DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-30 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Remarks/Comments
Prior Art Rejection(s)
The status of the claim(s) in the Non-Final Rejection mailed in light of the prior art of record was as follows: Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 9, 12, 14, 15, 16, 20, 23, 25, 26, 27, 29, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US 20220287011 A1) in view of Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1). Claim(s) 2, 7, 8, 13, 18, 19, 24, and 30 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US 20220287011 A1) in view of Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1) in view of VAIDYA (US 20200044792 A1). Claim(s) 6, 17, and 28, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US 20220287011 A1) in view of Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1) in view of YANG (“US 11304190 B2”). Claim 10-11 and 21-22 were objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Responsive to the prior art rejection(s) claim(s) have further limited the recited “feedback information” such that the feedback information is now “hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information” (See independent claim(s) 1, 12, 23 and 29). Applicants further argue that the prior art of record, LIU (US 20220287011 A1) in view of Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1) fail to render obvious the independent claim(s) in light of the claim amendments, because while Angelopoulos teaching of rateless coding not requiring feedback information, Angelopoulos is silent on hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement.
“However, Angelopoulos's discussion of rateless coding schemes that do not require feedback pertaining to channel estimation and rate adaptation fails to teach or suggest "wherein hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgment information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on the data transmission utilizing the rateless coding scheme," as recited in amended independent claim 1. In particular, Angelopoulos merely describes an inherent property of rateless coding, which is that rate adaptation feedback is not needed because the coding is "rateless". But Angelopoulos fails to describe any implications that rateless coding schemes have for "hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgment information," as claimed. For example, Angelopoulos fails to provide any technical connection between rateless coding schemes and "hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgment information," let alone that "hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgment information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on the data transmission utilizing the rateless coding scheme," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Indeed, Angelopoulos provides no technical connection between the elimination of feedback for channel estimation/rate selection and any impact on "hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgment information for the data transmission." Thus, Angelopoulos does not teach or suggest all the features as recited in amended independent claim 1.”
Applicants additionally argue that LIU’s teaching disabling HARQ based on DCI fields doesn’t teach or suggest a feature for “…hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on the data transmission utilizing the rateless coding scheme...”
“However, disabling HARQ processes based on DCI fields does not teach or suggest that "hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgment information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on the data transmission utilizing the rateless coding scheme," as recited in amended independent claim 1.”
In response to Applicants argument that LIU’s teaching disabling HARQ based on DCI fields doesn’t teach or suggest a feature for “…hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on the data transmission utilizing the rateless coding scheme...” and that Angelopoulos is silent on hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement, Applicants are reminded that In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Thus, even in a case where Angelopoulos is silent on hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement, Angelopoulos teaching of rateless coding not requiring feedback, was introduced to order to motivate the modifying LIU’s transmission feature to use rateless coding and to disable feedback information (i.e. HARQ of LIU) when rateless coding is used. This modification would provide a benefit of addressing problems caused by rapid fluctuations in the quality of a wireless communication channel, according to Angelopoulos ([Par. 8]). Furthermore, Angelopoulos does recognize acknowledgement information as feedback, refer to the following:
“[0105] The first layered scheme estimates the channel quality using feedback information contained in the acknowledgment frames and adjusts the transmission rate every fifth transmitted packet based on a lookup table rate adaptation mechanism. We call this scheme “baseline,” as opposed to the second scheme which we call it “genie-aided” scheme. The rate selection in the genie-aided scheme is performed by an ideal genie having access to perfect and instantaneous CSI, always making the optimal, per-packet rate selection. Both schemes use a lossy ECG compression scheme of a wavelet transformation with adaptive coefficients thresholding. A BCH code supporting two coding rates of (63,30) and (63,51) is used as the channel coding method, and QAM schemes of three constellation orders (QAM-2.sup.2, QAM-2.sup.4 and QAM-2.sup.6) are used for signal modulation.”
Thus, for the reasons explained Applicants arguments have been found unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 9, 12, 14, 15, 16, 20, 23, 25, 26, 27, 29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US 20220287011 A1) in view of Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1).
In regards to claim 1, LIU (US 20220287011 A1) teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising ([0032 - 0034] teaches a UE, “[0032]…electronic device…[0034] The electronic device 100 may be arranged at a side of the UE”): receiving a downlink control information comprising a grant scheduling a data transmission for the UE, ([0032] teaches receiving downlink control information, “…electronic device…includes an acquiring unit…acquiring unit…is configured to acquire Downlink Control Information (DCI) from a base station…”. [0043] teaches the DCI comprising a grant scheduling a data transmission for the UE, “…in DCI for scheduling the first PDSCH….”); wherein hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on ([0032] teaches determining to disable feedback information the data transmission based at least in part on the DCI, “electronic device…includes…a determining unit…the determining unit…is configured to determine, at least based on a first particular field of the DCI, whether a feedback mechanism of Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process is disabled…”); transmitting or monitoring for the data transmission according to the downlink control information (teaches performing or monitoring for data transmission according to the DCI, “[0038] It should be noted that when the HARQ feedback mechanism is disabled, the possibility of performing blind transmission using the HARQ is not ruled out to ensure the reliability of the system. Blind transmission using the HARQ refers to that a transmitter transmits the same data repeatedly for multiple times in a certain time period, without waiting for feedback from a receiver. The receiver soft merges the data packets received for multiple times during the time period without checking and feeding back for each data packet.”, [0032] teaches performing or monitoring for the feedback information for the data transmission according to the determining, “…In a case of determining that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled, a check result for a data packet is not fed back to the base station,”).
LIU differs from claim 1, in that LIU is silent on the data transmission utilizing a rateless coding scheme and wherein hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on the data transmission utilizing the rateless coding scheme. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving wireless communication systems. Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1) teaches the use of rateless coding for wireless communication without feedback in order to address the problem of rapid fluctuations in the quality of a wireless medium (“[0008] Rapid fluctuations in the quality of a wireless medium (e.g., caused by such factors as environmental mobility and external interference) often deteriorate performance of channel coding schemes with fixed coding rate, resulting in a behavior usually known as “threshold effect.” Channel estimation and rate adaptation techniques partially address this behavior by adjusting transmission parameters depending on the experienced channel, but they are limited by the fundamental trade-off of channel quality tracking versus transmission signal energy. In some instances, rateless coding schemes have been proposed as an alternative approach without requiring feedback information, while in other proposals some cross-layer schemes provide a wider range of operational channel SNR.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless communication feature of LIU by adopting the use of rateless coding and taking advantage of the ability to disable the feedback information (disabling HARQ), to thus arrive at claim 1, in order to address problems caused by rapid fluctuations in the quality of a wireless communication channel.
In regards to claim 23, LIU (US 20220287011 A1) teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more processors, one or memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to ([0115 - 0116] teach a UE/smartphone comprising a processor, memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: “”[0115] FIG. 12 is a block diagram showing an exemplary configuration of a smartphone 900 to which the technology according to the present disclosure may be applied. The smartphone 900 includes a processor 901, a memory 902, a storage 903, an external connection interface 904, a camera 906, a sensor 907, a microphone 908, an input device 909, a display device 910, a speaker 911, a radio communication interface 912, one or more antenna switches 915, one or more antennas 916, a bus 917, a battery 918, and an auxiliary controller 919.[0116] The processor 901 may be, for example, a CPU or a system on a chip (SoC), and controls functions of an application layer and another layer of the smartphone 900. The memory 902 includes a RAM and a ROM, and stores a program executed by the processor 901 and data...”):
receive a downlink control information comprising a grant scheduling a data transmission for the UE, the data transmission([0032] teaches receiving downlink control information, “…electronic device…includes an acquiring unit…acquiring unit…is configured to acquire Downlink Control Information (DCI) from a base station…”. [0043] teaches the DCI comprising a grant scheduling a data transmission for the UE, “…in DCI for scheduling the first PDSCH….”),
wherein the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement for the data transmission is disabled b([0032] teaches determining to disable feedback information the data transmission based at least in part on the DCI, “electronic device…includes…a determining unit…the determining unit…is configured to determine, at least based on a first particular field of the DCI, whether a feedback mechanism of Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process is disabled…”);
transmit or monitor for the data transmission according to the downlink control information ([0038] teaches performing or monitoring for data transmission according to the DCI, “[0038] It should be noted that when the HARQ feedback mechanism is disabled, the possibility of performing blind transmission using the HARQ is not ruled out to ensure the reliability of the system. Blind transmission using the HARQ refers to that a transmitter transmits the same data repeatedly for multiple times in a certain time period, without waiting for feedback from a receiver. The receiver soft merges the data packets received for multiple times during the time period without checking and feeding back for each data packet.”, [0032] teaches performing or monitoring for the feedback information for the data transmission according to the determining, “…In a case of determining that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled, a check result for a data packet is not fed back to the base station,”).
LIU differs from claim 23, in that LIU is silent on the data transmission utilizing a rateless coding scheme and wherein the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on the data transmission utilizing the rateless coding scheme. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving wireless communication systems. Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1) teaches the use of rate coding for wireless communication without feedback in order to address the problem of rapid fluctuations in the quality of a wireless medium (“[0008] Rapid fluctuations in the quality of a wireless medium (e.g., caused by such factors as environmental mobility and external interference) often deteriorate performance of channel coding schemes with fixed coding rate, resulting in a behavior usually known as “threshold effect.” Channel estimation and rate adaptation techniques partially address this behavior by adjusting transmission parameters depending on the experienced channel, but they are limited by the fundamental trade-off of channel quality tracking versus transmission signal energy. In some instances, rateless coding schemes have been proposed as an alternative approach without requiring feedback information, while in other proposals some cross-layer schemes provide a wider range of operational channel SNR.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless communication feature of LIU by adopting the use of rateless coding and taking advantage of the ability to disable the feedback information (disabling HARQ), to thus arrive at claim 23, in order to address problems caused by rapid fluctuations in the quality of a wireless communication channel.
In regards to claim 12, LIU (US 20220287011 A1) teaches a method for wireless communication at a network node, comprising ([0061 - 0063] teach a, network node, a base station, “[0061] FIG. 5 is a block diagram showing functional modules of an electronic device 200…the electronic device…includes a generating unit…and a providing unit…[0063] The electronic device 200 may be arranged at a side of the base station…”):
transmitting a downlink control information comprising a grant scheduling a data transmission, with a user equipment (UE), on one or more of the downlink control information, a resource associated with the downlink control information, or a semi-persistent scheduling configuration associated with the data transmission and ([0061] teaches transmitting downlink control information, the feedback information for the data transmission being disabled based at least in part on one or more of downlink control information…“[0061]…The DCI includes at least a first particular field indicating whether to disable a feedback mechanism of an HARQ process. The providing unit 202 is configured to provide the DCI to user equipment. In a case of disabling the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process, the user equipment does not feed a check result for a data packet back to a base station...”);
transmitting or monitoring for the data transmission according to the downlink control information ([Fig. 6] teaches performing or monitoring for the data transmission, (i.e. PDSCH#1, PDSCH #2) according to downlink control information, [Fig. 6] teaches performing or monitoring for the feedback information (i.e. ACK, NACK) for the data transmission according to the determining).
LIU differs from claim 12, in that LIU is silent on the data transmission utilizing a rateless coding scheme and wherein hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on the data transmission utilizing the rateless coding scheme. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving wireless communication systems. Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1) teaches the use of rateless coding for wireless communication without feedback in order to address the problem of rapid fluctuations in the quality of a wireless medium (“[0008] Rapid fluctuations in the quality of a wireless medium (e.g., caused by such factors as environmental mobility and external interference) often deteriorate performance of channel coding schemes with fixed coding rate, resulting in a behavior usually known as “threshold effect.” Channel estimation and rate adaptation techniques partially address this behavior by adjusting transmission parameters depending on the experienced channel, but they are limited by the fundamental trade-off of channel quality tracking versus transmission signal energy. In some instances, rateless coding schemes have been proposed as an alternative approach without requiring feedback information, while in other proposals some cross-layer schemes provide a wider range of operational channel SNR.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless communication feature of LIU by adopting the use of rateless coding and taking advantage of the ability to disable the feedback information (disabling HARQ), to thus arrive at claim 12, in order to address problems caused by rapid fluctuations in the quality of a wireless communication channel.
In regards to claim 29, LIU (US 20220287011 A1) teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more processors, one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to ([0100 – -0101] teaches a, network node, base station comprising a processor/controller, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to, “[0100] The base station apparatus 820 includes a controller 821, a memory 822, a network interface 823, and a radio communication interface 825. [0101] The controller 821 may be, for example, a CPU or a DSP, and operates various functions of a higher layer of the base station apparatus 820…The memory 822 includes a RAM and a ROM, and stores a program executed by the controller 821 and various types of control data (such as terminal list, transmission power data and scheduling data).”):
transmit a downlink control information comprising a grant scheduling a data transmission, with a user equipment (UE), utilizing rateless coding scheme, wherein hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on ([0064 - 0065] teach determining to disable feedback information for a data transmission with a user equipment, “[0064]…the generating unit 201 may indicate to disable the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process by setting the value of the first particular field to be a particular value…[0065] The generating unit 201 may be configured to determine the value of the first particular field, that is, determine whether to set the first particular field to be the particular value, based on at least one of: a Round-Trip Delay (RTD) between the base station and user equipment, service requirements, and data type”; [0061] teaches transmitting downlink control information, the feedback information for the data transmission being disabled based at least in part on one or more of downlink control information…“[0061]…The DCI includes at least a first particular field indicating whether to disable a feedback mechanism of an HARQ process. The providing unit 202 is configured to provide the DCI to user equipment. In a case of disabling the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process, the user equipment does not feed a check result for a data packet back to a base station...”);
transmit or monitor for the data transmission according to the downlink control information ([Fig. 6] teaches performing or monitoring for the data transmission, (i.e. PDSCH#1, PDSCH #2) according to downlink control information, [Fig. 6] also teaches performing or monitoring for the feedback information (i.e. ACK, NACK) for the data transmission according to the determining).
LIU differs from claim 29, in that LIU is silent on the data transmission utilizing a rateless coding scheme and the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement for the data transmission being disabled based at least in part on the rateless coding scheme. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving wireless communication systems. Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1) teaches the use of rateless coding for wireless communication without feedback in order to address the problem of rapid fluctuations in the quality of a wireless medium (“[0008] Rapid fluctuations in the quality of a wireless medium (e.g., caused by such factors as environmental mobility and external interference) often deteriorate performance of channel coding schemes with fixed coding rate, resulting in a behavior usually known as “threshold effect.” Channel estimation and rate adaptation techniques partially address this behavior by adjusting transmission parameters depending on the experienced channel, but they are limited by the fundamental trade-off of channel quality tracking versus transmission signal energy. In some instances, rateless coding schemes have been proposed as an alternative approach without requiring feedback information, while in other proposals some cross-layer schemes provide a wider range of operational channel SNR.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless communication feature of LIU by adopting the use of rateless coding and taking advantage of the ability to disable the feedback information (disabling HARQ), to thus arrive at claim 29, in order to address problems caused by rapid fluctuations in the quality of a wireless communication channel.
In regards to claim 3, LIU teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information is disabled for the data transmission based at least in part on a field indicated in the downlink control information (“[0042] Alternatively, the determining unit 102 may parse a meaning of the first particular field based on inherent configuration. For example, in the case that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is to be dynamically enabled or disabled, the specific value of the first particular field for determining that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled is written in the user equipment at the factory. [0043] As an example, the first particular field may be a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. The field is an existing field in the DCI…[0050] In a case that the first particular field is the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, the reference value is a reference number of slots. When the number of slots for feedback is calculated, the reference value is added to the number of slots to which the first particular field is mapped, FIG. 4 shows another example of the mapping relationship between the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator and the number of slots. In the example, an example of the particular value is all ‘0’s. In a case that the value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is all ‘0’s, the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is mapped to the reserved state of dl-DataToUL-ACK, for indicating that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled. In addition, the reserved state further indicates the reference value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. In a case that the value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator includes is other than all ‘0’s, the number of slots to be actually delayed is equal to a sum of one of different numbers of slots corresponding to other states of dl-DataToUL-ACK to which the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is mapped and the reference value.”).
In regards to claim 14, LIU teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: configuring a field in the downlink control information to indicate to disable the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission (“[0042] Alternatively, the determining unit 102 may parse a meaning of the first particular field based on inherent configuration. For example, in the case that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is to be dynamically enabled or disabled, the specific value of the first particular field for determining that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled is written in the user equipment at the factory. [0043] As an example, the first particular field may be a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. The field is an existing field in the DCI…[0050] In a case that the first particular field is the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, the reference value is a reference number of slots. When the number of slots for feedback is calculated, the reference value is added to the number of slots to which the first particular field is mapped, FIG. 4 shows another example of the mapping relationship between the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator and the number of slots. In the example, an example of the particular value is all ‘0’s. In a case that the value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is all ‘0’s, the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is mapped to the reserved state of dl-DataToUL-ACK, for indicating that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled. In addition, the reserved state further indicates the reference value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. In a case that the value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator includes is other than all ‘0’s, the number of slots to be actually delayed is equal to a sum of one of different numbers of slots corresponding to other states of dl-DataToUL-ACK to which the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is mapped and the reference value.”).
In regards to claim 25, LIU teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on a field indicated in the downlink control information (“[0042] Alternatively, the determining unit 102 may parse a meaning of the first particular field based on inherent configuration. For example, in the case that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is to be dynamically enabled or disabled, the specific value of the first particular field for determining that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled is written in the user equipment at the factory. [0043] As an example, the first particular field may be a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. The field is an existing field in the DCI…[0050] In a case that the first particular field is the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, the reference value is a reference number of slots. When the number of slots for feedback is calculated, the reference value is added to the number of slots to which the first particular field is mapped, FIG. 4 shows another example of the mapping relationship between the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator and the number of slots. In the example, an example of the particular value is all ‘0’s. In a case that the value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is all ‘0’s, the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is mapped to the reserved state of dl-DataToUL-ACK, for indicating that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled. In addition, the reserved state further indicates the reference value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. In a case that the value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator includes is other than all ‘0’s, the number of slots to be actually delayed is equal to a sum of one of different numbers of slots corresponding to other states of dl-DataToUL-ACK to which the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is mapped and the reference value.”).
In regards to claim 4, LIU teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the field comprises one or more bits associated with configuring the rateless coding scheme for the UE without hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information, a modulation and coding scheme field, a new data indicator, a redundancy version field, a downlink assignment index field, a transmit power control field, a physical uplink shared channel resource indicator, a physical downlink shared channel to hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information timing indicator field, a hybrid automatic repeat/request process number, or a combination thereof (“[0042] Alternatively, the determining unit 102 may parse a meaning of the first particular field based on inherent configuration. For example, in the case that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is to be dynamically enabled or disabled, the specific value of the first particular field for determining that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled is written in the user equipment at the factory. [0043] As an example, the first particular field may be a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. The field is an existing field in the DCI…[0050] In a case that the first particular field is the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, the reference value is a reference number of slots. When the number of slots for feedback is calculated, the reference value is added to the number of slots to which the first particular field is mapped, FIG. 4 shows another example of the mapping relationship between the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator and the number of slots. In the example, an example of the particular value is all ‘0’s. In a case that the value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is all ‘0’s, the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is mapped to the reserved state of dl-DataToUL-ACK, for indicating that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled. In addition, the reserved state further indicates the reference value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. In a case that the value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator includes is other than all ‘0’s, the number of slots to be actually delayed is equal to a sum of one of different numbers of slots corresponding to other states of dl-DataToUL-ACK to which the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is mapped and the reference value.”).
In regards to claim 15, LIU teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the field comprises one or more bits associated with configuring the rateless coding scheme for the UE without hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information, a modulation and coding scheme field, a new data indicator, a redundancy version field, a downlink assignment index field, a transmit power control field, a physical uplink shared channel resource indicator, a physical downlink shared channel to hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information timing indicator field, a hybrid automatic repeat/request process number, or a combination thereof (“[0042] Alternatively, the determining unit 102 may parse a meaning of the first particular field based on inherent configuration. For example, in the case that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is to be dynamically enabled or disabled, the specific value of the first particular field for determining that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled is written in the user equipment at the factory. [0043] As an example, the first particular field may be a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. The field is an existing field in the DCI…[0050] In a case that the first particular field is the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, the reference value is a reference number of slots. When the number of slots for feedback is calculated, the reference value is added to the number of slots to which the first particular field is mapped, FIG. 4 shows another example of the mapping relationship between the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator and the number of slots. In the example, an example of the particular value is all ‘0’s. In a case that the value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is all ‘0’s, the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is mapped to the reserved state of dl-DataToUL-ACK, for indicating that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled. In addition, the reserved state further indicates the reference value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. In a case that the value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator includes is other than all ‘0’s, the number of slots to be actually delayed is equal to a sum of one of different numbers of slots corresponding to other states of dl-DataToUL-ACK to which the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is mapped and the reference value.”).
In regards to claim 26, LIU teaches the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the field comprises one or more bits associated with configuring the rateless coding scheme for the UE without hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information, a modulation and coding scheme field, a new data indicator, a redundancy version field, a downlink assignment index field, a transmit power control field, a physical uplink shared channel resource indicator, a physical downlink shared channel to hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information timing indicator field, a hybrid automatic repeat/request process number, or a combination thereof (“[0042] Alternatively, the determining unit 102 may parse a meaning of the first particular field based on inherent configuration. For example, in the case that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is to be dynamically enabled or disabled, the specific value of the first particular field for determining that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled is written in the user equipment at the factory. [0043] As an example, the first particular field may be a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. The field is an existing field in the DCI…[0050] In a case that the first particular field is the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, the reference value is a reference number of slots. When the number of slots for feedback is calculated, the reference value is added to the number of slots to which the first particular field is mapped, FIG. 4 shows another example of the mapping relationship between the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator and the number of slots. In the example, an example of the particular value is all ‘0’s. In a case that the value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is all ‘0’s, the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is mapped to the reserved state of dl-DataToUL-ACK, for indicating that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled. In addition, the reserved state further indicates the reference value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. In a case that the value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator includes is other than all ‘0’s, the number of slots to be actually delayed is equal to a sum of one of different numbers of slots corresponding to other states of dl-DataToUL-ACK to which the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is mapped and the reference value.”).
In regards to claim 5, LIU teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving the downlink control information in a first portion of the resource associated with the downlink control information, different than a second portion of the resource associated with the downlink control information, wherein the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on the downlink control information being received in the first portion of the resource (“[0056] As another example, the determining unit 102 may determine whether the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled based on a combination of the first particular field and another particular field. For example, in a case of determining that a value of the combination meets a predetermined condition, the determining unit 102 determines that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled. [0057] For example, the first particular field is a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and the other particular field may include one or more of: a PUCCH resource indicator and a TPC command for scheduled PUCCH.”).
In regards to claim 16, LIU teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: transmitting the downlink control information in a first portion of the resource associated with the downlink control information, different than a second portion of the resource associated with the downlink control information, wherein transmitting the downlink control information in the first portion indicates to disable the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission (“[0056] As another example, the determining unit 102 may determine whether the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled based on a combination of the first particular field and another particular field. For example, in a case of determining that a value of the combination meets a predetermined condition, the determining unit 102 determines that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled. [0057] For example, the first particular field is a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and the other particular field may include one or more of: a PUCCH resource indicator and a TPC command for scheduled PUCCH.”).
In regards to claim 27, LIU teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive the downlink control information in a first portion of the resource associated with the downlink control information or a second portion of the resource associated with the downlink control information, wherein the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on the downlink control information received in the first portion of the resource or the second portion of the resource (“[0056] As another example, the determining unit 102 may determine whether the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled based on a combination of the first particular field and another particular field. For example, in a case of determining that a value of the combination meets a predetermined condition, the determining unit 102 determines that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled. [0057] For example, the first particular field is a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, and the other particular field may include one or more of: a PUCCH resource indicator and a TPC command for scheduled PUCCH.”).
In regards to claim 9, LIU teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on the hybrid automatic repeat/request process number indicated in the downlink control information(“[0037] In a case that multiple HARQ processes are configured for the UE, the HARQ feedback mechanism is disabled or enabled for one of the HARQ processes (for example, identified by a HARQ process sequence number). That is, the feedback mechanism of each HARQ process may be dynamically enabled or disabled separately.”).
In regards to claim 20, LIU teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: selecting a hybrid automatic repeat/request process number indicated in the downlink control information that indicates to disable the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission (“[0037] In a case that multiple HARQ processes are configured for the UE, the HARQ feedback mechanism is disabled or enabled for one of the HARQ processes (for example, identified by a HARQ process sequence number). That is, the feedback mechanism of each HARQ process may be dynamically enabled or disabled separately.”).
Claim(s) 2, 7, 8, 13, 18, 19, 24, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US 20220287011 A1) in view of Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1) in view of VAIDYA (US 20200044792 A1).
In regards to claim 2, LIU is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on a radio network temporary identifier used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check portion of the downlink control information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art feature HARQ.
VAIDYA (US 20200044792 A1) teaches identifying a radio network temporary identifier used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check portion of downlink control information and determining to disable feedback information for a data transmission based at least in part on the radio network temporary identifier (“[0097] Corresponding expected UE behavior, illustrated via change to TS 38.213 clauses 9.1.2, 9.1.3.1 is as follows: If the UE receives DCI format 1_0 or 1_1 scrambled with either C-RNTI or CS-RNTI with PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator set to [X], then the UE shall not include HARQ-ACK in UCI for Code Block Groups/Transport Blocks (CBGs/TBs) scheduled in that Downlink Control Information (DCI). Alternatively, UE always reports and ACK.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of VAIDYA it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ feature of LIU, to disable feedback based on a radio network temporary identifier as similarly seen in VAIDYA, to thus arrive at claim 2, recognizing that use of a radio network temporary identifier is well known for disabling HARQ feedback, that can serve as an alternative or be used in addition to the HARQ feedback disabling methods taught by LIU.
In regards to claim 13, LIU is silent on the method of claim 12, further comprising: scrambling a cyclic redundancy check portion of the downlink control information using a radio network temporary identifier that indicates to disable the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art feature HARQ.
VAIDYA (US 20200044792 A1) teaches a radio network temporary identifier used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check portion of downlink control information and determining to disable feedback information for a data transmission based at least in part on the radio network temporary identifier (“[0097] Corresponding expected UE behavior, illustrated via change to TS 38.213 clauses 9.1.2, 9.1.3.1 is as follows: If the UE receives DCI format 1_0 or 1_1 scrambled with either C-RNTI or CS-RNTI with PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator set to [X], then the UE shall not include HARQ-ACK in UCI for Code Block Groups/Transport Blocks (CBGs/TBs) scheduled in that Downlink Control Information (DCI). Alternatively, UE always reports and ACK.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of VAIDYA it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ feature of LIU, to disable feedback based on a radio network temporary identifier as similarly seen in VAIDYA, to thus arrive at claim 13, recognizing that use of a radio network temporary identifier is well known for disabling HARQ feedback, that can serve as an alternative or be used in addition to the HARQ feedback disabling methods taught by LIU.
In regards to claim 24, LIU is silent on the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on a radio network temporary identifier used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check portion of the downlink control information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art feature HARQ.
VAIDYA (US 20200044792 A1) teaches identifying a radio network temporary identifier used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check portion of downlink control information and determining to disable feedback information for a data transmission based at least in part on the radio network temporary identifier (“[0097] Corresponding expected UE behavior, illustrated via change to TS 38.213 clauses 9.1.2, 9.1.3.1 is as follows: If the UE receives DCI format 1_0 or 1_1 scrambled with either C-RNTI or CS-RNTI with PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator set to [X], then the UE shall not include HARQ-ACK in UCI for Code Block Groups/Transport Blocks (CBGs/TBs) scheduled in that Downlink Control Information (DCI). Alternatively, UE always reports and ACK.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of VAIDYA it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ feature of LIU, to disable feedback based on a radio network temporary identifier as similarly seen in VAIDYA, to thus arrive at claim 24, recognizing that use of a radio network temporary identifier is well known for disabling HARQ feedback, that can serve as an alternative or be used in addition to the HARQ feedback disabling methods taught by LIU.
In regards to claim 30, LIU is silent on the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or processors to cause the apparatus to: scramble a cyclic redundancy check portion of the downlink control information using a radio network temporary identifier indicates to disable the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art feature HARQ.
VAIDYA (US 20200044792 A1) teaches scrambling a radio network temporary identifier used to scramble a cyclic redundancy check portion of downlink control information and determining to disable feedback information for a data transmission based at least in part on the radio network temporary identifier (“[0097] Corresponding expected UE behavior, illustrated via change to TS 38.213 clauses 9.1.2, 9.1.3.1 is as follows: If the UE receives DCI format 1_0 or 1_1 scrambled with either C-RNTI or CS-RNTI with PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator set to [X], then the UE shall not include HARQ-ACK in UCI for Code Block Groups/Transport Blocks (CBGs/TBs) scheduled in that Downlink Control Information (DCI). Alternatively, UE always reports and ACK.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of VAIDYA it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ feature of LIU, to disable feedback based on a radio network temporary identifier as similarly seen in VAIDYA, to thus arrive at claim 30, recognizing that use of a radio network temporary identifier is well known for disabling HARQ feedback, that can serve as an alternative or be used in addition to the HARQ feedback disabling methods taught by LIU.
In regards to claim 7, LIU is silent on the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a radio resource control configuration indicating the semi-persistent scheduling configuration associated with the data transmission, wherein the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission is disabled based at least in part on the radio resource control configuration. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the disabling of HARQ feedback. VAIDYA teaches receiving a radio resource control (RRC) configuration, indicating a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration associated with data transmission and determining to disable feedback information for the data transmission based at least in part on the RRC Configuration (“[0094] Radio Resource Control Information Elements ‘Semi-Persistent Scheduling-Config’ (RRC IE ‘SPS-Config’) allows upper layers to inform lower layers of when and what configuration is to be used when applying SPS scheduling. In accordance with a feature of some embodiments, the HARQ disabling can be, and sometime is, performed semi-statically by adding an additional parameter, in accordance with a feature of the present invention, ‘SPS HARQ Off Indicator’ to the ‘SPS-Config’ RRC IE.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of VAIDYA it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ feature of LIU, to disable feedback based on a RRC Configuration for Semi-Persistent Scheduling as similarly seen in VAIDYA, to thus arrive at claim 7, recognizing that use of a RRC Configuration for Semi Persistent Scheduling is well known for disabling HARQ feedback, that can serve as an alternative or be used in addition to the HARQ feedback disabling methods taught by LIU.
In regards to claim 8, LIU is silent on the method of claim 7, wherein the radio resource control configuration comprises a semi-persistent scheduling configuration indication, a configured grant configuration indication, or both. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the disabling of HARQ feedback. VAIDYA teaches receiving a radio resource control (RRC) configuration, indicating a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration associated with data transmission and determining to disable feedback information for the data transmission based at least in part on the RRC Configuration (“[0094] Radio Resource Control Information Elements ‘Semi-Persistent Scheduling-Config’ (RRC IE ‘SPS-Config’) allows upper layers to inform lower layers of when and what configuration is to be used when applying SPS scheduling. In accordance with a feature of some embodiments, the HARQ disabling can be, and sometime is, performed semi-statically by adding an additional parameter, in accordance with a feature of the present invention, ‘SPS HARQ Off Indicator’ to the ‘SPS-Config’ RRC IE.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of VAIDYA it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ feature of LIU, to disable feedback based on a RRC Configuration for Semi-Persistent Scheduling as similarly seen in VAIDYA, to thus arrive at claim 8, recognizing that use of a RRC Configuration for Semi Persistent Scheduling is well known for disabling HARQ feedback, that can serve as an alternative or be used in addition to the HARQ feedback disabling methods taught by LIU.
In regards to claim 18, LIU is silent on the method of claim 12, further comprising: transmitting a radio resource control configuration indicating the semi-persistent scheduling configuration associated with the data transmission, wherein the radio resource control configuration indicates to disable the hybrid automatic repeat/request acknowledgement information for the data transmission based at least in part on the radio resource control configuration. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the disabling of HARQ feedback. VAIDYA teaches transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) configuration, indicating a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration associated with data transmission and where the RRC configuration indicates to disable feedback information for the data transmission based at least in part on the RRC Configuration (“[0094] Radio Resource Control Information Elements ‘Semi-Persistent Scheduling-Config’ (RRC IE ‘SPS-Config’) allows upper layers to inform lower layers of when and what configuration is to be used when applying SPS scheduling. In accordance with a feature of some embodiments, the HARQ disabling can be, and sometime is, performed semi-statically by adding an additional parameter, in accordance with a feature of the present invention, ‘SPS HARQ Off Indicator’ to the ‘SPS-Config’ RRC IE.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of VAIDYA it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ feature of LIU, to disable feedback based on a RRC Configuration for Semi-Persistent Scheduling as similarly seen in VAIDYA, to thus arrive at claim 18, recognizing that use of a RRC Configuration for Semi Persistent Scheduling is well known for disabling HARQ feedback, that can serve as an alternative or be used in addition to the HARQ feedback disabling methods taught by LIU.
In regards to claim 19, LIU is silent on the method of claim 18, wherein the radio resource control configuration comprises a semi-persistent scheduling configuration indication, a configured grant configuration indication, or both. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the disabling of HARQ feedback. VAIDYA teaches transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) configuration, indicating a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration associated with data transmission and where the RRC configuration indicates to disable feedback information for the data transmission based at least in part on the RRC Configuration (“[0094] Radio Resource Control Information Elements ‘Semi-Persistent Scheduling-Config’ (RRC IE ‘SPS-Config’) allows upper layers to inform lower layers of when and what configuration is to be used when applying SPS scheduling. In accordance with a feature of some embodiments, the HARQ disabling can be, and sometime is, performed semi-statically by adding an additional parameter, in accordance with a feature of the present invention, ‘SPS HARQ Off Indicator’ to the ‘SPS-Config’ RRC IE.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of VAIDYA it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ feature of LIU, to disable feedback based on a RRC Configuration for Semi-Persistent Scheduling as similarly seen in VAIDYA, to thus arrive at claim 19, recognizing that use of a RRC Configuration for Semi Persistent Scheduling is well known for disabling HARQ feedback, that can serve as an alternative or be used in addition to the HARQ feedback disabling methods taught by LIU.
Claim(s) 6, 17, and 28, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US 20220287011 A1) in view of Angelopoulos (US 20170222753 A1) in view of YANG (“US 11304190 B2”)
In regards to claim 6, LIU is silent on the method of claim 5, wherein the resource associated with the downlink control information comprises a control resource set, a search space set, or both. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving resource allocation. YANG (“US 11304190 B2”) teaches a resource allocation feature where a resource associated with a first portion and a second portion of a DCI comprises a search space set (See Claim 1, “1. A method for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising: monitoring, according to a search space configuration, a plurality of control channel elements (CCEs) of a subframe to detect a downlink control information (DCI) message for use by the wireless device, wherein the search space configuration comprises a first CCE carrying a first portion of the DCI message in a first symbol of the subframe and a second CCE carrying a second portion of the DCI message in a second symbol of the subframe; and decoding, based at least in part on the monitoring, the DCI message.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resource allocation feature if LIU, by adopting use of a search space set for allocating the first and second portions of the resources associated with the downlink control information, to thus arrive at claim 6, recognizing that use of a search space for allocating resources for downlink control information provides a well-known and reliable means for providing a resource allocation.
In regards to claim 17, LIU is silent on the method of claim 16, wherein the resource associated with the downlink control information comprises a control resource set, a search space set, or both.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving resource allocation. YANG (“US 11304190 B2”) teaches a resource allocation feature where a resource associated with a first portion and a second portion of a DCI comprises a search space set (See Claim 1, “1. A method for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising: monitoring, according to a search space configuration, a plurality of control channel elements (CCEs) of a subframe to detect a downlink control information (DCI) message for use by the wireless device, wherein the search space configuration comprises a first CCE carrying a first portion of the DCI message in a first symbol of the subframe and a second CCE carrying a second portion of the DCI message in a second symbol of the subframe; and decoding, based at least in part on the monitoring, the DCI message.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resource allocation feature if LIU, by adopting use of a search space set for allocating the first and second portions of the resources associated with the downlink control information, to thus arrive at claim 17, recognizing that use of a search space for allocating resources for downlink control information provides a well-known and reliable means for providing a resource allocation.
In regards to claim 28, LIU is silent on the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the resource associated with the downlink control information comprises a control resource set, a search space set, or both. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving resource allocation.
YANG (“US 11304190 B2”) teaches a resource allocation feature where a resource associated with a first portion and a second portion of a DCI comprises a search space set (See Claim 1, “1. A method for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising: monitoring, according to a search space configuration, a plurality of control channel elements (CCEs) of a subframe to detect a downlink control information (DCI) message for use by the wireless device, wherein the search space configuration comprises a first CCE carrying a first portion of the DCI message in a first symbol of the subframe and a second CCE carrying a second portion of the DCI message in a second symbol of the subframe; and decoding, based at least in part on the monitoring, the DCI message.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resource allocation feature if LIU, by adopting use of a search space set for allocating the first and second portions of the resources associated with the downlink control information, to thus arrive at claim 28, recognizing that use of a search space for allocating resources for downlink control information provides a well-known and reliable means for providing a resource allocation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10-11 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476