DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 04/24/2026. Claims 1, 3, and 8-10 are currently amended. Claims 1-10 are pending review in this action. The previous 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) rejection is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to Claim 8. The previous 35 U.S.C.102 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claim 1. New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendments are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 2021/0336309 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 09/23/2025) further in view of Mitamura et al. (JPH 06215746 A) (citations herein made in reference to the English machine translation attached to this office action).
Regarding Claim 1:
Min discloses a secondary battery comprising: a can (can member, 3) having a space therein; an electrode assembly (1) accommodated in the space of the can (can member, 3); and a cap assembly (top cap assembly, 100) for sealing the electrode assembly (1) by blocking an opening of the can (can member, 3) (Figures 1 and 2, [0042]). Min further discloses that the cap assembly (top cap assembly, 100) comprises a cap-up (top cap, 101) and a safety vent (110) under the cap-up (top cap, 101), wherein the safety vent (110) comprises a support protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 below) formed on an upper surface (upper surface of safety vent, 110) of the safety vent (110) and coupled to the cap-up (top cap, 101) (Figure 2, [0042]). Min further discloses that the cap-up (top cap, 101) comprises an edge coupling portion (see annotated Figure 2 below) coupled to the safety vent (110) at an edge region and the support protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 below) protrudes above a lower surface of the cap-up (top cap, 101) at the edge coupling portion (see annotated Figure 2 below).
Min is deficient in disclosing that the support protrusion is contacting the cap-up.
Mitamura discloses a secondary battery comprising: a can (battery case, 8) and a cap assembly (assembled sealing plate) for sealing the can (battery case, 8) (Figures 1 and 4, [0011, 0019, 0021]). Mitamura further discloses that the cap assembly (assembled sealing plate) comprises a cap-up (external terminal plate, 5) and a safety vent (metal safety valve, 1) under the cap-up (external terminal plate, 5), wherein the safety vent (metal safety valve, 1) comprises a support protrusion (annular bent portions, 1a) formed on an upper surface (upper surface of metal safety valve, 1) of the safety vent (metal safety valve, 1) and coupled to the cap-up (external terminal plate, 5) (Figure 1, [0019]). Mitamura further discloses that the support protrusion (annular bent portions, 1a) contacts the cap-up (external terminal plate, 5) at least at a side region (see annotated Figure 1 below) (Figure 1).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the support protrusions of Min to have the support protrusions be in contact with the cap-up, as such a configuration is known in the art as suitable for a cap assembly for a secondary battery, as taught by Mitamura. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 2 (Min US 2021/0336309 A1)
Annotated Figure 1 (Mitamura JPH 06215746 A)
Regarding Claim 2 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Mitamura discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that the support protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 above) is formed inside the edge coupling portion (see annotated Figure 2 above). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
Regarding Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Mitamura discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed above in Claim 1, modified Min discloses that the support protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 above) is in contact with the lower surface of the cap-up (top cap, 101) (Figure 2). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
Regarding Claim 4 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Mitamura discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that the cap-up (top cap, 101) further comprises a cap-up inclined portion (see annotated Figure 2 below) protruding toward an inner upper end from an edge in contact with the safety vent (110) (Figure 2). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
Annotated Figure 2 (Min US 2021/0336309 A1)
Regarding Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 4):
Min as modified by Mitamura discloses the secondary battery of Claim 4 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed above in Claim 1, modified Min discloses that the support protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 above) is in contact with the lower surface of the cap-up (top cap, 101) (Figure 2). As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the support protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 above) would necessarily be in contact with the cap-up inclined portion (see annotated Figure 2 above), as the cap-up inclined portion (see annotated Figure 2 above) is integrally formed with the lower surface of the cap-up (top cap, 101) (Figure 2).
The examiner notes that the instant claim does not require that the support protrusion is in direct contact with the cap-up inclined portion. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
Regarding Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 5):
Min as modified by Mitamura discloses the secondary battery of Claim 5 as set forth above. Min further discloses that the support protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 above) protrudes from the safety vent (110) according to a shape of the cap-up inclined portion (see annotated Figure 2 above). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
Regarding Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Mitamura discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that the safety vent (110) includes a vent groove (rupture notch portion, 113) formed in an inner region of the support protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 above) (Figure 2, [0042]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
Regarding Claim 8 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Mitamura discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that the cap assembly (top cap assembly, 100) further comprises a cap-down (current interrupt device, 120) below the cap-up (top cap, 101) with the safety vent (110) therebetween (Figure 2). Min further discloses that the safety vent (11) is coupled to a cap-down (current interrupt device, 120) through a contact portion (interrupt portion, 121) formed at a center thereof (Figure 2, [0047, 0072]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
Regarding Claim 9 (Dependent Upon Claim 8):
Min as modified by Mitamura discloses the secondary battery of Claim 8 as set forth above. Min further discloses that the safety vent (110) is spaced from the cap-down (current interrupt device, 120) from the support protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 above) to the contact portion (interrupt portion, 121) (Figure 2). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
Regarding Claim 10 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Min as modified by Mitamura discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Min further discloses that the support protrusion (see annotated Figure 2 above) is fixed to the cap-up (top cap, 101) and is configured to support the cap-up (top cap, 101) during an upward motion of the safety vent (110) (Figures 2 and 3, [0049, 0052]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 10 are met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/24/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Min et al. (US 2021/0336309 A1) and Mitamura et al. (JPH 06215746 A).
Conclusion
/E.E.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724