DETAILED ACTION
Status
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 12/17/2025. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-11, and 19-20 are currently amended. Claim 5 is canceled. Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are pending review in this action. The previous objections regarding the claims are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to the claims. The previous 35 U.S.C. 102 and U.S.C. 103 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 1, 19, and 20, however the use of the previously cited prior art has been upheld as reading on the claims. Updated rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are detailed below.
Claim Interpretation
In Claims 2, 6, 10, and 11, the term “welding mark” is structurally undefined by the instant application and does not appear to be a common term in the art. The instant application merely states that the welding mark is formed after welding the negative electrode current collector disk [0054]. The examiner notes that as the instant specification has not further defined the structure of the welding mark, for purposes of examination the term “welding mark” will be subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation when reviewing the prior art and will be interpreted as the surface area of the negative electrode current collector disk which is welded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US 2024/0266690 A1)
Regarding Claim 20, Lim discloses a battery pack (3), comprising at least one group of a battery module (see annotated Figure 18 below), wherein the battery module (see annotated Figure 18 below) comprises a battery (cylindrical battery, 1), the battery (cylindrical battery, 1) comprises: a housing (battery housing, 20); and a negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) disposed inside the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figures 7 and 18, [0143, 0145, 0162, 0216]). Lim further discloses that the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) is welded with the housing (battery housing, 20) via the welding of the house coupling portion (33) of the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) with the beading portion (21) of the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 7, [0151, 0156, 0163]). Lim further discloses that the welding of the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) with the housing (battery housing, 20) occurs inside the housing (battery housing, 20) before the housing (battery housing, 20) is sealed (Figure 7, [0180]). Lim further discloses that the battery (cylindrical battery, 1) comprises a sealing element (cap plate, 40), wherein a first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) and a second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) communicated with each other are sequentially defined at and recessed from a sealing end (end wherein cap plate, 40, resides) of the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 6, [0143, 0151]). Lim further discloses that the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) is bent towards inside of the housing (battery housing, 20), and the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) is bent towards outside of the housing (battery housing, 20), the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) is welded with the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) (Figure 6, [0151-0152, 0163]). Lim further discloses that the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) comprises a first rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below), a first bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below), and a second rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) connected in sequence (Figure 6). Lim further discloses that the second rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) is disposed opposite to the first rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below). Lim further discloses that the first bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below) is welded with the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) and is oriented along a height direction (up and down page in Figure 6) of the housing (battery housing, 20), and a portion of the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) that is welded to the first bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below) is oriented along the height direction (up and down page in Figure 6) of the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 6, [0163]).
Annotated Figure 18 (Lim US 2024/0266690 A1)
Annotated Figure 6 (Lim US 2024/0266690 A1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2024/0266690 A1) further in view of Wu (US 2009/0311583 A1).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Lim discloses a battery (cylindrical battery, 1), comprising: a housing (battery housing, 20); and a negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) disposed inside the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 6, [0143, 0145, 0162]). Lim further discloses that the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) is welded with the housing (battery housing, 20) via the welding of the house coupling portion (33) of the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) with the beading portion (21) of the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 6, [0151, 0156, 0163]). Lim further discloses that the welding of the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) with the housing (battery housing, 20) occurs inside the housing (battery housing, 20) before the housing (battery housing, 20) is sealed (Figure 6, [0180]). Lim further discloses that the battery (cylindrical battery, 1) comprises a sealing element (cap plate, 40), wherein a first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) and a second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) communicated with each other are sequentially defined at and recessed from a sealing end (end wherein cap plate, 40, resides) of the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 6, [0143, 0151]). Lim further discloses that the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) is bent towards inside of the housing (battery housing, 20), and the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) is bent towards outside of the housing (battery housing, 20), the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) is welded with the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) (Figure 6, [0151-0152, 0163]). Lim further discloses that the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) comprises a first rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below), a first bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below), and a second rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) connected in sequence (Figure 6). Lim further discloses that the second rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) is disposed opposite to the first rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below). Lim further discloses that the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) comprises a third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below), a second bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below), and a fourth rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) connected in sequence (Figure 6). Lim further discloses that the third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) is connected with the second rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below), and the third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) is disposed opposite to the first rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below). Lim further discloses that the fourth rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) is disposed opposite to the third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below). Lim further discloses that the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) and the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) serve to compress a gasket (G1) and seal the battery (cylindrical battery, 1) (Figure 6, [0017, 0153]). Lim further discloses that the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) is welded with the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 6, [0163]).
From Annotated Figure 6 of Lim (see below), it can be seen that each of the second rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) and the third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) include a “flat” portion which connect to one another, and a small “bent” portion which connects to the first bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below) and the second bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below), respectively. As such, it can be clearly seen that the top (uppermost) surfaces of the second rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) and the third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) have a height difference along a height direction (up and down page in Figure 6) of the housing (battery housing, 20) (see annotated Figure 6 below).
The examiner notes that the term “a height difference” as written is a broad limitation and is subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art.
Lim is deficient in disclosing that a welding step is provided at a connection position of the second rolling groove edge and the third rolling groove edge, and the negative electrode current collector disk is lap-jointed and welded with the welding step.
Wu discloses a battery (cell, 10) comprising a housing (container, 14), the housing (container, 14) comprising a first rolling groove (upper wall, 218, transition segment, 222, and lower wall, 220) and a second rolling groove (upper wall, 218, and upper sidewall, 226) and possessing an opening which is sealed with a positive contact terminal (232) and seal member (240) (Figures 1 and 4, [0037-0039, 0065]). Wu further discloses that the first rolling groove (upper wall, 218, transition segment, 222, and lower wall, 220) and the second rolling groove (upper wall, 218, and upper sidewall, 226) share a wall (upper wall, 218), and that the wall (upper wall, 218) is inclined upwards towards the center of the battery (cell, 10) (Figure 4, [0065]). Wu further discloses that the first rolling groove (upper wall, 218, transition segment, 222, and lower wall, 220) and the second rolling groove serve (upper wall, 218, and upper sidewall, 226) to compress the seal member (240) to achieve a satisfactory seal (Figure 4, [0043, 0065]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the first rolling groove of Lim to have a lower wall (i.e., second rolling groove edge/third rolling groove edge) which is angled to be inclined upwards towards the center of the battery, as such a configuration is taught by Wu to be useful in providing a satisfactory seal of the battery. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) comprises what may be considered a welding step, wherein the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) is lap-jointed and welded with the welding step. Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 6 (Lim US 2024/0266690 A1)
Annotated Figure 6 (Lim US 2024/0266690 A1)
In Regards to Claim 2 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Lim further discloses that the sealing element (cap plate, 40) is accommodated in the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) to seal an opening of the housing (battery housing, 20), and to seal a welding mark (area of first current collecting plate, 30, which is welded) of the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) and the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) inside the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 6, [0153, 0176]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
In Regards to Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 2 as set forth above. Lim further discloses that the sealing element (cap plate, 40) is accommodated between the third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 above) and the fourth rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 above) (Figure 6, [0176]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
In Regards to Claim 4 (Dependent Upon Claim 3):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 3 as set forth above. Lim further discloses that the first bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 above) is welded with the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) (Figure 6, [0163]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
In Regards to Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 3):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 3 as set forth above. Although Lim doesn’t explicitly disclose the height of the welding mark (area of first current collecting plate, 30, which is welded), the skilled artisan would appreciate that as the welding mark (area of first current collecting plate, 30, which is welded) is essentially just a surface (meaning it has no “thickness”), it would not possess a “height”. Therefore, a depth of the welding step is necessarily greater than a height of the welding mark formed after welding the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
In Regards to Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 3):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 3 as set forth above. Lim further discloses a first sealing ring (gasket, G1), sleeved at an outer periphery of the sealing element (cap plate, 40), and sandwiched between the sealing element (cap plate, 40) and the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 6, [0178]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
In Regards to Claim 8 (Dependent Upon Claim 7):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 7 as set forth above. Lim further discloses that the first sealing ring (gasket, G1) is provided with a protective tongue (lower surface of gasket, G1) extending towards a central direction of the housing (battery housing, 20)], and wherein the protective tongue (lower surface of gasket, G1) is located between the sealing element (cap plate, 40) and the welding step (Figure 6, [0178]).
As discussed above in the section titled “Claim Interpretation”, the skilled artisan would appreciate that as the welding mark (area of first current collecting plate, 30, which is welded) is essentially just a surface (meaning it has no “thickness”) which is present on the lower surface of the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) (Figure 6). As such, the protective tongue (lower surface of gasket, G1) and the welding mark formed after welding the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) are spaced from each other with the thickness of the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) intervening. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
In Regards to Claim 9 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Lim further discloses that the sealing element (cap plate, 40) is accommodated in the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) to seal an opening of the housing (battery housing, 20), and to seal a welding mark (area of first current collecting plate, 30, which is welded) of the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) and the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) inside the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 6, [0153, 0176]).Lim further discloses that the sealing element (cap plate, 40) is accommodated between the third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 above) and the fourth rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 above) (Figure 6, [0176]).
The instant specification defines “penetration of the welding position of the first rolling groove” as increasing the thickness of the housing by welding [0071]. Therefore, although Lim doesn’t explicitly disclose that the welding mark (area of first current collecting plate, 30, which is welded) formed by welding the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) and the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) is designed not to penetrate a welding position of the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21), the skilled artisan would appreciate that as the welding mark (area of first current collecting plate, 30, which is welded) is essentially just a surface (meaning it has no “thickness”), it would not increase the thickness of the housing (battery housing, 20). As such, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
In Regards to Claim 10 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Lim further discloses that the sealing element (cap plate, 40) is accommodated in the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) to seal an opening of the housing (battery housing, 20), and to seal a welding mark (area of first current collecting plate, 30, which is welded) of the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) and the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) inside the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 6, [0153, 0176]). Lim further discloses that the sealing element (cap plate, 40) is an explosion-proof sheet (i.e., is capable of rupturing when internal pressure exceeds a threshold pressure) (Figure 6, [0181]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 10 are met.
In Regards to Claim 11 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Lim further discloses that the sealing element (cap plate, 40) is accommodated in the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) to seal an opening of the housing (battery housing, 20), and to seal a welding mark (area of first current collecting plate, 30, which is welded) of the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) and the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) inside the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 6, [0153, 0176]). Lim further discloses that the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) comprises: a tab connector (tab coupling portion, 32); and a housing connector (housing coupling portion, 33) connected with the tab connector (tab coupling portion, 32), and welded with the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) (Figure 9, [0156, 0163]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 11 are met.
In Regards to Claim 12 (Dependent Upon Claim 11):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 11 as set forth above. Lim further discloses a buffer ripple (bending portion, B) is defined on the housing connector (housing coupling portion, 33) (Figures 8 and 9, [0166]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 12 are met.
In Regards to Claim 13 (Dependent Upon Claim 11):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 11 as set forth above. Lim further discloses a battery cell (electrode assembly, 300) disposed inside the housing (battery housing, 20) and located above the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) (Figure 7, [0155]). Lim further discloses that the tab connector (tab coupling portion, 32) is electrically connected with the first electrode tab (11) of the battery cell (electrode assembly, 300) (Figure 7, [0150, 0156]). Lim further discloses that a plurality of battery cell avoidance grooves (see annotated Figure 9 below) are defined at intervals on an outer peripheral wall of the tab connector (tab coupling portion, 32), and that a tab extending end (see annotated Figure 9 below) is sandwiched and formed between two adjacent ones of the battery cell avoidance grooves (see annotated Figure 9 below). Lim further discloses that an isolation space is defined between the tab extending end (see annotated Figure 9 below) and the outer peripheral edge of the battery cell (electrode assembly, 300) (Figure 7). Lim further discloses that a side of each of the plurality of battery cell avoidance grooves (see annotated Figure 9 below) away from the battery cell (electrode assembly, 300) is opposite provided with the housing connector (housing coupling portion, 33) (see annotated Figure 9 below).
The examiner notes that terms such as “above” and “below” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the battery relative to one another within the battery. The particular orientation of the battery does not provide any structural limitations to the battery itself. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 13 are met.
Annotated Figure 9 (Lim US 2024/0266690 A1)
In Regards to Claim 14 (Dependent Upon Claim 13):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 13 as set forth above. Lim further discloses that the outer peripheral wall of the tab connector (tab coupling portion, 32) is punched and bent towards a direction away from the battery cell (electrode assembly, 300) to form the housing connector (housing coupling portion, 33), so that the plurality of battery cell avoidance grooves (see annotated Figure 9 above) are defined in a direction of the housing connector (housing coupling portion, 33) towards the battery cell (electrode assembly, 300) (Figures 7 and 9, [0166]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 14 are met.
In Regards to Claim 15 (Dependent Upon Claim 13):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 13 as set forth above. Lim further discloses that a reinforcing bump (connection portion, 33b) is formed on a side of the tab connector (tab coupling portion, 32) towards the sealing element (cap plate, 40) (Figure 9, [0164]).
Although Lim does not explicitly disclose that a height of the reinforcing bump (connection portion, 33b) in a direction close to the sealing element (cap plate, 40) is lower than a height of the housing connector (housing coupling portion, 33) in a direction close to the sealing element (cap plate, 40), the skilled artisan would appreciate that a height of the reinforcing bump (connection portion, 33b) in a direction close to the sealing element (cap plate, 40) is necessarily lower than a height of the housing connector (housing coupling portion, 33) in a direction close to the sealing element (cap plate, 40) as the reinforcing bump (connection portion, 33b) is only one portion of the housing connector (housing coupling portion, 33) (Figure 9). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 15 are met.
In Regards to Claim 18 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Lim further discloses that the material of the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) may be copper or (stainless) steel Figure 9, [0309]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 18 are met.
In Regards to Claim 19:
Lim discloses a battery module (battery pack, 3), comprising a battery (cylindrical battery, 1), wherein the battery (cylindrical battery, 1) comprises: a housing (battery housing, 20); and a negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) disposed inside the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figures 7 and 18, [0143, 0145, 0162, 0216]). Lim further discloses that the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) is welded with the housing (battery housing, 20) via the welding of the house coupling portion (33) of the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) with the beading portion (21) of the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 7, [0151, 0156, 0163]). Lim further discloses that the welding of the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) with the housing (battery housing, 20) occurs inside the housing (battery housing, 20) before the housing (battery housing, 20) is sealed (Figure 7, [0180]). Lim further discloses that the battery (cylindrical battery, 1) comprises a sealing element (cap plate, 40), wherein a first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) and a second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) communicated with each other are sequentially defined at and recessed from a sealing end (end wherein cap plate, 40, resides) of the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 6, [0143, 0151]). Lim further discloses that the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) is bent towards inside of the housing (battery housing, 20), and the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) is bent towards outside of the housing (battery housing, 20), the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) is welded with the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) (Figure 6, [0151-0152, 0163]). Lim further discloses that the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) comprises a first rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below), a first bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below), and a second rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) connected in sequence (Figure 6). Lim further discloses that the second rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) is disposed opposite to the first rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below). Lim further discloses that the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) comprises a third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below), a second bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below), and a fourth rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) connected in sequence (Figure 6). Lim further discloses that the third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) is connected with the second rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below), and the third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) is disposed opposite to the first rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below). Lim further discloses that the fourth rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) is disposed opposite to the third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below). Lim further discloses that the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) and the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) serve to compress a gasket (G1) and seal the battery (cylindrical battery, 1) (Figure 6, [0017, 0153]). Lim further discloses that the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) is welded with the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 6, [0163]).
From Annotated Figure 6 of Lim (see below), it can be seen that each of the second rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) and the third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) include a “flat” portion which connect to one another, and a small “bent” portion which connects to the first bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below) and the second bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below), respectively. As such, it can be clearly seen that the top (uppermost) surfaces of the second rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) and the third rolling groove edge (see annotated Figure 6 below) have a height difference along a height direction (up and down page in Figure 6) of the housing (battery housing, 20) (see annotated Figure 6 below).
The examiner notes that the term “a height difference” as written is a broad limitation and is subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art.
Lim is deficient in disclosing that a welding step is provided at a connection position of the second rolling groove edge and the third rolling groove edge, and the negative electrode current collector disk is lap-jointed and welded with the welding step.
Wu discloses a battery (cell, 10) comprising a housing (container, 14), the housing (container, 14) comprising a first rolling groove (upper wall, 218, transition segment, 222, and lower wall, 220) and a second rolling groove (upper wall, 218, and upper sidewall, 226) and possessing an opening which is sealed with a positive contact terminal (232) and seal member (240) (Figures 1 and 4, [0037-0039, 0065]). Wu further discloses that the first rolling groove (upper wall, 218, transition segment, 222, and lower wall, 220) and the second rolling groove (upper wall, 218, and upper sidewall, 226) share a wall (upper wall, 218), and that the wall (upper wall, 218) is inclined upwards towards the center of the battery (cell, 10) (Figure 4, [0065]). Wu further discloses that the first rolling groove (upper wall, 218, transition segment, 222, and lower wall, 220) and the second rolling groove serve (upper wall, 218, and upper sidewall, 226) to compress the seal member (240) to achieve a satisfactory seal (Figure 4, [0043, 0065]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the first rolling groove of Lim to have a lower wall (i.e., second rolling groove edge/third rolling groove edge) which is angled to be inclined upwards towards the center of the battery, as such a configuration is taught by Wu to be useful in providing a satisfactory seal of the battery. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) comprises what may be considered a welding step, wherein the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) is lap-jointed and welded with the welding step. Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 19 are met.
Annotated Figure 6 (Lim US 2024/0266690 A1)
Annotated Figure 6 (Lim US 2024/0266690 A
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2024/0266690 A1) as modified by Wu (US 2009/0311583 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Mark (US 2019/0273266 A1).
In Regards to Claim 16 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Lim as modified by Wu discloses the battery of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Lim is silent to the material of the housing.
Mark discloses a battery (cell, 100) comprising a housing (can, 102), wherein the material of the housing (can, 102) may be a low carbon steel plated with nickel (Figure 2, [0014, 0016]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the material of the housing of Lim, the low carbon steel with nickel plating as disclosed by Mark, as such a material is known in the art as suitable for the housing material of a battery, as taught by Mark. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 16 are met.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2024/0266690 A1) as modified by Wu (US 2009/0311583 A1) and Mark (US 2019/0273266 A1), as applied to Claim 16 above, and further in view Takahashi et al. (US 2021/0269929 A1).
In Regards to Claim 17 (Dependent Upon Claim 16):
Lim as modified by Wu and Mark discloses the battery of Claim 16 as set forth above.
Modified Lim is silent to the thickness of the nickel plating layer.
Takahashi discloses a steel sheet which may be used to form a housing (can) for a battery, wherein the steel sheet may possess a nickel plated layer [0011]. Takahashi further discloses that the thickness of the nickel plated layer may be between 0.5 µm and 2 µm [0011].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the thickness of the nickel plated layer of modified Lim, a thickness between 0.5 µm and 2 µm, as Takahashi discloses that such a thickness is suitable for a nickel plating layer formed on a steel substrate which will be used as a housing for a battery. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above selection, all of the limitations of Claim 17 are met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the first rolling groove (upper wall, 218, transition segment, 222, and lower wall, 220) and second rolling groove (upper wall, 218, and upper sidewall, 226) of Wu (Figures 1 and 4, [0037-0039, 0065]) are directed to a configuration related to a positive electrode current collector disk rather than a negative electrode current collector disk, and thus the skilled artisan would not look to Wu to support a modification to Lim et al. (US 2024/0266690 A1) regarding a configuration related to a negative electrode current collector disk.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, Lim discloses a battery (cylindrical battery, 1), comprising: a housing (battery housing, 20); and a negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) disposed inside the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 6, [0143, 0145, 0162]). Lim further discloses that the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) is welded with the housing (battery housing, 20) via the welding of the house coupling portion (33) of the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) with the beading portion (21) of the housing (battery housing, 20) (Figure 6, [0151, 0156, 0163]). Lim further discloses that the first rolling groove (beading portion, 21) and the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) serve to compress a gasket (G1) and seal the battery (cylindrical battery, 1) (Figure 6, [0017, 0153]). Lim further discloses that the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) is welded with the second rolling groove (crimping portion, 22) (Figure 6, [0163]).
Wu discloses a battery (cell, 10) comprising a housing (container, 14), the housing (container, 14) comprising a first rolling groove (upper wall, 218, transition segment, 222, and lower wall, 220) and a second rolling groove (upper wall, 218, and upper sidewall, 226) and possessing an opening which is sealed with a positive contact terminal (232) and seal member (240) (Figures 1 and 4, [0037-0039, 0065]). Wu further discloses that the first rolling groove (upper wall, 218, transition segment, 222, and lower wall, 220) and the second rolling groove (upper wall, 218, and upper sidewall, 226) share a wall (upper wall, 218), and that the wall (upper wall, 218) is inclined upwards towards the center of the battery (cell, 10) (Figure 4, [0065]). Wu further discloses that the first rolling groove (upper wall, 218, transition segment, 222, and lower wall, 220) and the second rolling groove serve (upper wall, 218, and upper sidewall, 226) to compress the seal member (240) to achieve a satisfactory seal (Figure 4, [0043, 0065]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the first rolling groove of Lim to have a lower wall (i.e., second rolling groove edge/third rolling groove edge) which is angled to be inclined upwards towards the center of the battery, as such a configuration is taught by Wu to be useful in providing a satisfactory seal of the battery. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
The skilled artisan would appreciate that the modification does not alter the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) of Lim such that it is a positive electrode current collector disk. Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that structurally, a positive electrode current collector and negative electrode current collector are analogous at least to the extent that the structural teachings of Wu regarding a positive electrode current collector may be reasonably applied to the negative electrode current collector of Lim.
The Applicant further argues that the first bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below) of Lim and the house coupling portion (33) of the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) are not oriented along the height direction (up and down page in Figure 6) of the housing (container, 14).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As can be seen from Annotated Figure 6 below, the first bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below) is welded to the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) and is oriented along a height direction (up and down page in Figure 6) of the housing (container, 14) (Figure 6, [0163]). Likewise, at least a portion (house coupling portion, 33) of the negative electrode current collector disk (first current collecting plate, 30) that is welded to the first bent groove wall (see annotated Figure 6 below) is oriented along a height direction (up and down page in Figure 6) of the housing (container, 14) (Figure 6).
Annotated Figure 6 (Lim US 2024/0266690 A1)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.E.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724