Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 31st, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 6-10, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20210142496 A1), hereinafter Sato, in view of Steinberg et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20190227175 A1), hereinafter Steinberg.
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches an image processing apparatus (Fig. 1, Title) comprising:
a reflection-intensity-information acquisition unit configured to acquire reflection-intensity information of a radiation wave at a position of an object (Fig. 1; [0077] Solid-state imaging element 20 has a pixel array in which a first pixel that performs imaging with reflected light, which is irradiation light reflected by a subject, and a second pixel that images the subject are disposed in an array.),
the radiation wave being an electromagnetic wave radiated in multiple directions in a space in which the object is present, based on a reflected wave that is the radiation wave reflected by the object ([0074] Light source 10 is configured to include, for example, a capacitor, a driving circuit, and a light emitting element, and emits light by driving the light emitting element with electric energy accumulated in the capacitor; [0102] Diffusion plate 50 adjusts the intensity distribution and the angle of irradiation light.) and
generate a reflection-intensity image representing a reflection intensity of the radiation wave in the space based on the reflection-intensity information ([0080] As shown in FIG. 2, pixel array 2 is configured to be disposed in an array pattern such that first pixel 21 (IR pixel) that performs imaging with reflected light, which is irradiation light reflected by a subject, and second pixel 22 (BW pixel) that images the subject are alternately aligned in columns.);
an image-information acquisition unit configured to acquire a luminance image of the space ([0085] Therefore, a pixel of black and white that indicates the luminance of visible light, in other words, a monochrome image is represented by an imaging signal outputted from a plurality of second pixels 22 included in pixel array 2. This monochrome image is hereinafter referred to as a BW image.); and
a correspondence-information calculation unit configured to calculate, based on a position of the object in the reflection-intensity image and a position of the object in the luminance image, correspondence information that makes the reflection-intensity image and the luminance image correspond to each other ([0130] Next, BW camera 103 acquires a BW image. That is, BW camera 103 acquires a BW image corresponding to the IR image acquired in step S12, that is, a BW image of the same scene, the same viewpoint, and the same imaging time as those of the IR image.; [0242] In step S45 b, dust detector 112 calculates a correlation coefficient of luminance between the higher luminance region of the IR image and the region in the BW image corresponding to the higher luminance region (that is, the corresponding region) for each of at least one higher luminance region obtained by the regional segmentation in step S43).
wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to extract a plurality of feature points of the object from each of the reflection-intensity image and the luminance image, and calculate the correspondence information based on coordinates of the extracted feature points to make the coordinates of the feature points in the luminance image correspond to the coordinates of the feature points in the reflection-intensity image ([0242] The correlation coefficient is obtained by arranging the luminance of each pixel of the IR image and the BW image in a vector shape for each region, calculating the inner product value thereof, and normalizing it with the number of pixels. That is, dust detector 112 normalizes the inner product value between the vector consisting of the luminance of each pixel in the higher luminance region of the IR image and the vector consisting of the luminance of each pixel in the corresponding region of the BW image. As a result, the correlation coefficient for the higher luminance region is calculated.)
Sato fails to teach an apparatus comprising a movable deflector that includes a micro-electromechanical system (MEMS)
However, Steinberg teaches an apparatus comprising a movable deflector that includes a micro-electromechanical system (MEMS) ([0072] Specifically, FIG. 3A is a diagram illustrating scanning unit 104 with a MEMS mirror (e.g., square shaped), FIG. 3B is a diagram illustrating another scanning unit 104 with a MEMS mirror (e.g., round shaped))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sato to comprise the mems mirror similar to Steinberg, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a device known in the art to control the emitted and returned light and direct it to specific detectors and scan points.
Regarding claim 2, Sato teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correspondence information includes at least one selected from the group consisting of rotation, scaling, and translation for making the reflection-intensity image and the luminance image correspond to each other ([0188] It is noted that when the distortion of lens is large, dust detector 112 may perform distortion correction processing for the BW image and the IR image, which have been imaged. For example, dust detector 112 may perform distortion correction processing by using a camera calibration method such as Non Patent Literature (R. Tsai, “A versatile camera calibration technique for high-accuracy 3D machine vision metrology using off-the-shelf TV cameras and lenses”, IEEE Journal on Robotics and Automation, Vol. 3, Iss. 4, pp. 323-344, 1987).).
Regarding claim 3, Sato teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a predetermined position in the luminance image and an optical axis of the reflected wave from the predetermined position match each other ([0163] Accordingly, when IR camera 102 images the same scene as the scene shown in FIG. 9B from the same viewpoint and at the same time as those of BW camera 103, the IR image shown in FIG. 9A is acquired.).
Regarding claim 4, Sato teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the reflection-intensity-information acquisition unit acquires the reflection-intensity information from a first detection unit configured to detect the reflected wave ([0111] Such IR camera 102 acquires an IR image by performing imaging of a scene including the subject with infrared light according to timing at which light source 101 irradiates infrared light to the subject.),
wherein the image-information acquisition unit acquires an image information from a second detection unit configured to detect a light ([0112] Such BW camera 103 acquires a visible light image (specifically, a BW image) by imaging of a substantially same scene as that of the infrared image, the imaging being performed with visible light at a substantially same viewpoint and imaging time as those of the infrared image.),
wherein the first detection unit detects the reflected wave separated from electromagnetic waves including the reflected wave in accordance with a wavelength ([0111] Such IR camera 102 acquires an IR image by performing imaging of a scene including the subject with infrared light according to timing at which light source 101 irradiates infrared light to the subject.), and
wherein the second detection unit detects the light separated from the electromagnetic waves including the reflected wave in accordance with a wavelength ([0112] Such BW camera 103 acquires a visible light image (specifically, a BW image) by imaging of a substantially same scene as that of the infrared image, the imaging being performed with visible light at a substantially same viewpoint and imaging time as those of the infrared image.).
Regarding claim 6, Sato teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a control unit configured to correct the luminance image based on the correspondence information ([0188] It is noted that when the distortion of lens is large, dust detector 112 may perform distortion correction processing for the BW image and the IR image, which have been imaged; [0192] Second depth estimator 111 b corrects the inappropriate depth in the dust region. Then, as shown in (e) of FIG. 20, outputter 118 generates third depth information which indicates the corrected depth of the dust region and the depth of the non-dust region.).
Regarding claim 7, Sato teaches an image processing apparatus comprising: an image-information acquisition unit configured to acquire a luminance image of a space in which an object is present ([0085] Therefore, a pixel of black and white that indicates the luminance of visible light, in other words, a monochrome image is represented by an imaging signal outputted from a plurality of second pixels 22 included in pixel array 2. This monochrome image is hereinafter referred to as a BW image.);
a reflection-intensity-information acquisition unit configured to acquire a reflection-intensity image representing a reflection intensity of a radiation wave at a position in the space, the radiation wave being an electromagnetic wave radiated into the space, and the reflection-intensity image being generated based on a reflected wave that is the radiation wave reflected by the object (Fig. 1; [0074] Light source 10 is configured to include, for example, a capacitor, a driving circuit, and a light emitting element, and emits light by driving the light emitting element with electric energy accumulated in the capacitor; [0077] Solid-state imaging element 20 has a pixel array in which a first pixel that performs imaging with reflected light, which is irradiation light reflected by a subject, and a second pixel that images the subject are disposed in an array.); and
a correspondence-information calculation unit configured to calculate correspondence information that makes a position included in the reflection-intensity image and a position included in the luminance image correspond to each other, each of the positions corresponding to a predetermined position in the space ([0130] Next, BW camera 103 acquires a BW image. That is, BW camera 103 acquires a BW image corresponding to the IR image acquired in step S12, that is, a BW image of the same scene, the same viewpoint, and the same imaging time as those of the IR image.; [0242] In step S45 b, dust detector 112 calculates a correlation coefficient of luminance between the higher luminance region of the IR image and the region in the BW image corresponding to the higher luminance region (that is, the corresponding region) for each of at least one higher luminance region obtained by the regional segmentation in step S43).
wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to extract a plurality of feature points of the object from each of the reflection-intensity image and the luminance image, and calculate the correspondence information based on coordinates of the extracted feature points to make the coordinates of the feature points in the luminance image correspond to the coordinates of the feature points in the reflection-intensity image ([0242] The correlation coefficient is obtained by arranging the luminance of each pixel of the IR image and the BW image in a vector shape for each region, calculating the inner product value thereof, and normalizing it with the number of pixels. That is, dust detector 112 normalizes the inner product value between the vector consisting of the luminance of each pixel in the higher luminance region of the IR image and the vector consisting of the luminance of each pixel in the corresponding region of the BW image. As a result, the correlation coefficient for the higher luminance region is calculated.)
Sato fails to teach an apparatus comprising a movable deflector that includes a micro-electromechanical system (MEMS)
However, Steinberg teaches an apparatus comprising a movable deflector that includes a micro-electromechanical system (MEMS) ([0072] Specifically, FIG. 3A is a diagram illustrating scanning unit 104 with a MEMS mirror (e.g., square shaped), FIG. 3B is a diagram illustrating another scanning unit 104 with a MEMS mirror (e.g., round shaped))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sato to comprise the mems mirror similar to Steinberg, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a device known in the art to control the emitted and returned light and direct it to specific detectors and scan points.
Regarding claim 8, Sato teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the correspondence information is a transformation formula applied to the reflection-intensity image or the luminance image for making the position included in the reflection-intensity image match or approximate the position included in the luminance image ([0188] It is noted that when the distortion of lens is large, dust detector 112 may perform distortion correction processing for the BW image and the IR image, which have been imaged. For example, dust detector 112 may perform distortion correction processing by using a camera calibration method such as Non Patent Literature (R. Tsai, “A versatile camera calibration technique for high-accuracy 3D machine vision metrology using off-the-shelf TV cameras and lenses”, IEEE Journal on Robotics and Automation, Vol. 3, Iss. 4, pp. 323-344, 1987).).
Regarding claim 9, Sato teaches a distance-measurement apparatus comprising: a reflection-intensity-information acquisition unit configured to acquire reflection-intensity information of a radiation wave at a position of an object, the radiation wave being an electromagnetic wave radiated in multiple directions in a space in which the object is present, based on a reflected wave that is the radiation wave reflected by the object and generate a reflection-intensity image representing a reflection intensity of the radiation wave in the space based on the reflection-intensity information (Fig. 1; [0074] Light source 10 is configured to include, for example, a capacitor, a driving circuit, and a light emitting element, and emits light by driving the light emitting element with electric energy accumulated in the capacitor; [0077] Solid-state imaging element 20 has a pixel array in which a first pixel that performs imaging with reflected light, which is irradiation light reflected by a subject, and a second pixel that images the subject are disposed in an array.; [0080] As shown in FIG. 2, pixel array 2 is configured to be disposed in an array pattern such that first pixel 21 (IR pixel) that performs imaging with reflected light, which is irradiation light reflected by a subject, and second pixel 22 (BW pixel) that images the subject are alternately aligned in columns.);
an image-information acquisition unit configured to acquire a luminance image of the space ([0188] It is noted that when the distortion of lens is large, dust detector 112 may perform distortion correction processing for the BW image and the IR image, which have been imaged; [0192] Second depth estimator 111 b corrects the inappropriate depth in the dust region. Then, as shown in (e) of FIG. 20, outputter 118 generates third depth information which indicates the corrected depth of the dust region and the depth of the non-dust region.);
a correspondence-information calculation unit configured to calculate, based on a position of the object in the reflection-intensity image and a position of the object in the luminance image, correspondence information that makes the reflection-intensity image and the luminance image correspond to each other ([0130] Next, BW camera 103 acquires a BW image. That is, BW camera 103 acquires a BW image corresponding to the IR image acquired in step S12, that is, a BW image of the same scene, the same viewpoint, and the same imaging time as those of the IR image.; [0242] In step S45 b, dust detector 112 calculates a correlation coefficient of luminance between the higher luminance region of the IR image and the region in the BW image corresponding to the higher luminance region (that is, the corresponding region) for each of at least one higher luminance region obtained by the regional segmentation in step S43); and
a calculation unit configured to calculate a distance to the object based on detection information of the reflected wave acquired with the reflection-intensity information ([0145] As a result of this, depth information which at least indicates a depth of the dust region is calculated. It should be noted that at this moment, depth estimator 111 may estimate depth of not only the dust region but also the entire IR image, and calculate depth information indicating the estimation result.).
wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to extract a plurality of feature points of the object from each of the reflection-intensity image and the luminance image, and calculate the correspondence information based on coordinates of the extracted feature points to make the coordinates of the feature points in the luminance image correspond to the coordinates of the feature points in the reflection-intensity image ([0242] The correlation coefficient is obtained by arranging the luminance of each pixel of the IR image and the BW image in a vector shape for each region, calculating the inner product value thereof, and normalizing it with the number of pixels. That is, dust detector 112 normalizes the inner product value between the vector consisting of the luminance of each pixel in the higher luminance region of the IR image and the vector consisting of the luminance of each pixel in the corresponding region of the BW image. As a result, the correlation coefficient for the higher luminance region is calculated.)
Sato fails to teach an apparatus comprising a movable deflector that includes a micro-electromechanical system (MEMS)
However, Steinberg teaches an apparatus comprising a movable deflector that includes a micro-electromechanical system (MEMS) ([0072] Specifically, FIG. 3A is a diagram illustrating scanning unit 104 with a MEMS mirror (e.g., square shaped), FIG. 3B is a diagram illustrating another scanning unit 104 with a MEMS mirror (e.g., round shaped))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sato to comprise the mems mirror similar to Steinberg, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a device known in the art to control the emitted and returned light and direct it to specific detectors and scan points.
Regarding claim 10, Sato teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Sato fails to teach the apparatus wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to receive detection information from a first detection unit and image information from a second detection unit physically separate from the first detection unit, the first detection unit positioned perpendicular to a first optical axis, the second detection unit positioned perpendicular to a second optical axis, and the second optical axis is oriented at a non-zero angle with respect to the first optical axis.
However, Steinberg teaches the apparatus wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to receive detection information from a first detection unit and image information from a second detection unit physically separate from the first detection unit, the first detection unit positioned perpendicular to a first optical axis, the second detection unit positioned perpendicular to a second optical axis, and the second optical axis is oriented at a non-zero angle with respect to the first optical axis ([Fig. 2B]; [Fig. 4D]; [0058] Consistent with the present disclosure, a monostatic configuration of LIDAR system 100 may include an asymmetrical deflector to prevent reflected light from hitting light source 112, and to direct all the reflected light toward sensor 116, thereby increasing detection sensitivity. [0059] In the embodiment of FIG. 2B, LIDAR system 100 includes three projecting units 102 each with a single of light source 112 aimed at a common light deflector 114. [0086] Sensor 116 includes a plurality of detection elements 402 for detecting photons of a photonic pulse reflected back from field of view 120.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sato to comprise the physically separate detectors with the given orientation similar to Steinberg, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of compartmentalizing the components of the apparatus and control the beam direction relative to each other.
Regarding claim 13, Sato teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 7,
Sato fails to teach the apparatus wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to receive detection information from a first detection unit an image information from a second detection unit physically separate from the first detection unit, the first detection unit positioned perpendicular to a first optical axis, the second detection unit positioned perpendicular to a second optical axis, and the second optical axis is oriented at a non-zero angle with respect to the first optical axis.
However, Steinberg teaches the apparatus wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to receive detection information from a first detection unit an image information from a second detection unit physically separate from the first detection unit, the first detection unit positioned perpendicular to a first optical axis, the second detection unit positioned perpendicular to a second optical axis, and the second optical axis is oriented at a non-zero angle with respect to the first optical axis ([Fig. 2B]; [Fig. 4D]; [0058] Consistent with the present disclosure, a monostatic configuration of LIDAR system 100 may include an asymmetrical deflector to prevent reflected light from hitting light source 112, and to direct all the reflected light toward sensor 116, thereby increasing detection sensitivity. [0059] In the embodiment of FIG. 2B, LIDAR system 100 includes three projecting units 102 each with a single of light source 112 aimed at a common light deflector 114. [0086] Sensor 116 includes a plurality of detection elements 402 for detecting photons of a photonic pulse reflected back from field of view 120.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sato to comprise the physically separate detectors with the given orientation similar to Steinberg, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of compartmentalizing the components of the apparatus and control the beam direction relative to each other.
Regarding claim 16, Sato teaches the distance-measurement apparatus according to claim 9,
Sato fails to teach the apparatus wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to receive the detection information from a first detection unit and image information from a second detection unit physically separate from the first detection unit, the first detection unit positioned perpendicular to a first optical axis, the second detection unit positioned perpendicular to a second optical axis, and the second optical axis is oriented at a non-zero angle with respect to the first optical axis.
However, Steinberg teaches the apparatus wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to receive the detection information from a first detection unit and image information from a second detection unit physically separate from the first detection unit, the first detection unit positioned perpendicular to a first optical axis, the second detection unit positioned perpendicular to a second optical axis, and the second optical axis is oriented at a non-zero angle with respect to the first optical axis ([Fig. 2B]; [Fig. 4D]; [0058] Consistent with the present disclosure, a monostatic configuration of LIDAR system 100 may include an asymmetrical deflector to prevent reflected light from hitting light source 112, and to direct all the reflected light toward sensor 116, thereby increasing detection sensitivity. [0059] In the embodiment of FIG. 2B, LIDAR system 100 includes three projecting units 102 each with a single of light source 112 aimed at a common light deflector 114. [0086] Sensor 116 includes a plurality of detection elements 402 for detecting photons of a photonic pulse reflected back from field of view 120.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sato to comprise the physically separate detectors with the given orientation similar to Steinberg, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of compartmentalizing the components of the apparatus and control the beam direction relative to each other.
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Steinberg, further in view of Shim et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20110310376 A1) hereinafter Shim.
Regarding claim 5, Sato teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Sato fails to teach the apparatus wherein the luminance image has a resolution higher than a resolution of the reflection-intensity image, and wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit calculates the correspondence information by using the luminance image whose resolution has been reduced and the reflection-intensity image or calculates the correspondence information by using the luminance image and the reflection-intensity image whose resolution has been increased.
However, Shim teaches the apparatus wherein the luminance image has a resolution higher than a resolution of the reflection-intensity image ([0072] First, an operation of calculating first information used to calibrate the relative location and direction between the depth cameras is described below. Depending on an example embodiment, the depth cameras typically may provide a low-resolution image, and thus a calibration scheme based on a three-dimensional (3D) point may be used to more accurately perform calibration.; [0079] Color cameras typically provide high-resolution images, without a significant optical distortion. Accordingly, the second information may be calculated using a well-known algorithm.), and
wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit calculates the correspondence information by using the luminance image whose resolution has been reduced and the reflection-intensity image or calculates the correspondence information by using the luminance image and the reflection-intensity image whose resolution has been increased ([0072] First, an operation of calculating first information used to calibrate the relative location and direction between the depth cameras is described below. Depending on an example embodiment, the depth cameras typically may provide a low-resolution image, and thus a calibration scheme based on a three-dimensional (3D) point may be used to more accurately perform calibration.;).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sato to comprise the varying resolution images utilized in the correspondence-information calculation unit similar to Shim, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of generating better correlation data between two images based on environmental and calibration requirements.
Claims 11-12, 14-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Steinberg, further in view of Go et al. (United States Patent No. 9417059 B2), hereinafter Go.
Regarding claim 11, Sato teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
Sato fails to teach the apparatus wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to receive detection information from a first detection unit and image information from a second detection unit, the first detection unit positioned to receive reflected light from an optical element and the second detection unit positioned to receive light transmitted through the optical element.
However, Go teaches the apparatus wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to receive detection information from a first detection unit and image information from a second detection unit, the first detection unit positioned to receive reflected light from an optical element and the second detection unit positioned to receive light transmitted through the optical element ([Fig. 6]; [Col. 11, line 27-31] Beams scattered or reflected by the external target are received through a light receiving unit 292, not the scanner 240. The received beams are transmitted to corresponding detecting units PD1, PD2, . . . , and PDn via n light wavelength splitting units DMa, DMb, . . . , and DMn.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sato to comprise the beam splitting director to detector configuration similar to Go, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a known device in the art to configure the detectors to a desirable configuration for compact design.
Regarding claim 12, Sato teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 11,
Sato fails to teach the apparatus wherein the optical element includes at least one of a half mirror, a beam splitter, a dichroic mirror, a cold mirror, a hot mirror, a metasurface, a deflection element, and a prism.
However, Go teaches the apparatus wherein the optical element includes at least one of a half mirror, a beam splitter, a dichroic mirror, a cold mirror, a hot mirror, a metasurface, a deflection element, and a prism ([Col. 10, line 49-52] Meanwhile, the second light wavelength splitting unit 284 may reflect or transmit light on a per wavelength basis. For example, the second light wavelength splitting unit 284 may be realized by a dichroic mirror.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sato to comprise the beam splitting optical element and dichroic mirror similar to , with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a device known in the art to successfully split a reflected and transmitted beam to two detectors.
Regarding claim 14, Sato teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 7,
Sato fails to teach the apparatus wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to receive detection information from a first detection unit and image information from a second detection unit, the first detection unit positioned to receive reflected light from an optical element and the second detection unit positioned to receive light transmitted through the optical element.
HosdfsdfHowever, Go teaches the apparatus wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to receive detection information from a first detection unit and image information from a second detection unit, the first detection unit positioned to receive reflected light from an optical element and the second detection unit positioned to receive light transmitted through the optical element ([Fig. 6]; [Col. 11, line 27-31] Beams scattered or reflected by the external target are received through a light receiving unit 292, not the scanner 240. The received beams are transmitted to corresponding detecting units PD1, PD2, . . . , and PDn via n light wavelength splitting units DMa, DMb, . . . , and DMn.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sato to comprise the beam splitting director to detector configuration similar to Go, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a known device in the art to configure the detectors to a desirable configuration for compact design.
Regarding claim 15, Sato teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 14,
Sato fails to teach the apparatus wherein the optical element includes at least one of a half mirror, a beam splitter, a dichroic mirror, a cold mirror, a hot mirror, a metasurface, a deflection element, and a prism.
However, Go teaches the apparatus wherein the optical element includes at least one of a half mirror, a beam splitter, a dichroic mirror, a cold mirror, a hot mirror, a metasurface, a deflection element, and a prism ([Col. 10, line 49-52] Meanwhile, the second light wavelength splitting unit 284 may reflect or transmit light on a per wavelength basis. For example, the second light wavelength splitting unit 284 may be realized by a dichroic mirror.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sato to comprise the beam splitting optical element and dichroic mirror similar to , with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a device known in the art to successfully split a reflected and transmitted beam to two detectors.
Regarding claim 17, Sato teaches the distance-measurement apparatus according to claim 9,
Sato fails to teach the apparatus wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to receive the detection information from a first detection unit and image information from a second detection unit, the first detection unit positioned to receive reflected light from an optical element and the second detection unit positioned to receive light transmitted through the optical element.
However Go teaches the apparatus wherein the correspondence-information calculation unit is configured to receive the detection information from a first detection unit and image information from a second detection unit, the first detection unit positioned to receive reflected light from an optical element and the second detection unit positioned to receive light transmitted through the optical element ([Fig. 6]; [Col. 11, line 27-31] Beams scattered or reflected by the external target are received through a light receiving unit 292, not the scanner 240. The received beams are transmitted to corresponding detecting units PD1, PD2, . . . , and PDn via n light wavelength splitting units DMa, DMb, . . . , and DMn.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sato to comprise the beam splitting director to detector configuration similar to Go, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a known device in the art to configure the detectors to a desirable configuration for compact design.
Regarding claim 18, Sato teaches the distance-measurement apparatus according to claim 17,
Sato fails to teach the apparatus wherein the optical element includes at least one of a half-mirror, a beam splitter, a dichroic mirror, a cold mirror, a hot mirror, a metasurface, a deflection element, and a prism.
However, Go teaches the apparatus wherein the optical element includes at least one of a half-mirror, a beam splitter, a dichroic mirror, a cold mirror, a hot mirror, a metasurface, a deflection element, and a prism ([Col. 10, line 49-52] Meanwhile, the second light wavelength splitting unit 284 may reflect or transmit light on a per wavelength basis. For example, the second light wavelength splitting unit 284 may be realized by a dichroic mirror.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Sato to comprise the beam splitting optical element and dichroic mirror similar to , with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a device known in the art to successfully split a reflected and transmitted beam to two detectors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 31st, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claims address the unique problem of spatial misalignment by actively extracting feature points and matching their coordinates to calibrate the images, different from the problem addressed in the prior art of Sato. While the prior art of Sato is focused primarily on a different initial problem from that of the immediate application, this is not the metric by which a prior art may be deemed appropriate for teaching the claims of an application. The fact that Sato addresses a problem separate from that of the immediate application does not mean that Sato fails to teach the limitations of the claims recited above. Further, while Sato teaches a collocated set of cameras, the failing of this has been addressed by the combination with the prior art of Steinberg as addressed in previous correspondence office actions and addressed above. The combination has been argued for obviousness to combine and through the combination, a person of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention, the metric by which claims are evaluated. As such, the rejection has been maintained in this Non-Final Office Action.
Regarding the newly amended claim limitations, the examiner notes that amendments to the rejection have been made above to reflect these additions. After further consideration of the prior art of Sato, the correlation coefficient taught here appears to largely similar to the correspondence-information calculation unit configuration described in these amendments. The rejection above reflects the newly cited references.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645