DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-23, 25-30 are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 4/2/2026 is considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-23 and 25-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 12, 14, 20, 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (Xu), US2018/0343598, in view of Ma et al (Ma), EP3471493A1.
As per claim 1, Xu teaches the invention including a method for wireless communications by a relay user equipment (UE), comprising:
Detecting a radio link failure (RLF) on at least one of a first link between the relay UE and a serving network entity or a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the RLF comprises an RLF on at least the first link (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108; quality of a Uu link between the relay UE and the base station becomes poor); and
Taking one or more actions, in response to the detection, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0086, 0108).
Xu further teaches that the second link is available (pp. 0004-0005; PC5 link in good quality). Xu does not teach wherein, if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprise at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE in response to the RLF on the first link or sending an indication of the RLF on the first link by an upper layer. Ma teaches wherein, if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprise at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE in response to the RLF on the first link (pp. 0110-0112, 0116-0117: link between relay UE and remote UE (D2D link) available for sending release message in response to first link failure and RRC reestablishment not successful) or sending an indication of the RLF on the first link by an upper layer (pp. 0142). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Ma and release a D2D connection between the relay UE and the remote UE when the RRC connection between the relay UE and the base station cannot be reestablished.
As per claim 3, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Xu further teaches wherein, if the second link is available (pp. 0004), the one or more actions further comprises:
Performing a procedure to reestablish a link with the serving network entity (pp. 0108).
As per claim 5, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Xu further teaches wherein the RLF further comprises an RLF on at least the second link (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108).
As per claim 6, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 5. Xu further teaches wherein, if the first link is available, the one or more actions comprise:
Sending a report indicating the RLF to the serving network entity (pp. 0047, 0059, 0086, 0108).
As per claim 7, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 6. Xu further teaches wherein the report indicates at least one of an RLF cause, a remote UE ID, or sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurements (pp. 0046, 0049, 0053-0054, 0108).
As per claim 10, Xu teaches the invention including a method for wireless communications by a remote user equipment (UE), comprising:
Detecting a trigger event indicative of a radio link failure (RLF) on at least one of a first link between a relay UE and a serving network entity or a second link between the remote UE and the relay UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurement being below a threshold (pp. 0049, 0053-0054); and
Performing relay reselection, in response to the detection, based on link quality measurements on one or more links between the remote UE and one or more relay UEs and one or more criteria (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0043-0044, 0056, 0086, 0108).
Xu does not teach wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, of a link release message for the remote UE indicative of the RLF on the first link, receipt of an indication by an upper layer. Ma teaches the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, of a link release message for the remote UE indicative of the RLF on the first link (pp. 0110-0112, 0116-0117: link between relay UE and remote UE (D2D link) available for sending release message in response to first link failure and RRC reestablishment not successful), or receipt of an indication by an upper layer (pp. 0142). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Ma and release a D2D connection between the relay UE and the remote UE when the RRC connection between the relay UE and the base station cannot be reestablished.
As per claim 12, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 10. Xu further teaches to comprise:
Performing cell selection if the relay reselection fails (pp. 0036, 0053-0054, 0061-0064).
As per claim 14, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 10. Xu further teaches wherein the one or more criteria involve an access stratum (AS) layer of the remote UE (pp. 0108, 0144: RRC reestablishment is of AS layer).
As per claim 20, Xu teaches the invention including a method for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising:
Receiving, via a first link between a relay user equipment (UE) and the network entity, a report indicating a radio link failure (RLF) on a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the report indicates at least one of an RLF cause, or sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurements (pp. 0046, 0049, 0054-0055, 0108: RSRPUu is a Sidelink RSRP); and
Taking one or more actions, in response to the report, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0086, 0108).
Xu does not teach wherein the report indicates a remote UE ID. Ma teaches to send a message indicating a radio link failure on a link between the relay UE and a remote UE, wherein the report indicates a remote UE ID (pp. 0110-0112: second indication message includes an identifier of the remote UE corresponding to the failed D2D link). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Xu and Ma in order to include link identifier or remote UE identifier in a link failure indication message that is reported to a network entity such as a base station.
As per claim 25, Xu teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communications by a relay user equipment (UE) (pp. 0179), comprising:
memory comprising instructions (pp. 0196-0197); and
One or more processors configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (pp. 0196-0197):
Detect a radio link failure (RLF) on at least one of a first link between the relay UE and a serving network entity or a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the RLF comprises an RLF on at least the first link (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037); and
Take one or more actions, in response to the detection, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108).
Xu further teaches that the second link is available (pp. 0004-0005; PC5 link in good quality). Xu does not teach wherein, if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprise at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE in response to the RLF on the first link or sending an indication of the RLF on the first link by an upper layer. Ma teaches wherein, if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprise at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE in response to the RLF on the first link (pp. 0110-0112, 0116-0117: link between relay UE and remote UE (D2D link) available for sending release message in response to first link failure and RRC reestablishment not successful) or sending an indication of the RLF on the first link by an upper layer (pp. 0142). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Ma and release a D2D connection between the relay UE and the remote UE when the RRC connection between the relay UE and the base station cannot be reestablished.
As per claim 26, Xu teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communications by a relay user equipment (UE), comprising:
Means for detecting a radio link failure (RLF) on at least one of a first link between the relay UE and a serving network entity or a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the RLF comprises an RLF on at least the first link; and
Means for taking one or more actions, in response to the detection, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0086, 0108).
Xu further teaches that the second link is available (pp. 0004-0005; PC5 link in good quality). Xu does not teach wherein, if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprise at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE in response to the RLF on the first link or sending an indication of the RLF on the first link by an upper layer. Ma teaches wherein, if the second link is available, the one or more actions comprise at least one of sending a link release message to the remote UE in response to the RLF on the first link (pp. 0110-0112, 0116-0117: link between relay UE and remote UE (D2D link) available for sending release message in response to first link failure and RRC reestablishment not successful) or sending an indication of the RLF on the first link by an upper layer (pp. 0142). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Ma and release a D2D connection between the relay UE and the remote UE when the RRC connection between the relay UE and the base station cannot be reestablished.
As per claim 27, Xu teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communications by a remote user equipment (UE) (pp. 0179), comprising:
memory comprising instructions (pp. 0196-0197); and
One or more processors configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (pp. 0196-0197):
Detect a trigger event indicative of a radio link failure (RLF) on at least one of a first link between a relay UE and a serving network entity or a second link between the remote UE and the relay UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurement being below a threshold (pp. 0049, 0053-0054); and
Perform relay reselection, in response to the detection, based on link quality measurements on one or more links between the remote UE and one or more relay UEs and one or more criteria (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0043-0044, 0056, 0108).
Xu does not teach wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, of a link release message for the remote UE indicative of the RLF on the first link, receipt of an indication by an upper layer. Ma teaches the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, of a link release message for the remote UE indicative of the RLF on the first link (pp. 0110-0112, 0116-0117: link between relay UE and remote UE (D2D link) available for sending release message in response to first link failure and RRC reestablishment not successful), or receipt of an indication by an upper layer (pp. 0142). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Ma and release a D2D connection between the relay UE and the remote UE when the RRC connection between the relay UE and the base station cannot be reestablished.
As per claim 28, Xu teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communications by a remote user equipment (UE), comprising:
Means for detecting a trigger event indicative of a radio link failure (RLF) on at least one of a first link between a relay UE and a serving network entity or a second link between the remote UE and the relay UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, a sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurement being below a threshold (pp. 0049, 0053-0054); and
Means for performing relay reselection, in response to the detection, based on link quality measurements on one or more links between the remote UE and one or more relay UEs and one or more criteria (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0043-0044, 0056, 0086, 0108).
Xu does not teach wherein the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, of a link release message for the remote UE indicative of the RLF on the first link, receipt of an indication by an upper layer. Ma teaches the trigger event comprises at least one of receipt, from the relay UE, of a link release message for the remote UE indicative of the RLF on the first link (pp. 0110-0112, 0116-0117: link between relay UE and remote UE (D2D link) available for sending release message in response to first link failure and RRC reestablishment not successful), or receipt of an indication by an upper layer (pp. 0142). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu and Ma and release a D2D connection between the relay UE and the remote UE when the RRC connection between the relay UE and the base station cannot be reestablished.
As per claim 29, Xu teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communications by a network entity (pp. 0180), comprising:
memory comprising instructions (pp. 0182, 0189); and
One or more processors configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (pp. 0183):
Receive, via a first link between a relay user equipment (UE) and the network entity, a report indicating a radio link failure (RLF) on a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the report indicates at least one of an RLF cause, , or sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurements (pp. 0046, 0049, 0054-0055, 0108: RSRPUu is a Sidelink RSRP); and
Take one or more actions, in response to the report, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108).
Xu does not teach wherein the report indicates a remote UE ID. Ma teaches to send a message indicating a radio link failure on a link between the relay UE and a remote UE, wherein the report indicates a remote UE ID (pp. 0110-0112: second indication message includes an identifier of the remote UE corresponding to the failed D2D link). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Xu and Ma in order to include link identifier or remote UE identifier in a link failure indication message that is reported to a network entity such as a base station.
As per claim 30, Xu teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising:
Means for receiving, via a first link between a relay user equipment (UE) and the network entity, a report indicating a radio link failure (RLF) on a second link between the relay UE and a remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0108), wherein the report indicates at least one of an RLF cause, or sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) measurements (pp. 0046, 0049, 0054-0055, 0108: RSRPUu is a Sidelink RSRP); and
Means for taking one or more actions, in response to the report, to trigger relay reselection by the remote UE (pp. 0004-0005, 0008, 0036-0037, 0086, 0108).
Xu does not teach wherein the report indicates a remote UE ID. Ma teaches to send a message indicating a radio link failure on a link between the relay UE and a remote UE, wherein the report indicates a remote UE ID (pp. 0110-0112: second indication message includes an identifier of the remote UE corresponding to the failed D2D link). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Xu and Ma in order to include link identifier or remote UE identifier in a link failure indication message that is reported to a network entity such as a base station.
Claim(s) 8, 15-19, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Ma as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 12, 14, 20, 25-30 above, and further in view of Kim et al (Kim), US 2020/0178343.
As per claim 8, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 6. Xu and Ma do not teach wherein the one or more actions further comprise, if the relay UE is in an idle or inactive state, requesting to enter a connected state before sending the report. Kim teaches to switch from idle state to connect state for receiving information (pp. 0203, 0316, 0835-0841). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu, Ma and Kim in order to attempt connection reestablishment and transmit previous link failure report to notify of earlier connection issues.
As per claim 15, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 14. Xu and Ma do not teach wherein the one or more criteria are based on:
Relay discovery message contents to indicate relay UE candidates to the AS layer; and
Selection of one or more of the relay UE candidates by the AS layer.
Kim teaches wherein the one or more criteria are based on:
Relay discovery message contents to indicate relay UE candidates to the AS layer (0102, 0290, 0507-0522, 0655-0656); and
Selection of one or more of the relay UE candidates by the AS layer (0102, 0290, 0507-0522, 0655-0656).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Xu, Ma and Kim and further perform relay reselection based on the conditions of the discovered relay UE having specific service code parameter and other configurations to rank and select the best candidate relay UE.
As per claim 16, Xu, Ma and Kim teach the invention as claimed in claim 15. Kim further teaches wherein the relay UE candidates satisfy link quality criteria (pp. 0507-0522, 0667, 0658-0686).
As per claim 17, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 14. Xu and Ju Ma ng do not teach wherein the one or more criteria are based on:
An ordered list of relay UE candidates provided to the AS layer; and
Selection of one or more of the relay UE candidates by the AS layer based on content of relay discovery message.
Kim teaches wherein the one or more criteria are based on:
An ordered list of relay UE candidates provided to the AS layer (0102, 0290, 0507-0522, 0655-0656; ranking of candidates); and
Selection of one or more of the relay UE candidates by the AS layer based on content of relay discovery message (0102, 0290, 0507-0522, 0655-0656).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Xu, Ma and Kim and further perform relay reselection based on the conditions of the discovered relay UE having specific service code parameter and other configurations to rank and select the best candidate relay UE.
As per claim 18, Xu, Ma and Kim teach the invention as claimed in claim 17. Kim further teaches wherein the relay UE candidates satisfy link quality criteria (pp. 0507-0522, 0667, 0658-0686).
As per claim 19, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 14. Xu and Ma do not teach wherein the one or more criteria are based on at least one of QoS of relay discovery messages or content of relay discovery messages. Kim further teaches wherein the one or more criteria are based on at least one of QoS of relay discovery messages or content of relay discovery messages (pp. 0507-0522, 0667, 0658-0686). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Xu, Ma and Kim and further perform relay reselection based on the conditions of the discovered relay UE having specific service code parameter and other configurations to rank and select the best candidate relay UE.
As per claim 21, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 20. Ma further teaches to reestablish RRC connection with RRC reestablishment messages (pp. 0137-0138). Xu and Ma do not teach wherein the one or more actions involves a radio resource control (RRC) state management procedure for the Remote UE. Kim teaches the one or more actions involves a radio resource control state management procedure for the Remote UE (pp. 0160, 0203, 0316, 0390-0418, 0835-0841). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu, Ma and Kim in order to manage connection states and reestablish the failed link.
As per claim 22, Xu, Ma and Kim teach the invention as claimed in claim 21. Kim further teaches wherein the RRC state management procedure involves at least one of removing remote UE context or sending the remote UE to an idle state (pp. 0390-0418).
As per claim 23, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 20. Xu and Ma do not teach to further comprise, if the relay UE is in an idle or inactive state, receiving a request from the relay UE to enter a connected state before receiving the report. Kim teaches to switch from idle state to connect state for receiving information (pp. 0203, 0316, 0835-0841). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Xu, Ma and Kim in order to attempt connection reestablishment and transmit previous link failure report to notify of earlier connection issues.
Claim(s) 4, 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Ma as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 12, 14, 20, 25-30 above, and further in view of obviousness.
As per claim 4, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Xu and Ma do not teach wherein, if the second link is unavailable, the one or more actions comprise:
Ceasing sending relay messages.
However, ceasing to send data over unavailable link is obvious and common practice in the art to prevent resource congestion and data buffering. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teaching of Xu, Ma and in response to a link failure, stop all data transmission on the failure link to prevent data buffering for sending and/or data lost in transmissions.
As per claim 9, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 5. Xu and Ma do not teach wherein, if the first link is unavailable, the one or more actions comprise:
Ceasing sending relay discovery messages.
However, ceasing to send data over unavailable link is obvious and common practice in the art to prevent resource congestion and data buffering. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teaching of Xu, Ma and in response to a link failure, stop all data transmission on the failure link to prevent data buffering for sending and/or data lost in transmissions.
As per claim 13, Xu and Ma teach the invention as claimed in claim 12. Xu and Ma do not further teach comprising:
Declaring an out of coverage state if the cell selection fails.
However, providing a notification of out of coverage state is obvious when there is no cell selection possible to provide any service in the area. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Xu, Ma and further implement the UE to provide an indication of when there is no cell service coverage at the current location.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Ma as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 12, 14, 20, 25-30 above, and further in view of Xu et al (Xu606), US 2021/0144606.
As per claim 11, Xu and Jun Ma g teach the invention as claimed in claim 10. Xu and Jun Ma g do not teach wherein the trigger event further comprises:
Absent of relay discovery message from the relay UE.
Xu606 teaches to utilize absent of relay discovery message from the relay UE as a trigger criterion (pp. 0139, 0179). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Xu, Ma and Xu606 to determine RLF with the relay UE and trigger relay reselection when relay discovery message is no longer being received from the relay UE.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al, CN113923697B
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
June 22, 2026