DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 11/21/2025 have been entered.
The drawings objections to Figs. 2 and 5 are overcome by the corrected replacement drawings filed 11/21/2025 and supported by the original disclosure; the drawing objections of the previous Office action are now withdrawn.
The amendments overcome the objections to Claims 1, 8, 9, 12, 17. The claim objections of the previous Office action are now withdrawn. However, a new claim objection is made below.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: "a same as a thickness" as amended appears to be grammatically incorrect. (Recitation of “the same” is not introducing a structural feature which would require antecedent basis, as no 35 USC 112(b) was made of record pertaining to claim 6; therefore, this amendment appears unnecessary and creates new confusion.) Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 with regard to the 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Arguments on remarks pages 8-10 against the Chengdu primary reference point to Chengdu failing to teach the specifically claimed “snapping” portion of the battery terminal internal connection structure. While examiner agrees with such characterization of Chengdu, the argument is not found persuasive because the secondary reference Guo is relied upon for teaching the snapping functionality of the portion of modified Chengdu in question. See non-final rejection of record dated 08/21/2025 at pages 6-8 explaining that Guo teaches toward snapping functionality of a similar internal connection structure portion, in order to eliminate the need for welded connection. Such combination of Chengdu in view of Guo is maintained in the below grounds of rejection. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (i.e., against Chengdu alone for not teaching the snapping portion), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Similarly, arguments on remarks pages 10-11 against the Guo secondary reference are also not persuasive, because the features alleged by Applicant to be lacking in Guo (e.g., current collector connected to battery terminal) are met by the base structure of the primary reference Chengdu. Further, examiner respectfully disagrees and points to the mapping features of Guo (wherein coverboard 1 serves as a battery terminal, and conductive disc 4/ring 5 together serve as a current collector, which is connected to the terminal by way of being pressed by the snapping portion at the bottom of staple 3 since 3 is connected to 1 via conductor 2). See non-final rejection of record dated 08/21/2025 at pages 6-7 explaining these features of Guo corresponding to the features of base reference Chengdu, thus establishing Guo and Chengdu analogous art; as such, this ground of rejection is maintained below. Nevertheless, as explained above, Guo is a teaching reference which is relied upon for teaching toward snap-fit connectability within modified Chengdu, since the lower end of staple 3 of Guo (Figs. 2 and 6) is shaped similarly to protrusions from the top of first boss 310 of the positive terminal 301 within Chengdu (Figs. 7 and 9), and beneficially provides snap-fitting / pressing functionality through the conductive/collector member’s central opening to achieve electrical connection between this collector and the uppermost battery terminal without the need for welding (Guo [0031-0035, 0042]), as explained in the rejection of record and maintained below.
Furthermore, remarks on page 11 note the intention of the instant invention to achieve the electrical connection via the snapping portion to eliminate the need for welding. As noted above and in the rejection of record, Guo at [0017-0018, 0042] also teaches toward such benefit of the snapping/pressing portion 301/302 of staple 3 as applied to modified Chengdu. Thus, this argument is not persuasive to differentiate the instant invention from the rejection of record, as the same benefit is achieved by the combination of prior art references in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-12, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chengdu (CN 211350696 U, as cited with a provided English translation in the 01/23/2024 IDS) in view of Guo et al. (US 2011/0159357 A1, cited in the 8/21/25 rejection).
Regarding claim 1, Chengdu teaches an internal connection structure (within positive electrode cover assembly 3, figs. 2 and 8) of a battery terminal (positive pole 301, fig. 7), comprising:
a roll core (battery core made by winding positive and negative electrodes and the diaphragm through a central tube; translation: bottom of pg. 2 – top of pg. 3, which is the 4th paragraph under “Utility model content”),
a first current collector (positive current collecting plate 306, figs. 7-9; which is welded to adapter plate 305 per translation pg. 5: last para.) provided with a hole (central hole(s) within 305 and 306, figs. 7 and 9);
and a … portion (protrusions of radial 301 and axial first boss 310, figs. 7 and 9), wherein the … portion is disposed on an inner side of the battery terminal (310 faces inwardly from positive pole 301, figs. 7-9),
the … portion passes through the hole (first boss 310 penetrates central hole within adapter plate 305 and current collecting 306 from top to bottom, fig. 7 and translation pg. 5: 6th para.; protrusions from 301 above 310 pass through the hole of 307),
the battery terminal passes through the hole via the … portion (first boss portion 310 of positive terminal 301 penetrates the central hole(s) of 305 and 306 from top to bottom, fig. 7 and translation pg. 5: 6th para.; protrusions from 301 above 310 pass through the hole of 307), and
the battery terminal is configured to enable a positive end of the roll core [to] extend outwards (externally-extended positive pole 301 is axially connected with the battery core via first boss 310 in counterbore 8 of aluminum central tube 2; translation pg. 5: 5th para and pg. 6: 5th para., and figs. 2,8,9; additionally, positive electrode of battery core is welded to collector plate 306 which is welded to adapter plate 305 which is integrally riveted to protrusions of terminal 301 – per fig. 7 and translation pg. 5: last para.).
Chengdu fails to explicitly teach:
[the] roll core provided with a first electrode tab and a second electrode tab;
[the] first current collector is connected to the first electrode tab;
the above-cited “…portion” (i.e., first boss 310) is specifically a “snapping” portion which is snapped with the hole, nor
the battery terminal is snapped and assembled with the first current collector via the snapping portion.
Chengdu does teach that the first current collector 306 is electrically connected to the first (positive) electrode by welding (One end of the positive electrode of the cell is welded to the current collector plate 306, and the raised edge of the current collector plate 306 is welded firmly to the edge of the adapter plate 305; translation pg. 5: last para. and pg. 7: ~4th para.) but does not specifically teach such welded connection via a tab.
Chengdu also teaches the first terminal 310 including protrusions above first boss 310 which are riveted with adapter plate 305 (and that adapter plate 305 is welded to first current collector plate 306) via protrusions from 301 at the top of 310 (per translation pg. 5: last para.), such that these protrusions appear in Fig. 7 to result in a form similar to being “snapped” onto 305 (since protrusions are compressed onto 305) to thus electrically integrate 301 and 306. See annotated figure:
Guo is analogous in the art of battery internal connection structures (a connection structure for connecting a tab of a battery cell with a cover board, [0001]) and teaches electrically coupling a first terminal at an end of a battery (cover board 1 having electrical connection thereto, [0035] and Figs. 1-2),
wherein a roll core (cell 8 is formed in a cylinder shape, [0028] and Fig. 1) is provided with a first electrode tab and a second electrode tab (tabs comprise a positive tab and a negative tab located at two ends of the cell 8 respectively, [0028]);
wherein a first current collector is connected to the first electrode tab (conductive ring 5 is electrically connected with the tabs 7, [0038]; and the elastic conductive ring 5 conductively connects the tabs 7 and the elastic pressing disc 4, [0032]; such that both ring 5 and disc 4 read on “current collector” connected to first tabs 7 – see also Fig. 1);
a snapping portion (lower portion of staple 3, Figs. 2 and 6; used for snap/press-fitting and engagement with hooks per [0032] and Figs. 1 and 6) which is snapped in a hole of the current collector (staple 3 for pressing the elastic pressing disc 4 on the elastic conductive ring 5, [0032]; staple 3 passes through a center hole of the elastic pressing disc per [0033] and Figs. 1-2), and
a battery terminal (pole on cover board 1 is electrically connected to staple 3 by stretchable conductor 2 to achieve connection between cover board 1 and tabs 7, Figs. 1-2 and [0035]; therefore, cover board 1 reads on “terminal” for the electrode within cell 8 connected to tabs 7) is snapped and assembled with the first current collector via the snapping portion (staple 3 connects terminal cover 1 to discs 4/5 by penetrating therethrough, then slot 302 of staple 3 matches with an elastic hook 603 of spacer 6 and cooperates with the pressure surface 301 to press the elastic pressing disc 4 on the elastic conductive ring 5; [0032-0033] and Figs 1-2 and 5; as such, the press-fit and hook engagement of 3 reads on “snapping”).
See annotation below of Guo:
Guo teaches that their invention provides a connection structure for connecting a tab of a cell with a cover board, which is easy to be assembled without welding to improve assembly efficiency as well as performance and safety of the battery, while maintaining desirable high contact area between tabs and the conductive collector, due to the tight contact pressure provided by the staple/snapping portion ([0004, 0017-0018, 0042]).
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the connection structure of Chengdu to include first electrode tabs to achieve high contact area connection with the first current collector and to further ensure the “snapping” function of the portion that connects the electrically conductive components (i.e., terminal to collector and collector to tabs) via contact pressure without the need for welding in order to improve assembly efficiency and safety, as taught by Guo.
Thus, all limitations of instant claim 1 are rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 8, Chengdu teaches A battery (cylindrical lithium-ion battery structure includes a battery case 1 and a battery cell arranged therein, Figs. 1-3 and translation pg. 5: 4th para.), comprising an internal connection structure (within positive electrode cover assembly 3, figs. 2 and 8) of a battery terminal (positive pole 301, fig. 7), the internal connection structure of the battery terminal comprising:
a roll core (battery core made by winding positive and negative electrodes and the diaphragm through a central tube; translation: bottom of pg. 2 – top of pg. 3, which is the 4th paragraph under “Utility model content”),
a first current collector (positive current collecting plate 306, figs. 7-9; which is welded to adapter plate 305 per translation pg. 5: last para.), and the first current collector is provided with a hole (central hole(s) within 305 and 306, figs. 7 and 9);
and a … portion (protrusions of radial 301 and axial first boss 310, figs. 7 and 9), wherein the … portion is disposed on an inner side of the battery terminal (310 faces inwardly from positive pole 301, figs. 7-9),
the … portion passes through the hole (first boss 310 penetrates central hole within adapter plate 305 and current collecting 306 from top to bottom, fig. 7 and translation pg. 5: 6th para.; protrusions from 301 above 310 pass through the hole of 307),
the battery terminal passes through the hole via the … portion (first boss portion 310 of positive terminal 301 penetrates the central hole(s) of 305 and 306 from top to bottom, fig. 7 and translation pg. 5: 6th para.; protrusions from 301 above 310 pass through the hole of 307), and
the battery terminal is configured to enable a positive end of the roll core [to] extend outwards (externally-extended positive pole 301 is axially connected the battery core via first boss 310 in counterbore 8 of aluminum central tube 2; translation pg. 5: 5th para and pg. 6: 5th para., and figs. 2,8,9; additionally, positive electrode of battery core is welded to collector plate 306 which is welded to adapter plate 305 which is integrally riveted to protrusions of terminal 301 – per fig. 7 and translation pg. 5: last para.).
Chengdu fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the roll core is provided with a first electrode tab and a second electrode tab;
wherein the first current collector is connected to the first electrode tab;
the above-cited “…portion” (i.e., first boss 310) is specifically a “snapping” portion which is snapped with the hole, nor
the battery terminal is snapped and assembled with the first current collector via the snapping portion.
Chengdu does teach that the first current collector 306 is electrically connected to the first (positive) electrode by welding (One end of the positive electrode of the cell is welded to the current collector plate 306, and the raised edge of the current collector plate 306 is welded firmly to the edge of the adapter plate 305; translation pg. 5: last para. and pg. 7: ~4th para.) but does not specifically teach such welded connection via a tab.
Chengdu also teaches the first terminal 310 including protrusions above first boss 310 which are riveted with adapter plate 305 (and that adapter plate 305 is welded to first current collector plate 306) via protrusions from 301 at the top of 310 (per translation pg. 5: last para.), such that these protrusions appear in Fig. 7 to result in a form similar to being “snapped” onto 305 (since protrusions are compressed onto 305) to thus electrically integrate 301 and 306. See annotated figure:
Guo is analogous in the art of battery internal connection structures (a connection structure for connecting a tab of a battery cell with a cover board, [0001]) and teaches electrically coupling a first terminal at an end of a battery (cover board 1 having electrical connection thereto, [0035] and Figs. 1-2),
wherein a roll core (cell 8 is formed in a cylinder shape, [0028] and Fig. 1) is provided with a first electrode tab and a second electrode tab (tabs comprise a positive tab and a negative tab located at two ends of the cell 8 respectively, [0028]);
wherein a first current collector is connected to the first electrode tab (conductive ring 5 is electrically connected with the tabs 7, [0038]; and the elastic conductive ring 5 conductively connects the tabs 7 and the elastic pressing disc 4, [0032]; such that both ring 5 and disc 4 read on “current collector” connected to first tabs 7 – see also Fig. 1);
a snapping portion (lower portion of staple 3, Figs. 2 and 6; used for snap/press-fitting and engagement with hooks per [0032] and Figs. 1 and 6) which is snapped in a hole of the current collector (staple 3 for pressing the elastic pressing disc 4 on the elastic conductive ring 5, [0032]; staple 3 passes through a center hole of the elastic pressing disc per [0033] and Figs. 1-2), and
a battery terminal (pole on cover board 1 is electrically connected to staple 3 by stretchable conductor 2 to achieve connection between cover board 1 and tabs 7, Figs. 1-2 and [0035]; therefore, cover board 1 reads on “terminal” for the electrode within cell 8 connected to tabs 7) is snapped and assembled with the first current collector via the snapping portion (staple 3 connects terminal cover 1 to discs 4/5 by penetrating therethrough, then slot 302 of staple 3 matches with an elastic hook 603 of spacer 6 and cooperates with the pressure surface 301 to press the elastic pressing disc 4 on the elastic conductive ring 5; [0032-0033] and Figs 1-2 and 5; as such, the press-fit and hook engagement of 3 reads on “snapping”).
See annotation below of Guo:
Guo teaches that their invention provides a connection structure for connecting a tab of a cell with a cover board, which is easy to be assembled without welding to improve assembly efficiency as well as performance and safety of the battery, while maintaining desirable high contact area between tabs and the conductive collector, due to the tight contact pressure provided by the staple/snapping portion ([0004, 0017-0018, 0042]).
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the connection structure of Chengdu to include first electrode tabs to achieve high contact area connection with the first current collector and to further ensure the “snapping” function of the portion that connects the electrically conductive components (i.e., terminal to collector and collector to tabs) via contact pressure without the need for welding in order to improve assembly efficiency and safety, as taught by Guo.
Thus, all limitations of instant claim 8 are rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 2 and claim 18, modified Chengdu teaches the internal connection structure of the battery terminal according to claim 1 and the battery according to claim 8, wherein the snapping portion (310 of Chengdu, modified for snap-fitting like 3 of Guo per above rejection of claim 1) comprises a riveting protrusion portion (protrusions from 301 – shown at top of 310 – are riveted to 305, per Chengdu fig. 7 and translation pg. 5: last para.).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 20, modified Chengdu teaches the internal connection structure of the battery terminal according to claim 1 and the battery according to claim 8, wherein the snapping portion comprises a snapping protrusion portion (radial protrusion from lower end of staple 3 below notch 302, Guo fig. 6; as applied to modified Chengdu in rejection of claim 1 above to achieve the snap-fitting through central holes and compression of components – see also the structure of Chengdu’s radial riveting protrusions of 301 above 310, which are already of a similar shape to the snapping protrusion portion cited above to Guo, which was applied to modify Chengdu to ensure that the portion from 301 to 310 could “snap” into the holes of 305/306 to achieve compression fitting of conductive components within modified Chengdu as taught beneficial by Guo above).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chengdu teaches the internal connection structure of the battery terminal according to claim 4, wherein the snapping protrusion portion comprises a first snapping protrusion and a second snapping protrusion (downward protruding 1SP and outwardly protruding 2SP – see annotation below regarding Guo’s snapping protrusion; see also annotation below to protrusion structure of Chengdu similar to that of Guo, modified per above rejection to claim 1),
a first end of the first snapping protrusion is fixedly connected to the inner side of the battery terminal (connection between 1SP and terminal toward inner direction thereof marked with TC and dashed line in below annotations), and
a second end of the first snapping protrusion is fixedly connected to the second snapping protrusion (1SP integrated with 2SP on a side radially outward from TC, per annotations below)
an end face of the second snapping protrusion away from the battery terminal is an aligning inclined surface (outward face of 2SP marked IS in annotations below)
an end face of the second snapping protrusion close to the battery terminal is a snapping surface (upward/inward face of 2SP marked SS in below annotations) and the snapping surface abuts against the first current collector (SS held against conductors 4 and 5 in Guo when 3 is snapped through 6; and similarly SS is held against disk 305 in Chengdu which electrically connects to collector 306, thus modification of Chengdu in view above as applied to claim 1 also meets all claim 5 limitations).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chengdu teaches the internal connection structure of the battery terminal according to claim 5, wherein a distance between the snapping surface and an inner end face of the battery terminal is approximately the same as a thickness of the first current collector (305 thickness between a stepped inner surface of 301 and SS as defined above, Chengdu Fig. 7 [T in below annotation]; similarly within Guo Fig. 1, thickness of 5 [T2 in below annotation] appears similar to the distance from inner surface of pressure surface 301 of staple 3 to SS as defined above [T1 in below annotation).
Further, per MPEP 2144.04 IV A, changes in size or proportion are design choices within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art, such as sizing a distance between the snapping surface and an inner end face of the battery terminal is approximately the same as a thickness of the first current collector would be an obvious design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art (especially when desired contact pressure would be an expected result, per Guo [0042]).
Thus, claim 6 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 9, modified Chengdu teaches the battery according to claim 8 (above rejection), further comprising:
a battery case (battery case 1 with positive cover plate assembly 3 and negative electrode cover plate assembly 4 respectively matched with both ends of the battery cell, so that the battery core is stably disposed in the battery case 1; Chengdu Figs. 2-3 and translation pg. 5: 4th para.; see cover plates 303 and 401 closing top and bottom, respectively, of case 1)
the battery terminal (301, Chengdu Figs. 2 and 9);
a terminal insulating part (upper plastic 302, Chengdu Figs. 7 and 9) and an internal insulating part disposed between the battery terminal and the battery case (sealing ring 307, Chengdu Figs. 7 and 9 – 307 pressed between 301 and 303),
wherein the terminal insulating part is located outside the battery case, the internal insulating part is located inside the battery case (302 sits outside of cover plate 303, 307 protrudes to the inside of cover plate 303; Chengdu Figs. 7 and 9)
the battery terminal is connected to the internal connection structure of the battery terminal (exterior 301 connected to internal components of assembly 3; Chengdu Figs. 2, 7, 9), and
the battery terminal is configured to enable the positive end of the roll core to extend outwards (301 connects via 310 to 2 and via 305/306 to positive electrode within battery cell; Chengdu Figs. 2 and 8-9, translation pg. 5: last para; see also Guo providing modification in claim 8 rejection above, where tabs 7 from core 8 connect to the outwardly facing conductive cover 1 serving as the terminal – via 5, 4, 3, 2 – in Guo Figs. 1-2 and [0035] as cited above); and
a second current collector (negative electrode cover plate 401, Chengdu fig. 10) wherein
and an inner part of the battery case (negative electrode cover plate 401 and battery case 1 are welded together, Chengdu translation pg. 6: 6th para. and fig. 6) respectively, and
the battery case (battery case 1, welded to 401, per Chengdu translation pg. 6: 6th para. as cited above) is configured to enable a negative end of the roll core to extend outwards (401 protrudes outwardly from tube 2 via second boss 402, and 401 is welded to the lower outside of the can 1 within assembly 4 to serve as the negative-end cover plate; Chengdu Figs. 2-3 and translation pg. 5: 3rd para. noting cooperation of 401 with negative end of battery core).
Chengdu fails to explicitly teach: the second current collector is connected to the second electrode tab.
However, Chengdu does teach that it is known in the art of cylindrical lithium ion batteries that positive and negative poles are located at the cover plates on both ends of the battery (Chengdu translation pg. 2: 3rd para.) and teaches that the negative cover 401 cooperates with its respective end of the battery core (Chengdu translation pg. 5: 3rd para.), thus implying that 401 needs to be conductively connected to the negative electrode within the battery core.
Guo, as cited above in the rejection of claim 8, teaches that opposite-polarity (i.e., positive and negative) tabs protrude from the battery core at two opposite ends thereof in order to couple to respective polarity terminals via current collectors (Guo [0028, 0035, 0038] in view of Figs. 1-2).
The teaching of Guo that using tabs for electrical connection between the first/positive electrode and positive terminal/cover at one end of a cylindrical battery, and also using tabs for electrical connection between the second/negative electrode and negative terminal/cover at the other end of the cylindrical battery, would have been an obvious motivation for a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Chengdu to utilize tabs also at the negative/second end of the battery to connect the negative electrode to the collector/terminal plate 401. The use of a known technique to achieve expected results (i.e., tabs for conductive connection) is within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art and supports a conclusion of obviousness.
Thereby, claim 9 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 10, modified Chengdu teaches the battery according to claim 9 (above rejection), wherein the battery terminal comprises a first pole post (vertical shaft/column portion of 301 to 310, Chengdu Fig. 7) configured to pass through a through hole disposed at an end of the battery case (301 shaft axially through hole within center of plate 303, Chengdu fig. 7; plate 303 within positive end cover assembly 3 closes the top end of battery case 1, as shown in Figs. 1-3, and thus reads on part of the battery case which holds the internal cell components therein),
an inner side of the first pole post is provided with a riveting flange (riveting protrusions – per Chengdu translation pg. 5: last para. – extending radially from 301 above 310 are inner to 305 and thus inner to 303, Chengdu Figs. 7 and 9), and
the battery terminal is configured to pass through the through hole and to be riveted and assembled with the battery case via the riveting flange to fix the battery terminal with the battery case (301 passes through hole in 303 – part of case 1 via assembly 3, as explained above – and protrusions are riveted to form an integral structure; Chengdu Fig. 7, translation pg. 5: last para. and pg. 7: ~3rd para.)
Regarding claim 11, modified Chengdu teaches the battery according to claim 10 (above rejection), wherein the first pole post is provided with a riveting turnover groove (groove in 301 column around plate 5 – see RTG in below annotation) adjacent to the riveting flange (RF in below annotation), and the riveting turnover groove is located at a side of the riveting flange close to a center of the first pole post (see annotation of Chengdu Fig. 7 below):
Regarding claim 12, modified Chengdu teaches the battery according to claim 8 (above rejection), further comprising:
the battery terminal (301, Chengdu Figs. 2 and 9);
a terminal insulating part (upper plastic 302, Chengdu Figs. 7 and 9) and an internal insulating part disposed between the battery terminal and the battery case (sealing ring 307, Chengdu Figs. 7 and 9 – 307 pressed between 301 and 303),
wherein the terminal insulating part is located outside the battery case, the internal insulating part is located inside the battery case (302 sits outside of cover plate 303, 307 protrudes to the inside of cover plate 303; Chengdu Figs. 7 and 9)
the battery terminal is connected to the internal connection structure of the battery terminal (exterior 301 connected to internal components of assembly 3; Chengdu Figs. 2, 7, 9), and
the battery terminal is configured to enable the positive end of the roll core to extend outwards (301 connects via 310 to 2 and via 305/306 to positive electrode within battery cell; Chengdu Figs. 2 and 8-9, translation pg. 5: last para; see also Guo providing modification in claim 8 rejection above, where tabs 7 from core 8 connect to the outwardly facing conductive cover 1 serving as the terminal – via 5, 4, 3, 2 – in Guo Figs. 1-2 and [0035] as cited above); and
a second current collector (negative electrode cover plate 401, Chengdu fig. 10) wherein
and an inner part of the battery case (negative electrode cover plate 401 and battery case 1 are welded together, Chengdu translation pg. 6: 6th para. and fig. 6) respectively, and
the battery case (battery case 1, welded to 401, per Chengdu translation pg. 6: 6th para. as cited above) is configured to enable a negative end of the roll core to extend outwards (401 protrudes outwardly from tube 2 via second boss 402, and 401 is welded to the lower outside of the can 1 within assembly 4 to serve as the negative-end cover plate; Chengdu Figs. 2-3 and translation pg. 5: 3rd para. noting cooperation of 401 with negative end of battery core); and
a cover plate (negative electrode cover plate 401; Chengdu Figs. 6,8,10), wherein an end of the battery case away from the battery terminal is provided with an opening (bottom opening of battery case 1, Chengdu Fig. 2 – bottom is opposite end/away from positive terminal 301 at the top end per Figs. 1-3), and
the cover plate is disposed at a position of the opening (cover plate 401 of negative end cover assembly fits into the opening at the bottom end of case 1, Chengdu Figs. 2-3 and 6; and is welded therein per translation pg. 7: ~5th para.).
Claim(s) 3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chengdu (CN 211350696 U, as cited with a provided English translation in the 01/23/2024 IDS) in view of Guo et al. (US 2011/0159357 A1, cited in the 8/21/25 rejection) as applied to claim 2 and claim 8 above, in view of Ketterer ("Riveting", Valuable Mechanisms Blog, 28 April 2010, <https://justinketterer.com/2010/04/28/riveting/>, cited and attached in the 8/21/25 rejection).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chengdu teaches the internal connection structure of the battery terminal according to claim 2, but fails to teach the riveting protrusion portion is disposed with a riveting notch the riveting notch is configured to separate the riveting protrusion portion into a plurality of independent riveting protrusions.
However, Chengdu does teach toward “Protrusions riveted to form an integral structure” (translation pg. 5: last para.), but does not teach specific notch therebetween. Guo does teach a notch within the snapping structure (slot 302 in staple 3, Guo fig. 6), but does not teach such specifically separating a plurality of riveting protrusions.
Ketterer is pertinent to the problem of riveting and teaches (in second and third figures shown on NPL pg. 12) two types of known rivets which include notches circumferentially around the rivet shaft which serve to segment the rivet into multiple protrusions. Ketterer teaches that one such structure results in three flared which expand outward during the riveting process and are beneficial to distribute load across a wider surface area formed by the compressed legs (NPL pg. 12, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Chengdu such that the riveting protrusion portion included a riveting notch to separate the riveting protrusion portion into a plurality of independent riveting protrusions (i.e., three flared legs), as taught by Ketterer with the motivation of achieving better load distribution among the three protrusions/legs against the current collector surface.
Thus, the instant claim 3 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 19, modified Chengdu teaches battery according to claim 8, and teaches wherein the snapping portion (310 of Chengdu, modified for snap-fitting like 3 of Guo per above rejection of claim 1) comprises a riveting protrusion portion (protrusions from 301 – shown at top of 310 – are riveted to 305, per Chengdu fig. 7 and translation pg. 5: last para.), but fails to teach the riveting protrusion portion is disposed with a riveting notch the riveting notch is configured to separate the riveting protrusion portion into a plurality of independent riveting protrusions.
However, Chengdu does teach toward “Protrusions riveted to form an integral structure” (translation pg. 5: last para.), but does not teach specific notch therebetween. Guo does teach a notch within the snapping structure (slot 302 in staple 3, Guo fig. 6), but does not teach such specifically separating a plurality of riveting protrusions.
Ketterer is pertinent to the problem of riveting and teaches (in second and third figures shown on NPL pg. 12) two types of known rivets which include notches circumferentially around the rivet shaft which serve to segment the rivet into multiple protrusions. Ketterer teaches that one such structure results in three flared which expand outward during the riveting process and are beneficial to distribute load across a wider surface area formed by the compressed legs (NPL pg. 12, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Chengdu such that the riveting protrusion portion included a riveting notch to separate the riveting protrusion portion into a plurality of independent riveting protrusions (i.e., three flared legs), as taught by Ketterer with the motivation of achieving better load distribution among the three protrusions/legs against the current collector surface.
Thus, the instant claim 19 is rendered obvious.
Claim(s) 7 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chengdu (CN 211350696 U, as cited with a provided English translation in the 01/23/2024 IDS) in view of Guo et al. (US 2011/0159357 A1, cited in the 8/21/25 rejection) as applied to claim 1 and claim 8 above, in further view of Ito et al. (US 2011/0281155 A1, cited in the 8/21/25 rejection).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chengdu teaches the internal connection structure of the battery terminal according to claim 1, wherein the snapping portion comprises a snapping protrusion portion (radial protrusion from lower end of staple 3 below notch 302, Guo fig. 6; as applied to modified Chengdu in rejection of claim 1 above to achieve the snap-fitting through central holes and compression of components – see also the structure of Chengdu’s radial riveting protrusions of 301 above 310, which are already of a similar shape to the snapping protrusion portion cited above to Guo, which was applied to modify Chengdu to ensure that the portion from 301 to 310 could “snap” into the holes of 305/306 to achieve compression fitting of conductive components within modified Chengdu as taught beneficial by Guo above), but fails to teach an end face of the snapping protrusion portion away from the battery terminal is provided with an elastic deformation groove.
Guo does teach a slot 302 within staple 3 for engaging with elastic hook 603 of the spacer 6 (Guo [0040] and figs. 1-2, 5-6).
Ito is analogous in the art of riveted battery terminals and teaches terminal 4 including a groove (recessed tubular portion 4D, [0050] and Figs. 2C-3A) on its inner/lower end face (bottom surface 4d, away from top of 4 connected to external terminal 5; Figs. 1A, 3A) which is used for elastic deformation of the rivet (effectively suppress the elastic restoration of the rivet that has been deformed by the calking, [0064] and Fig. 2C) when pressed against the current collector (9, Figs. 2A,2C,3A). Ito teaches that because of the deformation groove 4D, it is possible to more effectively suppress elastic restoration of the rivet after it has been desirably deformed, therefore reliably maintaining the sealed state around the through hole of the battery case ([0050, 0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Chengdu to provide an elastic deformation groove on an end face of the snapping protrusion portion away from the battery terminal, as taught by Ito, with the motivation of achieving desirable deformation upon calking and reliable maintain sealing therearound.
Thus, the instant claim 7 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 16, modified Chengdu teaches the internal connection structure of the battery terminal according to claim 1, wherein the snapping portion comprises a snapping protrusion portion (radial protrusion from lower end of staple 3 below notch 302, Guo fig. 6; as applied to modified Chengdu in rejection of claim 1 above to achieve the snap-fitting through central holes and compression of components – see also the structure of Chengdu’s radial riveting protrusions of 301 above 310, which are already of a similar shape to the snapping protrusion portion cited above to Guo, which was applied to modify Chengdu to ensure that the portion from 301 to 310 could “snap” into the holes of 305/306 to achieve compression fitting of conductive components within modified Chengdu as taught beneficial by Guo above),
the snapping protrusion portion comprises a first snapping protrusion and a second snapping protrusion (downward protruding 1SP and outwardly protruding 2SP – see annotation below regarding Guo’s snapping protrusion; see also annotation below to protrusion structure of Chengdu similar to that of Guo, modified per above rejection to claim 1),
a first end of the first snapping protrusion is fixedly connected to the inner side of the battery terminal (connection between 1SP and terminal toward inner direction thereof marked with TC and dashed line in below annotations), and
a second end of the first snapping protrusion is fixedly connected to the second snapping protrusion (1SP integrated with 2SP on a side radially outward from TC, per annotations below)
an end face of the second snapping protrusion away from the battery terminal is an aligning inclined surface (outward face of 2SP marked IS in annotations below)
an end face of the second snapping protrusion close to the battery terminal is a snapping surface (upward/inward face of 2SP marked SS in below annotations) and the snapping surface abuts against the first current collector (SS held against conductors 4 and 5 in Guo when 3 is snapped through 6; and similarly SS is held against disk 305 in Chengdu which electrically connects to collector 306, thus modification of Chengdu in view above as applied to claim 1 also meets all claim 5 limitations);
Modified Cheng fails to teach: an end face of the snapping protrusion portion away from the battery terminal is provided with an elastic deformation groove.
Guo does teach a slot 302 within staple 3 for engaging with elastic hook 603 of the spacer 6 (Guo [0040] and figs. 1-2, 5-6).
Ito is analogous in the art of riveted battery terminals and teaches terminal 4 including a groove (recessed tubular portion 4D, [0050] and Figs. 2C-3A) on its inner/lower end face (bottom surface 4d, away from top of 4 connected to external terminal 5; Figs. 1A, 3A) which is used for elastic deformation of the rivet (effectively suppress the elastic restoration of the rivet that has been deformed by the calking, [0064] and Fig. 2C) when pressed against the current collector (9, Figs. 2A,2C,3A). Ito teaches that because of the deformation groove 4D, it is possible to more effectively suppress elastic restoration of the rivet after it has been desirably deformed, therefore reliably maintaining the sealed state around the through hole of the battery case ([0050, 0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Chengdu to provide an elastic deformation groove on an end face of the snapping protrusion portion away from the battery terminal, as taught by Ito, with the motivation of achieving desirable deformation upon calking and reliable maintain sealing therearound.
Thus, the instant claim 16 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 17, modified Chengdu teaches the battery according claim 8, wherein the snapping portion comprises a snapping protrusion portion (radial protrusion from lower end of staple 3 below notch 302, Guo fig. 6; as applied to modified Chengdu in rejection of claim 1 above to achieve the snap-fitting through central holes and compression of components – see also the structure of Chengdu’s radial riveting protrusions of 301 above 310, which are already of a similar shape to the snapping protrusion portion cited above to Guo, which was applied to modify Chengdu to ensure that the portion from 301 to 310 could “snap” into the holes of 305/306 to achieve compression fitting of conductive components within modified Chengdu as taught beneficial by Guo above),
the snapping protrusion portion comprises a first snapping protrusion and a second snapping protrusion (downward protruding 1SP and outwardly protruding 2SP – see annotation below regarding Guo’s snapping protrusion; see also annotation below to protrusion structure of Chengdu similar to that of Guo, modified per above rejection to claim 1),
a first end of the first snapping protrusion is fixedly connected to the inner side of the battery terminal (connection between 1SP and terminal toward inner direction thereof marked with TC and dashed line in below annotations), and
a second end of the first snapping protrusion is fixedly connected to the second snapping protrusion (1SP integrated with 2SP on a side radially outward from TC, per annotations below)
an end face of the second snapping protrusion away from the battery terminal is an aligning inclined surface (outward face of 2SP marked IS in annotations below)
an end face of the second snapping protrusion close to the battery terminal is a snapping surface (upward/inward face of 2SP marked SS in below annotations) and the snapping surface abuts against the first current collector (SS held against conductors 4 and 5 in Guo when 3 is snapped through 6; and similarly SS is held against disk 305 in Chengdu which electrically connects to collector 306, thus modification of Chengdu in view above as applied to claim 1 also meets all claim 5 limitations);
wherein a distance between the snapping surface and an inner end face of the battery terminal is approximately the same as a thickness of the first current collector (305 thickness between a stepped inner surface of 301 and SS as defined above, Chengdu Fig. 7 [T in below annotation]; similarly within Guo Fig. 1, thickness of 5 [T2 in below annotation] appears similar to the distance from inner surface of pressure surface 301 of staple 3 to SS as defined above [T1 in below annotation).
Further, per MPEP 2144.04 IV A, changes in size or proportion are design choices within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art, such as sizing a distance between the snapping surface and an inner end face of the battery terminal is approximately the same as a thickness of the first current collector would be an obvious design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art (especially when desired contact pressure would be an expected result, per Guo [0042]).
Modified Cheng to teach: an end face of the snapping protrusion portion away from the battery terminal is provided with an elastic deformation groove.
Guo does teach a slot 302 within staple 3 for engaging with elastic hook 603 of the spacer 6 (Guo [0040] and figs. 1-2, 5-6).
Ito is analogous in the art of riveted battery terminals and teaches terminal 4 including a groove (recessed tubular portion 4D, [0050] and Figs. 2C-3A) on its inner/lower end face (bottom surface 4d, away from top of 4 connected to external terminal 5; Figs. 1A, 3A) which is used for elastic deformation of the rivet (effectively suppress the elastic restoration of the rivet that has been deformed by the calking, [0064] and Fig. 2C) when pressed against the current collector (9, Figs. 2A,2C,3A). Ito teaches that because of the deformation groove 4D, it is possible to more effectively suppress elastic restoration of the rivet after it has been desirably deformed, therefore reliably maintaining the sealed state around the through hole of the battery case ([0050, 0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, at the time of filing, for a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Chengdu to provide an elastic deformation groove on an end face of the snapping protrusion portion away from the battery terminal, as taught by Ito, with the motivation of achieving desirable deformation upon calking and reliable maintain sealing therearound.
Thus, the instant claim 17 is rendered obvious.
Claim(s) 13-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chengdu (CN 211350696 U, as cited with a provided English translation in the 01/23/2024 IDS) in view of Guo et al. (US 2011/0159357 A1, cited in the 8/21/25 rejection) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Cho et al. (US 2023/0012811 A1, cited in the 8/21/25 rejection).
Regarding claim 13, modified Chengdu teaches the battery according to claim 12 (above rejection), wherein an internal wall of the opening extends outside of the battery case (bottom edge of 1 extending downward and around outer circumference of 1 along its thickness, such that the opening of case 1 is “outside” until covered by plate 401; Chengdu Fig. 6) to form a supporting portion, the supporting portion is configured to support the cover plate (circumferential ledge/step of 401 is supported along thickness of bottom edge of 1, Chengdu fig. 6 in view of fig. 10); but fails to teach: the supporting portion is connected to a crimping portion, and the crimping portion is configured to press the cover plate on the supporting portion.
Cho is analogous in the art of cylindrical batteries and teaches a can 120 having a terminal 160 in its top end and having an opening in its bottom end away from the terminal, with a cover plate 130 disposed in the opening (Cho Fig. 1). Similarly to Chengdu, Cho teaches an internal wall of the opening (of 120 at 122, bottom of Cho Fig. 1) extends outside of the battery case (lowermost portion of opening at inside edge of 122 is “outside” of the main portion of can 120, Cho Fig. 1) to form a supporting portion to support the cover plate (cap plate 130 supported thereon, via the gasket material 140; Cho fig. 1). Cho teaches the can having a supporting portion 121 and specifically a crimping portion 122 which serve to press and hold the cover plate 130 therebetween (Cho [0040] and Fig. 1) so that the cover plate 130 effectively seals the can 120 and the supporting and crimping portions 121/122 are beneficial in reducing or preventing a likelihood of the cover plate 130 being separated from the can 120 ([0040]). Cho teaches that this crimping sealing technique is alternative to welding the plate 130 to the can 120 (i.e., versus Cho Fig. 2 embodiment, per [0049, 0051]).
The use of a known technique to improve a similar device and achieve expected results supports a conclusion of obviousness (MPEP 2143), such that it would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the crimping technique taught by Cho for the welding technique taught by Chengdu to securely attach the plate 401 to the case 1 in modified Chengdu, and further expect to prevent separation of 401 from 1 as taught by Cho.
Thereby, claim 13 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 14, modified Chengdu teaches the battery according to claim 12 (above rejection), but fails to teach further comprising a sealing ring disposed at a gap between the cover plate and the opening.
Cho is analogous in the art of cylindrical batteries and teaches a can 120 having a terminal 160 in its top end and having an opening in its bottom end away from the terminal, with a cover plate 130 disposed in the opening (Cho Fig. 1). Cho further teaches a sealing ring (gasket 140, Cho [0041] and Fig. 1) disposed at a gap between the cover plate and the opening (140 between edge of 130 and opening of 120 at its crimping part 122 to close a gap therebetween, shown in Cho fig. 1) and that such sealing ring/gasket 140 is beneficial for improving sealing strength when crimping is used to hold the cover plate 130 and seal the opening of can 120 (Cho [0040-0041]). Cho teaches that this crimping sealing technique is alternative to welding 130 to can 120 (Cho Fig. 2 and [0049, 0051]).
The use of a known technique to improve a similar device and achieve expected results supports a conclusion of obviousness (MPEP 2143), such that it would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the crimping technique taught by Cho for the welding technique taught by Chengdu to securely attach the plate 401 to the case 1 in modified Chengdu, and further expect to prevent separation of 401 from 1 as taught by Cho. Further, when applying such crimping technique to modified Chengdu, it would have further been obvious to include the seal ring/gasket in order to improve sealing strength as taught by Cho.
Thereby, claim 14 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 15, modified Chengdu teaches the battery according to claim 12 (above rejection), wherein the cover plate is provided with an explosion-proof valve body structure (explosion-proof valve 404 is provided in the through hole 403 of cover plate 401; Chengdu Figs. 2,4,10 and translation pg. 7: ~1st para.), but fails to teach the explosion-proof valve body structure is coaxial with the battery.
Cho is analogous in the art of cylindrical batteries and teaches a can 120 having a terminal 160 in its top end and having an opening in its bottom end away from the terminal, with a cover plate 130 disposed in the opening (Cho Fig. 1). Cho further teaches a notch 131 provided in the plate 130 to serve as a safety vent for discharging a gas (see Cho [0041] and Fig. 1). Such the portion of plate 130 within the perimeter of notch 131 reads on “an explosion-proof valve body” since the function of such is to vent over-pressure gas per Cho [0041], and thus prevent explosion of the battery due to high internal pressure. Cho Fig. 1 shows notch 131 as a circumferential notch in plate 130, and can be “defined by” 130 per [0041], and the central axis of 130 (and its notch 131) shares a central axis with the overall cylindrical battery can 120. Thus, Cho teaches an embodiment wherein the explosion-proof valve body structure is coaxial with the battery.
Rearrangement of parts is a design choice within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art per MPEP 2144.04 IV C, such that in view of Cho, it would have been obvious to modify the explosion-proof valve location within the cover plate of Chengdu to be coaxial with the battery, and still expectedly achieve venting of gas and prevention of over-pressure explosion.
Thereby, claim 15 is rendered obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSIE WALLS-MURRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728