DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In an Amendment filed on 03/19/2026, claims 32-33 were added as new claims and claims 1, and 17-31 were amended. Claims 2-16 were previously cancelled. Therefore, Claims 1, and 17-33 are still pending in this Application.
Response to Amendments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-11, with respect to rejections to claims 1, and 17-31 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims under 35 USC § 103 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made, see the new rejections below.
On page 8, the Applicant argues that:
“Machida discloses laser processing only in the context of cutting, perforation and welding, Machida at paragraph [0017], and does not disclose laser processing related to bending. Further, Applicant notes that claim 1 now recites a measurement device that includes a 3D scanner or 3D measuring device, and the office does not identify disclosure in Machida or any of the other cited references that teaches or suggests use of 3D measurements as a basis for laser processing”.
These arguments are persuasive because a 3D scanner or 3D measuring device is indeed not taught by the references however, these terms were not present in the previous claims. The Applicant’s arguments suggest that these terms were present in the previous set of claims. However, these terms appear in the new amended claims.
Mochida was not taught to teach a bending process, Ko was cited to teach the cutting and bending process. Also, Ko teaches a laser machine for cutting and bending an object that can be easily applied to a metal, wherein the metal object is provided by Mochida which teaches a system for laser cutting an object. However, a new reference is cited and used that teach using a laser machine for cutting and bending a metal piece.
The arguments of Claims 32-33 are unpersuasive because these claims have not been rejected/examined. These are new claims. However, these claims are a combinations of claims 22 and 28. McCay and Elmer teach the limitations of claims 32 and 33 as explained in the new rejections below.
Claim Objections
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 33 does not end in a period as required in the EMPEP 608.01(m) and which requires “Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 17-18, 20, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (“A Multi-Component Automated Laser-Origami System for Cyber-Manufacturing”, reference cited in the IDS) in view of Takeuchi (US 6026351) and Ichiro (JP 2001277058 as supported by the machine translation provided).
As per claim 1, Ko teaches a method for cutting and bending a (see the Abstract “We consider a cyber-physical system for use in an origami-type laser-based custom manufacturing machine employing folding and cutting of sheet material to manufacture 3D objects”, the final element being the metal being processed (cut, bend)), the method comprising:
-providing a (see Abstract; also, see page 4 second paragraph “The actuator system plays the role of moving the laser head, regulating the intensity of the laser beam and manipulating the robotic arm. It executes the sequence of geodes received from the high-level process manager and the bending controller to manufacture a 3D product from a sheet material by cut-bend-fold operations”; also, see Fig. 8 and 6.2 page 8 “We also demonstrate that the proposed automatic laser manufacturing system performs cut-bend
operations effectively. An operator mounts a work sheet on the robotic arm and executes the geode file which includes cutting and bending tasks. The system automatically manages and controls the whole process to fabricate a 3D-shaped creature…”),
-providing a laser configured to cut and bend the (see Fig. 1. Fig. 3, and Fig. 5 laser origami system; also, see page 2 par. 2 “laser…system”, see page 3 section 4 “…We have built a multicomponent manufacturing system centered around a laser processing machine…”; also, see page 4 par. 3 “Once the bending controller receives the desired angle, it determines Geode-type commands describing the intensity of the laser beam, and the feed rate of the laser head, based on the feedback from the sensing system, and sends them to the actuator system. The actuator system plays the role of moving the laser head, regulating the intensity of the laser beam and manipulating the robotic arm.”; also, see page 6 section 6.1 “…laser source…”),
-providing a measuring device configured to measure a position of one or more sections of the (see Fig. 3 sensing system including cameras; also, see Fig. 4 and Fig. 55 vision system; see section 4 in pages 3-4; also, see section 6.1 in page 6-7 “The cyber-manufacturing system consists of a vision system estimating the state of the workpiece, a Vicon system observing the position and velocity of a laser head…”),
-providing a controller configured to controlling the laser (see Fig. 3 actuator system controlling laser and including a computer 4; also, see section 4 third par.), wherein the controller is enabled to control at least a vector and velocity of the vector, (Fig.1, section 1 page 2 second Paragraph “…a control system controls the feed rate of a laser head, the intensity of a laser beam and the position of a robotic arm based on the feedback information from the sensing system to operate cutting and bending processes…”, section 4 page 4 third paragraph “a Vicon system which finds the position and velocity of the laser head. Vision and Vicon sensor components obtain observation data from image processing programs, and Server components deliver them to a Controller component”, vector is interpreted in the BRI in light of the disclosure as the direction, position, or path of the laser; also, see section 6.1 page 6 “…a Vicon system observing the position and velocity of a laser head, a control system determining Gcode-type control inputs to a laser system based on the estimated data and user’s job requests), an amount of energy and beam focus of the laser (see page 6 par. 1 “…According to the actuator's output signals, the laser system bends the material by the movement of the laser head and the heat from the laser beam...” and page 7 last par. “6.2…For the manual bending, we used two pairs of static intensities of the laser beam and feed rates of the laser head because the nonlinearity and uncertainty of the bending model make it very hard to find the optimal combination; also, see page 8 last paragraph “…For cutting, the robotic arm lifts the acrylic sheet up to the focal length of cutting…”),
-providing data (see page 6 last par. “…user’s job requests”), the data comprising at least one of a final model of the final element and initial instructions as to how the (see page 5 section 4 “…The control system has a supervisor as a high-level process manager and a bending controller. The supervisor receives the list of tasks from an operator and sends each task to a bending controller or an actuator system. With the exception of bending tasks all tasks such as cutting tasks or motion tasks of a robotic arm are executed by the actuator system directly because they do not need any feedback. When the current task is a bending task, it is executed by a bending controller. Once the bending controller receives the desired angle, it determines Gcode-type commands describing the intensity of the laser beam, and the feed rate of the laser head, based on the feedback from the sensing system, and sends them to the actuator system. The actuator system plays the role of moving the laser head, regulating the intensity of the laser beam and manipulating the robotic arm. It executes the sequence of gcodes received from the high-level process manager and the bending controller to manufacture a 3D product from a sheet material by cut-bend-fold operations.”; also, see page 6 last par. section 6.1 “…control system determining Gcode-type control inputs to a laser system based on the estimated data and user’s job requests, a robotic arm manipulating the workpiece, and a laser system processing the workpiece with an incremental forming tool and a laser source…”; also, see pages 9-10 section 6.2),
-providing an input/output device configured to receive and send at least the data (see Fig.1, section 4 page 3 first and second par. “…For the system integration, Etherware was used to implement the networking among the individual system components…” see section page 4 third paragraph; also, see section 6.1; also, see Fig. 3 input and outputs ports to send and receive data, computers to send and receive data),
-providing a data processor (see Fig. 3 computer 3 is a data processor or control system that receives instructions and provides a first set of instructions to the actuator system controllers/computer ) configured to process the data from the input/output device to provide a first set of instructions to the controller (see Fig. 3 and see section 4), the instructions comprising at least a sequence of cutting and bending (see section 4 last par. “It executes the sequence of gcodes received from the high-level process manager and the bending controller to manufacture a 3D product from a sheet material by cut-bend-fold operations”) and further providing calculations for the vector and velocity of the vector, the amount of energy and beam focus to perform a cutting process and bending process, by the laser, to one or more sections of the (see Fig.1, section 4 page 4 third and fourth paragraphs “The control system has a supervisor as a high-level process manager and a bending controller. The supervisor receives the list of tasks from an operator and sends each task to a bending controller or an actuator system. With the exception of bending tasks all tasks such as cutting tasks or motion tasks of a robotic arm are executed by the actuator system directly because they do not need any feedback. When the current task is a bending task, it is executed by a bending controller. Once the bending controller receives the desired angle, it determines Gcode-type commands describing the intensity of the laser beam, and the feed rate of the laser head, based on the feedback from the sensing system, and sends them to the actuator system. The actuator system plays the role of moving the laser head, regulating the intensity of the laser beam and manipulating the robotic arm. It executes the sequence of gcodes received from the high-level process manager and the bending controller to manufacture a 3D product from a sheet material by cut-bend- fold operations”; section 6.2 page 8 last paragraph), and
in which the data processor provide at least a secondary set of instructions to the controller (see Fig. 1, section 4 page 4 third paragraph, section 6.2 page 9 first paragraph), wherein the at least secondary set of instructions are calculated by the data processor based on measurements provided by (see Fig. 1, section 4 page 4 3-4 “…sensing system.. Once the bending controller receives the desired angle, it determines Gcode-type commands describing the intensity of the laser beam, and the feed rate of the laser head, based on the feedback from the sensing system, and sends them to the actuator system”; also, see Fig. 4 feedback is provided for controlling the system, see section 5; also, see section 6.2 page 9 first paragraph) ), and in which the laser cuts and bends the (see Fig.1, Fig.8, section 4 page 4 fourth paragraph, section 6.2).
While Ko teaches the measuring device includes three cameras, Ko dos not explicitly teach a 3D scanner or 3D measuring device configured to measure a position of one or more sections of the metal element, and While laser machines for cutting and at least one of shaping, welding and bending metal or polymers/acrylic are known so that they can be used for performing these functions on both type of materials, Ko does not explicitly teach the element is a metal element.
However, Takeuchi teaches system comprising a 3D scanner or 3D measuring device (see Col 4 lines 5-25 and see Fig. 1 measuring device 14; also, see Fig. 9) configured to measure a position of one or more sections of the metal element (see Col 4 lines 5-26 and see Fig. 1 measuring device 14 “…As shown in FIG. 9, the three-dimensional measuring device includes a turntable 41 for supposing a workpiece W and three laser length measuring devices 43a, 43b, 43c arranged in three mutually different directions to obtain length data to be used in calculating the dimensions of workpiece W. Here, image pickup devices, such as CCD cameras can be used in place of the laser length measuring devices”; also, see Fig. 2 and Col 5 lines 30-50, Col 6 lines 1-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified KO’s invention to include a 3D scanner or 3D measuring device configured to measure a position of one or more sections of the metal element as taught by Takeuchi in order to compared measured data with reference values (see Col 2 lines 37-39), and determined if there is a difference in order to make correction or perform the process such as bending (see Fig. 2 steps S13, S18, S19, S20; also, see Fig. 3).
While laser machines for cutting and at least one of shaping, welding and bending metal or polymers/acrylic are known so that they can be used for performing these functions on both type of materials, Ko does not explicitly teach the element cut and bent is a metal element.
Ichiro teaches a laser system and method comprising providing a metal element to be processed into final element by cutting and bending the metal element with a laser (see [0009-0010] “According to a first aspect of the present invention, there is provided a composite sheet metal working method including a laser working and a press working, which comprises the following steps….(1) Laser processing cuts the product outer shape and the figure inside the product, leaving a microjoint that supports the cut product on both sides opposite sides. (2) Laser processing passes over the microjoints on both sides opposite sides. Groove processing is performed on the bending line. (3) Press processing is performed to perform bending processing along the bending line, and at the same time, the micro joint portion is separated from the sheet metal material…”; also, see [0017] “…As shown in FIG. 1, first, a cutting hole (figure) 3 inside the outline of the product 1 is cut by a laser, and then a rectangular product outer shape 7 is cut. When the product outer shape 7 is cut, as shown in detail in FIG. Are cut, leaving a microjoint 9 connecting them with a minute bridge… The microjoint 9 is provided on a line obtained by extending the bending line 5 to the sheet metal material W. Then, groove processing is performed by a laser along the bending line 5… bending along the bending line 5 is performed. When the bending process is performed, the microjoint 9 provided on the bending line is lowered below the transport line PL of the sheet metal material W, so that the microjoint 9 is cut and separated from the sheet metal material W at the same time as the bending process”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified KO-Takeuchi’s combination as taught above to include a metal element to be processed into final element by cutting and bending the metal element with a laser machine as taught by Ichiro by using the laser machine of Ko in order to perform processing operations on any kind of material including a metal element (see [0007] “An object of the present invention is to provide a novel composite sheet metal working method for a sheet metal product in which bending is performed simultaneously with separation of a micro joint incomposite sheet metal processing including laser processing and press processing”) and apply the necessary and adjusted parameters for the metal when using the laser machine as taught by Ko above and because metal elements provide superior strength, heat resistance, and durability compared to plastic parts.
As per claim 17, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches the method according to claim 1, KO further teaches further comprising: providing a fixation mechanism (see the abstract “…a robotic arm manipulating the workpiece in the work space…”) configured to fixate at least a first section of the (see the abstract “see section Fig. 8 point p’ and see 6.2 page 8 last paragraph “…In figure 8 (a), 'p' is the holding position of the robotic arm, 'a', 'b' and 'c' are lines for cutting, and 'd' and 'e' for bending. At first, a laser system cuts the three cutting lines and then, bends along the two bending lines. For cutting, the robotic arm lifts the acrylic sheet up to the focal length of cutting. After cutting the three lines, the outer piece of the sheet is removed. As the bending process requires a long focal length of the laser to melt the bending line, the robotic arm lowers the sheet from the laser nozzle. The desired bending angle is 90 degrees for the both bending processes”).
Ichiro teaches the metal element (see claim 1 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s invention to include in order to perform processing operations on any kind of material including a metal element (see [0007] “An object of the present invention is to provide a novel composite sheet metal working method for a sheet metal product in which bending is performed simultaneously with separation of a micro joint incomposite sheet metal processing including laser processing and press processing”) and apply the necessary and adjusted parameters for the metal when using the laser machine as taught by Ko above and because metal elements provide superior strength, heat resistance, and durability compared to plastic parts.
As per claim 18, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches the method according to claim 1, Ko further teaches further comprising:
providing a fixation mechanism (see the abstract “…a robotic arm manipulating the workpiece in the work space…”),
wherein the fixation mechanism is adapted as a dynamic fixation device being controlled by the controller and the at least first and the secondary set of instructions further comprise instructions as to how the controller controls the dynamic fixation device, and fixating the (see the abstract “see section Fig. 8 point p’ and see 6.2 page 8 last paragraph-page 9 “…In figure 8 (a), 'p' is the holding position of the robotic arm, 'a', 'b' and 'c' are lines for cutting, and 'd' and 'e' for bending. At first, a laser system cuts the three cutting lines and then, bends along the two bending lines. For cutting, the robotic arm lifts the acrylic sheet up to the focal length of cutting. After cutting the three lines, the outer piece of the sheet is removed. As the bending process requires a long focal length of the laser to melt the bending line, the robotic arm lowers the sheet from the laser nozzle. The desired bending angle is 90 degrees for the both bending processes”). Ichiro teaches the metal element (see claim 1 above, same rationale applies herein).
As per claim 20, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches the method according to claim 1, Ko further teaches the method further comprising: providing an automatic positioning mechanism being controlled by the controller and providing a fixation mechanism (see the abstract “…a robotic arm manipulating the workpiece in the work space…”), the automatic positioning mechanism being adapted to position the (see the abstract “see section Fig. 8 point p’ and see 6.2 page 8 last paragraph-page 9 “…In figure 8 (a), 'p' is the holding position of the robotic arm, 'a', 'b' and 'c' are lines for cutting, and 'd' and 'e' for bending. At first, a laser system cuts the three cutting lines and then, bends along the two bending lines. For cutting, the robotic arm lifts the acrylic sheet up to the focal length of cutting. After cutting the three lines, the outer piece of the sheet is removed. As the bending process requires a long focal length of the laser to melt the bending line, the robotic arm lowers the sheet from the laser nozzle. The desired bending angle is 90 degrees for the both bending processes”). Ichiro teaches the metal element (see claim 1 above, same rationale applies herein).
As per claim 29, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches a device configured to cut and bending a see the Abstract “We consider a cyber-physical system for use in an origami-type laser-based custom manufacturing machine employing folding and cutting of sheet material to manufacture 3D objects”, the final element being the metal being processed (cut, bend); also, see Figs. 1, 3, 5, and 8), the device comprising:
a laser configured to cut and bend thesee Fig. 1. Fig. 3, and Fig. 5 laser origami system; also, see page 2 par. 2 “laser…system”, see page 3 section 4 “…We have built a multicomponent manufacturing system centered around a laser processing machine…”; also, see page 4 par. 3 “Once the bending controller receives the desired angle, it determines Geode-type commands describing the intensity of the laser beam, and the feed rate of the laser head, based on the feedback from the sensing system, and sends them to the actuator system. The actuator system plays the role of moving the laser head, regulating the intensity of the laser beam and manipulating the robotic arm.”; also, see page 6 section 6.1 “…laser source…”),
- a measuring device configured to measure a position of one or more sections of the ee Fig. 3 sensing system including cameras; also, see Fig. 4 and Fig. 55 vision system; see section 4 in pages 3-4; also, see section 6.1 in page 6-7 “The cyber-manufacturing system consists of a vision system estimating the state of the workpiece, a Vicon system observing the position and velocity of a laser head…”),
-a controller configured to control the laser (see Fig. 3 actuator system controlling laser and including a computer 4; also, see section 4 third par. ), wherein the controller is configured to control at least a vector and velocity of the vector (Fig.1, section 1 page 2 second Paragraph “…a control system controls the feed rate of a laser head, the intensity of a laser beam and the position of a robotic arm based on the feedback information from the sensing system to operate cutting and bending processes…”, section 4 page 4 third paragraph “a Vicon system which finds the position and velocity of the laser head. Vision and Vicon sensor components obtain observation data from image processing programs, and Server components deliver them to a Controller component”, vector is interpreted in the BRI in light of the disclosure as the direction, position, or path of the laser; also, see section 6.1 page 6 “…a Vicon system observing the position and velocity of a laser head, a control system determining Gcode-type control inputs to a laser system based on the estimated data and user’s job requests), an amount of energy and beam focus of the laser (see page 6 par. 1 “…According to the actuator's output signals, the laser system bends the material by the movement of the laser head and the heat from the laser beam...” and page 7 last par. “6.2…For the manual bending, we used two pairs of static intensities of the laser beam and feed rates of the laser head because the nonlinearity and uncertainty of the bending model make it very hard to find the optimal combination; also, see page 8 last paragraph “…For cutting, the robotic arm lifts the acrylic sheet up to the focal length of cutting…”),
an input/output device adapted to receive and send data (see Fig.1, section 4 page 3 first and second par. “…For the system integration, Etherware was used to implement the networking among the individual system components…” see section page 4 third paragraph; also, see section 6.1; also, see Fig. 3 input and outputs ports to send and receive data, computers to send and receive data), the data comprising at least a final model as to how the (see page 5 section 4 “…The control system has a supervisor as a high-level process manager and a bending controller. The supervisor receives the list of tasks from an operator and sends each task to a bending controller or an actuator system. With the exception of bending tasks all tasks such as cutting tasks or motion tasks of a robotic arm are executed by the actuator system directly because they do not need any feedback. When the current task is a bending task, it is executed by a bending controller. Once the bending controller receives the desired angle, it determines Gcode-type commands describing the intensity of the laser beam, and the feed rate of the laser head, based on the feedback from the sensing system, and sends them to the actuator system. The actuator system plays the role of moving the laser head, regulating the intensity of the laser beam and manipulating the robotic arm. It executes the sequence of gcodes received from the high-level process manager and the bending controller to manufacture a 3D product from a sheet material by cut-bend-fold operations.”; also, see page 6 last par. section 6.1 “…control system determining Gcode-type control inputs to a laser system based on the estimated data and user’s job requests, a robotic arm manipulating the workpiece, and a laser system processing the workpiece with an incremental forming tool and a laser source…”; also, see pages 9-10 section 6.2)
a data processor adapted to process the data from an input/output device and
wherein the data processor further calculate at least a first set of instructions to the controller (see Fig. 3 computer 3 is a data processor or control system that receives instructions and provides a first set of instructions to the actuator system controllers/computer; also, see Fig. 3 and see section 4), wherein the first set of instructions comprise at least a sequence of cutting and at least one of shaping and bending and further comprise calculations for the vector and velocity of the vector, the amount of energy and beam focus, to perform a cutting process and bending process, by the laser, to one or more sections of the (see Fig.1, section 4 page 4 third and fourth paragraphs “The control system has a supervisor as a high-level process manager and a bending controller. The supervisor receives the list of tasks from an operator and sends each task to a bending controller or an actuator system. With the exception of bending tasks all tasks such as cutting tasks or motion tasks of a robotic arm are executed by the actuator system directly because they do not need any feedback. When the current task is a bending task, it is executed by a bending controller. Once the bending controller receives the desired angle, it determines Gcode-type commands describing the intensity of the laser beam, and the feed rate of the laser head, based on the feedback from the sensing system, and sends them to the actuator system. The actuator system plays the role of moving the laser head, regulating the intensity of the laser beam and manipulating the robotic arm. It executes the sequence of gcodes received from the high-level process manager and the bending controller to manufacture a 3D product from a sheet material by cut-bend- fold operations”; section 6.2 page 8 last paragraph) and in which the data processor provide at least a secondary set of instructions to the controller, the at least secondary set of instructions being calculated by the data processor based on measurements provided by the (see Fig. 1, section 4 page 4 third paragraph, section 6.2 page 9 first paragraph), wherein the at least secondary set of instructions are calculated by the data processor based on measurements provided by the measuring device (see Fig. 1, section 4 page 4 3-4 “…sensing system.. Once the bending controller receives the desired angle, it determines Gcode-type commands describing the intensity of the laser beam, and the feed rate of the laser head, based on the feedback from the sensing system, and sends them to the actuator system”; also, see Fig. 4 feedback is provided for controlling the system, see section 5; also, see section 6.2 page 9 first paragraph), and in which the device cuts and bends the (see Fig.1, Fig.8, section 4 page 4 fourth paragraph, section 6.2).
While Ko teaches the measuring device includes three cameras, Ko dos not explicitly teach a 3D scanner or 3D measuring device configured to measure a position of one or more sections of the metal element, and While laser machines for cutting and at least one of shaping, welding and bending metal or polymers/acrylic are known so that they can be used for performing these functions on both type of materials, Ko does not explicitly teach the element is a metal element.
However, Takeuchi teaches system comprising a 3D scanner or 3D measuring device (see Col 4 lines 5-25 and see Fig. 1 measuring device 14; also, see Fig. 9) configured to measure a position of one or more sections of the metal element (see Col 4 lines 5-26 and see Fig. 1 measuring device 14 “…As shown in FIG. 9, the three-dimensional measuring device includes a turntable 41 for supposing a workpiece W and three laser length measuring devices 43a, 43b, 43c arranged in three mutually different directions to obtain length data to be used in calculating the dimensions of workpiece W. Here, image pickup devices, such as CCD cameras can be used in place of the laser length measuring devices”; also, see Fig. 2 and Col 5 lines 30-50, Col 6 lines 1-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified KO’s invention to include a 3D scanner or 3D measuring device configured to measure a position of one or more sections of the metal element as taught by Takeuchi in order to compared measured data with reference values (see Col 2 lines 37-39), and determined if there is a difference in order to make correction or perform the process such as bending (see Fig. 2 steps S13, S18, S19, S20; also, see Fig. 3).
While laser machines for cutting and at least one of shaping, welding and bending metal or polymers/acrylic are known so that they can be used for performing these functions on both type of materials, Ko does not explicitly teach the element cut and bent is a metal element.
Ichiro teaches a laser system and method comprising providing a metal element to be processed into final element by cutting and bending the metal element with a laser (see [0009-0010] “According to a first aspect of the present invention, there is provided a composite sheet metal working method including a laser working and a press working, which comprises the following steps….(1) Laser processing cuts the product outer shape and the figure inside the product, leaving a microjoint that supports the cut product on both sides opposite sides. (2) Laser processing passes over the microjoints on both sides opposite sides. Groove processing is performed on the bending line. (3) Press processing is performed to perform bending processing along the bending line, and at the same time, the micro joint portion is separated from the sheet metal material…”; also, see [0017] “…As shown in FIG. 1, first, a cutting hole (figure) 3 inside the outline of the product 1 is cut by a laser, and then a rectangular product outer shape 7 is cut. When the product outer shape 7 is cut, as shown in detail in FIG. Are cut, leaving a microjoint 9 connecting them with a minute bridge… The microjoint 9 is provided on a line obtained by extending the bending line 5 to the sheet metal material W. Then, groove processing is performed by a laser along the bending line 5… bending along the bending line 5 is performed. When the bending process is performed, the microjoint 9 provided on the bending line is lowered below the transport line PL of the sheet metal material W, so that the microjoint 9 is cut and separated from the sheet metal material W at the same time as the bending process”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified KO-Takeuchi’s combination as taught above to include a metal element to be processed into final element by cutting and bending the metal element with a laser machine as taught by Ichiro by using the laser machine of Ko in order to perform processing operations on any kind of material including a metal element (see [0007] “An object of the present invention is to provide a novel composite sheet metal working method for a sheet metal product in which bending is performed simultaneously with separation of a micro joint incomposite sheet metal processing including laser processing and press processing”) and apply the necessary and adjusted parameters for the metal when using the laser machine as taught by Ko above and because metal elements provide superior strength, heat resistance, and durability compared to plastic parts.
As per claim 31, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches a computer program code adapted to enable a data processor to calculate at least a first set of instructions to a laser device, the laser device comprising at least a first laser, a controller and a measuring device (see claim 1 above same rationale applies herein), wherein the computer program code, when being executed by the data processor, is adapted for carrying out the method as set forth in claim 1 (see claim 1 above, same rationale applies herein).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (“A Multi-Component Automated Laser-Origami System for Cyber-Manufacturing”, reference cited in the IDS) in view of Takeuchi (US 6026351) and Ichiro (JP 2001277058 as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zeng (CN 102009323 A, as supported by the machine translation provided).
As per claim 19, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches the method according to claim 1, But It does not explicitly the method further comprising: teach providing a conveyor belt, the conveyor belt being controlled by the controller, transporting one or more metal element(s) into a processing cell for processing the metal element into the final element, and transporting the final element out from the processing cell.
However, Zeng teaches a device and method for cutting and at least one of bending, shaping, and welding (see the Abstract and [0076]) comprising providing a conveyor belt (see [0041] “…0041] the transfer device is a conveying belt…”), the conveyor belt being controlled by the controller (see [0007]), transporting one or more metal element(s) into a processing cell for processing the metal element into the final element (see [0007] “…[5] (0012) the automatic feeding system, cutting and blanking system, shaping system, system are arranged along the direction of the production line, and it is corresponding to one side of the production line is provided with a transfer device, the metal sheet to be formed is transferred to lower a work station…the control system is connected with the automatic feeding system, cutting and blanking system, shaping system, a system, a transfer device is connected and control its operating state.”), and transporting the final element out from the processing cell (see [0007] “(0031) processing action is finished, the transfer device is started, the cutting and blanking system is finished processing action of shaped metal plate to be transferred to the system; [15] (0032) the system is started, the completed processing action of metal plate to be formed to action and to obtain the product; [16] (0033) action, after which the transfer device is started, the finished product is transferred to discharging sorting module on system”; also, see [0038], [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s combination as taught above to include providing a conveyor belt, the conveyor belt being controlled by the controller, transporting one or more metal element(s) into a processing cell for processing the metal element into the final element, and transporting the final element out from the processing cell as taught by Zeng in order to facilitate the transportation of workpieces during the processing by providing an automatic conveying system (see [0007] “…[5] (0012) and see page 8 claim 1).
Claim(s) 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (“A Multi-Component Automated Laser-Origami System for Cyber-Manufacturing”, reference cited in the IDS) in view of Takeuchi (US 6026351) and Ichiro (JP 2001277058 as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McCay et al (US 6350326).
As per claim 21, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches the method according to claim 1, While Ko further suggests the method further comprising: providing a temperature sensor, providing at least a first temperature measurement of a section of the metal element to the data processor for calculating the at least first and second set of instructions (see page 9 pars. 1-2 “Future work will include the anticipatory control based on the bending model to obtain fast and accurate bending control. We…Also, the temperature information around the area heated by a laser will be used to build a bending model to predict the future states of the bending angle. The anticipatory control is expected to reduce not only the lag effect of initial heating up, but also the inertia effect of final cooling down.), Ko’s combination does not explicitly teach the current method and current invention further comprising: providing a temperature sensor, providing at least a first temperature measurement of a section of the metal element to the data processor for calculating the at least first and second set of instructions (Ko teaches a suggested future work/apparatus/method that can be easily implemented in the current system of Ko).
McCay teaches laser system for processing workpieces comprising providing a temperature sensor (fig. 2 sensor 19), providing at least a first temperature measurement of a section of the metal element to the data processor for calculating the at least first and second set of instructions (also, see Col 15 lines 25-50 “a variety of transducers 19 may be placed in the vicinity of the laser delivery system 13 and the workpiece 15 to further interface with the controller 17 and to better control the apparatus and its corresponding process. Suitable transducers 19 for accomplishing such a result include the following. (99) Temperature measurements are useful in determining the overall efficiency of energy transfer from the laser beam to the workpiece. Such temperature measurements can be used to provide feedback for purposes of modifying the operating parameters of the laser, primarily the power of the laser beam (sample rate), and/or the transport speed of the movement system. Examples of transducers 19a for accomplishing such temperature measurements would include contact temperature measurement of the workpiece and of the environment (surrounding the laser/surface interaction region) in the vicinity of the workpiece, as well as pyrometric temperature measurement of the surface of the workpiece (near the laser/surface interaction region).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s combination as taught above to include a temperature sensor, providing at least a first temperature measurement of a section of the metal element to the data processor for calculating the at least first and second set of instructions as taught by McCay in order to monitor the laser process and adjust parameters to generate the first and second instructions based on feedback temperature and thus improve the quality of the system and workpieces produced (see Col 15 lines 25-50, thus, is a system finds not deviation from desired target value/threshold a fist set of control instructions are maintained, otherwise parameters are adjusting providing new or second instruction to control the laser process. That is the purpose of feedback systems; also, see lines 52-63 “…For example, the detection of a low temperature may indicate that the depth of the alloyed surface is undesirably excessive. Emitted spectra related to temperature measurements can be monitored and used to adjust operating parameters of the laser beam (sample rate) and/or the transport speed of the movement system, as shown by the emission spectra measuring device 19c in FIG. 3B”).
As per claim 22, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches the method according to claim 1, the method further comprising: while Ko teaches that the laser intensities of the laser are changed and controlled during the processing, and which indicates that a gas used for the also machine is being controlled, and Ichiro teaches that the laser is user to create a groove with the laser machine for bending the metal element (see Abstract) but Ko’s combination does not explicitly teach providing a gas exhaust being controlled by the controller and the at least first and second set of instructions further comprise instructions as to how the controller controls the gas exhaust, and providing gas to a section of the metal element being/during cut and at last one of shaped, bend and welded.
McCay teaches laser system for processing workpieces comprising providing a gas exhaust being controlled by the controller and the at least first and second set of instructions further comprise instructions as to how the controller controls the gas exhaust (see Col 15 lines 12-24 “ The overall function of the controller 17 is to ensure that the system is functioning appropriately to melt the surface of the substrate to a proper depth, thereby ensuring that the correct alloy is made at the surface. The controller 17 primarily accomplishes this by regulating the power of the laser 11, focusing of the laser beam using the focusing portions 25 of the delivery system 13, and the speed of the movement system 16, 16'. Other parameters associated with the process, such as the application unit or precursor application system 18 (if used) and any associated gas flow rates (i.e., shielding gas), may also be controlled responsive to signals received from the controller 17, if desired, as shown by the gas delivery system 89 in FIG. 3B. ), and providing gas to a section of the metal element (see Col 6 lines 32-40; Col 9 lines 1-5; Col 11 lines 20-24; Col 15 lines 12-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s combination as taught above to include providing a gas exhaust being controlled by the controller and the at least first and second set of instructions further comprise instructions as to how the controller controls the gas exhaust, and providing gas to a section of the metal element as taught by McCay to be performed during cutting and at least one of shaped, bend and welded as taught by Ko’s combination above in order to control and maintain parameters such as gas flow rate and other parameters within desired ranges and thus improve the quality of the system and workpieces produced (see Col 6 lines 32-40; Col 9 lines 1-5; Col 11 lines 20-24; Col 15 lines 12-24 “…Other parameters associated with the process, such as the application unit or precursor application system 18 (if used) and any associated gas flow rates (i.e., shielding gas), may also be controlled responsive to signals received from the controller 17, if desired, as shown by the gas delivery system 89 in FIG. 3B…”).
Claim(s) 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (“A Multi-Component Automated Laser-Origami System for Cyber-Manufacturing”, reference cited in the IDS in view of Takeuchi (US 6026351) and Ichiro (JP 2001277058 as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zheng et al (“ Joinery: Parametric Joint Generation for Laser Cut Assemblies”, cited in the IDS).
As per claim 23, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches the method according to claim 1, the method further comprising: Ko teaches cutting at least a first and second section in the (see Fig. 8), performing at least one of cutting and shaping of the second section of the (see Fig. 8 the sheet is first cut around several sections, also the sheet metal that was cut is laser bent along several sections to form a 3D product), but Ko does not explicitly teach cutting at least a first hole in the first section of the metal element, performing at least one of cutting and shaping of the second section of the metal element to form at least a first protruding element of the second section of the metal element, performing at least one of shaping and bending the first or second section of the metal element to join or insert the first protruding element into or through the first hole. Ichiro teaches the metal element being cut, bend, formed (see claim 1 above, same rationale applies herein).
However, Zheng teaches a method for processing sheets using a laser comprising a toolkit software for generating products using a laser, cutting at least a first and second section in the metal element (see the abstract “…we developed Joinery, a parametric joint generation tool for laser cut assemblies…”; also, see Fig. 1; also, see page 64 Col 1 par. 2 “…We focus on laser cut assemblies and the task of designing joints between different parts of such assemblies…”; se Fig. 2 several pieces and/or sections cut), cutting at least a first hole in the first section of the metal element (see Fig. 2; also, see page 69 col 1 par. 1 “Flap This joint profile is commonly found in flat pack carton boxes, and is also the default generated by Pepakura Designer and 123D Make. Joinery extends this profile by introducing registration holes on the flaps… The flap joint profile is ideal for paper-based materials, cardboard, even sheet metal”; also, see Fig. 4 holes and flaps), performing at least one of cutting and shaping of the second section of the metal element to form at least a first protruding element of the second section of the metal element (see Fig. 2 laser cutting; and see page 69 par. 1 flaps are protrusions that when bend pass through a hole), performing at least one of shaping and bending the first or second section of the metal element to join or insert the first protruding element into or through the first hole (see Fig. 2 shaping and/or bending; see page 64 col 1 par. 1 “We focus on laser cut assemblies and the task of designing joints between different parts of such assemblies”; also, see page 69 col 1 par. 1 “Flap This joint profile is commonly found in flat pack carton boxes, and is also the default generated by Pepakura Designer and 123D Make. Joinery extends this profile by introducing registration holes on the flaps… The flap joint profile is ideal for paper-based materials, cardboard, even sheet metal”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s Combination to include a toolkit software for generating products using a laser, cutting at least a first and second section in the metal element, cutting at least a first hole in the first section of the metal element, performing at least one of cutting and shaping of the second section of the metal element to form at least a first protruding element of the second section of the metal element, performing at least one of shaping and bending the first or second section of the metal element to join or insert the first protruding element into or through the first hole as taught by Zheng in order to produce a product with the previous characteristics using a toolkit software for easily generating products using a laser (see page 64 “ joinery” for generating joints; also, see Fig. 2).
As per claim 24, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: Ko further teaches teach cutting at least a first and second section in the (see Fig. 8), performing at least one of cutting and shaping of the second section of the metal element (see Fig. 8 the sheets is first cut around several sections, also the sheet metal that was cut is laser bent along several sections to form a 3D product), but Ko does not explicitly teach cutting at least a first hole in the first section of the metal element, performing at least one of cutting and shaping of the second section of the metal element to form at least a first protruding element of the second section of the metal element, performing at least one of shaping and bending the first or second section of the metal element to join or insert the first protruding element into or through the at least first hole, and welding the at least first protruding element to interlock with the at least first hole. Ichiro teaches the metal element (see claim 1 above, same rationale applies herein).
However, Zheng teaches a method for processing sheets using a laser comprising a toolkit software for generating products using a laser, cutting at least a first and second section in the metal element (see the abstract “…we developed Joinery, a parametric joint generation tool for laser cut assemblies…”; also, see Fig. 1; also, see page 64 Col 1 par. 2 “…We focus on laser cut assemblies and the task of designing joints between different parts of such assemblies…”; se Fig. 2 several pieces and/or sections cut), cutting at least a first hole in the first section of the metal element (see Fig. 2; also, see page 69 col 1 par. 1 “Flap This joint profile is commonly found in flat pack carton boxes, and is also the default generated by Pepakura Designer and 123D Make. Joinery extends this profile by introducing registration holes on the flaps… The flap joint profile is ideal for paper-based materials, cardboard, even sheet metal”; also, see Fig. 4 holes and flaps), performing at least one of cutting and shaping of the second section of the metal element to form at least a first protruding element of the second section of the metal element (see Fig. 2 laser cutting; and see page 69 par. 1 flaps are protrusions that when bend pass through a hole), performing at least one of shaping and bending the first or second section of the metal element to join or insert the first protruding element into or through the first hole (see Fig. 2 shaping and/or bending; see page 64 col 1 par. 1 “We focus on laser cut assemblies and the task of designing joints between different parts of such assemblies”; also, see page 69 col 1 par. 1 “Flap This joint profile is commonly found in flat pack carton boxes, and is also the default generated by Pepakura Designer and 123D Make. Joinery extends this profile by introducing registration holes on the flaps… The flap joint profile is ideal for paper-based materials, cardboard, even sheet metal”), and welding the at least first protruding element to interlock with the at least first hole (see page 65 Col 2 last par. “Systems like LaserStacker [22] and LaserOrigami [12] extends the laser cutter beyond cutting or etching materials, extending its capabilities to welding and heat-bending acrylic sheets…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s combination as taught above to include a toolkit software for generating products using a laser, cutting at least a first and second section in the metal element, cutting at least a first hole in the first section of the metal element, performing at least one of cutting and shaping of the second section of the metal element to form at least a first protruding element of the second section of the metal element, performing at least one of shaping and bending the first or second section of the metal element to join or insert the first protruding element into or through the first hole, and welding the at least first protruding element to interlock with the at least first hole as taught by Zheng in order to produce a product with the previous characteristics using a toolkit software for easily generating products using a laser (see page 64 “joinery” for generating joints; also, see Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (“A Multi-Component Automated Laser-Origami System for Cyber-Manufacturing”, reference cited in the IDS) in view of Takeuchi (US 6026351) and Ichiro (JP 2001277058 as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pryor (US 5910894).
As per claim 25, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches the method according to claim 1, the method further comprising: While Ko teaches a fixation mechanism for holding the (this is step is a very known and intended steps that is performed by joining, assembling, or welding two parts and holding them together for that purpose). Ichiro teaches the metal element (see claim 1 above, same rationale applies herein).
However, Pryor teaches a method for processing two metals parts comprising a first metal element (see Col 6 lines 1-4 “… the second part 26 (shown in FIG. 2) is placed on part 25 welding the two together….”), providing a second element to be processed with the metal element (see Col 6 lines 1-4 “… the second part 26 (shown in FIG. 2) is placed on part 25 welding the two together….”), providing one or more fixation mechanisms, and the metal element and the second element are positioned in the fixation mechanism, or the metal element is positioned in a first fixation mechanism and the second element is positioned in a second fixation mechanism (see Col 6 lines 1-4 One clamp 30, has been actuated to force one end of the part 25 down on locating block 20 (whose surface conforms to fit the part, either by manufacture, or in a variable manner) while the other clamp 31 remains to be energized when the second part 26 (shown in FIG. 2) is placed on a part 25 welding the two together”; also, see Col 9 lines 25-27 “When in position the two parts are clamped together, and optionally checked again to assure their position, and then assure that the clamp itself is in position”; also, see Fig. 4 and see Col 14 lines 22-40), and the laser processes the metal element and the second element into the final element (see Col 6 lines 1-4 “… the second part 26 (shown in FIG. 2) is placed on part 25 welding the two together….”; also, see Col 28 claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s combination as taught above to include providing a metal element and second element to be processed with the metal element, providing one or more fixation mechanisms, and the metal element and the second element are positioned in the fixation mechanism, or the metal element is positioned in a first fixation mechanism and the second element is positioned in a second fixation mechanism, and the laser processes the metal element and the second element into the final element as taught by Pryor in order to process a metal element and a second component in a fixed manner and avoid errors during the process caused by any movement (see Col 2 lines 64-67 to Col 3 line 9).
As per claim 30, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches the device according to claim 29, but Ko does not explicitly teach the laser further being configured to weld sections of the metal element into the final element.
However, Pryor teaches a method for processing two metals parts comprising a first metal element (see Col 6 lines 1-4 “… the second part 26 (shown in FIG. 2) is placed on part 25 welding the two together….”; see Col 6 lines 1-4 “… the second part 26 (shown in FIG. 2) is placed on part 25 welding the two together….”), and the laser further being configured to weld sections of the metal element into the final element (see Col 6 lines 1-4 “… the second part 26 (shown in FIG. 2) is placed on part 25 welding the two together….”; also, see Col 28 claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s combination to include configuring the laser to weld sections of the metal element into the final element as taught by Pryor in order to process a metal element in a fixed manner and avoid errors during the process caused by any movement (see Col 2 lines 64-67 to Col 3 line 9) and to provide the step of welding into the system of Ko that already includes cutting, shaping and bending to provide a more complete machine.
Claim(s) 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (“A Multi-Component Automated Laser-Origami System for Cyber-Manufacturing”, reference cited in the IDS) in view of Takeuchi (US 6026351) and Ichiro (JP 2001277058 as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Albrecht et al (US 20150083710).
As per claim 26, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches the method according to claim 1 further comprising: but Ko’s combination does not explicitly teach providing an induction coil, the induction coil being controlled by the controller, and preheating at least a section of the metal element with the induction coil prior to or during the processing of the metal element into the final element by the laser.
However, Albrecht teaches an apparatus comprising an induction coil (see Fig. 1 induction heating 24; also, see [0032-0033] “induction coils”), the induction coil being controlled by the controller (see [0021]-[0022] “The coordinated control may allow for regulation of power input to the welding operation, and to the induction heating head, such that specific desired heating profiles, heating times, heating locations, and so forth may be provided to optimize the welding operation, heating of the workpiece before or after the welding operation, and so forth…”), and preheating at least a section of the metal element with the induction coil prior to or during the processing of the metal element into the final element by the laser (see [0022] “…heating of the workpiece before or after the welding operation, and so forth…”; also, see [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s combination as taught above to include providing an induction coil, the induction coil being controlled by the controller, and preheating at least a section of the metal element with the induction coil prior to or during the processing of the metal element into the final element by the laser as taught by Albrecht in order to improve the process of the metal element (see [0022] “…to optimize the welding operation, heating of the workpiece before or after the welding operation, and so forth…”).
Claim(s) 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (“A Multi-Component Automated Laser-Origami System for Cyber-Manufacturing”, reference cited in the IDS) in view of Takeuchi (US 6026351) and Ichiro (JP 2001277058 as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Elmer et al (US 20060196853).
As per claim 27, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches the method according to claim 1, but Ko’s combination does not explicitly teach the method further comprising providing a surface analysis device, the surface analysis device being adapted to measure backscatter from one or more surfaces of the metal element.
However, Elmer teaches a method comprising providing a surface analysis device (see Abstract “an imaging system for precise positioning of a micro electron beam with regard to a workpiece”; also, see Fig. 1 imaging system and see [0010] “In this imaging mode, the electron beam, which is typically set at a lower accelerating voltage and beam current than that used in the welding mode, is rapidly deflected or rastered over the area of interest. The secondary or backscattered electrons produced by the interaction between the beam and the surface of the workpiece are then captured by detectors placed in the work chamber and converted into an image using electronic components typical of those used in Scanning Electron Microscopes (SEM).”), the surface analysis device being adapted to measure backscatter from one or more surfaces of the metal element (see Fig. 1 and see [0023] “As part of the imaging system, a secondary electron 115 and/or backscattered electron 111 detectors are positioned to capture the electrons formed by the interaction between the electron beam and the workpiece. An imaging system 115 is connected to both detectors in order to convert the captured electrons into an image of the workpiece 117.; also, see [0026] and [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s combination as taught above to include providing a surface analysis device, the surface analysis device being adapted to measure backscatter from one or more surfaces of the metal element as taught by Elmer in order to analyze the position of the workpiece and increase the quality of the process of the workpiece/metal component (see [0026] “ in the imaging mode, the electron beam welding system 100 basically functions as a scanning electron microscope. In this mode, the workpiece is imaged, allowing the alignment of the workpiece components to be verified both prior to and after the completion of the welding or joining operation).
As per claim 28, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro teaches the method according to claim 1, While Ko teaches a vision system and Takeuchi teaches a 3D measuring device which act as scanner, Ko’s combination does not explicitly teach the method further comprising providing a laser scanner, the laser scanner being adapted to measure light reflected from one or more surfaces of the metal element.
However, Elmer teaches a method comprising providing a laser scanner (see Abstract “an imaging system for precise positioning of a micro electron beam with regard to a workpiece”; also, see Fig. 1 imaging system and see [0010] “In this imaging mode, the electron beam, which is typically set at a lower accelerating voltage and beam current than that used in the welding mode, is rapidly deflected or rastered over the area of interest. The secondary or backscattered electrons produced by the interaction between the beam and the surface of the workpiece are then captured by detectors placed in the work chamber and converted into an image using electronic components typical of those used in Scanning Electron Microscopes (SEM).”), the laser scanner being adapted to measure light reflected from one or more surfaces of the metal element. (see Fig. 1 and see [0023] “As part of the imaging system, a secondary electron 115 and/or backscattered electron 111 detectors are positioned to capture the electrons formed by the interaction between the electron beam and the workpiece. An imaging system 115 is connected to both detectors in order to convert the captured electrons into an image of the workpiece 117.; also, see [0026] “…in the imaging mode, the electron beam welding system 100 basically functions as a scanning electron microscope...” and see [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s combination as taught above to include providing a laser scanner, the laser scanner being adapted to measure light reflected from one or more surfaces of the metal element as taught by Elmer in order to analyze the position of the workpiece and increase the quality of the process of the workpiece/metal component (see [0026] “ in the imaging mode, the electron beam welding system 100 basically functions as a scanning electron microscope. In this mode, the workpiece is imaged, allowing the alignment of the workpiece components to be verified both prior to and after the completion of the welding or joining operation).
Claim(s) 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (“A Multi-Component Automated Laser-Origami System for Cyber-Manufacturing”, reference cited in the IDS) in view of Takeuchi (US 6026351), Ichiro (JP 2001277058 as supported by the machine translation provided) and McCay et al (US 6350326) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Elmer et al (US 20060196853).
As per claim 32, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro-McCay teaches the method according to claim 22, While Ko teaches a vision system and Takeuchi teaches a 3D measuring device which act as scanner for measuring surfaces of an object, Ko’s combination does not explicitly teach the method further comprising providing a laser scanner, the laser scanner being adapted to measure light reflected from one or more surfaces of the metal element.
However, Elmer teaches a method comprising providing a laser scanner (see Abstract “an imaging system for precise positioning of a micro electron beam with regard to a workpiece”; also, see Fig. 1 imaging system and see [0010] “In this imaging mode, the electron beam, which is typically set at a lower accelerating voltage and beam current than that used in the welding mode, is rapidly deflected or rastered over the area of interest. The secondary or backscattered electrons produced by the interaction between the beam and the surface of the workpiece are then captured by detectors placed in the work chamber and converted into an image using electronic components typical of those used in Scanning Electron Microscopes (SEM).”), the laser scanner being adapted to measure light reflected from one or more surfaces of the metal element. (see Fig. 1 and see [0023] “As part of the imaging system, a secondary electron 115 and/or backscattered electron 111 detectors are positioned to capture the electrons formed by the interaction between the electron beam and the workpiece. An imaging system 115 is connected to both detectors in order to convert the captured electrons into an image of the workpiece 117.; also, see [0026] “…in the imaging mode, the electron beam welding system 100 basically functions as a scanning electron microscope...” and see [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s combination as taught above to include providing a laser scanner, the laser scanner being adapted to measure light reflected from one or more surfaces of the metal element as taught by Elmer in order to analyze the position of the workpiece and increase the quality of the process of the workpiece/metal component (see [0026] “ in the imaging mode, the electron beam welding system 100 basically functions as a scanning electron microscope. In this mode, the workpiece is imaged, allowing the alignment of the workpiece components to be verified both prior to and after the completion of the welding or joining operation).
As per claim 33, Ko-Takeuchi-Ichiro-McCay the method according to claim 21, while Ko teaches that the laser intensities of the laser are changed and controlled during the processing, and which indicates that a gas used for the also machine is being controlled, and Ichiro teaches that the laser is user to create a groove with the laser machine for bending the metal element (see Abstract) but Ko’s combination does not explicitly teach the method further comprising (al) providing a gas exhaust being controlled by the controller and the at least first and second set of instructions further comprise instructions as to how the controller controls the gas exhaust, and(a2) providing gas to a section of the metal element being cut and at least one of shaped, bent and welded; and(b) providing a laser scanner, the laser scanner being adapted to measure light reflected from one or more surfaces of the metal element.
McCay teaches laser system for processing workpieces comprising providing a gas exhaust being controlled by the controller and the at least first and second set of instructions further comprise instructions as to how the controller controls the gas exhaust (see Col 15 lines 12-24 “ The overall function of the controller 17 is to ensure that the system is functioning appropriately to melt the surface of the substrate to a proper depth, thereby ensuring that the correct alloy is made at the surface. The controller 17 primarily accomplishes this by regulating the power of the laser 11, focusing of the laser beam using the focusing portions 25 of the delivery system 13, and the speed of the movement system 16, 16'. Other parameters associated with the process, such as the application unit or precursor application system 18 (if used) and any associated gas flow rates (i.e., shielding gas), may also be controlled responsive to signals received from the controller 17, if desired, as shown by the gas delivery system 89 in FIG. 3B. ), and providing gas to a section of the metal element (see Col 6 lines 32-40; Col 9 lines 1-5; Col 11 lines 20-24; Col 15 lines 12-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s combination as taught above to include providing a gas exhaust being controlled by the controller and the at least first and second set of instructions further comprise instructions as to how the controller controls the gas exhaust, and providing gas to a section of the metal element as taught by McCay to be performed during cutting and at least one of shaped, bend and welded as taught by Ko’s combination above in order to control and maintain parameters such as gas flow rate and other parameters within desired ranges and thus improve the quality of the system and workpieces produced (see Col 6 lines 32-40; Col 9 lines 1-5; Col 11 lines 20-24; Col 15 lines 12-24 “…Other parameters associated with the process, such as the application unit or precursor application system 18 (if used) and any associated gas flow rates (i.e., shielding gas), may also be controlled responsive to signals received from the controller 17, if desired, as shown by the gas delivery system 89 in FIG. 3B…”).
While Ko teaches a vision system and Takeuchi teaches a 3D measuring device which act as scanner, Ko’s combination does not explicitly teach the method further comprising providing a laser scanner, the laser scanner being adapted to measure light reflected from one or more surfaces of the metal element.
However, Elmer teaches a method comprising providing a laser scanner (see Abstract “an imaging system for precise positioning of a micro electron beam with regard to a workpiece”; also, see Fig. 1 imaging system and see [0010] “In this imaging mode, the electron beam, which is typically set at a lower accelerating voltage and beam current than that used in the welding mode, is rapidly deflected or rastered over the area of interest. The secondary or backscattered electrons produced by the interaction between the beam and the surface of the workpiece are then captured by detectors placed in the work chamber and converted into an image using electronic components typical of those used in Scanning Electron Microscopes (SEM).”), the laser scanner being adapted to measure light reflected from one or more surfaces of the metal element. (see Fig. 1 and see [0023] “As part of the imaging system, a secondary electron 115 and/or backscattered electron 111 detectors are positioned to capture the electrons formed by the interaction between the electron beam and the workpiece. An imaging system 115 is connected to both detectors in order to convert the captured electrons into an image of the workpiece 117.; also, see [0026] “…in the imaging mode, the electron beam welding system 100 basically functions as a scanning electron microscope...” and see [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Ko’s combination as taught above to include providing a laser scanner, the laser scanner being adapted to measure light reflected from one or more surfaces of the metal element as taught by Elmer in order to analyze the position of the workpiece and increase the quality of the process of the workpiece/metal component (see [0026] “ in the imaging mode, the electron beam welding system 100 basically functions as a scanning electron microscope. In this mode, the workpiece is imaged, allowing the alignment of the workpiece components to be verified both prior to and after the completion of the welding or joining operation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as cited in PTO form 892, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bolms et al (US 8414264) teaches a system for scanning a workpiece to be processed with a laser machine, wherein the system comprises a 3D measuring devices comprising two cameras (see Fig. 1 and Col 36-39).
Kiryu (US 20130090755) and Seibert (US 20210339391) teach a 3D scanner or 3D measuring devices for measuring objects.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117