DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 23, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application. The previous 35 USC 112 rejections of claims 7 and 8 are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendment to claims 7 and 8 and remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Publication 2017/0159665 to Bergamini in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2013/0287875 to Yoshimi.
Referring to claim 1, Bergamini teaches a modularized pump comprising:
an inlet side end lid with a process fluid inlet and an outlet side end lid with a process fluid outlet and at least two pump modules sandwiched between the inlet side end lid and the outlet side end lid, each pump module including a casing, an enclosed volume inside said casing, at least one pump stage, at least one coolant inlet (upstream end of 38), at least one coolant outlet (downstream end of 38) and a separate power connection for connection to a variable speed drive (111.1-111.n); and wherein each pump stage includes an impeller (15A-15n) with a rotor (32), a stator (33A-33n) surrounding the rotor (32), and a housing between the impeller (15A-15n) and the stator (33A-33n), wherein each at least one pump module is powered and controlled by its own variable speed drive (111.1-111.n) (Figures 13 and 18-20, Figures 13, 18 and 19 annotated below; paragraphs [0098]-[0110]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Power Connection)]
Annotation of Bergamini Figure 13.
[AltContent: textbox (Stages)][AltContent: textbox (Stages)]
[AltContent: textbox (Casing)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Stages)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (First Pump Module)][AltContent: textbox (Third Pump Module)][AltContent: textbox (Casing)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Casing)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Pump Module)][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Outlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Outlet Side End Lid)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inlet Side End Lid)]
Annotation of Bergamini Figure 18.
[AltContent: textbox (Casing)][AltContent: textbox (Stages)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Housing)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Housing)]
Annotation of Bergamini Figure 19.
While Bergamini teaches a housing (can) on a radial inner surface of the stator, between the stator and the impeller/rotor, as shown in the above annotation of Fig. 19, Bergamini is silent as to the material of the housing (can). Yoshimi teaches a pump wherein:
a stator (12) comprises a ceramic housing (can 13) on a radial interior surface (Fig. 4; paragraph [0042], wherein the can 13 is located in the same place as the claimed housing).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Bergamini with the housing material taught by Yoshimi in order to use a material that has resistance to heat, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Referring to claim 3, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Bergamini further teaches a pump wherein:
the at least one coolant inlet (upstream end of 38), and the at least one coolant outlet (downstream end of 38) are in fluid communication with coolant channels (38A) surrounding each stator (33A-33n) (Figures 18-20, Figures 18 and 19 annotated above; paragraphs [0109] and [0110]).
Bergamini does not teach spiral shaped coolant channels. However, it would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to use spiral shaped coolant channels, as an obvious matter of design choice since applicant has not disclosed that different shaped coolant channels solve any stated problems or are for any particular purpose, and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with different shaped coolant channels.
Referring to claim 6, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Bergamini further teaches a modularized pump wherein:
each module includes two stages (Fig. 18, annotated above; paragraphs [0098], [0109] and [0110]).
Referring to claim 7, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Bergamini further teaches a modularized pump wherein:
the at least two pump modules each have a separate casing (Fig. 18, annotated above; paragraphs [0098], [0109] and [0110]).
Referring to claim 8, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Bergamini further teaches a modularized pump wherein:
each of the at least two pump modules are substantially the same (Fig. 18, annotated above; paragraphs [0098], [0109] and [0110]).
Referring to claim 9, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but Bergamini is silent as to the material of the housing (can). Yoshimi further teaches a pump wherein:
the ceramic housing (can 13) is non-magnetic (Fig. 4; paragraph [0042]).
The Examiner notes that ceramics are not magnetic unless modified to be so, and no such modification is disclosed in the cited art.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Publication 2017/0159665 to Bergamini in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2013/0287875 to Yoshimi, U. S. Patent Publication 2015/0354574 to Homstvedt and U. S. Patent Publication 2016/0312591 to Pyron.
Referring to claim 2, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, including the ceramic housing, but are silent as to pressure compensation. Homstvedt teaches a pump module comprising:
a pressure compensator (7) limiting a pressure difference over a housing (diaphragm) between a pumped media in an impeller side of the pump and a fluid inside the casing (Fig. 1; paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Bergamini with the pressure compensator taught by Homstvedt in order to prevent explosions or other damage caused by the buildup of a large pressure differential.
Homstvedt is silent as to what type of fluid is used in the casing. Pyron teaches a similar pump comprising:
a dielectric fluid (37) inside a casing (41) (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0014], [0017] and [0019]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Bergamini and Homstvedt with the dielectric fluid taught by Pyron in order to use a fluid that is also a lubricant and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Publication 2017/0159665 to Bergamini in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2013/0287875 to Yoshimi and U. S. Patent Publication 2019/0032667 to Ifrim.
Referring to claim 4, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but Bergamini is silent as to the seal between the modules, though one must exist for the pump to operate as disclosed. Yoshimi does not teach modules. Ifrim teaches a similar pump comprising:
a metal to metal face seal (the “metal-to-metal contact”) (paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Bergamini with the seal taught by Ifrim in order to provide a seal without using an extra part.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Publication 2017/0159665 to Bergamini in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2013/0287875 to Yoshimi and U. S. Patent Publication 2006/0056992 to Sadler.
Referring to claim 5, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, Bergamini is silent as to the seal between the modules, though one must exist for the pump to operate as disclosed. Yoshimi does not teach modules. Sadler teaches a similar pump comprising:
a polymeric face seal (40) between at least two modules (40, 48) (Figures 1 and 2; paragraphs [0060] - [0063]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Bergamini with the seal taught by Sadler in order to use provide a seal which is moldable and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Publication 2017/0159665 to Bergamini in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2013/0287875 to Yoshimi and U. S. Patent Publication 2023/0170756 to Finck.
Referring to claim 10, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but Bergamini is silent as to the material of the housing (can). Yoshimi teaches a ceramic housing (can 13) (Fig. 4; paragraph [0042]), but is silent as to the whether or not the material is electrically conductive. Finck teaches a pump wherein:
a ceramic housing is non-electrically conducting (paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to make the pump taught by Bergamini with a non-electrically conducting ceramic material taught by Yoshimi (to use a non-electrically conductive ceramic for the ceramic material taught by Yoshimi) in order to use a material that reduces eddy current losses (paragraph [0010]), and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
The Examiner notes that ceramics are not electrically conductive unless modified to be so (no such modification is disclosed in the cited art), and as such very commonly used as an electrical insulator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 23, 2025 have been considered but, are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746