DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 12, 15-19, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Komiyama et al. (US 2019/0181652), herein after Komiyama.
Regarding claim 1, Komiyama discloses a method of charging a battery comprising (paragraph [0020]):
determining, based on a first output from a charging source and a second output from a pressure sensor mechanically coupled to a battery, a differential pressure with respect to charge (in ECU 70 for comparing a pressure differential ΔP measured during the charging process by pressure value detector 30 (e.g. via repeated sampling by pressure value detector 30 of pressure sensors 15), paragraph [0059]the internal cavity 5 of the battery has the pressure sensor mechanically coupled to the battery and during charging of the battery the one output is a charging source (battery) output and the other output is from the sensor 15, fig. 1);
determining a maximum value of differential pressure with respect to charge (battery ECU 70 may include a calculation unit 65 for determining a threshold pressure differential ΔP.sub.T which may be calculated based on an open circuit voltage V.sub.ocv of battery 5 as measured by voltage detector 35, paragraph [0057]); and
charging at or below the maximum value of differential pressure with respect to charge until the battery has a target state of charge (paragraph [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 2, Komiyama further discloses wherein the battery comprises an metal ion selected from group consisting of lithium, sodium, potassium, aluminum, vanadium, iron, cerium, nickel, cadmium, magnesium, zinc, and combinations thereof (paragraph [0039] where the battery is lithium ion battery where the metal ion is Lithium).
Regarding claim 3, Komiyama further discloses wherein the battery is a lithium ion battery (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, Komiyama further discloses wherein the battery has a substantially fixed volume and the pressure sensor is disposed internally in the battery (cavity 5 has the fixed volume and the sensors 15 are disposed internally in the battery, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Komiyama further discloses the method further comprising sending a signal to the charging source to reduce the rate of charging if a value of the differential pressure with respect to charge exceeds the maximum value (Where the current pressure differential ΔP is determined to be greater than or equal to the threshold pressure differential ΔP.sub.T (step 330: yes), battery controller 20 may stop the charging process (i.e. stop flow of current to the battery 5), paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 8, Komiyama discloses a system for onboard battery management in an electric vehicle (paragraph [0058]) comprising:
at least one onboard processor (battery ECU 70, fig. 1; paragraph [0058]); and
at least one memory including instructions which when executed causes the at least one onboard processor (paragraph [0060], [0062]) to a least:
determine, based on a first output from a charging source and a second output from a pressure sensor mechanically coupled to a rechargeable car battery, a differential pressure with respect to charge(in ECU 70 for comparing a pressure differential ΔP measured during the charging process by pressure value detector 30 (e.g. via repeated sampling by pressure value detector 30 of pressure sensors 15), paragraph [0059]the internal cavity 5 of the battery has the pressure sensor mechanically coupled to the battery and during charging of the battery the one output is a charging source (battery) output and the other output is from the sensor 15, fig. 1);
wherein the at least one onboard processor carries out instructions to determine a differential pressure with respect to charge based on output form the pressure sensor and the charging source during charging (paragraph [0057]-[0059]); and
wherein values of the differential pressure with respect to charge are stored in the at least one memory (paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 9, Komiyama further discloses wherein the rechargeable car battery is a lithium ion battery (paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 12, Komiyama further discloses wherein the battery has a fixed volume and the pressure sensor is disposed internally in the battery (cavity 5 has the fixed volume and the sensors 15 are disposed internally in the battery, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Komiyama discloses a system for battery charging (fig. 1) comprising:
at least one processor (ECU 70, fig. 1); and
at least one memory including instructions which when executed causes the at least one processor (paragraph [0060]) to a least:
determine, based on a first output from a charging source and a second output from a pressure sensor, a differential pressure with respect to charge (in ECU 70 for comparing a pressure differential ΔP measured during the charging process by pressure value detector 30 (e.g. via repeated sampling by pressure value detector 30 of pressure sensors 15), paragraph [0059]the internal cavity 5 of the battery has the pressure sensor mechanically coupled to the battery and during charging of the battery the one output is a charging source (battery) output and the other output is from the sensor 15, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Komiyama further discloses wherein one or more values of differential pressure with respect to charge are stored in the at least one memory (paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 17, Komiyama further discloses the system further comprising a battery (10, fig. 1), wherein the pressure sensor is mechanically coupled with a portion of the battery (the pressure sensor 15 connected to 10, fig. 1), and the at least one processor is electronically coupled with the pressure sensor and the charging source (Values from sensor bank 27 (including the pressure sensor) may be provided to battery ECU 70, with battery ECU 70 providing command signals battery controller 20 (e.g. charging control commands), paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 18, Komiyama further discloses wherein the battery comprises a metal or metal ion selected from group consisting of lithium, sodium, potassium, aluminum, vanadium, iron, cerium, nickel, cadmium, magnesium, zinc, and combinations thereof (paragraph [0039] where the battery is lithium ion battery where the metal ion is Lithium).
Regarding claim 19, Komiyama further discloses wherein the battery is a lithium ion battery (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 23, Komiyama further discloses wherein the battery has a substantially fixed volume and the pressure sensor is disposed internally in the battery (cavity 5 has the fixed volume and the sensors 15 are disposed internally in the battery, fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 10-11, 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komiyama (US 2019/0181652) as applied to claims 1, 8, 16 above, and further in view of Poirier et al. (US 2017/0324122), herein after Poirier.
Regarding claim 4, Komiyama discloses the method of the claim1. Komiyama discloses a rechargeable Li-ion battery. However, Komiyama does not explicitly disclose the battery is a pouch cell that is expandable.
Poirier discloses the battery is a pouch cell that is expandable (paragraph [0024], [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Komiyama’s method to have the expandable pouch cell as taught by Poirier, in order to have the flexible casing to swell and vent, which can be a safer mechanism for pressure release.
Regarding claim 5, Komiyama discloses the method of the claim 1. Komiyama further discloses that the pressure sensors 15 are disposed between the battery cells and the battery is disposed within the constrained volume (cavity 5, fig. 1a).
However, Komiyama is silent about the battery cells are pouch cell with the pressure sensor disposed on the surface and disposed within the constrained volume.
surface of the pouch cell (the pressure can be measured though the strain gauge 36 with the help of the second surface 46 which is on the surface of the pouch cells, figs. 3, 5,6). The pressure sensor and the pouch cell are disposed within a constrained volume (the pouch battery cells are within the battery module 30, fig. 2 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Komiyama’s method to have the expandable pouch cell as taught by Poirier, in order to have the flexible casing to swell and vent, which can be a safer mechanism for pressure release.
Regarding claim 10, Komiyama discloses the system of the claim 8. Komiyama discloses a rechargeable Li-ion battery. However, Komiyama does not explicitly disclose the battery is a pouch cell that is expandable.
Poirier discloses the battery is a pouch cell that is expandable (paragraph [0024], [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Komiyama’s system to have the expandable pouch cell as taught by Poirier, in order to have the flexible casing to swell and vent, which can be a safer mechanism for pressure release.
Regarding claim 11, Komiyama discloses the system of the claim 10. Komiyama further discloses that the pressure sensors 15 are disposed between the battery cells and the battery is disposed within the constrained volume (cavity 5, fig. 1a).
However, Komiyama is silent about the battery cells are pouch cell with the pressure sensor disposed on the surface and disposed within the constrained volume.
Poirier discloses the battery is a pouch cell (paragraph [0024]) and the pressure sensor is disposed externally on a surface of the pouch cell (the pressure can be measured though the strain gauge 36 with the help of the second surface 46 which is on the surface of the pouch cells, figs. 3, 5,6). The pressure sensor and the pouch cell are disposed within a constrained volume (the pouch battery cells are within the battery module 30, fig. 2 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Komiyama’s system to have the expandable pouch cell as taught by Poirier, in order to have the flexible casing to swell and vent, which can be a safer mechanism for pressure release.
Regarding claim 20, Komiyama discloses the system of the claim 16. Komiyama discloses a rechargeable Li-ion battery. However, Komiyama does not explicitly disclose the battery is a pouch cell that is expandable.
Poirier discloses the battery is a pouch cell that is expandable (paragraph [0024], [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Komiyama’s system to have the expandable pouch cell as taught by Poirier, in order to have the flexible casing to swell and vent, which can be a safer mechanism for pressure release.
Regarding claim 21, Komiyama discloses the system of the claim 20. Komiyama further discloses that the pressure sensors 15 are disposed between the battery cells and the battery is disposed within the constrained volume (cavity 5, fig. 1a).
However, Komiyama is silent about the battery cells are pouch cell with the pressure sensor disposed on the surface and disposed within the constrained volume.
Poirier discloses the battery is a pouch cell (paragraph [0024]) and the pressure sensor is disposed externally on a surface of the pouch cell (the pressure can be measured though the strain gauge 36 with the help of the second surface 46 which is on the surface of the pouch cells, figs. 3, 5,6). The pressure sensor and the pouch cell are disposed within a constrained volume (the pouch battery cells are within the battery module 30, fig. 2 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Komiyama’s system to have the expandable pouch cell as taught by Poirier, in order to have the flexible casing to swell and vent, which can be a safer mechanism for pressure release.
Regarding claim 22, Komiyama in view of Poirier discloses the system of the claim 21. However, Komiyama does not explicitly disclose a metal plate is disposed between the pouch cell and the pressure sensor.
Poirier discloses the a metal plate is disposed between the pouch cell and the pressure sensor (pouch cells 10 is connected together and the end point of the cells current collector 20 is made of the metal, paragraph [0020] figs. 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Komiyama’s system to have the expandable pouch cell as taught by Poirier, in order to have the flexible casing to swell and vent, which can be a safer mechanism for pressure release.
Claim(s) 13-14, 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komiyama (US 2019/0181652) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of He et al. (US 2017/0203667).
Regarding claim 13, Komiyama discloses the system of the claim 10. Komiyama further discloses that the wherein the instructions further cause to be carried out a measurement of a maximum value for the differential pressure with respect to charge (battery ECU 70 may include a calculation unit 65 for determining a threshold pressure differential ΔP.sub.T which may be calculated based on an open circuit voltage V.sub.ocv of battery 5 as measured by voltage detector 35), paragraph [0057].
However, Komiyama is silent about the maximum value with respect to charge is indicative of metal ion plating.
He discloses that the controller is programmed to control the charging of the battery cells based on the maximum value with respect to charge, which is indicative of metal ion plating (paragraph [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Komiyama’s system controller to have the instruction of detection of the lithium ion plating with respect to battery charge as taught by He, in order to improve the battery safety, extend battery life, and enable faster charging.
Regarding claim 14, Komiyama in view of He discloses the system of claim 13. Komiyama further discloses wherein the instructions further cause to be sent a signal to the charging source to reduce the rate of charging if a value of the differential pressure with respect to charge exceeds the maximum value (Where the current pressure differential ΔP is determined to be greater than or equal to the threshold pressure differential ΔP.sub.T (step 330: yes), battery controller 20 may stop the charging process (i.e. stop flow of current to the battery 5), paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 24, Komiyama discloses the system of the claim 15. Komiyama further discloses that the wherein the instructions further cause to be carried out a measurement of a maximum value for the differential pressure with respect to charge (battery ECU 70 may include a calculation unit 65 for determining a threshold pressure differential ΔP.sub.T which may be calculated based on an open circuit voltage V.sub.ocv of battery 5 as measured by voltage detector 35), paragraph [0057].
However, Komiyama is silent about the maximum value with respect to charge is indicative of metal ion plating.
He discloses that the controller is programmed to control the charging of the battery cells based on the maximum value with respect to charge, which is indicative of metal ion plating (paragraph [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Komiyama’s system controller to have the instruction of detection of the lithium ion plating with respect to battery charge as taught by He, in order to improve the battery safety, extend battery life, and enable faster charging.
Regarding claim 25, Komiyama in view of He discloses the system of claim 24. Komiyama further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further caused to at least reduce the rate of charging if a value of a measured differential pressure with respect to charge exceeds the maximum value (Where the current pressure differential ΔP is determined to be greater than or equal to the threshold pressure differential ΔP.sub.T (step 330: yes), battery controller 20 may stop the charging process (i.e. stop flow of current to the battery 5), paragraph [0081]).
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859