Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. The application filed March 02, 2023 has been entered but does not place the application in condition for allowance. The amendment to claim 1 overcomes the 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art rejections of the October 14, 2025 Office Action, and the amendment to claim 8 overcomes the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 8 in the previous Office Action. Additionally, the arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) regarding claims 3, 6, and 10 were considered and found to be persuasive; therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections to the original claims 3, 6, and 10 have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13: “multi-tap” should be corrected to read “multi-tab,” as supported by the instant specification ([0036]); a period “.” is also missing at the end of the claim.
Claim 14: “multi-tap” should be corrected to read “multi-tab,” as supported by the instant specification ([0036]).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the lead tab consists of a plurality of lead tabs,” however, parent claim 1 recites that “a lead tab is attached to the first uncoated area of the first current collector.” Neither the specification nor the drawings, specifically Figs. 3-4, 6-7 shows support for a plurality of lead tabs located at the first uncoated area of the first current collector, which is recited by claim 1 as being located at a center of one surface of the first current collector in a first (longitudinal) direction of the first current collector (wherein underlined portions are shown for emphasis). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the lead tab consists of a plurality of lead tabs,” however, parent claim 1 recites that “a lead tab is attached to the first uncoated area of the first current collector.” Neither the specification nor the drawings, specifically Figs. 3-4, 6-7 shows support for a plurality of lead tabs located at the first uncoated area of the first current collector, which is also recited by claim 1 as being located at a center of one surface of the first current collector in a first (longitudinal) direction of the first current collector, (wherein underlined portions are shown for emphasis). Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 17-18 depend on claim 16 and therefore also fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 20 recites “wherein the coupling area of the lead tab and the current collection tab is located in the area between the electrode assembly and the insulating plate and the area between the insulating plate and the cap assembly, and wherein the sub plate and the coupling area are coupled in the area between the insulating plate and the cap assembly.” Figure 2 of the instant application and the relevant sections of the specification do not describe or delineate the coupling area of the lead tab and the current collection tab in a way to ascertain where its location is relative to the position of the electrode assembly, the insulating plate, and the cap assembly. Accordingly, it is unclear as to whether the drawing supports the recited limitation.
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the other end of the lead tab is positioned on the same line as the other end of the first uncoated area" in lines 19-20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined portion of this limitation in the claim.
Additionally, the limitation is unclear as to what is within the metes and bounds of the phrase “on the same line as the other end of the first uncoated area” based on the specification and drawings. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 also recites “wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector, … and a first electrode tab electrically connected to the first current collector and protruding above the first electrode in a second direction” in lines 6-10. It is unclear how the first electrode tab can be a part of the first electrode yet protrude above the first electrode of which it constitutes as a part. To advance prosecution, the limitation will be interpreted as “wherein the first electrode comprises a first current collector, … and a first electrode tab electrically connected to the first current collector and protruding above the first current collector in a second direction,” wherein the underlined portion substitutes the original word “electrode.”
Claims 2-20 depend on claim 1 and are also indefinite.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the lead tab is located at one end of the first current collector in the first direction.” The claim is indefinite because it is unclear how the lead tab can be located at one end of the first current collector in the first direction which claim 1 defines as a longitudinal direction of the first current collector while also being located at the first uncoated area of the first current collector, which is recited by claim 1 as being located at a center of one surface of the first current collector in a first (longitudinal) direction of the first current collector (wherein underlined portions are shown for emphasis). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the lead tab consists of a plurality of lead tabs,” however, parent claim 1 recites that “a lead tab is attached to the first uncoated area of the first current collector.” The claim is indefinite because it is unclear how the plurality of lead tabs are located at the first uncoated area of the first current collector, which is recited by claim 1 as being located at a center of one surface of the first current collector in a first (longitudinal) direction of the first current collector (wherein underlined portions are shown for emphasis). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the lead tab consists of a plurality of lead tabs,” however, parent claim 1 recites that “a lead tab is attached to the first uncoated area of the first current collector.” The claim is indefinite because it is unclear how the plurality of lead tabs are located at the first uncoated area of the first current collector, which is also recited by claim 1 as being located at a center of one surface of the first current collector in a first (longitudinal) direction of the first current collector, (wherein underlined portions are shown for emphasis). Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 17-18 depend on claim 16 and therefore also fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 12 recites “wherein the lead tab is aligned at the same position as the current collector.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and the underlined section denotes the specific phrase. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 recites “wherein the coupling area” in lines 3 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the lead tab is located at the center of the one surface of the first current collector” which does not further limit the limitations of claim 1 reciting “wherein the first uncoated area is located at a center of one surface of the first current collector” and “a lead tab attached to the first uncoated area of the first current collector,” which together indicate the lead tab is attached to the location at the center of the one surface of the first current collector. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-15, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by An (KR20180000223A, disclosed in 03/02/2023 IDS).
Regarding claims 1-2, An teaches a secondary battery comprising: an electrode assembly 10 comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator (machine translation [0006], [0027]; Fig. 1);
A case 20 for accommodating the electrode assembly 10 ([0006]; Fig. 1); and
A cap assembly 40 coupled to the upper part of the case 20 ([0006], [0026]; Fig. 1),
Wherein the first electrode 15 comprises a first current collector (Fig. 16), a first active material layer 15a in which a first active material layer is coated onto the first current collector, a first uncoated area 151 on which the first active material is not coated, and a first electrode tab (182, 181, 183) electrically connected to the first current collector and protruding above the first current collector of the first electrode in a second direction ([0111]-[0112]; [0006] describes coated areas as coated by active material and uncoated areas would not have active material; the tabs are electrically connected to uncoated areas 151, 152, 153 of the first current collector; Fig. 16 shows the first electrode tab protruding above the first current collector, wherein “above” corresponds to the direction of gravity, and the second direction corresponds to the up/down direction of the page),
Wherein (as seen in Fig. 16) the first uncoated area 151 is located at a center of one surface of the first current collector in a first direction, which is a longitudinal direction of the first current collector (left/right direction of the page), and extends from a top edge to a bottom edge of the first current collector in the second direction (up/down direction of the page),
Wherein the first electrode tab comprises a current collection tab (182, 183), which is a part of the first current collector (as seen in Fig. 16), and a lead tab 181 attached to the first uncoated area 151 of the first current collector, and
Wherein one end of the lead tab 181 protrudes from one end of the first uncoated area 151, and the other end of the lead tab 181 is positioned on the same line as the other end of the first uncoated area (as seen in annotated Fig. 16, included below).
Annotated Fig. 16 of An:
Consequently, An also reads on the limitation of claim 2 wherein the lead tab is located at the center of the one surface of the first current collector.
Regarding claim 3, An teaches the secondary battery of claim 1 and wherein the current collection tab consists of a plurality of current collection tabs (182, 183) (annotated Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 7, An teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, and wherein the first electrode tab is electrically connected to a sub plate of the cap assembly ([0057] discloses the first tabs, which correspond to the claimed first electrode tab, are electrically connected to the sub plate)
Regarding claim 8, An teaches the secondary battery of claim 1 and further teaches ([0006]) wherein a second electrode (corresponding to the “first electrode” of An) includes a second current collector (corresponding to the “first current collector” of An), a second active material layer in which a second active material is coated on the second current collector (corresponding to coating active material on the “first current collector” of An), and a second electrode tab electrically connected to the second current collector (the tabs are electrically connected to uncoated areas of their corresponding current collector). Fig. 4 of An also provides an embodiment of the second electrode wherein the claimed second electrode 11 has a current collector (i.e. second current collector) formed of metal foil and active material-coated regions 11a wherein the second electrode tab 51 is electrically connected to uncoated areas of the second current collector ([0031]).
Regarding claim 9, An teaches the secondary battery of claim 8 and further teaches (Fig. 4) the second electrode tab 51 is coupled to the second current collector, therefore it reads on being a part of the second current collector.
Regarding claim 10, An teaches the secondary battery of claim 8 and further teaches (Fig. 4 shows it is known that the second electrode tab 51 can consist of a plurality of second electrode tabs (511, 512)).
Regarding claim 11, An teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, and An shows in Fig. 16 the first uncoated area 151 separates the first active material layer 15a into two parts.
Regarding claim 12, An teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, and An shows (Fig. 1) wherein the first electrode 12, the second electrode 11, and the separator 13 are wound together (Fig. 1; [0027]). An further teaches the lead tab is aligned at the same position as the current collector. Because the lead tab is attached to the first uncoated area of the first current collector, as taught in addressing the limitations of claim 1, the lead tab is inherently aligned at the same position as the current collector of which it is a component.
Regarding claim 13, An teaches the secondary battery of claim 3, and An shows (Fig. 1) wherein the first electrode 12, the second electrode 11, and the separator 13 are wound together (Fig. 1; [0027]). Fig. 16 shows that the plurality of current collection tabs (182, 183) are aligned at the same horizontal position (of the first direction) to form a multi-tab.
Regarding claim 14, An teaches the secondary battery of claim 13, and An shows (Fig. 1) wherein the first electrode 12, the second electrode 11, and the separator 13 are wound together (Fig. 1; [0027]). Fig. 16 shows that the lead tab 181 is aligned at the same horizontal position (of the first direction) as the plurality of current collection tabs (182, 183) (i.e., multi-tab).
Regarding claim 15, An teaches the secondary battery of claim 7, and further teaches the first electrode tab is directly coupled to the sub plate 46 of the cap assembly 40 (Fig. 1, [0028]).
Regarding claim 19, An teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, and An shows (Fig. 1) wherein the first electrode 12, the second electrode 11, and the separator 13 are wound together (Fig. 1; [0027]). An shows in Fig. 16 the lead tab and the current collection tab are coupled via the first current collector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (KR20180116004 A, disclosed in 03/02/2023 IDS) in view of Jeong et al (WO 2019139220 A1) and An (KR20180000223A, disclosed in 03/02/2023 IDS). Supporting evidence is provided by Zhu et al “A review of current collectors for lithium-ion batteries,” J of Power Sources 485 (2021) 229321 (13 Dec 2020).
Regarding claims 1-2, Lim teaches a secondary battery comprising: an electrode assembly comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator (machine translation: [0004] and [0030]), and a cylindrical or square can as a case for accommodating the electrode assembly ([0004]). Lim also teaches in Fig. 1 and [0028] the electrode assembly includes an electrode (100), i.e. a first electrode, having a holding portion (110) on which an active material (a) is applied on an electrode current collector, i.e. a first active material layer in which the first active material layer is coated onto the first current collector, and a non-conductive portion (120) on which the active material (a) is not applied along the length direction of the electrode current collector, i.e., a first uncoated area on which a first active material is not coated. Lim further teaches at least one tab member (121), i.e. at least one lead tab, formed on the non-conductive portion (120), which corresponds to an uncoated area, and at least one foil tab (111), i.e. at least one current collection tab, extending from the holding portion (110) in the width direction of the electrode current collector and on which the active material (a) is not applied ([0028]). Together, the current collection tab(s) and the lead tab(s) read on the claimed first electrode tab. The collection tab(s) and the lead tab(s) are shown in Fig. 1 to protrude above the first current collector of the first electrode in a second direction, wherein the “above” orientation in the second orientation faces down the page.
Furthermore, Lim shows that the lead tab(s) (121) are attached to uncoated areas (120) that extend from a top edge to a bottom edge of the first current collector in the second direction (Fig. 1), and that one end of the lead tab (121) protrudes from one end of the uncoated area, and the other end of the lead tab is positioned on a same line as the other end of the first uncoated area, wherein “a same line” is a line in the second direction that runs through both the lead tab and the other end of the lead tab (shown in annotated Fig.1 of Lim below).
Annotated Fig. 1 of Lim:
Additionally, the tab member 121 that reads on the claimed lead tab is described in [0028] as formed on the non-conductive portion 120 of the electrode current collector and is also taught in [0042] that it may be formed from an extension of the electrode current collector; accordingly, it is attached to the first current collector as claimed. Foil tab 111 that reads on the claimed current collection tab is described as extending from the holding portion of the electrode current collector and therefore is part of the first current collector as claimed.
With respect to the limitation “a first electrode tab electrically connected to the first current collector,” Lim further describes in paragraph [0054] how the negative electrode, an example of the first electrode, is electrically connected to the can member (i.e., a case) via the foil tab (i.e., the current collection tab). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that current collectors are used in batteries to collect electric current generated at the electrodes and connect with external circuits (evidentiary reference Zhu, p2 right col para 1 lines 15-17); therefore, the first electrode tab is expected to be electrically connected to the first electrode through the first current collector.
Lim does not teach a cap assembly coupled to the upper part of the case. Lim also does not teach the location of the uncoated area to which the lead tab is attached as being located at a center of one surface of the first current collector in a first direction, which is a longitudinal direction of the first current collector, i.e. the location of the first uncoated area with respect to first direction of the first current collector as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, Jeong teaches (machine translation: [0075] and Fig. 1) a cap assembly coupled to the upper part of the case 140 with the configuration of the above cap-up (150), safety vent (160), insulator (170) and cap-down (180), and which can further comprise sub plate 162 and first collector tab (121). Jeong further teaches the cap assembly can be electrically connected to an external circuit and that its above cap up (150) is formed with a gas discharge hole (151) that provides a path through which gas generated inside the case (140) can be discharged ([0076]). Jeong further recognizes the advantage that the inclusion of the cap assembly mitigates battery safety issues like fire that can occur when the pressure and temperature inside the battery increase due to overcharging in the battery ([0004]). The teachings of Jeong show that the combination of a cap assembly, an electrode assembly, and a case as elements in a secondary battery is a known configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify the secondary battery of modified Lim to include a cap assembly to enable release of generated gas to mitigate safety concerns from gas pressurization and to enable a connection to an external circuit. They would have also recognized that providing the combination of elements in combination would merely provide the predictable result of similar function as performed separately with expectation of success; see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A).
In the same field of endeavor, An teaches a lead tab 181 attached to a non-coated portion 151 located at the center of one surface of a current collector in a first direction which is a longitudinal direction of the current collector and which extends from a top edge to a bottom edge of the first current collector in a second direction (Fig. 16, machine translation [0111]). An further discloses that by providing a second electrode middle uncoated portion, i.e. analogous to the claimed first uncoated area of Lim, of the second electrode corresponding to the first electrode middle uncoated portion of the first electrode and providing a second tab in the second electrode middle uncoated portion, i.e. analogous to the claimed lead tab of Lim, the resistance can be reduced by reducing the distance that electrons move from the second current collector to the second tab ([0023]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated at the time of filing to further modify the secondary battery of modified Lim to utilize a lead tab at the center of one surface of the claimed first current collector as taught by An, because it is a known configuration providing the advantage of reducing the resistance by reducing the distance that electrons move from the first current collector to the lead tab.
Consequently, the combination of prior art also reads on the limitation of claim 2 wherein the lead tab is located at the center of the one surface of the first current collector.
Regarding claim 3, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Lim further teaches (Fig. 1) a plurality of foil tabs 111. A plurality of foil tabs 111, such as any pair of foil tabs 111, or groups of three to five foil tabs 111 shown, would correspond to a plurality of current collection tabs. Paragraph [0047] also discloses that foil tab (111) can be formed to extend from the retainer (110) by one or more to maximize the number of electrode tabs. As the number of foil tabs (111) increases, the resistance of the entire electrode tab decreases.
Regarding claim 5, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Lim further teaches ([0042]; Figs. 2-3) a tab member 121 (i.e., a lead tab) can be attached to an end of the non-coated portion at both ends. The winding direction (left to right in the figures) is the first direction and a longitudinal direction of the first current collector, also described by Lim ([0009]). Thus, the combination teaches the lead tab can be located at one end in a longitudinal direction of the first current collector, as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Lim further teaches ([0040]) a tab member 121 (i.e., a lead tab) can be attached to each non-conductive portion 120 formed at each end of the electrode 100, and Fig. 1 substantiates this by illustrating two lead tabs 121, thereby suggesting that a plurality of lead tabs is a known configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a plurality of lead tabs given that Lim directly suggests it as a configuration. Additionally, the Courts have established that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced; see MPEP 2144.04, B.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Jeong of the combination teaches the sub plate (162) electrically connected to the first collector tab (121) ([0062]), which together form the claimed sub plate of claim 7, as shown by the structure of sub plate 165 in Fig. 2 of the instant application. The taught sub plate (i.e. Jeong’s 162 + 121) is taught as electrically connected to electrode tabs 111a of the first electrode, and the latter would be structurally equivalent to a plurality of first electrode tabs ([0062], [0076], and Figs. 2, 4, and 6), thereby satisfying the limitations of claim 7.
Consequently, the first electrode tab (111a) is also directly coupled to the sub plate (162 + 121) of the cap assembly as shown in Fig. 2, thereby satisfying the limitations of claim 15.
Regarding claim 8, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Lim further teaches the electrode of their invention may be at least one of the positive electrode and the negative electrode forming the electrode assembly ([0039]), therefore Lim’s teachings can apply to the claimed configuration of the second electrode. For example, Lim teaches in Fig. 1 and [0028] the electrode assembly includes an electrode (100), i.e. a second electrode, having a holding portion (110) on which an active material (a) is applied on an electrode current collector, i.e. a second active material layer in which the second active material layer is coated onto the second current collector, and a non-conductive portion (120) on which the active material (a) is not applied along the length direction of the electrode current collector, i.e., a second uncoated area on which a second active material is not coated.
With respect to the limitation “a second electrode tab electrically connected to the second current collector,” one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to electrically connect the positive electrode, i.e., the second electrode, to the can member via the foil tab (i.e., the current collection tab, and which forms part of the second electrode tab) based on Lim’s description in paragraph [0054] of the electrical configuration for the negative electrode (i.e., the first electrode) and based on Lim’s teaching that their invention is applicable to both electrodes ([0039]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that current collectors are used in batteries to collect electric current generated at the electrodes and connect with external circuits (evidentiary reference Zhu, p2 right col para 1 lines 15-17); therefore, the second electrode tab which includes the foil tab is expected to be electrically connected to the second electrode through the second current collector.
Regarding claim 9, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 8. As previously taught by Lim for the analogous structure of the first electrode ([0028]), the second electrode tab can similarly be constructed of foil tab 111 (i.e., the second current collection tab(s)) and tab member 121 (i.e., the second lead tab(s)). The tab member 121 that reads on the claimed second lead tab is described in [0028] as formed on the non-conductive portion 120 of the electrode current collector and it is also taught in [0042] that it may be formed from an extension of the electrode current collector; accordingly, it is a part of the second current collector as claimed. Foil tab 111 that reads on the claimed second current collection tab is described as extending from the holding portion of the electrode current collector and therefore is part of the second current collector as claimed. Given that subcomponents of the second electrode tab are shown to be a part of the second current collector, the second electrode tab is accordingly a part of the second current collector.
Regarding claim 10, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 8. Lim illustrates in Fig. 1 an electrode tab can consist of a plurality of tab members 121 and foil tabs 111. As previously cited in addressing claim 8, Lim teaches the electrode of their invention may be at least one of the positive electrode and the negative electrode forming the electrode assembly ([0039]). Therefore, the structure described in Fig. 1 is applicable to the second electrode. Accordingly, the second electrode tab can consist of a plurality of second electrode tabs.
Regarding claim 11, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, and within the combination, the portion of the first active material layer to the left of the center-located first uncoated area would correspond to one part, and the portion of the first active material layer to the right of the first uncoated area would correspond to a second part, thereby reading upon the limitation of the first uncoated area separating the first active material layer into two parts.
Regarding claim 12, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Lim teaches the electrode assembly is manufactured by winding together a laminated body of the positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator ([0030]-[0031]), thereby teaching the first electrode, the second electrode, and the separator are wound together. Because the lead tab is attached to the first uncoated area of the first current collector, as taught in addressing the limitations of claim 1, the lead tab is inherently aligned at the same position as the current collector.
Regarding claim 13, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Lim teaches the electrode assembly is manufactured by winding together a laminated body of the positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator ([0030]-[0031]), thereby teaching the first electrode, the second electrode, and the separator are wound together.
Lim teaches (Fig. 5) that when the electrode assembly is wound, two current collection tabs 111, i.e. a plurality of current collection tabs, can be aligned along the same line position to form a multi-tab, wherein the line positions of alignment are labeled in annotated Fig. 5 of Lim below. Therefore, Lim of the combination teaches the limitation is a known configuration.
Annotated Fig. 5 of Lim:
Regarding claim 14, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Lim teaches the electrode assembly is manufactured by winding together a laminated body of the positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator ([0030]-[0031]), thereby teaching the first electrode, the second electrode, and the separator are wound together.
Lim teaches (Fig. 5) that when the electrode assembly is wound, the lead tab 121 can be aligned at the same line positions as the multi-tab, wherein the line positions of alignment are shown in annotated Fig. 5. Therefore, Lim of the combination teaches the limitation is a known configuration.
Regarding claim 16, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, and Lim of the combination further teaches (Fig. 1) a plurality of foil tabs 111. A plurality of foil tabs 111, such as any pair of foil tabs 111, or groups of three to five foil tabs 111 shown, would correspond to a plurality of current collection tabs. Additionally, the combination of prior art teaches a plurality of lead tabs (Lim: Fig. 1 discloses two lead tabs 121; An: Fig. 16 discloses three lead tabs 181, 182, 183), wherein a plurality of lead tabs can be two lead tabs or three lead tabs, therefore the prior art teaches that a plurality of lead tabs is a known configuration. Accordingly, the combination of prior art teaches that a number of current collection tabs and a number of the lead tabs can be different as claimed.
Regarding claim 17, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 16, and as previously discussed in addressing claim 16, Lim teaches a plurality of current collection tab can correspond to five foil tabs 111 (Fig. 1). The combination also teaches three lead tabs is known (An: Fig. 16 discloses three lead tabs 181, 182, 183). Thus, the combination of prior art teaches the number of the current collection tabs is greater than the number of the lead tabs.
Regarding claim 18, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 16, and as previously discussed in addressing claim 16, Lim teaches a plurality of current collection tab can correspond to a pair of any two foil tabs 111 (Fig. 1). The combination also teaches three lead tabs is known (An: Fig. 16 discloses three lead tabs 181, 182, 183). Thus, the combination of prior art teaches the number of the current collection tabs is less than the number of the lead tabs.
Regarding claim 19, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Lim teaches the electrode assembly is manufactured by winding together a laminated body of the positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator ([0030]-[0031]), thereby teaching the first electrode, the second electrode, and the separator are wound together. As previously discussed in addressing the limitations of claim 1, the lead tab and the current collection tab are part of the first electrode tab, and therefore are coupled as part of the unit of the first electrode tab. Additionally, Lim shows the lead tab and the current collection tab are coupled via the substrate of the electrode current collector (illustrated in Fig. 1, discussed in the machine translation [0028]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 7. Jeong of the combination further teaches it can comprise an insulating plate 131 between the electrode assembly 110 and the cap assembly comprising of a cap-up (150), safety vent (160), insulator (170) and cap-down (180) ([0070], [0074]-[0075], Fig. 2). Jeon’s electrode tabs 111a of the first electrode, which would be structurally equivalent to a plurality of first electrode tabs and which, in comprising of the lead tab and the current collection tab, would have its area read upon the coupling area of the lead tab and the current collection tab. Jeong shows the coupling area in Fig. 2 as being located in the area between the electrode assembly 110 and the insulating plate 131 and the area between the insulating plate 131 and the cap assembly. Fig. 2 also shows wherein the sub plate (162 + 121) and the coupling area (corresponding to the area of electrode tabs 111a) are coupled in the area between the insulating plate and the cap assembly. A person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to have modified the secondary battery of modified Lim to include an insulating plate between the electrode assembly and the cap assembly given that Jeon teaches it is part of a known configuration that provides a secondary battery capable of high output while improving stability ([0113]). They would have also recognized that providing the combination of elements of Jeon’s insulating plate in combination with the modified secondary battery of Lim would merely provide the predictable result of similar function as performed separately with expectation of success; see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (KR20180116004 A, disclosed in 03/02/2023 IDS) in view of Jeong et al (WO 2019139220 A1) and An (KR20180000223A, disclosed in 03/02/2023 IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yao et al “Tab Design and Failures in Cylindrical Li-ion Batteries,” IEEE Access, 2019.
Supporting evidence is provided by Zhu et al “A review of current collectors for lithium-ion batteries,” J of Power Sources 485 (2021) 229321 (13 Dec 2020)
Regarding claim 4, the combination above teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, but does not teach the lead tab is welded to the first uncoated area.
Lim teaches tab member 121 (i.e., lead tab) is attached to the non-coated portion 120 but they do not specify that it is welded ([0042]).
In the same field of endeavor, An teaches a lead tab 51 can be welded to an uncoated area ([0010], [0035]; Fig. 6); therefore, it is a known and suitable method for attaching a lead tab to a non-coated region. Analogous art Yao teaches that various methods known for tab welding provide various advantages; for example, ultrasonic welding is the most popular method for batteries because of its predictable quality and performance for both thin and thick electrodes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize welding as a means of attaching the lead tab of modified Lim to the first uncoated area as taught by An, given that it is a suitable method and that methods of welding are known to provide predictable quality and performance for both thin and thick electrodes, as recognized by Yao.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.L.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/BACH T DINH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726 03/12/2026