DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 11-12 in the reply filed on 3/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a radiation unit (in claims 11-12), a separation unit (in claim 11), a first detection unit (in claim 11), a second detection unit (in claim 11). Note that the separation unit, first detection unit, and second detection unit have sufficient structure in claim 12 that they are not interpreted under 112f.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchida (WO2018216573A1) in view of Murayama (US 20150062305 A1; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 11¸Uchida teaches a measurement apparatus comprising:
a radiation unit (12) configured to radiate, at a predetermined radiation angle, an electromagnetic wave of infrared light (paragraph 37) onto a first point on a surface of an object (ob; paragraphs 9, 37-43, and 47; figure 1);
a light reception system (10) comprising:
a separation unit (16; paragraphs 13-14)configured to receive a reflected wave of infrared light (paragraph 37) of the electromagnetic wave radiated by the radiation unit reflected from the surface of the object (paragraph 14) and visible light reflected from the surface of the object and, separate the reflected wave of infrared light from the visible light, and output the visible light in a first direction and the reflected wave of infrared light in a second direction (paragraphs 20 and 35; figure 1);
a first detection unit (20) configured to detect the reflected wave of infrared light (paragraph 33) separated by the separation unit (16), a second travelling axis of the reflected wave of infrared light that travels in the second direction being parallel to a second detection axis of the first detection unit (paragraph 31) that passes through a center of a detection surface of the first detection unit and that is perpendicular to the detection surface of the first detection unit (paragraph 30);
a second detection unit (17) configured to acquire, based on the visible light separated by the separation unit (paragraph 20), an image of the object, a first travelling axis of the visible light that travels in the first direction from the separation unit being parallel to a first detection axis of the second detection unit that passes through a center of a detection surface of the second detection unit and that is perpendicular to the detection surface of the second detection unit (paragraph 16); and
a control unit (14) configured to:
measure, based on the reflected wave of infrared light separated by the separation unit, a distance from the measurement apparatus to the first point on the surface of the object (paragraphs 34-35); and
calculate information (e.g., a relative position with respect to the other points on object; paragraph 47) indicating a position of a point on the surface of the object based on the distance from the measurement apparatus to the first point on the surface of the object (paragraph 47), the predetermined radiation angle (paragraphs 43 and 47), and the image (paragraphs 45, 20),
wherein, among electromagnetic waves that are incident on the light reception system reflected from the first point (figure 1), the reflected wave of infrared light detected by the first detection unit and the visible light detected by the second detection unit have an identical optical axis (paragraph 49; figure 1).
Uchida doesn’t explicitly teach the information is coordinate information.
Like Uchida (and like the instant application), Murayama is directed to an optical distance/position measurement system using infrared light and an image sensor and teaches the control unit configured to calculate coordinate information indicating a position of a point on the surface of the object based on the distance from the measurement apparatus to the first point on the surface of the object and the image (figure 11; paragraphs 100-105; paragraphs 68 and 83-91). Additionally, Murayama teaches this provides the benefit of “enabling the measurement of the length of the positions desired by the user with high accuracy” (paragraph 104).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Uchida such that the control unit is configured to calculate coordinate information indicating a position of a point on the surface of the object based on the distance from the measurement apparatus to the first point on the surface of the object, the predetermined radiation angle, and the image – in order to enable the measurement of the length of the positions desired by the user with high accuracy.
Regarding claim 12¸Uchida teaches the measurement apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the separation unit includes a half mirror, a beam splitter, a dichroic mirror, a cold mirror, a hot mirror, or a prism (paragraph 14), the first detection unit includes avalanche photodiode (APD), a photodiode (PD), or a distance-measurement image sensor (paragraph 34), and the second detection unit includes an image sensor or an imaging array (paragraph 19).
Additional Prior Art
US 20160161611 A1 teaches a distance measurement system using an infrared light and an image sensor
WO 2019/216140; cited by Applicant discloses
Conclusion
/RUFUS L PHILLIPS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877