DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/13/2026 with respect to claims 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Additionally, applicant has argued that Cole fails to teach “a tubular neck configured to guide a universal joint” because “the universal joint (34) is located above the neck of the housing, and in particular both joints of the housing are arranged above and outside the neck of the housing” (See Remarks – 4/13/2026: discussion re: Patentability of Claim 1). The office finds this unpersuasive; a universal joint which is connected to a neck of a steering assembly will be guided by the neck regardless of its location within the steering column.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “two joints of the universal joint” must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “standard length toothed rack” and “standard length tubular housing” in claim 4 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what a standard length for a toothed rack or a toothed rack housing would be.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima (US 20050088126) in view of Cole (US 20020175019) and Kawada (EP 2243685).
Regarding claim 1, Kawashima teaches a modular electric power steering system (Abstract, Fig. 1), comprising:
a tubular neck 25 configured to guide a universal joint 15 such that two joints of the universal joint 15 are disposed at a desired angle to one another, wherein the tubular neck is configured to define a certain bend angle ([0015]-[0016], Figs. 1-2; the neck guides the universal joint such that it is disposed at an angle to the other joint in the steering column shown in Fig. 1);
a drive assembly including an electric motor M which is configured to be controlled by a control unit U ([0024], Fig. 1);
a gearbox assembly including a torque sensor St and a gearbox 18 ([0024], Figs. 1-2);
a toothed rack 29 including a tube shortened to a desired length ([0025], Fig. 2), the toothed rack 29 being operably connected to the gearbox 18 so as to receive power from the gearbox ([0025], Fig. 2);
a gearbox housing that houses the gearbox assembly ([0025]-[0027], Fig. 2; the gearbox 18 has a casing which houses the rack, pinion, and reduction gear).
Kawashima teaches what appears to be two tubular housings on either side of the gearbox assembly in which the rack 29 is housed (Figs. 1-2), but does not expressly teach the rack being housed in multiple rack housing halves.
However, Cole teaches a steering system comprising two tubular toothed rack housing halves 42, 44 that are shortened to respective housing half lengths, wherein a gearbox housing is disposed between the two tubular toothed rack housing halves 42, 44 ([0015]-[0016], Fig. 2; the tubular rack housing halves surround a gearbox which houses the racks 14, 12 and pinion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the tubular toothed rack housings of Cole for the rack housing of Kawashima and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and advantageously protected the rack from outside debris.
Kawashima as modified does not teach the steering system being mounted by two feet which include bushings.
However, Kawada teaches an electric power steering system which uses bearings to mount a rack housing 13 top a vehicle body 12 by a plurality of bearings ([0008] of Kawada).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified steering system of Kawashima/Cole to mount the rack shaft by a plurality of mounting feet which comprise bearings as Kawada teaches in order to advantageously mount the assembly to the vehicle body such that the rack shaft is able to linearly reciprocate ([0008] of Kawada).
While Kawada does not teach “two feet, one of which is disposed at each respective outer end of the two tubular toothed rack housing halves”, the question is what would result from the combined teachings of the references. See in re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (CCPA 1981). Here, that result would be the two feet (of Kawada), one of which is disposed at each respective outer end of the two tubular toothed rack housing halves (of Kawashima/Cole), wherein the two feet are configured to fasten the power steering system to the vehicle, and wherein each of the two feet includes a bushing (of Kawada), each of the bushings guiding an end region of the toothed rack (of Kawashima/Cole).
Applicant's claims of a “a tube shortened to a desired length” and “two tubular toothed rack housing halves that are shortened to respective housing half lengths” are product-by-process claims. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself, and not dependent upon the method of production. See MPEP 2113. The product of Applicant’s product-by-process claim is the same as or an obvious variant of the process in Krishnaraj.
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima in view of Cole and Kawada, and further in view of KR 20120130650 (henceforth KR).
Regarding claim 2, Kawashima as modified teaches wherein:
the toothed rack 29 includes a tube to which a toothing element 30 is fastened ([0025], Fig. 2); and
the gearbox housing includes an upper gearbox housing ([0024], Fig. 2; the gearbox includes an upper housing portion which houses the reduction gear assembly 16) in which a gear mechanism (the reduction gear) is accommodated and a lower gearbox housing in which a pinion 28 of the gear mechanism is in engagement with the toothed rack 29 ([0025], Fig. 2; the outer housing of the gearbox assembly includes a lower portion which houses the rack and pinion).
Kawashima as modified does not teach the gear mechanism being helical.
However, KR teaches a power steering device wherein the gearbox of the gearbox assembly is a helical gear mechanism (Paragraph 18, Fig. 2 of KR).
Kawashima as modified teaches a device which differs from the claimed invention by the substitution of a helical gear within the gearbox for teeth of an unspecified type. Helical gears are well known in the art and are taught by KR.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted helical gear teeth of KR for the teeth of the modified power steering system of Kawashima/et.al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and provided the known advantages of quieter operation, increased longevity, and higher load capacity.
Regarding claim 5, Kawashima as modified teaches wherein the drive assembly is fixed to the upper gearbox housing ([0024], Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20170361865 teaches a rack and pinion housing for a vehicle wherein the housing can be comprised of multiple tubes.
/N.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/TIMOTHY WILHELM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617