DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of the preliminary amendment filed 12/29/22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 13, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Natroshvili et al. (US20120287232), hereinafter referred to as ‘Natroshvili’ and in further view of Bonev et al. (US20080229860), hereinafter referred to as ‘Bonev’.
Regarding Claim 1, Natroshvili an extrinsic parameter calibration device for multiple camera devices, comprising (described wherein is a calibration system for calibrating a surround view system of an object, such as a vehicle. The calibration system may be implemented via calibration logic that may include software, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof. The surround view system may have plurality of cameras, such as cameras having a fisheye lens… The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]): a plurality calibration plates, configured to complete extrinsic parameter calibration on all the multiple camera devices (A set of markers, i.e., calibration plates, may be arranged by the logic in various patterns. Such patterns may include a checkerboard pattern, for example. A checkerboard pattern may include the markers in a single plane, such that the markers are coplanar. Further, the check board pattern may be three-dimensional or two-dimensional plane, such as quadratic or flat plane, respectively [0025]), wherein each mobile calibration plate is disposed on a slide rail (FIG. 2 shows an example of a checkerboard test pattern 4 as viewed by four cameras (e.g., cameras with fisheye lenses), where the views with these cameras are denoted as 3F (front), 3B (rear/back), 3L (left), and 3R (right) [0040]), and the slide rail is disposed on a wall in the set space; and a control device, configured to control each mobile calibration plate in the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide along the slide rail corresponding to the mobile calibration plate- wherein the control device is further configured to control slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relationship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plate is located.
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose a plurality of mobile calibration plates, configured to complete extrinsic parameter calibration on all the multiple camera devices on a mobile carrier that is disposed in a set space and that carries the multiple camera devices, wherein each mobile calibration plate is disposed on a slide rail, and the slide rail is disposed on a wall in the set space; and a control device, configured to control each mobile calibration plate in the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide along the slide rail corresponding to the mobile calibration plate- wherein the control device is further configured to control slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relationship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plate is located.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses a plurality of mobile plates, on a mobile carrier that is disposed in a set space and that carries the multiple camera devices (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]), wherein each mobile calibration plate is disposed on a slide rail, and the slide rail is disposed on a wall in the set space (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2, i.e., slide rail, (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]); and a control device, configured to control each mobile calibration plate in the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide along the slide rail corresponding to the mobile calibration plate (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2, i.e., slide rail, (moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033])- wherein the control device is further configured to control slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relationship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plate is located (To control the position (x, y), i.e., to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward, and orientation (.theta.) of the moving platform 2, actuators 6 and 7, i.e., slide rails, are driven independently, while actuators 3a and 3b are driven with the same inputs, but independently from actuators 6 and 7 [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 3, Natroshvili, and Bonev disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 2.
Natroshvili discloses controlling, by the control device, the calibration plate to slide along the corresponding slide rail (as discussed above), at least one of the following moving modes can be implemented: set-unit movement, set-length movement, and continuous movement (as discussed above).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose controlling, by the control device, the mobile calibration plate to slide along the corresponding slide rail, at least one of the following moving modes can be implemented: set-unit movement, set-length movement, and continuous movement; a regression button is provided on the control device; and the control device is further configured to control the plurality of mobile calibration plates to be regressed to an initial position by using the regression button.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses controlling, by the control device, the calibration plate to slide along the corresponding slide rail, at least one of the following moving modes can be implemented: set-unit movement, set-length movement, and continuous movement (The first guide rail 12 and the second guide rail 13 are both used to guide the movement of the first connecting plate 231 to ensure smooth movement [0065]; The calibration plate 50 is set on the calibration plate bracket 30 through the third guide rail 31 and the fourth guide rail 32, so that the calibration plate 50 can be moved up and down in the vertical direction, i.e., set-unit movement, which is conducive to adjusting the position of the calibration plate 50 and facilitating capture by the vehicle camera [0068]); a regression button is provided on the control device (The first connecting plate is fixed on the first slider and the second slider, the first transmission system, i.e., regression button, is connected to the first slider to drive the first slider to move along the first guide rail [0025]); and the control device is further configured to control the calibration plate to be regressed to an initial position by using the regression button (The first connecting plate is fixed on the first slider and the second slider, the first transmission system is connected to the first slider to drive the first slider to move along the first guide rail [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 5, Natroshvili, and Bonev disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Natroshvili discloses a size of the set space is set based on a size of the carrier (FIG. 2 shows an example of a checkerboard test pattern 4 as viewed by four cameras (e.g., cameras with fisheye lenses), where the views with these cameras are denoted as 3F (front), 3B (rear/back), 3L (left), and 3R (right), i.e., set space and size [0040]).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose a size of the set space is set based on a size of the mobile carrier.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses the mobile carrier (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 6, Natroshvili, and Bonev disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Natroshvili discloses the device further comprises: a limiting guide that is disposed on a ground of the set space, and is configured to limit a position of the carrier in the set space (In a case of a surround view system for a vehicle, such cameras may be positioned in side mirrors of the vehicle. A central computer may process data obtained from the cameras. Also, the cameras may be positioned at various locations, i.e., limiting guide, of a vehicle to detect moving and stationary objects of the surroundings. For example, the cameras may monitor other objects moving perpendicular or parallel with respect to the vehicle [0019];FIG. 2 shows an example of a checkerboard test pattern 4 as viewed by four cameras (e.g., cameras with fisheye lenses), where the views with these cameras are denoted as 3F (front), 3B (rear/back), 3L (left), and 3R (right), i.e., set space and size [0040]).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose the device further comprises: a limiting guide that is disposed on a ground of the set space, and is configured to limit a position of the mobile carrier in the set space.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses the mobile carrier (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 7, Natroshvili an extrinsic parameter calibration device for multiple camera devices, the method comprising: (described wherein is a calibration system for calibrating a surround view system of an object, such as a vehicle. The calibration system may be implemented via calibration logic that may include software, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof. The surround view system may have plurality of cameras, such as cameras having a fisheye lens… The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]): wherein the set space comprises a calibration plate (A set of markers may be arranged by the logic in various patterns. Such patterns may include a checkerboard pattern, for example. A checkerboard pattern may include the markers in a single plane, such that the markers are coplanar. Further, the check board pattern may be three-dimensional or two-dimensional plane, such as quadratic or flat plane, respectively [0025]; A set of markers, i.e., calibration plates, may be arranged by the logic in various patterns. Such patterns may include a checkerboard pattern, for example. A checkerboard pattern may include the markers in a single plane, such that the markers are coplanar. Further, the check board pattern may be three-dimensional or two-dimensional plane, such as quadratic or flat plane, respectively [0025]), wherein each mobile calibration plate is disposed on a slide rail (FIG. 2 shows an example of a checkerboard test pattern 4 as viewed by four cameras (e.g., cameras with fisheye lenses), where the views with these cameras are denoted as 3F (front), 3B (rear/back), 3L (left), and 3R (right) [0040]), controlling the calibration plate corresponding to each of the camera device (For example, assuming that intrinsic calibration for each camera 2F, 2B, 2L, and 2R of the surround view system of FIG. 1 is predetermined and has been achieved by a known calibration method, the logic's determination of extrinsic parameters may be decoupled from the calibration of intrinsic parameters. The extrinsic parameters, which may be rotational and translational parameters, may be derivable from a plane providing a set of test markers, such as the checkerboard test patterns shown in FIG. 2, for which dimensions of the patterns may be known [0043]), and performing extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices (described wherein is a calibration system for calibrating a surround view system of an object, such as a vehicle. The calibration system may be implemented via calibration logic that may include software, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof. The surround view system may have plurality of cameras, such as cameras having a fisheye lens… The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose detecting entrance of a mobile carrier that carries of the multiple camera devices into a set space, wherein the set space comprises a plurality of mobile calibration plates; controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices; and performing extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices based on the plurality of mobile calibration plates; wherein the controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices comprises: controlling each of the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide on at least one slide rail which is disposed on a wall in the set place, and controlling slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relation-ship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plates are located, to move each of the mobile calibration plates to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses detecting entrance of a mobile carrier (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]), a plurality of mobile calibration plates (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]); controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]); and the plurality of mobile calibration plates (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]); wherein the controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]): controlling each of the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide on at least one slide rail which is disposed on a wall in the set place (Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]), and controlling slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relation-ship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plates are located, to move each of the mobile calibration plates to the position (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; To control the position (x, y), i.e., to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward, and orientation (.theta.) of the moving platform 2, actuators 6 and 7, i.e., slide rails, are driven independently, while actuators 3a and 3b are driven with the same inputs, but independently from actuators 6 and 7 [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 9, Natroshvili, and Bonev disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 7.
Natroshvili discloses the method further comprises: in response to completing the extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices (as discussed above).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose the method further comprises: in response to completing the extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices, automatically returning the plurality of mobile calibration plates to an initial position.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses the mobile calibration plate (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 13, Natroshvili discloses a computer readable storage medium, wherein the storage medium stores a computer program; and when the computer program is executed, an extrinsic parameter calibration method for multiple camera devices is implemented, wherein the extrinsic parameter calibration method comprises (A central computer may process data obtained from the cameras. Also, the cameras may be positioned at various locations of a vehicle to detect moving and stationary objects of the surroundings [0019]; described wherein is a calibration system for calibrating a surround view system of an object, such as a vehicle. The calibration system may be implemented via calibration logic that may include software, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof. The surround view system may have plurality of cameras, such as cameras having a fisheye lens… The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]) detecting entrance of a carrier that carries of the multiple camera devices into a set space (…The surround view system may have plurality of cameras, such as cameras having a fisheye lens… The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]), ,and performing extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices based on the plurality of calibration plates (as discussed above); wherein the controlling the plurality of calibration plates to a position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices comprises (A set of markers may be arranged by the logic in various patterns. Such patterns may include a checkerboard pattern, for example. A checkerboard pattern may include the markers in a single plane, such that the markers are coplanar. Further, the check board pattern may be three-dimensional or two-dimensional plane, such as quadratic or flat plane, respectively [0025]), the multiple camera devices (For example, assuming that intrinsic calibration for each camera 2F, 2B, 2L, and 2R of the surround view system of FIG. 1 is predetermined and has been achieved by a known calibration method, the logic's determination of extrinsic parameters may be decoupled from the calibration of intrinsic parameters. The extrinsic parameters, which may be rotational and translational parameters, may be derivable from a plane providing a set of test markers, such as the checkerboard test patterns shown in FIG. 2, for which dimensions of the patterns may be known [0043];FIG. 2 shows an example of a checkerboard test pattern 4 as viewed by four cameras (e.g., cameras with fisheye lenses), where the views with these cameras are denoted as 3F (front), 3B (rear/back), 3L (left), and 3R (right) [0040]) and performing extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices (described wherein is a calibration system for calibrating a surround view system of an object, such as a vehicle. The calibration system may be implemented via calibration logic that may include software, hardware, firmware, or a combination thereof. The surround view system may have plurality of cameras, such as cameras having a fisheye lens… The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose detecting entrance of a mobile carrier that carries of the multiple camera devices into a set space, wherein the set space comprises a plurality of mobile calibration plates; controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices; and performing extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices based on the plurality of mobile calibration plates; wherein the controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices comprises: controlling each of the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide on at least one slide rail which is disposed on a wall in the set place, and controlling slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relation-ship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plates are located, to move each of the mobile calibration plates to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses detecting entrance of a mobile carrier that carries (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]), wherein the set space comprises a plurality of mobile calibration plates (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]); controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]); plurality of mobile plates (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]); wherein the controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]): controlling each of the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide on at least one slide rail which is disposed on a wall in the set place (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; Sliding blocks 8 and 9, i.e., mobile plates, are mounted onto sliding blocks 12 and 13 of actuators 6 and 7, i.e., mobile carrier, through pivots 10 and 11 whose centers lie on the axes 6a and 7a, thereby forming the R-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. A linear guide 5 that is rigidly attached to the moving platform 2 passes through the sliding blocks 8 and 9, thereby forming the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3. The direction of the unactuated P-joints of the PRP legs A2 and A3 are parallel, and are therefore represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 5a, passing through the centers of all R-joints [0036]), and controlling slide between a plurality of the slide rails that have a connection relation-ship, so as to control each of the mobile calibration plates to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward on a plane corresponding to the wall where the mobile calibration plates are located, to move each of the mobile calibration plates to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices (Referring to FIG. 3, the planar parallel mechanism A of FIG. 2 is represented as mechanically implemented in one embodiment. The mechanism A has a moving platform 2 (i.e., moving portion to support a load) that is mounted through a pivot 15 onto a sliding block 14, thereby forming an equivalent to the R-joint of the PPR leg A1. The sliding block 14 translates along a linear guide 16, thereby forming the unactuated P-joint of the PPR leg A1. The direction of translation of the sliding block 14 is along the Y axis, and is represented for illustrative purposes by an axis 16a. The axis 16a passes through the center of the R-joint of leg A1 [0033]; To control the position (x, y), i.e., to slide upward, downward, leftward, and rightward, and orientation (.theta.) of the moving platform 2, actuators 6 and 7, i.e., slide rails, are driven independently, while actuators 3a and 3b are driven with the same inputs, but independently from actuators 6 and 7 [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 15, Natroshvili, and Bonev disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 13.
Natroshvili discloses the controlling the plurality of calibration plates to move to a position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices comprises (as discussed above).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose the controlling the plurality of mobile calibration plates to move to a position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices comprises: controlling each of the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide on at least one slide rail, to move the mobile calibration plate to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses the calibration plate to move to a position: controlling each of the calibration plates to slide on at least one slide rail (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to move the mobile calibration plate to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 16, Natroshvili, and Bonev disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 13.
Natroshvili discloses the method further comprises: in response to completing the extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices, (as discussed above).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose the method further comprises: in response to completing the extrinsic parameter calibration on the multiple camera devices, automatically returning the plurality of mobile calibration plates to an initial position.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses the mobile calibration plate (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to move the mobile calibration plate to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 17, Natroshvili, and Bonev disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Natroshvili discloses the calibration plate is a chess board plate (as discussed above).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose the mobile calibration plate is a chess board plate.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses the mobile calibration plate (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to move the mobile calibration plate to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 18, Natroshvili, and Bonev disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 2.
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose a vertical slide rail of the slide rails is movably connected to a transverse slide rail of the slide rails which is horizontally disposed.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses a slide rail of the slide rails is movably connected to a transverse slide rail of the slide rails (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to move the mobile calibration plate to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 19, Natroshvili, and Bonev disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 6.
Natroshvili discloses the device further comprises a plurality of fixed calibration plates, which are disposed on the ground of the set space and are disposed around the limiting guide in the set space (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 20, Natroshvili, and Bonev disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 8.
Natroshvili discloses the controlling each of the calibration plate (as discussed above).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose the controlling each of the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide on at least one slide rail comprises: controlling each of the plurality of mobile calibration plates to slide on the plurality of slide rails according to at least one moving mode, wherein the at least one moving mode includes set-unit movement, set-length movement, and continuous movement.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses the controlling each of the calibration plate to slide on at least one slide rail comprises: controlling each of the calibration plate to slide on the plurality of slide rails (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to move the mobile calibration plate to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Regarding Claim 21, Natroshvili, and Bonev disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 9.
Natroshvili discloses the automatically returning the mobile calibration plate comprises: determining a moving distance of the calibration plate in at least one direction (The calibration system may include positioning a set of markers on a plane at least partially surrounding the object. The plane may be in a field of view of a camera of the surround view system, and the camera may include a predetermined intrinsic calibration. The calibration system may also include determining a first plurality of extrinsic parameters of the camera with respect to the set of markers. The calibration system may repeat the positioning of the set of markers and the determination of the first plurality of extrinsic parameters for at least one other camera of the surround view system [0006]); and returning the mobile calibration plate to the initial position based on the moving distance in at least one direction (The logic may be configured to position a set of markers spaced apart by predetermined dimensions. The positioned markers may be located on a single plane at least partially surrounding the object. The positioned markers may also be in a field of view of at least one of the cameras [0024]).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose the automatically returning the mobile calibration plate comprises: determining a moving distance of the calibration plate in at least one direction based on a distance between a coordinate of a current position of the mobile calibration plate and a coordinate of the initial position and returning the mobile calibration plate to the initial position based on the moving distance in at least one direction.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses determining a moving distance of the mobile calibration (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to move the mobile calibration plate to the position corresponding to each of the multiple camera devices and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natroshvili and Bonev, and further in view of Lyu et al. (CN210895554) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lyu’.
Regarding Claim 4, Natroshvili, and Bonev disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Natroshvili discloses each calibration plate is further provided with a locking device for locking a position of the mobile calibration-a-chessboard calibration plate when power is off (A set of markers may be arranged by the logic in various patterns. Such patterns may include a checkerboard pattern, for example. A checkerboard pattern may include the markers in a single plane, such that the markers are coplanar. Further, the check board pattern may be three-dimensional or two-dimensional plane, such as quadratic or flat plane, respectively [0025]).
However, Natroshvili does not explicitly disclose each mobile calibration plate is further provided with a locking device for locking a position of the mobile calibration-a-chessboard calibration plate when power is off.
Nevertheless, Bonev discloses each mobile calibration plate (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili with the teachings of Bonev to control a variation of orientation accurate of the calibration plate and directly control the displacement of the moving plate accuracy.
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose each mobile calibration plate is further provided with a locking device for locking a position of the mobile calibration-a-chessboard calibration plate when power is off.
Nevertheless, Lyu discloses calibration plate is further provided with a locking device for locking a position of the mobile calibration-a-chessboard calibration plate (each mobile calibration plate is further provided with a locking device for locking a position of the mobile calibration-a-chessboard calibration plate when power is off [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nastroshvili and Bonev with the teachings of Lyu to maintain the position of the calibration plate to ensure an accurate and reliable reading.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3-7, 9, 13, and 16-21 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Bonev.
With regards to (pg.) “It can be seen that, in Natroshvili, the extrinsic parameters of a camera are calculated from a set of positioned markers. That is to say, in Natroshvili, the marks have been positioned, and Natroshvili does not involve the slide rail or the control device… Therefore, the mobile calibration plates in the present
disclosure are different from the positioned markers in Natroshvili, and thus Natroshvili does not disclose the slide rails and the control device in the present disclosure”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that although there are positioned markers and the parameters are being calculated from those positions , modifying Natroshvili with the teachings of Bonev would increase the values to be calibrated and improve the accuracy of the calibration values.
With respect to disclosing. “With respect to the above distinguishing technical features (a) to (c), first, the technical problem solved by Natroshvili is how to improve the flexibility of the calibration of a camera of the surrounding view system… In contrast, the technical problem solved by the present disclosure is how to reduce the complexity of the calibration process and improve the calibration efficiency…Therefore, Natroshvili is different from the present disclosure in terms of the solved technical problems and the adopted technical solutions”.
The Examiner disagrees and submits that Natroshvili has the multiple cameras and an extrinsic parameter calibration device both of these limitations are similar to the instant application which are necessary to establish an accuracy of a calibration result and algorithm stability. Additionally, Natroshvili along with Bonev’s mobile carriers and mobile plates would improve data collection and accuracy of a calibration result.
With respect to disclosing, “Natroshvili, it can be seen that Natroshvili acquires the images of the positioned markers by the cameras, calculates the extrinsic parameters of one camera relative to other cameras by using the overlapping region of the fields of view of the cameras, and optimizes all the extrinsic parameters by using an optimization algorithm, without precisely fixing the position of the surrounding view system, which improves the flexibility of calibration of the camera of the surrounding view system... It can be seen that, on this basis, Natroshvili no longer has the technical problem of how to reduce the complexity of the calibration process and improve its calibration efficiency in the present disclosure, and thus, Natroshvili does not provide any technical enlightenment into calibrating a plurality of extrinsic camera parameters by combining with other prior art to solve the technical problem of the present disclosure”.
The Examiner disagrees and submits that Natroshvili has the multiple cameras and an extrinsic parameter calibration device both of these limitations are similar to the instant application which are necessary to establish an accuracy of a calibration result and algorithm stability. Additionally, Natroshvili along with Bonev’s mobile carriers and mobile plates would improve data collection and accuracy of a calibration result.
With respect to disclosing, “However, according to amended claim 1 and paragraphs [0059] and [00101] of the specification of the present disclosure, by disposing a plurality of mobile calibration plates in a set space, the present disclosure can be applied to various different mobile carriers for mass-production calibration, thereby effectively improving accuracy of a calibration result, but also greatly reduce the interference such as noise generated by the outside world because the extrinsic parameter calibration is completed in the set space, thereby improving the anti- noise and anti-interference capabilities of the extrinsic parameter calibration, and having strong robustness. Since Natroshvili does not involve the mobile calibration plates, nor does it involve the extrinsic parameter calibration of the camera device on the mobile carrier in the set space, Natroshvili cannot realize the above-described technical effects of the present disclosure. It can be seen that the technical problem solved and the technical solution adopted by Natroshvili are different from those of amended claim 1, and Natroshvili does not disclose the above-mentioned distinguishing technical features (a) to (c), and cannot achieve the corresponding technical effects of the present disclosure.
The Examiner disagrees and submits that Natroshvili has a plurality of cameras and an extrinsic parameter calibration device both of these limitations are similar to the instant application which are necessary to establish an accuracy of a calibration result and algorithm stability. Additionally, Natroshvili along with Bonev’s mobile carriers and mobile plates would improve data collection and accuracy of a calibration result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheng Qin (US20180330471) discloses obtaining a first image acquired by a first camera and a second image acquired by a second camera and there is an overlapping area between the acquired first image and second image.
Tsukasa Honda (US20170053439) discloses a method for generating camerawork information, an apparatus for generating camerawork information.
Henry Chen (US20150208040) discloses determining a plurality of parameters of a video camera installed at a particular location in a facility based on a projection of an image captured by the video camera.
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857