DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The amendment filed on 11/02/2025 has been made of record and entered.
Claims 1-6 & 10 have been amended.
Claim 11 has been added.
Claims 1-11 are currently pending in this application and under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (Second Paragraph)
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, it would appear that the carbon powders would be obtained in the first step of the claimed method and not the “conductive carbon colloidal powders” as recited in lines 4 & 5 of the claim. The instant specification, [0036], discloses “a carbon powder colloidal solution may be prepared by adding the carbon powders treated with the plasma via the above step to a water-based water solvent and stirring the mixed solution”. It is considered the claim limitations render the claim unclear, confusing, and not particularly point out the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
Claim(s) 1 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luizi et al. (US 2014/0248442 A1), hereinafter “Luizi et al.”
The claimed invention relates to a method for treating a conductive carbon powder, comprising:
(a) subjecting a gas having 100% carbon dioxide (CO2) to a plasma reactor to obtain a plasma-treated reaction gas; and
(b) injecting the plasmas-treated reaction gas from (a) into a reaction container comprising the conductive carbon powder to obtain a treated carbon powder,
wherein the plasmas reactor and the reaction container are separated such that the conductive carbon powder is not exposed to the plasma reactor in (a),
wherein the treated carbon powder has increased water dispersibility when compared with the conductive carbon powder.
Luizi et al. discloses a method for functionalization of a pulverulent product in a plasma reactor comprising the steps of:
generating a plasma in a vertical reactor;
bringing the pulverulent product (from the feeding system) in contact with said plasma by letting said particles fall by gravity from top to bottom through said reactor (page 7, claim 1).
The pulverulent product comprises carbon nanotubes (page 7, claim 3).
The functionalization is performed in the presence of various substances including oxygen-containing gases, such as carbon monoxide (CO) and carbon dioxide (CO2) (page 3, [0067]).
The reference appears to teach the claimed method for treating a conductive carbon powder (carbon nanotube, TNT) comprising step (a) and (b) as recited in the instant claim 1.
With respect to the claim limitation on “wherein the plasma reactor and the reaction container are separated such that the conductive carbon powder is not exposed to the plasma reactor in (a)”, this is met by the teaching of the reference method because the disclosed vertical reactor (where the plasma is generated) and the feeding system (where the pulverulent product is feeding into the reactor) are separated, thus the pulverulent product of the reference is also not exposed to the plasmas reactor and thus the treated pulverulent product of the reference would have the same feature as claimed, which is “the treated carbon powder has increased water dispersibility when compared with the conductive carbon powder”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luizi et al. (US 2014/0248442 A1), hereinafter “Luizi et al.”
Luizi et al. discloses a method as discussed in the precedent paragraph, except for the following difference.
The reference does not teach the treatment time in step (b), it would have been prima facie obvious to a skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to treat the carbon powders of the reference for a treatment time of 10 to 30 minutes as claimed or for an effective amount of time since it involves only routine experimentation of a person within the level of ordinary skill in the art to do so. See In re Boesch and In re Aller.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 2, 3, & 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art references appear to teach the claimed method for treating a conductive carbon powder comprising step (a) and step (b), however they do not teach the claimed features as further defined in these claims.
There is no motivation to combine the teachings of the prior art references together to arrive to the claimed invention.
6. Claims 6-10 are allowable over the prior art made of record. The claims would be allowable if the claims are amended and the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, set forth in this Office action are overcome. The following is a statement of reason(s) for allowing the claimed subject matter.
The prior art appears to teach a method for preparing a carbon powder by plasma jet or reacting the conductive carbon particles with a plasma-treated reaction gas to obtain treated carbon powders (as recited in the first step of the instant claim 6), however it does not teach to add the treated carbon powders to a solvent comprising water and stirring the treated carbon powders to obtain the carbon power colloidal solution (as recited in the second step of the instant claim 6).
There is no motivation to combine the teachings of the prior art references together to arrive to the claimed invention.
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
7. The remarks submitted with the amendment on 11/05/2025 have been fully reviewed and considered, the amendments to the claims appeared overcome the claim objections and rejection(s) made under 35 U.S.C 112(b), second paragraph. Thus, they have been withdrawn.
However, a new ground of rejections has been made in view of a newly discovered reference to Luizi et al. (US 2014/0248442 A1), which appears to read on the claimed subject matter of the instant claims 1, 4, & 5. See detailed discussions in the rejection paragraphs 3 & 4 above.
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Citations
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All references are cited for related art. See PTO-892 Form prepared attached.
Conclusion
10. Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 1 & 6-10 are rejected. Claims 2, 3, & 11 are objected. No claims are allowed.
Contacts
/Cam N. Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/CNN/
February 12, 2026