DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 10/1/25 have been received. Claims 1-4, 6, and 7 have been amended.
Specification
3. Acknowledgement is made of amendments to the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2018/0269436).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an electronic apparatus([0060]-[0061]), comprising: a laminated battery including: a battery element([0028], Example 1, Fig. 1); and a laminate film having a resin layer(laminate sheet including a metal layer and a resin layer [0043]), wherein the laminate film covers the battery element([0028], [0043]); and a hard film (protective film 151, Fig. 2, [0030], protective film 231, Fig. 5, [0034], [0051]-[0052]) bonded to each of a first portion of a surface of the laminated battery and an entire edge part of the laminated battery([0030], [0034]), wherein the hard film excludes a second portion of the surface of the laminated battery, the second portion corresponds to a central portion of the surface of the laminated battery(front surface 130, Fig. 2, front surface 206, Fig. 5), the hard film comprises a specific material(protective film may include a film substrate, made of a polymer resin or a resin composite, and an adhesive layer, [0051]-[0052]), and the specific material has an elongation percentage smaller than an elongation percentage of the resin layer(a thermally conductive metal or inorganic layer may be at least partially coated on at least one surface of the film substrate [0052]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses further comprising a support configured to support the laminated battery(housing of a device such as a mobile electronic device [0061]), wherein the laminated battery is attachable to the support via the hard film([0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses the surface of the laminated battery faces the support ([0061]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses the laminated battery has a flat plate shape ([0054]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses a thickness of the hard film is in a range from 30 to 100 µm ([0057]) which is identical to the claim range from 30 µm to 100 µm, thus reading on the limitation.
According to the MPEP, “"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) See MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses the hard film comprises a resin having an elongation percentage smaller than the elongation percentage of the resin layer (possible to prevent deformation of the pouch shaped battery cell due to the adhesive force of the protective film [0042], [0064]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses a laminated battery ([0028], Example 1, Fig. 1), comprising a main body including: a battery element (Example 1); and a laminate film having a resin layer (laminate sheet including a metal layer and a resin layer [0043]), wherein the laminate film covers the battery element ([0028], [0043]), a hard film (protective film 151, Fig. 2, [0030], protective film 231, Fig. 5, [0034], [0051]-[0052]) is bonded to each of a first portion of a surface of the main body and an entire edge part of the main body ([0030], [0034]), the hard film excludes a second portion of the surface of the main body, the second portion corresponds to a central portion of the surface of the main body (front surface 130, Fig. 2, front surface 206, Fig. 5), and the hard film comprises a specific material (protective film may include a film substrate, made of a polymer resin or a resin composite, and an adhesive layer, [0051]-[0052]) having an elongation percentage smaller than an elongation percentage of the resin layer (a thermally conductive metal or inorganic layer may be at least partially coated on at least one surface of the film substrate [0052]).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724