DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (US 20190033690).
Regarding Claim 27, Choi teaches a camera system (abstract; figs. 1-4) comprising:
an image capturing device (figs. 1-2, 800-- camera module) further comprising:
a camera housing portion (fig. 3, 700/850, --both together housing camera components of lenses (200) and imaging sensor (500); also see ¶[0049] cited below), housing a lens unit (figs. 2-3, 100, 200),
wherein the lens unit comprises a lens barrel (fig. 2, 200),
a front lens directly attached to the camera housing portion (fig. 3, 110, 850/852; ¶[0049], line 1-4, The lens holder cover (850) may be formed with a space accommodating the lens barrel (200). The lens holder cover (850) may include an upper surface (852) formed with a through hole exposing the first lens (110) and a lateral surface (854)),
whereby the front lens comprises an inner surface facing the lens barrel (figs. 2-4, 110, 112),
a heater device, further comprising a lens heater for heating the front lens (figs. 2-4, 600; ¶[0043], line 1-6, a camera module (800) may include a lens barrel (200) including a lens (100), a lens holder (300), a PCB (Printed Circuit Board, 400), an image sensor (500), a heating device (600) and a housing (700). The camera module (800) may further include a lens barrel cover (850); ¶[0061], line 1-4, The heating device (600) may serve to prevent the first lens (110) from being wetted with moisture or from being generated with a frostiness by providing a heat to the first lens (110); ¶[0064], line 1-3, a heating device (600) may include a resistance heating film (610), a power applying member (620) and a connecting member (630));
wherein the lens heater comprises a transparent conductive coating provided on at least a portion of the inner surface of the front lens (fig. 4, 110, 610; ¶[0067], line 1-5, The resistance heating film (610) in the exemplary embodiment of present invention may be formed in a film type including an ITO material that has a light transmittance of over 90%; ¶[0068], line 1-2, The resistance heating film (610) may be formed by coating process or deposition process of ITO material).
Regarding Claim 28, Choi teaches the camera system according to claim 27, wherein the front lens is a dome front lens (fig. 4, 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20190033690) in a view of Park et al (US 20220163751).
Regarding Claim 15, Choi teaches a camera system (abstract; figs. 1-4) comprising:
an image capturing device (figs. 1-2, 800-- camera module) further comprising:
a lens unit (fig. 2, 100, 200), wherein the lens unit comprises a lens barrel (fig. 2, 200),
a front lens comprising an inner surface facing the lens barrel (figs. 2-4, 110, 112),
a heater device, further comprising a lens heater for heating the front lens (figs. 2-4, 600; ¶[0043], line 1-6, a camera module (800) may include a lens barrel (200) including a lens (100), a lens holder (300), a PCB (Printed Circuit Board, 400), an image sensor (500), a heating device (600) and a housing (700). The camera module (800) may further include a lens barrel cover (850); ¶[0061], line 1-4, The heating device (600) may serve to prevent the first lens (110) from being wetted with moisture or from being generated with a frostiness by providing a heat to the first lens (110); ¶[0064], line 1-3, a heating device (600) may include a resistance heating film (610), a power applying member (620) and a connecting member (630));
wherein an annular flexible insulating device is arranged between the lens barrel and the lens heater (fig. 2, 621, 623, 626--a flexible insulation member; fig. 4, 110, 610, 621; fig. 6, 110, 610, 621, 200; ¶[0075], line 1-5, The flexible insulation member (626) may be formed with openings (623)),
wherein the lens barrel comprises a first annular portion further comprising an annular support portion for supporting the front lens (fig. 2, 220, 621, 626; ¶[0070], line 1-5, The first power applying part (621) may be disposed at an inside of a reception groove (220) of lens barrel (200)),
wherein the annular support portion faces the front lens, wherein the annular flexible insulating device is arranged on the annular support portion (fig. 2, 110, 220, 621, 626).
But Choi does not specifically disclose that wherein the flexible insulation member is an annular heat insulating device.
However, Park teaches a heating device and camera module (abstract; fig. 2), wherein the flexible insulation member is an annular heat insulating device (fig. 26, 1710--heater, 1820- heat insulator; ¶[0152], line 1-15, The camera device 1020 may include a heat insulating material 1820. The heat insulating material 1820 may be disposed on the other surface of the heater 1710. The heat insulating material 1820 may be disposed between the heater1710 and the inner side surface of the housing 1200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera system of Choi by the camera module of Park for a purpose to provide a heating device and a camera module capable of preventing condensation including frost from occurring on a lens (¶[0006], line 1-4).
Regarding Claim 16, Choi – Park combination teaches the camera system according to claim 15, wherein the lens heater comprises a transparent conductive coating provided on at least a portion of the inner surface of the front lens (fig. 4, 110, 610; ¶[0067], line 1-5, The resistance heating film (610) in the exemplary embodiment of present invention may be formed in a film type including an ITO material that has a light transmittance of over 90%; ¶[0068], line 1-2, The resistance heating film (610) may be formed by coating process or deposition process of ITO material, as disclosed in Choi).
Regarding Claim 17, Choi – Park combination teaches the camera system according to claim 16, wherein said at least a portion of the inner surface of the front lens is a sub-portion of the inner surface of the front lens (fig. 11, 310, --bottom of lens 310, as disclosed in Park), wherein the transparent conductive coating is provided solely on the sub-portion of the inner surface of the front lens (fig. 11, 600, bottom of lens 310; ¶[0099], line 1-17, The heating member 600 may be a transparent heating film coated with indium thin oxide (ITO) , as disclosed in Park).
Regarding Claim 18, Choi – Park combination teaches the camera system according to claim 16, wherein the lens heater comprises an annular heater disc (fig. 2, 621), wherein the annular heater disc is arranged between the annular heat insulating device and said at least a portion of the inner surface of the front lens (fig. 2, 621, 626/623, 110) and is configured to provide an electrical connection to the transparent conductive coating (fig. 4, 621-- first power applying part, 610-- resistance heating film, as disclosed in Choi).
Regarding Claim 19, Choi – Park combination teaches the camera system according to claim 16, wherein the transparent conductive coating is indium tin oxide (ITO) (fig. 4, 110, 610; ¶[0067], line 1-5, The resistance heating film (610) in the exemplary embodiment of present invention may be formed in a film type including an ITO material that has a light transmittance of over 90%; ¶[0068], line 1-2, The resistance heating film (610) may be formed by coating process or deposition process of ITO material, as disclosed in Choi).
Regarding Claim 20, Choi – Park combination teaches the camera system according to claim 16, wherein the transparent conductive coating is a resistive pattern coating provided on the inner surface of the front lens (fig. 4, 110, 610; ¶[0067], line 1-5, The resistance heating film (610) in the exemplary embodiment of present invention may be formed in a film type including an ITO material that has a light transmittance of over 90%, as disclosed in Choi).
Regarding Claim 21, Choi – Park combination teaches the camera system according to claim 15, wherein the lens heater comprises a transparent heater film provided on the inner surface of the front lens (fig. 4, 110, 112, 610; ¶[0067], line 1-5, The resistance heating film (610) in the exemplary embodiment of present invention may be formed in a film type including an ITO material that has a light transmittance of over 90%; ¶[0068], line 1-2, The resistance heating film (610) may be formed by coating process or deposition process of ITO material, as disclosed in Choi).
Regarding Claim 22, Choi – Park combination teaches the camera system according to claim 16, wherein the heater device further comprises a heater driver and a heater connector (fig. 2, 622; fig. 4, 620, 622, 630; ¶[0064], line 1-3, a heating device (600) may include a resistance heating film (610), a power applying member (620) and a connecting member (630) , as disclosed in Choi), wherein the heater connector (fig. 4, 621, as disclosed in Choi) connects the heater driver (fig. 4, 620, as disclosed in Choi) with the front lens via contact pads arranged on the transparent conductive coating (fig. 4, 621, 610, 630, as disclosed in Choi), wherein the heater connector comprises connecting pins (fig. 2, 622, as disclosed in Choi).
Regarding Claim 23, Choi – Park combination teaches the camera system according to claim 18, wherein the heater device further comprises a heater driver and a heater connector (fig. 2, 622; fig. 4, 620, 622, 630; ¶[0064], line 1-3, a heating device (600) may include a resistance heating film (610), a power applying member (620) and a connecting member (630) , as disclosed in Choi), wherein the heater connector connects the heater driver with the annular heater disc (fig. 4, 621, 620, as disclosed in Choi), wherein the heater connector comprises an FPC connector (¶[0073], line 1-7, Each of the first power applying part (621), the connecting part (622) and the second power applying part (625) according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention may include a flexible PCB (FPCB) , as disclosed in Choi).
Regarding Claim 24, Choi – Park combination teaches the camera system according to claim 15, wherein the annular heat insulating device has an annular disc shape (fig. 2, 626, as disclosed in Choi; fig. 26, 1820, as disclosed in Park).
Regarding Claim 25, Choi – Park combination teaches the camera system according to claim 15, wherein the heat insulating device is an O-ring (fig. 2, 626—has a O-ring shape, as disclosed in Choi, fig. 26, 1820, as disclosed in Park).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20190033690) in a view of Park et al (US 20220163751), further in a view of Bernal et al (US 20190137723).
Regarding Claim 26, Choi – Park combination discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the camera system according to claim 15, wherein a hydrophobic coating is provided on an outer surface of the front lens.
However, Bernal teaches a lens assembly for a camera module (abstract; figs. 1-2), wherein a hydrophobic coating is provided on an outer surface of the front lens (fig. 2, 8; ¶[0018], line 1-11, the front lens element 8; coated with; a hydrophobic coating; page 3, right col, claim 7, wherein the first surface of the objective lens includes at least one of an anti-reflective coating, an anti-scratch coating, an oleophobic coating, a hydrophobic coating, and a hydrophilic coating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera system of Choi – Park combination by the lens assembly for a camera module of Bernal for the purpose of providing of a lens assembly wherein the objective lens element can optically withstand extreme weather conditions (¶[0018], line 1-11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 4/2/2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues that:
(A) Choi does not teach or disclose "a front lens directly attached to the camera housing portion" as recited by claim 27. The first lens (110) in Choi is attached to the lens barrel (200), not to the housing (700).
(B) Applicant submits that neither Choi nor Park, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests "an annular heat insulating device arranged between the lens barrel and the lens heater" as recited by claim 15. This flexible insulation member (626) in Choi is an electrical insulation member, not a heat insulating device as required by claim 15. The Action relies on Park to supply a heat insulating function. However, Park's heat insulating material (1820) is not arranged between the lens barrel and the lens heater as required by claim 15.
In response to applicant's argument(s):
(A) Please see office action above, Choi teaches in fig. 3 and ¶[0049] that the lens barrel (200) which held lens group 100 ( comprising 110, 120, 130) is mounted within a space constituted by 700 and 850. Hence, 700 and 850 of Choi correspond to claimed housing portion. The front lens (110) is directly attached to a portion of housing (852/850), see fig. 3. Therefore, The first lens (110) in Choi is held by (attached to) the lens barrel (200) and a portion of housing (852/850).
Further, argument point of "a front lens directly attached to the camera housing portion" appears not supported by instant specification disclosure, see figs. 1-3, front lens 4 is held by housing portion 2 via fixation 33; and fig. 4, front lens 4 is held by housing portion 2 via glue layer 8. No directly attaching portion between the front lens 4 and housing portion 2 in instant specification disclosure. The term of “directly attaching” is not clearly specified in instant specification disclosure.
(B) One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In reKeller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In reMerck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Please see office action above, Choi teaches in figs. 2, 4 and 6, and ¶[0075] that “wherein an annular flexible insulating device is arranged between the lens barrel and the lens heater”. Park teaches in fig. 26 and ¶[0152] that “wherein the flexible insulation member is an annular heat insulating device”. Therefore combination of Choi and Park teaches claimed term of "an annular heat insulating device arranged between the lens barrel and the lens heater".
Further, “The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference.... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.” In reKeller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). See also In reSneed, 710 F.2d 1544, 1550, 218 USPQ 385, 389 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (“[I]t is not necessary that the inventions of the references be physically combinable to render obvious the invention under review.”); and In reNievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973) (“Combining the teachings of references does not involve an ability to combine their specific structures.”).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872