DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The examiner acknowledges the amendment to claim 1, the cancelation of claim 6, and the addition of claims 10-13. Claims 1, 4-5, and 7-13 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The applicant has amended claim 1 to expand the allowable range of dielectric constant to 3.51 or less from 3 or less and points towards Table 5 Example 16 for support for this amendment. However, the applicant’s specification, as originally filed, states in paragraph 71 that the composition can achieve dielectric constants of 3.0 or less with a preference for 2.95 or 2.8 or less. Further, the applicant states in paragraph 2 “there is a need for, for example, organic materials having a low dielectric constant of 3.0 or less and a low dielectric loss tangent of 0.005 or less from the viewpoint of obtaining high electrical properties.” As the invention of the instant application is directed towards an aforementioned object with these properties, the expansion of the dielectric constant to include values above this range would not be commensurate with the description of the invention based upon the originally filed specification. Further, a single data point is not sufficient for establishing support for the expansion of the range, particularly in light of the language describing the invention to having a dielectric constant of 3.0 or less. As a result, this amendment to claim 1 represents the introduction of new matter not contained within the original specification.
Claims 4-5 and 7-9 are rejected based upon their dependence upon claim 1.
This is a new matter rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 has been amended to include the limitations of a dielectric loss tangent from 0.0027 to 0.005 at a measurement frequency of 10 GHz and a dielectric constant of 3.51 or less. The previous rejections under 103 for claim 1 and dependent claims 4-5 and 7-9 are withdrawn, however this will be reconsidered after the removal of the new matter.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 20170275425, US Patent Document #2 from IDS dated 12/28/2022) in view of Washino (US 20200040133).
Regarding Claims 10 and 12,
Sato teaches a polyimide resin composition which includes the following structures:
in which X1 and X2 may a tetravalent aromatic ring:
and in which R1 has 6 to 22 carbon atoms (Paragraph 27), contains at least one alicyclic hydrocarbon (Paragraph 28), and in which R2 is a linear alkylene group of preferably 6 to 10 carbons (Paragraph 41) meeting the requirements of the instant claim. Additionally, Sato teaches that formula 1 should comprise 20 to 70% by mole of the polyimide (Paragraph 22). With regard to the crystallinity of the polyimide, Sato teaches that crystalline resins presented can be molded more easily than Vespel (Paragraph 4) and further that the resins have crystallizing temperatures near 300 °C (Table 2, examples 1 and 2), indicating that the polyimides are crystalline. Sato also states that the polyimide of this composition can be used with other resins, such as liquid crystalline polymers (Paragraph 130).
Sato does not teach the structure of the liquid crystalline polymer. However, Washino teaches a liquid crystalline polyester comprised of aromatic constituents (Abstract) in which the following monomeric units are used:
with no other structural units present (Table 1, Examples 3, 6, 7, 10, 11, 14, 18, 20, and 21), meeting the requirement of at least 50% by mass or more of the structural units required by claim 8. The combination of these units would result in repeat units of formula I and IV of the instant claim. Additionally, Washino teaches that these polymers have melting temperatures of between 297 and 317 °C (Table 1, examples 3, 6, 10, 11, 14, 18, 20, and 21), meeting the requirement of the instant claim. Further, Washino teaches that molded articles made with the liquid crystalline polyester can be made using other resins, including polyimides (Paragraph 86).
One of ordinary skill in the art, recognizing that Sato discloses the use of liquid crystalline polymers to combine with the polyimide resin that requires high heat resistance, would naturally look to polymers such as the ones disclosed by Washino that are intended for use in such high heat resistant compositions (Paragraph 5) and in particular offer good performance in electronic devices (Paragraph 9). It would therefore have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have combined the liquid crystal polyesters of Washino with the polyimide as taught by Sato to obtain the predictable result of a polymeric composition containing a liquid crystalline polyester and a polyimide with high heat resistance and good dielectric properties with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the polymer ratio, Sato teaches that the ratio between the polyimide and other resins is preferably from 1:99 to 99:1 (Paragraph 131), which overlaps the range of the instant claims. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the material properties such as melting temperature and characteristics during extrusion would differ based upon the relative ratio of the included polymers and as such, would alter the composition accordingly to meet the required material properties. It would therefore have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges because the selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
With regard to the total content of the two polymers, Sato teaches that one or more other resins may be selected to blend with the polyimide (Paragraph 130). Additionally, Sato also teaches that the amount of additives is preferably between 0.01 and 65% by mass (Paragraph 129) that corresponds to polymer content of 35% or more, which overlaps with the stated range of the polymers comprising 70% by mass or more. Because Sato allows for the selection of compositions that contain only two polymers, it would therefore have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges because the selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
With regard to the limitations of differential between the melting and crystallization temperatures as well as the torque of the composition prior to curing, Sato in view of Washino is silent. However, these physical properties would be a direct result of the components that constitute the composition and it would logically follow that by mixing the required ingredients of the instant claims which are taught by Sato in view of Washino, the resulting composition would possess these physical characteristics as well. As such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have a composition meeting the requirements of temperature differential between crystallization and melting as well as the torque of the uncured composition.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is Sato (US 20170275425) in view of Washino (US 20200040133). Sato in view of Washino teaches compositions that meet the component requirements of the instant application, including the liquid crystalline polymer and the required polyimide. However, even though Sato in view of Washino targets low dielectric loss tangents as a primary goal of the invention (Washino Paragraph 10), the combination only demonstrates compositions that has a dielectric loss tangent down to 0.0056 and not within the range required in claims 10 and 13. Thus Sato in view of Washino, while aiming for similar goals to the instant application using similar compositions does not demonstrate the dielectric loss tangent required nor provide one of ordinary skill in the art the means or knowledge to improve this property in order to meet the requirements of the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons.
On page 10, the applicant argues that Sato in view of Washino does not teach the required dielectric constant and dielectric loss tangent. While the examiner agrees that the combination does not teach the required dielectric loss tangent, the examiner notes that the amended range for the dielectric constant added to claim 1 is not supported by the applicant’s originally filled specification as noted in the rejection above and as a result, the argument in its totality is not persuasive on this basis.
On page 11, the applicant argues the inclusion of the torque of the resin composition and the differential between the crystallization and melting temperatures separate the instant application from the prior art. The examiner notes however that upon closer inspection, the applicant has not demonstrated the compositions as taught by Sato in view of Washino would not possess these same characteristics. The examiner notes that the applicant’s own results for the reference examples shown in Table 3 are not representative of the compositions taught by Sato in view of Washino as they contain only the polyester or the polyimide, which does not match the teachings of Sato and Washino in which the polyester and polyimide are used together.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765