DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings, in particular FIGS. 1-2 and 4, are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show descriptive labels as described in the specification. For instance, the structure 140 in FIG. 4 should include the label “control device”, as described on page 9, line 15 of the specification s filed. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wallans et al. US10500452B2.
Regarding claim 1. Wallans discloses a smart sports equipment charging system (FIG. 29) comprising:
a storage vessel (1520) for storage of sports equipment (FIG. 29), the storage vessel comprising:
an aperture (on the top) configured to receive sports equipment (100) therethrough for storage of the sports equipment (100) within the storage vessel (1520) (FIG. 29);
a closed end (1522) opposite the aperture (FIG. 29); and
a separator configured to separate an internal volume of the storage vessel between the aperture and the closed end (1522) into at least two sections (column 88, lines 30-44 - the opening may be an opening separate from the container of the golf bag, for example a first container and a second container where the second container is used to inductively charge);
a charging area (1524) arranged at the closed end of the storage vessel (bottom), the charging area including at least two charging portions (column 88, lines 30-44 - the second container is used to inductively charge), wherein each of the at least two charging portions are aligned with a respective section of the storage vessel such that sports equipment including a rechargeable power source stored within a section of the storage vessel is chargeable with the respective charging portion (column 88, lines 30-44); and
a power storage device (1550) configured to supply power to the charging area (column 87, lines 19-34 – the battery may supply the necessary electrical current to the induction coil to inductively charge the power source).
Regarding claim 2. Wallans discloses that the sports equipment (100) is a smart golf club (column 89, lines 20-28 – golf club includes a monitoring device 1501) and the storage vessel (1520) is a golf bag (FIG. 29) configured to store and charge the smart golf club therein (column 89, lines 8-41).
Regarding claim 3. Wallans discloses that the charging portions each comprise a wireless charging coil (induction coil 1524) configured to wirelessly charge sports equipment including a corresponding coil (column 3, line 62-column 4, line 26).
Regarding claim 4. Wallans discloses that each charging area comprises an alignment device configured to align sports equipment with the respective charging portion (column 88, lines 30-44: golf bag has individual openings each with an induction coil).
Regarding claim 6. Wallans discloses that the charging portions each comprise a conductive charging contact configured to charge sports equipment including a corresponding contact (column 62, lines 42-67).
Regarding claim 8. Wallans discloses each charging portion includes a controller configured to modulate an amount of power delivered to the respective charging portion (column 88, line 45 – Column 89, line 7 - the processor 204 of the monitoring device 1501 may assist in controlling the charging process, because the there is a monitoring device for each club, it follows that there is a controller for each club).
Regarding claim 9. Wallans discloses a processor (1555) operably connected to the charging area (column 89, lines 8-41), wherein the processor is configured to:
detect sports equipment within charging range of a charging portion (column 89, lines 20-22);
determine a status of the sports equipment (column 89, lines 1-7); and
control operation of the charging area according to the status of the sports equipment (column 89, lines 22-25).
Regarding claim 10. Wallans discloses that the status of the sports equipment includes a charge level of a rechargeable power source of the sports equipment (column 89, lines 1-7 – communicate whether fully charged).
Regarding claim 11. Wallans discloses controlling operation of the charging area includes suppling power to the charging portion adjacent to the sports equipment if a status of the sports equipment includes a charge level below full capacity (FIG. 29 the bag is connected to an outlet adjacent to the bag).
Regarding claim 12. Wallans discloses a mains power connector (cable 1544) configured to be connectable to a mains power supply (wall outlet 1548) and charge the power storage device (column 87, lines 35-51 - connected via socket 1540 on the bag).
Regarding claim 13. Wallans discloses that the power storage device comprises a battery (1550).
Regarding claim 14. Wallans discloses that the power storage device is arranged within the storage vessel (FIG. 29 – the battery 1550 is arranged in the golf bag 1520).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallans et al. US10500452B2 further in view of Tan US20150018113A1.
Regarding claim 5. Wallans does not explicitly disclose that each alignment device comprises a magnetic alignment device.
Tan discloses that each alignment device (3) comprises a magnetic alignment device (4).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a magnetic attraction as taught by Tan to the golf bag of Wallans to avoid golf iron collision during movement of the golf bag (Tan; ¶5)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallans et al. US10500452B2.
Regarding claim 7. Wallan discloses that the separator is configured to separate the internal volume of the storage vessel into sections, and the charging area includes charging portions (column 88, lines 30-44).
Although Wallan does not explicitly disclose 14 sections, absent a showing of unexpected results or criticality, because Wallen teaches a plurality of separations, a person of ordinary skill in the art would know it include up to 18 sections because under traditional golf rules, a golfer may carry a maximum of 14 golf clubs.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallans et al. US10500452B2 further in view of Wempe et al. US20060138161A1.
Regarding claim 15. Wallans does not explicitly teach that the power storage device is removable from the storage vessel for charging, replacement or maintenance.
Wempe teaches that the power storage device (110) is removable from the storage vessel for charging, replacement or maintenance (FIG. 1 and 3; ¶29/40).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the battery of Wallans removeable, as taught by Wempe in order to allow for easier charging and/or replacement.
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Onuki et al. US20190314703A1 demonstrates a charging system in a golf bag.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859