DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 18 February 2026, with respect to the 103 rejection of claims 21 and 30 as being unpatentable over ZHU in view of CAO have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Claims 21-22, 30-31, 33, 36-38 are being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU et al. in view of CAO et al, further in view of REN et al.
Claims 21-22, 31-38, 73-84 and 107-112 are pending.
Figure 7 of the application illustrates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22, 30-31, 33, 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 2020/0351690 A1) in view of CAO et al. (US 2022/0021507 A1), further in view of (WO 2015/116421 A1), further in view of REN et al. (US 2023/0164698 A1).
Regarding claims 21, 30 Zhu et al. discloses a method of wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising (User Equipment measurement for cross-link interference, see title):
receiving a cross link interference (CLI) resource;
measuring signals on the at least one CLI resource ([0005]: “The base station may coordinate with each other to establish or otherwise configured to measurement resource configure a measurement resource configuration associated with a CLI signal strength measurement for their respective UE, which may then perform the CLI signal strength measurements for neighboring UEs (e.g., for UE(s) intra-frequency neighboring cell(s) according to the measurement resource configuration.”), wherein the at least one CLI resource comprises a resource allocated by the network entity for an uplink transmission by a second UE or a third UE to the network entity, (figure 3 shows CLI resource allocated by the network entity for an uplink transmission by a second UE to the network entity.)
generating a CLI measurement report from the measuring of the signals on the at least one CLI resource; and
transmitting the CLI measurement report to
Zhu et al. discloses ([0007]: “the apparatus to receive from a base station a measurement configuration signal including a measurement resource configuration associated with a CLI signal strength measurement, perform the CLI signal strength measurement for one or more UEs associated with one or more intra-frequency neighboring cells according to the measurement resource configuration, and transmit a report of the CLI signal strength measurement to the base station.”)
Zhu et al. differs from the claimed invention in that Zhu et al. fails to teach transmitting the CLI measurement report to a second UE.
CAO et al. in the same field of invention, teaches ([0086]: “An aggressor BS (e.g., a base station that is causing CLI may transmit a CLI-RS to a victim BS (e.g., a BS that is being interfered with by the CLI), and the victim BS may measure the CLI-RS and provide a feedback report to the aggressor BS so that the aggressor BS may adjust one or more parameters (e.g., transmit power, frame structure, and/or the like) to reduce and/or eliminate the BS to BS CLI. Similarly, an aggressor UE may transmit a CLI-RS to a victim UE, and the victim UE may measure the CLI-RS and provide a feedback report to the aggressor UE so that the aggressor BS may adjust one or more parameters to mitigate the CLI.”).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the CLI measurement report to a second UE so that the aggressor BS may adjust one or more parameters to mitigate the CLI.
Zhu et al. in view of CAO et al. teach perform CLI Measurement associated with neighboring cells. Zhu et al. in view of CAO et al. does not teach the UEs and base station perform CLI within serving cell.
REN et al. in the same field of invention, teaches cross link interference within serving cell. ([0040]: “As shown in FIG. 3B,..., a single BS 110 may provide coverage to both first UE 120-1 and second UE 120-2. For example, BS 110 may provide full-duplex capability that enables first UE 120-1 to transmit on an uplink concurrently with second UE 120-2 receiving on a downlink.
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the method in Zhu et al. in view of CAO within a serving cell of REN et al.
Claims 22 and 31, CAO et al. teaches wherein the transmitting the CLI measurement report comprises:
transmitting the CLI measurement report via a side link channel to the second UE. ([0046]: “two or more UEs 120 (e.g., shown as UE 120 a and UE 120e) may communicate directly using one or more side link channels (e.g., without using a base station 110 as an intermediary to communicate with one another). For example, the UEs 120 may communicate using peer-to-peer (P2P) communications, device-to-device (D2D) communications, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) protocol (e.g., which may include a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) protocol, a vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I) protocol, and/or the like), a mesh network, and/or the like.”), ([0086]: “Similarly, an aggressor UE may transmit a CLI-RS to a victim UE, and the victim UE may measure the CLI-RS and provide a feedback report to the aggressor UE so that the aggressor BS may adjust one or more parameters to mitigate the CLI.”).
Regarding claim 33, Zhu teaches the UE(s) may transmit the CLI measurement report to the base network entity via the uplink channel. See figure 3.
Zhu fails to teach determine that the first UE cannot communicate with the network entity via an uplink channel; and transmit the CLI measurement report via a side link channel to the second UE after the determination that the first UE cannot communicate with the network entity via the uplink channel.
CAO et al. teaches the UE transmit the CLI measurement report to the network entity via a side link ([0086]: “Similarly, an aggressor UE may transmit a CLI-RS to a victim UE, and the victim UE may measure the CLI-RS and provide a feedback report to the aggressor UE so that the aggressor BS may adjust one or more parameters to mitigate the CLI.”).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine CAO et al. with ZHU et al. so that in a case UE 305 in ZHU et al. can not communicate with the network entity via the uplink channel, the UE 305 may transmit the measurement report to the network entity via sidelink channel, such as suggests in CAO et al.
Regarding claim 36, ZHU et al. teaches wherein the CLI configuration indicates that the first UE is to send the CLI measurement report to the network entity.
ZHU et al. teaches, according to figure 3, the first UE 305 and the second UE 320 may perform CLI measurement and may transmit to the network entity.
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicates that the UE305 is to send the CLI measurement report to the network entity.
Regarding claim 37, ZHU et al. fails to teach, according to figure 3, ZHU et al. teaches, according to figure 3, the first UE 305 and the second UE 320 may perform CLI measurement and may transmit to the network entity.
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the CLI configuration indicates that the first UE305 is to send the CLI measurement report to the second UE, such as suggesting in CAO et al. (0086]: “Similarly, an aggressor UE may transmit a CLI-RS to a victim UE, and the victim UE may measure the CLI-RS and provide a feedback report to the aggressor UE so that the aggressor BS may adjust one or more parameters to mitigate the CLI.”).
Regarding claim 37, CAO et al. teaches wherein the CLI configuration indicates that the first UE is to send the CLI measurement report to the second UE. ([0086]: “an aggressor UE may transmit a CLI-RS to a victim UE, and the victim UE may measure the CLI-RS and provide a feedback report to the aggressor UE so that the aggressor BS may adjust one or more parameters to mitigate the CLI.”).
Regarding claim 38, CAO et al. teaches wherein the CLI configuration indicates that the at least one CLI resource is an uplink resource or a sidelink resource. ([0046]: “two or more UEs 120 (e.g., shown as UE 120 a and UE 120e) may communicate directly using one or more sidelink channels (e.g., without using a base station 110 as an intermediary to communicate with one another). For example, the UEs 120 may communicate using peer-to-peer (P2P) communications, device-to-device (D2D) communications, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) protocol (e.g., which may include a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) protocol, a vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I) protocol, and/or the like), a mesh network, and/or the like.”).
Regarding claim 38, ZHU et al. teach wherein the CLI configuration indicates that the at least one CLI resource is an uplink resource or a sidelink resource. See ZHU et al. figure 3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 73-84 and 107-112 are allowed over prior art made of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRENDA H. PHAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412
/BRENDA H PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412