DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feng (CN Publication 114628866).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, 12 and 13, Feng discloses a cylindrical battery comprising: a housing 21 holding a winding core 1 (roll core), a terminal post 22 (pole) at the bottom of the housing, and a first current collecting plate 3 that is welded to the winding core, wherein the first current collecting plate comprises welding parts 31 evenly distributed around the center of the main body part of the busbar (Paragraphs 0057, 0067 and Fig. 13). Feng also discloses that the welding part is formed by punching the busbar 3, which shows that the welding parts are bent relative to the main part of the plate.
As to claims 4 and 14, Feng teaches that the areas of the main body part of the busbar surrounding the welding parts are gaps 32 that is used for electrolyte penetration (Paragraph 0067).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Feng shows in Fig. 1 that the center part of the busbar 3 lines up with the terminal post 22 and teaches that the other end of the terminal post has a pole post step 222 and through hole 221 (recess part) (Paragraph 0063-0064 and Fig. 7).
As to claims 9 and 15, Feng discloses that a hollow structural component 7 (support component) can be inserted into the central boss of the second busbar and inserted into the hollow center of the winding core for positioning the core, busbar and terminal post together, wherein the other end of the winding core connects with the busbar 3 (Paragraph 0071 and Fig. 2).
Feng teaches every limitation of claims 1-6, 9 and 12-15 of the present invention and thus anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN Publication 114628866) in view of Takahashi (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0149442).
The teachings of Feng have been discussed in paragraph 3 above.
Feng fails to disclose that an area S1 of the central part ranges from 600-85 mm2, and a total area S2 of the welding part ranges from 650-700 m2, wherein a relationship between the two satisfies 0.085 S2 ≤S1 ≤ 0.13 S2.
Takahashi discloses a cylindrical battery comprising: a wound electrode body 20 inside an exterior can 11, and current collecting plates 24 and 25 used to connect the electrode body to the can (Paragraphs 0052, 0065). Takahashi also discloses that the diameter of a through hole 26 through the center of the wound electrode body can be 4.2 mm and the diameter of the battery can be 21 mm (Paragraphs 0097, 0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the size of the current collector plate, and thus the areas of the plate, would depend on the size of the battery. Takahashi is an example of a cylindrical battery with a common size having a through hole diameter that can be adjusted to result in an area of 55.42 mm2. Since the central portion of the current collector plate of Feng lines up with the area of the through hole of the wound electrode body, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the central portion of the current collector plate of Feng could have an area in the range of 55 mm2. The area of the welding part would then depend on the diameter/size of the battery being formed, being the area of the battery minus the central portion area. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the current collector of Feng would satisfy 0.085 S2 ≤ S1 ≤ 0.13 S2 because Feng shows in Fig. 13 that the area of the central portion is much smaller than the outer portion while Takahashi teaches that the size of the through hole of the wound electrode assembly can be adjusted, which would result in adjustment of the central part of the current collector of Feng.
Claim(s) 8, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN Publication 114628866) in view of Takahashi (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0149442) and Fang (WO Publication 2023-023917, U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0402684 will be used as an English translation).
The teachings of Feng have been discussed in paragraph 3 above.
Feng fails to disclose that an area S1 of the central part ranges from 600-85 mm2, and a total area S2 of the welding part ranges from 650-700 m2, wherein a relationship between the two satisfies 0.085 S2 ≤S1 ≤ 0.13 S2, that the insulating component is sleeved on the terminal post and formed between the housing and busbar so that there is a gap between the busbar and insulating component, and that the diameter of the bottom portion of the terminal post is 3-8 mm, and a thickness d1 of the bottom portion is 0.8-1.5 mm, wherein a relationship between the thickness d2 of the current collecting plate and d1 satisfies 0.3 d1 ≤ d2 ≤ d1.
Takahashi discloses a cylindrical battery comprising: a wound electrode body 20 inside an exterior can 11, and current collecting plates 24 and 25 used to connect the electrode body to the can (Paragraphs 0052, 0065). Regarding claims 8, 17, 19 and 20, Takahashi teaches that the diameter of a through hole 26 through the center of the wound electrode body can be 4.2 mm and the diameter of the battery can be 21 mm (Paragraphs 0097, 0103).
Fang discloses a cylindrical battery comprising: an electrode assembly in a housing, a terminal above a hole in the upper housing, and a current collecting member used to connect the terminal to the electrode assembly (Paragraph 0006). Regarding claims 19 and 20, Fang teaches that an insulating member 70 and a seal ring 80 are placed between the cover 22 of the housing and the current collecting member 40 to insulate the two from one another and that these members sleeve the terminal (Paragraphs 0264, 0265, 0270 and Fig. 9). As to claims 8, 17 and 20, Fang discloses that the terminal has a connecting portion 32 (penetration layer) at the bottom of the terminal inside of the housing, wherein the connecting portion has a thickness of 0.5 to 10 mm (Paragraphs 0223, 0229 and Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the size of the current collector plate, and thus the areas of the plate, would depend on the size of the battery. Takahashi is an example of a cylindrical battery with a common size having a through hole diameter that can be adjusted to result in an area of 55.42 mm2. Since the central portion of the current collector plate of Feng lines up with the area of the through hole of the wound electrode body, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the central portion of the current collector plate of Feng could have an area in the range of 55 mm2. The area of the welding part would then depend on the diameter/size of the battery being formed, being the area of the battery minus the central portion area. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the current collector of Feng would satisfy 0.085 S2 ≤ S1 ≤ 0.13 S2 because Feng shows in Fig. 13 that the area of the central portion is much smaller than the outer portion while Takahashi teaches that the size of the through hole of the wound electrode assembly can be adjusted, which would result in adjustment of the central part of the current collector of Feng. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the diameter of the penetration layer (terminal inner bottom portion) could have a diameter of 3-8 mm because Feng shows that this portion only extends a small amount across the diameter of the battery and could easily fall in this range depending on the size of the battery. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the thickness of the current collector plate of Feng is smaller than the thickness of the penetration layer based on Fig. 4. Additionally, Fang teaches that the thickness of the penetration layer can be adjusted by changing the depth of the depression, which could be done so that the thickness of the current collector plate is greater than a third of the penetration layer. Finally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the insulating member of Feng could be formed to be sleeved around the terminal post in the manner of Fang so that a gap is formed between the insulating member and busbar because Fang teaches that this efficiently covers the electrically conductive portions of the battery from one another to prevent a short circuit.
Claim(s) 10, 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN Publication 114628866) in view of Fang (WO Publication 2023-023917, U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0402684 will be used as an English translation).
The teachings of Feng have been discussed in paragraph 3 above. Regarding claims 10 and 18, Feng teaches an insulating component 24 on the inside of the housing 21 used to isolate the busbar 4 from the housing (Paragraph 0057).
Feng fails to disclose that the insulating component is sleeved on the terminal post and formed between the housing and busbar so that there is a gap between the busbar and insulating component.
Fang discloses a cylindrical battery comprising: an electrode assembly in a housing, a terminal above a hole in the upper housing, and a current collecting member used to connect the terminal to the electrode assembly (Paragraph 0006). Regarding claims 10 and 18, Fang teaches that an insulating member 70 and a seal ring 80 are placed between the cover 22 of the housing and the current collecting member 40 to insulate the two from one another and that these members sleeve the terminal (Paragraphs 0264, 0265, 0270 and Fig. 9). As to claim 11, Fang shows in Fig. 9 that a connecting portion 32 at the bottom of the terminal creates a gap between the insulating member 70 and the current collecting member 40 (Paragraph 0223).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the insulating member of Feng could be formed to be sleeved around the terminal post in the manner of Fang so that a gap is formed between the insulating member and busbar because Fang teaches that this efficiently covers the electrically conductive portions of the battery from one another to prevent a short circuit.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed on 3/26/2026, have overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections that were presented in the last Office Action. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
9. The terminal disclaimer, filed on 3/26/2026, has overcome the obviousness double patenting rejection that was presented in the last Office Action. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
10. Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/26/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the previously cited prior art references.
Applicants argue that the elastic structure 43 of Feng is not used for welding, but rather the welding protrusion 41 is, which is not bent relative to the main body part. A different current collecting plate 3 is now being relied upon from Feng to show that welding parts 31 are evenly distributed around the center of the main body part of the plate and are punched into the plate. Punching the plate would be a form of bending the plate and thus the welding parts would be bent relative to the plate.
Applicants also argue that the claim language refers to the welding part configured to be bendable relative to the main body part rather than simply an elastic deformation. The claim language would need to be modified to state that the welding parts are bendable because stating that they are bent does not specifically point out this feature.
Conclusion
BRITTANY L. RAYMOND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1722
/BRITTANY L RAYMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722