DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 9-11, 21-22, 29-31, 41-42, 49-51, 63-66 and 71-73 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-11, 21-22, 29-31, 41-42, 49-51, 63-65 and 71-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng (US Pub. 2020/0314763).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a base station, an indication (par.008 “receiving a transmission power control (TPC) command indicating at least a power control adjust value carried by downlink control information (DCI)”) of a configuration for a multi-panel transmission power control command to be transmitted by the base station (par.008 “a method of closed-loop power control for…multi-panel……a power control adjust value carried by downlink control information DCI….applying the power control adjust value to at least one antenna panel for ……PUSCH….PUCCH”);
receiving, according to the indicated configuration, a downlink control information message comprising a first field indicative of a first transmission power control command for a first antenna panel (par.055 “DCI format ….2bits in the DCI…..the PC command to the antenna panel with index 00 of the bit field is 00”) and a second field indicative of a second transmission power control command for a second antenna panel (par.059 “TPC command to the indicated antenna panel”, par.061 “TPC command… 11….antenna panel information is 01”).
determining, based at least in part on the first field indicating the first transmission power control command for the first antenna panel and the second field indicating the second transmission power control command for second first antenna panel in the downlink control information message, a first transmit power for the first antenna panel of the UE and a second transmit power for the second antenna panel of the UE (par.055, 059, 061); and
transmitting an uplink signal using the first antenna panel at the first transmit power and the second antenna panel at the second transmit power (par.008, 055, 059, 061).
Regarding claims 2, 22, 42 and 64, Cheng discloses determining, based at least in part on the received indication, that the configuration for the multi-panel transmission power control command indicates that the downlink control information message comprises the first transmission power control command (par.055) and second transmission power control command, wherein the first transmission power control command is different from the second transmission power control command (par.058 “the TPC command….11 indicates increasing 3 dB TX power…….index in the DCI format….is 01”, par.061 “antenna panel is information is 01”).
Regarding claims 3 and 64, Cheng discloses determining the first transmit power based at least in part on the first transmission power control command; and determining the second transmit power based at least in part on the second transmission power control command, wherein the second transmission power control command includes a differential value applied to the first transmission power control command (par.061 “increasing 3 dB TX power”).
Regarding claims 9, 29, 49 and 71, Cheng discloses determining, based at least in part on the received indication (par.008 “receiving a transmission power control (TPC) command indicating at least a power control adjust value carried by downlink control information (DCI)”) that the configuration for the multi-panel transmission power control command indicates that the downlink control information message comprises the first transmission power control command and the second transmission power control command, wherein the first transmission power control command is a same value (par.074 “the same power control adjust value”) as the second transmission power control command (par.055, 059, 061).
Regarding claims 10, 30, 50 or 72, Cheng discloses receiving the configuration comprises: receiving, from the base station, radio resource control signaling (par.029) or a medium access control element comprising the indication of the configuration (consideration is optional).
Regarding claims 11, 31, 51 and 73, Cheng discloses the downlink control information message comprises the indication of the configuration (par.034 “the DCI…….an UL transmission configuration indicator”).
Regarding claim 21, Cheng discloses everything as claim 1 above. More specifically, Cheng discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more processors, one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors (par.009).
Regarding claim 41, Cheng discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
means for receiving, from a base station, an indication (par.008 “receiving a transmission power control (TPC) command indicating at least a power control adjust value carried by downlink control information (DCI)”) of a configuration for a multi-panel transmission power control command to be transmitted by the base station (par.008 “a method of closed-loop power control for…multi-panel……a power control adjust value carried by downlink control information DCI….applying the power control adjust value to at least one antenna panel for ……PUSCH….PUCCH”);
means for receiving, according to the indicated configuration, a downlink control information message comprising a first field indicative of a first transmission power control command for a first antenna panel (par.055 “DCI format ….2bits in the DCI…..the PC command to the antenna panel with index 00 of the bit field is 00”) and a second field indicative of a second transmission power control command for a second antenna panel (par.059 “TPC command to the indicated antenna panel”, par.061 “TPC command… 11….antenna panel information is 01”).
means for determining, based at least in part on the first field indicating the first transmission power control command for the first antenna panel and the second field indicating the second transmission power control command for second first antenna panel in the downlink control information message, a first transmit power for the first antenna panel of the UE and a second transmit power for the second antenna panel of the UE (par.055, 059, 061); and
means for transmitting an uplink signal using the first antenna panel at the first transmit power and the second antenna panel at the second transmit power (par.008, 055, 059, 061).
Regarding claim 63, Cheng discloses everything as claim 1 above. More specifically, Cheng discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors (par.009).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US Pub. 2020/0314763) in view of Chen (2022/0369235).
Regarding claims 4 and 66, Cheng discloses the first transmission power control command comprises two bits par.058 “the TPC command….11 indicates increasing 3 dB TX power…….index in the DCI format….is 01”, par.061 “antenna panel is information is 01”). Cheng fails to teach the second transmission power control command comprises one bit.
Chen discloses the second transmission power control command comprises one bit (par.0104 “1 bit in the first DCI can indicate that a certain closed-loop power control”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Cheng with the above teaching of Chen in order to provide Closed-loop power control for different states.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Delany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/TU X NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642