DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 13, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Natroshvili et al. (US20120287232), hereinafter referred to as ‘Natroshvili’ and in further view of Bonev et al. (US20080229860), hereinafter referred to as ‘Bonev’ and Sakano et al. (US20160176343), hereinafter referred to as Sakano.
Regarding Claim 1, Natroshvili an extrinsic parameter calibration device for multiple camera devices, comprising (described wherein is a calibration system for calibrating a surround view system of an object, such as a vehicle. The calibration system may be implemented via calibration logic that may include software, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof. The surround view system may have plurality of cameras, such as cameras having a fisheye lens… The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]): a plurality calibration plates, configured to complete extrinsic parameter calibration on all the multiple camera devices (A set of markers, i.e., calibration plates, may be arranged by the logic in various patterns. Such patterns may include a checkerboard pattern, for example. A checkerboard pattern may include the markers in a single plane, such that the markers are coplanar. Further, the check board pattern may be three-dimensional or two-dimensional plane, such as quadratic or flat plane, respectively [0025]), wherein each mobile calibration plate is disposed on a slide rail (FIG. 2 shows an example of a checkerboard test pattern 4 as viewed by four cameras (e.g., cameras with fisheye lenses), where the views with these cameras are denoted as 3F (front), 3B (rear/back), 3L (left), and 3R (right) [0040]), and the slide rail is disposed on a wall in the set space; and a control device, configured to control each mobile calibration plate in the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide along the slide rail corresponding to the mobile calibration plate- wherein the control device is further configured to control slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relationship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plate is located.
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose a plurality of mobile calibration plates, configured to complete extrinsic parameter calibration on all the multiple camera devices on a mobile carrier that is disposed in a set space and that carries the multiple camera devices, wherein each mobile calibration plate is disposed on a slide rail, and the slide rail is disposed on a wall in the set space; and a control device, configured to control each mobile calibration plate in the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide along the slide rail corresponding to the mobile calibration plate- wherein the control device is further configured to control slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relationship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plate is located.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses a plurality of mobile plates (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]), wherein each mobile calibration plate is disposed on a slide rail, and the slide rail is disposed on a wall in the set space (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2, i.e., slide rail, (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]); and a control device, configured to control each mobile calibration plate in the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide along the slide rail corresponding to the mobile calibration plate (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2, i.e., slide rail, (moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033])- wherein the control device is further configured to control slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relationship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plate is located (To control the position (x, y), i.e., to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward, and orientation (.theta.) of the moving platform 2, actuators 6 and 7, i.e., slide rails, are driven independently, while actuators 3a and 3b are driven with the same inputs, but independently from actuators 6 and 7 [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
However, Nastroshvili and Bonev do not explicitly disclose a plurality of mobile calibration plates, configured to complete extrinsic parameter calibration on all the multiple camera devices on a mobile carrier that is disposed in a set space and that carries the multiple camera devices.
Nevertheless, Sakano discloses the multiple camera devices on a mobile carrier that is disposed in a set space and that carries the multiple camera devices (As shown in FIG. 2, the cameras 111 to 114 of the imaging device 101 are arranged on the front, rear, right, and left parts of a vehicle 1, i.e. mobile carrier, respectively, for example, so that images of areas around the vehicle 1, including a calibration target R, are captured by the four cameras 111 to 114 [0025];As shown in FIG. 3, the vehicle 1 is placed in a calibration target R that is used for a computation process for calibrating camera images performed by the camera calibration device 108, while calibration patterns P1 to P16, which are calibration indices, are arranged at least in common imaging areas RK1 to RK4 of adjacent cameras around the vehicle 1. Each of the calibration patterns P1 to P16 is formed of a plate that has a plane and is in the shape of a disc or a polygon such as a square, for example, and has about a size that can be, when imaged by each of the cameras 111 to 114, viewed on the image [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili and Bonev with the teachings of Sakano to significantly reduce an operation of arranging calibration patterns in a calibration operation and can significantly reduce the size of the storage place for the calibration patterns used for the calibration operation.
Regarding Claim 3, Natroshvili, Bonev, and Sakano disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 2.
Natroshvili discloses controlling, by the control device, the calibration plate to slide along the corresponding slide rail (as discussed above), at least one of the following moving modes can be implemented: set-unit movement, set-length movement, and continuous movement (as discussed above).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose controlling, by the control device, the mobile calibration plate to slide along the corresponding slide rail, at least one of the following moving modes can be implemented: set-unit movement, set-length movement, and continuous movement; a regression button is provided on the control device; and the control device is further configured to control the plurality of mobile calibration plates to be regressed to an initial position by using the regression button.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses controlling, by the control device, the calibration plate to slide along the corresponding slide rail, at least one of the following moving modes can be implemented: set-unit movement, set-length movement, and continuous movement (The first guide rail 12 and the second guide rail 13 are both used to guide the movement of the first connecting plate 231 to ensure smooth movement [0065]; The calibration plate 50 is set on the calibration plate bracket 30 through the third guide rail 31 and the fourth guide rail 32, so that the calibration plate 50 can be moved up and down in the vertical direction, i.e., set-unit movement, which is conducive to adjusting the position of the calibration plate 50 and facilitating capture by the vehicle camera [0068]); a regression button is provided on the control device (The first connecting plate is fixed on the first slider and the second slider, the first transmission system, i.e., regression button, is connected to the first slider to drive the first slider to move along the first guide rail [0025]); and the control device is further configured to control the calibration plate to be regressed to an initial position by using the regression button (The first connecting plate is fixed on the first slider and the second slider, the first transmission system is connected to the first slider to drive the first slider to move along the first guide rail [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili and Bonev with the teachings of Sakano to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 5, Natroshvili, Bonev, and Sakano disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Natroshvili discloses a size of the set space is set based on a size of the carrier (FIG. 2 shows an example of a checkerboard test pattern 4 as viewed by four cameras (e.g., cameras with fisheye lenses), where the views with these cameras are denoted as 3F (front), 3B (rear/back), 3L (left), and 3R (right), i.e., set space and size [0040]).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose a size of the set space is set based on a size of the mobile carrier.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses the mobile carrier (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili and Bonev with the teachings of Sakano to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 6, Natroshvili, Bonev, and Sakano disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Natroshvili discloses the device further comprises: a limiting guide that is disposed on a ground of the set space and is configured to limit a position of the carrier in the set space (In a case of a surround view system for a vehicle, such cameras may be positioned in side mirrors of the vehicle. A central computer may process data obtained from the cameras. Also, the cameras may be positioned at various locations, i.e., limiting guide, of a vehicle to detect moving and stationary objects of the surroundings. For example, the cameras may monitor other objects moving perpendicular or parallel with respect to the vehicle [0019];FIG. 2 shows an example of a checkerboard test pattern 4 as viewed by four cameras (e.g., cameras with fisheye lenses), where the views with these cameras are denoted as 3F (front), 3B (rear/back), 3L (left), and 3R (right), i.e., set space and size [0040]).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose the device further comprises: a limiting guide that is disposed on a ground of the set space and is configured to limit a position of the mobile carrier in the set space.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses the mobile carrier (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili and Bonev with the teachings of Sakano to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 7, Natroshvili an extrinsic parameter calibration device for multiple camera devices, the method comprising: (described wherein is a calibration system for calibrating a surround view system of an object, such as a vehicle. The calibration system may be implemented via calibration logic that may include software, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof. The surround view system may have plurality of cameras, such as cameras having a fisheye lens… The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]): wherein the set space comprises a calibration plate (A set of markers may be arranged by the logic in various patterns. Such patterns may include a checkerboard pattern, for example. A checkerboard pattern may include the markers in a single plane, such that the markers are coplanar. Further, the check board pattern may be three-dimensional or two-dimensional plane, such as quadratic or flat plane, respectively [0025]; A set of markers, i.e., calibration plates, may be arranged by the logic in various patterns. Such patterns may include a checkerboard pattern, for example. A checkerboard pattern may include the markers in a single plane, such that the markers are coplanar. Further, the check board pattern may be three-dimensional or two-dimensional plane, such as quadratic or flat plane, respectively [0025]), wherein each mobile calibration plate is disposed on a slide rail (FIG. 2 shows an example of a checkerboard test pattern 4 as viewed by four cameras (e.g., cameras with fisheye lenses), where the views with these cameras are denoted as 3F (front), 3B (rear/back), 3L (left), and 3R (right) [0040]), controlling the calibration plate corresponding to each of the camera device (For example, assuming that intrinsic calibration for each camera 2F, 2B, 2L, and 2R of the surround view system of FIG. 1 is predetermined and has been achieved by a known calibration method, the logic's determination of extrinsic parameters may be decoupled from the calibration of intrinsic parameters. The extrinsic parameters, which may be rotational and translational parameters, may be derivable from a plane providing a set of test markers, such as the checkerboard test patterns shown in FIG. 2, for which dimensions of the patterns may be known [0043]), and performing extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices (described wherein is a calibration system for calibrating a surround view system of an object, such as a vehicle. The calibration system may be implemented via calibration logic that may include software, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof. The surround view system may have plurality of cameras, such as cameras having a fisheye lens… The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose detecting entrance of a mobile carrier that carries of the multiple camera devices into a set space, wherein the set space comprises a plurality of mobile calibration plates; controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices; and performing extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices based on the plurality of mobile calibration plates; wherein the controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices comprises: controlling each of the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide on at least one slide rail which is disposed on a wall in the set place, and controlling slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relation-ship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plates are located, to move each of the mobile calibration plates to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses detecting entrance of a mobile carrier (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]), a plurality of mobile calibration plates (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]); controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]); and the plurality of mobile calibration plates (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]); wherein the controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]): controlling each of the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide on at least one slide rail which is disposed on a wall in the set place (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]), and controlling slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relation-ship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plates are located, to move each of the mobile calibration plates to the position (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; To control the position (x, y), i.e., to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward, and orientation (.theta.) of the moving platform 2, actuators 6 and 7, i.e., slide rails, are driven independently, while actuators 3a and 3b are driven with the same inputs, but independently from actuators 6 and 7 [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
However, Nastroshvili and Bonev do not explicitly disclose and performing extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices based on the plurality of mobile calibration plates.
Nevertheless, Sakano discloses and performing extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices (As shown in FIG. 2, the cameras 111 to 114 of the imaging device 101 are arranged on the front, rear, right, and left parts of a vehicle 1, i.e. mobile carrier, respectively, for example, so that images of areas around the vehicle 1, including a calibration target R, are captured by the four cameras 111 to 114 [0025]; As shown in FIG. 3, the vehicle 1 is placed in a calibration target R that is used for a computation process for calibrating camera images performed by the camera calibration device 108, while calibration patterns P1 to P16, which are calibration indices, are arranged at least in common imaging areas RK1 to RK4 of adjacent cameras around the vehicle 1. Each of the calibration patterns P1 to P16 is formed of a plate that has a plane and is in the shape of a disc or a polygon such as a square, for example, and has about a size that can be, when imaged by each of the cameras 111 to 114, viewed on the image [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili and Bonev with the teachings of Sakano to significantly reduce an operation of arranging calibration patterns in a calibration operation and can significantly reduce the size of the storage place for the calibration patterns used for the calibration operation.
Regarding Claim 9, Natroshvili, Bonev, and Sakano disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 7.
Natroshvili discloses the method further comprises: in response to completing the extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices (as discussed above).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose the method further comprises: in response to completing the extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices, automatically returning the plurality of mobile calibration plates to an initial position.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses the mobile calibration plate (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili and Bonev with the teachings of Sakano to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 13, Natroshvili discloses a computer readable storage medium, wherein the storage medium stores a computer program; and when the computer program is executed, an extrinsic parameter calibration method for multiple camera devices is implemented, wherein the extrinsic parameter calibration method comprises (A central computer may process data obtained from the cameras. Also, the cameras may be positioned at various locations of a vehicle to detect moving and stationary objects of the surroundings [0019]; described wherein is a calibration system for calibrating a surround view system of an object, such as a vehicle. The calibration system may be implemented via calibration logic that may include software, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof. The surround view system may have plurality of cameras, such as cameras having a fisheye lens… The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]) detecting entrance of a carrier that carries of the multiple camera devices into a set space (…The surround view system may have plurality of cameras, such as cameras having a fisheye lens… The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]), ,and performing extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices based on the plurality of calibration plates (as discussed above); wherein the controlling the plurality of calibration plates to a position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices comprises (A set of markers may be arranged by the logic in various patterns. Such patterns may include a checkerboard pattern, for example. A checkerboard pattern may include the markers in a single plane, such that the markers are coplanar. Further, the check board pattern may be three-dimensional or two-dimensional plane, such as quadratic or flat plane, respectively [0025]), the multiple camera devices (For example, assuming that intrinsic calibration for each camera 2F, 2B, 2L, and 2R of the surround view system of FIG. 1 is predetermined and has been achieved by a known calibration method, the logic's determination of extrinsic parameters may be decoupled from the calibration of intrinsic parameters. The extrinsic parameters, which may be rotational and translational parameters, may be derivable from a plane providing a set of test markers, such as the checkerboard test patterns shown in FIG. 2, for which dimensions of the patterns may be known [0043];FIG. 2 shows an example of a checkerboard test pattern 4 as viewed by four cameras (e.g., cameras with fisheye lenses), where the views with these cameras are denoted as 3F (front), 3B (rear/back), 3L (left), and 3R (right) [0040]) and performing extrinsic parameter calibration (described wherein is a calibration system for calibrating a surround view system of an object, such as a vehicle. The calibration system may be implemented via calibration logic that may include software, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof. The surround view system may have plurality of cameras, such as cameras having a fisheye lens… The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose detecting entrance of a mobile carrier that carries of the multiple camera devices into a set space, wherein the set space comprises a plurality of mobile calibration plates; controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices; and performing extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices based on the plurality of mobile calibration plates; wherein the controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices comprises: controlling each of the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide on at least one slide rail which is disposed on a wall in the set place, and controlling slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relation-ship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plates are located, to move each of the mobile calibration plates to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses detecting entrance of a mobile carrier that carries (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]), wherein the set space comprises a plurality of mobile calibration plates (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]); controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]); plurality of mobile plates (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]); wherein the controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]): controlling each of the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide on at least one slide rail which is disposed on a wall in the set place (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]), and controlling slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relation-ship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plates are located, to move each of the mobile calibration plates to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; To control the position (x, y), i.e., to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward, and orientation (.theta.) of the moving platform 2, actuators 6 and 7, i.e., slide rails, are driven independently, while actuators 3a and 3b are driven with the same inputs, but independently from actuators 6 and 7 [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
However, Nastroshvili and Bonev do not explicitly disclose and performing extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices based on the plurality of mobile calibration plates.
Nevertheless, Sakano discloses detecting entrance of a mobile carrier that carries of the multiple camera devices into a set space (As shown in FIG. 2, the cameras 111 to 114 of the imaging device 101 are arranged on the front, rear, right, and left parts of a vehicle 1, i.e. mobile carrier, respectively, for example, so that images of areas around the vehicle 1, including a calibration target R, are captured by the four cameras 111 to 114 [0025]) and performing extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices (As shown in FIG. 3, the vehicle 1 is placed in a calibration target R that is used for a computation process for calibrating camera images performed by the camera calibration device 108, while calibration patterns P1 to P16, which are calibration indices, are arranged at least in common imaging areas RK1 to RK4 of adjacent cameras around the vehicle 1. Each of the calibration patterns P1 to P16 is formed of a plate that has a plane and is in the shape of a disc or a polygon such as a square, for example, and has about a size that can be, when imaged by each of the cameras 111 to 114, viewed on the image [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili and Bonev with the teachings of Sakano to significantly reduce an operation of arranging calibration patterns in a calibration operation and can significantly reduce the size of the storage place for the calibration patterns used for the calibration operation.
Regarding Claim 16, Natroshvili, Bonev, and Sakano disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 13.
Natroshvili discloses the method further comprises: in response to completing the extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices, (as discussed above).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose the method further comprises: in response to completing the extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices, automatically returning the plurality of mobile calibration plates to an initial position.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses the mobile calibration plate (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili and Bonev with the teachings of Sakano to move the mobile calibration plate to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 17, Natroshvili, Bonev, and Sakano disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Natroshvili discloses the calibration plate is a chess board plate (as discussed above).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose the mobile calibration plate is a chess board plate.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses the mobile calibration plate (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili and Bonev with the teachings of Sakano to move the mobile calibration plate to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 18, Natroshvili, Bonev, and Sakano disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 2.
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose a vertical slide rail of the slide rails is movably connected to a transverse slide rail of the slide rails which is horizontally disposed.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses a slide rail of the slide rails is movably connected to a transverse slide rail of the slide rails (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili and Bonev with the teachings of Sakano to move the mobile calibration plate to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 19, Natroshvili, Bonev, and Sakano disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 6.
Natroshvili discloses the device further comprises a plurality of fixed calibration plates, which are disposed on the ground of the set space and are disposed around the limiting guide in the set space (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 20, Natroshvili, Bonev, and Sakano disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 8.
Natroshvili discloses the controlling each of the calibration plate (as discussed above).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose the controlling each of the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide on at least one slide rail comprises: controlling each of the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide on the plurality of slide rails according to at least one moving mode, wherein the at least one moving mode includes set-unit movement, set-length movement, and continuous movement.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses the controlling each of the calibration plate to slide on at least one slide rail comprises: controlling each of the calibration plate to slide on the plurality of slide rails (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili and Bonev with the teachings of Sakano to move the mobile calibration plate to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 21, Natroshvili, Bonev, and Sakano disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 9.
Natroshvili discloses the automatically returning the mobile calibration plate comprises: determining a moving distance of the calibration plate in at least one direction (The calibration system may include positioning a set of markers on a plane at least partially surrounding the object. The plane may be in a field of view of a camera of the surround view system, and the camera may include a predetermined intrinsic calibration. The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]); and returning the mobile calibration plate to the initial position based on the moving distance in at least one direction (The logic may be configured to position a set of markers spaced apart by predetermined dimensions. The positioned markers may be located on a single plane at least partially surrounding the object. The positioned markers may also be in a field of view of at least one of the cameras [0024]).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose the automatically returning the mobile calibration plate comprises: determining a moving distance of the calibration plate in at least one direction based on a distance between a coordinate of a current position of the mobile calibration plate and a coordinate of the initial position and returning the mobile calibration plate to the initial position based on the moving distance in at least one direction.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses determining a moving distance of the mobile calibration (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili and Bonev with the teachings of Sakano to move the mobile calibration plate to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natroshvili Bonev, and Sakano, and further in view of Lyu et al. (CN210895554) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lyu’.
Regarding Claim 4, Natroshvili, Bonev, and Sakano disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Natroshvili discloses each calibration plate is further provided with a locking device for locking a position of the mobile calibration-a-chessboard calibration plate when power is off (A set of markers may be arranged by the logic in various patterns. Such patterns may include a checkerboard pattern, for example. A checkerboard pattern may include the markers in a single plane, such that the markers are coplanar. Further, the check board pattern may be three-dimensional or two-dimensional plane, such as quadratic or flat plane, respectively [0025]).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose each mobile calibration plate is further provided with a locking device for locking a position of the mobile calibration-a-chessboard calibration plate when power is off.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses each mobile calibration plate (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
However, Natroshvili and Bonev does not explicitly disclose each mobile calibration plate is further provided with a locking device for locking a position of the mobile calibration-a-chessboard calibration plate when power is off.
Nevertheless, Lyu discloses calibration plate is further provided with a locking device for locking a position of the mobile calibration-a-chessboard calibration plate (each mobile calibration plate is further provided with a locking device for locking a position of the mobile calibration-a-chessboard calibration plate when power is off [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili, Bonev, and Sakano with the teachings of Lyu to maintain the position of the calibration plate to ensure an accurate and reliable reading.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/26/2026 , with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3-7, 9, 13, and 16-21 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Sakano.
With regards to (pg. ): “It can be seen that in Natroshvili, the extrinsic parameters of the camera are calculated based on a set of markers that are spaced apart by predetermined dimensions and located on a single plane. That is to say, the markers in Natroshvili are markers that are pre-arranged with fixed spacing on a single plane, and do not involve slide rails or a control device… Therefore, the "mobile calibration plates" in Claim 1 of the present application are different from the "markers" in Natroshvili, and Natroshvili does not disclose the slide rails or the control device of Claim 1 of the present application, and even less does it involve arranging markers checkerboards on slide rails.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that although there are positioned markers and the parameters are being calculated from those positions , modifying Natroshvili with the teachings of Bonev would increase the values to be calibrated and improve the accuracy of the calibration values.
With regards to (pg. ): “With respect to the above distinguishing technical features, Bonev discloses a planar three-degree-of-freedom X translation, Y translation, rotation about Z axis parallel mechanism, comprising a base fixed as a mounting reference, a moving platform for carrying a load in planar motion, three articulated support legs A1, A2, A3 connecting the base and the moving platform, and drive units. Actuating Al can control translation along X, driving A2 and A3 at the same speed can control translation along Y, and driving A2 and A3 at different speeds can control rotation about the Z axis. It can be seen that the core solution of Bonev is to achieve high-precision planar positioning with partial decoupling and no singular configurations. Moreover, 1) the "moving platform" in Bonev is an internal moving platform of the planar parallel mechanism, responsible for carrying a load to perform precision motion, and does not involve an action of "entering a set space". In contrast, the "mobile carrier" in the present application primarily functions to carry multiple cameras into a calibration space.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that although the core solution of Bonev includes “high-precision planar positioning” the reference includes sliding blocks, i.e. mobile plates and a mechanism to position the sliding blocks. The “mobile carrier”, i.e. a vehicle (Spec [0071]) was addressed using Sakano in combination with Natroshvili and Bonev.
With regards to (pg.): “The technical fields, functions, and structures involved are completely different and cannot be simply equated. 2) the "linear guides/sliding blocks" in Bonev function to realize the translational joint motion of the mechanical legs, located between the base and the moving platform as internal components of the mechanical structure. In contrast, the "slide rails" in the present application function to support the mobile calibration plates and enable them to move up/down and left/right to match the camera's field of view; they are located on the walls of the calibration field, in a vertical and transverse interlocking structure. Therefore, the functions, positions, structures, etc., of the two are not the same and cannot be simply equated. 3) the purpose of "control" in Bonev is to achieve X/Y/A three-degree-of-freedom position and orientation control of the moving platform for a precision positioning stage; its control logic is mechanical motion decoupling control, completely unrelated to camera image calibration. In contrast, the "control" in the present application is to move the calibration plates to positions corresponding to the cameras to complete extrinsic parameter calibration, i.e., a camera calibration system control; the two are different. Thus, Bonev does not disclose the above distinguishing technical features of Claim 1 of the present application.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the combination of references Nastroshvili and Bonev address the limitation of controlling/orienting the moving plates. and orienting the although the core solution of Bonev includes “high-precision planar positioning” the reference includes sliding blocks, i.e. mobile plates and a mechanism to position the sliding blocks.
With regards to (pg.): “First, Natroshvili relates to the field of vehicle-mounted surround view camera calibration, solving the technical problem of rapid extrinsic parameter calibration and algorithm optimization for multiple vehicle-mounted cameras. Bonev relates to the field of precision motion control/micro-displacement stages, solving the technical problem of high rigidity, singularity-free configurations, and micro-nano level planar positioning. Natroshvili and Bonev belong to two completely different technical fields i.e., vision calibration and precision machinery, and the technical problems they solve have no overlap therefore, there is no motivation to cross-apply them.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the combination of references Nastroshvili and Bonev address the limitation of controlling/orienting the moving plates. and orienting the although the core solution of Bonev includes “high-precision planar positioning” the reference includes sliding blocks, i.e. mobile plates and a mechanism to position the sliding blocks. Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that Bonev is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, precision/accuracy is necessary when calibrating and/or synchronizing devices.
With regards to (pg. ): “Second, based on the analysis above, Bonev does not disclose the above distinguishing technical features of Claim 1 of the present application. That is, Bonev does not involve calibration plates, multi-interlocking slide rails on walls, etc., and the structures are not equivalently replaceable. Moreover, the technical solution of Claim 1 of the present application achieves the technical effect of "realizing fully automatic, batch extrinsic parameter calibration for multiple cameras in a closed space, with strong anti-interference, high efficiency, and adaptability to multiple vehicle models". In contrast, Bonev achieves the technical effect of "micro-nano level precision planar positioning". The technical effects and objectives are completely different. The solution of Bonev is primarily used in high-precision load scenarios such as lithography alignment and micro-machining, which is unrelated to the vehicle camera calibration scenario.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the combination of references Nastroshvili, Bonev and Sakano are used to address the technical features of claim 1. Additionally, Sakano was used to address the calibration of multiple cameras, Lyu addresses the interlocking feature of the calibration plates, and Bonev addresses the calibration plates limitation of controlling/orienting the moving plates. Lastly, the Examiner submits that according to MPEP 2145, “One cannot show
nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are
based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871
(CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Where a rejection of a claim is based on two or more references, a reply that is limited
to what a subset of the applied references teaches or fails to teach, or that fails to
address the combined teaching of the applied references may be considered to be an
argument that attacks the reference(s) individually. Where an applicant’s reply
establishes that each of the applied references fails to teach a limitation and addresses
the combined teachings and/or suggestions of the applied prior art, the reply as a whole
does not attack the references individually as the phrase is used in Keller and reliance
on Keller would not be appropriate. This is because "[T]he test for obviousness is what
the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to [a PHOSITA]." In re
Mouttet, 686 F.3d 1322, 1333, 103 USPQ2d 1219, 1226 (Fed. Cir. 2012).”
With regards to (pg. ):“Thus, through the above analysis, it can be seen that neither Natroshvili nor Bonev discloses technical features such as "slide rails on walls, multiple mobile calibration plates, interlocking control". Moreover, the technical fields of Natroshvili and Bonev are completely different, and their technical solutions have no association; there is no implicit suggestion to combine them. At the same time, a person skilled in the art, in the context of vehicle-mounted camera calibration, would not think of, nor need to, introduce a complex precision parallel mechanism to solve the calibration problem. Therefore, a person skilled in the art would have no motivation to combine the precision motion mechanism of Bonev with the vehicle-mounted surround view calibration of Natroshvili and would not arrive at the technical solution of Claim 1 of the present application.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the combination of references Nastroshvili, Bonev, Sakano, and Lyu are used to address the technical features of claim 1. Sakano addresses mounted camera calibration and more specifically and Lyu is used to address the “interlocking control” of the mobile plates, a mobile calibration plate-a-chessboard calibration plate.
With regards to (pg. ): “With respect to the above distinguishing technical features, Lyu discloses a vehicle camera calibration device, comprising: a chassis, a parallelism adjustment assembly, a calibration plate bracket, a laser line projector, a control device, and a calibration plate arranged on the calibration plate bracket. The parallelism adjustment assembly includes a horizontal rotation system and two rangefinders arranged on the horizontal rotation system for measuring distance to the vehicle body. The control device is electrically connected to the horizontal rotation system to control its rotation. The rangefinders, laser line projector, and calibration plate bracket are all connected to the horizontal rotation system and can rotate synchronously therewith. The line connecting the two rangefinders is parallel to the plane of the calibration plate. It can be seen that Lyu only discloses a single calibration plate installed on a chassis bracket with casters, which requires manual movement. It also does not involve multi-plate synchronous control, nor does it involve technical features such as "slide rails on walls" or "multi-plate interlocking". Consequently, it cannot achieve the effect of batch and efficient calibration in a closed space as in the present application.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the combination of references Nastroshvili, Bonev, Sakano, and Lyu are used to address the technical features of claim 4 including a mobile chessboard calibration plate and a locking device. Additionally, precision/accuracy is necessary when calibrating/synchronizing devices, i.e. cameras and calibration plates. Lastly, the Examiner submits that according to MPEP 2145, “One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871(CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Where a rejection of a claim is based on two or more references, a reply that is limited to what a subset of the applied references teaches or fails to teach, or that fails to address the combined teaching of the applied references may be considered to be an argument that attacks the reference(s) individually. Where an applicant’s reply establishes that each of the applied references fails to teach a limitation and addresses the combined teachings and/or suggestions of the applied prior art, the reply as a whole does not attack the references individually as the phrase is used in Keller and reliance on Keller would not be appropriate. This is because "[T]he test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to [a PHOSITA]." In re Mouttet, 686 F.3d 1322, 1333, 103 USPQ2d 1219, 1226 (Fed. Cir. 2012).”
With regards to (pg. ): “Thus, because Natroshvili, Bonev, and Lyu belong respectively to the fields of vehicle camera calibration, precision motion mechanisms, single calibration plate devices, etc., their technical fields and the technical problems they solve are different; therefore, there is no suggestion to combine them. Moreover, even if the above multiple documents were combined, they would not achieve the overall effect attained by Claim 1 of the present application, i.e., using multiple wall-mounted calibration plates in a closed space that are fully automatically movable in all directions, thereby achieving batch extrinsic parameter calibration of multiple camera devices with strong anti-noise and anti-interference capabilities. In summary, with respect to Natroshvili, Bonev, and Lyu, the technical solution claimed in Claim 1 of the present application cannot be obtained, and the technical effect achieved by the technical solution of Claim 1 cannot be attained. Therefore, the technical solution claimed in Claim 1 of the present application is non-obvious over the combination of Natroshvili, Bonev, and Lyu.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the combination of references Nastroshvili, Bonev, and Sakano are used to address the technical features of claim 1. With regards to “extrinsic parameter calibration of multiple camera devices with strong anti-noise and anti-interference capabilities”, the claims do not include anti-noise and anti-interference. However, Sakano is used to address the calibration of multiple cameras and also includes the use of calibration patterns, i.e. plates.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/ALEXANDER SATANOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857