DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Publication 2017/0159665 to Bergamini in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2013/0287875 to Yoshimi.
Referring to claim 1, Bergamini teaches a modularized pump comprising:
an inlet side end lid with a process fluid inlet and an outlet side end lid with a process fluid outlet and at least two pump modules sandwiched between the inlet side end lid and the outlet side end lid, each pump module including a casing, an enclosed volume inside said casing, at least one pump stage, at least one coolant inlet (upstream end of 38), at least one coolant outlet (downstream end of 38) and a separate power connection for connection to a variable speed drive (111.1-111.n); and wherein each pump stage includes an impeller (15A-15n) with a rotor (32), a stator (33A-33n) surrounding the rotor (32), and a housing between the impeller (15A-15n) and the stator (33A-33n), wherein each at least one pump module is powered and controlled by its own variable speed drive (111.1-111.n) (Figures 13 and 18-20, Figures 13, 18 and 19 annotated below; paragraphs [0098]-[0110]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Power Connection)]
Annotation of Bergamini Figure 13.
[AltContent: textbox (Stages)][AltContent: textbox (Stages)]
[AltContent: textbox (Casing)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Stages)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (First Pump Module)][AltContent: textbox (Third Pump Module)][AltContent: textbox (Casing)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Casing)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Pump Module)][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Outlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Outlet Side End Lid)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inlet Side End Lid)]
Annotation of Bergamini Figure 18.
[AltContent: textbox (Casing)][AltContent: textbox (Stages)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Housing)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Housing)]
Annotation of Bergamini Figure 19.
While Bergamini teaches a housing (can) on a radial inner surface of the stator, between the stator and the impeller/rotor, as shown in the above annotation of Fig. 19, Bergamini is silent as to the material of the housing (can). Yoshimi teaches a pump wherein:
a stator (12) comprises a ceramic housing (can 13) on a radial interior surface (Fig. 4; paragraph [0042], wherein the can 13 is located in the same place as the claimed housing).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Bergamini with the housing material taught by Yoshimi in order to use a material that has resistance to heat, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Referring to claim 3, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Bergamini further teaches a pump wherein:
the at least one coolant inlet (upstream end of 38), and the at least one coolant outlet (downstream end of 38) are in fluid communication with coolant channels (38A) surrounding each stator (33A-33n) (Figures 18-20, Figures 18 and 19 annotated above; paragraphs [0109] and [0110]).
Bergamini does not teach spiral shaped coolant channels. However, it would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to use spiral shaped coolant channels, as an obvious matter of design choice since applicant has not disclosed that different shaped coolant channels solve any stated problems or are for any particular purpose, and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with different shaped coolant channels.
Referring to claim 6, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Bergamini further teaches a modularized pump wherein:
each module includes two stages (Fig. 18, annotated above; paragraphs [0098], [0109] and [0110]).
Referring to claim 7, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Bergamini further teaches a modularized pump wherein:
the at least two pump modules each have a separate casing (Fig. 18, annotated above; paragraphs [0098], [0109] and [0110]).
Referring to claim 8, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Bergamini further teaches a modularized pump wherein:
each of the at least two pump modules are substantially the same (Fig. 18, annotated above; paragraphs [0098], [0109] and [0110]).
Referring to claim 9, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but Bergamini is silent as to the material of the housing (can). Yoshimi further teaches a pump wherein:
the ceramic housing (can 13) is non-magnetic (Fig. 4; paragraph [0042]).
The Examiner notes that ceramics are not magnetic unless modified to be so, and no such modification is disclosed in the cited art.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Publication 2017/0159665 to Bergamini in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2013/0287875 to Yoshimi, U. S. Patent Publication 2015/0354574 to Homstvedt and U. S. Patent Publication 2016/0312591 to Pyron.
Referring to claim 2, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, including the ceramic housing, but are silent as to pressure compensation. Homstvedt teaches a pump module comprising:
a pressure compensator (7) limiting a pressure difference over a housing (diaphragm) between a pumped media in an impeller side of the pump and a fluid inside the casing (Fig. 1; paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Bergamini with the pressure compensator taught by Homstvedt in order to prevent explosions or other damage caused by the buildup of a large pressure differential.
Homstvedt is silent as to what type of fluid is used in the casing. Pyron teaches a similar pump comprising:
a dielectric fluid (37) inside a casing (41) (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0014], [0017] and [0019]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Bergamini and Homstvedt with the dielectric fluid taught by Pyron in order to use a fluid that is also a lubricant and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Publication 2017/0159665 to Bergamini in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2013/0287875 to Yoshimi and U. S. Patent Publication 2019/0032667 to Ifrim.
Referring to claim 4, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but Bergamini is silent as to the seal between the modules, though one must exist for the pump to operate as disclosed. Yoshimi does not teach modules. Ifrim teaches a similar pump comprising:
a metal to metal face seal (the “metal-to-metal contact”) (paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Bergamini with the seal taught by Ifrim in order to provide a seal without using an extra part.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Publication 2017/0159665 to Bergamini in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2013/0287875 to Yoshimi and U. S. Patent Publication 2006/0056992 to Sadler.
Referring to claim 5, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, Bergamini is silent as to the seal between the modules, though one must exist for the pump to operate as disclosed. Yoshimi does not teach modules. Sadler teaches a similar pump comprising:
a polymeric face seal (40) between at least two modules (40, 48) (Figures 1 and 2; paragraphs [0060] - [0063]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Bergamini with the seal taught by Sadler in order to use provide a seal which is moldable and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Publication 2017/0159665 to Bergamini in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2013/0287875 to Yoshimi and U. S. Patent Publication 2023/0170756 to Finck.
Referring to claim 10, Bergamini and Yoshimi teach a modularized pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but Bergamini is silent as to the material of the housing (can). Yoshimi teaches a ceramic housing (can 13) (Fig. 4; paragraph [0042]), but is silent as to the whether or not the material is electrically conductive. Finck teaches a pump wherein:
a ceramic housing is non-electrically conducting (paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to make the pump taught by Bergamini with a non-electrically conducting ceramic material taught by Yoshimi (to use a non-electrically conductive ceramic for the ceramic material taught by Yoshimi) in order to use a material that reduces eddy current losses (paragraph [0010]), and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
The Examiner notes that ceramics are not electrically conductive unless modified to be so (no such modification is disclosed in the cited art), and as such very commonly used as an electrical insulator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Yoshimi is not analogous art. Remarks 1-4. It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). The Applicant argues that
Yoshimi cannot reasonably be interpreted as being directed to the same field of endeavor. As discussed above, Yoshimi shows and describes a fluid feeder for a heater in which hot water, high-temperature steam, or a high-temperature gas, etc., is used as a heating medium in a tire curing device. Thus, the field of Yoshimi is separate and distinct from that of Applicant's claimed technology, which provides a boosting system and associated pump to improve oil recovery in oil and gas operations. Remarks 2.
The Applicant goes on to argue that
Yoshimi shows and describes a fluid feeder for a heater in which hot water, high-temperature steam, or a high-temperature gas, etc., is used as a heating medium in a tire curing device. Thus, the field of Yoshimi is separate and distinct from that of Applicant's claimed technology, which provides a boosting system and associated pump to improve oil recovery in oil and gas operations. Remarks 2.
However, these fields of endeavor chosen by the Applicant are overly narrow. The Applicant’s field of endeavor comprises fluid pumps which is also the field of endeavor of Yoshimi.
The Applicant argues that “Yoshimi is not reasonably pertinent because it neither (1) addresses the same problem nor (2) serves the same purpose as the apparatus of Claim 1.” Remarks 2. The Applicant goes on to argue that
Applicant's technology was developed in part to solve the problem of rotodynamic and other related issues in order to accelerate and improve oil recovery in both new and mature wells by adding energy to multi-phase hydrocarbon well streams and by lowering wellhead pressure. On the other hand, the Yoshimi technology was developed to help shield a motor from a heating medium and any steam associated therewith to better enable pumping and exhaust of a fluid during a tire curing operation. See, e.g., Yoshimi Background. Thus, Yoshimi has a wholly different purpose than the claims of the instant application. Indeed, an inventor evaluating how to boost recovery operations in an oil well would not look to a device for more efficiently performing a tire curing operation for inspiration. Remarks 3.
However, the Applicant the problems addressed by and purposes of Yoshimi argued by the Applicant are overly narrow. The problems addressed by and purposes of Yoshimi identified by the Applicant are not the only the problems addressed by and purposes of Yoshimi and many of the problems addressed by and purposes of Yoshimi are also addressed in claim 1. For example, both Yoshimi and claim 1 address the problem of how to keep fluid in the rotor space from contacting the stator by use of a ceramic housing/can, as detailed above. Furthermore, both Yoshimi and claim 1 serve the purpose of pumping fluids.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746