Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, lines 10-13, filed 7/25/2025, with respect to claim 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant argues, “Lee at least fails to disclose or teach ‘controlling, by a 4G chip, on-off states of an amplification uplink and an amplification downlink based on the timeslot ratio information; wherein the controlling, by the 4G chip, the on-off states of the amplification uplink and the amplification downlink based on the timeslot ratio information comprises: controlling, by the 4G chip, a preset guard time interval to exist between an end time instant of the amplification downlink and a start time instant of the amplification uplink1 as recited in current claim 1.” The applicant continues, “Ding, Shi, Jung, Li, Forbes, Wang and Ji cited not for rejecting the above differentiated features are also silent on controlling on-off states of an amplification uplink and an amplification downlink based on the timeslot ratio information, and controlling a preset guard time interval to exist between an end time instant of the amplification downlink and a start time instant of the amplification uplink, and thus also fail to disclose the above differentiated features.”
The examiner calls attention to the prior art of YU et al. (US 20160192355 A1, hereinafter, “YU”) in regards to “wherein the 4G chip is further configured to: control a preset guard time interval to exist between an end time instant of the amplification downlink and a start time instant of the amplification uplink.” YU writes, “The guard time slot in the special sub-frame is a blank time slot, which is used to provide the time required by the RF switching from DL to UL, maintain the UL sending timing advance of the UL synchronization, provide the fixed UL sending timing advance required by the RF switching from UL to DL, and necessarily prevent the interference resulted from the sending from DL to UL” (paragraph 0067). YU adds, “...wherein obtaining configuration information comprises: obtaining indication information indicating the number of special sub-frames, locations of the special sub-frames, and configuration of each time slot in the special sub-frames from a control signal received on the first carrier; obtaining indication information indicating uplink-downlink sub-frame ratio in frame structure of the second carrier from a control signal received on the first carrier or the second carrier...” (paragraph 0022). YU states the guard time slot is a frame that is used to provide the time required by the RF switching from DL to UL. YU indicates the configuration information comprises: obtaining indication information including configuration of each time slot from a control signal, and obtaining indication information indicating uplink-downlink sub-frame ratio in frame structure. Therefore, a preset guard time is determined based on the length of the uplink and downlink timeslots.
The examiner draws on the prior art of YU in combination with DING, JUNG, SHI, and LEE to teach the methods and apparatuses described in claims 1 and 11-12. Therefore, claims 1 and 11-12 are rejected on new grounds relying on reference(s) not applied in the prior rejection(s) for any matter specifically challenged.
Since the independent claim(s) 1 and 11-12 remain rejected, the rejection of dependent claim(s)
3-9, 14-20, and 21, also remain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 9, 11-12, 14-15, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DING et al. (US 20220264470 A1, hereinafter, "DING") in view of JUNG et al. (US 20200053606 A1, hereinafter, "JUNG"), SHI et. al. (US 20180227890 A1, hereinafter, "SHI"), LEE et al. (US 20080159743 A1, hereinafter, "LEE"), and YU et al. (US 20160192355 A1, hereinafter, "YU").
Regarding claim 11, DING teaches wherein the 5G chip is configured to perform cell search and
synchronization with a base station,
DING writes, “When the terminal is powered on, the terminal needs to perform search in a cell and
achieve synchronization. In a cell search procedure, the terminal receives downlink synchronization
signals: a primary synchronization signal (primary synchronization signal, PSS) and a secondary
synchronization signal (secondary synchronization signal, SSS) that are sent by a network device”
(paragraph 0116). DING continues, “A communications interface 301 may be used by the terminal 300
to communicate with another communications device, for example, a base station. Specifically, the base
station may be a network device 400 shown in FIG. 9. The communications interface 301 is an interface
between the terminal processor 304 and a transceiver system (including the transmitter 306 and the
receiver 308), for example, an X1 interface in LTE. In specific implementation, the communications
interface 301 may include one or more of a global system for mobile communications (Global System for
Mobile Communications, GSM) (2G) communications interface, a wideband code division multiple access (Wideband Code Division Multiple Access, WCDMA) (3G) communications interface, a Long Term
Evolution (Long Term Evolution, LTE) (4G) communications interface, and the like, or may be a
communications interface of 4.5G, 5G, or future new radio” (paragraph 0162). DING indicates the
terminal performs a cell search and achieve synchronization, which may be executed by one or more
module(s). A communications interface of 5G, DING specifies, may be used by the terminal to communicate with the base station.
DING fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “a communication device, comprising a 5G chip and a 4G chip,”
However, in analogous art, JUNG teaches a communication device, comprising a 5G chip and a 4G chip,
JUNG writes, “In the disclosure, when the 4G/5G modem is mounted on a wireless communication device in the two-chip form, the interworking between the 4G/5G modems may be provided under the dual connectivity structure, a low-speed direct interface may be connected between the 4G/5G modems, and the high-speed interface may be provided between the application processors 101 and the 4G modem 120 and between the application processor 101 and the 5G modem 220 for the user interface” (paragraph 0067; figure 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of DING to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by JUNG that "relate to a wireless communication device and a method for controlling the same, and, more particularly, to a wireless communication device capable of communicating in different frequency bands, and a method for controlling the same." JUNG provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “The cellular wireless communication device according to the disclosure can perform the smooth communication in the 4G and 5G, and at the same time provide the method for interworking between the modem chip and the processor as well as between the modem chips having different hardware configurations to perform the smooth communication." (paragraph 0012).
DING fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and acquire timeslot ratio information
of an uplink timeslot and a downlink timeslot;”
However, in analogous art, SHI teaches and acquire timeslot ratio information of an uplink
timeslot and a downlink timeslot;
SHI writes, “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a frame structure of a 5G high-frequency system. To be
compatible with a frame structure of an existing LTE system, the 5G high-frequency system uses a frame
length design of the LTE system. A frame still uses a delay of 10 ms (ms). A frame is divided into 10
subframes and each subframe has a delay of 1 ms. The subframe may further be divided into 10
timeslots (slots). Each timeslot may include different quantities of orthogonal frequency division
multiplexing (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing, OFDM) symbols due to different working
frequencies. In each timeslot, optionally, all the symbols may be used for uplink data transmission or
downlink data transmission. According to different uplink and downlink timeslot ratios, different
quantities of timeslots in a subframe of 10 timeslots may be separately selected to be used
for uplink or downlink data transmission. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, an uplink-
downlink timeslot ratio 5:5 is used as an example. The first five timeslots are used for downlink data
transmission, the last five timeslots are used for uplink data transmission, and a period of time is
reserved for switching between uplink and downlink timeslots” (paragraph 0098). SHI adds, “FIG. 10 is a
schematic block diagram of UE 600 for transmitting control information in a wireless communications
system according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. The UE 600 includes: a determining
module 610, configured to determine a time domain resource used by a control channel, where the
control channel is configured to transmit control information of a plurality of UEs, the UE is one of the
plurality of UEs, and the time domain resource includes polling time of a plurality of beams; and a
transceiving module 620, configured to receive or send control information of the UE within the polling
time of the plurality of beams included in the time domain resource determined by the determining
module 610 (paragraphs 0207-0209). SHI indicates the use of timeslot ratio information of an uplink and
downlink timeslot. SHI specifies the frame structure of a 5G high-frequency system that comprise the
timeslots. The UE contains a determining module, configured to determine a time domain resource used
by a control channel, and a transceiving module configured to receive or send control information of the
UE, explains SHI. Therefore, a timeslot ratio information may be acquired through a module on a chip for
a 5G high-frequency system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of DING to include aspects of the method
and apparatus described by SHI that "relates to the communications field, and more specifically, to a
method for transmitting control information in a wireless communications system, a base station, and
user equipment (UE)." SHI provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “the base
station does not need to poll the beams that are not allocated to the plurality of UEs. A waste of system
resources is avoided" (paragraph 0120). SHI adds, "extra system overheads caused by complex signaling
interaction are avoided" (paragraph 0099).
DING fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and the 4G chip is configured to control
on-off states of an amplification uplink and an amplification downlink based on the timeslot ratio
information;”
However, in analogous art, LEE teaches and the 4G chip is configured to control on-off states of
an amplification uplink and an amplification downlink based on the timeslot ratio information;
LEE writes, “The HPA 370 amplifies the electrically converted downlink signal to an effective predefined
power level/range for transmitting the downlink signal over the air by an antenna according to HPA
control information analyzed by the control signal generator 390. The second switch 375 switches on/off
according to time control information Δt analyzed by the control signal generator 390, selectively
establishes a downlink signal path, and radiates the amplified downlink signal received from the HPA
370 to an MS through an antenna (paragraph 0050). When the remote 350 receives an uplink signal
from the MS through the antenna according to remote-on/off information analyzed by the control signal
generator 390, the second switch 375 switches on/off according to time control information Δt analyzed
by the control signal generator 390 and selectively establishes an uplink signal path (paragraph 0051).
The LNA 377 amplifies the uplink signal received from the second switch 375 according to LNA control
information analyzed by the control signal generator 390 (paragraph 0052). In this context, Wireless
Broadband (WiBro) and 4th Generation (4G) wireless mobile communications have been proposed to
provide the ultra high-speed wireless Internet service at a significantly lower price than known before,
while ensuring portability and mobility (paragraph 0007). LEE indicates a control signal generator that
analyzes control information, and an on/off switch that operates based on time control information Δt
analyzed by the control signal generator and selectively establishes an uplink signal path. LEE explains
that the LNA amplifies the uplink signal received from the second switch according to LNA control
information analyzed by the control signal generator. Likewise, the HPA amplifies the electrically
converted downlink signal to an effective predefined power level/range for transmitting the downlink
signal over the air by an antenna according to HPA control information analyzed by the control signal
generator. LEE also indicates, the 4th Generation (4G) wireless mobile communications have been
proposed to provide the ultra high-speed wireless Internet service. Therefore, it may be concluded that
the on/off states and amplification occur on a 4G chip. Furthermore, the control information analyzed
by the control signal generator may be based on the timeslot ratio information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of DING to include aspects of the method
and apparatus described by LEE that "relates to optical communications and communications with one
or more remote nodes. More particularly, the present invention relates to a method and system for
controlling a remote node in a Time Division Duplex (TDD) optical repeater." LEE provides motivation for
modification of the invention stating, “In accordance with the present invention as described in the
above examples, a remote can be easily controlled in a TDD optical repeater since control information
for controlling the remote and status information about the remote are transmitted by the respective
main donor 300 and remote 350 in time areas unused by the respective main donor and remote for TDD
signal transmission" (paragraph 0071). LEE adds, "OFDMA/TDMA advantageously increases the data rate
per bandwidth and prevents multipath interference" (paragraph 0009).
DING fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the 4G chip is further configured to: control a preset guard time interval to exist between an end time instant of the amplification downlink and a start time instant of the amplification uplink.”
However, in analogous art, YU teaches wherein the 4G chip is further configured to: control a preset guard time interval to exist between an end time instant of the amplification downlink and a start time instant of the amplification uplink.
YU writes, “The guard time slot in the special sub-frame is a blank time slot, which is used to provide the time required by the RF switching from DL to UL, maintain the UL sending timing advance of the UL synchronization, provide the fixed UL sending timing advance required by the RF switching from UL to DL, and necessarily prevent the interference resulted from the sending from DL to UL” (paragraph 0067). YU adds, “...wherein obtaining configuration information comprises: obtaining indication information indicating the number of special sub-frames, locations of the special sub-frames, and configuration of each time slot in the special sub-frames from a control signal received on the first carrier; obtaining indication information indicating uplink-downlink sub-frame ratio in frame structure of the second carrier from a control signal received on the first carrier or the second carrier...” (paragraph 0022). YU states the guard time slot is a frame that is used to provide the time required by the RF switching from DL to UL. YU indicates the configuration information comprises: obtaining indication information including configuration of each time slot from a control signal, and obtaining indication information indicating uplink-downlink sub-frame ratio in frame structure. Therefore, a preset guard time is determined based on the length of the uplink and downlink timeslots.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of DING to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by YU that "relates to wireless communication technologies, and more particularly, to a hybrid duplex communication method, Base Station (BS) and terminal." YU provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “the present disclosure integrates advantages of the TDD mode and the TDD mode, makes advantages of the TDD mode and the TDD mode complement each other to constitute a hybrid duplex communication system. Thus the working mode of hybrid duplex may be flexibly configured according to network requirements based on conventional paired FDD spectrum, simultaneously the compatibility to a LTE FDD terminal and a LTE TDD terminal may be achieved" (paragraph 0040).
Claim 12 is a memory claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 11 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 11. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as claim 11.
Additionally, DING teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the storage medium stores one or more pieces of computer executable instructions,
DING writes, “All or some of the foregoing embodiments may be implemented by software, hardware, firmware, or any combination thereof. When a software program is used to implement the embodiments, the embodiments may be implemented completely or partially in a form of a computer program product. The computer program product includes one or more computer instructions. When the computer program instructions are loaded and executed on a computer, all or some of the procedure or functions according to the embodiments of this application are generated” (paragraph 0211). DING continues, “When the integrated unit is implemented in a form of a software functional unit and sold or used as an independent product, the integrated unit may be stored in a readable storage medium” (paragraph 0217).
Regarding claim 14, DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, and YU teach the communication device according to claim 11, wherein the 5G chip is further configured to:
Additionally, SHI teaches read a broadcast signal of the base station;
SHI writes, “FIG. 3 is a schematic flowchart of a method 1000 for transmitting control information in a
wireless communications system according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. The
method 1000 may be executed by a base station and includes the following steps. S1100. The base
station determines a time domain resource used by a control channel, where the control channel is
configured to transmit control information of a plurality of UEs, and the time domain resource includes
polling time of a plurality of beams. S1200. The base station receives or sends the control information of
the plurality of UEs within the polling time of the plurality of beams, where control information of each
UE is transmitted through a beam corresponding to the UE” (paragraphs 0100-0102). SHI states the base
station receives or sends control information of a plurality of UEs, thereby, indicating the use of a
multicast or broadcast signal to cast to the UEs. Already addressed above, SHI indicates acquiring, by the
5G chip, the timeslot ratio information of the uplink timeslot and the downlink timeslot.
and acquire the timeslot ratio information of the uplink timeslot and the downlink timeslot from the broadcast signal of the base station.
SHI writes, “FIG. 3 is a schematic flowchart of a method 1000 for transmitting control information in a
wireless communications system according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. The
method 1000 may be executed by a base station and includes the following steps. S1100. The base
station determines a time domain resource used by a control channel, where the control channel is
configured to transmit control information of a plurality of UEs, and the time domain resource includes
polling time of a plurality of beams. S1200. The base station receives or sends the control information of
the plurality of UEs within the polling time of the plurality of beams, where control information of each
UE is transmitted through a beam corresponding to the UE” (paragraphs 0100-0102). SHI states the base
station receives or sends control information of a plurality of UEs, thereby, indicating the use of a
multicast or broadcast signal to cast to the UEs. Already addressed above, SHI indicates acquiring, by the
5G chip, the timeslot ratio information of the uplink timeslot and the downlink timeslot.
Regarding claim 15, DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, and YU teach the communication device according to claim 14, wherein the 5G chip is further configured to:
Additionally, DING teaches read a first system information block;
DING writes, “S103: The terminal may receive first information sent by a network device, where the first
information may indicate a first uplink-downlink configuration” (paragraph 0091; figure 5). DING
indicates a first information sent by a network device. Previously DING specified, a communications
interface of 5G may be used by the terminal to communicate with the base station. DING shares with
readers the first information may indicate a first uplink-downlink configuration, such as the timeslot
ratio information.
and acquire the timeslot ratio information from the first system information block.
DING writes, “S103: The terminal may receive first information sent by a network device, where the first
information may indicate a first uplink-downlink configuration” (paragraph 0091; figure 5). DING
indicates a first information sent by a network device. Previously DING specified, a communications
interface of 5G may be used by the terminal to communicate with the base station. DING shares with
readers the first information may indicate a first uplink-downlink configuration, such as the timeslot
ratio information.
Regarding claim 20, DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, and YU teach the communication device according to claim 11,
Additionally, DING teaches wherein the 5G chip is further configured to receive a downlink base station signal and perform synchronization with the base station based on the downlink base station signal.
DING writes, “When the terminal is powered on, the terminal needs to perform search in a cell and
achieve synchronization. In a cell search procedure, the terminal receives downlink synchronization
signals: a primary synchronization signal (primary synchronization signal, PSS) and a secondary
synchronization signal (secondary synchronization signal, SSS) that are sent by a network device”
(paragraph 0116). DING continues, “A communications interface 301 may be used by the terminal 300
to communicate with another communications device, for example, a base station. Specifically, the base
station may be a network device 400 shown in FIG. 9. The communications interface 301 is an interface
between the terminal processor 304 and a transceiver system (including the transmitter 306 and the
receiver 308), for example, an X1 interface in LTE. In specific implementation, the communications
interface 301 may include one or more of a global system for mobile communications (Global System for
Mobile Communications, GSM) (2G) communications interface, a wideband code division multiple
access (Wideband Code Division Multiple Access, WCDMA) (3G) communications interface, a Long Term
Evolution (Long Term Evolution, LTE) (4G) communications interface, and the like, or may be a
communications interface of 4.5G, 5G, or future new radio” (paragraph 0162). DING indicates the
terminal performs a cell search and achieve synchronization, which may be executed by one or more
module(s). A communications interface of 5G, DING specifies, may be used by the terminal to
communicate with the base station.
Regarding claim 21, DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, and YU teach the communication device according to claim 1,
Additionally, YU teaches wherein the preset guard time interval is determined according to a length of the uplink timeslot and a length of the downlink timeslot.
YU writes, “The guard time slot in the special sub-frame is a blank time slot, which is used to provide the time required by the RF switching from DL to UL, maintain the UL sending timing advance of the UL synchronization, provide the fixed UL sending timing advance required by the RF switching from UL to DL, and necessarily prevent the interference resulted from the sending from DL to UL” (paragraph 0067). YU adds, “...wherein obtaining configuration information comprises: obtaining indication information indicating the number of special sub-frames, locations of the special sub-frames, and configuration of each time slot in the special sub-frames from a control signal received on the first carrier; obtaining indication information indicating uplink-downlink sub-frame ratio in frame structure of the second carrier from a control signal received on the first carrier or the second carrier...” (paragraph 0022). YU states the guard time slot is a frame that is used to provide the time required by the RF switching from DL to UL. YU indicates the configuration information comprises: obtaining indication information including configuration of each time slot from a control signal, and obtaining indication information indicating uplink-downlink sub-frame ratio in frame structure. Therefore, a preset guard time is determined based on the length of the uplink and downlink timeslots.
Claims 1, 3-4, and 9 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 11, 14-15, and 20 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 11, 14-15, and 20. Claims 1, 3-4, and 9 are rejected under the same rational as claims 11, 14-15, and 20.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, and YU as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of LI et al. (US 20190239168 A1, hereinafter, "LI") and FORBES et al. (US 20190132063 A1, hereinafter, "FORBES").
Regarding claim 16, DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, and YU teach the communication device according to claim 11,
DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, and YU fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the 5G chip is further configured to acquire a value of a received signal strength indication (RSSI),”
However, in analogous art, LI teaches wherein the 5G chip is further configured to acquire a value of a received signal strength indication (RSSI),
LI writes, “On the uplink, at UE 120, a transmit processor 264 may receive and process data from a data
source 262 and control information (e.g., for reports comprising RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, CQI, etc.) from
controller/processor 280” (paragraph 0035). LI adds, “It is noted that while aspects may be described
herein using terminology commonly associated with 3G and/or 4G wireless technologies, aspects of the
present disclosure can be applied in other generation-based communication systems, such as 5G and
later” (paragraph 0024). LI indicates that the UE may receive and process data from a data source and
control information, including RSSI, from the controller/processor. LI informs the reader that aspects
described in the disclosure can be applied to 5G.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of DING, SHI, LEE, JUNG, and YU to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by LI that "relate to wireless communication and, more particularly, to allocate power for uplink transmissions." LI provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “this disclosure provide advantages that include improved communications between base stations and terminals in a wireless network." (paragraph 0005). LI adds, "Aspects of the present disclosure may also help achieve power efficiency" (paragraph 0073).
DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, and YU fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “and the 4G chip is further configured to control a front-stage low noise amplifier (LNA) to be in a normal operating mode or in a bypass mode according to the value of the RSSI.”
However, in analogous art, FORBES teaches and the 4G chip is further configured to control a front-stage low noise amplifier (LNA) to be in a normal operating mode or in a bypass mode according to the value of the RSSI.
FORBES writes, “The system 100 may also be able to maintain the LNA 115 off during active reception of
packets as long as the received packets continue to have sufficient RSSI” (paragraph 0031). FORBES
continues, “In FIG. 4, the system 100 awaits detection of a packet from a received signal at step 405. If
no packet is detected, the system 100 loops back to step 405. If, however, a packet is detected, the
system proceeds to step 410 where the power level of the packet is determined and compared to a
predetermined threshold. If the packet's power level exceeds the threshold, the system proceeds to
step 415 to bypass and turn off the LNA 115 (or to maintain the LNA off)” (paragraph 0028; figure 4).
FORBES notes, “A wireless communication processing circuit 602 is connected to an antenna 601 in
order to perform wireless communication over, for example, a cellular network such as 3G, 4G, LTE, or
LTE-A networks” (paragraph 0043). FORBES indicates that the LNA will maintain off, bypass mode, as
long as the received packets continue to have sufficient RSSI. Hence, the RSSI value will determine the
status of the LNA based on a threshold. If the packet’s power level exceeds the power threshold, the
system will bypass and turn off the LNA (or to maintain the LNA off), FORBES explains. Therefore, if the
threshold is not exceeded, the LNA will work in a normal operating fashion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of DING, SHI, LEE, JUNG, and YU to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by FORBES that "relates to a low gain listen wireless communication system and associated methodology for reducing power consumption. Specifically, the present disclosure relates to a low gain listen wireless system in which the system's low noise amplifier may be bypassed in order to reduce the system's power consumption." FORBES provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “As can be appreciated the inventive concepts described herein significantly increase power savings since the LNA may be powered down for great lengths of time. This may lead to elimination of bulk acoustic wave (BAW) or film bulk acoustic resonators (FBAR) in front of the LNA in favor of a higher power LNA and more filtering behind the LNA. Though in this case the LNA may consume more power, the overall system consumes less power since the LNA is off most of the time" (paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 17, DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, YU, LI, and FORBES teach the communication device according to claim 16, wherein the 4G chip is further configured to:
Additionally, FORBES teaches control the front-stage LNA to be in the normal operating mode, in a case that the value of the RSSI is less than a setting value;
FORBES writes, “The system 100 may also be able to maintain the LNA 115 off during active reception of
packets as long as the received packets continue to have sufficient RSSI” (paragraph 0031). FORBES
continues, “In FIG. 4, the system 100 awaits detection of a packet from a received signal at step 405. If
no packet is detected, the system 100 loops back to step 405. If, however, a packet is detected, the
system proceeds to step 410 where the power level of the packet is determined and compared to a
predetermined threshold. If the packet's power level exceeds the threshold, the system proceeds to
step 415 to bypass and turn off the LNA 115 (or to maintain the LNA off)” (paragraph 0028; figure 4).
FORBES notes, “A wireless communication processing circuit 602 is connected to an antenna 601 in
order to perform wireless communication over, for example, a cellular network such as 3G, 4G, LTE, or
LTE-A networks” (paragraph 0043). FORBES indicates that the LNA will maintain off, bypass mode, as
long as the received packets continue to have sufficient RSSI. Hence, the RSSI value will determine the
status of the LNA based on a threshold. If the packet’s power level exceeds the power threshold, the
system will bypass and turn off the LNA (or to maintain the LNA off), FORBES explains. Therefore, if the
threshold is not exceeded, the LNA will work in a normal operating fashion.
and control the front-stage LNA to be in the bypass mode, in a case that the value of the RSSI is greater than or equal to the setting value.
FORBES writes, “The system 100 may also be able to maintain the LNA 115 off during active reception of
packets as long as the received packets continue to have sufficient RSSI” (paragraph 0031). FORBES
continues, “In FIG. 4, the system 100 awaits detection of a packet from a received signal at step 405. If
no packet is detected, the system 100 loops back to step 405. If, however, a packet is detected, the
system proceeds to step 410 where the power level of the packet is determined and compared to a
predetermined threshold. If the packet's power level exceeds the threshold, the system proceeds to
step 415 to bypass and turn off the LNA 115 (or to maintain the LNA off)” (paragraph 0028; figure 4).
FORBES notes, “A wireless communication processing circuit 602 is connected to an antenna 601 in
order to perform wireless communication over, for example, a cellular network such as 3G, 4G, LTE, or
LTE-A networks” (paragraph 0043). FORBES indicates that the LNA will maintain off, bypass mode, as
long as the received packets continue to have sufficient RSSI. Hence, the RSSI value will determine the
status of the LNA based on a threshold. If the packet’s power level exceeds the power threshold, the
system will bypass and turn off the LNA (or to maintain the LNA off), FORBES explains. Therefore, if the
threshold is not exceeded, the LNA will work in a normal operating fashion.
Claims 5 and 6 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 16 and 17 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 16 and 17. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under the same rational as claims 16 and 17.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, and YU as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of JI et al. (US 20190373592 A1, hereinafter, "JI") and WANG et al. (US 20170339648 A1, hereinafter, "WANG").
Regarding claim 18, DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, and YU teach the communication device according to claim 11,
DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, and YU fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the 5G chip is further configured to acquire an expected uplink power of the base station from a broadcast signal of the base station,”
However, in analogous art, JI teaches wherein the 5G chip is further configured to acquire an expected uplink power of the base station from a broadcast signal of the base station,
JI writes, “Usually, the UE may obtain an uplink transmit power based on one or more of the open-loop control parameter, a closed-loop control parameter, a nominal power density expected by the base station, a signal bandwidth, and a maximum power limit” (paragraph 0298).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of DING, SHI, LEE, JUNG, and YU to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by JI that "relates to the field of communications technologies, and in particular, to a signal transmission method and apparatus." JI provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “the present invention provide a signal transmission method and apparatus, so that UE efficiently determines spatial information of an uplink signal to be transmitted by the UE" (paragraph 0007).
DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, and YU fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the 4G chip is further configured to determine a maximum uplink transmission power based on the expected uplink power of the base station,” and “and transmit a signal on the amplification uplink based on the maximum uplink transmission power.”
However, in analogous art, WANG teaches the 4G chip is further configured to determine a maximum uplink transmission power based on the expected uplink power of the base station,
WANG writes, “In one embodiment, the UE maximum transmit power is determined by UE maximum
transmit power configuration information received from the control node, wherein the UE maximum
transmit power configuration information includes one or more of the following: a total configured
maximum output power; a configured maximum transmit power on a carrier; a configured serving cell
maximum transmit power; a UE transmit power scheduled by the control node; a configured maximum
transmit power offset; a configured maximum transmit power for determining the CCA threshold; or,
the UE maximum transmit power is determined according to a power class of the UE” (paragraphs 0075-
0082). WANG continues, “A difference between the UE uplink transmit power scheduled by the base
station and the UE self-controlled expected transmit power Pcmax_a. The UE self-controlled expected
transmit power may be a maximum uplink transmit power determined by the UE according to detected
energies of other devices in order to reduce interference to the other devices” (paragraph 0176). WANG
indicates the UE maximum transmit power is determined by power configuration information received
from the control node, such as expected power. WANG denotes that the UE uplink transmit power is
scheduled by the base station. Thus, the uplink transmit power scheduled by the base station may be
based on the expected uplink power.
and transmit a signal on the amplification uplink based on the maximum uplink transmission power.
WANG writes, “As shown in FIG. 4, the base station may indicate which set of the power control
mechanisms is utilized via UL grant. The power control parameter is configured by the base station or
defined in advance. The calculating method is defined in advance. The base station and the UE have the
same knowledge about the power control parameter and the calculating method. It should be noted
that, the difference between this method and the method in the former part of this embodiment relies
in, this method does not configure the uplink power control mode by signaling, i.e., it is supposed that
the uplink power control mode is defined advance and the power control mode indicated by the control
node is followed, and there is no UE self-adjusted power control mode” (paragraph 0166). WANG
indicates the power control parameter is configured by the base station or defined in advance.
Therefore, the maximum uplink transmission power will be determined in advance, and the
amplification uplink may transmit up to the maximum uplink transmission power before the bypass
mode is initiated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of DING, SHI, LEE, JUNG, and YU to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by WANG that "relates to mobile communication techniques, and more particularly, to a power control method, a power reporting method, an uplink transmission method, and corresponding UEs and control nodes." WANG provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a power control method, a power reporting method, an uplink transmission method, and corresponding UEs and control nodes, so as to avoid interference to adjacent devices with the same or different wireless access techniques, increase uplink scheduling efficiency of the UE and thereby increasing efficiency of the whole network" (paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 19, DING, JUNG, SHI, LEE, YU, JI, and WANG teach the communication device according to claim 18, wherein the 4G chip is further configured to:
Additionally, JI teaches determine an uplink open-loop power control power based on the expected uplink power of the base station;
JI writes, “S804. The UE determines an uplink transmit power based on the path loss or an open-loop
control parameter related to the path loss, and uses the uplink transmit power to transmit an uplink
signal” (paragraph 0293). JI continues, “Usually, the UE may obtain an uplink transmit power based on
one or more of the open-loop control parameters, a closed-loop control parameter, a nominal power
density expected by the base station, a signal bandwidth, and a maximum power limit. The open-
loop control parameter may include the foregoing path loss” (paragraph 0298). JI adds, “The foregoing
2G, 3G, and 4G networks are all cellular communications networks” (paragraph 0057). JI indicates the
UE determines an uplink transmit power based on one or more open-loop control parameter by the
base station. The base station may provide open-loop control parameters based on expected uplink
power. JI notes the 4G network in his embodiment, therefore, indicating the use of a 4G chip.
and select a smaller value between the uplink open-loop power control power and a setting maximum uplink transmission power as the maximum uplink transmission power.
JI writes, “S804. The UE determines an uplink transmit power based on the path loss or an open-loop
control parameter related to the path loss, and uses the uplink transmit power to transmit an uplink
signal” (paragraph 0293). JI continues, “Usually, the UE may obtain an uplink transmit power based on
one or more of the open-loop control parameters, a closed-loop control parameter, a nominal power
density expected by the base station, a signal bandwidth, and a maximum power limit. The open-
loop control parameter may include the foregoing path loss” (paragraph 0298). JI adds, “The foregoing
2G, 3G, and 4G networks are all cellular communications networks” (paragraph 0057). JI indicates the
UE determines an uplink transmit power based on one or more open-loop control parameter by the
base station. The base station may provide open-loop control parameters based on expected uplink
power. JI notes the 4G network in his embodiment, therefore, indicating the use of a 4G chip.
Claims 7 and 8 are method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 18 and 19 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 18 and 19. Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under the same rational as claims 18 and 19.
Claims 2, 10, and 13 have been canceled by the applicant, respectfully.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2472 9/22/2025
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2472