DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gergek (U. S. Patent 6685481) in view of DE 102014206324 and Darling (U. S. Patent 2634311) and Gross (U. S. 2013/0252461).
For claim 1, Gergek, see figures 1C, 2, includes a composite cable assembly including a fluid tube 18 and an electrical cable 132 and a composite connector 14 (figures 2, 9) with fluid tube and electrical communication 44a to connect to a connector 50 of a water dispensing unit at 15. Note water is to be dispensed from a source inside wall 15 through hose 18 to an appliance. Gergek shows all features of claim 1 except for an insulating sleeve accommodating the fluid and electrical lines and teaching of simultaneously attaching fluid and electrical communication. Gross shows an insulating sleeve at 19 surrounding fluid and electrical lines. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek to provide such arrangement as taught by Gross so as to protect the fluid and electrical lines. DE, figures 2, 7, 8, and Darling figure 6 show connector arranged for simultaneous connection of fluid and electrical lines. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek to form such type connection in view of these references because this would enable easier connection. In such case obvious to form the connection like those of DE figures 4, 7, 8, to form them for easy simultaneous connection.
For claim 2, Gergek discloses the claimed invention except for comprising distinct isolated electrical and water connection zones in the composite connector arrangement, said electrical connection zone comprising an electric coupler configured to electrically connect the electric cable of the composite cable assembly to electrical wires of the water dispensing unit, and said water connection zone comprising a fluid coupler configured to establish fluid communication between the water tube and a fluid port of the fluid dispensing unit.
The composite connector formed as in DE figure 3 would have distinct electrical and fluid connection zones and when connected would form connection to wire and fluid tube of the water dispensing unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek to provide such arrangement as taught by DE so as to isolate the electrical lines from fluid.
For claim 3, Gergek discloses the claimed invention except for a partitioning member physically buffering between the electrical and water connection zones of the composite connector arrangement for preventing passage of water from the water connection zone to the electrical connection zone, wherein the electrical connection zone is located above the water connection zone to substantially prevent migration of water from the water connection zone to the electrical connection zone. DE shows a partition 4 between the electrical and fluid lines and a with the electrical line above the water lines. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek to provide such arrangement as taught by DE so as to isolate the electrical line from fluid.
For claim 8, Gergek discloses the claimed invention except for the partitioning member is a cylindrical element configured to laterally enclose the electric coupler therein side. DE, figure 3, partition 13 is a cylindrical element. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek to provide such arrangement as taught by DE so as to isolate the electrical lines from fluid.
For claim 15, Gergek discloses the claimed invention except for the fluid coupler is configured to be received in a locking mechanism provided in the water dispensing unit and configured to substantially immobilize it. Darling at 6, 9 shows a locking mechanism. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek to provide such locking mechanism as taught by Darling so as to lock the mated parts together.
For claim 17, Gergek discloses the claimed invention except for the electric cable comprises at least one electric wire configured to communicate control and/or data signals, and/or deliver a power supply to the water dispensing unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek to use the electrical line for data or power as is standard to enable operation of a circuit.
Claims 20-22, 24-25, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gergek (U. S. Patent 6685481) in view of DE 102014206324.
For claim 20, the patents are applied as in case of claim 1 and to form Gergek with composite connector like those of DE figures 3, 7, 8.
For claim 21, Gergek discloses the claimed invention except for distinct isolated electrical and water connection zones, said electrical connection zone comprising the electric coupler, and said water connection zone comprising the fluid coupler. DE figure 3 composite connector includes distinct zone of electrical and fluid communication at 4, 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek to provide such features as taught by DE so as to provide isolation of electric and fluid lines.
For claim 22, Gergek discloses the claimed invention except for a partitioning member physically buffering between the electrical and water connection zones for preventing passage of water from said water connection zone to said electrical connection zone. DE figure 3 connector includes a partitioning member 4 for buffering between fluid and electrical zones. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek to provide such features as taught by DE so as to provide isolation of electric and fluid lines.
For claim 24, Gergek discloses the claimed invention except for the electrical connection zone is located above the water connection zone to substantially prevent
migration of water from the water connection zone to the electrical connection zone. DE figure 3 electrical zone is above the fluid zone. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek to provide such features as taught by DE so as to provide isolation of fluid and electrical lines.
For claim 25, Gergek discloses the claimed invention except for the partitioning member is a cylindrical element configured to laterally enclose the electric coupler there inside. DE partitioning element is a cylindrical element 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek to provide such features as taught by DE so as to provide isolation of electric and fluid lines.
For claim 34, Gergek and DE discloses the claimed invention except for teaching of delivery of power or signal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek and DE to provide such features so as to transmit such circuit items as they are standard for operation of circuit.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gergek (U. S. Patent 6685481) in view of DE 102014206324 and Darling (U. S. Patent 2634311).
For claim 32, Gergek and DE disclose the claimed invention except for lock mechanism of type recited. Darling figure 4 shows a tube with inside locking means 9 to receive fluid tube rib 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek and DE to provide such features as taught by Darling so as to enable the connector to be locked in mated condition.
Claims 10 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claims 1, 20 respectively above, and further in view of Los 2015/0244116.
For claims 10, 27, Gergek and DE lack use of electrical plug with contacts spaced along its length. Los figures 1, 2, shows such plug. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek and DE to use such plug so as to save space.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claim 20 respectively above, and further in view of Beller (U. S. Patent 8,449,318).
For claim 33, Gergek as applied above lacks use of identification mechanism. Beller at 60 shows a plug with identifier. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gergek to use such plug identifier so as to enable control of fluid flow.
Claims 7, 12, 13, 19, 29, 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/NEIL ABRAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834