DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 04/14/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/14/2026 has been entered. Support for the amendments to claims 1 and 8 is found in previous claims 16 and 17, as well as originally filed Fig. 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks at the bottom of page 8 and at the top of page 9, filed 04/14/2026, with respect to the Ito reference failing to teach toward providing an elastic deformation groove at an end face of the snapping protrusion of modified Chengdu, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 103 rejection of 01/14/2026 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the RCE necessitating further search.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 16 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and Claim 8 (and their dependent claims 2-6 and 9-20) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1 and 8 refer to “an end face of the snapping protrusion portion away from the battery terminal”; however, this wording is unclear because the snapping protrusion is in fact an integral part of the overall battery terminal within the instant invention (see instant . For examination purposes, this limitation is being interpreted as referring to the innermost end of the snapping protrusion, which is located at an opposite end of the overall terminal versus the outermost head of the terminal.
Claim 4 (and its dependent claims 5-6) and Claim 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claims upon which they depend, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 fails to limit base claim 1, and claim 20 fails to limit base claim 8, since claims 1 and 8 now both recite "the snapping portion comprises a snapping protrusion portion" (which is the same limitation introduces by claims 4 and 20). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 2-3 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claims upon which they depend, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 2-3 cannot include all limitations of base claim 1, and claims 18-19 cannot include all limitations of base claim 8, because claims 1 and 8 require that “the snapping portion comprises a snapping protrusion portion”, but claims 2-3 and 18-19 instead necessitate that “the snapping portion comprises a riveting protrusion portion”. According to the instant specification (in US Pre-Grant Publication US 2024/0304960 A1), the embodiment where the snapping portion 3 includes a snapping protrusion portion 32 is an alternate embodiment from that in which the snapping portion 3 includes a riveting protrusion portion 31 (instant [0047, 0063] and Fig. 1-6 versus Figs. 12-13). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2023/0012811 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cho teaches an internal connection structure of a battery terminal (terminal 160, Fig. 1; internal connection within can 120, Fig. 1), comprising:
a roll core (electrode assembly 110, Fig. 1; wound in a jelly-roll shape per [0039]) provided with a first electrode tab and a second electrode tab (positive electrode non-coating portion of positive electrode plate, and negative electrode non-coating of negative electrode plate; [0037, 0036]);
a first current collector connected to the first electrode tab (collector plate 180 electrically connected to positive electrode plate, [0042]) and provided with a hole (through-hole in the center of collector plate 180, [0042] and Fig. 1); and
a snapping portion (coupling parts 162 protruding from lower/inner end of 160, Fig. 1; mechanical/clinching bonding method – without welding/heat – per [0056-0059]),
wherein the snapping portion is disposed on an inner side of the battery terminal (162 on inner side of 160, Fig. 1), the snapping portion passes through the hole and is snapped with the hole (162 is through the central hole in collector plate 180, shown in Fig. 1; see also [0043]),
the battery terminal passes through the hole (vertical portion of 160 through central hole of 180, Fig. 1) and is snapped and assembled with the first current collector via the snapping portion (via coupling part 162, [0043] and Fig. 1), and the battery terminal is configured to enable a positive end of the roll core to extend outwards (terminal 160 is electrically connected to core 110 via plate 180 per [0044], which is positive per [0042] such that terminal 160 has positive polarity per [0044], and 160 extends outwardly from battery can 120 per Fig. 1);
wherein the snapping portion comprises a snapping protrusion portion (lower portion of coupling parts 162 protruding from 160 and coupled to a lower side of collector plate 180, [0043] and Fig. 2); and
an end face of the snapping protrusion portion away from the battery terminal (downward/internal 162 away from outer head of 160, Fig. 1 and [0043]) is provided with an elastic deformation groove (end of the terminal 160 is plastically deformed while being in close contact with the collector plate by the pressure tool 200 … end of the terminal 160 deformed by the pressure and bonded to collector plate 180 defined as coupling part 162, [0059] and Fig. 4; groove is formed at the angle between 160 and 162 where inner diameter portion of collector plate 180 is in a state of being inserted between the terminal 160 and the coupling part 162, [0059] and Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 8, Cho teaches a battery (secondary battery 100, Fig. 1), comprising an internal connection structure of a battery terminal (terminal 160, Fig. 1; internal connection within can 120, Fig. 1), the internal connection structure of the battery terminal, comprising:
a roll core (electrode assembly 110, Fig. 1; wound in a jelly-roll shape per [0039]), the roll core provided with a first electrode tab and a second electrode tab (positive electrode non-coating portion of positive electrode plate, and negative electrode non-coating of negative electrode plate; [0037, 0036]);
a first current collector (180, Fig. 1), wherein the first current collector is connected to the first electrode tab (collector plate 180 electrically connected to positive electrode plate, [0042]), and the first current collector is provided with a hole (through-hole in the center of collector plate 180, [0042] and Fig. 1); and
a snapping portion (coupling parts 162 protruding from lower/inner end of 160, Fig. 1; mechanical/clinching bonding method – without welding/heat – per [0056-0059]),
wherein the snapping portion is disposed on an inner side of the battery terminal (162 on inner side of 160, Fig. 1), the snapping portion passes through the hole and is snapped with the hole (162 is through the central hole in collector plate 180, shown in Fig. 1; see also [0043]),
the battery terminal passes through the hole (vertical portion of 160 through central hole of 180, Fig. 1) and is snapped and assembled with the first current collector via the snapping portion (via coupling part 162, [0043] and Fig. 1), and the battery terminal is configured to enable a positive end of the roll core to extend outwards (terminal 160 is electrically connected to core 110 via plate 180 per [0044], which is positive per [0042] such that terminal 160 has positive polarity per [0044], and 160 extends outwardly from battery can 120 per Fig. 1);
wherein the snapping portion comprises a snapping protrusion portion (lower portion of coupling parts 162 protruding from 160 and coupled to a lower side of collector plate 180, [0043] and Fig. 2); and
an end face of the snapping protrusion portion away from the battery terminal (downward/internal 162 away from outer head of 160, Fig. 1 and [0043]) is provided with an elastic deformation groove (end of the terminal 160 is plastically deformed while being in close contact with the collector plate by the pressure tool 200 … end of the terminal 160 deformed by the pressure and bonded to collector plate 180 defined as coupling part 162, [0059] and Fig. 4; groove is formed at the angle between 160 and 162 where inner diameter portion of collector plate 180 is in a state of being inserted between the terminal 160 and the coupling part 162, [0059] and Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 18, Cho teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 8 above and wherein the snapping portion comprises a riveting protrusion portion (160 may be in form of a rivet, [0055]).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 20, Cho teaches the limitations of claims 1 an 8 above and wherein the snapping portion comprises a snapping protrusion portion (coupling parts 162, Fig. 1 – as cited above in regards to claims 1 and 8).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 16, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and wherein the snapping protrusion portion comprises a first snapping protrusion (innermost vertical portion of 160 where 162 connects, Fig. 1) and a second snapping protrusion (tip of 162, Fig. 1), a first end of the first snapping protrusion is fixedly connected to the inner side of the battery terminal (see annotation below), and a second end of the first snapping protrusion is fixedly connected to the second snapping protrusion (see annotation below), an end face of the second snapping protrusion away from the battery terminal is an aligning inclined surface (angled surface of 162 made by tool 200, Fig. 4), an end face of the second snapping protrusion close to the battery terminal is a snapping surface (see annotation below), and the snapping surface abuts against the first current collector (lower coupling part 162 of the terminal 160 is coupled to a lower side of the collector plate 180, [0043]).
Regarding claim 6, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 5 above and wherein a distance between the snapping surface and an inner end face of the battery terminal is approximately the same as a thickness of the first current collector (see Fig. 1 annotation below – where 180 is held between 162 and 160 per [0059] and Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 8 above and further comprising:
a battery case (can 120, Fig. 1);
the battery terminal (terminal 160, Fig. 1 and cited above – positive terminal per [0044]);
a terminal insulating part and an internal insulating part disposed between the battery terminal and the battery case (gasket 170 is installed between the can 120 and the terminal 160 to insulate the can 120 from the terminal 160, [0044]), wherein
the terminal insulating part is located outside the battery case (horizontal portion of 170 outside of 120, Fig. 1), the internal insulating part is located inside the battery case (vertical portion of 170 is inside the hole within 120, Fig. 1),
the battery terminal is connected to the internal connection structure of the battery terminal (162 connected to/integral to 160, Figs. 1 and 3-4), and the battery terminal is configured to enable the positive end of the roll core to extend outwards (160 is positive terminal per [0044], connected to positive electrode via 180 per [0042], 160 extends outward from 120 per Fig. 1); and
a second current collector (150, Fig. 1), wherein the second current collector is connected to the second electrode tab (150 is electrically connected to the negative electrode non-coating portion, [0041-0042]) and an inner part of the battery case respectively (150 is electrically connected to the negative electrode non-coating portion, [0041]; beading part 121 protrudes from adjacent the upper side of the first collector plate 150 toward an interior of the can 120 to support the first collector plate 150, [0040] and Fig. 1), and the battery case is configured to enable a negative end of the roll core to extend outwards (122 projects downwardly/outwardly in Fig. 1, and is part of can 120 which is negative polarity per [0041]).
Regarding claim 10, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 9 above and the battery terminal comprises a first pole post configured to pass through a through hole disposed at an end of the battery case (vertical shaft/pole post portion of the terminal 160 located to pass through the through-hole within top surface of can 120, [0043] and Fig. 1); and
an inner side of the first pole post is provided with a riveting flange (the terminal 160 may have a rivet shape, [0043]; see also coupling part 162 in Figs. 1 and 3-4), and the battery terminal is configured to pass through the through hole and to be riveted and assembled with the battery case via the riveting flange to fix the battery terminal with the battery case (by using pressure tool 100, [0058-0059] and Fig. 3-4).
Regarding claim 12, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 8 above and further comprising:
a battery case (can 120, Fig. 1);
the battery terminal (terminal 160, Fig. 1 and cited above – positive terminal per [0044]);
a terminal insulating part and an internal insulating part disposed between the battery terminal and the battery case (gasket 170 is installed between the can 120 and the terminal 160 to insulate the can 120 from the terminal 160, [0044]), wherein
the terminal insulating part is located outside the battery case (horizontal portion of 170 outside of 120, Fig. 1), the internal insulating part is located inside the battery case (vertical portion of 170 is inside the hole within 120, Fig. 1),
the battery terminal is connected to the internal connection structure of the battery terminal (162 connected to/integral to 160, Figs. 1 and 3-4), and the battery terminal is configured to enable the positive end of the roll core to extend outwards (160 is positive terminal per [0044], connected to positive electrode via 180 per [0042], 160 extends outward from 120 per Fig. 1); and
a second current collector (150, Fig. 1), wherein the second current collector is connected to the second electrode tab (150 is electrically connected to the negative electrode non-coating portion, [0041-0042]) and an inner part of the battery case respectively (150 is electrically connected to the negative electrode non-coating portion, [0041]; beading part 121 protrudes from adjacent the upper side of the first collector plate 150 toward an interior of the can 120 to support the first collector plate 150, [0040] and Fig. 1), and the battery case is configured to enable a negative end of the roll core to extend outwards (122 projects downwardly/outwardly in Fig. 1, and is part of can 120 which is negative polarity per [0041]).; and
a cover plate (cap plate 130, Fig. 1), wherein
an end of the battery case away from the battery terminal is provided with an opening (can 120 may be provided in a cylindrical shape having bottom side that is opened, [0040] and Fig. 1), and the cover plate is disposed at a position of the opening (cap plate 130 serves to seal a bottom surface of the can 120, [0041] and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 12 above and wherein an internal wall of the opening extends outside of the battery case to form a supporting portion (lowermost edge/tip of 120 supports 130 via gasket 140, [0040-0041] and Fig. 1), the supporting portion is configured to support the cover plate (see above citation and Fig. 1), the supporting portion is connected to a crimping portion (tip of 120 adjacent to crimping part 122, [0040-0041] and Fig. 1), and the crimping portion is configured to press the cover plate on the supporting portion (crimping part 122 is bent inwardly with respect to a remainder of the can 120, while the cap plate 130 is located at an interior of the can 120, to at least partially surround an edge of the cap plate 130, thereby reducing or preventing a likelihood of the cap plate 130 being separated from the can 120, [0040]).
Regarding claim 14, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 12 above and further comprising a sealing ring disposed at a gap between the cover plate and the opening (gasket 140 for improving sealing strength and insulation may be inserted between the cap plate 130 and the crimping part 122, i.e. at opening of 120; [0041] and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 12 above and wherein the cover plate is provided with an explosion-proof valve body structure (notch 131 is provided in, or defined by, the cap plate 130 to serve as a safety vent for discharging a gas, [0041]), and the explosion-proof valve body structure is coaxial with the battery (131 defined by 130, see also Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 8 above and wherein the snapping protrusion portion comprises a first snapping protrusion (innermost vertical portion of 160 where 162 connects, Fig. 1) and a second snapping protrusion (tip of 162, Fig. 1), a first end of the first snapping protrusion is fixedly connected to the inner side of the battery terminal (see annotation below), and a second end of the first snapping protrusion is fixedly connected to the second snapping protrusion (see annotation below), an end face of the second snapping protrusion away from the battery terminal is an aligning inclined surface (angled surface of 162 made by tool 200, Fig. 4), an end face of the second snapping protrusion close to the battery terminal is a snapping surface (see annotation below), and the snapping surface abuts against the first current collector (lower coupling part 162 of the terminal 160 is coupled to a lower side of the collector plate 180, [0043]); and
a distance between the snapping surface and an inner end face of the battery terminal is approximately the same as a thickness of the first current collector (see Fig. 1 annotation below – where 180 is held between 162 and 160 per [0059] and Figs. 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2023/0012811 A1) as applied to claims 2 and 8 above, and further in view of Oya (US 2012/0082886 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 2 above and wherein the riveting protrusion portion is disposed with a riveting notch (central portion of 160 where 200 inserts, Figs. 3-4), but fails to teach the riveting notch is configured to separate the riveting protrusion portion into a plurality of independent riveting protrusions.
Oya is analogous in the art of battery terminals and pertinent to the problem of said battery terminals being connected through holes in conductive plates (4 connected through 5, [0033] and Figs. 2-6). Oya teaches terminals 4 having grooves 12 formed therein which separate 4 into a plurality of segments 4c ([0036] and Fig. 2). Oya [0036] also teaches that since the electrode terminal 4 is elastically deformable, when the force applied from the outer periphery 4b of the electrode terminal 4 is released, the four segmented portion 4c move away from each other so that the width of the groove 12 can be returned to the original value “d”. Oya teaches in [0051] that such achieves tight mechanical connection between conductive plate 5 and the terminal 4. Oya teaches in [0008] that conventional connection method of welding has problems of being permanent and the potential for unwanted cracking, but teaches in [0011-0016] that the inventive connection method including inserting plurality of terminal segments through a through-hole within the conductive connection plate is beneficial to solve these problems by allowing for easy fixation as well as maintaining reliable connection over a long period of time.
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Cho terminal with the groove forming a plurality of segmented protrusions to utilize the connection technique as taught by Oya with the motivation of achieving easy, reliable, and tight connection of the terminal through the collector plate through-hole of modified Cho. Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results supports a conclusion of obviousness per MPEP 2143 I D.
Thus, the instant claim 3 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 19, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 8 above and wherein the snapping portion comprises a riveting protrusion portion (160 may be in form of a rivet, [0055]); the riveting protrusion portion is disposed with a riveting notch (central portion of 160 where 200 inserts, Figs. 3-4), but fails to teach the riveting notch is configured to separate the riveting protrusion portion into a plurality of independent riveting protrusions.
Oya is analogous in the art of battery terminals and pertinent to the problem of said battery terminals being connected through holes in conductive plates (4 connected through 5, [0033] and Figs. 2-6). Oya teaches terminals 4 having grooves 12 formed therein which separate 4 into a plurality of segments 4c ([0036] and Fig. 2). Oya [0036] also teaches that since the electrode terminal 4 is elastically deformable, when the force applied from the outer periphery 4b of the electrode terminal 4 is released, the four segmented portion 4c move away from each other so that the width of the groove 12 can be returned to the original value “d”. Oya teaches in [0051] that such achieves tight mechanical connection between conductive plate 5 and the terminal 4. Oya teaches in [0008] that conventional connection method of welding has problems of being permanent and the potential for unwanted cracking, but teaches in [0011-0016] that the inventive connection method including inserting plurality of terminal segments through a through-hole within the conductive connection plate is beneficial to solve these problems by allowing for easy fixation as well as maintaining reliable connection over a long period of time.
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Cho terminal with the groove forming a plurality of segmented protrusions to utilize the connection technique as taught by Oya with the motivation of achieving easy, reliable, and tight connection of the terminal through the collector plate through-hole of modified Cho. Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results supports a conclusion of obviousness per MPEP 2143 I D.
Thus, the instant claim 19 is rendered obvious.
10. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2023/0012811 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Min et al. (US 2024/0322399 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 10 above but fails to teach the first pole post is provided with a riveting turnover groove adjacent to the riveting flange, and the riveting turnover groove is located at a side of the riveting flange close to a center of the first pole post.
Min is analogous in the art of internal connection structures of battery terminals (connection of terminal 50 to electrode assembly 71 internal to battery housing 51, Figs. 5 and 7a) and teaches a terminal (50’, Fig. 6b) with a first pole post (central 50a to 50d, passing through hole 53 in 52; Fig. 6b) that is provided with a riveting turnover groove (recess 55, Fig. 6b) adjacent to a riveting flange (the inner flange portion 50c is riveted toward the inner surface 52b, [0181]), and the riveting turnover groove is located at a side of the riveting flange close to a center of the first pole post (groove 55 is inward/toward center of 50d versus flange 50c. Fig. 6b). Min teaches that recess 55 may be provided between the inner flange portion 50c and the flat portion 50d, and the recess 55 is a groove recessed toward a central axis of the body portion 50a, and that the recess 55 is formed by the shape of a caulking jig when the electrode terminal 50 is installed in the perforation hole 53 of the battery housing 51 in a caulking method ([0139]). Min further teaches press-in depth of the caulking jig may be regulated by the flat portion 50 d. The flat portion 50d is formed in advance in the body portion 50a, and the caulking jig has a groove into which the flat portion 50d is inserted; therefore, while the preform is being press-formed, if the flat portion 50d comes into contact with the bottom of the groove, the press-forming is stopped, and accordingly, the inner flange portion 50 c and the recess 55 formed through plastic deformation may have the uniform shape even in the mass production process ([0167]).
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Cho with the riveting turnover groove/recess adjacent to the riveting flange and between said riveting flange an center of pole post as taught by Min with the motivation of guiding the depth of the riveting jig in order to achieve shape uniformity even in mass production.
Thus, the instant claim 11 is rendered obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Min et al. (US 2024/0322399 A1, cited above in 35 USC 103 section) teaches an internal connection structure of a battery terminal (connection of terminal 50 to electrode assembly 71 internal to battery housing 51, Figs. 5 and 7a), comprising:
a roll core provided with a first electrode tab and a second electrode tab (electrode assembly 71 with uncoated portions 73 and 72, Fig. 7a);
a first current collector connected to the first electrode tab (79 connected to 73, Fig. 7b and [0216]) … and
a snapping portion, wherein the snapping portion is disposed on an inner side of the battery terminal (portion of terminal 50 inside of 51, Fig. 6a as annotated below),
the battery terminal passes through [a] hole (50 thorough hole 53 within 52, Figs. 5-6a) and is … assembled with the first current collector (50d at 79a, Fig. 7b and [0216]) … and the battery terminal is configured to enable a positive end of the roll core to extend outwards (electrode terminal 50 may have a positive polarity, [0241]);
wherein the snapping portion comprises a snapping protrusion portion (inner flange 50c, Fig. 6a); and
an end face of the snapping protrusion portion away from the battery terminal (50c versus 50b, Figs. 6b and 70b) is provided with an elastic deformation groove (where gasket 54 is held between 50c and 57, Fig. 6a; elastically compressed per [0168]);
and teaches:
the snapping protrusion portion comprises a first snapping protrusion and a second snapping protrusion (5c1 and 5c2, Fig. 6b),
a first end of the first snapping protrusion is fixedly connected to the inner side of the battery terminal (5c1 at 52 via 54, Fig. 6b), and
a second end of the first snapping protrusion is fixedly connected to the second snapping protrusion 5c2 extends from 5c1, Fig. 6b),
an end face of the second snapping protrusion away from the battery terminal is an aligning inclined surface (5c2 inclined by angle δ, Fig. 6b).
/JESSIE WALLS-MURRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728