DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 49-50, 54-58, 61-64, 66, 68, 74-75, 79-83, 86-89, 91, 93, 101-104 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 49-50, 57, 74-75, 82, 101-104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Multi-slot CQI for CLI measurement” (hereinafter referred to as Ericsson) in view of Chen et al. (US# 2017/0238312 hereinafter referred to as Chen).
RE Claim 49, Ericsson discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (See Ericsson Sections 1-2 – UEs performing wireless communication), comprising:
a processor, memory coupled with the processor (See Ericsson Sections 1-2 – UEs have processors and memory coupled to processor); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
identify a channel state information (CSI) report configuration or a trigger for reporting a CSI report (See Ericsson Section 2 – based on configuring different CQI reports with the same CMR but with corresponding periodic CSI-IM resources in different slots/symbols, or by triggering aperiodic CQI report with aperiodic CSI-IM in different slots/symbols, CQI reports corresponding to different UE-to-UE CLI hypotheses can be obtained; Section 2.1 – a UE which is served by cell A can then be configured with a multi-IMR CQI report with three different IMRs, placed in slots 3, 5 and 6 respectively (corresponding to the different possible CLI “states” of the neighboring cells));
receive one or more CSI-reference signal (RS) resources associated with the CSI report (See Ericsson Section 2.1 – a simple enhancement to overcome these limitations in Rel-16 can be to introduce a “multi-IMR CQI” report quantity, which associated multiple CSI-IM resources (IMRs) with each NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement (CMR) and wherein the UE reports a separate CQI for each IMR; “multi-IMR CQI is preferred for cell/slot-level measurement granularity from this aspect”);
determine, based at least in part on a measurement of one or more CSI- RSs, a channel quality for each slot of a set of slots (See Ericsson Section 2.1 - a simple enhancement to overcome these limitations in Rel-16 can be to introduce a “multi-IMR CQI” report quantity, which associated multiple CSI-IM resources (IMRs) with each NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement (CMR) and wherein the UE reports a separate CQI for each IMR; Proposal 1 – introduce a new “multi-IMR CQI” CSI report); and
transmit, during an uplink transmission occasion, the CSI report that includes the channel quality for two or more slots of the set of slots, wherein the CSI report indicates a measured channel quality for a first slot of the set of slots and respective measured channel qualities for additional slots of the set of slots (See Ericsson proposal 1 – transmitting new “multi-IMR CQI” CSI report; CQIs calculated for resources at slot-level).
Ericsson does not specifically disclose
wherein each of the respective measured channel qualities for the additional slots is indicated by a first delta value with respect to the measured channel quality for the first slot.
However, Chen teaches of
wherein each of the respective measured channel qualities for the additional slots is indicated by a first delta value with respect to the measured channel quality for the first slot (See Chen FIG 4; [0058] – quality report indicating power difference between subframe slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, wherein each of the respective measured channel qualities for the additional slots is indicated by a first delta value with respect to the measured channel quality for the first slot, as taught in Chen. One is motivated as such in order to improve flexibility of resource management and resource scheduling (See Chen Background; Summary).
RE Claim 50, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 49 above, wherein the instructions to determine the channel quality for each slot of the set of slots are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to at least one of:
measure, for each slot of the set of slots, a first channel quality associated with a frequency range of the set of slots (See Ericsson Sections 2.1-4 – during set of slots, performing channel measurement on resources);
measure, for each slot of the set of slots, one or more second channel qualities, each associated with a respective subband of the frequency range; and
generate and reporting the CSI report to include at least one of a plurality of first measured channel qualities that each correspond to the first channel quality measured in a respective slot and a plurality of second measured channel qualities that each correspond to a second channel quality measured across a subband of the respective slot (See Ericsson Sections 2.1-4 – generating and reporting multi-IMR CQI CSI report corresponding to CSI-IM resource set with N resources).
RE Claim 57, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 49 above, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
wherein determining the channel quality for each slot of the set of slots comprises determining the channel quality in a CSI reference resource comprising multiple slots (See Ericsson Section 2.1 – a UE which is served by cell A can then be configured with a multi-IMR CQI report with three different IMRs, placed in slots 3, 5 and 6 respectively (corresponding to the different possible CLI “states” of the neighboring cells)).
RE Claim 74, Ericsson discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (See Ericsson Sections 1-2), comprising:
a processor, memory coupled with the processor (See Ericsson Sections 1-2 – network devices have processors and memory coupled to processor); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a channel state information (CSI) report configuration or a trigger for reporting a CSI report (See Ericsson Section 2 – based on configuring different CQI reports with the same CMR but with corresponding periodic CSI-IM resources in different slots/symbols, or by triggering aperiodic CQI report with aperiodic CSI-IM in different slots/symbols, CQI reports corresponding to different UE-to-UE CLI hypotheses can be obtained; Section 2.1 – a UE which is served by cell A can then be configured with a multi-IMR CQI report with three different IMRs, placed in slots 3, 5 and 6 respectively (corresponding to the different possible CLI “states” of the neighboring cells));
transmit one or more CSI-reference signal (RS) resources associated with the CSI report (See Ericsson Section 2.1 – a simple enhancement to overcome these limitations in Rel-16 can be to introduce a “multi-IMR CQI” report quantity, which associated multiple CSI-IM resources (IMRs) with each NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement (CMR) and wherein the UE reports a separate CQI for each IMR; “multi-IMR CQI is preferred for cell/slot-level measurement granularity from this aspect”);
receive, during an uplink transmission occasion (See Ericsson proposal 1 – transmitting new “multi-IMR CQI” CSI report), the CSI report that includes a measured channel quality for two or more slots of a set of slots (See Ericsson Section 2.1 - a simple enhancement to overcome these limitations in Rel-16 can be to introduce a “multi-IMR CQI” report quantity, which associated multiple CSI-IM resources (IMRs) with each NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement (CMR) and wherein the UE reports a separate CQI for each IMR; Proposal 1 – introduce a new “multi-IMR CQI” CSI report), wherein the CSI report indicates a measured channel quality for a first slot of the set of slots and respective measured channel qualities for additional slots of the set of slots (See Ericsson proposal 1 – transmitting new “multi-IMR CQI” CSI report; CQIs calculated for resources at slot-level).
Ericsson does not specifically disclose
wherein each of the respective measured channel qualities for the additional slots is indicated by a first delta value with respect to the measured channel quality for the first slot.
However, Chen teaches of
wherein each of the respective measured channel qualities for the additional slots is indicated by a first delta value with respect to the measured channel quality for the first slot (See Chen FIG 4; [0058] – quality report indicating power difference between subframe slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, wherein each of the respective measured channel qualities for the additional slots is indicated by a first delta value with respect to the measured channel quality for the first slot, as taught in Chen. One is motivated as such in order to improve flexibility of resource management and resource scheduling (See Chen Background; Summary).
RE Claim 75, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 74 above, further comprising identifying the measured channel quality for each slot of the two or more slots based at least in part on receiving the CSI report (See Ericsson Sections 2.1-4 – receiving multi-IMR CQI CSI report corresponding to CSI-IM resource set with N resources), and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to at least one of:
identify, for each slot of the set of two or more slots, a measured first channel quality associated with a frequency range of the set of two or more slots (See Ericsson Sections 2.1-4 – during set of slots, performing channel measurement on resources);
identify, for each slot of the set of two or more slots, one or more second channel qualities, each associated with a respective subband of the frequency range; wherein
the CSI report further comprises at least one of a plurality of first measured channel qualities that each correspond to the first channel quality measured in a respective slot and a plurality of second measured channel qualities that each correspond to a second channel quality measured across a subband of the respective slot (See Ericsson Sections 2.1-4 – generating and reporting multi-IMR CQI CSI report corresponding to CSI-IM resource set with N resources).
RE Claim 82, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 74 above, wherein the measured channel quality for each slot of the two or more slots is measured in a CSI reference resource comprising multiple slots (See Ericsson Section 2.1 – a UE which is served by cell A can then be configured with a multi-IMR CQI report with three different IMRs, placed in slots 3, 5 and 6 respectively (corresponding to the different possible CLI “states” of the neighboring cells)).
RE Claim 101, Ericsson discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (See Ericsson Sections 1-2 – UEs performing wireless communication), comprising:
identifying a channel state information (CSI) report configuration or a trigger for reporting a CSI report (See Ericsson Section 2 – based on configuring different CQI reports with the same CMR but with corresponding periodic CSI-IM resources in different slots/symbols, or by triggering aperiodic CQI report with aperiodic CSI-IM in different slots/symbols, CQI reports corresponding to different UE-to-UE CLI hypotheses can be obtained; Section 2.1 – a UE which is served by cell A can then be configured with a multi-IMR CQI report with three different IMRs, placed in slots 3, 5 and 6 respectively (corresponding to the different possible CLI “states” of the neighboring cells));
receiving one or more CSI-reference signal (RS) resources associated with the CSI report (See Ericsson Section 2.1 – a simple enhancement to overcome these limitations in Rel-16 can be to introduce a “multi-IMR CQI” report quantity, which associated multiple CSI-IM resources (IMRs) with each NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement (CMR) and wherein the UE reports a separate CQI for each IMR; “multi-IMR CQI is preferred for cell/slot-level measurement granularity from this aspect”);
determining, based at least in part on a measurement of one or more CSI- RSs, a channel quality for each slot of a set of slots (See Ericsson Section 2.1 - a simple enhancement to overcome these limitations in Rel-16 can be to introduce a “multi-IMR CQI” report quantity, which associated multiple CSI-IM resources (IMRs) with each NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement (CMR) and wherein the UE reports a separate CQI for each IMR; Proposal 1 – introduce a new “multi-IMR CQI” CSI report); and
transmitting, during an uplink transmission occasion, the CSI report that includes the channel quality for two or more slots of the set of slots, wherein the CSI report indicates a measured channel quality for a first slot of the set of slots and respective measured channel qualities for additional slots of the set of slots (See Ericsson proposal 1 – transmitting new “multi-IMR CQI” CSI report; CQIs calculated for resources at slot-level).
Ericsson does not specifically disclose
wherein each of the respective measured channel qualities for the additional slots is indicated by a first delta value with respect to the measured channel quality for the first slot.
However, Chen teaches of
wherein each of the respective measured channel qualities for the additional slots is indicated by a first delta value with respect to the measured channel quality for the first slot (See Chen FIG 4; [0058] – quality report indicating power difference between subframe slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, wherein each of the respective measured channel qualities for the additional slots is indicated by a first delta value with respect to the measured channel quality for the first slot, as taught in Chen. One is motivated as such in order to improve flexibility of resource management and resource scheduling (See Chen Background; Summary).
RE Claim 102, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 101 above, wherein the determining the channel quality for each slot of the set of slots are comprises at least one of:
measuring, for each slot of the set of slots, a first channel quality associated with a frequency range of the set of slots (See Ericsson Sections 2.1-4 – during set of slots, performing channel measurement on resources);
measuring, for each slot of the set of slots, one or more second channel qualities, each associated with a respective subband of the frequency range; and
generating and reporting the CSI report to include at least one of a plurality of first measured channel qualities that each correspond to the first channel quality measured in a respective slot and a plurality of second measured channel qualities that each correspond to a second channel quality measured across a subband of the respective slot (See Ericsson Sections 2.1-4 – generating and reporting multi-IMR CQI CSI report corresponding to CSI-IM resource set with N resources).
RE Claim 103, Ericsson discloses method for wireless communication at a network node (See Ericsson Sections 1-2), comprising:
transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report configuration or a trigger for reporting a CSI report (See Ericsson Section 2 – based on configuring different CQI reports with the same CMR but with corresponding periodic CSI-IM resources in different slots/symbols, or by triggering aperiodic CQI report with aperiodic CSI-IM in different slots/symbols, CQI reports corresponding to different UE-to-UE CLI hypotheses can be obtained; Section 2.1 – a UE which is served by cell A can then be configured with a multi-IMR CQI report with three different IMRs, placed in slots 3, 5 and 6 respectively (corresponding to the different possible CLI “states” of the neighboring cells));
transmitting one or more CSI-reference signal (RS) resources associated with the CSI report (See Ericsson Section 2.1 – a simple enhancement to overcome these limitations in Rel-16 can be to introduce a “multi-IMR CQI” report quantity, which associated multiple CSI-IM resources (IMRs) with each NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement (CMR) and wherein the UE reports a separate CQI for each IMR; “multi-IMR CQI is preferred for cell/slot-level measurement granularity from this aspect”);
receiving, during an uplink transmission occasion (See Ericsson proposal 1 – transmitting new “multi-IMR CQI” CSI report), the CSI report that includes a measured channel quality for two or more slots of a set of slots (See Ericsson Section 2.1 - a simple enhancement to overcome these limitations in Rel-16 can be to introduce a “multi-IMR CQI” report quantity, which associated multiple CSI-IM resources (IMRs) with each NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement (CMR) and wherein the UE reports a separate CQI for each IMR; Proposal 1 – introduce a new “multi-IMR CQI” CSI report), wherein the CSI report indicates a measured channel quality for a first slot of the set of slots and respective measured channel qualities for additional slots of the set of slots (See Ericsson proposal 1 – transmitting new “multi-IMR CQI” CSI report; CQIs calculated for resources at slot-level).
Ericsson does not specifically disclose
wherein each of the respective measured channel qualities for the additional slots is indicated by a first delta value with respect to the measured channel quality for the first slot.
However, Chen teaches of
wherein each of the respective measured channel qualities for the additional slots is indicated by a first delta value with respect to the measured channel quality for the first slot (See Chen FIG 4; [0058] – quality report indicating power difference between subframe slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, wherein each of the respective measured channel qualities for the additional slots is indicated by a first delta value with respect to the measured channel quality for the first slot, as taught in Chen. One is motivated as such in order to improve flexibility of resource management and resource scheduling (See Chen Background; Summary).
RE Claim 104, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 103 above, further comprising identifying the measured channel quality for each slot of the two or more slots based at least in part on receiving the CSI report (See Ericsson Sections 2.1-4 – receiving multi-IMR CQI CSI report corresponding to CSI-IM resource set with N resources), wherein the identifying comprises at least one of:
identifying, for each slot of the set of two or more slots, a measured first channel quality associated with a frequency range of the set of two or more slots (See Ericsson Sections 2.1-4 – during set of slots, performing channel measurement on resources); and
identifying, for each slot of the set of two or more slots, one or more second channel qualities, each associated with a respective subband of the frequency range; wherein
the CSI report further comprises at least one of a plurality of first measured channel qualities that each correspond to the first channel quality measured in a respective slot and a plurality of second measured channel qualities that each correspond to a second channel quality measured across a subband of the respective slot (See Ericsson Sections 2.1-4 – generating and reporting multi-IMR CQI CSI report corresponding to CSI-IM resource set with N resources).
Claims 54, 79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Multi-slot CQI for CLI measurement” (hereinafter referred to as Ericsson) in view of Chen et al. (US# 2017/0238312 hereinafter referred to as Chen) and Faxer et al. (US# 2020/0358502 hereinafter referred to as Faxer).
RE Claim 54, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 50 above. Ericsson, modified by Chen, does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions to generate the CSI report further are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: include, in the CSI report, a first measured channel quality for each slot of the set of slots, and a plurality of second measured channel qualities for each slot of the set of slots, wherein each of the plurality of second measured channel qualities for a respective slot is indicated with a second delta value with respect to the first measured channel quality for the respective slot.
However, Faxer teaches of including, in the CSI report, a first measured channel quality for each slot of the set of slots (See Faxer [0103], [0113] – reporting average interference over all slots; CSI also contains wideband CQI & multiple subband CQIs), and a plurality of second measured channel qualities for each slot of the set of slots (See Faxer [0103], [0113] – reporting CQI for individual slots; CSI also contains wideband CQI & multiple subband CQIs), wherein each of the plurality of second measured channel qualities for a respective slot is indicated with a second delta value with respect to the first measured channel quality for the respective slot (See Faxer [0008], [0105], [0113] – reporting delta value of each specific slot with respect to the average measured value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, modified by Chen, comprising including, in the CSI report, a first measured channel quality for each slot of the set of slots, and a plurality of second measured channel qualities for each slot of the set of slots, wherein each of the plurality of second measured channel qualities for a respective slot is indicated with a second delta value with respect to the first measured channel quality for the respective slot, as taught in Faxer. One is motivated as such in order to improve handling of potential interference situations (See Faxer Background; Summary).
RE Claim 79, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 75 above. Ericsson, modified by Chen, does not specifically disclose wherein the CSI report further comprises a first measured channel quality for each slot of the two or more slots, and a plurality of second measured channel qualities for each slot of the two or more slots, wherein each of the plurality of second measured channel qualities for a respective slot is indicated with a second delta value with respect to the first measured channel quality for the respective slot.
However, Faxer teaches of wherein the CSI report further comprises a first measured channel quality for each slot of the two or more slots (See Faxer [0103], [0113] – reporting average interference over all slots; CSI also contains wideband CQI & multiple subband CQIs), and a plurality of second measured channel qualities for each slot of the two or more slots (See Faxer [0103], [0113] – reporting CQI for individual slots; CSI also contains wideband CQI & multiple subband CQIs), wherein each of the plurality of second measured channel qualities for a respective slot is indicated with a second delta value with respect to the first measured channel quality for the respective slot (See Faxer [0008], [0105], [0113] – reporting delta value of each specific slot with respect to the average measured value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, modified by Chen, wherein the CSI report further comprises a first measured channel quality for each slot of the two or more slots, and a plurality of second measured channel qualities for each slot of the two or more slots, wherein each of the plurality of second measured channel qualities for a respective slot is indicated with a second delta value with respect to the first measured channel quality for the respective slot, as taught in Faxer. One is motivated as such in order to improve handling of potential interference situations (See Faxer Background; Summary).
Claim 58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Multi-slot CQI for CLI measurement” (hereinafter referred to as Ericsson) in view of Chen et al. (US# 2017/0238312 hereinafter referred to as Chen) and Sun et al. (US# 2023/0156502 hereinafter referred to as Sun).
RE Claim 58, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 57 above. Ericsson, modified by Chen, does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
determine a quantity of slots included in the CSI reference resource and a slot spacing associated with the quantity of slots based at least in part on one or more predetermined values or on a configuration transmitted by a network node via a radio resource control (RRC) message or a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE); and determine the set of slots based at least in part on the determining the quantity of slots and the slot spacing.
However, Sun teaches of determining a quantity of slots included in the CSI reference resource (See Sun [0004], [0015] – determining number of CSI-RS resources) and a slot spacing associated with the quantity of slots (See Sun [0004], [0015] – determining overall slot duration based on first and second slot durations) based at least in part on one or more predetermined values (See Sun [0004], [0015] – making determinations based on first and second slot durations) or on a configuration transmitted by a network node via a radio resource control (RRC) message or a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE); and
determining the set of slots based at least in part on the determining the quantity of slots and the slot spacing (See Sun [0004], [0015] – determining overall CSI-RS resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, modified by Chen, comprising determining a quantity of slots included in the CSI reference resource and a slot spacing associated with the quantity of slots based at least in part on one or more predetermined values or on a configuration transmitted by a network node via a radio resource control (RRC) message or a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE); and determining the set of slots based at least in part on the determining the quantity of slots and the slot spacing, as taught in Sun. One is motivated as such in order to better determine CSI capability, report CSI capability, and schedule CSI measurement/reporting (See Sun Background; Summary).
Claims 61-62, 86-87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Multi-slot CQI for CLI measurement” (hereinafter referred to as Ericsson) in view of Chen et al. (US# 2017/0238312 hereinafter referred to as Chen) and Shi (US# 2020/0374877).
RE Claim 61, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 57 above. Ericsson, modified by Chen, does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a location of the CSI reference resource based at least in part on a quantity of slots between a last slot of the CSI reference resource and an uplink slot for transmitting the CSI report.
However, Shi teaches of determining a location of the CSI reference resource based at least in part on a quantity of slots between a last slot of the CSI reference resource and an uplink slot for transmitting the CSI report (See Shi [0063], [0093] – determining location of CSI-RS based on first UL slot and DL slots corresponding to first UL slot; location of CSI-RS can be determined according to slot n (1st UL slot) at PUCCH reporting moment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, modified by Chen, comprising determining a location of the CSI reference resource based at least in part on a quantity of slots between a last slot of the CSI reference resource and an uplink slot for transmitting the CSI report, as taught in Shi. One is motivated as such in order to provide CSI reporting while accounting for different numerologies (See Shi Background; Summary).
RE Claim 62, Ericsson, modified by Chen and Shi, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 61 above, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine the quantity of slots between the last slot of the CSI reference resource and the uplink slot based at least in part on a reporting type associated with the CSI report, wherein the reporting type comprises periodic reporting, semi-persistent reporting, or aperiodic reporting (See Shi [0034], [0045], [0134] – manner 1 (periodic reporting) offset determination made based on slot; manner 4 (aperiodic reporting) – based on CSI calculation time; (periodic reporting) slot offset can be also based on subcarrier spacing).
RE Claim 86, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 82 above. Ericsson, modified by Chen, does not specifically disclose wherein a location of the CSI reference resource is determined by a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on a quantity of slots between a last slot of the CSI reference resource and an uplink slot for transmitting the CSI report.
However, Shi teaches of wherein a location of the CSI reference resource is determined by a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on a quantity of slots between a last slot of the CSI reference resource and an uplink slot for transmitting the CSI report (See Shi [0063], [0093] – location of CSI-RS based on first UL slot and DL slots corresponding to first UL slot; location of CSI-RS can be determined according to slot n (1st UL slot) at PUCCH reporting moment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, modified by Chen, wherein a location of the CSI reference resource is determined by a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on a quantity of slots between a last slot of the CSI reference resource and an uplink slot for transmitting the CSI report, as taught in Shi. One is motivated as such in order to provide CSI reporting while accounting for different numerologies (See Shi Background; Summary).
RE Claim 87, Ericsson, modified by Chen and Shi, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 86 above, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit an indication of a reporting type associated with the CSI report, wherein the reporting type comprises periodic reporting, semi-persistent reporting, or aperiodic reporting, wherein the quantity of slots between the last slot of the CSI reference resource and the uplink slot is determined by the UE based at least in part on the reporting type (See Shi [0034], [0045], [0134] – manner 1 (periodic reporting) offset determination made based on slot; manner 4 (aperiodic reporting) – based on CSI calculation time; (periodic reporting) slot offset can be also based on subcarrier spacing).
Claims 63, 88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Multi-slot CQI for CLI measurement” (hereinafter referred to as Ericsson) in view of Chen et al. (US# 2017/0238312 hereinafter referred to as Chen) and Patel et al. (US# 2017/0264408 hereinafter referred to as Patel).
RE Claim 63, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 57 above, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine channel quality information (CQI) for each slot of the multiple slots of the CSI reference resource assuming a same slot format for each slot of the multiple slots (See Ericsson Section 2.1 - “multi-IMR CQI” report including quality information for each slot (no indication that slot format is different for each slot)).
Ericsson, modified by Chen, does not specifically disclose wherein the slot format comprises at least one or more of:
a quantity of OFDM symbols for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH);
a quantity of OFDM symbols for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) symbols and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols;
a frequency bandwidth configured for COI calculation;
a ratio of PDSCH energy per resource element (EPRE) to CSI-RS EPRE;
a quantity of DMRS symbols;
an assumption that the PDSCH symbols do not comprise a DMRS;
a physical resource block (PRB) bundling size equal to two PRBs for DMRS symbols and PDSCH symbols; and
a pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI).
However, Patel teaches of wherein the slot format comprises at least one or more of:
a quantity of OFDM symbols for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH);
a quantity of OFDM symbols for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) symbols and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols;
a frequency bandwidth configured for COI calculation;
a ratio of PDSCH energy per resource element (EPRE) to CSI-RS EPRE;
a quantity of DMRS symbols (See Patel [0068] – slot format includes different # of DMRS symbols);
an assumption that the PDSCH symbols do not comprise a DMRS;
a physical resource block (PRB) bundling size equal to two PRBs for DMRS symbols and PDSCH symbols; and
a pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, modified by Chen, wherein the slot format comprises at least one or more of:
a quantity of OFDM symbols for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH);
a quantity of OFDM symbols for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) symbols and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols;
a frequency bandwidth configured for COI calculation;
a ratio of PDSCH energy per resource element (EPRE) to CSI-RS EPRE;
a quantity of DMRS symbols;
an assumption that the PDSCH symbols do not comprise a DMRS;
a physical resource block (PRB) bundling size equal to two PRBs for DMRS symbols and PDSCH symbols; and
a pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI), as taught in Patel. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication of reference signals (See Patel Background; Summary).
RE Claim 88, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 82 above, herein the instructions to receive the CSI report are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive channel quality information (CQI) for each slot of the multiple slots of the CSI reference resource, wherein the CQI for each slot is determined assuming a same slot format for each slot of the multiple slots (See Ericsson Section 2.1 - “multi-IMR CQI” report including quality information for each slot (no indication that slot format is different for each slot)).
Ericsson, modified by Chen, does not specifically disclose wherein the slot format comprises at least one or more of:
a quantity of OFDM symbols for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH);
a quantity of OFDM symbols for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) symbols and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols;
a frequency bandwidth configured for COI calculation;
a ratio of PDSCH energy per resource element (EPRE) to CSI-RS EPRE;
a quantity of DMRS symbols;
an assumption that the PDSCH symbols do not comprise a DMRS;
a physical resource block (PRB) bundling size equal to two PRBs for DMRS symbols and PDSCH symbols; and
a pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI).
However, Patel teaches of wherein the slot format comprises at least one or more of:
a quantity of OFDM symbols for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH);
a quantity of OFDM symbols for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) symbols and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols;
a frequency bandwidth configured for COI calculation;
a ratio of PDSCH energy per resource element (EPRE) to CSI-RS EPRE;
a quantity of DMRS symbols (See Patel [0068] – slot format includes different # of DMRS symbols);
an assumption that the PDSCH symbols do not comprise a DMRS;
a physical resource block (PRB) bundling size equal to two PRBs for DMRS symbols and PDSCH symbols; and
a pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, modified by Chen, wherein the slot format comprises at least one or more of:
a quantity of OFDM symbols for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH);
a quantity of OFDM symbols for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) symbols and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) symbols;
a frequency bandwidth configured for COI calculation;
a ratio of PDSCH energy per resource element (EPRE) to CSI-RS EPRE;
a quantity of DMRS symbols;
an assumption that the PDSCH symbols do not comprise a DMRS;
a physical resource block (PRB) bundling size equal to two PRBs for DMRS symbols and PDSCH symbols; and
a pre-coding matrix indicator (PMI), as taught in Patel. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication of reference signals (See Patel Background; Summary).
Claims 68, 93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Multi-slot CQI for CLI measurement” (hereinafter referred to as Ericsson) in view of Chen et al. (US# 2017/0238312 hereinafter referred to as Chen) and Akoum et al. (US# 2020/0107309 hereinafter referred to as Akoum).
RE Claim 68, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 49 above. Ericsson, modified by Chen, does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a configuration indicating that the one or more CSI-RS resources are transmitted via repetition, wherein the transmission via repetition comprises that the one or more CSI-RS resources are transmitted using a same spatial transmission filter.
However, Akoum teaches of receiving a configuration indicating that the one or more CSI-RS resources are transmitted via repetition (See Akoum [0041] – CSI-RS resources configured with repetition “ON”), wherein the transmission via repetition comprises that the one or more CSI-RS resources are transmitted using a same spatial transmission filter (See Akoum [0041] – CSI-RS resources configured with repetition “ON” using same spatial transmission filter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, modified by Chen, comprising receiving a configuration indicating that the one or more CSI-RS resources are transmitted via repetition, wherein the transmission via repetition comprises that the one or more CSI-RS resources are transmitted using a same spatial transmission filter, as taught in Akoum. One is motivated as such in order to improve and time efficiency while reducing interference by faster beam alignment and better beam selection (See Akoum Background; [0102]).
RE Claim 93, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 74 above. Ericsson, modified by Chen, does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions to transmit the one or more CSI-RS resources are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit the one or more CSI-RS resources via repetition, wherein transmitting via the repetition are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to transmit the one or more CSI-RS resources using a same spatial transmission filter; and
transmit a configuration indicating that the one or more CSI-RS resources are transmitted via repetition.
However, Akoum teaches of transmitting the one or more CSI-RS resources via repetition, wherein transmitting via the repetition are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to transmit the one or more CSI-RS resources using a same spatial transmission filter (See Akoum [0041] – CSI-RS resources configured with repetition “ON” using same spatial transmission filter); and
transmitting a configuration indicating that the one or more CSI-RS resources are transmitted via repetition (See Akoum [0041] – CSI-RS resources configured with repetition “ON”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, modified by Chen, comprising transmitting the one or more CSI-RS resources via repetition, wherein transmitting via the repetition are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to transmit the one or more CSI-RS resources using a same spatial transmission filter; and
transmitting a configuration indicating that the one or more CSI-RS resources are transmitted via repetition, as taught in Akoum. One is motivated as such in order to improve and time efficiency while reducing interference by faster beam alignment and better beam selection (See Akoum Background; [0102]).
Claim 83 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Multi-slot CQI for CLI measurement” (hereinafter referred to as Ericsson) in view of Chen et al. (US# 2017/0238312 hereinafter referred to as Chen), Sun et al. (US# 2023/0156502 hereinafter referred to as Sun) and Nam et al. (US# 2018/0262313 hereinafter referred to as Nam).
RE Claim 83, Ericsson, modified by Chen, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 82 above. Ericsson, modified by Chen, does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit a configuration indicating a quantity of slots included the CSI reference resource and a slot spacing associated with the quantity of slots via a radio resource control (RRC) message or a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), wherein the set of slots is determined by a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on one or more predetermined values or on the configuration indicating the quantity of slots and the slot spacing.
However, Sun teaches of transmitting a configuration indicating a quantity of slots included the CSI reference resource (See Sun [0004], [0015] – number of CSI-RS resources) and a slot spacing associated with the quantity of slots (See Sun [0004], [0015] – overall slot duration based on first and second slot durations), wherein the set of slots is determined by a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on one or more predetermined values or on the configuration indicating the quantity of slots and the slot spacing (See Sun [0004], [0015] – making determinations based on first and second slot durations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, modified by Chen, comprising transmitting a configuration indicating a quantity of slots included the CSI reference resource and a slot spacing associated with the quantity of slots, wherein the set of slots is determined by a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on one or more predetermined values or on the configuration indicating the quantity of slots and the slot spacing, as taught in Sun. One is motivated as such in order to better determine CSI capability, report CSI capability, and schedule CSI measurement/reporting (See Sun Background; Summary).
Ericsson, modified by Chen and Sun, does not specifically disclose transmitting the configuration via a radio resource control (RRC) message or a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE).
However, Nam teaches of transmitting CSI-RS configuration via a radio resource control (RRC) message or a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (See Nam [0209], [0226] – CSI-RS configuration in RRC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ericsson, modified by Chen and Sun, comprising transmitting CSI-RS configuration via a radio resource control (RRC) message or a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), as taught in Nam. One is motivated as such in order to help improve performance and coverage (See Nam [0129]-[0134]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 55-56, 64, 66, 80-81, 89, 91 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment (See Claims above, Chen reference).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477