DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-23, 25-30 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 1/2/2026 regarding claims 1, 3-23, and 25-30 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remark, applicant argued (1) Xu does not disclose “receiving, via a first link between a relay UE and the network entity, a report indicating a RLF on a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE. (2) Xu does not teach that the report indicates “at least one of an RLF cause, a remote UE ID, or sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurements”. (3) Xu does not disclose “taking one or more actions, in response to the report, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE.” (4) Xu and Jung do not teach “detecting a RLF on at least one of a first link between the relay UE and a serving network entity or a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE”. (5) Xu and Jung do not teach “taking one or more actions, in response to the detection, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE”. (6) Xu and Jung do not teach where “if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprises at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE or sending an indication by an upper layer”.
Examiner traverse the argument:
As to point (1), this argument was previously addressed in the 4/17/2025 Final action. Xu clearly teaches in paragraph 0004 to detect the quality of the link becoming poor and the link is of a link between the relay UE and the remote UE (PC5 link) or a link between the relay UE and the base station (Uu link) (The relay reselection may be triggered in the following two cases. In a first case a quality of a PC5 link between the remote UE and the relay UE becomes poor. In a second case, a quality of a Uu link between the relay UE and the base station becomes poor…). Xu further defines in paragraph 0108 that poor quality of the link includes RLF (During an operation of the counter T310, no in-syn event, occurs, the UE will announce that a radio failure (RLF) occurs, and reports the event to the base station). Xu’s teaching of monitoring link quality between PC5 and Uu link and defining RLF as a condition of poor link quality to results in triggering relay reselection meet the claimed limitation. Therefore, the argument is not found persuasive.
As to point (2), Xu discloses the report to indicates a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurements (pp. 0046: RSRPUu is a Sidelink RSRP), and an RLF cause of the RSRP less than a threshold indicating that the quality of the Uu link is poor (pp. 0049, 0054-0055). These clearly reads on the claimed limitation of “the report indicates at least one of an RLF cause, a remote UE ID, or sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurements”. Therefore, the argument is not found persuasive.
As to point (3), this argument was previously addressed in the 4/17/2025 Final action. Xu in multiple paragraphs discloses to take one or more actions, in response to the detection, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE. For example, Xu in paragraph 0036 discloses “During the process, in order to ensure continuity of respective services, the source relay UE is to perform a handover process, that is, switching to a cell covered by the eNB2, and the remote UE is to perform a relay reselection process, that is reselecting a target relay UE in a coverage of other eNB” regarding the relay UE performing the action of handover. Xu in paragraph 0037 discloses another action where the source relay UE perform a relay selection process as it moves away from the eNB and becomes the remote UE, which performs a relay reselection process (…the source relay UE is to function as the remote UE. During the process, in order to ensure continuity of respective services, the remote UE is to perform a relay reselection process, that is, reselection a target relay UE in a coverage of an eNB to assist the remote UE to communicate with the eNB. The source relay UE is to perform a relay selection process, that is, selecting a relay UE in a coverage of an eNB to assist the source relay UE to communicate with the eNB). Paragraph 0108 of Xu further discloses to perform the action of RRC reestablishment when the UE needs to perform handover. Paragraph 0086 further teaches multiple actions to be performed that leads to triggering of the relay reselection (if it needs to trigger the relay reselection process, the source relay UE notifies the remote UE of relay reselection trigger information and scenario information…). Therefore, Xu teaches the claimed step of taking one or more actions, in response to the detection, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE. For these reasons, the argument is not found persuasive.
As to point (4), this identical argument is addressed above. See point (1).
As to point (5), this identical argument is addressed above. See point (3).
As to point (6), Xu specifically teaches to take one or more actions in response to the detection of a RLF (see point (1) above). Jung discloses in paragraph 0009 of the case where a quality of service provided by the relay UE becomes worse, it may be necessary to release the connection.
Xu defines in paragraph 0108 that poor quality of the link includes RLF (During an operation of the counter T310, no in-syn event, occurs, the UE will announce that a radio failure (RLF) occurs, and reports the event to the base station). Similar to Xu, Jung in paragraph 0140 defines deterioration of the quality of the radio link as a RLF when communication is almost impossible because of the low quality. Jung in paragraph 0260-0267 discloses to reselect relay UE when the currently connected relay UE does not satisfy the minimum condition of sidelink measurement value exceeding a specific threshold (e.g. above a certain quality). Paragraph 0009 of Jung is further explained in paragraphs 0289-0294 to select a new relay UE due to deterioration in a quality of relay service provided by the current relay UE, the currently relay UE is excluded from the candidate relay UE according to a relay link release command for relay reselection. Therefore, the combination of Xu and Jung discloses the claimed limitation of “taking one or more actions, in response to the detection, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE” and “if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprises at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE or sending an indication by an upper layer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al (Xu), US2018/0343598
As per claim 20, Xu teaches the invention including a method for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising:
Receiving, via a first link between a relay user equipment (UE) and the network entity, a report indicating a radio link failure (RLF) on a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the report indicates at least one of an RLF cause, a remote UE ID, or sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurements (pp. 0046, 0049, 0054-0055, 0108: RSRPUu is a Sidelink RSRP); and
Taking one or more actions, in response to the report, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0086, 0108).
As per claim 29, Xu teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communications by a network entity (pp. 0180), comprising:
memory comprising instructions (pp. 0182, 0189); and
One or more processors configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (pp. 0183):
Receive, via a first link between a relay user equipment (UE) and the network entity, a report indicating a radio link failure (RLF) on a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the report indicates at least one of an RLF cause, a remote UE ID, or sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurements (pp. 0046, 0049, 0054-0055, 0108: RSRPUu is a Sidelink RSRP); and
Take one or more actions, in response to the report, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108).
As per claim 30, Xu teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising:
Means for receiving, via a first link between a relay user equipment (UE) and the network entity, a report indicating a radio link failure (RLF) on a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the report indicates at least one of an RLF cause, a remote UE ID, or sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurements (pp. 0046, 0049, 0054-0055, 0108: RSRPUu is a Sidelink RSRP); and
Means for taking one or more actions, in response to the report, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0086, 0108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (Xu), US2018/0343598, in view of Kim et al (Kim), US 2020/0178343.
As per claim 21, Xu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 20. Xu does not teach wherein the one or more actions involves a radio resource control (RRC) state management procedure for the Remote UE. Kim teaches the one or more actions involves a radio resource control state management procedure for the Remote UE (pp. 0160, 0203, 0316, 0390-0418, 0835-0841). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Kim in order to manage connection states and reestablish the failed link.
As per claim 22, Xu and Kim teach the invention as claimed in claim 21. Kim further teaches wherein the RRC state management procedure involves at least one of removing remote UE context or sending the remote UE to an idle state (pp. 0390-0418).
As per claim 23, Xu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 20. Xu does not teach to further comprise, if the relay UE is in an idle or inactive state, receiving a request from the relay UE to enter a connected state before receiving the report. Kim teaches to switch from idle state to connect state for receiving information (pp. 0203, 0316, 0835-0841). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Kim in order to attempt connection reestablishment and transmit previous link failure report to notify of earlier connection issues.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 12, 14, 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (Xu), US2018/0343598, in view of Jung et al (Jung), US 2018/0152986.
As per claim 1, Xu teaches the invention including a method for wireless communications by a relay user equipment (UE), comprising:
Detecting a radio link failure (RLF) on at least one of a first link between the relay UE and a serving network entity or a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the RLF comprises an RLF on at least the first link (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108; quality of a Uu link between the relay UE and the base station becomes poor); and
Taking one or more actions, in response to the detection, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0086, 0108).
Xu further teaches that the second link is available (pp. 0004-0005; PC5 link in good quality). Xu does not teach wherein, if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprise at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE or sending an indication by an upper layer. Jung teaches wherein, if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprise at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE or sending an indication by an upper layer (pp. 0009, 0260-0267, 0289-0294, 0296-0304). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Jung and release an established connection in case the quality of the service provided by the relay UE becomes worse and a relay UE reselection is needed (pp. 0260-0267).
As per claim 3, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Xu further teaches wherein, if the second link is available (pp. 0004), the one or more actions further comprises:
Performing a procedure to reestablish a link with the serving network entity (pp. 0108).
As per claim 5, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Xu further teaches wherein the RLF further comprises an RLF on at least the second link (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108).
As per claim 6, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 5. Xu further teaches wherein, if the first link is available, the one or more actions comprise:
Sending a report indicating the RLF to the serving network entity (pp. 0047, 0059, 0086, 0108).
As per claim 7, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 6. Xu further teaches wherein the report indicates at least one of an RLF cause, a remote UE ID, or sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurements (pp. 0046, 0049, 0053-0054, 0108).
As per claim 10, Xu teaches the invention including a method for wireless communications by a remote user equipment (UE), comprising:
Detecting a trigger event indicative of a radio link failure (RLF) on at least one of a first link between a relay UE and a serving network entity or a second link between the remote UE and the relay UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurement being below a threshold (pp. 0049, 0053-0054); and
Performing relay reselection, in response to the detection, based on link quality measurements on one or more links between the remote UE and one or more relay UEs and one or more criteria (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0043-0044, 0056, 0086, 0108).
Xu does not teach wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, of a link release message for the remote UE, receipt of an indication by an upper layer.
Jung teaches wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, of a link release message for the remote UE, receipt of an indication by an upper layer (pp. 0009, 0260-0267, 0296-0304). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Jung and release an established connection in case the quality of the service provided by the relay UE becomes worse and a relay UE reselection is needed (pp. 0260-0267).
As per claim 12, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 10. Xu further teaches to comprise:
Performing cell selection if the relay reselection fails (pp. 0036, 0053-0054, 0061-0064).
As per claim 14, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 10. Xu further teaches wherein the one or more criteria involve an access stratum (AS) layer of the remote UE (pp. 0108, 0144: RRC reestablishment is of AS layer).
As per claim 25, Xu teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communications by a relay user equipment (UE) (pp. 0179), comprising:
memory comprising instructions (pp. 0196-0197); and
One or more processors configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (pp. 0196-0197):
Detect a radio link failure (RLF) on at least one of a first link between the relay UE and a serving network entity or a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the RLF comprises an RLF on at least the first link (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037); and
Take one or more actions, in response to the detection, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108).
Xu further teaches that the second link is available (pp. 0004-0005; PC5 link in good quality). Xu does not teach wherein, if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprise at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE or sending an indication by an upper layer. Jung teaches wherein, if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprise at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE or sending an indication by an upper layer (pp. 0009, 0260-0267, 0296-0304). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Jung and release an established connection in case the quality of the service provided by the relay UE becomes worse and a relay UE reselection is needed (pp. 0260-0267).
As per claim 26, Xu teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communications by a relay user equipment (UE), comprising:
Means for detecting a radio link failure (RLF) on at least one of a first link between the relay UE and a serving network entity or a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the RLF comprises an RLF on at least the first link; and
Means for taking one or more actions, in response to the detection, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0086, 0108).
Xu further teaches that the second link is available (pp. 0004-0005; PC5 link in good quality). Xu does not teach wherein, if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprise at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE or sending an indication by an upper layer to the remote UE. Jung teaches wherein, if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprise at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE or sending an indication by an upper layer to the remote UE (pp. 0009, 0260-0267, 0296-0304). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Jung and release an established connection in case the quality of the service provided by the relay UE becomes worse and a relay UE reselection is needed (pp. 0260-0267).
As per claim 27, Xu teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communications by a remote user equipment (UE) (pp. 0179), comprising:
memory comprising instructions (pp. 0196-0197); and
One or more processors configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (pp. 0196-0197):
Detect a trigger event indicative of a radio link failure (RLF) on at least one of a first link between a relay UE and a serving network entity or a second link between the remote UE and the relay UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurement being below a threshold (pp. 0049, 0053-0054); and
Perform relay reselection, in response to the detection, based on link quality measurements on one or more links between the remote UE and one or more relay UEs and one or more criteria (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0043-0044, 0056, 0108).
Xu does not teach wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, of a link release message for the remote UE, receipt of an indication by an upper layer.
Jung teaches wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, of a link release message for the remote UE, receipt of an indication by an upper layer (pp. 0009, 0260-0267, 0296-0304). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Jung and release an established connection in case the quality of the service provided by the relay UE becomes worse and a relay UE reselection is needed (pp. 0260-0267).
As per claim 28, Xu teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communications by a remote user equipment (UE), comprising:
Means for detecting a trigger event indicative of a radio link failure (RLF) on at least one of a first link between a relay UE and a serving network entity or a second link between the remote UE and the relay UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurement being below a threshold (pp. 0049, 0053-0054); and
Means for performing relay reselection, in response to the detection, based on link quality measurements on one or more links between the remote UE and one or more relay UEs and one or more criteria (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0043-0044, 0056, 0086, 0108).
Xu does not teach wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, of a link release message for the remote UE, receipt of an indication by an upper layer.
Jung teaches wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, of a link release message for the remote UE, receipt of an indication by an upper layer (pp. 0009, 0260-0267, 0296-0304). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Jung and release an established connection in case the quality of the service provided by the relay UE becomes worse and a relay UE reselection is needed (pp. 0260-0267).
Claim(s) 8 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Jung as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 12, 14, 25-28 above, and further in view of Kim et al (Kim), US 2020/0178343.
As per claim 8, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 6. Xu and Jung do not teach wherein the one or more actions further comprise, if the relay UE is in an idle or inactive state, requesting to enter a connected state before sending the report. Kim teaches to switch from idle state to connect state for receiving information (pp. 0203, 0316, 0835-0841). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu, Jung and Kim in order to attempt connection reestablishment and transmit previous link failure report to notify of earlier connection issues.
As per claim 15, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 14. Xu and Jung do not teach wherein the one or more criteria are based on:
Relay discovery message contents to indicate relay UE candidates to the AS layer; and
Selection of one or more of the relay UE candidates by the AS layer.
Kim teaches wherein the one or more criteria are based on:
Relay discovery message contents to indicate relay UE candidates to the AS layer (0102, 0290, 0507-0522, 0655-0656); and
Selection of one or more of the relay UE candidates by the AS layer (0102, 0290, 0507-0522, 0655-0656).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Xu, Jung and Kim and further perform relay reselection based on the conditions of the discovered relay UE having specific service code parameter and other configurations to rank and select the best candidate relay UE.
As per claim 16, Xu, Jung and Kim teach the invention as claimed in claim 15. Kim further teaches wherein the relay UE candidates satisfy link quality criteria (pp. 0507-0522, 0667, 0658-0686).
As per claim 17, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 14. Xu and Jung do not teach wherein the one or more criteria are based on:
An ordered list of relay UE candidates provided to the AS layer; and
Selection of one or more of the relay UE candidates by the AS layer based on content of relay discovery message.
Kim teaches wherein the one or more criteria are based on:
An ordered list of relay UE candidates provided to the AS layer (0102, 0290, 0507-0522, 0655-0656; ranking of candidates); and
Selection of one or more of the relay UE candidates by the AS layer based on content of relay discovery message (0102, 0290, 0507-0522, 0655-0656).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Xu, Jung and Kim and further perform relay reselection based on the conditions of the discovered relay UE having specific service code parameter and other configurations to rank and select the best candidate relay UE.
As per claim 18, Xu, Jung and Kim teach the invention as claimed in claim 17. Kim further teaches wherein the relay UE candidates satisfy link quality criteria (pp. 0507-0522, 0667, 0658-0686).
As per claim 19, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 14. Xu and Jung do not teach wherein the one or more criteria are based on at least one of QoS of relay discovery messages or content of relay discovery messages. Kim further teaches wherein the one or more criteria are based on at least one of QoS of relay discovery messages or content of relay discovery messages (pp. 0507-0522, 0667, 0658-0686). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Xu, Jung and Kim and further perform relay reselection based on the conditions of the discovered relay UE having specific service code parameter and other configurations to rank and select the best candidate relay UE.
Claim(s) 4, 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Jung as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 12, 14, 25-28 above, and further in view of obviousness.
As per claim 4, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Xu and Jung do not teach wherein, if the second link is unavailable, the one or more actions comprise:
Ceasing sending relay messages.
However, ceasing to send data over unavailable link is obvious and common practice in the art to prevent resource congestion and data buffering. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teaching of Xu, Jung and in response to a link failure, stop all data transmission on the failure link to prevent data buffering for sending and/or data lost in transmissions.
As per claim 9, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 5. Xu and Jung do not teach wherein, if the first link is unavailable, the one or more actions comprise:
Ceasing sending relay discovery messages.
However, ceasing to send data over unavailable link is obvious and common practice in the art to prevent resource congestion and data buffering. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teaching of Xu, Jung and in response to a link failure, stop all data transmission on the failure link to prevent data buffering for sending and/or data lost in transmissions.
As per claim 13, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 12. Xu and Jung do not further teach comprising:
Declaring an out of coverage state if the cell selection fails.
However, providing a notification of out of coverage state is obvious when there is no cell selection possible to provide any service in the area. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Xu, Jung and further implement the UE to provide an indication of when there is no cell service coverage at the current location.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Jung as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 12, 14, 25-28 above, and further in view of Xu et al (Xu606), US 2021/0144606.
As per claim 11, Xu and Jung teach the invention as claimed in claim 10. Xu and Jung do not teach wherein the trigger event further comprises:
Absent of relay discovery message from the relay UE.
Xu606 teaches to utilize absent of relay discovery message from the relay UE as a trigger criterion (pp. 0139, 0179). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Xu, Jung and Xu606 to determine RLF with the relay UE and trigger relay reselection when relay discovery message is no longer being received from the relay UE.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
February 2, 2026