DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, 18-20, 23-24) in the reply filed on 21 October 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 13, 15-16 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 21 October 2025.
Newly added claims 50-56 read on the elected invention and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1–5, 7, 10, 18–20, 24, 52, 54, and 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 1,557,752 (hereafter GB’752).
GB’752 (claim 1; Figures 1–2; Table 1) discloses a method comprising conveying oleaginous material through an extractor in a conveyance direction while conveying an alcohol solvent counter-currently, thereby generating an extracted solids stream and a miscella stream. GB’752 further discloses cooling the miscella stream to form a solvent-rich phase and an oil-rich phase, separating the phases (e.g., by decanting), and recycling the solvent-rich phase back to the extractor.
With respect to claim 1, GB’752 discloses recycling the separated solvent-rich stream into the extractor at a location different from the location at which fresh solvent is introduced (see Fig. 1, fresh solvent inlets at points 2 and 14; recycle inlets at points 13 and 17). Thus, all limitations of claim 1 are disclosed.
With respect to claims 2-5, GB’752 expressly discloses multiple solvent entry points, including distinct fresh solvent and recycled solvent entry locations. Table 1 further shows that the recycled miscella stream has a composition substantially similar to the removed miscella stream, within the claimed tolerances.
With respect to the dependent claims:
Claim 7: solvent-to-solid ratio disclosed in Table 1 (page 3, lines 64–65);
Claim 10: phase separation by decanting disclosed in Figures 1 and 2;
Claim 18: ethanol solvent disclosed (claim 4);
Claim 19: ethanol/water weight percentages disclosed (page 2, lines 45–46);
Claim 20: drying/desolventizing extracted material disclosed (claim 1(g));
Claim 24: pretreatment/drying of material disclosed (page 2, lines 37–42);
Claim 52: soybean feedstock disclosed;
Claim 54: percolation extractor disclosed;
Claim 56: solvent balance ratios shown in Table 1.
Claim(s) 1–5, 7, 11, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grimsby (US Pat. 4,457,869, hereafter US’869).
US’869 (Figure 1; Example; column 5, lines 1–6; column 8, lines 4–9) discloses a multi-stage countercurrent extraction of soybeans using an alcohol solvent, forming an extracted material stream and a miscella stream. US’869 further discloses cooling the miscella stream to form a solvent-rich stream and an oil-rich stream, separating the streams, and recycling the solvent-rich stream to an upstream stage of the extractor.
Countercurrent operation as disclosed in US’869 inherently requires that fresh solvent be introduced downstream and recycled solvent be introduced upstream. Thus, the recycled solvent necessarily enters the extractor at a location different from that of the fresh solvent, as required by claim 1.
The remaining claims are anticipated as follows:
Claim 7: solvent-to-solid ratio disclosed (column 5, lines 1–6);
Claim 11: miscella cooling temperature disclosed (Example, lines 37–39);
Claim 18: ethanol disclosed as alcohol solvent (column 4, line 18);
Claim 20: drying/desolventizing zones disclosed (Figure 1, Zones II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US Pub. 2018/296940, hereafter USPub’940) in view of GB 1,557,752 (hereafter GB’752) or Grimsby (US Pat. 4,457,869, hereafter US’869).
USPUB’940 discloses countercurrent soybean extraction in a percolation reactor with recycled solvent introduced upstream and fresh solvent introduced downstream (paragraphs [0026]–[0028]). USPUB’940 does not disclose cooling the recycled miscella prior to recycle.
GB’752 and US’869 teach cooling miscella to remove oil prior to recycle, thereby improving solvent extraction capacity. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the cooling and phase-separation teachings of GB’752 or US’869 to the recycled miscella of USPUB’940, with a reasonable expectation of success. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Accordingly, claims 1–5 would have been obvious.
Claim(s) 9 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 1,557,752 (hereafter GB’752).
GB’752 discloses solvent recycle ratios and miscella cooling temperatures that differ only slightly from the ranges recited in claims 9 and 11. The selection of a particular recycle ratio or cooling temperature within or near a disclosed range constitutes routine optimization of result-effective variables. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 (CCPA 1955); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2003). No unexpected results are disclosed.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grimsby (US Pat. 4,457,869, hereafter US’869).
US’869 discloses solvent recycle ratios and process conditions close to those recited in claim 9, rendering the claimed upper limit an obvious design choice. Although US’869 does not explicitly disclose decanting (claim 10), decanting is a well-known and commonly used phase separation technique, as evidenced by GB’752, and would have been an obvious choice.
US’869 further discloses pretreatment of soybeans by flaking (column 3, lines 18–21). Adjusting moisture content or drying prior to extraction (claims 23–24) constitutes a routine process optimization well within the ordinary skill in the art.
/DEBORAH D CARR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691