DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 5-7 and 21-24 is/are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 because of the following informalities:
Each of these claims recites the abbreviation "IFNCO", but what the abbreviation stands for has not been established in the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)/6th ¶
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 15-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)/2nd ¶ as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regard as the invention.
In claim 15, line 16 recites "a commutator". However, "a commutator" was previously recited in line 13. Thus, it is unclear if the same or a different commutator is being referenced.
Claims 16-17 and 22-23 are dependent upon the claim 15.
In claim 18, line 19 recites "a commutator". However, "a commutator" was previously recited in line 14. Thus, it is unclear if the same or a different commutator is being referenced.
Claims 19-20 and 23-24 are dependent upon the claim 18.
Claim 18, line 24 recites the limitation "the GNSS receiver". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 19-20 and 23-24 are dependent upon the claim 18.
“We note that the patent drafter is in the best position to resolve the ambiguity in the patent claims, and it is highly desirable that patent examiners demand that applicants do so in appropriate circumstances so that the patent can be amended during prosecution rather than attempting to resolve the ambiguity in litigation.”, Halliburton Energy Services Inc. v. M-I LLC., 85 USPQ2d 1654 at 1663.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veitsel (US 7,764,226 B1) in view of Bacherov (US 2021/0373177 A1), Oesch '433 (US 7,092,433 B2), and Rubtsov (US 2019/0219708 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Veitsel discloses a navigation receiver (Fig. 1) comprising:
an RF-path (Fig. 1) configured to receive Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signals from an antenna (100, Fig. 1) and transmit the GNSS signals at an intermediate frequency (130 to 140, Fig. 1; col. 8, lines 3-5);
an analog to digital convertor (ADC) configured to receive the GNSS signals from the RF-path at the intermediate frequency and sample the GNSS signals at frequency CLKnav (140, Fig. 1) [where the sampling frequency of the ADC can be denoted as CLKnav];
a time scale generator (145, Fig. 1) configured to generate a tick signal (FS, Fig. 1);
a channel configured to receive the GNSS signals from the ADC (200, Fig. 1; Fig. 2; col. 4, lines 24-25), the channel comprising:
an intermediate frequency numerically controlled oscillator (NCO) configured to generate a pulse at the intermediate frequency and at an intermediate frequency phase (240 outputting cos and sin outputs, Fig. 2) [where this is consistent with applicant's disclosure in ¶41 and Fig. 3];
a code rate NCO (CRNCO) configured to generate a code rate NCO signal having a code rate NCO phase and a code rate NCO frequency (600 to 400 and 500, Fig. 2) [where this is consistent with applicant's disclosure in ¶26 and Fig. 3];
a code generator configured to generate a code signal based on the code rate NCO frequency (400, Fig. 2);
a strobe generator configured to generate a strobe signal based on the shape of the code signal and the code rate NCO phase (500, Fig. 2);
a correlator (211, 212, 221, 222, 223, 224, Fig. 2) configured to multiply a signal output from ADC (input U, Fig. 2), from the code generator (input from 240, Fig. 2), and the intermediate frequency phase from the intermediate frequency NCO to generate a first product (input from 600 through 500, Fig. 2), and configured to store the first product during the integration period (accumulators 231, 233, Fig. 2; col. 9, lines 49-51), and configured to multiply the signal output from the ADC (input U, Fig. 2), from the strobe signal (500, Fig. 2), and the intermediate frequency phase from the intermediate frequency NCO to generate a second product (input from 600 through 500, Fig. 2), and configured to store the second product during the integration period (accumulators 232, 234, Fig. 2); and a CPU controlling the navigation receiver and reading data from the correlator (190, Fig. 1; output of correlator to CPU, right of Fig. 2).
Veitsel fails to disclose the time scale generator configured to generate a relax tick signal; the channel comprising: an integration period counter configured to generate an integration period signal based on the code rate NCO frequency; and a commutator configured to receive the GNSS signal from the ADC and provide the GNSS signal to the correlator.
Veitsel further discloses that the invention can be modified for multi-system and multi-band operation (col. 8, lines 5-8),
Bacherov teaches a commutator configured to receive the GNSS signal from the ADC [along with other signals from other GNSS systems and GNSS frequency bands] and provide the GNSS signal to the correlator (404-1, Fig. 4; ¶50-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, based on the suggestion of Veitsel, to look to the art for more details on implementing multi-system and multi-band operation, such as those taught by Bacherov.
Veitsel further discloses the CPU reads the information from the accumulators at determined time moments (col. 9, lines 14-16), but fails to disclose how those time moments are determined.
Oesch '433 teaches [determining when a CPU reads information from the accumulators, including] an integration period counter configured to generate an integration period signal based on the code rate NCO frequency (integration period counters 28-31 determining when to forward information to the CPU through element 50, Fig. 3; col. 8, line 36-57; col. 9, lines 37-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to look to the art for more details on determining the time moments at which the CPU reads the information from the accumulators, such as those taught by Oesch '433.
Rubtsov teaches a time scale generator configured to generate a tick signal and a relax tick signal (¶371) [in order to save power (¶371; ¶384-387); where a time signal from the clock that occurs at the expected time is a tick signal, and where a time signal from the clock that occurs after a period in which the time signal was stopped (i.e. after a longer time) is a relax tick signal. This is consistent with the usage of the term "relax tick signal" by applicant: "The relax tick is a tick that is generated to occur after a tick that would normally occur based on a clock pulse." (¶20)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to save power in the receiver.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that less power is used in the receiver.
In regard to claim 15, Veitsel discloses a method for operating a navigation receiver (Fig. 1) comprising:
receiving GNSS signals (100, Fig. 1);
sampling the GNSS signals at a frequency CLKnav (140, Fig. 1) [where the sampling frequency of the ADC can be denoted as CLKnav];
generating a tick signal (FS from 145, Fig. 1);
generating a pulse at an intermediate frequency and at an intermediate frequency phase (240 outputting cos and sin outputs, Fig. 2) [where this is consistent with applicant's disclosure in ¶41 and Fig. 3];
generating a code rate NCO signal having a code rate NCO phase and a code rate NCO frequency (600 to 400 and 500, Fig. 2) [where this is consistent with applicant's disclosure in ¶26 and Fig. 3];
generating a code signal based on the code rate NCO frequency (400, Fig. 2);
generating a strobe signal based on the shape of the code signal and the code rate NCO phase (500, Fig. 2);
[a correlator (211, 212, 221, 222, 223, 224, Fig. 2);]
multiplying a signal output from an ADC receiving the sampled GNSS signal (input U, Fig. 2), the code signal (input from 240, Fig. 2), and the intermediate frequency phase to generate a first product (input from 600 through 500, Fig. 2) stored during the integration period (accumulators 231, 233, Fig. 2; col. 9, lines 49-51);
multiplying the signal output from the ADC receiving the sampled GNSS signal (input U, Fig. 2), the strobe signal (500, Fig. 2), and the intermediate frequency phase to generate a second product stored during the integration period (input from 600 through 500, Fig. 2; accumulators 232, 234, Fig. 2); and
controlling the navigation receiver based on the tick signal, the first product, and the second product (190, Fig. 1; output of correlator to CPU, right of Fig. 2).
Veitsel fails to disclose generating a relax tick signal; generating an integration period signal based on the code rate NCO frequency; and a commutator configured to receive the GNSS signal from the ADC and provide the GNSS signal to a correlator.
Veitsel further discloses that the invention can be modified for multi-system and multi-band operation (col. 8, lines 5-8),
Bacherov teaches a commutator configured to receive the GNSS signal from the ADC [along with other signals from other GNSS systems and GNSS frequency bands] and provide the GNSS signal to the correlator (404-1, Fig. 4; ¶50-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, based on the suggestion of Veitsel, to look to the art for more details on implementing multi-system and multi-band operation, such as those taught by Bacherov.
Veitsel further discloses the CPU reads the information from the accumulators at determined time moments (col. 9, lines 14-16), but fails to disclose how those time moments are determined.
Oesch '433 teaches [determining when a CPU reads information from the accumulators, including] an integration period counter configured to generate an integration period signal based on the code rate NCO frequency (integration period counters 28-31 determining when to forward information to the CPU through element 50, Fig. 3; col. 8, line 36-57; col. 9, lines 37-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to look to the art for more details on determining the time moments at which the CPU reads the information from the accumulators, such as those taught by Oesch '433.
Rubtsov teaches a time scale generator configured to generate a tick signal and a relax tick signal (¶371) [in order to save power (¶371; ¶384-387); where a time signal from the clock that occurs at the expected time is a tick signal, and where a time signal from the clock that occurs after a period in which the time signal was stopped (i.e. after a longer time) is a relax tick signal. This is consistent with the usage of the term "relax tick signal" by applicant: "The relax tick is a tick that is generated to occur after a tick that would normally occur based on a clock pulse." (¶20)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to save power in the receiver.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that less power is used in the receiver.
In regard to claim 18, Veitsel discloses a navigation receiver (Fig. 1) comprising:
means for receiving GNSS signals (100, Fig. 1);
means for sampling the GNSS signals at a frequency CLKnav (140, Fig. 1) [where the sampling frequency of the ADC can be denoted as CLKnav];
means for generating a tick signal (time scale generator 145 configured to generate tick signal FS, Fig. 1);
means for generating a pulse at an intermediate frequency and at an intermediate frequency phase (240 outputting cos and sin outputs, Fig. 2) [where this is consistent with applicant's disclosure in ¶41 and Fig. 3];
means for generating a code rate NCO signal having a code rate NCO phase and a code rate NCO frequency (600 to 400 and 500, Fig. 2) [where this is consistent with applicant's disclosure in ¶26 and Fig. 3];
means for generating a code signal based on the code rate NCO frequency (400, Fig. 2);
means for generating a strobe signal based on the shape of the code signal and the code rate NCO phase (500, Fig. 2);
means for multiplying (correlator 211, 212, 221, 222, 223, 224, Fig. 2) a signal output from an ADC receiving the sampled GNSS signal (input U, Fig. 2), the code signal (input from 240, Fig. 2), and the intermediate frequency phase to generate a first product (input from 600 through 500, Fig. 2);
means for storing the first product during the period identified by the integration period signal (accumulators 231, 233, Fig. 2; col. 9, lines 49-51);
means for multiplying (correlator 211, 212, 221, 222, 223, 224, Fig. 2) the signal output from the ADC receiving the sampled GNSS signal (input U, Fig. 2), the strobe signal, and the intermediate frequency phase to generate a second product (500, Fig. 2);
means for storing the second product during period identified by the integration period signal (accumulators 232, 234, Fig. 2); and
means for controlling the GNSS receiver based on the tick signal, relaxed tick signal, the first product, and the second product (190, Fig. 1; output of correlator to CPU, right of Fig. 2).
Veitsel fails to disclose the time scale generator configured to generate a relax tick signal; means for generating an integration period signal based on the code rate NCO frequency; and a commutator configured to receive the GNSS signal from the ADC and provide the GNSS signal to a correlator.
Veitsel further discloses that the invention can be modified for multi-system and multi-band operation (col. 8, lines 5-8),
Bacherov teaches a commutator configured to receive the GNSS signal from the ADC [along with other signals from other GNSS systems and GNSS frequency bands] and provide the GNSS signal to the correlator (404-1, Fig. 4; ¶50-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, based on the suggestion of Veitsel, to look to the art for more details on implementing multi-system and multi-band operation, such as those taught by Bacherov.
Veitsel further discloses the CPU reads the information from the accumulators at determined time moments (col. 9, lines 14-16), but fails to disclose how those time moments are determined.
Oesch '433 teaches [determining when a CPU reads information from the accumulators, including] an integration period counter configured to generate an integration period signal based on the code rate NCO frequency (integration period counters 28-31 determining when to forward information to the CPU through element 50, Fig. 3; col. 8, line 36-57; col. 9, lines 37-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to look to the art for more details on determining the time moments at which the CPU reads the information from the accumulators, such as those taught by Oesch '433.
Rubtsov teaches a time scale generator configured to generate a tick signal and a relax tick signal (¶371) [in order to save power (¶371; ¶384-387); where a time signal from the clock that occurs at the expected time is a tick signal, and where a time signal from the clock that occurs after a period in which the time signal was stopped (i.e. after a longer time) is a relax tick signal. This is consistent with the usage of the term "relax tick signal" by applicant: "The relax tick is a tick that is generated to occur after a tick that would normally occur based on a clock pulse." (¶20)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to save power in the receiver.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that less power is used in the receiver.
In regard to claim 8, Veitsel further discloses the CPU is configured to copy a code frequency signal into a buffer register of the code rate NCO based on an update signal (col. 10, lines 31-33) [where when the CPU sends a command at a subsequent time to the initial position determination, that is an update signal; where it is common for a navigation to repeatedly determine its position, e.g., when it is being used by a user driving].
In regard to claim 9, the Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to copy an intermediate frequency control signal into an interface register of a buffer register in the intermediate frequency NCO. This would occur at each positioning, including subsequent positionings, and thus be based on an update signal
In regard to claim 10, Veitsel further discloses the code rate NCO is further configured to phase shift a code rate NCO code phase based on an update signal (600 to 400 and 500, Fig. 2) [where when the CPU sends a positioning command at a subsequent time to the initial position determination, that is an update signal; where it is common for a navigation to repeatedly determine its position, e.g., when it is being used by a user driving].
In regard to claim 11, Veitsel further discloses the intermediate frequency NCO is further configured to phase shift an intermediate frequency in the intermediate frequency NCO) based on an update signal (240 outputting cos and sin outputs, Fig. 2) [where when the CPU sends a positioning command at a subsequent time to the initial position determination, that is an update signal; where it is common for a navigation to repeatedly determine its position, e.g., when it is being used by a user driving].
In regard to claim 12, Veitsel further discloses the CPU is configured to store a value of a primary buffer in the correlator (231-234, Fig. 2). Oesch '433 further teaches the value is output from a primary buffer in the correlator over an integration period (integration period counters 28-31 determining when to forward information to the CPU through element 50, Fig. 3; col. 8, line 36-57; col. 9, lines 37-44).
In regard to claim 13, Veitsel further discloses the CPU is configured to copy data from a primary buffer based on the tick signal (231-234, Fig. 2) and storing the data from the primary buffer in a secondary buffer (output of 231-234 to CPU in Fig. 2) [where it is inherent for a CPU to include an associate buffer (CPU cache) for use in manipulating data].
In regard to claim 14, Rubtsov further teaches the period of the relax tick signal is a multiple of the period of the tick signal (¶384-387).
The following reference(s) is/are also found relevant:
Chun (SG 130041 A1), which teaches storing an NCO control signal in a register in the NCO (625 in 24, Fig. 6, ¶82; ¶87).
Hoshino (JP 2005033588 A), which teaches storing an NCO control signal in a register in the NCO (3 in 5, Fig. 1; p. 2, ¶7).
Oesch '371 (EP 1265371 A1), which teaches an integration period counter configured to generate an integration period signal based on the code rate NCO frequency (28-30, 34, Fig. 3; p. 9, ¶3-4) [where if the code rate NCO frequency output from the NCO were different, the signal output from the integration period counter would be different].
Applicant is encouraged to consider these documents in formulating their response (if one is required) to this Office Action, in order to expedite prosecution of this application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 5-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office Action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 16-17 and 19-20 would be allowable if amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 USC 112, set forth in this Office Action, without the addition of new matter, and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 21-24 would be allowable if amended to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office Action and the rejection(s) under 35 USC 112, set forth in this Office Action, without the addition of new matter, and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance/Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance/allowable subject matter:
The references cited, alone or in combination, do not teach or make obvious the following limitation(s):
an update CRNCO and/or an update IFNCO / generating values based on an update CRNCO and/or an update IFNCO.
Fred H. Mull
Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/F. H. M./
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645