a height” as written is a broad limitation and is subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there are many possible embodiments of Min wherein when the overall height of the battery (1) is between 60 mm and 130 mm, there is necessarily a height of the housing (20) which is between 80 mm and 120 mm. For example, if the overall height of the battery (1) is 120 mm, and the overall height of the housing (20) is between 110mm and 120 mm, the skilled artisan may select for “a height” of the housing, a height equal to 4/5 of the overall height of the housing (20). In such a case, a height equal to 4/5 of the overall height of the housing (20) would be between 88 mm and 96 mm. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
In Regards to Claim 8 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Min does not explicitly disclose that a ratio of an area of a vertical section of the housing (20) to an area of a cross section of the housing (20) ranges from 0.25 to 0.65.
However, the examiner notes that the terms “an area”, “a vertical section”, and “a cross section” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art. The skilled artisan would appreciate that due to the broadness of the terms “an area”, “a vertical section”, and “a cross section”, there are many possible embodiments of the battery (1) of Min which meet the limitations of Claim 8. For example, the skilled artisan may select as “a vertical section” of the housing (20), the side wall (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20). Likewise, the skilled artisan may select as “a cross section” of the housing (20), the cross section displayed in Figure 7b of Min. Furthermore, the skilled artisan may select for “an area” of the vertical section and “an area” of the cross section of the housing (20), the respective areas highlighted in annotated Figure 7b below. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the ratio of “an area” of the vertical section to “an area” of the cross section of the housing may be ~0.5. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
Annotated Figure 7b (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
In Regards to Claim 9 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that an outer diameter of the housing (20) ranges from 40mm to 50mm (Figure 7b, [0142]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
In Regards to Claim 12 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Min does not explicitly disclose that a ratio of a projection area of a top of the output terminal (60) on a cross section of the housing (20) to an area of a cross section of the housing (20) ranges from 0.015 to 0.45.
However, the examiner notes that the terms “an area”, “a projection area”, and “a cross section” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art. The skilled artisan would appreciate that due to the broadness of the terms “an area”, “a projection area”, and “a cross section”, there are many possible embodiments of the battery (1) of Min which meet the limitations of Claim 12. As such, the skilled artisan may select for “a cross section”, the cross section across the x direction (as shown in Figure 1, i.e., looking “down” at the top of the battery (1) from above). Likewise, the skilled artisan may consider for “a projection area” of a top of the output terminal (60), the highlighted area on the top surface of the output terminal (60) as shown in annotated Figure 1 below. Additionally, for the “an area” of the cross section, the skilled artisan may select the highlighted area shown in annotated Figure 1 below. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a ratio of “a projection area” of a top of the output terminal (60) on a cross section of the housing (20) to “an area” of a cross section of the housing (20) may be ~0.1. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 12 are met.
Annotated Figure 1 (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
In Regards to Claim 19 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that a portion of a side wall (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20) that is disposed between the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) and the cover board (cap, 40) is contracted inwardly to define a necking (beading portion, 21) (Figure 7b, [0091]). Min further discloses that an installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) is formed in the housing (20), and the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) includes a housing contact portion (33) which is disposed on the installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) and connected to an inner wall of the housing (20) (Figure 7b, [0091, 0094, 0101]).
Min does not explicitly disclose that a ratio of a projection area of a top of the output terminal (60) on a cross section of the housing (20) to an area of a cross section of the housing (20) ranges from 0.015 to 0.45. However, the examiner notes that the terms “an area”, “a projection area”, and “a cross section” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art.
The skilled artisan would appreciate that due to the broadness of the terms “an area”, “a projection area”, and “a cross section”, there are many possible embodiments of the battery (1) of Min which meet the limitations of Claim 19. As such, the skilled artisan may select for “a cross section”, the cross section across the x direction (as shown in Figure 1, i.e., looking “down” at the top of the battery (1) from above). Likewise, the skilled artisan may consider for “a projection area” of a top of the output terminal (60), the highlighted area on the top surface of the output terminal (60) as shown in annotated Figure 1 below. Additionally, for the “an area” of the cross section, the skilled artisan may select the highlighted area shown in annotated Figure 1 below. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a ratio of “a projection area” of a top of the output terminal (60) on a cross section of the housing (20) to “an area” of a cross section of the housing (20) may be ~0.1. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 19 are met.
Annotated Figure 7b (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
Annotated Figure 1 (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
In Regards to Claim 20 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that a portion of a side wall (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20) that is disposed between the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) and the cover board (cap, 40) is contracted inwardly to define a necking (beading portion, 21) (Figure 7b, [0091]). Min further discloses that an installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) is formed in the housing (20), and the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) includes a housing contact portion (33) which is disposed on the installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) and connected to an inner wall of the housing (20) (Figure 7b, [0091, 0094, 0101]). Min further discloses that a bottom edge (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the side wall (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20) is crimped inwardly and coupled with the necking (beading portion, 21) to define a U-shaped groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 7b, [0091-0092]). Min further discloses that an outer edge (circumferential surface) of the cover board (cap, 40) is clamped in the U-shaped groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 7b, [0092]).
Min does not explicitly disclose that a ratio of a projection area of a top of the output terminal (60) on a cross section of the housing (20) to an area of a cross section of the housing (20) ranges from 0.015 to 0.45. However, the examiner notes that the terms “an area”, “a projection area”, and “a cross section” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art. The skilled artisan would appreciate that due to the broadness of the terms “an area”, “a projection area”, and “a cross section”, there are many possible embodiments of the battery (1) of Min which meet the limitations of Claim 20. As such, the skilled artisan may select for “a cross section”, the cross section across the x direction (as shown in Figure 1, i.e., looking “down” at the top of the battery (1) from above). Likewise, the skilled artisan may consider for “a projection area” of a top of the output terminal (60), the highlighted area on the top surface of the output terminal (60) as shown in annotated Figure 1 below. Additionally, for the “an area” of the cross section, the skilled artisan may select the highlighted area shown in annotated Figure 1 below. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a ratio of “a projection area” of a top of the output terminal (60) on a cross section of the housing (20) to “an area” of a cross section of the housing (20) may be ~0.1. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 20 are met.
Annotated Figure 7b (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
Annotated Figure 1 (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2024/0128590 A1) as modified by Shimozono et al. (JP 2004014173 A) (citations made in reference to the English machine translation attached to the Non-Final Rejection dated 10/21/2025) and Yoshida et al. (US 2016/0372722 A1), as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 2019/0148683 A1).
In Regards to Claim 4 (Dependent Upon Claim 3):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 3 as set forth above. Min further discloses that an outer diameter of the housing (20) ranges from 40mm to 50mm (Figure 7b, [0142]).
Min is silent to the dimensions of the crimped portion and the housing.
Kwon discloses a battery (cylinder type battery cell, 200) comprising a housing (metal can, 210) including a side wall (wall of metal can, 210, wherein beading portion, 212, is formed) (Figures 2 and 5, [0067]). Kwon further discloses that the side wall (wall of metal can, 210, wherein beading portion, 212, is formed) of the housing (metal can, 210) comprises a crimping portion (201) which fixes a cap assembly (220) to the housing (metal can, 210) (Figure 5, [0013, 0074]). Kwon further discloses that the crimping portion (201) includes a flat section (213), and the flat section (213) has a length which is approximately 5% to 20% of the diameter of the housing (metal can, 210) (Figure 5, [0031, 0076]). Kwon further teaches that when the size of the flat section (213) of the crimping portion (201) is within the above range (5% to 20% of the diameter of the metal can, 210), the battery (cylinder type battery cell, 200) remains structurally secure and reduces the likelihood of a short-circuiting event [0032-0033].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the crimped portion (forming the U-shaped groove) of the housing of Min to have a flat portion with a length between 5% and 20% of the diameter of the battery housing, in order to provide a crimped portion which secures the cover board to the housing in a manner which is structurally secure and reduces the chances of a short-circuiting event, as taught by Kwon. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
The examiner notes that the terms “an area” and “a cross section” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art.
As such, upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there are multiple possible embodiments of modified Min which possess a ratio of an area of a crimped portion of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing which ranges from 0.05 to 0.5. For example, the cross section across the x direction (as shown in Figure 1 of Min, i.e., looking “down” at the top of the battery (1) from above) may be selected as “a cross section”. Likewise, a total area of the flat portion of modified Min may be selected as “an area” of a crimped portion of the housing. Furthermore, the entire area of the housing in the cross section detailed above may be selected as “an area” of a cross section of the housing. In such a case, assuming for example that the diameter of the battery is 40mm, and the flat portion is 10% of the diameter of the battery (i.e., 4mm), the ratio as defined about would be ~0.1. Thus, upon all of the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2024/0128590 A1) as modified by Shimozono et al. (JP 2004014173 A) (citations made in reference to the English machine translation attached to the Non-Final Rejection dated 10/21/2025) and Yoshida et al. (US 2016/0372722 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Haraguchi et al. (US 2021/0203047 A1).
In Regards to Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that the battery (1) comprises an explosion-proof valve (venting portion, 41), wherein the explosion-proof valve (venting portion, 41) is disposed on the cover board (cap, 40) (Figures 6 and 7b, [0109]). Min further discloses that an outer diameter of the housing (20) ranges from 40mm to 50mm (Figure 7b, [0142]).
Min is deficient in disclosing that a ratio of a projection area of the explosion-proof valve on a cross section of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing ranges from 0.03 to 0.99, and is silent to any dimensions of the explosion-proof valve.
Haraguchi discloses a battery (cylindrical battery, 10) comprising a housing (cylindrical exterior case, 12) which includes a sealing unit (20) (Figure 1, [0014-0015]). Haraguchi further discloses that the sealing unit (20) includes a cover board (valve member, 22), an insulating plate (24), and an explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) disposed on the cover board (valve member, 22) (Figure 1, [0016]). Haraguchi further discloses that when pressure is elevated beyond a pre-determined value, the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) is ruptured at a contact portion (groove, 26b) where it contacts the cover board (valve member, 22) (Figure 2a, [0019]). Haraguchi further discloses that the insulating plate (24) comprises an opening (24a) through which the contact portion (groove, 26b) of the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) and the central portion (22a) of the cover board (valve member, 22) make contact (Figure 2a, [0018]). Haraguchi further discloses that the cover board (valve member, 22) may have an overall diameter of 19 mm [0043]. Haraguchi further discloses that the opening (24a) has a diameter of 3mm [0044]. Haraguchi further discloses that the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) further comprises vent holes (26a), thus forming a circular ring shape with the vent holes (26a) and the contact portion (groove, 26b) (Figure 2a, [0019]). Haraguchi further discloses that the overall diameter of the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) may be 13mm [0045]. Haraguchi further discloses that the overall diameter of the housing (cylindrical exterior case, 12) may be 21 mm (Figure 1, [0052]).
The skilled artisan would appreciate that as the contact portion (groove, 26b) of the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) and the central portion (22a) of the cover board (valve member, 22) make contact through the opening (24a), the contact portion (groove, 26b) would be expected to have a similar diameter to the diameter of the opening (24a) (i.e., ~3mm). Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the ratio of the diameter of the contact portion (groove, 26b) to the overall diameter of the housing (cylindrical exterior case, 12) would be ~0.15 (~3mm/21mm). Likewise, the ratio of the overall diameter of the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) to the overall diameter of the cover board (valve member, 22) would be ~0.7 (13mm/19mm).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the shape and relative dimensions of the explosion-proof valve of Min, the shape and relative dimensions for the explosion-proof valve taught by Haraguchi, wherein the explosion-proof valve has a circular ring shape, an outer diameter which is ~70% of the overall diameter of the cover board, and an inner diameter which is ~15% of the overall diameter of the housing, as such a configuration for an explosion-proof valve is known in the art as suitable for use in a battery wherein an explosion-proof valve is disposed on a cover board for the purposes of mitigating hazards in high-pressure events within the battery, as taught by Haraguchi. Furthermore, it has been held that mere changes in size/proportion/shape of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
The examiner notes that the terms “an area”, “a projection area”, and “a cross section” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art. As such, upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there are multiple embodiments of modified Min which meet the ratio requirements of Claim 5. For example, the skilled artisan may select the area within the inner diameter of the explosion-proof valve of modified Min as “a projection area”. Likewise, the skilled artisan may select the cross section across the x direction (as shown in Figure 1 of Min, i.e., looking “down” at the top of the battery (1) from above or looking “up” at the bottom of the battery (1) from below) as “a cross section”. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that when the inner diameter is equal to ~15% of the housing, which may be for example, 50mm, the inner diameter may be ~8mm. Therefore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a ratio of a projection area of the explosion-proof valve on a cross section of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing may be ~0.16. Thus, upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
In Regards to Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 5):
Min as modified by Shimozono, Yoshida, and Haraguchi discloses the battery of Claim 5 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 5, the explosion-proof valve (venting portion, 41) of modified Min possess a circular ring shape and has an inner ring diameter of ~8mm, as detailed above. Modified Min further discloses that the diameter of the outer ring of the explosion-proof valve (venting portion, 41) is ~70% of an overall diameter of the cover board (cap, 40).
Although Min does not explicitly disclose the overall diameter of the cover board (cap, 40), it can be seen from Figure 7b of Min that the overall diameter of the cover board (cap, 40) is substantially similar to the overall diameter of the battery (1) (Figure 7b). Thus, the skilled artisan would appreciate that when the overall diameter of the battery (1) is, for example, 50mm, the overall diameter of the cover board (cap, 40) would be ~50mm, and ~70% of an overall diameter of the cover board (cap, 40) would be ~35mm. As such, the outer ring diameter of the explosion-proof valve (venting portion, 41) would be ~35mm. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
In Regards to Claim 13 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that a portion of a side wall (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20) that is disposed between the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) and the cover board (cap, 40) is contracted inwardly to define a necking (beading portion, 21) (Figure 7b, [0091]). Min further discloses that an installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) is formed in the housing (20), and the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) includes a housing contact portion (33) which is disposed on the installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) and connected to an inner wall of the housing (20) (Figure 7b, [0091, 0094, 0101]). Min further discloses that the battery (1) comprises an explosion-proof valve (venting portion, 41), wherein the explosion-proof valve (venting portion, 41) is disposed on the cover board (cap, 40) (Figures 6 and 7b, [0109]). Min further discloses that an outer diameter of the housing (20) ranges from 40mm to 50mm (Figure 7b, [0142]).
Min is deficient in disclosing that a ratio of a projection area of the explosion-proof valve on a cross section of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing ranges from 0.03 to 0.99, and is silent to any dimensions of the explosion-proof valve.
Haraguchi discloses a battery (cylindrical battery, 10) comprising a housing (cylindrical exterior case, 12) which includes a sealing unit (20) (Figure 1, [0014-0015]). Haraguchi further discloses that the sealing unit (20) includes a cover board (valve member, 22), an insulating plate (24), and an explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) disposed on the cover board (valve member, 22) (Figure 1, [0016]). Haraguchi further discloses that when pressure is elevated beyond a pre-determined value, the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) is ruptured at a contact portion (groove, 26b) where it contacts the cover board (valve member, 22) (Figure 2a, [0019]). Haraguchi further discloses that the insulating plate (24) comprises an opening (24a) through which the contact portion (groove, 26b) of the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) and the central portion (22a) of the cover board (valve member, 22) make contact (Figure 2a, [0018]). Haraguchi further discloses that the opening (24a) has a diameter of 3mm [0044]. Haraguchi further discloses that the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) further comprises vent holes (26a), thus forming a circular ring shape with the vent holes (26a) and contact portion (groove, 26b) (Figure 2a, [0019]). Haraguchi further discloses that the overall diameter of the housing (cylindrical exterior case, 12) may be 21 mm (Figure 1, [0052]).
The skilled artisan would appreciate that as the contact portion (groove, 26b) of the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) and the central portion (22a) of the cover board (valve member, 22) make contact through the opening (24a), the contact portion (groove, 26b) would be expected to have a similar diameter to the diameter of the opening (24a) (i.e., ~3mm). Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the ratio of the diameter of the contact portion (groove, 26b) to the overall diameter of the housing (cylindrical exterior case, 12) would be ~0.15 (~3mm/21mm).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the relative dimensions of the explosion-proof valve of Min, the relative dimensions for the explosion-proof valve taught by Haraguchi, wherein the explosion-proof valve has an inner diameter (i.e., projection area) which is ~15% of the overall diameter of the housing, as such a configuration for an explosion-proof valve is known in the art as suitable for use in a battery wherein an explosion-proof valve is disposed on a cover board for the purposes of mitigating hazards in high-pressure events within the battery, as taught by Haraguchi. Furthermore, it has been held that mere changes in size/proportion of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
The examiner notes that the terms “an area”, “a projection area”, and “a cross section” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art. As such, upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there are multiple embodiments of modified Min which meet the ratio requirements of Claim 5. For example, the skilled artisan may select the area within the inner diameter of the explosion-proof valve of modified Min as “a projection area”. Likewise, the skilled artisan may select the cross section across the x direction (as shown in Figure 1 of Min, i.e., looking “down” at the top of the battery (1) from above or looking “up” at the bottom of the battery (1) from below) as “a cross section”. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that when the inner diameter is equal to ~15% of the housing, which may be for example, 50mm, the inner diameter may be ~8mm. Therefore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a ratio of a projection area of the explosion-proof valve on a cross section of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing may be ~0.16. Thus, upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 13 are met.
Annotated Figure 7b (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
In Regards to Claim 14 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that a portion of a side wall (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20) that is disposed between the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) and the cover board (cap, 40) is contracted inwardly to define a necking (beading portion, 21) (Figure 7b, [0091]). Min further discloses that an installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) is formed in the housing (20), and the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) includes a housing contact portion (33) which is disposed on the installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) and connected to an inner wall of the housing (20) (Figure 7b, [0091, 0094, 0101]). Min further discloses that a bottom edge (see annotated Figure 7b above) of the side wall (see annotated Figure 7b above) of the housing (20) is crimped inwardly and coupled with the necking (beading portion, 21) to define a U-shaped groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 7b, [0091-0092]). Min further discloses that an outer edge (circumferential surface) of the cover board (cap, 40) is clamped in the U-shaped groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 7b, [0092]). Min further discloses that the battery (1) comprises an explosion-proof valve (venting portion, 41), wherein the explosion-proof valve (venting portion, 41) is disposed on the cover board (cap, 40) (Figures 6 and 7b, [0109]). Min further discloses that an outer diameter of the housing (20) ranges from 40mm to 50mm (Figure 7b, [0142]).
Min is deficient in disclosing that a ratio of a projection area of the explosion-proof valve on a cross section of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing ranges from 0.03 to 0.99, and is silent to any dimensions of the explosion-proof valve.
Haraguchi discloses a battery (cylindrical battery, 10) comprising a housing (cylindrical exterior case, 12) which includes a sealing unit (20) (Figure 1, [0014-0015]). Haraguchi further discloses that the sealing unit (20) includes a cover board (valve member, 22), an insulating plate (24), and an explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) disposed on the cover board (valve member, 22) (Figure 1, [0016]). Haraguchi further discloses that when pressure is elevated beyond a pre-determined value, the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) is ruptured at a contact portion (groove, 26b) where it contacts the cover board (valve member, 22) (Figure 2a, [0019]). Haraguchi further discloses that the insulating plate (24) comprises an opening (24a) through which the contact portion (groove, 26b) of the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) and the central portion (22a) of the cover board (valve member, 22) make contact (Figure 2a, [0018]). Haraguchi further discloses that the opening (24a) has a diameter of 3mm [0044]. Haraguchi further discloses that the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) further comprises vent holes (26a), thus forming a circular ring shape with the vent holes (26a) and contact portion (groove, 26b) (Figure 2a, [0019]). Haraguchi further discloses that the overall diameter of the housing (cylindrical exterior case, 12) may be 21 mm (Figure 1, [0052]).
The skilled artisan would appreciate that as the contact portion (groove, 26b) of the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) and the central portion (22a) of the cover board (valve member, 22) make contact through the opening (24a), the contact portion (groove, 26b) would be expected to have a same diameter as the diameter of the opening (24a) (i.e., ~3mm). Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the ratio of the diameter of the contact portion (groove, 26b) to the overall diameter of the housing (cylindrical exterior case, 12) would be ~0.15 (~3mm/21mm).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the relative dimensions of the explosion-proof valve of Min, the relative dimensions for the explosion-proof valve taught by Haraguchi, wherein the explosion-proof valve has an inner diameter (i.e., projection area) which is ~15% of the overall diameter of the housing, as such a configuration for an explosion-proof valve is known in the art as suitable for use in a battery wherein an explosion-proof valve is disposed on a cover board for the purposes of mitigating hazards in high-pressure events within the battery, as taught by Haraguchi. Furthermore, it has been held that mere changes in size/proportion of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
The examiner notes that the terms “an area”, “a projection area”, and “a cross section” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art.
As such, upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there are multiple embodiments of modified Min which meet the ratio requirements of Claim 5. For example, the skilled artisan may select the area within the inner diameter of the explosion-proof valve of modified Min as “a projection area”. Likewise, the skilled artisan may select the cross section across the x direction (as shown in Figure 1 of Min, i.e., looking “down” at the top of the battery (1) from above or looking “up” at the bottom of the battery (1) from below) as “a cross section”. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that when the inner diameter is equal to ~15% of the housing, which may be for example, 50mm, the inner diameter may be ~8mm. Therefore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a ratio of a projection area of the explosion-proof valve on a cross section of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing may be ~0.16. Thus, upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 14 are met.
Annotated Figure 7b (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2024/0128590 A1) as modified by Shimozono et al. (JP 2004014173 A) (citations made in reference to the English machine translation attached to the Non-Final Rejection dated 10/21/2025) and Yoshida et al. (US 2016/0372722 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Won et al. (US 2024/0266693 A1).
In Regards to Claim 10 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Min is silent to an inner diameter of the through hole and a distance between the through hole and the output terminal.
Won discloses a battery (battery cell, 70) comprising a housing (battery can, 51) and a terminal (electrode terminal, 50) (Figure 7, [0208-0209]). Won further discloses that the terminal (electrode terminal, 50) protrudes through a though hole (53) formed in the housing (battery can, 51) and is partially exposed to an outside of the housing (battery can, 51) (Figure 7, [0209]). Won further discloses that a gasket (54) is interposed between the housing (battery can, 51) and the terminal (electrode terminal, 50) such that no direct contact is made between the housing (battery can, 51) and the terminal (electrode terminal, 50) (Figure 7, [0210]). Won further discloses that the outer diameter of the gasket (54) was 16mm [0254]. Won further discloses that a thickness of the gasket (54) between a bottom portion of the housing (battery can, 51) and the outer flange portion (50b) of the terminal (electrode terminal, 50) is 0.5mm (Figure 7, [0254]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the dimensions of the outer diameter and thickness of the gasket in the region between the housing and the output terminal of Min, an outer diameter of 16mm and a thickness of 0.5mm, as such sizes are known in the art as suitable for use in a gasket of a battery which is located between an output terminal and housing of a battery, as taught by Won. Such a modification would allow the skilled artisan to have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a battery wherein the output terminal and housing are sufficiently separated such that a short-circuiting event is prevented. Furthermore, it has been held that mere changes in the size of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
The examiner notes that the term “a distance” as written is a broad limitation and is subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art.
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that as the outside of the gasket is in direct contact with the through hole, the inner diameter of the through hole would be approximately the same size as the outer diameter of the gasket (16mm). Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that as the gasket is disposed between the output terminal and the inner diameter of the through hole, a distance between the through hole and the output terminal would be equal to the thickness of the gasket (0.5mm). Thus, upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 10 are met.
Claims 11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2024/0128590 A1) as modified by Shimozono et al. (JP 2004014173 A) (citations made in reference to the English machine translation attached to the Non-Final Rejection dated 10/21/2025) and Yoshida et al. (US 2016/0372722 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakae (US 2012/0315807 A1).
In Regards to Claim 11 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Min is deficient in disclosing that a diameter of a large-diameter end of the first counterbore ranges from 2.4mm to 14mm, and that an inner ring diameter of the second counterbore ranges from 2.1mm to 11mm, and an outer ring diameter of the second counterbore ranges from 2.4mm to 14mm.
Sakae discloses a battery (battery cell, 2) comprising an output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) (Figure 1, [0040]). Sakae further discloses that the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) has a top end diameter (outer diameter of base portion, 12) which is between 5mm and 25mm (Figure 3, [0037]). Sakae further discloses that the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) has a bottom end inner diameter (diameter of thread portion, 13) which is between 4mm and 12mm (Figure 3, [0037]). Sakae further discloses that the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) includes a bottom end outer diameter (outer diameter of nut, 21) (Figure 3, [0041]).
The skilled artisan would appreciate that from Figure 3 of Sakae, it can be seen that the bottom end outer diameter (outer diameter of nut, 21) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) is substantially the same as the top end diameter (outer diameter of base portion, 12) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) (~5mm to ~25mm) (Figure 3).
The examiner notes that terms such as “top” and “bottom” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the battery relative to one another within the battery. The particular orientation of the battery does not provide any structural limitations to the battery itself.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05 I). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the dimensions of the counterbores of modified Min, between 5mm and 25mm for the diameter of the first counterbore, between 5mm and 25mm for the outer diameter of the second counterbore, and between 4mm and 12mm for the inner diameter of the second counterbore, as such dimensions are known in the art as suitable relative dimensions for a top end diameter, bottom end outer diameter, and bottom end inner diameter of an output terminal of a battery, as taught by Sakae. Furthermore, it has been held that changes in size of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
The examiner notes that although Sakae does not explicitly state that the bottom end outer diameter (outer diameter of nut, 21) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) is substantially the same as the top end diameter (outer diameter of base portion, 12) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1), nor state that the figures are drawn to scale, the skilled artisan would naturally look to the figures to inform the selection of the relative dimensions of the various terminal components for optimization purposes when reviewing the disclosure of Sakae. As such, upon the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 11 are met.
Annotated Figure 2 (Shimozono JP 2004014173 A)
In Regards to Claim 16 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that a portion of a side wall (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20) that is disposed between the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) and the cover board (cap, 40) is contracted inwardly to define a necking (beading portion, 21) (Figure 7b, [0091]). Min further discloses that an installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) is formed in the housing (20), and the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) includes a housing contact portion (33) which is disposed on the installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) and connected to an inner wall of the housing (20) (Figure 7b, [0091, 0094, 0101]).
Min is deficient in disclosing that a diameter of a large-diameter end of the first counterbore ranges from 2.4mm to 14mm, and that an inner ring diameter of the second counterbore ranges from 2.1mm to 11mm, and an outer ring diameter of the second counterbore ranges from 2.4mm to 14mm.
Sakae discloses a battery (battery cell, 2) comprising an output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) (Figure 1, [0040]). Sakae further discloses that the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) has a top end diameter (outer diameter of base portion, 12) which is between 5mm and 25mm (Figure 3, [0037]). Sakae further discloses that the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) has a bottom end inner diameter (diameter of thread portion, 13) which is between 4mm and 12mm (Figure 3, [0037]). Sakae further discloses that the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) includes a bottom end outer diameter (outer diameter of nut, 21) (Figure 3, [0041]).
The skilled artisan would appreciate that from Figure 3 of Sakae, it can be seen that the bottom end outer diameter (outer diameter of nut, 21) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) is substantially the same as the top end diameter (outer diameter of base portion, 12) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) (~5mm to ~25mm) (Figure 3).
The examiner notes that terms such as “top” and “bottom” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the battery relative to one another within the battery. The particular orientation of the battery does not provide any structural limitations to the battery itself.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05 I). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the dimensions of the counterbores of modified Min, between 5mm and 25mm for the diameter of the first counterbore, between 5mm and 25mm for the outer diameter of the second counterbore, and between 4mm and 12mm for the inner diameter of the second counterbore, as such dimensions are known in the art as suitable relative dimensions for a top end diameter, bottom end outer diameter, and bottom end inner diameter of an output terminal of a battery, as taught by Sakae. Furthermore, it has been held that changes in size of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
The examiner notes that although Sakae does not explicitly state that the bottom end outer diameter (outer diameter of nut, 21) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) is substantially the same as the top end diameter (outer diameter of base portion, 12) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1), nor state that the figures are drawn to scale, the skilled artisan would naturally look to the figures to inform the selection of the relative dimensions of the various terminal components for optimization purposes when reviewing the disclosure of Sakae. As such, upon the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 16 are met.
Annotated Figure 7b (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
Annotated Figure 2 (Shimozono JP 2004014173 A)
In Regards to Claim 17 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that a portion of a side wall (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20) that is disposed between the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) and the cover board (cap, 40) is contracted inwardly to define a necking (beading portion, 21) (Figure 7b, [0091]). Min further discloses that an installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) is formed in the housing (20), and the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) includes a housing contact portion (33) which is disposed on the installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) and connected to an inner wall of the housing (20) (Figure 7b, [0091, 0094, 0101]). Min further discloses that a bottom edge (see annotated Figure 7b above) of the side wall (see annotated Figure 7b above) of the housing (20) is crimped inwardly and coupled with the necking (beading portion, 21) to define a U-shaped groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 7b, [0091-0092]). Min further discloses that an outer edge (circumferential surface) of the cover board (cap, 40) is clamped in the U-shaped groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 7b, [0092]).
Min is deficient in disclosing that a diameter of a large-diameter end of the first counterbore ranges from 2.4mm to 14mm, and that an inner ring diameter of the second counterbore ranges from 2.1mm to 11mm, and an outer ring diameter of the second counterbore ranges from 2.4mm to 14mm.
Sakae discloses a battery (battery cell, 2) comprising an output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) (Figure 1, [0040]). Sakae further discloses that the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) has a top end diameter (outer diameter of base portion, 12) which is between 5mm and 25mm (Figure 3, [0037]). Sakae further discloses that the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) has a bottom end inner diameter (diameter of thread portion, 13) which is between 4mm and 12mm (Figure 3, [0037]). Sakae further discloses that the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) includes a bottom end outer diameter (outer diameter of nut, 21) (Figure 3, [0041]).
The skilled artisan would appreciate that from Figure 3 of Sakae, it can be seen that the bottom end outer diameter (outer diameter of nut, 21) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) is substantially the same as the top end diameter (outer diameter of base portion, 12) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) (~5mm to ~25mm) (Figure 3).
The examiner notes that terms such as “top” and “bottom” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the battery relative to one another within the battery. The particular orientation of the battery does not provide any structural limitations to the battery itself.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05 I). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the dimensions of the counterbores of modified Min, between 5mm and 25mm for the diameter of the first counterbore, between 5mm and 25mm for the outer diameter of the second counterbore, and between 4mm and 12mm for the inner diameter of the second counterbore, as such dimensions are known in the art as suitable relative dimensions for a top end diameter, bottom end outer diameter, and bottom end inner diameter of an output terminal of a battery, as taught by Sakae. Furthermore, it has been held that changes in size of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
The examiner notes that although Sakae does not explicitly state that the bottom end outer diameter (outer diameter of nut, 21) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) is substantially the same as the top end diameter (outer diameter of base portion, 12) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1), nor state that the figures are drawn to scale, the skilled artisan would naturally look to the figures to inform the selection of the relative dimensions of the various terminal components for optimization purposes when reviewing the disclosure of Sakae. As such, upon the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 17 are met.
Annotated Figure 7b (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
Annotated Figure 2 (Shimozono JP 2004014173 A)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2024/0128590 A1) as modified by Shimozono et al. (JP 2004014173 A) (citations made in reference to the English machine translation attached to the Non-Final Rejection dated 10/21/2025) and Yoshida et al. (US 2016/0372722 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 2019/0148683 A1) and Haraguchi et al. (US 2021/0203047 A1).
In Regards to Claim 15 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that a portion of a side wall (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20) that is disposed between the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) and the cover board (cap, 40) is contracted inwardly to define a necking (beading portion, 21) (Figure 7b, [0091]). Min further discloses that an installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) is formed in the housing (20), and the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) includes a housing contact portion (33) which is disposed on the installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) and connected to an inner wall of the housing (20) (Figure 7b, [0091, 0094, 0101]). Min further discloses that a bottom edge (see annotated Figure 7b above) of the side wall (see annotated Figure 7b above) of the housing (20) is crimped inwardly and coupled with the necking (beading portion, 21) to define a U-shaped groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 7b, [0091-0092]). Min further discloses that an outer edge (circumferential surface) of the cover board (cap, 40) is clamped in the U-shaped groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 7b, [0092]). Min further discloses that an outer diameter of the housing (20) ranges from 40mm to 50mm (Figure 7b, [0142]).
Min is deficient in disclosing 1) the dimensions of the crimped portion and the housing; and 2), that a ratio of a projection area of the explosion-proof valve on a cross section of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing ranges from 0.03 to 0.99.
Regarding 1), Kwon discloses a battery (cylinder type battery cell, 200) comprising a housing (metal can, 210) including a side wall (wall of metal can, 210, wherein beading portion, 212, is formed) (Figures 2 and 5, [0067]). Kwon further discloses that the side wall (wall of metal can, 210, wherein beading portion, 212, is formed) of the housing (metal can, 210) comprises a crimping portion (201) which fixes a cap assembly (220) to the housing (metal can, 210) (Figure 5, [0013, 0074]). Kwon further discloses that the crimping portion (201) includes a flat section (213), and the flat section (213) has a length which is approximately 5% to 20% of the diameter of the housing (metal can, 210) (Figure 5, [0031, 0076]). Kwon further teaches that when the size of the flat section (213) of the crimping portion (201) is within the above range (5% to 20% of the diameter of the metal can, 210), the battery (cylinder type battery cell, 200) remains structurally secure and reduces the likelihood of a short-circuiting event [0032-0033].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the crimped portion (forming the U-shaped groove) of the housing of Min to have a flat portion with a length between 5% and 20% of the diameter of the battery housing, in order to provide a crimped portion which secures the cover board to the housing in a manner which is structurally secure and reduces the chances of a short-circuiting event, as taught by Kwon. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
The examiner notes that the terms “an area” and “a cross section” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art. As such, upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there are multiple possible embodiments of modified Min which possess a ratio of an area of a crimped portion of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing ranges from 0.05 to 0.5. For example, the cross section across the x direction ( shown in Figure 1 of Min, i.e., looking “down” at the top of the battery (1) from above) may be selected as “a cross section”. Likewise, a total area of the flat portion of modified Min may be selected as “an area” of a crimped portion of the housing. Furthermore, the entire area of the housing in the cross section detailed above may be selected as “an area” of a cross section of the housing. In such a case, assuming for example that the diameter of the battery is 40mm, and the flat portion is 10% of the diameter of the battery (i.e., 4mm), the ratio as defined about would be ~0.1. Thus, upon the above modification, the limitation of Claim 15 requiring that a ratio of an area of a crimped portion of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing ranges from 0.05 to 0.5, is met.
Regarding 2), Haraguchi discloses a battery (cylindrical battery, 10) comprising a housing (cylindrical exterior case, 12) which includes a sealing unit (20) (Figure 1, [0014-0015]). Haraguchi further discloses that the sealing unit (20) includes a cover board (valve member, 22), an insulating plate (24), and an explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) disposed on the cover board (valve member, 22) (Figure 1, [0016]). Haraguchi further discloses that when pressure is elevated beyond a pre-determined value, the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) is ruptured at a contact portion (groove, 26b) where it contacts the cover board (valve member, 22) (Figure 2a, [0019]). Haraguchi further discloses that the insulating plate (24) comprises an opening (24a) through which the contact portion (groove, 26b) of the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) and the central portion (22a) of the cover board (valve member, 22) make contact (Figure 2a, [0018]). Haraguchi further discloses that the opening (24a) has a diameter of 3mm [0044]. Haraguchi further discloses that the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) further comprises vent holes (26a), thus forming a circular ring shape with the vent holes (26a) and contact portion (groove, 26b) (Figure 2a, [0019]). Haraguchi further discloses that the overall diameter of the housing (cylindrical exterior case, 12) may be 21 mm (Figure 1, [0052]).
The skilled artisan would appreciate that as the contact portion (groove, 26b) of the explosion-proof valve (metal plate, 26) and the central portion (22a) of the cover board (valve member, 22) make contact through the opening (24a), the contact portion (groove, 26b) would be expected to have a same diameter as the diameter of the opening (24a) (i.e., ~3mm). Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the ratio of the diameter of the contact portion (groove, 26b) to the overall diameter of the housing (cylindrical exterior case, 12) would be ~0.15 (~3mm/21mm).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the relative dimensions of the explosion-proof valve of Min, the relative dimensions for the explosion-proof valve taught by Haraguchi, wherein the explosion-proof valve has an inner diameter (i.e., projection area) which is ~15% of the overall diameter of the housing, as such a configuration for an explosion-proof valve is known in the art as suitable for use in a battery wherein an explosion-proof valve is disposed on a cover board for the purposes of mitigating hazards in high-pressure events within the battery, as taught by Haraguchi. Furthermore, it has been held that mere changes in size/proportion of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
The examiner notes that the terms “an area”, “a projection area”, and “a cross section” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art. As such, upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there are multiple embodiments of modified Min which meet the ratio requirements of Claim 5. For example, the skilled artisan may select the area within the inner diameter of the explosion-proof valve of modified Min as “a projection area”. Likewise, the skilled artisan may select the cross section across the x direction (as shown in Figure 1 of Min, i.e., looking “down” at the top of the battery (1) from above or looking “up” at the bottom of the battery (1) from below) as “a cross section”. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that when the inner diameter is equal to ~15% of the housing, which may be for example, 50mm, the inner diameter may be ~8mm. Therefore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a ratio of a projection area of the explosion-proof valve on a cross section of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing may be ~0.16. Thus, upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 15 are met.
Annotated Figure 7b (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2024/0128590 A1) as modified by Shimozono et al. (JP 2004014173 A) (citations made in reference to the English machine translation attached to the Non-Final Rejection dated 10/21/2025) and Yoshida et al. (US 2016/0372722 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 2019/0148683 A1) and Sakae (US 2012/0315807 A1).
In Regards to Claim 18 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Shimozono and Yoshida discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that a portion of a side wall (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20) that is disposed between the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) and the cover board (cap, 40) is contracted inwardly to define a necking (beading portion, 21) (Figure 7b, [0091]). Min further discloses that an installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) is formed in the housing (20), and the second current collector plate (first current collector, 30) includes a housing contact portion (33) which is disposed on the installation platform (see annotated Figure 7b below) and connected to an inner wall of the housing (20) (Figure 7b, [0091, 0094, 0101]). Min further discloses that a bottom edge (see annotated Figure 7b above) of the side wall (see annotated Figure 7b above) of the housing (20) is crimped inwardly and coupled with the necking (beading portion, 21) to define a U-shaped groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 7b, [0091-0092]). Min further discloses that an outer edge (circumferential surface) of the cover board (cap, 40) is clamped in the U-shaped groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 7b, [0092]). Min further discloses that an outer diameter of the housing (20) ranges from 40mm to 50mm (Figure 7b, [0142]).
Min is deficient in disclosing 1) that a ratio of an area of a crimped portion of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing ranges from 0.05 to 0.5; and 2) that a diameter of a large-diameter end of the first counterbore ranges from 2.4mm to 14mm, an inner ring diameter of the second counterbore ranges from 2.1mm to 11mm, and an outer ring diameter of the second counterbore ranges from 2.4mm to 14mm.
Regarding 1), Kwon discloses a battery (cylinder type battery cell, 200) comprising a housing (metal can, 210) including a side wall (wall of metal can, 210, wherein beading portion, 212, is formed) (Figures 2 and 5, [0067]). Kwon further discloses that the side wall (wall of metal can, 210, wherein beading portion, 212, is formed) of the housing (metal can, 210) comprises a crimping portion (201) which fixes a cap assembly (220) to the housing (metal can, 210) (Figure 5, [0013, 0074]). Kwon further discloses that the crimping portion (201) includes a flat section (213), and the flat section (213) has a length which is approximately 5% to 20% of the diameter of the housing (metal can, 210) (Figure 5, [0031, 0076]). Kwon further teaches that when the size of the flat section (213) of the crimping portion (201) is within the above range (5% to 20% of the diameter of the metal can, 210), the battery (cylinder type battery cell, 200) remains structurally secure and reduces the likelihood of a short-circuiting event [0032-0033].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the crimped portion (forming the U-shaped groove) of the housing of Min to have a flat portion with a length between 5% and 20% of the diameter of the battery housing, in order to provide a crimped portion which secures the cover board to the housing in a manner which is structurally secure and reduces the chances of a short-circuiting event, as taught by Kwon. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
The examiner notes that the terms “an area” and “a cross section” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art.
As such, upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there are multiple possible embodiments of modified Min which possess a ratio of an area of a crimped portion of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing ranges from 0.05 to 0.5. For example, the cross section across the x direction (as shown in Figure 1 of Min, i.e., looking “down” at the top of the battery (1) from above) may be selected as “a cross section”. Likewise, a total area of the flat portion of modified Min may be selected as “an area” of a crimped portion of the housing. Furthermore, the entire area of the housing in the cross section detailed above may be selected as “an area” of a cross section of the housing. In such a case, assuming for example that the diameter of the battery is 40mm, and the flat portion is 10% of the diameter of the battery (i.e., 4mm), the ratio as defined about would be ~0.1. Thus, upon the above modification, the limitation of Claim 18 requiring that a ratio of an area of a crimped portion of the housing to an area of a cross section of the housing ranges from 0.05 to 0.5, is met.
Regarding 2), Sakae discloses a battery (battery cell, 2) comprising an output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) (Figure 1, [0040]). Sakae further discloses that the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) has a top end diameter (outer diameter of base portion, 12) which is between 5mm and 25mm (Figure 3, [0037]). Sakae further discloses that the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) has a bottom end inner diameter (diameter of thread portion, 13) which is between 4mm and 12mm (Figure 3, [0037]). Sakae further discloses that the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) includes a bottom end outer diameter (outer diameter of nut, 21) (Figure 3, [0041]).
The skilled artisan would appreciate that from Figure 3 of Sakae, it can be seen that the bottom end outer diameter (outer diameter of nut, 21) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) is substantially the same as the top end diameter (outer diameter of base portion, 12) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) (~5mm to ~25mm) (Figure 3).
The examiner notes that terms such as “top” and “bottom” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the battery relative to one another within the battery. The particular orientation of the battery does not provide any structural limitations to the battery itself.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05 I). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the dimensions of the counterbores of modified Min, between 5mm and 25mm for the diameter of the first counterbore, between 5mm and 25mm for the outer diameter of the second counterbore, and between 4mm and 12mm for the inner diameter of the second counterbore, as such dimensions are known in the art as suitable relative dimensions for a top end diameter, bottom end outer diameter, and bottom end inner diameter of an output terminal of a battery, as taught by Sakae. Furthermore, it has been held that changes in size of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
The examiner notes that although Sakae does not explicitly state that the bottom end outer diameter (outer diameter of nut, 21) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1) is substantially the same as the top end diameter (outer diameter of base portion, 12) of the output terminal (electrode terminal, 1), nor state that the figures are drawn to scale, the skilled artisan would naturally look to the figures to inform the selection of the relative dimensions of the various terminal components for optimization purposes when reviewing the disclosure of Sakae. As such, upon the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 18 are met.
Annotated Figure 7b (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
Annotated Figure 2 (Shimozono JP 2004014173 A)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are mostly persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Min et al. (US 2024/0128590 A1), Shimozono et al. (JP 2004014173 A), Yoshida et al. (US 2016/0372722 A1), Kwon et al. (US 2019/0148683 A1), Haraguchi et al. (US 2021/0203047 A1), Won et al. (US 2024/0266693 A1), and Sakae (US 2012/0315807 A1).
The Applicant argues that Min et al. (US 2024/0128590 A1) alone fails to address all of the newly added limitations of amended Claim 1. The Applicant specifically argues that Min fails to disclose that the output terminal (terminal, 60) passing through the through hole (see annotated Figure 7b below) has a uniform diameter, and that a bottom end of the output terminal (terminal, 60) extending beyond the terminal insulation part (gasket, G) has a circumferentially recessed second countersunk hole.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with part of the Applicant’s above argument. As detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, the terms “a part” and “a uniform diameter” as written are broad limitations and are subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of the prior art. Therefore, while Min does not explicitly disclose that a part of the output terminal (terminal, 60) that passes through the through hole (see annotated Figure 7b below) has a uniform diameter, the skilled artisan would appreciate that such a limitation is necessarily met by the disclosure of Min. For example, the skilled artisan could consider a small area of the output terminal (terminal, 60) which passes through the through hole (see annotated Figure 7b below) as a part, and select for a uniform diameter, the diameter of the output terminal (terminal, 60) in a singular cross-sectional plane of that small area, which would indeed be uniform.
The examiner agrees with the Applicant regarding the disclosure of Min, when taken alone as in the previous 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of Claim 1, fails to teach the new limitation of amended Claim 1 requiring that a bottom end of the output terminal (terminal, 60) extending beyond the terminal insulation part (gasket, G) has a circumferentially recessed second countersunk hole.
However, a new grounds of rejection is made above in view of Min et al. (US 2024/0128590 A1), Shimozono et al. (JP 2004014173 A), and Yoshida et al. (US 2016/0372722 A1) to address all of the limitations of amended Claim 1.
Annotated Figure 7b (Min US 2024/0128590 A1)
The Applicant further argues that Shimozono et al. (JP 2004014173 A) fails to teach that the terminal (terminal, 60) is circumferentially recessed at the bottom end extending beyond the terminal insulator (gasket, G).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, Min discloses a battery (1), comprising: a housing (20), wherein a top wall (first electrode terminal, 20a) of the housing (20) is provided with a through hole (see annotated Figure 7b below), and a bottom (see annotated Figure 7b below) of the housing (20) is provided with an open end (open portion) (Figures 2 and 7b, [0069, 0089, 0123-0124]). Min further discloses an output terminal (terminal, 60), wherein the output terminal (terminal, 60) is sealed and insulated in the through hole (see annotated Figure 7b below) via a terminal insulation part (gasket, G), and the output terminal (terminal, 60) is connected to the first current collector plate (second current collector, 70) (Figure 7b, [0126-0127, 0134]).
Min is deficient in disclosing that a top of the output terminal is provided with a first counterbore in a taper shape, and a part of the bottom wall of the output terminal that extends beyond the terminal insulation part is circumferentially provided with a second counterbore that is recessed inward.
Shimozono discloses a battery (nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery) comprising an output terminal (rivet terminal, 7) (Figures 2 and 3, [0020], p.9, line 21- p.10, line 8). Shimozono further discloses that a top of the output terminal (rivet terminal, 7) is provided with a first counterbore (cylindrical inner hole, see annotated Figure 2 below) in a taper shape, and part of a bottom wall (see annotated Figure 2 below) of the output terminal (rivet terminal, 7) is circumferentially provided with a second counterbore (cylindrical inner hole, see annotated Figure 2 below) in a ring shape which is recessed inward (Figure 2, p.2, line 16- p.3, line 2). Shimozono further disclose that such a configuration of an output terminal (rivet terminal, 7) allows the output terminal (rivet terminal, 7) to be connected to and reliably fixed to the surrounding components (terminal block, 9, sealing materials, 4, etc.) of the battery (nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery) (Figure 2, p.4, lines 9-11).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the output terminal of Min to have a first counterbore in a taper shape provided in a top of the output terminal and a second counterbore circumferentially provided and recessed inward at a bottom wall of the output terminal, as such a configuration is known in the art as suitable for use as an output terminal for a battery, as taught by Shimozono. By making the above modification the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing an output terminal which is able to be reliably connected and fixed to the battery components surrounding the output terminal, as taught by Shimozono, and thus improving overall reliability of the battery. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
The examiner also refers to the note under “Claim Interpretation” regarding the phrase “circumferentially provided” in Claim 1 (reproduced below).
Claim 1 recites “a part of the bottom wall of the output terminal…is circumferentially provided with a second counterbore that is recessed inward” in lines 16-17. The standard definition of the term “circumferentially” is “denoting or relating to the circumference of a curved geometric figure”. No special definition is provided by the instant application. It appears from instant Figures 1 and 5 that the term “circumferentially” is referring to a shape having a circumference, and does not require that the second counterbore is present at an outer circumference of the output terminal, as it appears the second counterbore of the instant application is formed in a central position on the bottom surface of the output terminal. For purposes of examination, the standard definition of the term “circumferentially” will be used when considering the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.E.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724