DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6 are currently amended. Claims 1-6 are currently pending. Claims 1-6 are currently rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yamada et al (EP 3480839 A1; hereafter Yamada) and further in view of Aschenbrenner (DE 10215297 A1; hereafter Aschenbrenner).
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites the limitation “…made of a metal and configured to be tubular, and forms is configured to form…” on lines 4-5. This should read “…made of a metal,.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an injection substance” on both lines 6-7 and line 23 (second to last line). It is unclear whether the second instance of “an injection substance” is meant to introduce a new substance (in which case the naming conventions should be altered to distinguish the structures) or refer back to the same substance earlier introduced (in which case the article should be changed to “the”). For the purposes of examination, any of the situations described has been interpreted to meet the claim limitation.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the injector body includes a first housing…and a second housing provided with the housing part” in lines 2-3. Claim 1, from which claim 5 depends, recites the limitation “an injector body…comprising a first housing and a second housing” in lines 2-3. It is unclear whether the instance of these limitations (“first housing” and “second housing”) in the dependent claim are meant to introduce new structures (in which case the naming conventions should be altered to distinguish the structures) or refer back to the same structures earlier introduced (in which case the articles should be changed to “the”). For the purposes of examination, any of the situations described has been interpreted to meet the claim limitation.
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite at least for depending upon a claim rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for reasons described above, since dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of those claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnitz et al (EP 1570875 A1; hereafter Arnitz) in view of Yamada et al (EP 3480839 A1; hereafter Yamada) and further in view of Aschenbrenner (DE 10215297 A1; hereafter Aschenbrenner). Text references are made to the copy of Arnitz included with the previous Office Action, the copy of Yamada included with this Office Action, and the pdf translation of Aschenbrenner included with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Arnitz discloses a needleless injector ([0083] Figures 1 through 3 show a first embodiment of a jet injector/injection unit 1) comprising:
an injector body (polymer shell 18 and rear housing 20, fig. 1, [0088] The glass medication cylinder 7 is enclosed in a polymer shell 18 that screws with a thread 19 to the rear housing 20.) comprising a first housing (rear housing 20) and a second housing (polymer shell 18);
an igniter (igniter tube 3, fig. 1, [0083]) that is provided in the injector body (see fig. 1, igniter tube 3 lies partially in the injector body 20/18), and configured to discharge, into a combustion chamber (propellant chamber 4, fig. 1, [0087]) in the injector body (see fig. 1), ejection energy for ejecting an injection substance ([0091] Figure 3 shows the injection unit after ignition of the primer material 13 and ejection of the medication through the nozzle 8 when the power piston 10 and the medication piston 9 have reached their end points) through combustion of an ignition charge (propellant 14, fig. 1, [0087]) ([0087] striking the metal tube provides sparks to the propellant chamber 4 causing ignition of the propellant 14);
a housing part (glass medication cylinder, fig. 1, [0083]) including an accommodating space (see fig. 2 which shows the accommodating space within the cylinder 7 proximal to the piston 9) in which the injection substance is accommodated (note [0083] glass medication cylinder 7 contains the liquid medication), the housing part (7) defining a flow path (see fig. 1, the flow path is the narrowing interior of the cylinder 7 and the channel from the interior of cylinder 7 to the ejection port/jet nozzle 8) configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to allow the injection substance to be ejected to a target region through an ejection port (jet nozzle 8, fig. 1, [0083] liquid medication is ejected through jet nozzle 8), and the housing part (7) being provided to the injector body (20) ([0088] polymer shell 18 encloses cylinder 7 and screws with a thread 19 to the rear housing 20, see fig. 1); and
a piston (power piston 10, fig. 1, [0084]) that is configured to (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) be moved by the ejection energy in a predetermined path (power cylinder 5, fig. 1) ([0084] power piston 10 in the power cylinder 5 is actuated by a mechanically ignited pyrotechnic gas generator 11), communicating with the combustion chamber (propellant chamber 4) (see fig. 1, note that propellant chamber 4 is part of gas generator 11), in the injector body (20) to pressurize the injection substance accommodated in the accommodating space (interior of cylinder 7) [0084] movement of piston 10 causes expulsion of liquid medication through jet nozzle 8), wherein
the injector body (20/18) is provided with a reinforcing member (steel shell 2, fig. 1 and figs. 4 and 5, [0083]) therein, the reinforcing member (2) being made of a metal ([0083] shell 2 is a steel shell) and configured to be tubular ([0085] metal shell 2 has a diameter forming a wall), the reinforcing member (2) configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to extend in an axial direction of the injector body (20/18) (see figs. 1, 4, and 5 for axial extension which injector body 20) while being configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to surround at least the igniter (3) ([0083] steel shell 2 includes an igniter tube 3) and the combustion chamber (4) ([0083] steel shell 2 includes a propellant chamber 4),
wherein the needleless injector is configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to eject an injection substance (see 112b interpretation above) to a target region without using an injection needle ([0084] medication is expelled through jet nozzle 8, see fig. 1).
Arnitz is silent to the injector body being made of a resin, the reinforcing member embedded in the injector body, and the reinforcing member being disposed to be sandwiched between the first housing and the second housing of the injector body in a radial direction of the injector body.
Yamada, in the art of housing for igniters used to drive movement, teaches an injector body (housing 10, fig. 1, [0042]) made of a resin ([0042] housing (resin housing) 10 made of a synthetic resin), a reinforcing member (reinforcing frame 70, fig. 1, [0065]) embedded in the injector body ([0068] The reinforcing frame 70 may be embedded in the resin housing 10 as a whole), the reinforcing member (70) being disposed to be sandwiched between the first housing (portion of injector body 10 radially inside of the reinforcing member/frame 70; see Yamada Modified Fig-1 below) and the second housing (portion of injector body 10 radially outside of the reinforcing member/frame 70; see Yamada Modified Fig-1 below) of the injector body (10) in a radial direction of the injector body (see Yamada Modified Fig-1 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the injector body of Arnitz with the resin housing of Yamada since both structures are meant to withstand and direct force from an ignition reaction. One would have been motivated to modify the injector body to be resin since both references deal with electronic components of igniters and, as noted by Yamada [0062], resin has an electric insulation property, so the resin would serve to prevent electronic components from interacting improperly through the housing/injector body. One would have been further motivated to include the reinforcing frame because, as noted by Yamada [0075], when including the metal reinforcing frame 70, the thickness of the housing 10 can be reduced and the entire device can be downsized. This modification would thus facilitate better stability and portability of the device. Note that the first housing (rear housing 20) and second housing (polymer shell 18) of Arnitz overlap as shown in fig. 1. The reinforcement member (2) of Arnitz would be embedded throughout the length of the rear housing 20 and overlapping within the polymer shell/second housing 18 such that the interface of the first and second housings would also be beneficially reinforced.
Alternatively, Arnitz modified by Yamada is silent to the reinforcing member being disposed to be sandwiched between the first housing and the second housing of the injector body in a radial direction of the injector body.
Aschenbrenner, in the art of injection devices with gas generators, teaches a reinforcing member (sliding sleeve 47, fig. 1, [0036]) being disposed to be sandwiched between the first housing (housing part 4a, fig. 1, [0033]) and the second housing (housing part 4b, fig. 1, [0033]) of the injector body (housing 4, fig. 1, [0033]) in a radial direction of the injector body (see fig. 1 which shows reinforcing member/sliding sleeve 47 radially disposed between housing parts 4a and 4b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Arnitz modified by Yamada with the teachings of Aschenbrenner since Aschenbrenner also deals with propulsion initiated by igniting propellant. One would have been motivated to make the modification because having the reinforcing member disposed to be sandwiched between the first housing and the second housing of the injector body provides support along what may otherwise be a weak point where the housing portions are thinner where they connect with one another.
Regarding claim 2, Arnitz as modified by Yamada and Aschenbrenner discloses the needleless injector according to claim 1, as described above. Arnitz further discloses wherein the reinforcing member (2, fig. 1) is configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to extend in the axial direction of the injector body (20, fig. 1), and is configured to surround at least a part of the predetermined path (power cylinder 5, fig. 1, [0083] steel shell 2/reinforcing member 2 includes power cylinder bore 5), in addition to being configured to surround the igniter (3, fig. 1) and the combustion chamber (4, fig. 1) (fig. 1 shows that the reinforcing member 2 extends in the axial direction and additionally surrounds at least part of the power cylinder 5 in which the piston 10 slides as noted in [0084]).
Regarding claim 5, Arnitz as modified by Yamada and Aschenbrenner discloses the needleless injector according to claim 1, as described above, including wherein the injector body (Arnitz: 20/18, fig. 1) includes a first housing (see 112b interpretation above) (Arnitz: 20, fig. 1) provided with the igniter (Arnitz: 3, fig. 1) and a second housing (see 112b interpretation above) (Arnitz: 18, fig. 1) provided with the housing part (Arnitz: 7, fig. 1), and
the reinforcing member (Arnitz: 2, fig. 1) is either disposed on a surface of the first housing (Arnitz: 20) (Arnitz: see fig. 1 and figs. 4 and 5 which shows that the reinforcing member 2 is disposed on a surface of the first housing 20) or (Examiner notes that this limitation is in the alternative, and the prior art need only satisfy one alternative.) disposed on a surface of the second housing, such that when the first housing (see Yamada Modified Fig-1 above, and/or Aschenbrenner housing portion 4a in fig. 1) and the second housing (see Yamada Modified Fig-1 above, and/or Aschenbrenner housing portion 4b in fig. 1) are attached to each other to achieve a state where the reinforcing member (Yamada: 70, fig. 1 and/or Aschenbrenner: 47, fig. 1) is sandwiched between the first housing and the second housing (see Yamada Modified Fig-1 and fig. 1 of Aschenbrenner).
Regarding claim 6, Arnitz as modified by Yamada and Aschenbrenner discloses the needleless injector according to claim 1, as described above.
Arnitz is silent to an additional reinforcing member.
Yamada further discloses an additional reinforcing member (cylinder 30, fig. 1, [0047] The cylinder 30 shown in Figure 1 is provided to reinforce the housing 10) made of a metal ([0047] cylinder 30…is elected from those made of metal such as stainless steel and aluminum) and configured to be tubular (note cylinder 30 is a cylinder), and forms is configured to form (see 112b interpretation above) a surface on which the piston (projectile 40, fig. 1, [0003] A known electric circuit breaker device contains, in a housing, an igniter, a projectile (piston); see [0074] and [0080]) slides ([0074] The projectile 40 is attached by being press-fitted into the cylinder 30; [0080] Upon receipt of the pressure of the combustion products, the projectile 40 moves in the axial direction), on a surface of a part of the injector body (see fig. 1 which shows injector body/housing 10 surrounding piston/projectile 40) forming the predetermined path (axial direction noted in [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Arnitz modified by Yamada and Aschenbrenner as applied to claim 1 to have the additional reinforcing member/cylinder 30 of Yamada since, as previously noted, all references include structures meant to withstand and direct force from an ignition reaction. One would have been, as previously noted, motivated to include the additional reinforcing member because, as noted by Yamada [0075], when including the metal cylinder 30, the thickness of the housing 10 can be reduced and the entire device can be downsized. This modification would thus further facilitate better stability and portability of the device.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnitz modified by Yamada and alternatively further modified by Aschenbrenner, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Haitsuka (US 20160129190 A1; hereafter Haitsuka) and Haar (US 6258063 B1; hereafter Haar).
Regarding claim 3, Arnitz as modified by Yamada and alternatively also Aschenbrenner discloses the needleless injector according to claim 2.
Arnitz it silent to the thickness of the injector body varying as claimed.
Haitsuka, in the art of medical injectors using igniters ([0043] initiator 20 is an electric igniter), teaches wherein: a wall thickness of a part of the injector body (housing 2, fig. 5, [0042]) forming the combustion chamber (combustion chamber 6, fig. 5, [0044]) is smaller than a wall thickness of a part of the injector body (2, fig. 5) forming the predetermined path (through-hole 7, fig. 5, [0047]) (see annotated fig. 5 above, the wall thickness of the injector body 2 is thinner surrounding the combustion chamber 6, as noted by the solid double-sided arrow, and is thicker surrounding the predetermined path 7 as shown by the dotted double-sided arrow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the injector body of Arnitz as modified to include the thinner portion surrounding the combustion chamber and the thicker portion surrounding the predetermined path since both references deal with needleless drug injection powered by ignition and the injector body of Arnitz as modified is similar to Haitsuka in that both are formed of resin (Haitsuka: [0042] the housing 2 is manufactured by injection molding of resin). One would have been motivated to make the modification because having a smaller piston face pushed on by the same pressure would allow a higher concentration of force per area and facilitate faster movement of the piston and thus faster injection speeds, better ensuring clean penetration of the fluid into the patient.
Arnitz as modified is silent to the thickness of the reinforcing member varying as claimed.
Haar, in the art of hypodermic injection systems using pressure to penetrate the skin (Abstract), teaches wherein a wall thickness of a first portion (overlapping portion of inner shell 54 and outer shell 55, see annotated fig. 10 portion A-B, see col. 17 ln. 1-26) of the reinforcing member (inner shell 54 and outer shell 55, fig. 10, col. 17 ln. 1-26) configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to surround the igniter (explosive 93, fig. 10, col. 17 ln. 1-26) and the combustion chamber (explosion chamber 92, fig. 10, col. 17 ln. 1-26) is larger than a wall thickness of a second portion (portion of outer shell 55 which is not overlapped by inner shell 54, see annotated fig. 10 portion B-C) of the reinforcing member (54/55) configured to surround a predetermined path (see fig. 10, distal end of reinforcing member portion/outer shell 55 which surrounds the medication unit 51 is not overlapped by the inner shell 54 making the side of the reinforcing member 54/55 farthest from the combustion chamber less thick than the rest of the reinforcing member).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Arnitz as modified to have a thicker reinforcing member composed of two layers surrounding the igniter and combustion chamber and a thinner portion along the rest of the length as taught by Haar since Haar also deals with combustion powered fluid injection. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the additional layer of reinforcing member around the igniter and combustion chamber would help to withstand the pressure generated by the combustion, since as noted in Haar col. 14 ln. 28-31, the inner shell 54 which is made from a material that can withstand pressures generated within the explosion chamber.
Regarding claim 4, Arnitz as modified and applied to claim 3 above discloses the needleless injector according to claim 3, including wherein the reinforcing member (steel shell 2 shown in fig. 1 of Arnitz) comprising a plurality of stacked tubular sub members (inner shell 54 and outer shell 55 as taught by Haar fig. 10 and used to modify the steel shell 2 of Arnitz as described in the 103 rejection of claim 3 above) made of metal (see Arnitz [0083] shell 2 is a steel shell; note Haar col. 14 ln. 31-39 which says that the inner shell 54 and outer shell 55 may be formed of metal such as steel) and having different diameters (see nested shells 54/55 in fig. 10 of Arnitz), and a number of the plurality of stacked sub members corresponding to the first portion (section A-B of reinforcing member 54/55 includes both inner shell 54 and outer shell 55, as shown in annotated fig. 10 of Haar above) is larger than a number of the stacked sub members corresponding to the second portion (B-C of reinforcing member 54/55 includes only outer shell 55, as shown in annotated fig. 10 of Haar above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.S.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 01/08/2026